728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garden Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Uproot Weed Remover

Uproot Weed Remover

Choose the Uproot Weeder for chemical-free weed removal without bending or back strain. It features long, serrated stainless-steel claws that dig deep in tough soil to remove weeds by the roots, an extra-long aluminum handle to eliminate bending and an easy-eject features that clears the claws in one effortless motion. Its aluminum construction also makes it much lighter and easier to maneuver than other weeders without sacrificing durability. Lifetime warranty.
Overall rating:
4.569 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(167 reviews) 167
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product152 of 161reviews
Rating Breakdown 167 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(123)
4
(32)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product152 of 161reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Uproot Weed Remover
Review 1 for Uproot Weed Remover
from SOUTH SETAUKET, NEW YORK
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome weed removal tool!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have read all the reviews on weed removal tools and this appeared to be the best rated. My front yard was a mess with weeds, mostly dandelions, since I did not have time to weed & feed earlier. The Fiskars weed tool is a lifesaver. Not only was it easy to use, but it also saved my back from pain by not having to bend down to pull out the weeds. You simply place the tool over the weed, step down on the base and pull down on the handle. There is no effort and even the biggest weeds with 6 inch roots came out easily. I pulled out about 60 weeds within 15 minutes. This is the best gardening tool ever. I highly recommend it, especially for weekend gardeners.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Uproot Weed Remover

Purchased twice, both broke immediately

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this product once, it arrived without any tags and was just thrown in a box. It broke within 10 minutes. After returning it, another one was shipped, and that one broke within 15 minutes. Will try another brand.
Cons: Not Durable, poorly made
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Valley Station, Louisville, KY 40272, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FANTASTIC product!

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Saw this product featured on an infomercial on a HG DIY channel. Unable to find it to purchase in store, so I purchased online. I have been thrilled with this product and use it often. The ease of use helps protect my back and allows me to weed my lawn and garden without aggravating my carpal tunnel syndrome. Also protects my fingernails from breaking. No more bending over or getting on my hands and knees to remove weeds from my lawn or garden!
I have also given as a gift and the recipients love it as much as I do. My son bought one for his elderly neighbors he saw using small tools weeding their lawn and garden on their hands and knees. They were so appreciative and have thanked him over and over for finding this nifty gadget to help them with their lawn and garden.
I have other Fiskars gardening tools, so I was thrilled to add another Fiskars product to my gardening toolbox.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality, Good Shape, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Uproot Weed Remover
from San Antonio Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Best yard tool i have bought in 40 years. Easy to use and clean up is simple. No back breaking or crawling on your knees to get the weeds out of the yard.
Pros: Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Utah

Weeds now fear me.

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a big pasture at the edge of my yard. I battle with weeds every day all summer long. I went to the internet to find an easier solution and found a video for this thing. I ordered it from Home Depot, it shipped to the store for pick up without problems. Now I use this pretty much every day in the summer. It doesn't work on every single weed, but I can get weeds like dandelions out of the grass without issue, but where it really shines with when I battle the puncture weeds, devils weed, puncture vine, whatever you call it (I call them Goat Head Thorns) that grow in the pasture and in my Garden. These weeds drive me nuts and they grow right along the ground and my kids step on them and bring the thorns back into the house, I HATE THEM. Picking them used to be the worst because they poke you and it hurts, even through gloves and then the root breaks lots of times, its just hateful work. The Fiskars Weed Remover works to pop them out effortlessly, and without injury. If it ever breaks, I will buy another!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Uproot Weed Remover

This Thing is Awesome

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I cannot believe how great this thing works. It pulls out the root up to 8 inches below the surface. It doesn't always get the roots on young weeds because the root is too small for the teeth to grab but the mature weeds are no match for the mechnics of this weed remover. At times it does feel a bit flimsy and I think it could be reinforced a bit more but I would actually buy another if it broke because I am so happy with it. A word of caution though, this will leave holes in your lawn so be prepared to place some topsoil in the holes if you do not like holes in the yard. I look at it as aerating the lawn and just drop some seed in the holes as I go.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Uproot Weed Remover
from San Antonio, TX

Very Impressed...!

