728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Push-to-connect Fittings & Connectors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve

3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve

The SharkBite Water Heater Connectors are used in residential and commercial applications to connect the hot and cold supply lines to the water heater. The connectors are EPDM knitted with braided stainless steel. The connectors are available in 12 in., 15 in. 18 in. (with and without ball valve) and 24 in. lengths. The SharkBite connection allows the installer to connect to copper, PEX and CPVC tubing eliminating the need for an additional transition fitting.
Overall rating:
4.273 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product10 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Ease of installation 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product10 of 11reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve
Review 1 for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve
DancinBear
from Akron, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fast and easy

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased new water heater and connector hoses. It took more time to make the electrical hook-up that to connect both hot and cold water. I would recommend this to ANY person with the slightest DIY skills.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve
Meredith

Ease of use!

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Super easy to use, fast installation! No more copper piping!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve
sellettim
from Mantua Township, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use, no as easy to get.

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product! Makes the job quicker and easier. Stores should stock them instead of having to order them online.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: not available in store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve
Jmulh
from Depew
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sharkbite

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fitting is simply put, awesome. No soldering required which is especially good if there's still water in the pipe. The attached ball valve makes it that much easier. It will take a bite out of your wallet when compared to copper fittings but you pay a premium for the convenience.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve
thetruthhurts
from tampa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Novice with plumbing but these fittings make it easy!

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I just spent a little more than i wanted to on all of the fittings, hoses and additional copper that I needed to reroute my in wall piping so I could move my water heater and laundry to the garage. I couldn't have done it without SharkBite. I actually planned for all of the pieces I needed for the job so I didn't have to wait around for a disconnect piece. It's crazy what proper planning can do for a job. Anyway, the money I saved by doing everything myself (plumber quoted me way to much for the job), I upgraded to the hybrid heatpump water heater and still came in under the quote. Definately not so intimidated by plumbing jobs anymore thanks to sharkbite.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve
anderjenn
from Alturas, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install and worth the price...no need to have disconnect tool unless you want to move the part

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used Sharkbites (including the ball valve) all over my property with no issues. One reviewer was upset because they thought they needed the disconnect tool to install Sharkbites. Not so. You only need it if you want to remove a part you already have installed. The only issue I have had is trying to install a fitting over pipe that has held frozen water. The water permanently expanded the pipe so the Sharkbite would not slide over it easily. Would have had this problem with any copper fitting as well. My solution was to sand down the pipe to reduce its diameter. Love this product! Bye-bye expensive plumber!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks, can be removed and reused
Cons: instructions could be a little better
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve
Samurai

Easy!

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quick to do! hooked right up to our new Bradford White water heater and slipped on to the 3/4" cleanly cut copper pipes on the hot and cold sides. It's been over a year since I did this with no problems yet.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve
samspectre
from Sunshine, MD 20833, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Connected Hot Water Heater

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After getting some outlandish quotes for installation of a new hot water heater, we decided to do it ourselves. After shopping around, we found these Sharkbite connectors (with ball valves). I ordered them online, because none of the local stores have them. Shipping was a bit expensive, but we needed hot water and were willing to pay for it. After disconnecting, cutting, and draining the old pipes, the new connectors went on without a hitch. We left a few inches of copper from the old pipes for the new connectors to grab. Have had no leaks or issues in a month or more. Will be interested to see how these hold-up long term. The valves are hard to turn, and may need to unscrewed to shut-off.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve
dhillsjohn
from PA

Easy to install

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
When you install the screw on part, the ball valve will turn a little as you finally tighten. Compensate by turning the ball valve in the opposite direction so it will end up in its final desired position when the nut is finally tightened.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve
Dave
from NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Expensive and looks sloppy but works good in hard to solder situations.

PostedApril 19, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I only use this item if soldering appears difficult due to water, location etc... You do not need to buy a removal clip. A pair of pliers, when pushed against the face of the valve, works just fine. Never had a leak yet using shark bite fittings.
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3/4 in. x 18 in. Stainless Steel Push-Fit x FIP Water Heater Connector with Ball Valve
nnotsoo
from 92544

ball valve not rotate

PostedAugust 3, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
ball valve would not rotate, would actually turn copper pipe that it's connected to. Looking at connection of flex line, seems the line extends into the ball area, prohibiting turning the valve. Returned to re-order, try again.
-15points
1out of 17found this review helpful.