728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Axes, Mauls & Hatchets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

Ideal for taller users or anyone who prefers a longer axe, the X27 Splitting Axe provides power that makes splitting medium-sized to extra-large logs easier than ever. Like every X-Series Hatchet or Axe, the X27 combines perfected weight distribution, advanced blade geometry, an ultra-sharp edge and virtually unbreakable design to maximize your performance. This combination of features allows the blade to disperse wood more effectively, offering more 1-strike splits with each swing. It also includes our longest handle for increased leverage to maximize the power and speed of taller users. Since you can split wood more easily with the X27, each job requires less time, less effort and less hand strain. Lifetime warranty.
Overall rating:
4.904 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(188 reviews) 188
Open Ratings Snapshot
99%of customersrecommend this product185 of 186reviews
Rating Breakdown 188 reviews
4.9 out of 5
5
(172)
4
(14)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
99%of customersrecommend this product185 of 186reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
Review 1 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fiskars

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I would like to provide a review of my recent purchase from Home Depot - my Fiskars Super Splitting Axe. Home Depot was great in helping me place the on-line order and getting it to me quickly. The axe, welll, it is unbelievable!  I have split my own firewood for over 30 years. I have had some good 8 pound splitting mauls. None of them would hold a candle to this tool.  It is sturdy and perfectly shaped. It pops the wood, even what I call the "ornery" pieces. I have worn off some of the Fiskars name.  But, the axe itself is as solid as can be. I would not want to be without mine and would highly recommend it to others.  The proof is the pile of wood in the background!  Dennis
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A true force to be reckoned with

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this axe after seeing the great reviews it had on this website and was immediately pleased with my purchase. I was initially surprised at how much (better) I could now split wood than I could before. It is fast, light, and does not wear you out at all. I touched the edge up with a diamond stone and do so every 2 times I chop, this way the edge stays razor sharp and splits cleanly. I heated my home this whole winter with this axe, splitting probably 30 or so cords of wood by hand. This axe is a must if you chop wood by hand. period.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Crozier Va
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best axe I've used

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This Axe is everything the manufacturers claim. I rarely write reviews but this product is exceptional, the best axe I have used in 30 years of splitting wood by hand.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You wont believe how this axe works.

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When they say one hit one split they are not kidding around, My first swing was at a wet 24" round piece of wood full of knots, With full power the head not only penetrated the wood but split and pushed both pieces off my cutting block, with another person loading wood on my block I was able to split one cord per hour, thanks to fiskars and gatorade, The blade is made from a very soft piece of metal, when sharpened with a fiskars sharpener it will hold a razor edge for a entire cord of wood , I accidentally dragged the blade across the finger of a new pair of leather gloves the blade went through the glove and into my finger, VERY SHARP.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, great warranty
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Olympia Washington.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First Time Splitting Wood.

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We had three huge Douglas fir trees taken down, they were left cut in to 16in rounds. I bought the Fiskar X27 after reading plenty of reviews, I must say this thing is a wonderful piece of kit, split everything beautifully. I have never had to split wood before as we have always had gas furnaces but my son in law has split wood from being a boy. I showed him the X27 his first words were, " Did you buy a heavier one too? you will need one for these rounds " I told him to give it a try he couldn't believe how well it split and, how easy. I also bought the sharpener not that I have needed it yet this maul is Sharp and stayed that way. Some of the bigger rounds I split first using a wedge and sledgehammer so I could lift them on to my chopping block other than that the X27 did it all. I would highly recommend this Maul.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Church Hill, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great axe for spltting wood

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this axe after two large white oak trees were cut down in my yard. The tool is perfect for the job. The length of the handle adds power to each stroke. Even though the wood is green, the Fiskars X27 splits it with minimal effort.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Verona, Wisconsin
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super Tool

