728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Axes or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

Ideal for taller users or anyone who prefers a longer axe, the X27 Splitting Axe provides power that makes splitting medium-sized to extra-large logs easier than ever. Like every X-Series Hatchet or Axe, the X27 combines perfected weight distribution, advanced blade geometry, an ultra-sharp edge and virtually unbreakable design to maximize your performance. This combination of features allows the blade to disperse wood more effectively, offering more one-strike splits with each swing. It also includes our longest handle for increased leverage to maximize the power and speed of taller users. Since you can split wood more easily with the X27, each job requires less time, less effort and less hand strain. Lifetime warranty.
Overall rating:
4.919 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(111 reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product109 of 109reviews
Rating Breakdown 111 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(103)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product109 of 109reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
Review 1 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
PastorShane
from Church Hill, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great axe for spltting wood

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this axe after two large white oak trees were cut down in my yard. The tool is perfect for the job. The length of the handle adds power to each stroke. Even though the wood is green, the Fiskars X27 splits it with minimal effort.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
Harrier
from Verona, Wisconsin
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super Tool

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When I first saw this axe I was skeptical that it could perform as well as my 8lb splitting maul that I already had. After a couple swings on a large oak log I was shocked at the performance. Unlike my heavier maul I could swing this bad boy all day without killing my shoulders and it split faster and easier than the old timer. It could also be used for lighter jobs with ease. Unlike a lot of other gimicky tools this tool walked the walk and backed up it's brag with real results. If you like splitting wood you will love this baby. The long handle is light and like a cored baseball bat gives you the head velocity and since Kinetic Energy= mass x velocity squared the added velocity is more important than the heavy mass so there you have it a great tool that really moves fast and therefore splits fast.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
Scott

Great splitting Axe

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Moved out in the country,where we have a boiler outside.Need to split wood regularly to keep the house warm in the winter.This little axe performs wonderfully.At fist glance I can see where people would walk by it.It has a hollow handle made of space aged materials.Not the solid wood handle you were raised on,but after the neighbors have come by and swung it,they were pretty impressed.Its light,and does a better job.I am no lumber jack,but this thing makes me look like I know what I am doing.I seen they came out with a completely black model this year.I think ill have to get that one too.Thing is bad looking.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, bright orange color scheme makes it easy to see
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
Husky3942003

Split 6 Rick's of Oak, Hickory, Poplar and Very Satified!!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I must admit I was a little sceptacle of this at first but I read so many good reviews that I had to give it a try.
Overally this is a great product! I have been using standard 6 lb mauls for years (Average about 20 to 30 rick a year) and this is by far more efficient that anything I have used thus far. It splits almost as well as my 12 Lbs Mega Maul and is much easier on the back. The composit handle feels cheap at first but It is really strong and feels very good in my hands once I started using it.
The only negative to this maul is the non-stick coating is already mostly wore off. It will be total gone in another 6 rick or so.
This is not a miracle maul by any means so dont expect it to bust through everything. But, it will surprise you. It out-performs my old maul by far and is much easier on my back and shoulders. I would highly reccomend this to anyone especially at this price. You will not regret it.
Note: This thing is SHARP!!! Buy the 36" handle. It is worth the money and you wont be as likely to hit your leg in the event of a miss. Expecially if you are on the taller side.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Strong, Long-Lasting, sharp!!
Cons: non-stick coating wears off quickly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
Greg
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did the job

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a 80 foot Hickory taken down in my yard last summer. I had the wonderful insight to think I would save money and not have them haul it. I thought I would rent a gas log splitter and have firewood for years...well that never happened.
Six months later the stack was not moving and a friend recommended I get a splitting axe and work off some of my winter weight. Not sure if I worked off my winter weight but this ax is awesome. I have spent a total of 12 hours splitting wood and have found this ax to be light weight, and easy to use...it really does all the hard work. I just swing away. That is not to say it is a walk in the park. But I heard plenty of horror stories, and to me it was fairly pain free, outside the fact I am a 45 year old out of shape lazy man.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
airdale
from Orem, UT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is an excellent tool for splitting fire wood.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was looking for a maul and wedges to split firewood when I came across the Fiskars axes. Since we have used Fiskars pruners for years, I was interested. I read 12 pages of reviews which helped me settle on the x27 because I am 6' tall. I am able to split most fireplace length logs will one strike. A couple of times I have had to strike a log that had five or six knots from branches more than once. The most I have struck any log before it split was three times.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
Disappointed
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

