728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Deck & Patio Restoration or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating

Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating

The Deck Restore 3.75-Gal. Acrylic Liquid Armor Resurfacer is formulated to beautify and protect exterior wood and composite decking, docks, stairs and more. The 1-part, acrylic formula is water based, and it is ready for application. It helps to lock down splinters to make surfaces more barefoot friendly.
Overall rating:
2.962 / 5
3
 / 
5
(183 reviews) 183
Open Ratings Snapshot
51%of customersrecommend this product89 of 175reviews
Rating Breakdown 183 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(62)
4
(27)
3
(12)
2
(6)
1
(76)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
51%of customersrecommend this product89 of 175reviews
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 80 Answers
Customer reviews for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Review 21 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating

Restore Refund

PostedJune 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Applied 12 gallons to my deck last summer. The produce lasted fine until this Spring when it bubbled up and peeled off. Home Depot was great in getting copies of my receipts. I contacted Rust-o-leum and sent pictures and receipts and said I was totally dissatisfied. They issued a full refund, but my deck looks horrible!
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: doesn't last
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from Ogden, Utah
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible Product, do not buy!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I too read all the horrible reviews for this product but I thought hey why not give it a shot well I was so wrong! The pain was awful to work with, it is so thick it gets all over. It took me a week to paint every inch on my cement. I work 7 days on and then have 7 days off so it wasn't just like an after work project I actually spend most of the day for seven days painting. I finished painting two weeks ago well today I walk outside and the paint is peeling off my cement. Yes I can actually peel the paint right off. This is such a horrible product I will be calling the company and demanding a refund. I spend nearly 300 dollars on this project for it to peel off in two weeks.
Pros: Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: Difficult to Clean, horrible in every way!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

NEVER EVER USE ON CONCRETE!!!!

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm not sure how this product works on wood decking however do not ever ever....ever....ever use this on concrete. I applied this product two weeks ago and it looked fabulous, however only after two weeks the product is cracking and chipping. Could only imagine what it's going to look like after I shovel the porch after a snow storm. I followed all of the recommendations of the manufacturer and the end product did not hold up to their word. It should not specify that this can be used for concrete. Home Depot should take this off the shelf until the label specifies "DO NOT USE ON CONCRETE".
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Use
Cons: does not work for concrete
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from Cumming, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awful Product

PostedMay 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Awful product!!! I sanded my deck, and used on old and new decking. Product wasn't easy to apply and went thru 3 rollers on a very large deck. Pieces started coming off 3 weeks later. Bought 4-5 gallons buckets, luckily could return 2. I pressure washed my deck a few weeks ago and it ALL came off, really!!!! Worst product ever. Pay more and don't waste your hard earned weekend time putting this anywhere near your home
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from Cincinnati
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This stuff is junk

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not use this stuff. It will peel off within 6 months. First I used bleach on the deck, then Dawn dish soap to get rid of the bleach. After that, I used a pressure washer to get rid of the soap. The deck looked great and I almost didn't put the stuff on. Now I am sorry I did. It is coming off in sheets. Is is so bad, when the wind blows hard enough, I am picking the junk out of the grass and gardens. I repeat, do NOT use this junk. If you are having an issue with this garbage, call rust-oleum and get your money back.
Cons: flakes off in sheets
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of many hours and many dollars!

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Took days to apply.
Took one winter to peel and bubble.
Hugh cost!
Low return!
Save your time and money!
Cons: came off!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from sedro woolley wa
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

waste of time and money

PostedMay 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Applied deck restore last summer and at first other then not spreading well i was very happy with the look. After just one winter it is all peeling up. I have a very large deck and it took ten four gallon buckets to coat the whole deck. Which ended up being a very expensive mistake. If you value your time and money don't waste either on this horible product
Cons: doesn't spread very good, doesn't stick to the wood, just plain sucks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT USE (unless you like to flush money down the toilet!)

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product on my deck last summer. I spent over 400 dollars on this product and applied the paint AS INSTRUCTED. At first I was very pleased with how the deck turned out. It hasn't even been 9 months later and big chips of the paint are coming off everywhere on the deck and it looks awful! If you read through the rest of these reviews you will find the same story over and over. I contacted the company today and if they do not make things right, then will move on to the Better Business Bureau.
Cons: coating peels up in big chunks!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from Idaho
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Extremely Disappointed

PostedApril 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Almost entirely flaked off from front steps after less than 6 months. I was very excited to find this product and am so disappointed at the performance. A huge waste of money, will have to replace everything I coated with it.
Pros: Dries Quickly, nice surface while it lasted
Cons: flakes off, doesn't last
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst deck coating product ever made!

