728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Uproot Weed Remover

Uproot Weed Remover

Choose the Uproot Weeder for chemical-free weed removal without bending or back strain. It features long, serrated stainless-steel claws that dig deep in tough soil to remove weeds by the roots, an extra-long aluminum handle to eliminate bending and an easy-eject features that clears the claws in one effortless motion. Its aluminum construction also makes it much lighter and easier to maneuver than other weeders without sacrificing durability. Lifetime warranty.
Overall rating:
4.577 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(248 reviews) 248
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product230 of 241reviews
Rating Breakdown 248 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(181)
4
(50)
3
(4)
2
(5)
1
(8)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product230 of 241reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for Uproot Weed Remover
Review 1 for Uproot Weed Remover
from SOUTH SETAUKET, NEW YORK
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome weed removal tool!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have read all the reviews on weed removal tools and this appeared to be the best rated. My front yard was a mess with weeds, mostly dandelions, since I did not have time to weed & feed earlier. The Fiskars weed tool is a lifesaver. Not only was it easy to use, but it also saved my back from pain by not having to bend down to pull out the weeds. You simply place the tool over the weed, step down on the base and pull down on the handle. There is no effort and even the biggest weeds with 6 inch roots came out easily. I pulled out about 60 weeds within 15 minutes. This is the best gardening tool ever. I highly recommend it, especially for weekend gardeners.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Kingsport, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tool !!

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My wife wanted this uproot tool to extract broadleaf, crabgrass and other nasty weeds from our yard and lot by the lake. I didn't think it would be much, but for $25 I indulged her. Fact is, this thing works great with little effort. The ground has to be fairly soft, but she uprooted a wheelbarrow full of weeds the first time she used it. She also dropped a little grass seed into each hole after extraction. She says it's actually fun to use, and whenever she is happy, I'm happy.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Coram , New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not disappointed at all.

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you're thinking about getting this tool , do it. Was skeptical purchasing the Fiskars only because I've never had luck pulling weeds. But I have other Fiskars products and they're always quality. Well let me tell you, I wish I had more dandelions to pull. They make weeding fun. What I couldn't believe was that I could not find this tool on any shelves. The only way to get it was online. I actually called Fiskars to tell them their product was not being stocked nor shown in any of the stores that said they carried it. I could increase sales 10 fold if they let me take over the account. This thing sells itself!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:25 to 34

Love how fast I get weeds out of the yard!

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love how quickly I can get a large quantity of weeds with this tool. It makes pulling weeds fun (yes, I said it) and is easy on the back (super important).
Tip: Use it when it's damp out for easiest removal.
The only improvement I would suggest is to make the foot portion metal. While it's held up so far (a few months), I can see it breaking after years of use.
The only drawback is that you don't really want to use it in an area that has soaker hoses.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Functionality, Great Quality
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Belleville IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick and helpful for select weeds

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This tool worked quickly and easily for some weeds, but not those with long roots. It successfully pulled up the dreaded dandelions, but like with hand-pulling, often missed the lowest tip of the root. Also works quickly for pulling clumps of grasses from flower beds. I particularly like how easily it works and certainly eliminates stress on the back and knees. (I am only 5-ft. tall, so a taller person may have to stoop a little to use this tool.) I purchased the lower-end model that only has 2 blades and possibly the higher end model with more blades would have worked better. Overall, I really like the tool, but it doesn't work for all weeds.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Uproot Weed Remover
from San Antonio, TX

Very Impressed...!

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't usually leave reviews much but I just had to share my view on this product. I went into Home Depot to look for this tool (which I came across by accident on Amazon) but they only had it online and one of the employee's said there was a yellow weed remover in the store but it keeps being returned. So I ordered the one off line as it had good reviews and in a few days it came in a big box with only the 3 pictures on it for instructions.
I followed the pictures and it was so easy I could not believe that I was not using this all along.....it is great on the big weeds which I was skeptical about as I thought there was a catch and it would only work on the smaller ones (however I find it works best on the big ones) but that is not the case it works as described.
Just put the tool in the center of the weed (sometimes it hard to tell where that is) and pushed down then pull the handle towards you and out comes the weed. I have always had to dig out the weeds and it would take FOREVER on my knees (which I'm getting too old for) but this is a great time saver in just a fraction of the time 20-30 mins intead of hours/days. It makes the experience more enjoyable so it's definitely a keeper!
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality
Cons: it's not adjustable for a taller person.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Valley Station, Louisville, KY 40272, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FANTASTIC product!