This Axe is Awesome

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this axe today for the first time. Never used a splitting axe before in my life. Took a few swings before I could get the hang of judging the distance, but before long I was splitting away and my aim was getting better and better. I started with a few smaller (5" - 8") pieces. I did fine. Then, I went to a 18" round, and it was even easier. The big pieces are easier than the smaller pieces.
And as to the the size, I'm 60 yrs old, 5'9", 165 lbs, in excellent physical shape, and I found this very easy to use (once again, for the first time in my life using a splitting axe). I thought the 28" Fiskars splitting axe was too short. If they had a 32" or 33" model, I might have preferred it, but I didn't find this 36" one a problem at all to use, so I question the description where it says, "Ideal for taller users".
Thank you to all the people who gave a review. It was your comments that encouraged me to by this, and I'm very happy with it.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
Oregon

Worth it

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was not at my local store so I ordered it online. Upon arrival the axe felt a little flimsy(light) due to the FiberComp material but my reservations were soon dismissed when I put it to some wood. I don't believe the advertisement for this splitting maul does the item any justice as you really have to feel the difference between this one and a traditional maul. This item has turned me on to Fiskar products and will seek them out in the future.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: doesn't come with a hatchet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
Brad37
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quicker & easier

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I spent an afternoon slowly splitting a cord of wood with an eight and ten pound splitters. It took better part of five hours. I picked this 6 pound, sharp model and was able to slice through half a cord in an hour. Amazingly sharp and more effective at 6 lbs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Sharp
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
1990
from Spokane, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wood Splitting Demon

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Recently moved to the country and have a wood stove. Last load of wood needed to be split. Not having an axe, I picked this one based on the reviews. Wow.. this axe just blows through the wood. It is very well balanced and is a breeze to handle. Even my wife (very petite) commented on how light and well balanced it is. Great product!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
AugustaLumberjack
from Martinez, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great For Splitting, CAUTION: Soft Metal

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I split firewood by hand for side money. Over the past year, I split 20 cords using primarily 2 axes. I split about 7 with a RockForge 3.5 pound splitting axe (do NOT waste your money on that one!!) and the remaining 13 with the Fiskars.
I'm 5'8 which is shorter than the recommended user for this axe, but the length allows good leverage. It splits as well or better than the average axe because of the EXTREMELY sharp edge.
The hollow plastic handle seems flimsy on first inspection, but 13 cords of wood have failed to do more than rub the label off. A lightweight total package makes this axe easy for me to keep swinging up to 5 hours. I get tired after that.
NOTE: This axe is made of VERY soft metal and intended for splitting only. Take great care not to contact even slightly a rock or metal object with the axe, or you will notch the blade. DO NOT hammer on it if jammed into wood, or you will destroy it. Observe caution of you are trying to free up a wedge with the axe. I had to buy a sharpening stone, because I messed this up.
Axe does not wear at all from use with wood. It's extremely versatile, because the light weight and sharp edge will literally cut through wood fibers. Easily better than a maul, because you can swing it three times for the same amount of effort as a bigger tool.
Armed with only my Super Splitter, an 8 pound sledge, and a wedge, I can take apart 15-18 inch tall rounds of fresk oak and cherry from trees as big as 2.5 feet in diameter. My favorite axe yet! Worth the money. Avoid the RockForge Garbage!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Functionality, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality
Cons: soft metal
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 12 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
Jamce
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best splitting axe

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I should have bought this years ago. Splits faster than my 8pounder, super sharp.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
STinSC
from South Carolina
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A perfect design and does a great job

