728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Axes, Mauls & Hatchets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

Ideal for taller users or anyone who prefers a longer axe, the X27 Splitting Axe provides power that makes splitting medium-sized to extra-large logs easier than ever. Like every X-Series Hatchet or Axe, the X27 combines perfected weight distribution, advanced blade geometry, an ultra-sharp edge and virtually unbreakable design to maximize your performance. This combination of features allows the blade to disperse wood more effectively, offering more one-strike splits with each swing. It also includes our longest handle for increased leverage to maximize the power and speed of taller users. Since you can split wood more easily with the X27, each job requires less time, less effort and less hand strain. Lifetime warranty.
Overall rating:
4.917 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(133 reviews) 133
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product131 of 131reviews
Rating Breakdown 133 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(123)
4
(9)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product131 of 131reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
Review 1 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fiskars

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I would like to provide a review of my recent purchase from Home Depot - my Fiskars Super Splitting Axe. Home Depot was great in helping me place the on-line order and getting it to me quickly. The axe, welll, it is unbelievable!  I have split my own firewood for over 30 years. I have had some good 8 pound splitting mauls. None of them would hold a candle to this tool.  It is sturdy and perfectly shaped. It pops the wood, even what I call the "ornery" pieces. I have worn off some of the Fiskars name.  But, the axe itself is as solid as can be. I would not want to be without mine and would highly recommend it to others.  The proof is the pile of wood in the background!  Dennis
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A true force to be reckoned with

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this axe after seeing the great reviews it had on this website and was immediately pleased with my purchase. I was initially surprised at how much (better) I could now split wood than I could before. It is fast, light, and does not wear you out at all. I touched the edge up with a diamond stone and do so every 2 times I chop, this way the edge stays razor sharp and splits cleanly. I heated my home this whole winter with this axe, splitting probably 30 or so cords of wood by hand. This axe is a must if you chop wood by hand. period.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Olympia Washington.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First Time Splitting Wood.

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had three huge Douglas fir trees taken down, they were left cut in to 16in rounds. I bought the Fiskar X27 after reading plenty of reviews, I must say this thing is a wonderful piece of kit, split everything beautifully. I have never had to split wood before as we have always had gas furnaces but my son in law has split wood from being a boy. I showed him the X27 his first words were, " Did you buy a heavier one too? you will need one for these rounds " I told him to give it a try he couldn't believe how well it split and, how easy. I also bought the sharpener not that I have needed it yet this maul is Sharp and stayed that way. Some of the bigger rounds I split first using a wedge and sledgehammer so I could lift them on to my chopping block other than that the X27 did it all. I would highly recommend this Maul.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You wont believe how this axe works.

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When they say one hit one split they are not kidding around, My first swing was at a wet 24" round piece of wood full of knots, With full power the head not only penetrated the wood but split and pushed both pieces off my cutting block, with another person loading wood on my block I was able to split one cord per hour, thanks to fiskars and gatorade, The blade is made from a very soft piece of metal, when sharpened with a fiskars sharpener it will hold a razor edge for a entire cord of wood , I accidentally dragged the blade across the finger of a new pair of leather gloves the blade went through the glove and into my finger, VERY SHARP.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, great warranty
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Church Hill, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great axe for spltting wood

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this axe after two large white oak trees were cut down in my yard. The tool is perfect for the job. The length of the handle adds power to each stroke. Even though the wood is green, the Fiskars X27 splits it with minimal effort.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Verona, Wisconsin
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super Tool

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When I first saw this axe I was skeptical that it could perform as well as my 8lb splitting maul that I already had. After a couple swings on a large oak log I was shocked at the performance. Unlike my heavier maul I could swing this bad boy all day without killing my shoulders and it split faster and easier than the old timer. It could also be used for lighter jobs with ease. Unlike a lot of other gimicky tools this tool walked the walk and backed up it's brag with real results. If you like splitting wood you will love this baby. The long handle is light and like a cored baseball bat gives you the head velocity and since Kinetic Energy= mass x velocity squared the added velocity is more important than the heavy mass so there you have it a great tool that really moves fast and therefore splits fast.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