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
What a scam product! As with other disappointed reviewers, I applied it in the late summer to a new deck; even applied additional coats than was recommended. Looked good throughout the fall, but winter came and now in spring I noticed a separation crack at one of the trim boards. Upon closer inspection, (down on my knees), the whole deck was covered with splits in the coating - shrinkage cracking - that now exposes the wood to direct moisture infiltration! This product has probably ruined my new, but good luck trying to collect on that limited lifetime warranty! Now this summer, I'll have to look at GacoDeck (my first gut instinct at the time; should have gone with it) or even a roof patch/repair coating to halt the damage that has started due to this product. Run away from this product - don't look back!
Cons: shrinks and splits in less than a year!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't Waste Time and Money

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Spent hours pressure washing and prepping deck, and several more hours rolling on two coats only to watch this product be removed by the weather. It didn't even make it through one winter. Now I am left a deck that is mostly back to the original boards, but some of this junk is still stuck on in patches so I can't even stain at this point. Thank you selling a product that wasted $750 of my money and hours of my time.
Cons: junk
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from Bronx NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Warning, not snow resistant

PostedMay 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
What a waste of my hard earned money. I purchased 2 buckets for my concrete deck in July 2013. I made sure I prepped the surface for all direct and flakes. I live in NYC and I assumed that Rustoleum brand is synonymous with good quality. Boy was I WRONG. There are so many little flakes all over my beautiful deck right now that I don't even want to be there right now. What a cheap garbage being marketed as RESTORE :)
Pros: Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Scratches Easily
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Big Waste

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not buy this product. I put it on my deck last August 2013, and now April 2014 it is all buckled and peeled away. And the company doesn't even stand behind their product. It says limited lifetime warrenty well mine isn't even 8 months.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, peels off in chunks
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from Lacey, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Totally disappointed

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We spent two weekends cleaning (their product), letting everything dry for a week, then applying this product. It is breaking off in sheets less than 10 months later. If you want to waste a ton of money just to get to sand off your whole deck and try something else a year later, go for it. Tried calling Rustoleum, they would do nothing to offset our time or expenses.
Cons: blisters and breaks off in chunks
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from little meadows Pa.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

worst product

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this is by far the worst product ever. Did three big jobs and they are pealing and flaking off. It is going to cost us about $2,000.00 to fix the problem. Not to mention our company reputation. Plus we know three other people that have the same problem.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from Upstate New York
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cold Weather Product?????

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I live in NY and after the winter's thaw, only about half of my deck has any restore left on it. The other half just flaked up. Seems like each day more continues to come up too. Wish I had known this product can't withstand a NY winter before I spent hundreds of dollars on it. I honestly hope the rest flakes off at this point so I can use something else on my deck. I will surely not buy this again.
Cons: does not withstand winter
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from McGaheysville, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

RESTORE - DO NOT USE

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I USED THIS PRODUCT LAST YEAR ON MY DECK AFTER 10 YEARS OF USING STAINS. IT LOOKED GREAT WHEN DONE LAST AUGUST. BEGINNING OF SUMMER I CLEAN DECK WITH RESTORE CLEANER AND SINCE THEN I KNOW HAVE MOLD AND MILDEW IN EVERY CRACK AND ALSO IT RETAINS ANY DIRT THAT GETS ON IT. LIKE JUST WALKING ON IT WITH DIRTY SHOES. WOULD NEVER USE AGAIN .
Cons: Difficult to Clean, mildew, mold
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from wilmington de
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

don't bother

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
put on as per instructions......is already coming off...only on since end of september...didn't shovel snow off so as we wouldn't damage it....it is already coming off in big strips....worn off in walk areas.....very big waste of over $300.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Failure

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Shrinking and peeling after 8 months. Sand grit is getting tracked into interior hard wood floors.
I applied 2 coats with a roller per recommendation and the company said that I did not apply thick enough coating. I am a retired contractor with 50 years experience in construction trade and this is the first and only product I have used that has been a huge failure. Now I have to replace the decking because removing the coating will cause chips and crumbs to fall through the cracks onto the lower floor ceiling. Rustoleum did refund the cost for the material alone but not the labor to replace or additional cost to replace the boards.
Cons: Scratches Easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating

Does not do as advertised!

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Followed directions, applied two heavy coats. Looked great until Winter. Snow came and even though this is a mostly covered porch, all of the area treated have begun to peel and flake off in huge pieces. Simple sweeping brings off large chunks!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>