728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Deck & Patio Restoration or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating

Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating

The Deck Restore 3.75-Gal. Acrylic Liquid Armor Resurfacer is formulated to beautify and protect exterior wood and composite decking, docks, stairs and more. The 1-part, acrylic formula is water based, and it is ready for application. It helps to lock down splinters to make surfaces more barefoot friendly.
Overall rating:
3.615 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(104 reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product68 of 96reviews
Rating Breakdown 104 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(46)
4
(23)
3
(8)
2
(3)
1
(24)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
71%of customersrecommend this product68 of 96reviews
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 69 Answers
Customer reviews for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Review 21 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
jjvello
from Johnstown, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

My deck looks like new.

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The deck was looking bad because it was not taken care of. Now, it will have complete protection for years to come.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Bobdontmakethissohard
from Apple Valley Ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff works great

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hi all, I bought an A frame house that was built in the late 70s. The redwood decks had been painted and were pealing badly. I scraped and water blasted them off as best I could before applying this product. I didn't really know what I was doing when I put the two coats on, and so I'm a little disappointed with my workmanship. The stuff that drools down between the gaps in the boards isn't a nice look. So I took more care on the second deck, to make sure I had a putty knife handy to keep the board edges wiped clean. It turned out much more professional looking. But This stuff is tough! After 2 years, I can still drag my chairs and table around on it, and it doesn't leave a scrape or a mark!
But here is the kicker that impressed me the most. I washed out one of the gallon cans to use as a butt can for my friends who smoke cigarettes during a get together. Stupid me again! I Didn't realize that the can was made of plastic. And consequently the bottom of the plastic can got hot and melted. I didn't realize this until the day after when I went to empty the butt can, and it was stuck to the deck!
I figured after a few tugs that it would take the restore off the deck and I would have to patch it. You can imagine my surprise, when the deck took the plastic off of the can! Now I have a plastic piece sticking to my deck in the corner.
A belt sander will get it off, and then some touch up with more of the restore product. But this is just a testament to how well this product works.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Clean, Dries Quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Bootch
from Goshen, IN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performs exactly as described.

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If you follow the manufacturers instructions exactly you will end up with a good looking deck, but attention to the details is critical. Precleaning is a must. The product is very good but it can't stick to dirt. Also, using the same color stain for vertical surfaces between the deck boards is the only way the end result is going to look good. This is a lot of work but the end result will be worth the time and labor. Roll in one direction only, just like the product literature says, and apply two full coats. It takes a lot of work but it's still better than ripping off all the old deck boards.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Good Protection
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
tcc1
from Kansas City, MO
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

End result is great!

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Plan ahead and allow plenty of time to apply this correctly. We found we had better luck between the deck slats with the coordinating stain, our slats were too close together to use the decking product. The product is very thick and takes time to apply correctly, but the end result is just what we needed.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: takes time to apply correctly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Joef
from East Providence, RI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

save your money

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Applied this past fall on our wood ramp, it looked great when we finished.
But then winter came and a lot of it is just coming off, I guess you are not supposed to shovel the snow off of it.
Pros: Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
JimM
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Ready to make final judgement

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Purchased because product got great reviews.
First impressions:
1. Product is too expensive
2. Must use their application roller to apply and they don't last very long. I suggest buying a good 6in paint roller (Buy 2 if doing a large deck-roller may break) and then buy the 18 in application roller. cut into three sections. Using a 6in reduces waste. The 8in roller pushes too much product through the cracks
3. Have a paint mixer attachment for your drill ready. You will need it to remix product.
4. Buy a 15-20 gal plastic tote. Pour product into plastic bin and dip roller there, shake off excess then apply the
product.
5. Product is messy - take your time
6. Pick a cooler day to apply and don't apply in direct sun
7. If you are looking for a quick fix and quick application, this product may not be for you.
I did a 20 x 40 deck and it took 6-7 hours to apply first coat.
2nd coat took about 4 hours to apply.
Product has been down 2 months and looks good.
I have a Red Maple tree jus off the deck and I have noticed that the seed that drop are staining the deck. I haven't really tried cleaning them because I am hoping to let the product cure for at least 6 months before cleaning.
But the deck looks pretty good
Pros: Good Coverage
Cons: hard application, expensive
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
IdahoHome
from Idaho
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Extremely Disappointed

PostedApril 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Almost entirely flaked off from front steps after less than 6 months. I was very excited to find this product and am so disappointed at the performance. A huge waste of money, will have to replace everything I coated with it.
Pros: Dries Quickly, nice surface while it lasted
Cons: flakes off, doesn't last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
BIGJIM
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product can be used for more then decks

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Saw this product and thought out side the box? I was installing a 42 ft picket fence in front of my house ,and thought that if i used this product on it i would never have to paint it again and its protected .what more would i want it worked out great. And you can choice any color
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Hacked
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't Waste Time and Money

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Spent hours pressure washing and prepping deck, and several more hours rolling on two coats only to watch this product be removed by the weather. It didn't even make it through one winter. Now I am left a deck that is mostly back to the original boards, but some of this junk is still stuck on in patches so I can't even stain at this point. Thank you selling a product that wasted $750 of my money and hours of my time.
Cons: junk
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
JMCuda
from Aurora, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Coating is great roller covers fall apart

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Deck Restore is a great product. Product only rolls out to about 7" on fist coat and 12-15" on second coat. the roller covers fall apart after one pail.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: roller covers fall apart
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
jy495
from Parker CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not use in cold climates

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Applied this product in the fall and after the first snow melted so did the deck restorer! Large pieces of the product came off with water. Now I have a large deck with the product mostly off and in the yard.
Cons: does not last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
NelsnG
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money if using on concrete

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was told by reps in two stores that this was suitable on concrete. I prepped my 4 X 5 front porch, making sure it was clean and dry and picked a week in which there was no rain in the forecast. I applied 2 coats with the special roller.
It looked good for a month or two but after the first few snows, this stuff peeled like an onion. Big flakes of the product have blown all over my yard and the few places where the product adhered to the concrete look bad.
I would NOT recommend this product
Pros: none
Cons: does not stick to concrete
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
TheBlueMax
from Stanwood, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product - Manufacturer info FALSE! MUST READ!

