728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Removers & Thinners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid

1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid

Klean-StripGreen , the products that are better for the environment. klean-Stripgreen solvents are effective high quality products but have a reduced impact on the world in which we live. Klean-StripGreen safer muriatic acid has 90% lower fumes than standard muriatic acid and is safer to use and store.
Overall rating:
3.517 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
68%of customersrecommend this product19 of 28reviews
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(8)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
68%of customersrecommend this product19 of 28reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
Review 1 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from Easton, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Alloy rim cleaner

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a 1999 Miata and I hadn't been able to clean the stock alloy rims with a variety of cleaners and methods. I diluted the muriatic acid with water and (with rubber gloves and eye protection and outdoors) just wiped it on repeatedly and it started taking off the discoloration almost immediately. The picture shows a cleaned section at the bottom. This was after they had been cleaned with soap and water. I used baking soda in water to neutralize the acid and rinsed thoroughly with water.
Pros: High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from cupertino, ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works excellent to remove construction mortar/cement stains

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my first review on Home Depot web site because I cannot agree with other reviewer's rating. As a home owner, I have done DIY projects such as building retaining wall and using 6x8x16 concrete block to build stairs. I have found that after these DIY constructions, my patio is left with grey mortar/cement stains. The bricks become grey. Regular cleaners cannot clean it. Last night, I tried this safer acid, Followed the dilution instruction, sprayed the diluted over the bricks. Waited few minutes and light brushed and rinsed off. After the surface is dry, the grey is gone and the original brick color is back!!!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from American Fork, UT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very weak acid.

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It doesn't say anywhere on the container what the actual acid content % is. Which would be helpful. if you just looking for a concrete cleaner. This would probably work. But for PCB etching... It to weak. The Other Blue Competitor, carries the high concentration Muriatic acid that works much better. Just frustrated it didn't list the concentration % on the bottle.
Pros: Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from ALABAMA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT SMELL (NONE)

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
USED IN ADJUSTING PH IN POOL...WORKED GREAT!
WOULD RECOMMEND HIGHLY
Pros: High Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid

Did what I needed it to do

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this to get some very major hard-water buildup off an old toilet. It took a few doses, but worked extremely well. Better than any cleaning product I tried, and with far less fumes.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Muriatic acid

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a product that should be used carefully. Always be clear what you are doing and in what order. Always have all safety equipment. I have seen people be casual with this chemical and not wear proper gear or precautions. Usually they get away with it but that just encourages them to be stupid next time too, and it catches up with them. Sometimes I have been there with a ready garden hose. I haven't seen anyone get a burn on their face or eyes and I hope I never do. That said, this particular acid comes in a bottle that didn't drip or leak. It is not as yellow as some which could mean it has fewer impurities, not that is good or bad. While those features don't sound like high praise, maybe they are. That is about all a manufacturer can do to keep you safe and for the product to perform. The rest is all up to the user. If you are not experienced, do this with an experienced person. Never work with acids alone. There should be someone as a buddy to rescue you if something goes wrong.
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Far too diltue

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I buy hydrochloric acid (AKA "muriatic acid") to etch copper from printed circuit boards. I had hoped that this product would be the usual 10M (~31%) concentration of HCl, but it is very dilute. The MSDS quotes a concentration of "<25%." This puts the concentration at somewhere around 7.5M. While it does work, it is much slower than if it were of a proper concentration. I wish companies would stop trying to sell us "safer" products that do not work as well.
+53points
58out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from Northern Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great for swimming pools

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Don't buy expensive pool chemicals from your pool supply company. Use this product in conjunction with chlorine (unscented Clorox works just fine) to keep your ph in balance and you'll save a lot of money.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid

Easy prep for garage floor

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Mixed to specs on the bottle and this stuff prepped the garage floor great for paint.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from Georgetown, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54

It is not safer...It's weaker.

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is more expensive than traditional muriatic acid and it is weaker than the muriatic acid sold by leading pool supply houses, Gallon to Gallon comparison makes other standard full-strength muriatic acid about 1/3 less in price. Given the additional dilution (less than 25% per MSDS) for this "Greener"...ahem...weaker version it would cost me about double to use this product over the long-time standard typical (31.45% HCL) Muriatic acid.
Home Depot Buyers: Please do a better job.
Cons: does not list concentration of hcl, weaker and more expensive than traditional acid.
+41points
48out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from Tupelo, MS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is TOO Diluted!!!

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to use in my pool to lower the ph - I thought I was buying the usual strength muriatic acid I have always used...This is NOT it. It is "green" and "safer" as a result be prepared to just buy more. I went to the other national chain store that starts with a "L" and got the normal strength I have bought in the past. This stuff is useless....
Cons: too diluted
+13points
18out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great product cleans residue well

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
it cleans cement residue as advertized and is well displayed on how hazardise it can be if used wrong.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from Oregon
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Waste of money

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This stuff is sooo weak! Do yourself a favor and go down to your local pool supply store and get the real stuff. It will cost less per gallon and be much stronger acid.
Cons: expensive, weak
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from Great Lakes
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not good for pools PH

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
What happen to the old stuff put the gal in it only slightly raised PH. not like the old (unsafe) stuff!
There is no strong smell.
Pros: Easy to Use, no strong oder
Cons: not for pools
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from Washington, DC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Certainly does the job. Cleaned all brickwork, patio, front and back porch brickwalks

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am extremely pleased with the product. Have used it many years ago to clean the brickwork at my residence.
Pros: High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EMPIRE PAINT HAS THE GOOD STUFF

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
THIS STUFF IS SAFER BEACUSE IT IS MOSTLY WATER EMPIRE PAINT ON 7TH AVE IN TAMPA HAS MURIATIC ACID FOR ONLY $4.99 AN IT WORKED FINE
Cons: it sucked
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid

product worked good

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
acid was very strong cleaned the dry mortar residue that was left on my bricks. also extracted gold from plastic cpu motherboards after about three days of soaking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from Arlington, VA 22204, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent cleaning solvent for horrific toilet!

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Old disgusting toilet showed no sign of being able to be cleaned. A little of this plus some elbow grease did the trick. Its diluted enough that you don't feel like you are going to burn the skin off your hand if you accidentally touch it, but strong enough to do the job. Highly recommend it for porcelain (just be careful it doesn't eat away too much of your toilet's wax seal!)
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid

Save your $$$

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got this product to etch and clean my driveway........not worth it at all this product is sooooooo weak and diluted, I think this product is mostly water. It took the whole gallon to clean small area.
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from Barnwell, SC 29812, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

JUST WHAT I NEEDED

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THE ACID WAS JUST WHAT I NEEDED FOR MY POOL. WE ARE NOW ON THE WAY TO A PERFECT SUMMER.
Pros: High Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>