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
When I first saw this axe I was skeptical that it could perform as well as my 8lb splitting maul that I already had. After a couple swings on a large oak log I was shocked at the performance. Unlike my heavier maul I could swing this bad boy all day without killing my shoulders and it split faster and easier than the old timer. It could also be used for lighter jobs with ease. Unlike a lot of other gimicky tools this tool walked the walk and backed up it's brag with real results. If you like splitting wood you will love this baby. The long handle is light and like a cored baseball bat gives you the head velocity and since Kinetic Energy= mass x velocity squared the added velocity is more important than the heavy mass so there you have it a great tool that really moves fast and therefore splits fast.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from ga
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best axe ever

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you buy one axe buy this one. Splits wood twice as easy as any thing else I have used.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Palm Coast, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product! Makes me look like Paul Bunyan.

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Needed to split a bunch of logs and had zero experience. Checked out the reviews for this product, most of which I thought were a bit over the top, but I went and got it anyways. Well... they weren't. This thing is awesome!
I considered getting the one a size down as I'm only 5'8", but as it turns out, I think I made the right call. Doesn't like wet oak. As others have said, "beware the bounce", but even just letting one end dry for a day was enough for this complete amateur to split oak like an old pro (at least that's what I tell myself).
Highly recommend this product. I've split a little over a truckload and the thing shows NO signs of wear.
Love it.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Martinez, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great For Splitting, CAUTION: Soft Metal

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I split firewood by hand for side money. Over the past year, I split 20 cords using primarily 2 axes. I split about 7 with a RockForge 3.5 pound splitting axe (do NOT waste your money on that one!!) and the remaining 13 with the Fiskars.
I'm 5'8 which is shorter than the recommended user for this axe, but the length allows good leverage. It splits as well or better than the average axe because of the EXTREMELY sharp edge.
The hollow plastic handle seems flimsy on first inspection, but 13 cords of wood have failed to do more than rub the label off. A lightweight total package makes this axe easy for me to keep swinging up to 5 hours. I get tired after that.
NOTE: This axe is made of VERY soft metal and intended for splitting only. Take great care not to contact even slightly a rock or metal object with the axe, or you will notch the blade. DO NOT hammer on it if jammed into wood, or you will destroy it. Observe caution of you are trying to free up a wedge with the axe. I had to buy a sharpening stone, because I messed this up.
Axe does not wear at all from use with wood. It's extremely versatile, because the light weight and sharp edge will literally cut through wood fibers. Easily better than a maul, because you can swing it three times for the same amount of effort as a bigger tool.
Armed with only my Super Splitter, an 8 pound sledge, and a wedge, I can take apart 15-18 inch tall rounds of fresk oak and cherry from trees as big as 2.5 feet in diameter. My favorite axe yet! Worth the money. Avoid the RockForge Garbage!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Functionality, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality
Cons: soft metal
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 11 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

This Axe is Awesome

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this axe today for the first time. Never used a splitting axe before in my life. Took a few swings before I could get the hang of judging the distance, but before long I was splitting away and my aim was getting better and better. I started with a few smaller (5" - 8") pieces. I did fine. Then, I went to a 18" round, and it was even easier. The big pieces are easier than the smaller pieces.
And as to the the size, I'm 60 yrs old, 5'9", 165 lbs, in excellent physical shape, and I found this very easy to use (once again, for the first time in my life using a splitting axe). I thought the 28" Fiskars splitting axe was too short. If they had a 32" or 33" model, I might have preferred it, but I didn't find this 36" one a problem at all to use, so I question the description where it says, "Ideal for taller users".
Thank you to all the people who gave a review. It was your comments that encouraged me to by this, and I'm very happy with it.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from North Haven, ME
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good axe but a little light.

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This axe is very sharp. It keeps its edge after several swings. The only problem is that sometimes you need a heavier axe to split big logs. I've got an outdoor wood boiler that takes 26 inch split logs. That's a lot of lumber for a light axe to split. This would probably be perfect for normal size splitting but its too light for my needs.
Pros: Sturdy, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: too light for big logs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Derby, Kansas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Glad I Bought it.

