728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Axes, Mauls & Hatchets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

Ideal for taller users or anyone who prefers a longer axe, the X27 Splitting Axe provides power that makes splitting medium-sized to extra-large logs easier than ever. Like every X-Series Hatchet or Axe, the X27 combines perfected weight distribution, advanced blade geometry, an ultra-sharp edge and virtually unbreakable design to maximize your performance. This combination of features allows the blade to disperse wood more effectively, offering more one-strike splits with each swing. It also includes our longest handle for increased leverage to maximize the power and speed of taller users. Since you can split wood more easily with the X27, each job requires less time, less effort and less hand strain. Lifetime warranty.
Overall rating:
4.918 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(158 reviews) 158
Open Ratings Snapshot
99%of customersrecommend this product155 of 156reviews
Rating Breakdown 158 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(147)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
99%of customersrecommend this product155 of 156reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
Review 1 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fiskars

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I would like to provide a review of my recent purchase from Home Depot - my Fiskars Super Splitting Axe. Home Depot was great in helping me place the on-line order and getting it to me quickly. The axe, welll, it is unbelievable!  I have split my own firewood for over 30 years. I have had some good 8 pound splitting mauls. None of them would hold a candle to this tool.  It is sturdy and perfectly shaped. It pops the wood, even what I call the "ornery" pieces. I have worn off some of the Fiskars name.  But, the axe itself is as solid as can be. I would not want to be without mine and would highly recommend it to others.  The proof is the pile of wood in the background!  Dennis
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A true force to be reckoned with

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this axe after seeing the great reviews it had on this website and was immediately pleased with my purchase. I was initially surprised at how much (better) I could now split wood than I could before. It is fast, light, and does not wear you out at all. I touched the edge up with a diamond stone and do so every 2 times I chop, this way the edge stays razor sharp and splits cleanly. I heated my home this whole winter with this axe, splitting probably 30 or so cords of wood by hand. This axe is a must if you chop wood by hand. period.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Crozier Va
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best axe I've used

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Axe is everything the manufacturers claim. I rarely write reviews but this product is exceptional, the best axe I have used in 30 years of splitting wood by hand.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Olympia Washington.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First Time Splitting Wood.

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had three huge Douglas fir trees taken down, they were left cut in to 16in rounds. I bought the Fiskar X27 after reading plenty of reviews, I must say this thing is a wonderful piece of kit, split everything beautifully. I have never had to split wood before as we have always had gas furnaces but my son in law has split wood from being a boy. I showed him the X27 his first words were, " Did you buy a heavier one too? you will need one for these rounds " I told him to give it a try he couldn't believe how well it split and, how easy. I also bought the sharpener not that I have needed it yet this maul is Sharp and stayed that way. Some of the bigger rounds I split first using a wedge and sledgehammer so I could lift them on to my chopping block other than that the X27 did it all. I would highly recommend this Maul.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You wont believe how this axe works.

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When they say one hit one split they are not kidding around, My first swing was at a wet 24" round piece of wood full of knots, With full power the head not only penetrated the wood but split and pushed both pieces off my cutting block, with another person loading wood on my block I was able to split one cord per hour, thanks to fiskars and gatorade, The blade is made from a very soft piece of metal, when sharpened with a fiskars sharpener it will hold a razor edge for a entire cord of wood , I accidentally dragged the blade across the finger of a new pair of leather gloves the blade went through the glove and into my finger, VERY SHARP.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, great warranty
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Laconia, NH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Axe for splitting

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've tried a couple other axes and ended up with this one in the long run. I liked that it was still a splitting maul but not 8 pounds or more. After a couple cord of splitting those extra couple pounds feel like a ton. It is sturdy, well balanced and splits well. Most of my splits were on the first strike with only a few very ornery pieces needing more than that. The handle stands up well to overstrikes. My last axe with a synthetic (non Wood) handle cracked after only one overstrike. The extra length is handy to make sure you don't end up splitting your foot or shin in the event of a miss and adds a bit of extra momentum to the head for clean splits.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Church Hill, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great axe for spltting wood

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this axe after two large white oak trees were cut down in my yard. The tool is perfect for the job. The length of the handle adds power to each stroke. Even though the wood is green, the Fiskars X27 splits it with minimal effort.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

Best Splitting Axe

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent splitting axe! Light weight and powerful. Highly recommended.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Verona, Wisconsin
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super Tool

