728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Axes, Mauls & Hatchets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

Ideal for taller users or anyone who prefers a longer axe, the X27 Splitting Axe provides power that makes splitting medium-sized to extra-large logs easier than ever. Like every X-Series Hatchet or Axe, the X27 combines perfected weight distribution, advanced blade geometry, an ultra-sharp edge and virtually unbreakable design to maximize your performance. This combination of features allows the blade to disperse wood more effectively, offering more 1-strike splits with each swing. It also includes our longest handle for increased leverage to maximize the power and speed of taller users. Since you can split wood more easily with the X27, each job requires less time, less effort and less hand strain. Lifetime warranty.
Overall rating:
4.906 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(191 reviews) 191
Open Ratings Snapshot
99%of customersrecommend this product188 of 189reviews
Rating Breakdown 191 reviews
4.9 out of 5
5
(175)
4
(14)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
99%of customersrecommend this product188 of 189reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
Review 1 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fiskars

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I would like to provide a review of my recent purchase from Home Depot - my Fiskars Super Splitting Axe. Home Depot was great in helping me place the on-line order and getting it to me quickly. The axe, welll, it is unbelievable!  I have split my own firewood for over 30 years. I have had some good 8 pound splitting mauls. None of them would hold a candle to this tool.  It is sturdy and perfectly shaped. It pops the wood, even what I call the "ornery" pieces. I have worn off some of the Fiskars name.  But, the axe itself is as solid as can be. I would not want to be without mine and would highly recommend it to others.  The proof is the pile of wood in the background!  Dennis
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A true force to be reckoned with

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this axe after seeing the great reviews it had on this website and was immediately pleased with my purchase. I was initially surprised at how much (better) I could now split wood than I could before. It is fast, light, and does not wear you out at all. I touched the edge up with a diamond stone and do so every 2 times I chop, this way the edge stays razor sharp and splits cleanly. I heated my home this whole winter with this axe, splitting probably 30 or so cords of wood by hand. This axe is a must if you chop wood by hand. period.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Crozier Va
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best axe I've used

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This Axe is everything the manufacturers claim. I rarely write reviews but this product is exceptional, the best axe I have used in 30 years of splitting wood by hand.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You wont believe how this axe works.

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When they say one hit one split they are not kidding around, My first swing was at a wet 24" round piece of wood full of knots, With full power the head not only penetrated the wood but split and pushed both pieces off my cutting block, with another person loading wood on my block I was able to split one cord per hour, thanks to fiskars and gatorade, The blade is made from a very soft piece of metal, when sharpened with a fiskars sharpener it will hold a razor edge for a entire cord of wood , I accidentally dragged the blade across the finger of a new pair of leather gloves the blade went through the glove and into my finger, VERY SHARP.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, great warranty
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Church Hill, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great axe for spltting wood

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this axe after two large white oak trees were cut down in my yard. The tool is perfect for the job. The length of the handle adds power to each stroke. Even though the wood is green, the Fiskars X27 splits it with minimal effort.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Verona, Wisconsin
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super Tool

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
When I first saw this axe I was skeptical that it could perform as well as my 8lb splitting maul that I already had. After a couple swings on a large oak log I was shocked at the performance. Unlike my heavier maul I could swing this bad boy all day without killing my shoulders and it split faster and easier than the old timer. It could also be used for lighter jobs with ease. Unlike a lot of other gimicky tools this tool walked the walk and backed up it's brag with real results. If you like splitting wood you will love this baby. The long handle is light and like a cored baseball bat gives you the head velocity and since Kinetic Energy= mass x velocity squared the added velocity is more important than the heavy mass so there you have it a great tool that really moves fast and therefore splits fast.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Olympia Washington.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First Time Splitting Wood.

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We had three huge Douglas fir trees taken down, they were left cut in to 16in rounds. I bought the Fiskar X27 after reading plenty of reviews, I must say this thing is a wonderful piece of kit, split everything beautifully. I have never had to split wood before as we have always had gas furnaces but my son in law has split wood from being a boy. I showed him the X27 his first words were, " Did you buy a heavier one too? you will need one for these rounds " I told him to give it a try he couldn't believe how well it split and, how easy. I also bought the sharpener not that I have needed it yet this maul is Sharp and stayed that way. Some of the bigger rounds I split first using a wedge and sledgehammer so I could lift them on to my chopping block other than that the X27 did it all. I would highly recommend this Maul.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Splitting Axe

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this to see if it would perform better than maul. Did sidexside comparison and axe was clearly more efficient. It is a lot lighter than a maul but due to the sharper and narrower entry starts a wedge easier. The axe is also easier on the back.
The blade is softer metal which makes it easier to sharpen but quicker to dull. I resharpen the blade after about 15 larger logs. The blade also nicks easily so a file or grinder is necessary. The handle is surprisingly resistant to cracks, even when missing the target and hitting the log full on with the handle. The maul (fiberglass and wood) would crack under the same situation. All in all I am satisfied and have saved considerable time (and effort) compared to using the maul/wedges. So far have split about 3 cords of green pine and eucalyptus wood over the course of several weekends. The max log length for that wood has been about 20 inches length. Girth is not an issue if you start splitting about 2 inches from the edge and work your way in. If the wood was dry this would increase. If the wood was oak it would be less. Does not do well with pieces that have branches intersecting (but then what does.)
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, easy to sharpen
Cons: need to sharpen frequently.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Sandia Park, NM
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent splitting axe, not good for chopping

PostedJune 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had mine for about 2 years, split probably 10 cords of locust and elm.
The handle has no chips or dents, the head is just as tight as the day I bought it.
It is easy to sharpen with a file and holds its edge well.
I have no complaints.
Pros: Sturdy, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Palm Coast, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product! Makes me look like Paul Bunyan.

