728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Deck & Patio Restoration or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer

4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer

The Deck Restore 3.75-gal. Acrylic Liquid Armor Resurfacer is formulated to beautify and protect exterior wood and composite decking, docks, stairs and more. The 1-part, acrylic formula is water based, and it is ready for application. It helps to lock down splinters to make surfaces more barefoot friendly.
Overall rating:
2.859 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(220 reviews) 220
Open Ratings Snapshot
49%of customersrecommend this product104 of 212reviews
Rating Breakdown 220 reviews
2.9 out of 5
5
(69)
4
(33)
3
(13)
2
(8)
1
(97)
Quality 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
49%of customersrecommend this product104 of 212reviews
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 96 Answers
Customer reviews for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
Review 21 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not last

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was good when first applied in the fall. Everything looked great. Then winter arrived with freezing temps,snow and sleet etc. even though I never used a shovel, only pushed a broom it is just flaking right off!! Now it just flakes off in chunks when you just walk on it!! Come Spring I will have to scrape it all off
Because it looks terrible now. Didn't even last four months!! And it is very expensive!!
Cons: Scratches Easily
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Chesterfield, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product --worth the effort!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product! I had a pressure treated natural deck that was added onto a year ago. I decided to use this to make both parts match. It covers the exact amount of square feet it says it does. Don't plan on trying to stretch it. It takes two coats to get the proper coverage and plan on brushing it on between the board to get a quality look. We did our 400 square foot deck and our 100 square foot front porch. They look AWESOME! It feels great on your feet and is not to rough. Also not slippery when wet. Never looks bad even when wet. It is some work to put down but worth all the effort.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

NEVER EVER USE ON CONCRETE!!!!

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm not sure how this product works on wood decking however do not ever ever....ever....ever use this on concrete. I applied this product two weeks ago and it looked fabulous, however only after two weeks the product is cracking and chipping. Could only imagine what it's going to look like after I shovel the porch after a snow storm. I followed all of the recommendations of the manufacturer and the end product did not hold up to their word. It should not specify that this can be used for concrete. Home Depot should take this off the shelf until the label specifies "DO NOT USE ON CONCRETE".
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Use
Cons: does not work for concrete
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Louisville, KY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DON'T BUY!!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I followed the prep directions exactly. Found that the application was much more difficult than advertised but it looked great after it was completed. However after our hard winter, it has begun separating, cracking, chipping and generally a disaster. How do I exercise my "Limited Lifetime Warranty"? Don't waste your time or money.
Cons: does not hold up, difficult to apply
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Miami, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not pleased. Wish I had read reviews before buying

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a deck that had deteriorated. The Restore commercials convinced me to try the product. First I replaced all badly deteriorated boards then painted entire deck with Restore 4X. Not a bad product, tinted well but did not cover knotholes, joints, cracks, etc. I decided to use 10X.
!0X did not tint well. I don't know if it was product or Home Depot but it did not match sample or brochure. I will have to paint over with another product.
10X is very thick and difficult to use. The restore rollers leave a weird pattern and must be knocked down with a brush. Very poor coverage but the store POP does advise that there is limited coverage.
I quit applying after about half the bucket. Why continue if I'm going to have to redo with another product?
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Kansas City, MO
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

End result is great!

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Plan ahead and allow plenty of time to apply this correctly. We found we had better luck between the deck slats with the coordinating stain, our slats were too close together to use the decking product. The product is very thick and takes time to apply correctly, but the end result is just what we needed.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: takes time to apply correctly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Glastonbury, Ct
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Happy

PostedJune 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this product last summer. Followed the instructions exactly, it is very hard to apply. The deck looks bad...all the nails rusted through even though we primed....the product is peeling off the railings and the floor. Heading to Home Depot for a refund. Still stuck with a disaster of a deck.
Cons: Difficult to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer

Restore Refund

PostedJune 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Applied 12 gallons to my deck last summer. The produce lasted fine until this Spring when it bubbled up and peeled off. Home Depot was great in getting copies of my receipts. I contacted Rust-o-leum and sent pictures and receipts and said I was totally dissatisfied. They issued a full refund, but my deck looks horrible!
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: doesn't last
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

no

PostedJune 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We did are deck with this. It look good we love it. We left for the winter and when we got home all the deck look bad all the paint was gone. We used there cleaner first and then we put twp cost on it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Provides a beautiful deck surface

