728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garden Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Uproot Weed Remover

Uproot Weed Remover

Choose the UpRoot Weeder for chemical-free weed removal without bending or back strain. It features long, serrated stainless-steel claws that dig deep in tough soil to remove weeds by the roots, an extra-long aluminum handle to eliminate bending and an easy-eject features that clears the claws in one effortless motion. Its aluminum construction also makes it much lighter and easier to maneuver than other weeders without sacrificing durability. Lifetime warranty.
Overall rating:
4.583 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(139 reviews) 139
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product126 of 133reviews
Rating Breakdown 139 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(103)
4
(27)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product126 of 133reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Uproot Weed Remover
Review 1 for Uproot Weed Remover
from SOUTH SETAUKET, NEW YORK
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome weed removal tool!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have read all the reviews on weed removal tools and this appeared to be the best rated. My front yard was a mess with weeds, mostly dandelions, since I did not have time to weed & feed earlier. The Fiskars weed tool is a lifesaver. Not only was it easy to use, but it also saved my back from pain by not having to bend down to pull out the weeds. You simply place the tool over the weed, step down on the base and pull down on the handle. There is no effort and even the biggest weeds with 6 inch roots came out easily. I pulled out about 60 weeds within 15 minutes. This is the best gardening tool ever. I highly recommend it, especially for weekend gardeners.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Uproot Weed Remover

Purchased twice, both broke immediately

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this product once, it arrived without any tags and was just thrown in a box. It broke within 10 minutes. After returning it, another one was shipped, and that one broke within 15 minutes. Will try another brand.
Cons: Not Durable, poorly made
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Valley Station, Louisville, KY 40272, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FANTASTIC product!

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Saw this product featured on an infomercial on a HG DIY channel. Unable to find it to purchase in store, so I purchased online. I have been thrilled with this product and use it often. The ease of use helps protect my back and allows me to weed my lawn and garden without aggravating my carpal tunnel syndrome. Also protects my fingernails from breaking. No more bending over or getting on my hands and knees to remove weeds from my lawn or garden!
I have also given as a gift and the recipients love it as much as I do. My son bought one for his elderly neighbors he saw using small tools weeding their lawn and garden on their hands and knees. They were so appreciative and have thanked him over and over for finding this nifty gadget to help them with their lawn and garden.
I have other Fiskars gardening tools, so I was thrilled to add another Fiskars product to my gardening toolbox.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality, Good Shape, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Fulshear, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, poorly made

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The plastic housing at the bottom of the weed puller cracked after only using it for about 10 minutes pulling weeds in my back yard. I followed the instructions as carefully as possible, watched the video, looked at the photos, and read the reviews. Granted, I am 6'-3" 275-lb former college linebacker who can still press 225-lb 25+ times, so part of it could have been user error. My coworkers call me a "barbarian" which should explain the brute force I tend to use in just about everything, including retrieving ice from the freezer. My children can be scared of me if I give them "the look" when they're in trouble, and the ladies at work hear me from the other end of the office and tremble in fear when I am near. I actually made one of the older secretaries cry because I raised my voice at her. I have since made amends. Either way, the plastic step and housing should be fabricated from metal, not plastic. Just my opinion to prevent cracks in cheap plastic products.
The teeth at the bottom were perfect for gripping clumps of weeds at the roots and the teeth don't allow for slippage of the roots and weed unless the grass is wet. It also grips quite a bit of soil so you'll need to shake the soil off or you'll have large holes in your yard. Brining a few squares of grass along is also helpful to replace the missing soil/grass/weed.
I would give this item 5 stars if the bottom was made of metal and if the pole didn't fall apart so easily. I still recommend this product for those without superhuman strength, little old ladies, small children and the sort. It is a great idea, but needs to made from better, higher quality materials. Plastic is good, but not when working in the yard. That's a reason they don't make plastic shovel heads other than the sandbox type that kids use at the beach.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Functionality
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality, cheap plastic, falls apart
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Wichita, KS
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hands Down

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
One of the most helpful and best yard tools which I have purchased till date. So easy to use that it becomes addictive because of the pure joy of removing weeds without much effort. Attached pics will show how many weeds I was able to remove in less than 10 minutes.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Uproot Weed Remover
from fort worth tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

don't bother. broke in 5 minutes. get a hound dog weed puller

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Received the product and used as directed. watched the video to ensure proper usage. It broke within the first 5 minutes of use. Plastic holding on the bottom broke off. Had borrowed a neighbors "hound dog weed hound" and thought this would work just as well and save a few bucks. Nope. Go the extra money and get the original hound dog made of metal. Hers has lasted for years and it works great. They are hard to find, but look on internet and get the green hound dog (apparently the new ones are yellow and don't get as good of a review).
Cons: Not Durable
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Uproot Weed Remover
from The Woodlands, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The VERY best

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product! Removing weeds is fun with this tool. Stooping, standing up, walking to the next weed, stooping again is no longer necessary with the Fiskars Uproot Weed Remover. I am so excited about this lightweight easy to use product. I've told everyone I know, neighbors and even people I don't know about this fantastic tool. It is shipped ready to use. I tried it and was immediately hooked. There is not another product like this out there that is this effective and awesome. I highly recommend it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape, fun!, Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Newport, VT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great and effective tool.

