728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Push-to-connect Fittings & Connectors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve

3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve

The 3/4 in. x 18 in. SharkBite Water Heater Connector with Integrated Ball Valve allows you to easily connect your Hot & Cold Water Supply lines to your Water Heater. After applying pipe thread tape to the MIP nipples on your water heater, thread the FIP end of the Water Heater connector onto the tank and tighten with channel locks. Then simply push the SharkBite Push-Fit end onto Copper, PEX, or CPVC pipes and your Water Heater is connected. The Integrated Ball Valve on the SharkBite Water Heater Connector provides a quarter-turn, single handle shut-off to the water supply. The braided stainless steel lines are available in different lengths from 12 in. - 24 in. (without Ball Valve) and are also available in Corrugated Stainless Steel. SharkBite Water Heater Connectors will decrease the amount of time and effort needed to install a Water Heater in your home and are the fastest way to complete your project.
Overall rating:
4.357 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product13 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Ease of installation 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product13 of 14reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve
Review 1 for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve
from Medford NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy install

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was very easy to install. I used it for a hot water heater 3/4 ". Would be better if they came in size other then 18"long . Also you don't need that tool for preping the copper tubing . I used a little sandpaper to remove any burs, and some steelwool to clean the outside of the tubing . Just make sure you push it in all the way.
Pros: Reliable, no sweating
Cons: only comes in 18"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve
from Virginia Beach

Good purchase

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Put this on with my new water heater. Seems to work well. Price was ok, but I didn't like the fact that it is only available online. Should be able to purchase in store.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: not available in store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve

Easy plumbing repair

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Made changing out my hot water tank a snap. Easy to use. Only negative was I could only find it in this size/length. Should offer more sizes for different size jobs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve
from tampa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Novice with plumbing but these fittings make it easy!

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I just spent a little more than i wanted to on all of the fittings, hoses and additional copper that I needed to reroute my in wall piping so I could move my water heater and laundry to the garage. I couldn't have done it without SharkBite. I actually planned for all of the pieces I needed for the job so I didn't have to wait around for a disconnect piece. It's crazy what proper planning can do for a job. Anyway, the money I saved by doing everything myself (plumber quoted me way to much for the job), I upgraded to the hybrid heatpump water heater and still came in under the quote. Definately not so intimidated by plumbing jobs anymore thanks to sharkbite.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve

Easy!

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quick to do! hooked right up to our new Bradford White water heater and slipped on to the 3/4" cleanly cut copper pipes on the hot and cold sides. It's been over a year since I did this with no problems yet.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve
from Akron, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fast and easy

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased new water heater and connector hoses. It took more time to make the electrical hook-up that to connect both hot and cold water. I would recommend this to ANY person with the slightest DIY skills.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve

Ease of use!

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Super easy to use, fast installation! No more copper piping!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve
from Alturas, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install and worth the price...no need to have disconnect tool unless you want to move the part

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used Sharkbites (including the ball valve) all over my property with no issues. One reviewer was upset because they thought they needed the disconnect tool to install Sharkbites. Not so. You only need it if you want to remove a part you already have installed. The only issue I have had is trying to install a fitting over pipe that has held frozen water. The water permanently expanded the pipe so the Sharkbite would not slide over it easily. Would have had this problem with any copper fitting as well. My solution was to sand down the pipe to reduce its diameter. Love this product! Bye-bye expensive plumber!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks, can be removed and reused
Cons: instructions could be a little better
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve
from Mantua Township, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use, no as easy to get.

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product! Makes the job quicker and easier. Stores should stock them instead of having to order them online.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: not available in store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve
from Depew
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sharkbite

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fitting is simply put, awesome. No soldering required which is especially good if there's still water in the pipe. The attached ball valve makes it that much easier. It will take a bite out of your wallet when compared to copper fittings but you pay a premium for the convenience.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve
from Sunshine, MD 20833, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Connected Hot Water Heater

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After getting some outlandish quotes for installation of a new hot water heater, we decided to do it ourselves. After shopping around, we found these Sharkbite connectors (with ball valves). I ordered them online, because none of the local stores have them. Shipping was a bit expensive, but we needed hot water and were willing to pay for it. After disconnecting, cutting, and draining the old pipes, the new connectors went on without a hitch. We left a few inches of copper from the old pipes for the new connectors to grab. Have had no leaks or issues in a month or more. Will be interested to see how these hold-up long term. The valves are hard to turn, and may need to unscrewed to shut-off.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve
from PA

Easy to install

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
When you install the screw on part, the ball valve will turn a little as you finally tighten. Compensate by turning the ball valve in the opposite direction so it will end up in its final desired position when the nut is finally tightened.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve
from NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Expensive and looks sloppy but works good in hard to solder situations.

PostedApril 19, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I only use this item if soldering appears difficult due to water, location etc... You do not need to buy a removal clip. A pair of pliers, when pushed against the face of the valve, works just fine. Never had a leak yet using shark bite fittings.
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve
from 92544

ball valve not rotate

PostedAugust 3, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
ball valve would not rotate, would actually turn copper pipe that it's connected to. Looking at connection of flex line, seems the line extends into the ball area, prohibiting turning the valve. Returned to re-order, try again.
-17points
1out of 19found this review helpful.