728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Deck & Patio Restoration or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer

4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer

The Deck Restore 3.75-gal. Acrylic Liquid Armor Resurfacer is formulated to beautify and protect exterior wood and composite decking, docks, stairs and more. The 1-part, acrylic formula is water based, and it is ready for application. It helps to lock down splinters to make surfaces more barefoot friendly.
Overall rating:
2.894 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(216 reviews) 216
Open Ratings Snapshot
50%of customersrecommend this product104 of 208reviews
Rating Breakdown 216 reviews
2.9 out of 5
5
(69)
4
(33)
3
(13)
2
(8)
1
(93)
Quality 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
Value 
2.8 out of 5
2.8 out of 5
50%of customersrecommend this product104 of 208reviews
Customer questions and answers:
24 Questions | 94 Answers
Customer reviews for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
Review 21 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
Age Range:25 to 34

Looks great before it fails and ruins your deck

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased last summer and had optimal conditions for application...long dry summer. Followed manufacturers specs and came out with a very nice looking deck. Then the winter came. Less than half way through winter and the first couple freeze/thaws and the restore has failed. Cracks and chips...worse and worse every day as the product continues to deteriorate.
Vendor was happy to refund for the product, but that doesn't solve the issue of a wrecked deck that I will now take up with the manufacturer.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions
Cons: ruined the deck
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not last

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was good when first applied in the fall. Everything looked great. Then winter arrived with freezing temps,snow and sleet etc. even though I never used a shovel, only pushed a broom it is just flaking right off!! Now it just flakes off in chunks when you just walk on it!! Come Spring I will have to scrape it all off
Because it looks terrible now. Didn't even last four months!! And it is very expensive!!
Cons: Scratches Easily
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from OAK CREEK, WI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WORST EVER

PostedMay 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
PUT THIS ON MY DECK IN SEPT 2013. BY MAY OF 2014, IT WAS COMING OFF IN HUNKS. IN MAY OF 2015 IT IS COMING OFF IN SHEETS! TERRIBLE STUFF!!
Cons: doesn't stay on the deck surface
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Chesterfield, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product --worth the effort!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product! I had a pressure treated natural deck that was added onto a year ago. I decided to use this to make both parts match. It covers the exact amount of square feet it says it does. Don't plan on trying to stretch it. It takes two coats to get the proper coverage and plan on brushing it on between the board to get a quality look. We did our 400 square foot deck and our 100 square foot front porch. They look AWESOME! It feels great on your feet and is not to rough. Also not slippery when wet. Never looks bad even when wet. It is some work to put down but worth all the effort.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Bath, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Restore was perfect! Did just what it said it would!

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I loved the Deck Restore! My deck was destroyed! My kids were getting splinters everyday! I applied it myself (no husband required:) and it covered every imperfection! The product also covered EXACTLY as many square feet as it said it would! My kids now run around the deck with no shoes and no splinters! I love the texture and color choices! Only complaint is I used the "river rock" color and it was slightly lighter that shown on the sample. But I love the product and have recommended it to many friends already!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Useless material

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I worked in construction materials related services. I read the instructions carefully and applied the material as instructed. The material last only 9 months (over winter season in northwest region). It is brittle and has cracked + spalled. I don't recommend this material at all. I suggest you try other products as this has proven not working in wet and mild cold region.
Cons: just not working as advertised
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Massena, NY / Canadian Southern Tropics.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did the Job no other deck paint/stain could. Restore has lasted longer and provides a firm walking surface.

PostedApril 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We just followed the instructions. We are very pleased with this product and the color options. 3 years ago we painted the concrete walkway around the pool. 2 years ago we tried on the back pressure treated deck - it last our hard winter (Northern New York / Massena, NY) with only a few chips and scratches (trying to rid some of the winter ice buildup) but this was easy to repair. Our front deck (getting the Southern Sun) was pressure treated. We tried 2 other products but neither lasted more than 2 years then started to peal. 2 years ago we cleaned, pressure washed and let sit bare for about 6 weeks before applying restore 10x, but with only one coat. This paint coating survived the year. Last year we applied a 2nd coat of Restore. This Spring of 2015 it also survived with some minor chip due to shoveling the snow using a plastic shovel without any metal edges. Again the chips were the result of trying to rid icing. Would highly recommend.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Good Protection
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Mahopac,New York
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Huge failure

PostedMarch 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While this product looks good it is very tough to roll on or brush and the coverage is pitiful!tooo thick and splatters everywhere!!! After I was done it did look great during the late spring and summer but after the cold temps and moisture from all the snowfall I could wipe it off simply by rubbing the sole of my shoe on it and it simply wiped right off with little effort,basically like wiping fog from a windshield! As soon as the weather gets warmer I will use my broom and swep this ---- off my deck and then use a solid stain !!!
Worst product ever made and definitely not worth the money!!!!doesnt restore ----!!!!
Pros: looks good for a very short time
Cons: slides right off in the cold and or rain
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Louisville, KY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DON'T BUY!!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I followed the prep directions exactly. Found that the application was much more difficult than advertised but it looked great after it was completed. However after our hard winter, it has begun separating, cracking, chipping and generally a disaster. How do I exercise my "Limited Lifetime Warranty"? Don't waste your time or money.
Cons: does not hold up, difficult to apply
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

NEVER EVER USE ON CONCRETE!!!!

