728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garden Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Uproot Weed Remover

Uproot Weed Remover

Choose the UpRoot Weeder for chemical-free weed removal without bending or back strain. It features long, serrated stainless-steel claws that dig deep in tough soil to remove weeds by the roots, an extra-long aluminum handle to eliminate bending and an easy-eject features that clears the claws in one effortless motion. Its aluminum construction also makes it much lighter and easier to maneuver than other weeders without sacrificing durability. Lifetime warranty.
Overall rating:
4.558 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(156 reviews) 156
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product141 of 150reviews
Rating Breakdown 156 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(115)
4
(29)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product141 of 150reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Uproot Weed Remover
Review 1 for Uproot Weed Remover
from SOUTH SETAUKET, NEW YORK
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome weed removal tool!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have read all the reviews on weed removal tools and this appeared to be the best rated. My front yard was a mess with weeds, mostly dandelions, since I did not have time to weed & feed earlier. The Fiskars weed tool is a lifesaver. Not only was it easy to use, but it also saved my back from pain by not having to bend down to pull out the weeds. You simply place the tool over the weed, step down on the base and pull down on the handle. There is no effort and even the biggest weeds with 6 inch roots came out easily. I pulled out about 60 weeds within 15 minutes. This is the best gardening tool ever. I highly recommend it, especially for weekend gardeners.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Uproot Weed Remover

Purchased twice, both broke immediately

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this product once, it arrived without any tags and was just thrown in a box. It broke within 10 minutes. After returning it, another one was shipped, and that one broke within 15 minutes. Will try another brand.
Cons: Not Durable, poorly made
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Valley Station, Louisville, KY 40272, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FANTASTIC product!

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Saw this product featured on an infomercial on a HG DIY channel. Unable to find it to purchase in store, so I purchased online. I have been thrilled with this product and use it often. The ease of use helps protect my back and allows me to weed my lawn and garden without aggravating my carpal tunnel syndrome. Also protects my fingernails from breaking. No more bending over or getting on my hands and knees to remove weeds from my lawn or garden!
I have also given as a gift and the recipients love it as much as I do. My son bought one for his elderly neighbors he saw using small tools weeding their lawn and garden on their hands and knees. They were so appreciative and have thanked him over and over for finding this nifty gadget to help them with their lawn and garden.
I have other Fiskars gardening tools, so I was thrilled to add another Fiskars product to my gardening toolbox.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality, Good Shape, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Sequim, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Design, Wrong Materials

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was looking for an implement like this at my local Home Depot and couldn't find it, so I searched the web site and hit pay-dirt. There was a video which demonstrated how it worked which was very useful, and I made the decision to purchase one. The price was reasonable and I received the product in a very timely manner. So far. so good. When I opened the box and examined the tool I was disappointed to discover that a goodly percentage of it consisted of plastic parts that were not of a cosmetic nature. I was skeptical of whether or not the tool would last, but I gave it a chance to prove itself, and it worked just as well as the video said it would. Unfortunately, it broke the third time I used it (plastic parts that operate the steel jaws). Fiskars, This is a GREAT tool design, but what were you thinking of when you decided to use plastic in the construction of an outdoor tool?! Unfortunately, I'm going to have to send this thing back to get my money refunded, but if you ever build a better version that uses steel parts instead of plastic, I'll be standing in line to buy one!! Despite the fact that I the tool broke I gave it 2 Stars because of the good design, but save your money until Fiskars gets rid of the plastic parts.
Pros: Functionality, Easy to Clean
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Fulshear, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, poorly made

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The plastic housing at the bottom of the weed puller cracked after only using it for about 10 minutes pulling weeds in my back yard. I followed the instructions as carefully as possible, watched the video, looked at the photos, and read the reviews. Granted, I am 6'-3" 275-lb former college linebacker who can still press 225-lb 25+ times, so part of it could have been user error. My coworkers call me a "barbarian" which should explain the brute force I tend to use in just about everything, including retrieving ice from the freezer. My children can be scared of me if I give them "the look" when they're in trouble, and the ladies at work hear me from the other end of the office and tremble in fear when I am near. I actually made one of the older secretaries cry because I raised my voice at her. I have since made amends. Either way, the plastic step and housing should be fabricated from metal, not plastic. Just my opinion to prevent cracks in cheap plastic products.
The teeth at the bottom were perfect for gripping clumps of weeds at the roots and the teeth don't allow for slippage of the roots and weed unless the grass is wet. It also grips quite a bit of soil so you'll need to shake the soil off or you'll have large holes in your yard. Brining a few squares of grass along is also helpful to replace the missing soil/grass/weed.
I would give this item 5 stars if the bottom was made of metal and if the pole didn't fall apart so easily. I still recommend this product for those without superhuman strength, little old ladies, small children and the sort. It is a great idea, but needs to made from better, higher quality materials. Plastic is good, but not when working in the yard. That's a reason they don't make plastic shovel heads other than the sandbox type that kids use at the beach.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Functionality
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality, cheap plastic, falls apart
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-19points
5out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Uproot Weed Remover
from fort worth tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

don't bother. broke in 5 minutes. get a hound dog weed puller

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Received the product and used as directed. watched the video to ensure proper usage. It broke within the first 5 minutes of use. Plastic holding on the bottom broke off. Had borrowed a neighbors "hound dog weed hound" and thought this would work just as well and save a few bucks. Nope. Go the extra money and get the original hound dog made of metal. Hers has lasted for years and it works great. They are hard to find, but look on internet and get the green hound dog (apparently the new ones are yellow and don't get as good of a review).
Cons: Not Durable
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Wichita, KS
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hands Down

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
One of the most helpful and best yard tools which I have purchased till date. So easy to use that it becomes addictive because of the pure joy of removing weeds without much effort. Attached pics will show how many weeds I was able to remove in less than 10 minutes.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Sterling Heights
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works very well and fast saved my back from getting hurt.