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When I first saw this axe I was skeptical that it could perform as well as my 8lb splitting maul that I already had. After a couple swings on a large oak log I was shocked at the performance. Unlike my heavier maul I could swing this bad boy all day without killing my shoulders and it split faster and easier than the old timer. It could also be used for lighter jobs with ease. Unlike a lot of other gimicky tools this tool walked the walk and backed up it's brag with real results. If you like splitting wood you will love this baby. The long handle is light and like a cored baseball bat gives you the head velocity and since Kinetic Energy= mass x velocity squared the added velocity is more important than the heavy mass so there you have it a great tool that really moves fast and therefore splits fast.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Eagles Nest Lake, MN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fiskars does it again

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my fourth, and largest, Fiskars axe in their line. I've used their splitters over the past fifteen years and have found them to be flawless in their utility. Once you buy and use a Fiskars, you can count on them to be ready to perform. The cutting edge and engineered head makes the use of wedges totally unnecessary. The steel is extremely hard and holds its edge. The handle is unbreakable (they warrant it for life). The only reason I bought this latest longer model was to try it out, since at 36" it is directed at the taller user (I'm 6'7"). This is the greatest thing (pardon the pun) since sliced bread! 24" ash logs succumb to one or two swings. This 36" super splitting axe will take its place along side my other three Fiskars - for a lifetime.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting, does the job
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Asheville

Love It

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works better than an 8 pound maul for most uses. For really large, twisted hard wood, the maul rules. For 95% of everything I split the X27 works just as well, but with MUCH less effort. Wood just explodes and flies apart with much less effort. Steel is a bit soft (surprisingly). but very easy to sharpen with a couple of quick strokes to tune up. Handle is very forgiving also; I completely missed (over reached) on one particularity hard swing into a big locust stump. It just bounced back, no harm done. It's not a giant splitting maul, or a substitute for a sledge, but for splitting all but the largest logs the X27 rocks with much less effort. Highly recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, reduced effort
Cons: soft steel
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Troy, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much better than anything they carry in the store

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a wood burning fireplace at home. I split a couple cord worth of wood each winter. I destroyed the yellow handled splitter they sell in-store in just 1.5 seasons. I was skeptical about the higher price of this splitter, but after using it, I can tell you it's awesome. It would be even more awesome if it were ten bucks cheaper, but still worth the cost. Don't hesitate!
Pros: Durable, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Arizona
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Two 25 foot pines chopped down

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I debated to get this axe or the size that is just a bit smaller. This is the way to go if you are on the fence and you want to do some serious chopping. Granted, I have only used the axe to chop down the trees mentioned in the title, but it worked really well. The diameter of the trees was probably about 18 inches. It took me about 30-40 minutes per tree. It felt strong and sturdy.
Seems to be the best axe out there right now for the money and the quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Gig Harbor, Wa.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice axe for most splitting jobs, but not all jobs.

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Nice axe for most jobs, but not all. Over priced, but would be a fair purchase with a reduced sale price. It seems a bit to light for many jobs. Will work great of easily split dry soft wood, but will struggle with harder woods such as maple.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: not for all wood types
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Maine
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very lightweight and easy to swing. Appears to be of solid construction to ensure a long lasting tool.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Strong, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Sparta, NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing Splitting Axe

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had an old axe that was never that great to begin with, so was in the market for a new one.
My buddy brought over a Fiskars and I loved it; I have many other Fiskars products so was familiar with their quality.
My first use with this axe was amazing. Perfectly weighted and balanced, and completely effortless splitting. I barely have to swing the axe, pretty much just let it drop on the log and it takes care of the rest. I had a few overswings and there was no pain in my hands like with my old axe, and no damage done to this axe.
Great buy, great value, great product.
I would highly recommend this axe!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Portland OR area
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super Splitting Axe

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Made light work of some oak that was given me problems. Love it. One tip, take a rubber(solid rubber, not cloth type) bungee and wrap it about 3/4 down on the round. Then walk around and split into sections. Saw this on YouTube with this axe.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best wood-splitting axe/maul on the market.

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Forget shopping for all the other ones. This has superior design and materials. The traditional potato-shaped wood-splitting maul? It be history.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe
from denver
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

amazing axe!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It does take some adjustment to really get the hang of using this vs a "normal" maul. Having said that, this cuts through elm, maple, and ash much better and easier.
Pros: Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for X27 6.3 lb. 36 in. Super Splitting Axe

Nice splitting axe

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This sure is a nice axe. Well built and works very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>