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Saw this product featured on an infomercial on a HG DIY channel. Unable to find it to purchase in store, so I purchased online. I have been thrilled with this product and use it often. The ease of use helps protect my back and allows me to weed my lawn and garden without aggravating my carpal tunnel syndrome. Also protects my fingernails from breaking. No more bending over or getting on my hands and knees to remove weeds from my lawn or garden!
I have also given as a gift and the recipients love it as much as I do. My son bought one for his elderly neighbors he saw using small tools weeding their lawn and garden on their hands and knees. They were so appreciative and have thanked him over and over for finding this nifty gadget to help them with their lawn and garden.
I have other Fiskars gardening tools, so I was thrilled to add another Fiskars product to my gardening toolbox.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality, Good Shape, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
24out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Uproot Weed Remover

Purchased twice, both broke immediately

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this product once, it arrived without any tags and was just thrown in a box. It broke within 10 minutes. After returning it, another one was shipped, and that one broke within 15 minutes. Will try another brand.
Cons: Not Durable, poorly made
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
19out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Little Ferry, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product and back saver!

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Takes a bit getting used to but easy to use, saves back and knees, doesn't yank out the entire root but leaves a nice hole where you can use spot treatment with herbicide and handle the problem. Obviously, cannot be used for weeds growing in between pavers.
Pros: Functionality, Easy to Clean, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Homeland, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Greatest thing since ice cream

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As a person with hip, knee, and back issues this tool is the best. Very easy to work even with limited mobility in my hip and knee. Did a great job, and has enabled me to get back into my yard and do some gardening which I love to do.
Pros: Functionality, Durable, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Evergreen, CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best ever weed puller.

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Uproots the weeds easily with sharp prongs as you step on the base. Best part is the ejector bar...makes the job of weeding seem like a game as you toss the weed into your trash can.
Pros: Sharp, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Uproot Weed Remover

This Thing is Awesome

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I cannot believe how great this thing works. It pulls out the root up to 8 inches below the surface. It doesn't always get the roots on young weeds because the root is too small for the teeth to grab but the mature weeds are no match for the mechnics of this weed remover. At times it does feel a bit flimsy and I think it could be reinforced a bit more but I would actually buy another if it broke because I am so happy with it. A word of caution though, this will leave holes in your lawn so be prepared to place some topsoil in the holes if you do not like holes in the yard. I look at it as aerating the lawn and just drop some seed in the holes as I go.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Las Vegas, NV
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

stand-up and weed

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I love my weeder - so far - if it "holds up" then I'll really love it. My previous stand-up weeders, of other brands, have broken after one season. I'm counting on the Fiskars brand to hold up its great reputation.
Pros: Durable, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Uproot Weed Remover
from San Antonio Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Best yard tool i have bought in 40 years. Easy to use and clean up is simple. No back breaking or crawling on your knees to get the weeds out of the yard.
Pros: Great Quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Mechanicsburg, Pa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well made

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
In this era of all the plastic junk that is being peddled, this weed puller is the exception. It is made of quality materials and works just as advertised. I am very pleased with this product. Not having to bend down is a godsend for this old back.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Boise, Idaho
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best weed puller ever

PostedAugust 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Don't know how we lived without this for so many years. Is easy to use and relly gets the dandelion roots out of the lawn. A pleasure to use!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Sharp
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Denver
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works better than advertised.

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this product suspect that it couldn't work as shown. I was wrong, it even uproots the difficult to pull weeds that must be dug out with a spike and shovel. I love it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Kaukauna, WI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Glad I own this tool!

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Love this tool! Eliminates about 90% of bending down, depending on texture of soil and depth of root. Very little effort required to operate.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Uproot Weed Remover
from West Jordan, Utah
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good concept, but poorly made

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While this unit worked, it did a very good job. The problem was that it broke very quickly. We have a large garden, of which we use only a small portion. In the unused portion tends to do well in weed production, and we have already removed them four times just this year. Our plan was to remove the weeds one more time, used our Mantis to soften the dirt and then cover the soft/weed free dirt with a commercial quality weed barrier. At first the 'Uproot Weed Remover' did an outstanding job, but then one of the critical partd broke makinf the unit unusual. The part was made of plastic, rather than metal, and just broke.
If the company were to redesign the plastic parts using metal, it would be a much better product. While doing so would increase the cost of the item, it would make it more reliable and woth more.
Pros: Functionality, east to use
Cons: Not Durable, poorly made
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Uproot Weed Remover

Great weeder!

PostedAugust 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works very well at grabbing crabgrass and removing them from the lawn without disturbing grass around it! Very happy with this product. Also, Home Depot shipped very quickly and shipping cost was reasonable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>