Light and Solid

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I will say I love swinging this axe. It's light and very sharp and structurally very sound. My only complaint is the strength of the axe edge. I live in a pecan grove, and it's abt the hardest wood on earth. After an hour of use of splitting seasoned pecan wood on an oak chopping block, the axe performed fine but thee were several chips on the edge. In contrast, I got through two years w my old mauler from the 80s, which was heavier but split w more ease, without so much a chip of this sort. Taking down a tree, this axe could be be a beast, and if you're older and can't handle the weight of a good mauler, this will do you. It's a good tool, don't get me wrong. They just don't make steel like they used to I guess, and there's nothing better for splitting than a heavy mauler in my opinion. I like this tool, but at $60 before tax I am gonna take mine back and just sharpen my old one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from spokane
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Throw your Old Maul away

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Dang....This thing is impressive. Have split about 2 cord of green ponderosa pine. Couldn't be happier with this purchase. The sharp bit holds the wood well, but doesn't stick. Just enough wedge to split easily. I would recommend this to a friend (especially if they would come split some with it at my place)
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Strong, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

Best Axe out there

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Axe is amazing.....lightweight, perfectly balanced, and splits wood like butter.... When I read reviews I was skeptical.... What could be so great about it.... I was pleasantly surprised.... It's well worth ordering this axe and waiting for it to be delivered.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Martinez, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great For Splitting, CAUTION: Soft Metal

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I split firewood by hand for side money. Over the past year, I split 20 cords using primarily 2 axes. I split about 7 with a RockForge 3.5 pound splitting axe (do NOT waste your money on that one!!) and the remaining 13 with the Fiskars.
I'm 5'8 which is shorter than the recommended user for this axe, but the length allows good leverage. It splits as well or better than the average axe because of the EXTREMELY sharp edge.
The hollow plastic handle seems flimsy on first inspection, but 13 cords of wood have failed to do more than rub the label off. A lightweight total package makes this axe easy for me to keep swinging up to 5 hours. I get tired after that.
NOTE: This axe is made of VERY soft metal and intended for splitting only. Take great care not to contact even slightly a rock or metal object with the axe, or you will notch the blade. DO NOT hammer on it if jammed into wood, or you will destroy it. Observe caution of you are trying to free up a wedge with the axe. I had to buy a sharpening stone, because I messed this up.
Axe does not wear at all from use with wood. It's extremely versatile, because the light weight and sharp edge will literally cut through wood fibers. Easily better than a maul, because you can swing it three times for the same amount of effort as a bigger tool.
Armed with only my Super Splitter, an 8 pound sledge, and a wedge, I can take apart 15-18 inch tall rounds of fresk oak and cherry from trees as big as 2.5 feet in diameter. My favorite axe yet! Worth the money. Avoid the RockForge Garbage!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Functionality, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality
Cons: soft metal
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 11 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

This Axe is Awesome

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this axe today for the first time. Never used a splitting axe before in my life. Took a few swings before I could get the hang of judging the distance, but before long I was splitting away and my aim was getting better and better. I started with a few smaller (5" - 8") pieces. I did fine. Then, I went to a 18" round, and it was even easier. The big pieces are easier than the smaller pieces.
And as to the the size, I'm 60 yrs old, 5'9", 165 lbs, in excellent physical shape, and I found this very easy to use (once again, for the first time in my life using a splitting axe). I thought the 28" Fiskars splitting axe was too short. If they had a 32" or 33" model, I might have preferred it, but I didn't find this 36" one a problem at all to use, so I question the description where it says, "Ideal for taller users".
Thank you to all the people who gave a review. It was your comments that encouraged me to by this, and I'm very happy with it.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

An excellent tool!

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I tried traditional splitting maul before, but this one is overly impressive, splits oak log in single hit, wow nice axe indeed! Takes a bit of time to get used to its length, but then it turns into pleasure to use it. Made pile of firewood in few minutes! Highly recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

X27 Works great.

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was one of the better ideas I've had. I split most of my wood with a maul. This thing is great, a lot lighter and blasts the wood apart. Only had a few big cherry logs that I had to use the logsplitter on. And even then just split in half with big log splitter and finish with the fiskars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Nebraska
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent splitter

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just like many other reviewers, this is the best splitter I've ever used. The only bad thing for me is I am turning my chopping stump into pulp because the axe goes through my wood and buries into the stump. I am learning to swing softer to get the split without going too deep into the stump. Wow! What a problem to have.
The X27 is lighter than my Maul/sledge so my aim at first was a bit off but quickly got better. But once you get the first split done the rest just pops so I have been raising to just above my head and straight down for more accuracy. As my pieces get smaller I raise it less and less. (still goes into the stump)
I don't know if you've ever split elm but this axe just pops it. I had some elm I was putting off because of the difficulty, and now it's split and stacked.
If the price seems high, I paid $54+tax (one tank of gas), the work you save yourself will be evident the first day you use it and you will be glad you got it. Keep a sharp edge on it and it will split like no ones business. I don't know if it is the design, the slick coating or both that allows this to split so well but who cares, best 50 bucks I've spent in a long time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Palm Coast, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product! Makes me look like Paul Bunyan.