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm not sure how this product works on wood decking however do not ever ever....ever....ever use this on concrete. I applied this product two weeks ago and it looked fabulous, however only after two weeks the product is cracking and chipping. Could only imagine what it's going to look like after I shovel the porch after a snow storm. I followed all of the recommendations of the manufacturer and the end product did not hold up to their word. It should not specify that this can be used for concrete. Home Depot should take this off the shelf until the label specifies "DO NOT USE ON CONCRETE".
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Use
Cons: does not work for concrete
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Glastonbury, Ct
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Happy

PostedJune 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this product last summer. Followed the instructions exactly, it is very hard to apply. The deck looks bad...all the nails rusted through even though we primed....the product is peeling off the railings and the floor. Heading to Home Depot for a refund. Still stuck with a disaster of a deck.
Cons: Difficult to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Rockville, MD
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Restore Deck System

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This was a major project for us. It was a bit pricey after buying everything needed for the job. However, we still probably saved money by not hiring someone. The color was just as expected from the color guide and it really did fill in all the cracks and grooves. The textured finish is a bit rough. Just finished the project so it will be the first winter with the deck restored. By the looks of the deck, I do believe it will hold up well over the winter! If you've got the time, I would recommend using this product to restore your deck.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer

Restore Refund

PostedJune 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Applied 12 gallons to my deck last summer. The produce lasted fine until this Spring when it bubbled up and peeled off. Home Depot was great in getting copies of my receipts. I contacted Rust-o-leum and sent pictures and receipts and said I was totally dissatisfied. They issued a full refund, but my deck looks horrible!
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: doesn't last
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Reedsburg, WI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst product ever

PostedApril 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this product last summer. It looked nice when it was finished. Now that the snow has all melted it is now peeling throughout my whole deck. If anyone asks me about this product I will tell them not to buy it. Way to expensive for what little enjoyment a person gets out of it.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Dries Quickly
Cons: Scratches Easily, peels quickly, poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from san marcos texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DON'T BUY!

PostedApril 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this after years of using stains and paints on my deck just to have it wear off and repeating the process year after year. This product lifted the first time it rained. I prepared the deck as directed. It goes on like mudd and it doesn't last. I wasted 400.00 for nothing. I am in the process of pressure washing the deck now. Don't waste your money. Plus it feels awful to walk on.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Scratches Easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Kansas City, MO
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

End result is great!

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Plan ahead and allow plenty of time to apply this correctly. We found we had better luck between the deck slats with the coordinating stain, our slats were too close together to use the decking product. The product is very thick and takes time to apply correctly, but the end result is just what we needed.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: takes time to apply correctly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Cincinnati
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This stuff is junk

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not use this stuff. It will peel off within 6 months. First I used bleach on the deck, then Dawn dish soap to get rid of the bleach. After that, I used a pressure washer to get rid of the soap. The deck looked great and I almost didn't put the stuff on. Now I am sorry I did. It is coming off in sheets. Is is so bad, when the wind blows hard enough, I am picking the junk out of the grass and gardens. I repeat, do NOT use this junk. If you are having an issue with this garbage, call rust-oleum and get your money back.
Cons: flakes off in sheets
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't Waste Time and Money

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Spent hours pressure washing and prepping deck, and several more hours rolling on two coats only to watch this product be removed by the weather. It didn't even make it through one winter. Now I am left a deck that is mostly back to the original boards, but some of this junk is still stuck on in patches so I can't even stain at this point. Thank you selling a product that wasted $750 of my money and hours of my time.
Cons: junk
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer

Peeled off

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Our deck was prepared according to Restore recommendations and the product still peeled up after 6 months. Waste of money!
Cons: peels off deck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 4-gal. Tint Base Deck and Concrete 10X Resurfacer
from Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Provides a beautiful deck surface

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We originally used Restore on our concrete porch. The finished product was very much what we had hoped for but my husband said that it was so labor intensive to apply that he would never do it again. Within a few months we were looking for a finish for our large patio. We looked at many products and possible finishes and none compared to Restore for such a durable surface at a reasonable price. In the end we chose to use Restore again. Restore filled the small cracks and imperfections in the patio. The color we chose complements our house perfectly. The finished product is professional-looking and should last for many years.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Good Protection, Looks Great
Cons: labor intensive to apply
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>