728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Deck & Patio Restoration or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating

Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating

The Deck Restore 3.75-Gal. Acrylic Liquid Armor Resurfacer is formulated to beautify and protect exterior wood and composite decking, docks, stairs and more. The 1-part, acrylic formula is water based, and it is ready for application. It helps to lock down splinters to make surfaces more barefoot friendly.
Overall rating:
3.591 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(105 reviews) 105
Open Ratings Snapshot
70%of customersrecommend this product68 of 97reviews
Rating Breakdown 105 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(46)
4
(23)
3
(8)
2
(3)
1
(25)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
70%of customersrecommend this product68 of 97reviews
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 69 Answers
Customer reviews for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Review 1 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
JH2215
from SPRINGFIELD, MO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BIG DISAPPOINTMENT!!

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased eight 5-gallon cans of the Restore Resurfacer last Fall and applied it to one wooden front porch and one wooden back deck. We had a contractor apply it as he had done several applications so we are certain he knew what he was doing. We were initially very pleased with how it looked. However, sometime in the winter after snow, etc, we noticed a huge chunk of it had raised up and then observed several cracks running across the boards the entire width of the deck. Now it's turning loose and coming up in large pieces. So far the front porch has not shown signs of turning loose. We thought we had found a “miracle product” to save our wood deck. Now to save our deck, we just purchased composite decking and will go to even more expense of tearing off the wood deck and installing the composite decking and hopefully be done with this once and for all. We are not recommending this product to anyone.
Pros: Even Application, Modern, looked great initially
Cons: does not adhere well, apparently does not withstand snow?
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
sz7213
from Southern Indiana
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Do not purchase

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product goes down with a little more effort than is described, but looks beautiful when completed. Unfortunately, the beauty is short lived. After about 6 months it is beginning to come up in several spots. Believe me when I tell you it was put down correctly by folks who knew what they were doing. It is very difficult to get a response from the manufacturer of the product as well regarding the "warranty." The deck I finished is very large, and you can probably imagine was not inexpensive to finish. Now I am out a substantial amount of money and have little doubt this product is going to continue to come up.
I feel incredibly guilty for having recommended this product initially to friends and neighbors since they are now having the same issues.
Pros: initially looks beautiful....but
Cons: does not last, manufacturer does not respond to issues
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Columbus
from Ohio

Goes on very very thick...but does the trick

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My deck surrounds a pool and bakes in the sun all summer. We get plenty of snow and ice in the winter. Over the years, the deck has degenerated, requiring painting every 2-3 years to look halfway decent. This year I was getting my usual paint supplies when the clerk asked "does your deck have a peeling problem?" Perhaps the flaked paint I brought for color matching called his attention. After seeing the samples I decided to go ahead and try Restore, mostly on the hope that I would not have to repaint for 7-10 years. It paints like sand, but absolutely seals. Fingers crossed. You need two coats. I knocked down the texture with a brush for the second coat.
Pros: fills in the cracks
Cons: you'll need more than you think in product & labor
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
MainePete
from Bangor Maine
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Product for Cold Climates

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Bought this product last fall and applied per directions. Now five months later the product is flaking off now that the snow has melted from my deck. Do Not Buy This Product! (See attached photos for product results) I will be visiting my local Home Depot to seek a refund.
Cons: does not last, not good for cold climates
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
madashell
from liverpool,ny
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

wasted money -

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
paid to have this applied last summer-now that snow is going it all is flaking off. I want my money back for 2 boxes and 5 gallon . not happy
Pros: Dries Quickly
Cons: Scratches Easily
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Dennis5959
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Deck Restore is perfect

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The ad caught my attention--restore a deck or concrete to near-new condition--and seemed too good to be true. The in-store display intrigued me as I had a peeling, chipped painted concrete front porch that was detracting from the appearance of my home. Stripping the paint was not an option so Deck Restore seemed to be a viable solution. The product worked beyond my wildest dreams. I selected a color that would closely approximate the color of the other unpainted concrete sidewalk and driveway and the result is fabulous! Deck Restore gave me the color and texture I wanted and was extremely simple to prepare, apply and clean up. I've never had an outdoor painting project go this smoothly.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Unhappy
from Des Moines, Iowa
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Total waste of time and money

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't have a large deck (12 X 16). I probably spent 20 hours on it prepping the surface and followed the instructions. Yes I loved the look, but its peeling off EVERYWHERE. I live in Iowa and yes we had a rough winter but for a product that's supposed to last 10 years it should have been able to withstand this winter.
The information on coverage is totally inaccurate.... you'll need to double or triple, so what I thought was going to cost about $160 was more like $400.
And if you have spindles (I have 90) the small roller is to wide to handle the 2x2s and reach in between under the railing.
Pros: Good Coverage
Cons: does no last, cost misrepresented
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Flamekindler
from Montesano, WA 98563, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

New look!

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The finish was fairly easy to apply, set up quickly, and completely changed the appearance of the deck. We expect it to last for years, enduring the long wet winters with ease.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Tomr
from Maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not last

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was good when first applied in the fall. Everything looked great. Then winter arrived with freezing temps,snow and sleet etc. even though I never used a shovel, only pushed a broom it is just flaking right off!! Now it just flakes off in chunks when you just walk on it!! Come Spring I will have to scrape it all off
Because it looks terrible now. Didn't even last four months!! And it is very expensive!!
Cons: Scratches Easily
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
ProfessorKS
from Bath, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Restore was perfect! Did just what it said it would!

