728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Axes, Mauls & Hatchets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

Ideal for taller users or anyone who prefers a longer axe, the X27 Splitting Axe provides power that makes splitting medium-sized to extra-large logs easier than ever. Like every X-Series Hatchet or Axe, the X27 combines perfected weight distribution, advanced blade geometry, an ultra-sharp edge and virtually unbreakable design to maximize your performance. This combination of features allows the blade to disperse wood more effectively, offering more one-strike splits with each swing. It also includes our longest handle for increased leverage to maximize the power and speed of taller users. Since you can split wood more easily with the X27, each job requires less time, less effort and less hand strain. Lifetime warranty.
Overall rating:
4.919 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(172 reviews) 172
Open Ratings Snapshot
99%of customersrecommend this product169 of 170reviews
Rating Breakdown 172 reviews
4.9 out of 5
5
(160)
4
(10)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
99%of customersrecommend this product169 of 170reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
Review 1 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fiskars

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I would like to provide a review of my recent purchase from Home Depot - my Fiskars Super Splitting Axe. Home Depot was great in helping me place the on-line order and getting it to me quickly. The axe, welll, it is unbelievable!  I have split my own firewood for over 30 years. I have had some good 8 pound splitting mauls. None of them would hold a candle to this tool.  It is sturdy and perfectly shaped. It pops the wood, even what I call the "ornery" pieces. I have worn off some of the Fiskars name.  But, the axe itself is as solid as can be. I would not want to be without mine and would highly recommend it to others.  The proof is the pile of wood in the background!  Dennis
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Crozier Va
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best axe I've used

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This Axe is everything the manufacturers claim. I rarely write reviews but this product is exceptional, the best axe I have used in 30 years of splitting wood by hand.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A true force to be reckoned with

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this axe after seeing the great reviews it had on this website and was immediately pleased with my purchase. I was initially surprised at how much (better) I could now split wood than I could before. It is fast, light, and does not wear you out at all. I touched the edge up with a diamond stone and do so every 2 times I chop, this way the edge stays razor sharp and splits cleanly. I heated my home this whole winter with this axe, splitting probably 30 or so cords of wood by hand. This axe is a must if you chop wood by hand. period.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Olympia Washington.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First Time Splitting Wood.

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We had three huge Douglas fir trees taken down, they were left cut in to 16in rounds. I bought the Fiskar X27 after reading plenty of reviews, I must say this thing is a wonderful piece of kit, split everything beautifully. I have never had to split wood before as we have always had gas furnaces but my son in law has split wood from being a boy. I showed him the X27 his first words were, " Did you buy a heavier one too? you will need one for these rounds " I told him to give it a try he couldn't believe how well it split and, how easy. I also bought the sharpener not that I have needed it yet this maul is Sharp and stayed that way. Some of the bigger rounds I split first using a wedge and sledgehammer so I could lift them on to my chopping block other than that the X27 did it all. I would highly recommend this Maul.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You wont believe how this axe works.

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When they say one hit one split they are not kidding around, My first swing was at a wet 24" round piece of wood full of knots, With full power the head not only penetrated the wood but split and pushed both pieces off my cutting block, with another person loading wood on my block I was able to split one cord per hour, thanks to fiskars and gatorade, The blade is made from a very soft piece of metal, when sharpened with a fiskars sharpener it will hold a razor edge for a entire cord of wood , I accidentally dragged the blade across the finger of a new pair of leather gloves the blade went through the glove and into my finger, VERY SHARP.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, great warranty
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Church Hill, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great axe for spltting wood

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this axe after two large white oak trees were cut down in my yard. The tool is perfect for the job. The length of the handle adds power to each stroke. Even though the wood is green, the Fiskars X27 splits it with minimal effort.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Verona, Wisconsin
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super Tool

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
When I first saw this axe I was skeptical that it could perform as well as my 8lb splitting maul that I already had. After a couple swings on a large oak log I was shocked at the performance. Unlike my heavier maul I could swing this bad boy all day without killing my shoulders and it split faster and easier than the old timer. It could also be used for lighter jobs with ease. Unlike a lot of other gimicky tools this tool walked the walk and backed up it's brag with real results. If you like splitting wood you will love this baby. The long handle is light and like a cored baseball bat gives you the head velocity and since Kinetic Energy= mass x velocity squared the added velocity is more important than the heavy mass so there you have it a great tool that really moves fast and therefore splits fast.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Laconia, NH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Axe for splitting