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We originally used Restore on our concrete porch. The finished product was very much what we had hoped for but my husband said that it was so labor intensive to apply that he would never do it again. Within a few months we were looking for a finish for our large patio. We looked at many products and possible finishes and none compared to Restore for such a durable surface at a reasonable price. In the end we chose to use Restore again. Restore filled the small cracks and imperfections in the patio. The color we chose complements our house perfectly. The finished product is professional-looking and should last for many years.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Good Protection, Looks Great
Cons: labor intensive to apply
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money if using on concrete

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was told by reps in two stores that this was suitable on concrete. I prepped my 4 X 5 front porch, making sure it was clean and dry and picked a week in which there was no rain in the forecast. I applied 2 coats with the special roller.
It looked good for a month or two but after the first few snows, this stuff peeled like an onion. Big flakes of the product have blown all over my yard and the few places where the product adhered to the concrete look bad.
I would NOT recommend this product
Pros: none
Cons: does not stick to concrete
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Johnstown, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

My deck looks like new.

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The deck was looking bad because it was not taken care of. Now, it will have complete protection for years to come.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Stanwood, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product - Manufacturer info FALSE! MUST READ!

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Coverage 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Low odor 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Our 400 sq ft, mostly covered front deck, has needed to be re-stained for 2 yrs so we researched & bought this product. Read the other reviews of this product on the Internet as you will use twice (2 times the amount) of this product than what the manufacturer calls for and it is not cheap. We did not dilute it, used the roller, applied the proper techniques and still used twice what the label stated as many-many other reviewers found.
All that said, the product is amazing, it does fill gaps, cracks and appears it will have a long life. You can control if you want a soft texture type appearance or more of a stucco like appearance. We softened our deck rails and stucco-like finished the deck portion and love it.
We will update this review in Spring and report how it held up.
Ask anything or email for photo's. Good luck!
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Aurora, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Coating is great roller covers fall apart

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Deck Restore is a great product. Product only rolls out to about 7" on fist coat and 12-15" on second coat. the roller covers fall apart after one pail.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: roller covers fall apart
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Rockville, MD
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Restore Deck System

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This was a major project for us. It was a bit pricey after buying everything needed for the job. However, we still probably saved money by not hiring someone. The color was just as expected from the color guide and it really did fill in all the cracks and grooves. The textured finish is a bit rough. Just finished the project so it will be the first winter with the deck restored. By the looks of the deck, I do believe it will hold up well over the winter! If you've got the time, I would recommend using this product to restore your deck.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer

huge disappointment-peeled in less than one year

PostedJune 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My poor husband worked SO hard on this. Followed the directions METICULOUSLY in September. it came out beautiful; that old raggedy deck looked like new! Then, winter happened, and in April,I saw a few chips. I said,"oh no, we have to fix those!" I realized the effort would be futile after a few weeks.now about 10% of it is up, and that's without much traffic at all. God forbid we actually USE the deck. SO disappointed.I thought Rustoleum was a company I could trust
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not experiencing any flaking

PostedApril 26, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Our deck is 12 years old with a top layer of 1x6's that have split & cracked over time. The Restore application is now 2 years in on a deck that bakes in summer. Product was not the easiest to apply to get a good "looking" texture, and it did take 2 coats after letting the first coat dry completely. I took the extra time to let the product "fill" the cracks in the deck. It is a thick product, and sealed many of the gaps between deck boards - that leaves some standing water puddles after a good rain. It's a must to have the deck pressure washed before application. I used the burgundy color, which matched our brick house. It's a pricey item, but cheaper than rebuilding the deck.
Pros: Good Coverage
Cons: takes time to get a good application.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Pittsburgh PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't last

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I applied this coating to concrete at the end of the summer and followed all the instructions. After going through 1 winter, the coating is coming off in large flakes. It looked good when I first put it down, but I expected it to last longer than 6 months for the price.
Cons: flakes off
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't Waste Time and Money

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Spent hours pressure washing and prepping deck, and several more hours rolling on two coats only to watch this product be removed by the weather. It didn't even make it through one winter. Now I am left a deck that is mostly back to the original boards, but some of this junk is still stuck on in patches so I can't even stain at this point. Thank you selling a product that wasted $750 of my money and hours of my time.
Cons: junk
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Won't use again

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The stuff is hard to apply. Now it's just chipping off everywhere. It doesn't seem to matter where I used it on the decks. Older decks, new sections. It started forming what looks like bubbles under it and then just breaks up. I applied it in September temperature was in 60s to seventies. I followed all the directions. I'll have to sand it off to refinish this spring. It looks terrible.
Cons: lasted 3 months. junk, will have to sand to remove, hard to apply, rip off
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>