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I loved the Deck Restore! My deck was destroyed! My kids were getting splinters everyday! I applied it myself (no husband required:) and it covered every imperfection! The product also covered EXACTLY as many square feet as it said it would! My kids now run around the deck with no shoes and no splinters! I love the texture and color choices! Only complaint is I used the "river rock" color and it was slightly lighter that shown on the sample. But I love the product and have recommended it to many friends already!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Humboldt
Age Range:25 to 34

Looks great before it fails and ruins your deck

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased last summer and had optimal conditions for application...long dry summer. Followed manufacturers specs and came out with a very nice looking deck. Then the winter came. Less than half way through winter and the first couple freeze/thaws and the restore has failed. Cracks and chips...worse and worse every day as the product continues to deteriorate.
Vendor was happy to refund for the product, but that doesn't solve the issue of a wrecked deck that I will now take up with the manufacturer.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions
Cons: ruined the deck
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
WT2430
from Rogue River, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is awesome!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product is designed to restore and protect wood decking. As an alternative to applying a stain that only lasts a year or two, this is supposed to last 10-12 years. We applied it 2 years ago and it still looks like new. It is applied with a special roller that gives it a texture. This is really nice, as the deck is not nearly as slick when wet or icey.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly, lasts 10-12 years, not slick when wet or icey, hides cracks & holes
Cons: must apply 2 coats
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
G73NN
from Greensboro, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AWESOME!!

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought a ShelterLogic garage and needed a temporary floor for it so I put a bunch of pallets together and laid a treated subfloor on top with a plastic vapor barrier below.
I researched many products and the Rustoleum Restore seem to fit the bill. Installation was fairly accurate to the directions. I used the rough roller and got a texture much like dried concrete. I have pulled my cars inside multiple times to do work on them. The kids have rode their bikes inside and out. So far it seems to be keeping up with the traffic just fine.
I only did a SINGLE coat, not TWO as recommended.
2 buckets covered an 18x20 area.
I have a few more projects coming up that I could use this on and I will purchase the product again!!
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
NOTHAPPY
from McGaheysville, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

RESTORE - DO NOT USE

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I USED THIS PRODUCT LAST YEAR ON MY DECK AFTER 10 YEARS OF USING STAINS. IT LOOKED GREAT WHEN DONE LAST AUGUST. BEGINNING OF SUMMER I CLEAN DECK WITH RESTORE CLEANER AND SINCE THEN I KNOW HAVE MOLD AND MILDEW IN EVERY CRACK AND ALSO IT RETAINS ANY DIRT THAT GETS ON IT. LIKE JUST WALKING ON IT WITH DIRTY SHOES. WOULD NEVER USE AGAIN .
Cons: Difficult to Clean, mildew, mold
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
LakeLady
from Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Provides a beautiful deck surface

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We originally used Restore on our concrete porch. The finished product was very much what we had hoped for but my husband said that it was so labor intensive to apply that he would never do it again. Within a few months we were looking for a finish for our large patio. We looked at many products and possible finishes and none compared to Restore for such a durable surface at a reasonable price. In the end we chose to use Restore again. Restore filled the small cracks and imperfections in the patio. The color we chose complements our house perfectly. The finished product is professional-looking and should last for many years.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Good Protection, Looks Great
Cons: labor intensive to apply
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
whiterosez2000
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Big Waste

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not buy this product. I put it on my deck last August 2013, and now April 2014 it is all buckled and peeled away. And the company doesn't even stand behind their product. It says limited lifetime warrenty well mine isn't even 8 months.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, peels off in chunks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
TickedInLacey
from Lacey, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Totally disappointed

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We spent two weekends cleaning (their product), letting everything dry for a week, then applying this product. It is breaking off in sheets less than 10 months later. If you want to waste a ton of money just to get to sand off your whole deck and try something else a year later, go for it. Tried calling Rustoleum, they would do nothing to offset our time or expenses.
Cons: blisters and breaks off in chunks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Telitha

Does not do as advertised!

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Followed directions, applied two heavy coats. Looked great until Winter. Snow came and even though this is a mostly covered porch, all of the area treated have begun to peel and flake off in huge pieces. Simple sweeping brings off large chunks!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Rh83823
from Idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Won't use again

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The stuff is hard to apply. Now it's just chipping off everywhere. It doesn't seem to matter where I used it on the decks. Older decks, new sections. It started forming what looks like bubbles under it and then just breaks up. I applied it in September temperature was in 60s to seventies. I followed all the directions. I'll have to sand it off to refinish this spring. It looks terrible.
Cons: lasted 3 months. junk, will have to sand to remove, hard to apply, rip off
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
sshelby
from Columbia Mo

Looked great while it lasted

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I put the deck restore down in the Fall of 2013. It's now April 2014 and its already starting to pill off. Maybe I did something wrong but because of the cost of this product I wouldn't take a chance if I had it to do over again.
Cons: pills off after only a few months
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>