728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Deck & Patio Restoration or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating

Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating

The Deck Restore 3.75-Gal. Acrylic Liquid Armor Resurfacer is formulated to beautify and protect exterior wood and composite decking, docks, stairs and more. The 1-part, acrylic formula is water based, and it is ready for application. It helps to lock down splinters to make surfaces more barefoot friendly.
Overall rating:
3.641 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(103 reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product68 of 95reviews
Rating Breakdown 103 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(46)
4
(23)
3
(8)
2
(3)
1
(23)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product68 of 95reviews
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 68 Answers
Customer reviews for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Review 21 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Joef
from East Providence, RI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

save your money

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Applied this past fall on our wood ramp, it looked great when we finished.
But then winter came and a lot of it is just coming off, I guess you are not supposed to shovel the snow off of it.
Pros: Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
JimM
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Ready to make final judgement

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Purchased because product got great reviews.
First impressions:
1. Product is too expensive
2. Must use their application roller to apply and they don't last very long. I suggest buying a good 6in paint roller (Buy 2 if doing a large deck-roller may break) and then buy the 18 in application roller. cut into three sections. Using a 6in reduces waste. The 8in roller pushes too much product through the cracks
3. Have a paint mixer attachment for your drill ready. You will need it to remix product.
4. Buy a 15-20 gal plastic tote. Pour product into plastic bin and dip roller there, shake off excess then apply the
product.
5. Product is messy - take your time
6. Pick a cooler day to apply and don't apply in direct sun
7. If you are looking for a quick fix and quick application, this product may not be for you.
I did a 20 x 40 deck and it took 6-7 hours to apply first coat.
2nd coat took about 4 hours to apply.
Product has been down 2 months and looks good.
I have a Red Maple tree jus off the deck and I have noticed that the seed that drop are staining the deck. I haven't really tried cleaning them because I am hoping to let the product cure for at least 6 months before cleaning.
But the deck looks pretty good
Pros: Good Coverage
Cons: hard application, expensive
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
whiterosez2000
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Big Waste

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not buy this product. I put it on my deck last August 2013, and now April 2014 it is all buckled and peeled away. And the company doesn't even stand behind their product. It says limited lifetime warrenty well mine isn't even 8 months.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, peels off in chunks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Hacked
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't Waste Time and Money

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Spent hours pressure washing and prepping deck, and several more hours rolling on two coats only to watch this product be removed by the weather. It didn't even make it through one winter. Now I am left a deck that is mostly back to the original boards, but some of this junk is still stuck on in patches so I can't even stain at this point. Thank you selling a product that wasted $750 of my money and hours of my time.
Cons: junk
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
TickedInLacey
from Lacey, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Totally disappointed

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We spent two weekends cleaning (their product), letting everything dry for a week, then applying this product. It is breaking off in sheets less than 10 months later. If you want to waste a ton of money just to get to sand off your whole deck and try something else a year later, go for it. Tried calling Rustoleum, they would do nothing to offset our time or expenses.
Cons: blisters and breaks off in chunks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
BIGJIM
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product can be used for more then decks

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Saw this product and thought out side the box? I was installing a 42 ft picket fence in front of my house ,and thought that if i used this product on it i would never have to paint it again and its protected .what more would i want it worked out great. And you can choice any color
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
JMCuda
from Aurora, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Coating is great roller covers fall apart

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Deck Restore is a great product. Product only rolls out to about 7" on fist coat and 12-15" on second coat. the roller covers fall apart after one pail.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: roller covers fall apart
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Telitha

Does not do as advertised!

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Followed directions, applied two heavy coats. Looked great until Winter. Snow came and even though this is a mostly covered porch, all of the area treated have begun to peel and flake off in huge pieces. Simple sweeping brings off large chunks!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
jy495
from Parker CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not use in cold climates

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Applied this product in the fall and after the first snow melted so did the deck restorer! Large pieces of the product came off with water. Now I have a large deck with the product mostly off and in the yard.
Cons: does not last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
sshelby
from Columbia Mo

Looked great while it lasted

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I put the deck restore down in the Fall of 2013. It's now April 2014 and its already starting to pill off. Maybe I did something wrong but because of the cost of this product I wouldn't take a chance if I had it to do over again.
Cons: pills off after only a few months
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
TheBlueMax
from Stanwood, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product - Manufacturer info FALSE! MUST READ!