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is the best thing since sliced bread! it is easy to use, durable and very effective in getting out dandelions and other big weeds. The release lever for the weed pull is key. No need to bend over. Just position over weed, step and weed is up and you can release into a bucket or whatever. My neighbor bought another brand and said it didn't go deep enough or have the weed release mechanism.
Fiskars is the way to go.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Sharp, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Uproot Weed Remover

Dandelion Destoyer

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this tool online and received it last week. This weekend I literally pulled a 30 gallon trash can full of dandelions from my yard using this tool. It does an outstanding job and really is an ingenious design. I inadvertently jammed it in to several rocks and tree roots throughout the day and it is still going strong so it is well made. It does take a small cone of topsoil with each pull, so part of the time I spent using it was going around with a bucket and pulling off all the top soil before trashing the dandelion. You wouldn't necessarily have to do that but I wanted to keep the topsoil for my yard. All in all, outstanding product.
Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Uproot Weed Remover

Works well, but not deep enough for dandelions

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We've used the weeder for a month now. Although the step-on part is plastic, it is solid, and makes the unit lightweight. It easily pulls up most weeds, but does take a chunk of earth with it. Unless you want your lawn to look like a groundhog playground, you need to then pull off the soil and re-plant it. You can't just dump the soil+weeds somewhere just by pulling the handle, like they claim. Also, the fingers are not long enough to get out the taproots of mature dandelions. That is a difficult problem-the fingers would have to be at least another 4-5 inches longer, and you would be digging holes to China in your lawn as a result. Overall, we're satisfied. It's significantly easier than using a garden trowel.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Uproot Weed Remover

This Thing is Awesome

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I cannot believe how great this thing works. It pulls out the root up to 8 inches below the surface. It doesn't always get the roots on young weeds because the root is too small for the teeth to grab but the mature weeds are no match for the mechnics of this weed remover. At times it does feel a bit flimsy and I think it could be reinforced a bit more but I would actually buy another if it broke because I am so happy with it. A word of caution though, this will leave holes in your lawn so be prepared to place some topsoil in the holes if you do not like holes in the yard. I look at it as aerating the lawn and just drop some seed in the holes as I go.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Uproot Weed Remover
from New England, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Money Well Spent

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to use. Prior to purchasing this I used one of the spray on chemical weed killers that left bare sports on my lawn. The Uproot Weed Remover works so much better and without leaving dead sports on the lawn. It is fast and easy to use, with no bending over. After I was done, I hosed it off and it cleaned up in seconds. I had a ton of weeds on my lawn, and within a few hours, I'd removed all I could find. My only recommendation would be to carry a small bucket/pouch with you, clipped to your waist to put the pulled weeds in as you go, as moving a trash can around constantly is a pain and time consuming. Having owned it for a few months its great, but I fear that after a year or two, the constant motion with the "plastic foot arm" may break, rendering it useless.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Functionality, Easy to Use
Cons: more plastic less metal
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product performs exactly as advertised.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is simple and easy to use. Simply place on weed and step on pry bar to sink tool into ground. Pull handle toward pry bar and out comes the weed. Slide release lever and weed pops off of the tool. I would highly recommend this tool to anyone young or old. Excellent product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Uproot Weed Remover
from MN
Gender:Female

My husband (and kids!) love it!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use and gets the root out! Even our 6 year old can pull weeds efficiently!
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Saint Louis, MO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does Good Job on Dandelions

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used a Weed Hound for years but more often than not it failed to get very much of the taproot on the dandelions. This Fiskars weed remover is easy to use and does a much better job. It almost always gets the weed and the taproot. And ejecting the weed from the device is so much easier. It will, however take out a good sized plug of dirt in the process. In some of the more bare spots in my lawn, I'll extract the dirt from the weed and stuff it back down into the hole. Where the grass is thicker, I just consider it to be aeration.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Uproot Weed Remover
from West Fargo, ND
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Weed Remover

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This weed remover saves your back and knee's from repetitive up and down also works great and saves time. Excellent product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Uproot Weed Remover
from California, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Handle Broke

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A good design, theoretically, as it worked until it broke and then it just didn't work anymore. By "broke" I am referring to the bottom part of the tool where the plastic is somehow welded onto a metal part. This plastic-metal joint is where the full force of the leverage is placed when you lean back to rip out the root from the ground. This tool would probably be fantastic if they had welded metal to metal on that bottom part but as it stands a plastic to metal joint just ain't gonna cut it if you want to pull anything thicker than a small dandelion root out of your turf lawn.
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Sun Valley, Idaho
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Most helpful yard tool I own

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So easy to use that it becomes addictive because of the pure joy of removing weeds without much effort. We live near a river so have a bunch of hard rocky dry soil and it does have some difficulty in those spots. It is not heavy and feels a bit flimsy, but I have not had any quality issues whatsoever. Check out the YouTube videos as I did and you will end up buying one as well! I am really glad I bought it, it gets used every time I mow the lawn.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, lightweight
Cons: plastic
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Uproot Weed Remover
from new york
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT WEEDER!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this weeder works well on weeds with large roots. It is fun to use and even my 10 year old grandson can use it. Saves your back from bending over. I bought one to see how it was and went back and bought 2 more just to make sure I had them and so more than one person could weed at a time. I recommend this weeder and hope Home Depot continues to carry it. I am a senior citizen who loves to garden and this makes my work easier.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Saint Charles, Mo
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Greatest weed puller ever! It works just as advertised and was a great bargain. No more bending...no more dandelions!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>