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't usually leave reviews much but I just had to share my view on this product. I went into Home Depot to look for this tool (which I came across by accident on Amazon) but they only had it online and one of the employee's said there was a yellow weed remover in the store but it keeps being returned. So I ordered the one off line as it had good reviews and in a few days it came in a big box with only the 3 pictures on it for instructions.
I followed the pictures and it was so easy I could not believe that I was not using this all along.....it is great on the big weeds which I was skeptical about as I thought there was a catch and it would only work on the smaller ones (however I find it works best on the big ones) but that is not the case it works as described.
Just put the tool in the center of the weed (sometimes it hard to tell where that is) and pushed down then pull the handle towards you and out comes the weed. I have always had to dig out the weeds and it would take FOREVER on my knees (which I'm getting too old for) but this is a great time saver in just a fraction of the time 20-30 mins intead of hours/days. It makes the experience more enjoyable so it's definitely a keeper!
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality
Cons: it's not adjustable for a taller person.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Uproot Weed Remover
from fort worth tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

don't bother. broke in 5 minutes. get a hound dog weed puller

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Received the product and used as directed. watched the video to ensure proper usage. It broke within the first 5 minutes of use. Plastic holding on the bottom broke off. Had borrowed a neighbors "hound dog weed hound" and thought this would work just as well and save a few bucks. Nope. Go the extra money and get the original hound dog made of metal. Hers has lasted for years and it works great. They are hard to find, but look on internet and get the green hound dog (apparently the new ones are yellow and don't get as good of a review).
Cons: Not Durable
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Uproot Weed Remover
from The Woodlands, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The VERY best

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product! Removing weeds is fun with this tool. Stooping, standing up, walking to the next weed, stooping again is no longer necessary with the Fiskars Uproot Weed Remover. I am so excited about this lightweight easy to use product. I've told everyone I know, neighbors and even people I don't know about this fantastic tool. It is shipped ready to use. I tried it and was immediately hooked. There is not another product like this out there that is this effective and awesome. I highly recommend it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape, fun!, Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Uproot Weed Remover
from San Diego, CA

Awesome!

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the best weed puller I have used. It reduces the amount of bending over. I rips the weed out by the root with no effort. Very sturdy and I think this tool will last a long time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, easy to operate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Fulshear, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, poorly made

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The plastic housing at the bottom of the weed puller cracked after only using it for about 10 minutes pulling weeds in my back yard. I followed the instructions as carefully as possible, watched the video, looked at the photos, and read the reviews. Granted, I am 6'-3" 275-lb former college linebacker who can still press 225-lb 25+ times, so part of it could have been user error. My coworkers call me a "barbarian" which should explain the brute force I tend to use in just about everything, including retrieving ice from the freezer. My children can be scared of me if I give them "the look" when they're in trouble, and the ladies at work hear me from the other end of the office and tremble in fear when I am near. I actually made one of the older secretaries cry because I raised my voice at her. I have since made amends. Either way, the plastic step and housing should be fabricated from metal, not plastic. Just my opinion to prevent cracks in cheap plastic products.
The teeth at the bottom were perfect for gripping clumps of weeds at the roots and the teeth don't allow for slippage of the roots and weed unless the grass is wet. It also grips quite a bit of soil so you'll need to shake the soil off or you'll have large holes in your yard. Brining a few squares of grass along is also helpful to replace the missing soil/grass/weed.
I would give this item 5 stars if the bottom was made of metal and if the pole didn't fall apart so easily. I still recommend this product for those without superhuman strength, little old ladies, small children and the sort. It is a great idea, but needs to made from better, higher quality materials. Plastic is good, but not when working in the yard. That's a reason they don't make plastic shovel heads other than the sandbox type that kids use at the beach.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Functionality
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality, cheap plastic, falls apart
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-20points
5out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Seattle

High-quality product. Pulls out deepest dandelion roots.

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After looking at competing $5 (Harbor Freight) and $15 products (everywhere), I decided I want to buy the more expensive, higher-quality product with the lifetime warranty. I'm sick of cheap, throw-away products that aren't intended to last more than a couple years. My friend bent his Harbor Freight weeder the first time he used it. My first time using the Fiskars Uproot (I have model 7880, currently sold at HD) was easy and unusually fun. There's some gleeful internal satisfaction in pulling up an entire carrot-length dandelion root. My yard has--no exaggeration--well over 500 dandelions and I wanted a non-chemical way to control them. The weeder makes quick work of them, and I could easily pull a couple hundred in less than an hour. The process is easy and entertaining enough that my 13-year old nephew spent 30 minutes or more using it in the back yard just because it was fun. It can, however, grab golf-ball to racquetball-sized divots as one reviewer mentioned, but I find these to fill in quickly with fresh grass once the broadleaf weed is removed. And with 500+ dandelions, I'm not looking for a golf-course quality lawn. If your yard is in better shape, you shouldn't have to worry about the few scattered divots. Finally, this thing is well-built and sturdy. Parts can be unbolted and taken apart, presumably for replacement parts if ever needed within the lifetime warranty. It even has a little hand slider that pushes the weed out of the claws, which makes for quick stab, tilt, lift, push motion. The tilting action forces the three claws together around the taproot, and if you continue tilting, it will lift the weed right out. Simple. Love it.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Dalton, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does its job well