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed to split a bunch of logs and had zero experience. Checked out the reviews for this product, most of which I thought were a bit over the top, but I went and got it anyways. Well... they weren't. This thing is awesome!
I considered getting the one a size down as I'm only 5'8", but as it turns out, I think I made the right call. Doesn't like wet oak. As others have said, "beware the bounce", but even just letting one end dry for a day was enough for this complete amateur to split oak like an old pro (at least that's what I tell myself).
Highly recommend this product. I've split a little over a truckload and the thing shows NO signs of wear.
Love it.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

Great splitting Axe

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Moved out in the country,where we have a boiler outside.Need to split wood regularly to keep the house warm in the winter.This little axe performs wonderfully.At fist glance I can see where people would walk by it.It has a hollow handle made of space aged materials.Not the solid wood handle you were raised on,but after the neighbors have come by and swung it,they were pretty impressed.Its light,and does a better job.I am no lumber jack,but this thing makes me look like I know what I am doing.I seen they came out with a completely black model this year.I think ill have to get that one too.Thing is bad looking.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, bright orange color scheme makes it easy to see
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

Split 6 Rick's of Oak, Hickory, Poplar and Very Satified!!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I must admit I was a little sceptacle of this at first but I read so many good reviews that I had to give it a try.
Overally this is a great product! I have been using standard 6 lb mauls for years (Average about 20 to 30 rick a year) and this is by far more efficient that anything I have used thus far. It splits almost as well as my 12 Lbs Mega Maul and is much easier on the back. The composit handle feels cheap at first but It is really strong and feels very good in my hands once I started using it.
The only negative to this maul is the non-stick coating is already mostly wore off. It will be total gone in another 6 rick or so.
This is not a miracle maul by any means so dont expect it to bust through everything. But, it will surprise you. It out-performs my old maul by far and is much easier on my back and shoulders. I would highly reccomend this to anyone especially at this price. You will not regret it.
Note: This thing is SHARP!!! Buy the 36" handle. It is worth the money and you wont be as likely to hit your leg in the event of a miss. Expecially if you are on the taller side.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Strong, Long-Lasting, sharp!!
Cons: non-stick coating wears off quickly
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Washington, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tremendous ax for splitting

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I looked at several handle lengths for splitting before settling on the 36 in model. I thought perhaps 36 in was too long. However, the ax is easy to swing and the 36 in gave me more horsepower to split. This ax is great, I split large pieces of wood without a wedge and it worked like a champ. You may need a wedge only if you are splitting logs longer than 36 inches with a diameter over 24 inches. Other than that, one good swing resulted in a perfect split. If you are planning to split wood get this ax simple as that you will not be disappointed.
I used it on dry and wet logs. Balanced, light, easy to swing, but tons of splitting power.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality, Good Shape
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Northfield, MN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Splits hard wood easier then a splitting maul

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had no problem splitting a dry Elm tree with this axe compared to my 8 lb. splitting maul and a peace of white oak that I could not split with the maul split in 2 hits. Split 2 boxelder trees with ease. Found on larger peaces if you stack your hits in to a line and your last hit is on the edge closes to you it cracks open every time. Happy I bought it.
Pros: Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did the job

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a 80 foot Hickory taken down in my yard last summer. I had the wonderful insight to think I would save money and not have them haul it. I thought I would rent a gas log splitter and have firewood for years...well that never happened.
Six months later the stack was not moving and a friend recommended I get a splitting axe and work off some of my winter weight. Not sure if I worked off my winter weight but this ax is awesome. I have spent a total of 12 hours splitting wood and have found this ax to be light weight, and easy to use...it really does all the hard work. I just swing away. That is not to say it is a walk in the park. But I heard plenty of horror stories, and to me it was fairly pain free, outside the fact I am a 45 year old out of shape lazy man.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>