728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Uproot Weed Remover

Uproot Weed Remover

Choose the Uproot Weeder for chemical-free weed removal without bending or back strain. It features long, serrated stainless-steel claws that dig deep in tough soil to remove weeds by the roots, an extra-long aluminum handle to eliminate bending and an easy-eject features that clears the claws in one effortless motion. Its aluminum construction also makes it much lighter and easier to maneuver than other weeders without sacrificing durability. Lifetime warranty.
Overall rating:
4.58 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(226 reviews) 226
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product209 of 219reviews
Rating Breakdown 226 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(166)
4
(44)
3
(4)
2
(5)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product209 of 219reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for Uproot Weed Remover
Review 1 for Uproot Weed Remover
from SOUTH SETAUKET, NEW YORK
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome weed removal tool!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have read all the reviews on weed removal tools and this appeared to be the best rated. My front yard was a mess with weeds, mostly dandelions, since I did not have time to weed & feed earlier. The Fiskars weed tool is a lifesaver. Not only was it easy to use, but it also saved my back from pain by not having to bend down to pull out the weeds. You simply place the tool over the weed, step down on the base and pull down on the handle. There is no effort and even the biggest weeds with 6 inch roots came out easily. I pulled out about 60 weeds within 15 minutes. This is the best gardening tool ever. I highly recommend it, especially for weekend gardeners.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:25 to 34

Love how fast I get weeds out of the yard!

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love how quickly I can get a large quantity of weeds with this tool. It makes pulling weeds fun (yes, I said it) and is easy on the back (super important).
Tip: Use it when it's damp out for easiest removal.
The only improvement I would suggest is to make the foot portion metal. While it's held up so far (a few months), I can see it breaking after years of use.
The only drawback is that you don't really want to use it in an area that has soaker hoses.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Functionality, Great Quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Coram , New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not disappointed at all.

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you're thinking about getting this tool , do it. Was skeptical purchasing the Fiskars only because I've never had luck pulling weeds. But I have other Fiskars products and they're always quality. Well let me tell you, I wish I had more dandelions to pull. They make weeding fun. What I couldn't believe was that I could not find this tool on any shelves. The only way to get it was online. I actually called Fiskars to tell them their product was not being stocked nor shown in any of the stores that said they carried it. I could increase sales 10 fold if they let me take over the account. This thing sells itself!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Uproot Weed Remover
from San Antonio, TX

Very Impressed...!

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't usually leave reviews much but I just had to share my view on this product. I went into Home Depot to look for this tool (which I came across by accident on Amazon) but they only had it online and one of the employee's said there was a yellow weed remover in the store but it keeps being returned. So I ordered the one off line as it had good reviews and in a few days it came in a big box with only the 3 pictures on it for instructions.
I followed the pictures and it was so easy I could not believe that I was not using this all along.....it is great on the big weeds which I was skeptical about as I thought there was a catch and it would only work on the smaller ones (however I find it works best on the big ones) but that is not the case it works as described.
Just put the tool in the center of the weed (sometimes it hard to tell where that is) and pushed down then pull the handle towards you and out comes the weed. I have always had to dig out the weeds and it would take FOREVER on my knees (which I'm getting too old for) but this is a great time saver in just a fraction of the time 20-30 mins intead of hours/days. It makes the experience more enjoyable so it's definitely a keeper!
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality
Cons: it's not adjustable for a taller person.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Uproot Weed Remover

Purchased twice, both broke immediately

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this product once, it arrived without any tags and was just thrown in a box. It broke within 10 minutes. After returning it, another one was shipped, and that one broke within 15 minutes. Will try another brand.
Cons: Not Durable, poorly made
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Valley Station, Louisville, KY 40272, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FANTASTIC product!

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Saw this product featured on an infomercial on a HG DIY channel. Unable to find it to purchase in store, so I purchased online. I have been thrilled with this product and use it often. The ease of use helps protect my back and allows me to weed my lawn and garden without aggravating my carpal tunnel syndrome. Also protects my fingernails from breaking. No more bending over or getting on my hands and knees to remove weeds from my lawn or garden!
I have also given as a gift and the recipients love it as much as I do. My son bought one for his elderly neighbors he saw using small tools weeding their lawn and garden on their hands and knees. They were so appreciative and have thanked him over and over for finding this nifty gadget to help them with their lawn and garden.
I have other Fiskars gardening tools, so I was thrilled to add another Fiskars product to my gardening toolbox.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality, Good Shape, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
24out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Las Vegas, NV
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

stand-up and weed

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I love my weeder - so far - if it "holds up" then I'll really love it. My previous stand-up weeders, of other brands, have broken after one season. I'm counting on the Fiskars brand to hold up its great reputation.
Pros: Durable, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Uproot Weed Remover
from San Antonio Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Best yard tool i have bought in 40 years. Easy to use and clean up is simple. No back breaking or crawling on your knees to get the weeds out of the yard.
Pros: Great Quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Duvall, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked pretty well until it broke

