728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Deck & Patio Restoration or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating

Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating

The Deck Restore 3.75-Gal. Acrylic Liquid Armor Resurfacer is formulated to beautify and protect exterior wood and composite decking, docks, stairs and more. The 1-part, acrylic formula is water based, and it is ready for application. It helps to lock down splinters to make surfaces more barefoot friendly.
Overall rating:
2.969 / 5
3
 / 
5
(193 reviews) 193
Open Ratings Snapshot
51%of customersrecommend this product95 of 185reviews
Rating Breakdown 193 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(65)
4
(30)
3
(12)
2
(6)
1
(80)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
51%of customersrecommend this product95 of 185reviews
Customer questions and answers:
23 Questions | 82 Answers
Customer reviews for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Review 21 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from Montesano, WA 98563, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

New look!

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The finish was fairly easy to apply, set up quickly, and completely changed the appearance of the deck. We expect it to last for years, enduring the long wet winters with ease.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from Kansas City, MO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I applied the coating about one month ago. Seems to be holding well. The coating was fairly easy to apply. It is not a fast process and definitely requires two coats. It was difficult to get the thickness needed even with two coats using the recommended roller sleeve. I found cutting the roller sleeve to the width of the deck boards was easier and more efficient than using the full roller width.
The coating looks very nice now and was much cheaper and easier than replacing the boards.
Not sure what I will do if ever need to replace the boards as the coating fully covers the screws.
Pros: Looks Great, Modern, Dries Quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from Glastonbury, Ct
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Happy

PostedJune 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this product last summer. Followed the instructions exactly, it is very hard to apply. The deck looks bad...all the nails rusted through even though we primed....the product is peeling off the railings and the floor. Heading to Home Depot for a refund. Still stuck with a disaster of a deck.
Cons: Difficult to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from Houston, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A great product!

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We use this product every day in our work. This is a great labor saving product. We have never had a problem with it.
If you use this product, you have to scuff up and sand the wood / paint beneath it to give the product something to stick to.
You do not have to do sanding if the wood is new and naked.
People having problems with this product, probably applied on paint that was flaking or a deck that was all ready toast. You can't paint over wallpaper and expect the paint to look good and stick.
On new wood, it is excellent for our uses.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating

Restore Refund

PostedJune 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Applied 12 gallons to my deck last summer. The produce lasted fine until this Spring when it bubbled up and peeled off. Home Depot was great in getting copies of my receipts. I contacted Rust-o-leum and sent pictures and receipts and said I was totally dissatisfied. They issued a full refund, but my deck looks horrible!
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: doesn't last
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from Cumming, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awful Product

PostedMay 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Awful product!!! I sanded my deck, and used on old and new decking. Product wasn't easy to apply and went thru 3 rollers on a very large deck. Pieces started coming off 3 weeks later. Bought 4-5 gallons buckets, luckily could return 2. I pressure washed my deck a few weeks ago and it ALL came off, really!!!! Worst product ever. Pay more and don't waste your hard earned weekend time putting this anywhere near your home
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from Cincinnati
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This stuff is junk

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not use this stuff. It will peel off within 6 months. First I used bleach on the deck, then Dawn dish soap to get rid of the bleach. After that, I used a pressure washer to get rid of the soap. The deck looked great and I almost didn't put the stuff on. Now I am sorry I did. It is coming off in sheets. Is is so bad, when the wind blows hard enough, I am picking the junk out of the grass and gardens. I repeat, do NOT use this junk. If you are having an issue with this garbage, call rust-oleum and get your money back.
Cons: flakes off in sheets
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from Ogden, Utah
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible Product, do not buy!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I too read all the horrible reviews for this product but I thought hey why not give it a shot well I was so wrong! The pain was awful to work with, it is so thick it gets all over. It took me a week to paint every inch on my cement. I work 7 days on and then have 7 days off so it wasn't just like an after work project I actually spend most of the day for seven days painting. I finished painting two weeks ago well today I walk outside and the paint is peeling off my cement. Yes I can actually peel the paint right off. This is such a horrible product I will be calling the company and demanding a refund. I spend nearly 300 dollars on this project for it to peel off in two weeks.
Pros: Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: Difficult to Clean, horrible in every way!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from McGaheysville, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

RESTORE - DO NOT USE

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I USED THIS PRODUCT LAST YEAR ON MY DECK AFTER 10 YEARS OF USING STAINS. IT LOOKED GREAT WHEN DONE LAST AUGUST. BEGINNING OF SUMMER I CLEAN DECK WITH RESTORE CLEANER AND SINCE THEN I KNOW HAVE MOLD AND MILDEW IN EVERY CRACK AND ALSO IT RETAINS ANY DIRT THAT GETS ON IT. LIKE JUST WALKING ON IT WITH DIRTY SHOES. WOULD NEVER USE AGAIN .
Cons: Difficult to Clean, mildew, mold
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of many hours and many dollars!