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Needed to split a bunch of logs and had zero experience. Checked out the reviews for this product, most of which I thought were a bit over the top, but I went and got it anyways. Well... they weren't. This thing is awesome!
I considered getting the one a size down as I'm only 5'8", but as it turns out, I think I made the right call. Doesn't like wet oak. As others have said, "beware the bounce", but even just letting one end dry for a day was enough for this complete amateur to split oak like an old pro (at least that's what I tell myself).
Highly recommend this product. I've split a little over a truckload and the thing shows NO signs of wear.
Love it.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Martinez, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great For Splitting, CAUTION: Soft Metal

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I split firewood by hand for side money. Over the past year, I split 20 cords using primarily 2 axes. I split about 7 with a RockForge 3.5 pound splitting axe (do NOT waste your money on that one!!) and the remaining 13 with the Fiskars.
I'm 5'8 which is shorter than the recommended user for this axe, but the length allows good leverage. It splits as well or better than the average axe because of the EXTREMELY sharp edge.
The hollow plastic handle seems flimsy on first inspection, but 13 cords of wood have failed to do more than rub the label off. A lightweight total package makes this axe easy for me to keep swinging up to 5 hours. I get tired after that.
NOTE: This axe is made of VERY soft metal and intended for splitting only. Take great care not to contact even slightly a rock or metal object with the axe, or you will notch the blade. DO NOT hammer on it if jammed into wood, or you will destroy it. Observe caution of you are trying to free up a wedge with the axe. I had to buy a sharpening stone, because I messed this up.
Axe does not wear at all from use with wood. It's extremely versatile, because the light weight and sharp edge will literally cut through wood fibers. Easily better than a maul, because you can swing it three times for the same amount of effort as a bigger tool.
Armed with only my Super Splitter, an 8 pound sledge, and a wedge, I can take apart 15-18 inch tall rounds of fresk oak and cherry from trees as big as 2.5 feet in diameter. My favorite axe yet! Worth the money. Avoid the RockForge Garbage!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Functionality, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality
Cons: soft metal
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 12 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
Age Range:45 to 54

almost anyone can swing it

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Big tree came down on our acres. Cut it then wanted to split it to make the wood useful. My teenagers are still catching on, but both I and my wife (neither have done much splitting wood in the last two decades) were having good results. I did wind up sharpening the edge when delivered.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

This Axe is Awesome

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this axe today for the first time. Never used a splitting axe before in my life. Took a few swings before I could get the hang of judging the distance, but before long I was splitting away and my aim was getting better and better. I started with a few smaller (5" - 8") pieces. I did fine. Then, I went to a 18" round, and it was even easier. The big pieces are easier than the smaller pieces.
And as to the the size, I'm 60 yrs old, 5'9", 165 lbs, in excellent physical shape, and I found this very easy to use (once again, for the first time in my life using a splitting axe). I thought the 28" Fiskars splitting axe was too short. If they had a 32" or 33" model, I might have preferred it, but I didn't find this 36" one a problem at all to use, so I question the description where it says, "Ideal for taller users".
Thank you to all the people who gave a review. It was your comments that encouraged me to by this, and I'm very happy with it.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 14 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from ga
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best axe ever

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you buy one axe buy this one. Splits wood twice as easy as any thing else I have used.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Washington, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tremendous ax for splitting

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I looked at several handle lengths for splitting before settling on the 36 in model. I thought perhaps 36 in was too long. However, the ax is easy to swing and the 36 in gave me more horsepower to split. This ax is great, I split large pieces of wood without a wedge and it worked like a champ. You may need a wedge only if you are splitting logs longer than 36 inches with a diameter over 24 inches. Other than that, one good swing resulted in a perfect split. If you are planning to split wood get this ax simple as that you will not be disappointed.
I used it on dry and wet logs. Balanced, light, easy to swing, but tons of splitting power.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality, Good Shape
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from North Haven, ME
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good axe but a little light.

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This axe is very sharp. It keeps its edge after several swings. The only problem is that sometimes you need a heavier axe to split big logs. I've got an outdoor wood boiler that takes 26 inch split logs. That's a lot of lumber for a light axe to split. This would probably be perfect for normal size splitting but its too light for my needs.
Pros: Sturdy, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: too light for big logs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Derby, Kansas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Glad I Bought it.

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Much safer than using a sledge hammer and wedge(s). Considering its relative light weight, I was surprised how easily it split hardwoods. Also recommend getting the sharpener.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

Great splitting Axe

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Moved out in the country,where we have a boiler outside.Need to split wood regularly to keep the house warm in the winter.This little axe performs wonderfully.At fist glance I can see where people would walk by it.It has a hollow handle made of space aged materials.Not the solid wood handle you were raised on,but after the neighbors have come by and swung it,they were pretty impressed.Its light,and does a better job.I am no lumber jack,but this thing makes me look like I know what I am doing.I seen they came out with a completely black model this year.I think ill have to get that one too.Thing is bad looking.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, bright orange color scheme makes it easy to see
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best splitter ever

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Well worth the money. No other splitter can compare. I wish I had this years ago.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Great Tool

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This by far the best splitting axe I have used. Well balanced and made to last a lifetime.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>