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
You get what you pay for. It is advertised for pulling dandelions out of lawns, not dock weed and Japanese knotweed. So to be fair, I was using it more heavily than it was meant for. But even after the plastic lever started breaking, it still worked for a while. Easy to figure out how to use after seeing the provided video once. I really needed it for a specific job, and it helped with that job. I only wish I could have used it more - I'm not a fan of "disposable" tools. Also, it comes in a HUGE box when shipped, so we had to take it out of the packaging to get it into the car at the store.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Uproot Weed Remover

This Thing is Awesome

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I cannot believe how great this thing works. It pulls out the root up to 8 inches below the surface. It doesn't always get the roots on young weeds because the root is too small for the teeth to grab but the mature weeds are no match for the mechnics of this weed remover. At times it does feel a bit flimsy and I think it could be reinforced a bit more but I would actually buy another if it broke because I am so happy with it. A word of caution though, this will leave holes in your lawn so be prepared to place some topsoil in the holes if you do not like holes in the yard. I look at it as aerating the lawn and just drop some seed in the holes as I go.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Indianapolis, IN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good weed remover

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This weed remover works as claimed: it pulls out a weed with a large part of its tap root. Works best after a rain when the ground is soft.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Uproot Weed Remover

Back for more

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I literally paraded around my back yard holding this tool up like a flag chanting "this is the best tool on the planet!!!" after using it (correctly) for the first time. Then I ran inside to order my brother one. Like others, I didn't get it right the first time, but because of all the rave reviews, I checked the YouTube video. I was incorrectly using the eject sleeve to crimp the weed with the blades like a claw. Hence, it did not work. After the video, I tried it again. I am a convert! I love this freaking tool. I had to pull myself away. I was actually having fun! Now Friskers, can you make a chipmunk foiler, too?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Maryland
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good tool

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No need to assemble; weight is right.
Best for dandelion removal.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Detroit, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Does a fair job

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It's easy enough to use, my 89 year old mother uses it, too. It leaves bigger holes in the yard than I like and it doesn't always get the roots but it still beats pulling all the weeds by hand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Largo Maryland
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool

PostedJuly 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The tool was easy to use and was effective in pulling up weeds.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Uproot Weed Remover

Life altering experience!

PostedJuly 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My life has been forever changed!
I'm now out and about all over my yard gleefully wrenching and vellicating those nasty weeds.
Oh, and I really like the Fiskars uproot weed remover. Easy to pluck and dispose those yard detractors.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Utah

Weeds now fear me.

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a big pasture at the edge of my yard. I battle with weeds every day all summer long. I went to the internet to find an easier solution and found a video for this thing. I ordered it from Home Depot, it shipped to the store for pick up without problems. Now I use this pretty much every day in the summer. It doesn't work on every single weed, but I can get weeds like dandelions out of the grass without issue, but where it really shines with when I battle the puncture weeds, devils weed, puncture vine, whatever you call it (I call them Goat Head Thorns) that grow in the pasture and in my Garden. These weeds drive me nuts and they grow right along the ground and my kids step on them and bring the thorns back into the house, I HATE THEM. Picking them used to be the worst because they poke you and it hurts, even through gloves and then the root breaks lots of times, its just hateful work. The Fiskars Weed Remover works to pop them out effortlessly, and without injury. If it ever breaks, I will buy another!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Cleveland Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works like magic

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It pulls the weeds up without effort but, of course, it pulls up a bit of the lawn and soil with the weed. I have no way of knowing whether it's best for the lawn to just leave the hole or to bend over and separate the weed from the turf. I did the latter, and that step is certainly not effortless. My conclusion is that the product works as advertised; it greatly simplifies weeding the lawn.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Cypress, TX. 77433
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good weed pulling tool.

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The Fiskar Uproot Weed Remover tool is a good value. It works exactly as the video on the Home Depot website shows it to work and near effortlessly allows you to pull up the most stubborn weeds. We had the spider web type, dandelions, and prickly pear type weeds in our yard. In fact our yard was infested with them. We have only about 5k to 6k square feet of yard in the front and back combined, we pulled 4 garden bags of weeds out with this jewel with no problems at all. If you have tough ground to work with it is highly recommended you wet the ground first to soften it, otherwise you stand the chance of breaking the tool where your foot is placed (It is plastic). Not sure why Fiskar chose not to make this piece metal but that is why I didn't give it 5 stars as well. Overall it does work well if taken care of as described.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Functionality
Cons: foot of tool is plastic
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Uproot Weed Remover
from Troy MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good purchase

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Uproot weed remover is really good we can remove weeds eaisly.
Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>