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coverage 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Low odor 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Our 400 sq ft, mostly covered front deck, has needed to be re-stained for 2 yrs so we researched & bought this product. Read the other reviews of this product on the Internet as you will use twice (2 times the amount) of this product than what the manufacturer calls for and it is not cheap. We did not dilute it, used the roller, applied the proper techniques and still used twice what the label stated as many-many other reviewers found.
All that said, the product is amazing, it does fill gaps, cracks and appears it will have a long life. You can control if you want a soft texture type appearance or more of a stucco like appearance. We softened our deck rails and stucco-like finished the deck portion and love it.
We will update this review in Spring and report how it held up.
Ask anything or email for photo's. Good luck!
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
jvny
from new york usa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

out standing product

PostedApril 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Applied product last year. You will need more then manufactures recommendations. Also depending on the size of your deck, more then one of the special rollers. Application is easy but take your time and do not rush. For the time and money the product is completely worth it. Every one who saw the deck could not believe the transformation. A few even thought I had a new deck installed. It has been close to a year now and the deck still looks like it did the day I did it. Had some mildew in one area and washed right off with the hose. No more dogs sliding all over a slippery deck or kids for that matter.
All in all excellent product and would recommend to anyone.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Mike
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems to cover good but you will use more than you think you will.

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have gone through 20 gallons so far and will need 12 more to finish. The first coat is harder to apply than the second coat. I suggest you buy the 18" roller and pan if you have a large deck. When you do the second coat it covers more area and is easier to apply and looks good when you finish. Do not coat your deck or whatever if it's any chance of rain or thunder storms, I started my second coat and it was not completely dry when a storm came up and I lost 6 gallons.(I will say it rained hard for an hour or so) Overall I am very satisfied and it's a lot cheaper than replacing my deck. My wife even likes it.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Good Protection, Looks Great, Modern
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
Mickey
from Bellingham, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

makes wood feel like composite decking

PostedSeptember 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low odor 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I painted my new 8x30' deck with Restore yesterday. I was really impressed with the product, but have a few suggestions.
The info says it doesn't need primer. But I would recommend it, especially if you have bare wood. If I were to use Restore again, I'd prime the wood with primer tinted to match the Restore. Then, anything I missed with the Restore would be covered, protected, and not show through the Restore. Since I didn't prime, the bare sides of the boards show through show very brightly through the spaces between the boards.
Definitely use the special Restore roller. A regular roller and a paintbrush just mush the sandy part of the paint around and ruins the desired effect.
I was only able to get one coat (about 240-250 sq ft) out of the 4 gal bucket - a lot less than I expected. I definitely need to do a second coat and will need another entire bucket for that.
Overall, I am looking forward to the finished product and would recommend it.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
SUsna
from Atlanta GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worked for me on a wheelchair ramp

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I wanted to give a non skid surface to a wheelchair ramp that had a bit of a steep grade. The first coat was weird and i thought "What is this?" but the second coat went on perfectly and works great. Looks great too and so far (18 months) it has resisted any wear at all.
I am a decorative painter and I've worked with all kinds of products. This one is very easy to use and does the trick!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
MannyMoeandMac
from Berkshires foothills, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very Disapointed

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am very disappointed. I used two four gallon buckets for the second coat and Three 2 packs for the first.... I watched the temps, and each coat should have cured well... but it is not holding up at all. meanwhile, the Cabot solid color Stain I used on the front deck, adding grit to the walking area and steps is GREAT. (And I only got one coat on!!!!!) I should have gone with the Cabot......
Cons: did not cure., washes off with rain a week after application., too gritty looked funky even before washing off
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
psychobill57
from Olathe, KS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Fantastic Product

PostedMay 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I flip houses and have used this on multiple projects to improve upon a decks poor quality. This producet encapsulates the deck boards making them appear brand new. It's a bit time consuming to apply, especially the first coat but it's well worth it in the end. I've also used it on my personal deck and my dock. I was staining them both every other year, I won't have to touch it again for years to come. So the extra money this costs is well worth the money. Highly recommend, but as I mentioned be prepared for the application process to take quite a bit longer then staining or painting.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
Cons: takes a long time to apply lots of work
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Deck Liquid Armor Resurfacer 4 Gal. Water Based Charleston Exterior Coating
JandJhockey
from Waynesville, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Read the directions, watch videos - then apply. Works Great

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We made sure to check this product out thoroughly before buying and applying. So we did NOT expect it to go on like paint and it doesn't. It is much more time consuming but the end product is worth it. I love the textured surface and it filled cracks and holes great. The deck looks awesome! Cut it with water to get into tight spots. The darker colors are HOT in the sun - so consider that when choosing a color. Haven't bought the matching stain yet for the railing and spindles but plan to do so - this is not a vertical product.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly, Good Coverage
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6 >>