728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garden Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Uproot Weed Remover

Uproot Weed Remover

Choose the UpRoot Weeder for chemical-free weed removal without bending or back strain. It features long, serrated stainless-steel claws that dig deep in tough soil to remove weeds by the roots, an extra-long aluminum handle to eliminate bending and an easy-eject features that clears the claws in one effortless motion. Its aluminum construction also makes it much lighter and easier to maneuver than other weeders without sacrificing durability. Lifetime warranty.
Overall rating:
4.562 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(80 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product69 of 74reviews
Rating Breakdown 80 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(59)
4
(15)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product69 of 74reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Uproot Weed Remover
Review 1 for Uproot Weed Remover
weedsgalore
from fort worth tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

don't bother. broke in 5 minutes. get a hound dog weed puller

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Received the product and used as directed. watched the video to ensure proper usage. It broke within the first 5 minutes of use. Plastic holding on the bottom broke off. Had borrowed a neighbors "hound dog weed hound" and thought this would work just as well and save a few bucks. Nope. Go the extra money and get the original hound dog made of metal. Hers has lasted for years and it works great. They are hard to find, but look on internet and get the green hound dog (apparently the new ones are yellow and don't get as good of a review).
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Uproot Weed Remover
KYGardener
from Valley Station, Louisville, KY 40272, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FANTASTIC product!

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Saw this product featured on an infomercial on a HG DIY channel. Unable to find it to purchase in store, so I purchased online. I have been thrilled with this product and use it often. The ease of use helps protect my back and allows me to weed my lawn and garden without aggravating my carpal tunnel syndrome. Also protects my fingernails from breaking. No more bending over or getting on my hands and knees to remove weeds from my lawn or garden!
I have also given as a gift and the recipients love it as much as I do. My son bought one for his elderly neighbors he saw using small tools weeding their lawn and garden on their hands and knees. They were so appreciative and have thanked him over and over for finding this nifty gadget to help them with their lawn and garden.
I have other Fiskars gardening tools, so I was thrilled to add another Fiskars product to my gardening toolbox.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality, Good Shape, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Uproot Weed Remover
SimplyJenn
from The Woodlands, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The VERY best

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product! Removing weeds is fun with this tool. Stooping, standing up, walking to the next weed, stooping again is no longer necessary with the Fiskars Uproot Weed Remover. I am so excited about this lightweight easy to use product. I've told everyone I know, neighbors and even people I don't know about this fantastic tool. It is shipped ready to use. I tried it and was immediately hooked. There is not another product like this out there that is this effective and awesome. I highly recommend it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape, fun!, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Uproot Weed Remover
Brosef
from California, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Handle Broke

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A good design, theoretically, as it worked until it broke and then it just didn't work anymore. By "broke" I am referring to the bottom part of the tool where the plastic is somehow welded onto a metal part. This plastic-metal joint is where the full force of the leverage is placed when you lean back to rip out the root from the ground. This tool would probably be fantastic if they had welded metal to metal on that bottom part but as it stands a plastic to metal joint just ain't gonna cut it if you want to pull anything thicker than a small dandelion root out of your turf lawn.
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Uproot Weed Remover
Bart

Product was so great we ordered another.

PostedApril 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weeds have gone crazy this year so we needed a tool to make it easier and faster to remove them. So glad we found this product. Worked so well, we ordered a second one so we both could use them at the same time. When we bought the first, we did so despite complaints about breakage of the foot pedal. We have had so such problems, even when dealing with very large weeds that have deep roots. Great product. If it breaks I will replace it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Uproot Weed Remover
RG123
from Corpus Christi, T
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works very well. Pulls weed up, root and all.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't understand why this product is not available in the stores in Corpus Christi, Texas. We have horrible weeds down here from stinging nettle to sticker burrs and this gets them all up with ease without even touching the weed with your hand.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Uproot Weed Remover
HandyDan

This Thing is Awesome

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I cannot believe how great this thing works. It pulls out the root up to 8 inches below the surface. It doesn't always get the roots on young weeds because the root is too small for the teeth to grab but the mature weeds are no match for the mechnics of this weed remover. At times it does feel a bit flimsy and I think it could be reinforced a bit more but I would actually buy another if it broke because I am so happy with it. A word of caution though, this will leave holes in your lawn so be prepared to place some topsoil in the holes if you do not like holes in the yard. I look at it as aerating the lawn and just drop some seed in the holes as I go.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Uproot Weed Remover
Dimples
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works just as it say!

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great item....less bending down. Value is right for this item.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Uproot Weed Remover
ThePreacher

If you have weeds ... you need this

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great for weeds with a centered root system (tap root). Well made and easy to use. Very satisfied with this purchase. $25 well spent.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Uproot Weed Remover
Dan86weeds
from Wa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works as promissed

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
At first I thought it was a little flimsy, but after trying it i was quite surprised how well it got the whole root.
And I like how it hangs onto the weed instead of dropping it so you have to bend down and pick it up.
The slide release throws the weed right into the garbage can.
Pros: Functionality, Easy to Clean
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Uproot Weed Remover
nekero

Weed Eliminator

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was looking for an efficient way to eliminate weeds in my yard. I was familiar with the manufacturer of this product and it looked like it could offer the solution to my problem. Initially it may take a small amount of time to become efficient in its use, but it seems to be quick, easy and effective. It generally seems to remove the roots also, so hopefully the weeds will not return. I did view a video on You Tube that helped me get the knack of using the device.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Uproot Weed Remover
McRod
from Newburgh, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Impressed

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this tool. I brought it mainly for tackling Dandelions. It works great. It really gets down to the root. What's also cool is the weed ejector. The only minus is that it will leave a little hole where the weed was uprooted. Other than that it can't be beat. My neighbor is really happy that I got too. I may have to by him his own. It works exactly as advertised.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Uproot Weed Remover
SeattleDan
from Seattle

High-quality product. Pulls out deepest dandelion roots.