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've tried a couple other axes and ended up with this one in the long run. I liked that it was still a splitting maul but not 8 pounds or more. After a couple cord of splitting those extra couple pounds feel like a ton. It is sturdy, well balanced and splits well. Most of my splits were on the first strike with only a few very ornery pieces needing more than that. The handle stands up well to overstrikes. My last axe with a synthetic (non Wood) handle cracked after only one overstrike. The extra length is handy to make sure you don't end up splitting your foot or shin in the event of a miss and adds a bit of extra momentum to the head for clean splits.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Wylie, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing Splitter Axe

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is an amazingly sharp axe, it does exactly what it says it does... splits wood in a supper efficient manner. The only thing you have to be careful of is "ITS SHARP" I mean kitchen knife sharp! I brushed my finger against the blade on one of the chops and sliced it pretty good. Flip side of that is it makes quick haste of your wood. Not sure how long it will hold that amazing edge, but so far I've chopped a few dozen oak logs with it and no issues at all. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a great wood splitting axe. I bought the longer shorter one as well for those small fireplace logs. Love that one too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simply the best axe..........PERIOD!!

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just as every review before me has stated, this axe rocks.
I didn't realize how inefficient the splitting axe, maul, and 3 lb sledge hammer I used actually was. I took this thing out the carry handle and started swinging and in about 45 minutes I had split almost every log I had (and they were BIG logs that were not all the way dry that I got for free from Craiislist from a guy that had his tree cut down). This thing was flying through everything. Since the pine logs were so big (like 2.5 - 3 feet long and more than a foot wide) I still had to break out the maul once or twice but once the log was in half, the Fiskars went to splitting them again. This thing is just amazing.
If it ever breaks, I will buy another happily. Heck, I would even pay if they didn't have it on sale and I paid full price, this axe is just that amazing.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

Excellent splitting axe

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just received this axe. I had ordered some firewood from a not so reputable company. The wood was not the driest and need to be made into smaller pieces. The axe cut through like a warm knife cutting through butter. My first swing I swing with all my might and was pleased that I was able to take it down a few notches for the same results. Great purchase. I can't wait to start chopping the massive trees I took down a few weeks ago.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Northwest Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

All it can be

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I really can't add to what has been said to the current reviews. It is 100% better than the splitting mauls I've used over the years. I'm 64 and love it; wish I would have found it sooner. Fiskars makes good stuff. Easy on my shoulders swinging this splitter.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Garden Valley,Idaho
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great splitting axe

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The axe wasn't cheep but after using it I forgot about the price. The axe is noticeably lighter than my old splitting maul and due to the long handle, split wood as well if not better. I feel like I am not working as hard to split wood with the X27 axe. It is very well built and I am sure will last longer than me. I can not think of any negatives on this axe.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from New Salisbury, IN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOVE It!!!!

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very satisfied with the axe and plan to buy a second one. Totally love this purchase. It is amazing!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

Nice splitting axe!

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The axe works well. Of course its a bit pricey, but decided to quit debating and buy it. I am very satisfied with this axe and feel it was worth the expense. Makes my older one obsolete now and homedepot had the best price and happy with service versus other dealers. Stick with what you know works!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

One swing splits

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great axe, swings wonderfully and splits wood fast. One swing is the all it takes so you won't swing to many times. Knots, branches, snarly peices no problem. Meanest price of steel I have ever used to split wood.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

Best Splitting Axe

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent splitting axe! Light weight and powerful. Highly recommended.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Townville,SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best buy for the Money

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to swing, great handle, fantastic value for $.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Georgia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The splitting axe works very well.

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
What more can I say about an axe, it works very well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Kalamazoo MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Fiskars X27 Splitting Axe

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have tried 5 different mauls ranging from a hickory handled traditional maul, fiberglass handled 6 pounders that were clearly Fiskars wanna be's, long and short handled 12 pound steel handled mauls and the Fiskars X27. It works the best for well seasoned wood. Often a single strike with this very sharp, wedge shaped head split the log in two. And given its light weight of only about 6 pounds and the long handle, you get lots of speed going by the time the axe face meets the wood. It is also less fatiguing to use than the 12 pounder with the longer handle, (which can also be effective), so you can work longer and get a lot more wood split. This X27 comes with a lifetime guarantee, but it seems so well built that it will likely be many years before I need to test that guarantee. It isn't cheap, but it really does the job!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>