728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Axes, Mauls & Hatchets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

Ideal for taller users or anyone who prefers a longer axe, the X27 Splitting Axe provides power that makes splitting medium-sized to extra-large logs easier than ever. Like every X-Series Hatchet or Axe, the X27 combines perfected weight distribution, advanced blade geometry, an ultra-sharp edge and virtually unbreakable design to maximize your performance. This combination of features allows the blade to disperse wood more effectively, offering more one-strike splits with each swing. It also includes our longest handle for increased leverage to maximize the power and speed of taller users. Since you can split wood more easily with the X27, each job requires less time, less effort and less hand strain. Lifetime warranty.
Overall rating:
4.925 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(146 reviews) 146
Open Ratings Snapshot
99%of customersrecommend this product143 of 144reviews
Rating Breakdown 146 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(136)
4
(9)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
99%of customersrecommend this product143 of 144reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
Review 1 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fiskars

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I would like to provide a review of my recent purchase from Home Depot - my Fiskars Super Splitting Axe. Home Depot was great in helping me place the on-line order and getting it to me quickly. The axe, welll, it is unbelievable!  I have split my own firewood for over 30 years. I have had some good 8 pound splitting mauls. None of them would hold a candle to this tool.  It is sturdy and perfectly shaped. It pops the wood, even what I call the "ornery" pieces. I have worn off some of the Fiskars name.  But, the axe itself is as solid as can be. I would not want to be without mine and would highly recommend it to others.  The proof is the pile of wood in the background!  Dennis
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A true force to be reckoned with

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this axe after seeing the great reviews it had on this website and was immediately pleased with my purchase. I was initially surprised at how much (better) I could now split wood than I could before. It is fast, light, and does not wear you out at all. I touched the edge up with a diamond stone and do so every 2 times I chop, this way the edge stays razor sharp and splits cleanly. I heated my home this whole winter with this axe, splitting probably 30 or so cords of wood by hand. This axe is a must if you chop wood by hand. period.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Olympia Washington.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First Time Splitting Wood.

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had three huge Douglas fir trees taken down, they were left cut in to 16in rounds. I bought the Fiskar X27 after reading plenty of reviews, I must say this thing is a wonderful piece of kit, split everything beautifully. I have never had to split wood before as we have always had gas furnaces but my son in law has split wood from being a boy. I showed him the X27 his first words were, " Did you buy a heavier one too? you will need one for these rounds " I told him to give it a try he couldn't believe how well it split and, how easy. I also bought the sharpener not that I have needed it yet this maul is Sharp and stayed that way. Some of the bigger rounds I split first using a wedge and sledgehammer so I could lift them on to my chopping block other than that the X27 did it all. I would highly recommend this Maul.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You wont believe how this axe works.

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When they say one hit one split they are not kidding around, My first swing was at a wet 24" round piece of wood full of knots, With full power the head not only penetrated the wood but split and pushed both pieces off my cutting block, with another person loading wood on my block I was able to split one cord per hour, thanks to fiskars and gatorade, The blade is made from a very soft piece of metal, when sharpened with a fiskars sharpener it will hold a razor edge for a entire cord of wood , I accidentally dragged the blade across the finger of a new pair of leather gloves the blade went through the glove and into my finger, VERY SHARP.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, great warranty
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Church Hill, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great axe for spltting wood

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this axe after two large white oak trees were cut down in my yard. The tool is perfect for the job. The length of the handle adds power to each stroke. Even though the wood is green, the Fiskars X27 splits it with minimal effort.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Asheville

Love It

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works better than an 8 pound maul for most uses. For really large, twisted hard wood, the maul rules. For 95% of everything I split the X27 works just as well, but with MUCH less effort. Wood just explodes and flies apart with much less effort. Steel is a bit soft (surprisingly). but very easy to sharpen with a couple of quick strokes to tune up. Handle is very forgiving also; I completely missed (over reached) on one particularity hard swing into a big locust stump. It just bounced back, no harm done. It's not a giant splitting maul, or a substitute for a sledge, but for splitting all but the largest logs the X27 rocks with much less effort. Highly recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, reduced effort
Cons: soft steel
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Verona, Wisconsin
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super Tool

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When I first saw this axe I was skeptical that it could perform as well as my 8lb splitting maul that I already had. After a couple swings on a large oak log I was shocked at the performance. Unlike my heavier maul I could swing this bad boy all day without killing my shoulders and it split faster and easier than the old timer. It could also be used for lighter jobs with ease. Unlike a lot of other gimicky tools this tool walked the walk and backed up it's brag with real results. If you like splitting wood you will love this baby. The long handle is light and like a cored baseball bat gives you the head velocity and since Kinetic Energy= mass x velocity squared the added velocity is more important than the heavy mass so there you have it a great tool that really moves fast and therefore splits fast.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Sparta, NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing Splitting Axe

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had an old axe that was never that great to begin with, so was in the market for a new one.
My buddy brought over a Fiskars and I loved it; I have many other Fiskars products so was familiar with their quality.
My first use with this axe was amazing. Perfectly weighted and balanced, and completely effortless splitting. I barely have to swing the axe, pretty much just let it drop on the log and it takes care of the rest. I had a few overswings and there was no pain in my hands like with my old axe, and no damage done to this axe.
Great buy, great value, great product.
I would highly recommend this axe!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Cumming GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Happy with the Fiskars X27