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coverage 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Low odor 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Our 400 sq ft, mostly covered front deck, has needed to be re-stained for 2 yrs so we researched & bought this product. Read the other reviews of this product on the Internet as you will use twice (2 times the amount) of this product than what the manufacturer calls for and it is not cheap. We did not dilute it, used the roller, applied the proper techniques and still used twice what the label stated as many-many other reviewers found.
All that said, the product is amazing, it does fill gaps, cracks and appears it will have a long life. You can control if you want a soft texture type appearance or more of a stucco like appearance. We softened our deck rails and stucco-like finished the deck portion and love it.
We will update this review in Spring and report how it held up.
Ask anything or email for photo's. Good luck!
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
jvny
from new york usa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

out standing product

PostedApril 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Applied product last year. You will need more then manufactures recommendations. Also depending on the size of your deck, more then one of the special rollers. Application is easy but take your time and do not rush. For the time and money the product is completely worth it. Every one who saw the deck could not believe the transformation. A few even thought I had a new deck installed. It has been close to a year now and the deck still looks like it did the day I did it. Had some mildew in one area and washed right off with the hose. No more dogs sliding all over a slippery deck or kids for that matter.
All in all excellent product and would recommend to anyone.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
NelsnG
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money if using on concrete

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was told by reps in two stores that this was suitable on concrete. I prepped my 4 X 5 front porch, making sure it was clean and dry and picked a week in which there was no rain in the forecast. I applied 2 coats with the special roller.
It looked good for a month or two but after the first few snows, this stuff peeled like an onion. Big flakes of the product have blown all over my yard and the few places where the product adhered to the concrete look bad.
I would NOT recommend this product
Pros: none
Cons: does not stick to concrete
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Mike
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems to cover good but you will use more than you think you will.

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have gone through 20 gallons so far and will need 12 more to finish. The first coat is harder to apply than the second coat. I suggest you buy the 18" roller and pan if you have a large deck. When you do the second coat it covers more area and is easier to apply and looks good when you finish. Do not coat your deck or whatever if it's any chance of rain or thunder storms, I started my second coat and it was not completely dry when a storm came up and I lost 6 gallons.(I will say it rained hard for an hour or so) Overall I am very satisfied and it's a lot cheaper than replacing my deck. My wife even likes it.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Good Protection, Looks Great, Modern
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
SUsna
from Atlanta GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worked for me on a wheelchair ramp

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I wanted to give a non skid surface to a wheelchair ramp that had a bit of a steep grade. The first coat was weird and i thought "What is this?" but the second coat went on perfectly and works great. Looks great too and so far (18 months) it has resisted any wear at all.
I am a decorative painter and I've worked with all kinds of products. This one is very easy to use and does the trick!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Mickey
from Bellingham, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

makes wood feel like composite decking

PostedSeptember 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low odor 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I painted my new 8x30' deck with Restore yesterday. I was really impressed with the product, but have a few suggestions.
The info says it doesn't need primer. But I would recommend it, especially if you have bare wood. If I were to use Restore again, I'd prime the wood with primer tinted to match the Restore. Then, anything I missed with the Restore would be covered, protected, and not show through the Restore. Since I didn't prime, the bare sides of the boards show through show very brightly through the spaces between the boards.
Definitely use the special Restore roller. A regular roller and a paintbrush just mush the sandy part of the paint around and ruins the desired effect.
I was only able to get one coat (about 240-250 sq ft) out of the 4 gal bucket - a lot less than I expected. I definitely need to do a second coat and will need another entire bucket for that.
Overall, I am looking forward to the finished product and would recommend it.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
MannyMoeandMac
from Berkshires foothills, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very Disapointed

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am very disappointed. I used two four gallon buckets for the second coat and Three 2 packs for the first.... I watched the temps, and each coat should have cured well... but it is not holding up at all. meanwhile, the Cabot solid color Stain I used on the front deck, adding grit to the walking area and steps is GREAT. (And I only got one coat on!!!!!) I should have gone with the Cabot......
Cons: did not cure., washes off with rain a week after application., too gritty looked funky even before washing off
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
grospaw
from Gray, LA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works, but not a great buy.

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good non=skid. Does not spread very far or easily. Very thick even after extended stirring with a drill and stirrer attached.
Pros: Dries Quickly
Cons: very thick
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
psychobill57
from Olathe, KS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Fantastic Product

PostedMay 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I flip houses and have used this on multiple projects to improve upon a decks poor quality. This producet encapsulates the deck boards making them appear brand new. It's a bit time consuming to apply, especially the first coat but it's well worth it in the end. I've also used it on my personal deck and my dock. I was staining them both every other year, I won't have to touch it again for years to come. So the extra money this costs is well worth the money. Highly recommend, but as I mentioned be prepared for the application process to take quite a bit longer then staining or painting.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
Cons: takes a long time to apply lots of work
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Phil
from St. Augustine, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Covered well, second coat with special roller gave super results

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
goes on like rolling out pancake dough...great coverage
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly, recommended to neighbor
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 >>