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used this to remove wild onions/garlic from our bermuda grass this fall. Works great at getting the bulbs and all if you get it at the right angle. Was even easier to use on dandelions and leafy weeds. It will leave a decent hole, but that is good for aeration and to ensure all the root/bulb is removed. Hit a few rocks, but no bending of the blades. Seems very durable as I've used it for several hours total time now. Saves my back!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Wichita, KS
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hands Down

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
One of the most helpful and best yard tools which I have purchased till date. So easy to use that it becomes addictive because of the pure joy of removing weeds without much effort. Attached pics will show how many weeds I was able to remove in less than 10 minutes.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Sequim, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Design, Wrong Materials

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was looking for an implement like this at my local Home Depot and couldn't find it, so I searched the web site and hit pay-dirt. There was a video which demonstrated how it worked which was very useful, and I made the decision to purchase one. The price was reasonable and I received the product in a very timely manner. So far. so good. When I opened the box and examined the tool I was disappointed to discover that a goodly percentage of it consisted of plastic parts that were not of a cosmetic nature. I was skeptical of whether or not the tool would last, but I gave it a chance to prove itself, and it worked just as well as the video said it would. Unfortunately, it broke the third time I used it (plastic parts that operate the steel jaws). Fiskars, This is a GREAT tool design, but what were you thinking of when you decided to use plastic in the construction of an outdoor tool?! Unfortunately, I'm going to have to send this thing back to get my money refunded, but if you ever build a better version that uses steel parts instead of plastic, I'll be standing in line to buy one!! Despite the fact that I the tool broke I gave it 2 Stars because of the good design, but save your money until Fiskars gets rid of the plastic parts.
Pros: Functionality, Easy to Clean
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Uproot Weed Remover
from central NH
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WoW!

PostedJune 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Like other reviewers, I LOVE this weed remover. I am actually looking for weeds to pull up. Great for stress relief too!
Word of caution...it should go without saying, but just in case...DON'T force the weeds up or you WILL break your weed remover. For the really tough weeds such as the dock family, you still need to use some muscle and a shovel. But for smaller weeds, no sweat, up they come and right into the bucket, no bending!
Some reviewers commented that it leaves holes, well, unfortunately, it will because you just dragged a weed out of the ground, you can easily shake the dirt from the roots, but yeah, there are some holes. I don't find this to be a major problem.
Finally, making my blue ribbon dandilion jelly and wine will be easier than ever with my new weed remover - it just saved me hours and hours of dandilion hunting!
Would I recommend it? You bettchya!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Uproot Weed Remover

Weed Eliminator

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was looking for an efficient way to eliminate weeds in my yard. I was familiar with the manufacturer of this product and it looked like it could offer the solution to my problem. Initially it may take a small amount of time to become efficient in its use, but it seems to be quick, easy and effective. It generally seems to remove the roots also, so hopefully the weeds will not return. I did view a video on You Tube that helped me get the knack of using the device.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Rainier, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product!

PostedMay 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the easiest weed remover I have ever used. It only took me 30 minutes to do my front yard. Last year it took me 4 hours, on my knees. It's a little pricey but well worth it. I would recommend this product to any and all, especially to seniors, like myself, that can't get up and down like we used to. With this product there isn't even any bending.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Uproot Weed Remover

Dandelion Destoyer

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered this tool online and received it last week. This weekend I literally pulled a 30 gallon trash can full of dandelions from my yard using this tool. It does an outstanding job and really is an ingenious design. I inadvertently jammed it in to several rocks and tree roots throughout the day and it is still going strong so it is well made. It does take a small cone of topsoil with each pull, so part of the time I spent using it was going around with a bucket and pulling off all the top soil before trashing the dandelion. You wouldn't necessarily have to do that but I wanted to keep the topsoil for my yard. All in all, outstanding product.
Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Little Elm, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best weeding tool!

PostedApril 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Last summer borrowed a weeding tool from my brother; it worked ok but didn't get all the root especially the bigger ones. This year we went to buy our own and the helpful staff reco'd the Fiscar, so we bought it. Much better than my brothers tool! I was able to fill 5, 5 gal buckets in about an hour! My neighbors loved it too (we lend each other our tools). 5 stars!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>