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Received my X27 splitting axe today, and immediately tried it on some recently felled red oak. Very good 1st impression. The larger rounds might take couple solid whacks to start, but after that shattered easily without having to swing that hard at all. Of course this is easy wood, but it seemed less work than other axes I've use. I was looking for a better tool to help save my back, and I think I've found it.
Excellent control, build quality seems good. I'm a light user, so I expect this axe to be a valued tool for a very long time.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

Great product

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used the SS for a couple months now. I've been splitting cottonwood. This is pretty stringy and pretty hard to split. The angle of the head keeps it from getting stuck in the wood like a thin axe does. It feels better balanced and seems to swing better than my 6 lb maul. The handle molded over the head has held up really well. No noticeable dents or breaks from those occasional miss hits. The edge is sharp but thin. I keep it sharpened to a nice point and it really keeps the splitter cutting nice. I use a tire on my cutting stump, and I've occasionally hit a bead wire than dents the edge. It's no problem to sharpen out but be aware the edge will not be as strong as a heavy blunt maul. Each tool has its purpose and if you use this one as intended you will be pleased with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Shorewood, mn
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No complaints here

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I dropped 11 green ash trees and I have more than enough wood to split. I didn't want to rent a splitter so I decided to get this based on the ratings. It works great. It's not heavy and very comfortable to use. The wood is pretty green still, but the axe goes right through. Maybe with this gigantic pile of wood that is in need of splitting will help me keep this winter weight off. :/
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Amherst, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A very good splitter

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've only had it for 2-3 weeks, but, so far, I am a fan. Getting the head stuck in logs is inevitable because logs have knots and embedded, hidden branches that go against the grain, etc. Eventually this breaks the heads off of "normal" mauls. But this ax has a head that is forged into the handle, and it shows no signs of giving or wear after splitting about 6 cords; some of it was nasty. I'm hoping it survives for years, because I really like it. It works like a maul, but it's lighter, which helps after hours of splitting.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

Best Splitting Axe

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent splitting axe! Light weight and powerful. Highly recommended.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Georgia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The splitting axe works very well.

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What more can I say about an axe, it works very well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

splitting Axe review

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great. No regrets. Very durable. Splits wood easily with less work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Martinez, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great For Splitting, CAUTION: Soft Metal

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I split firewood by hand for side money. Over the past year, I split 20 cords using primarily 2 axes. I split about 7 with a RockForge 3.5 pound splitting axe (do NOT waste your money on that one!!) and the remaining 13 with the Fiskars.
I'm 5'8 which is shorter than the recommended user for this axe, but the length allows good leverage. It splits as well or better than the average axe because of the EXTREMELY sharp edge.
The hollow plastic handle seems flimsy on first inspection, but 13 cords of wood have failed to do more than rub the label off. A lightweight total package makes this axe easy for me to keep swinging up to 5 hours. I get tired after that.
NOTE: This axe is made of VERY soft metal and intended for splitting only. Take great care not to contact even slightly a rock or metal object with the axe, or you will notch the blade. DO NOT hammer on it if jammed into wood, or you will destroy it. Observe caution of you are trying to free up a wedge with the axe. I had to buy a sharpening stone, because I messed this up.
Axe does not wear at all from use with wood. It's extremely versatile, because the light weight and sharp edge will literally cut through wood fibers. Easily better than a maul, because you can swing it three times for the same amount of effort as a bigger tool.
Armed with only my Super Splitter, an 8 pound sledge, and a wedge, I can take apart 15-18 inch tall rounds of fresk oak and cherry from trees as big as 2.5 feet in diameter. My favorite axe yet! Worth the money. Avoid the RockForge Garbage!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Functionality, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality
Cons: soft metal
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 17 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

This thing is a bad hammer!

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have an outdoor boiler system and burn a lot of wood. Purchased the x27 after using one of my friends, this thing splits wood as good if not better than an 8 lb maul. I have abused the x27 and it is still looks like new. Definitely worth the money!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

This Axe is Awesome

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this axe today for the first time. Never used a splitting axe before in my life. Took a few swings before I could get the hang of judging the distance, but before long I was splitting away and my aim was getting better and better. I started with a few smaller (5" - 8") pieces. I did fine. Then, I went to a 18" round, and it was even easier. The big pieces are easier than the smaller pieces.
And as to the the size, I'm 60 yrs old, 5'9", 165 lbs, in excellent physical shape, and I found this very easy to use (once again, for the first time in my life using a splitting axe). I thought the 28" Fiskars splitting axe was too short. If they had a 32" or 33" model, I might have preferred it, but I didn't find this 36" one a problem at all to use, so I question the description where it says, "Ideal for taller users".
Thank you to all the people who gave a review. It was your comments that encouraged me to by this, and I'm very happy with it.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

skeptic

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This splitting axe lives up to its high rating I am extremely pleased with this tool it is almost fun to split wood now.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

Best Axe I ever used

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was easy to use and cut like knife through butter.
Pros: Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>