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this splitting axe based upon the stellar reviews, and after using it for probably 12 hours over the past few days, I'm pleased to report that it has lived up to it's reputation. It's a lighter weight than many, but ALL the weight is in the head, making it swing beautifully, and allowing me to swing it for hours at a time. It is a bit longer than I am used to, and I will admit that I over-struck several times initially (direct blows right to the handle), but I am also happy to report that this did NOT damage the handle in any way. I used it for several more days afterwards with no damage or crack appearing over time. The included sheath/ blade guard is very handy, and includes a nice carrying handle as well.
I am very pleased with this purchase and the performance of this splitter, an would give it my highest recommendation.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, nice coating on the head, includes edge protector
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
JonH
from Palm Coast, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product! Makes me look like Paul Bunyan.

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed to split a bunch of logs and had zero experience. Checked out the reviews for this product, most of which I thought were a bit over the top, but I went and got it anyways. Well... they weren't. This thing is awesome!
I considered getting the one a size down as I'm only 5'8", but as it turns out, I think I made the right call. Doesn't like wet oak. As others have said, "beware the bounce", but even just letting one end dry for a day was enough for this complete amateur to split oak like an old pro (at least that's what I tell myself).
Highly recommend this product. I've split a little over a truckload and the thing shows NO signs of wear.
Love it.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
Alex
from Athens, Ga
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You will love it on the first swing.

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We heat our home entirely with wood, and this winter all of it has been chopped with the Fiskars X27. I can follow behind my father using the chainsaw, and split oak as quickly as he can cut it up. If you are used to using a maul or regular axe, do yourself a favor and get yourself one of these. Your body will thank you for it, and you will cut the same amount of wood in a fraction of the time. You will probably even split up more wood because this axe requires so much less effort than a maul that you won't tire out as quickly and before you know it you have a cord of wood, two or three split and ready to be stacked.
It swings accurately, and in the rare occasion I over swing and hit the log with the handle, the amount of hand shock is so minimal that I hardly pay it any mind. The same sort of hit with a wood handle would make me want to swear. he amounts we have spent replacing the handles of the mauls and axes we have used up until now total more than we spent on the fiskars. For $40, and a lifetime warranty, it is hard to beat. It's the last axe I will ever need, if I need a new one it's because I managed to break the current one. If and when that happens, I understand fiskars customer service is very helpful in replacing it with a small form and a picture of the damage.
I would recommend this product to anyone that uses a conventional axe/maul. Having a regular axe, maul, a wood splitter, and the X27 available for splitting firewood. We have picked the X27 every time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, lifetime warranty, well engineered
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
AJay
from Cool, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Outstanding log splitter!

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used axes and mauls since I was a teenager, and have broken a number of handles. This relatively lightweight splitter is amazing -- a professional woodcutter told me about the Fiskars splitter and that he and his son were able to split oak logs faster with it than with his hydraulic splitter. I bought one and found the same thing. Nice, well-balanced, sharp and slick. Jay
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, nifty design.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
spliteasy
from rural Minnesota
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best gift I have received

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Having cut and hand split wood to heat our home and shop for 40 years, (I am 63 years old) I have never used a more impressive tool! It' profile and light weight make it very fast and effective. I am usually accurate and the few overstrikes have not seemed to crack the handle at all. I expect to be able to do this well into latter life. I love it ! Roger
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: the little horn at the end of the handle is someti
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
None
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Axe I have every owned

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This axe is well designed and makes splitting wood a pleasure.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
Thomas

It was well liked as a gift.

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good product. It seems to be good quality. The recipient of the gift was happy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
Tankman1812
from Washington, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tremendous ax for splitting

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I looked at several handle lengths for splitting before settling on the 36 in model. I thought perhaps 36 in was too long. However, the ax is easy to swing and the 36 in gave me more horsepower to split. This ax is great, I split large pieces of wood without a wedge and it worked like a champ. You may need a wedge only if you are splitting logs longer than 36 inches with a diameter over 24 inches. Other than that, one good swing resulted in a perfect split. If you are planning to split wood get this ax simple as that you will not be disappointed.
I used it on dry and wet logs. Balanced, light, easy to swing, but tons of splitting power.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality, Good Shape
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>