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Took days to apply.
Took one winter to peel and bubble.
Hugh cost!
Low return!
Save your time and money!
Cons: came off!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT USE (unless you like to flush money down the toilet!)

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product on my deck last summer. I spent over 400 dollars on this product and applied the paint AS INSTRUCTED. At first I was very pleased with how the deck turned out. It hasn't even been 9 months later and big chips of the paint are coming off everywhere on the deck and it looks awful! If you read through the rest of these reviews you will find the same story over and over. I contacted the company today and if they do not make things right, then will move on to the Better Business Bureau.
Cons: coating peels up in big chunks!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from sedro woolley wa
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

waste of time and money

PostedMay 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Applied deck restore last summer and at first other then not spreading well i was very happy with the look. After just one winter it is all peeling up. I have a very large deck and it took ten four gallon buckets to coat the whole deck. Which ended up being a very expensive mistake. If you value your time and money don't waste either on this horible product
Cons: doesn't spread very good, doesn't stick to the wood, just plain sucks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from Idaho
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Extremely Disappointed

PostedApril 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Almost entirely flaked off from front steps after less than 6 months. I was very excited to find this product and am so disappointed at the performance. A huge waste of money, will have to replace everything I coated with it.
Pros: Dries Quickly, nice surface while it lasted
Cons: flakes off, doesn't last
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't Waste Time and Money

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Spent hours pressure washing and prepping deck, and several more hours rolling on two coats only to watch this product be removed by the weather. It didn't even make it through one winter. Now I am left a deck that is mostly back to the original boards, but some of this junk is still stuck on in patches so I can't even stain at this point. Thank you selling a product that wasted $750 of my money and hours of my time.
Cons: junk
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst deck coating product ever made!

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
What a scam product! As with other disappointed reviewers, I applied it in the late summer to a new deck; even applied additional coats than was recommended. Looked good throughout the fall, but winter came and now in spring I noticed a separation crack at one of the trim boards. Upon closer inspection, (down on my knees), the whole deck was covered with splits in the coating - shrinkage cracking - that now exposes the wood to direct moisture infiltration! This product has probably ruined my new, but good luck trying to collect on that limited lifetime warranty! Now this summer, I'll have to look at GacoDeck (my first gut instinct at the time; should have gone with it) or even a roof patch/repair coating to halt the damage that has started due to this product. Run away from this product - don't look back!
Cons: shrinks and splits in less than a year!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Big Waste

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not buy this product. I put it on my deck last August 2013, and now April 2014 it is all buckled and peeled away. And the company doesn't even stand behind their product. It says limited lifetime warrenty well mine isn't even 8 months.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, peels off in chunks
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from Lacey, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Totally disappointed

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We spent two weekends cleaning (their product), letting everything dry for a week, then applying this product. It is breaking off in sheets less than 10 months later. If you want to waste a ton of money just to get to sand off your whole deck and try something else a year later, go for it. Tried calling Rustoleum, they would do nothing to offset our time or expenses.
Cons: blisters and breaks off in chunks
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from Reno, NV
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very difficult to apply

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very difficult to apply. Required roller would not fit under my deck rail making it impossible to apply texture to boards under rail. I had a very difficult time getting an even coat on boards that were warped or uneven especially following instructions to roll in one direction.
Cons: difficult to apply
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from Bronx NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Warning, not snow resistant

PostedMay 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
What a waste of my hard earned money. I purchased 2 buckets for my concrete deck in July 2013. I made sure I prepped the surface for all direct and flakes. I live in NYC and I assumed that Rustoleum brand is synonymous with good quality. Boy was I WRONG. There are so many little flakes all over my beautiful deck right now that I don't even want to be there right now. What a cheap garbage being marketed as RESTORE :)
Pros: Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Scratches Easily
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
from Upstate New York
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cold Weather Product?????

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I live in NY and after the winter's thaw, only about half of my deck has any restore left on it. The other half just flaked up. Seems like each day more continues to come up too. Wish I had known this product can't withstand a NY winter before I spent hundreds of dollars on it. I honestly hope the rest flakes off at this point so I can use something else on my deck. I will surely not buy this again.
Cons: does not withstand winter
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>