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It worked very well and fast, saved my back from getting hurt.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Uproot Weed Remover
from The Woodlands, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The VERY best

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product! Removing weeds is fun with this tool. Stooping, standing up, walking to the next weed, stooping again is no longer necessary with the Fiskars Uproot Weed Remover. I am so excited about this lightweight easy to use product. I've told everyone I know, neighbors and even people I don't know about this fantastic tool. It is shipped ready to use. I tried it and was immediately hooked. There is not another product like this out there that is this effective and awesome. I highly recommend it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape, fun!, Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Uproot Weed Remover

Hate Yard Work, LOVE this Thing

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As another reviewer said, this weeder works better on more mature weeds and leaves a hole in the yard when you pull one up. However, for this gal who despises yard work, to not have to crawl on my hands and knees, wear garden gloves, poke myself on prickly weeds, or get all dirty, I'll take holes in my lawn any day. It works just like the video shows, and has a little lever to pop the uprooted weed off the end. I get oddly excited to use this thing cause it's THAT easy. I've gotten a couple family members to buy one too, since I raved about it so much - they love it too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Uproot Weed Remover

This Thing is Awesome

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I cannot believe how great this thing works. It pulls out the root up to 8 inches below the surface. It doesn't always get the roots on young weeds because the root is too small for the teeth to grab but the mature weeds are no match for the mechnics of this weed remover. At times it does feel a bit flimsy and I think it could be reinforced a bit more but I would actually buy another if it broke because I am so happy with it. A word of caution though, this will leave holes in your lawn so be prepared to place some topsoil in the holes if you do not like holes in the yard. I look at it as aerating the lawn and just drop some seed in the holes as I go.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Uproot Weed Remover

Dandelion Destoyer

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this tool online and received it last week. This weekend I literally pulled a 30 gallon trash can full of dandelions from my yard using this tool. It does an outstanding job and really is an ingenious design. I inadvertently jammed it in to several rocks and tree roots throughout the day and it is still going strong so it is well made. It does take a small cone of topsoil with each pull, so part of the time I spent using it was going around with a bucket and pulling off all the top soil before trashing the dandelion. You wouldn't necessarily have to do that but I wanted to keep the topsoil for my yard. All in all, outstanding product.
Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Newport, VT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great and effective tool.

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is the best thing since sliced bread! it is easy to use, durable and very effective in getting out dandelions and other big weeds. The release lever for the weed pull is key. No need to bend over. Just position over weed, step and weed is up and you can release into a bucket or whatever. My neighbor bought another brand and said it didn't go deep enough or have the weed release mechanism.
Fiskars is the way to go.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Sharp, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Uproot Weed Remover

Works well, but not deep enough for dandelions

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We've used the weeder for a month now. Although the step-on part is plastic, it is solid, and makes the unit lightweight. It easily pulls up most weeds, but does take a chunk of earth with it. Unless you want your lawn to look like a groundhog playground, you need to then pull off the soil and re-plant it. You can't just dump the soil+weeds somewhere just by pulling the handle, like they claim. Also, the fingers are not long enough to get out the taproots of mature dandelions. That is a difficult problem-the fingers would have to be at least another 4-5 inches longer, and you would be digging holes to China in your lawn as a result. Overall, we're satisfied. It's significantly easier than using a garden trowel.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Uproot Weed Remover
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It broke within 2 weeks

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It work great for about two weeks, but they went cheap with some of the parts. It has a type of lever made out of plastic that is designed to pinch the weed when you pull it side ways. That plastic pice broke. If it was all metal it probably would have lasted for years.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Victorville, Ca
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Well

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was surprised that this weed remover does pull out the weeds with out much effort. It works much better in damp soil than dry. Seams to be well made. I found that cleaning the jaws every 2 days & oiling the moving parts keeps the device in good working condition.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Charleston, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use and works great!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Awesome tool! Best part about it....no motor to break. Very simple and practical device. Grabs the whole root and rips it all out. I don't even break a sweat!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Uproot Weed Remover

uproot

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this it is so easy to use, saves me so much time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Uproot Weed Remover
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great at pulling weeds, great at falling apart

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great for pulling weeds in the grass and around my beds. I only wish it was stronger, a little too much plastic. I actually broke my first one after a few uses. the plastic that attaches the handle to the metal claw broke. However I liked this thing so much I bought a second one and I am being very ginger with it. We'll see if it holds up.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Lambertville, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best yard tool I ever bought!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was tired of pulling weeds, especially dandelions, from my yard where they are everywhere. I found this one online at Home Depot and ordered it. I like Fiskars yard tools and thought I'll give it a try. Love it and use it all the time.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>