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After looking at competing $5 (Harbor Freight) and $15 products (everywhere), I decided I want to buy the more expensive, higher-quality product with the lifetime warranty. I'm sick of cheap, throw-away products that aren't intended to last more than a couple years. My friend bent his Harbor Freight weeder the first time he used it. My first time using the Fiskars Uproot (I have model 7880, currently sold at HD) was easy and unusually fun. There's some gleeful internal satisfaction in pulling up an entire carrot-length dandelion root. My yard has--no exaggeration--well over 500 dandelions and I wanted a non-chemical way to control them. The weeder makes quick work of them, and I could easily pull a couple hundred in less than an hour. The process is easy and entertaining enough that my 13-year old nephew spent 30 minutes or more using it in the back yard just because it was fun. It can, however, grab golf-ball to racquetball-sized divots as one reviewer mentioned, but I find these to fill in quickly with fresh grass once the broadleaf weed is removed. And with 500+ dandelions, I'm not looking for a golf-course quality lawn. If your yard is in better shape, you shouldn't have to worry about the few scattered divots. Finally, this thing is well-built and sturdy. Parts can be unbolted and taken apart, presumably for replacement parts if ever needed within the lifetime warranty. It even has a little hand slider that pushes the weed out of the claws, which makes for quick stab, tilt, lift, push motion. The tilting action forces the three claws together around the taproot, and if you continue tilting, it will lift the weed right out. Simple. Love it.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Uproot Weed Remover
Mrsbowe
from central NH
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WoW!

PostedJune 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Like other reviewers, I LOVE this weed remover. I am actually looking for weeds to pull up. Great for stress relief too!
Word of caution...it should go without saying, but just in case...DON'T force the weeds up or you WILL break your weed remover. For the really tough weeds such as the dock family, you still need to use some muscle and a shovel. But for smaller weeds, no sweat, up they come and right into the bucket, no bending!
Some reviewers commented that it leaves holes, well, unfortunately, it will because you just dragged a weed out of the ground, you can easily shake the dirt from the roots, but yeah, there are some holes. I don't find this to be a major problem.
Finally, making my blue ribbon dandilion jelly and wine will be easier than ever with my new weed remover - it just saved me hours and hours of dandilion hunting!
Would I recommend it? You bettchya!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Uproot Weed Remover
Kitty
from Rainier, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product!

PostedMay 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the easiest weed remover I have ever used. It only took me 30 minutes to do my front yard. Last year it took me 4 hours, on my knees. It's a little pricey but well worth it. I would recommend this product to any and all, especially to seniors, like myself, that can't get up and down like we used to. With this product there isn't even any bending.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Uproot Weed Remover
Halekirk
from Little Elm, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best weeding tool!

PostedApril 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Last summer borrowed a weeding tool from my brother; it worked ok but didn't get all the root especially the bigger ones. This year we went to buy our own and the helpful staff reco'd the Fiscar, so we bought it. Much better than my brothers tool! I was able to fill 5, 5 gal buckets in about an hour! My neighbors loved it too (we lend each other our tools). 5 stars!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Uproot Weed Remover
BuckeyeVoice
from Columbus, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic weeder!

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was sceptical as to whether this tool would really work and was pleasantly surprised at how fantastic it is! The upright weeder far surpasses my expectations and I couldn't be happier with its ease of use. The weeder eliminates low back stress because you stand erect instead of bending over to pull weeds. The claws bring the entire weed up, roots and all! I love this tool! Every gardener should have one.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Uproot Weed Remover
MrGear
from Sheridan, IL 60551, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Get the WHOLE tap-root

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got weeds? Got weeds with DEEP tap-roots? Get the Fiskar Uproot Weeder, and with a little bit of practice you can answer both of those questions "NO" and smile about it. Bending and kneeling were murder on my back and knees, now I just sink the teeth of the Uproot and lever those monsters out from a standing position. I'll admit that it got a little fiddly where landscape fabric got into the mix so be careful and you'll get it sorted without issue.
Pros: Functionality, Good Shape, Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Uproot Weed Remover
texasgirl
from El Paso, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great at pulling out difficult weeds and crabgrass

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product does pull out huge clumps of crab grass and weeds that have long roots. It can pull out a good clump of dirt if the roots are very developed, but its better to get out the full problem and replace some dirt.
I love it and would definitely buy it again!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Uproot Weed Remover
Dmbne1
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saves your back

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product does exactly as advertised. It's not perfect, but pulls the weeds with Minimal amount of work. My kids have started to pull weeds and enjoy it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>