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Much safer than using a sledge hammer and wedge(s). Considering its relative light weight, I was surprised how easily it split hardwoods. Also recommend getting the sharpener.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best splitter ever

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Well worth the money. No other splitter can compare. I wish I had this years ago.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Great Tool

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This by far the best splitting axe I have used. Well balanced and made to last a lifetime.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Washington, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tremendous ax for splitting

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I looked at several handle lengths for splitting before settling on the 36 in model. I thought perhaps 36 in was too long. However, the ax is easy to swing and the 36 in gave me more horsepower to split. This ax is great, I split large pieces of wood without a wedge and it worked like a champ. You may need a wedge only if you are splitting logs longer than 36 inches with a diameter over 24 inches. Other than that, one good swing resulted in a perfect split. If you are planning to split wood get this ax simple as that you will not be disappointed.
I used it on dry and wet logs. Balanced, light, easy to swing, but tons of splitting power.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality, Good Shape
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Midlothian, Va.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Surprisingly effective!

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I enjoy thoroughly the exercise of splitting wood and have owned many a maul and axe. After recently doing my own research on a new axe, I kept coming across this Fisker's tool. Having already owned a Fisker's hatchet and being very impressed with it's sharpness, balance, and feel, I figured I couldn't go wrong with another Fisker's product. Wow, was I right! For only 6.3 lbs. this axe truly puts it to any small to medium size log. I still need my 12 lb. super maul to get through those large oak logs. The engineering and design of this small but effective tool, is quite impressive, to say the least! If you no longer have the desire to handle the big mauls, this is all the axe you need! Have Fun!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Rainier, Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it is supposed to do.

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I purchased the X27 hoping that it would do the job and I am not disappointed. It was advertised as being sharp and to take care. It wasn't sharp like a knife would be, but certainly sharper than the average splitting device. However, it lost that edge after the first use or two, probably by striking a bit of gravel in the soil as it passed through the chunk. Whether the edge is pristine or not, it still splits quite well. I am used to a heavier maul so I was pleased with this one's performance. Smaller chunks pop at the first strike, larger pieces take a few. Being lighter in weight makes it easier on the body. I cannot say anything about the durability, I haven't sharpened it yet, the handle hasn't suffered any damage yet either. Overall, it seems like a good product. I did pay the extra cost for the axe with the longer handle, I believe that provides more speed and splitting power.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Laconia, NH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Axe for splitting

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've tried a couple other axes and ended up with this one in the long run. I liked that it was still a splitting maul but not 8 pounds or more. After a couple cord of splitting those extra couple pounds feel like a ton. It is sturdy, well balanced and splits well. Most of my splits were on the first strike with only a few very ornery pieces needing more than that. The handle stands up well to overstrikes. My last axe with a synthetic (non Wood) handle cracked after only one overstrike. The extra length is handy to make sure you don't end up splitting your foot or shin in the event of a miss and adds a bit of extra momentum to the head for clean splits.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Cameron Park, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

X27 vs the X25

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am 54 years old and 5' 7" tall. After reading the reviews, I could not decided between the X27 (36") or the X25 (28"), so I purchased both from Home Depot on line. I am glad I did as both have their uses. I find the X27 easy to use for my height. I think what Fiskars means when they say "for taller people" is that it is easier for someone 6' or taller to use vs the X25, but not necessarily that shorter people can't use it. The leverage the X27 gives for larger rounds is great and the light weight makes it easy to swing.
I like the X25 for smaller pieces. I am glad I purchased both because as I get older, anything to make the job easier is welcomed. For around $100 combined and free shipping, this was a solid purchase. The odd thing was that I purchased both axe's at the same time, yet they were shipped in different boxes; both the size of a medium sized refrigerator. It was like unpacking the crate in the movie "A Christmas Story" to find the leg lamp. I hope this review helps.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, as described
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>