728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Thinner, Solvents & Cleaners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1 gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid

1 gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid

Klean-Strip Green are products that are better for the environment. They are quality products but have a reduced impact on the world in which we live. Klean-Strip Green Safer Muriatic Acid has 90% lower fumes than standard muriatic acid. Its also safer to use and store.
Overall rating:
3.825 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product31 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(22)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(8)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product31 of 39reviews
Customer questions and answers:
23 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer reviews for 1 gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
Review 1 for 1 gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

acid is acid.. but the concentration is the difference

PostedJuly 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Acid is acid but if you're looking at the reviews, chances are you're like me and are wondering how strong it really is. Nowhere on the label of this product does it list the percentage of acid, which is odd. I did some digging around and found an old label of the same product that had the information.. and judging by how much it took to lower the Ph in the pool.. it's accurate. This product is 20% hydrochloric acid, which is 13 degrees baume. Standard muriatic acid for about the same price is 31.45% and 20 degrees baume. So it comes down to preference in strength. It's lighter concentration for those like me who get a bit freaked out working with strong acid near the pool.. especially if you've ever been hit with the fumes of regular acid.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1 gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from Detroit, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good and safe, but weaker acid than the strong stuff

PostedJuly 15, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
When I picked this up at the store, I assumed this was 30% muriatic acid. It is not. This would be fine if you are diluting it, but I had previously used some 20% acid and found it too weak to do what I needed it to do (pool cleaning prior to paint). Nowhere on the container does it list the concentration. I had to come here to find out after I noticed it was not doing the job I expected. This is great if it will work for you because the fumes of standard muriatic acid require a respirator designed for acid. You probably still need one for this stuff but it doesn't generate fumes nearly as much.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1 gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from Raleigh
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Pool

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We like to pick this stuff up for our pool when we're low and delivery will take too long from the pool supplier. It's pretty good quality for the price and gets the job done. Not as strong as the muriatic acid we get from the pool supplier thhough.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1 gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from Easton, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Alloy rim cleaner

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a 1999 Miata and I hadn't been able to clean the stock alloy rims with a variety of cleaners and methods. I diluted the muriatic acid with water and (with rubber gloves and eye protection and outdoors) just wiped it on repeatedly and it started taking off the discoloration almost immediately. The picture shows a cleaned section at the bottom. This was after they had been cleaned with soap and water. I used baking soda in water to neutralize the acid and rinsed thoroughly with water.
Pros: High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1 gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from Hampton Twp,pa

Countertop

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
The countertop was great ,but installation leaves a lot to be desired, they damaged our cabinet and instalantio should have been a lot better, attitude of installer leaved alt to be desired.i heard they have since switched installers
Pros: Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-28points
0out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1 gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from cupertino, ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works excellent to remove construction mortar/cement stains

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is my first review on Home Depot web site because I cannot agree with other reviewer's rating. As a home owner, I have done DIY projects such as building retaining wall and using 6x8x16 concrete block to build stairs. I have found that after these DIY constructions, my patio is left with grey mortar/cement stains. The bricks become grey. Regular cleaners cannot clean it. Last night, I tried this safer acid, Followed the dilution instruction, sprayed the diluted over the bricks. Waited few minutes and light brushed and rinsed off. After the surface is dry, the grey is gone and the original brick color is back!!!
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1 gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from Honolulu, HI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great stuff for cleaning concrete and tile

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Needed to clean a locker room floor that was a concrete pad in the locker room and tile in the bathroom area. We had a professional come and clean it with a machine and it still looked bad. This professional told us that it will never get cleaner!
I got the muriatic acid and scrubbed the tile floors and tile walls. It was spotless and shiny after I scrub it down with the product. Be careful as it is very toxic and corrosive! After cleaning, I put a gloss coat on the tile floor. That Professional was amazed!
Pros: cleans very well
Cons: be careful
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1 gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from American Fork, UT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very weak acid.

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It doesn't say anywhere on the container what the actual acid content % is. Which would be helpful. if you just looking for a concrete cleaner. This would probably work. But for PCB etching... It to weak. The Other Blue Competitor, carries the high concentration Muriatic acid that works much better. Just frustrated it didn't list the concentration % on the bottle.
Pros: Easy to Use
+22points
25out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1 gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid

Hydrochloric Acid

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product work very well!!! Doing what the label claims should be an absolute priority!!!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1 gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I've tried everything

PostedJuly 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm a weekend warrior at best, when it comes to projects around the home, I recently constructed a flower bed wall with brick and mortar. I realize how important it is to be careful when using mortar to clean up as your going along, mortar by nature leaves a residue(film) that is difficult to get off. I had tried different products with little results, I tried the Green Safer Muriatic Acid, the product gave me "the knock down punch" needed to clean it up.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1 gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Pretty good product

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Product is safer to use because of less fumes. Container is easy to open and does not splash when opened.
Pros: Easy to Use, low fumes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1 gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid

Did what I needed it to do

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this to get some very major hard-water buildup off an old toilet. It took a few doses, but worked extremely well. Better than any cleaning product I tried, and with far less fumes.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1 gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Far too diltue

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I buy hydrochloric acid (AKA "muriatic acid") to etch copper from printed circuit boards. I had hoped that this product would be the usual 10M (~31%) concentration of HCl, but it is very dilute. The MSDS quotes a concentration of "<25%." This puts the concentration at somewhere around 7.5M. While it does work, it is much slower than if it were of a proper concentration. I wish companies would stop trying to sell us "safer" products that do not work as well.
+69points
76out of 83found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1 gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid

Toilet Savior

PostedJuly 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked great on removing the deposit's in my toilet I was at my wits end when I heard about this couldn't figure out why my toilet wouldn't flush what a life savior lol
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1 gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

THIS IS BETTER THAN I EXPECTED

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was very surprise how well this product works.very easy to appley cleans very well clean up is very easy i definitely get this product again
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1 gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from Georgetown, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54

It is not safer...It's weaker.

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is more expensive than traditional muriatic acid and it is weaker than the muriatic acid sold by leading pool supply houses, Gallon to Gallon comparison makes other standard full-strength muriatic acid about 1/3 less in price. Given the additional dilution (less than 25% per MSDS) for this "Greener"...ahem...weaker version it would cost me about double to use this product over the long-time standard typical (31.45% HCL) Muriatic acid.
Home Depot Buyers: Please do a better job.
Cons: does not list concentration of hcl, weaker and more expensive than traditional acid.
+53points
62out of 71found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1 gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from Vermont
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

cleaned up 40 year old stonework around fireplace. didn't hurt me or surrounding decor

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was recommended to use muriatic acid to clean off 40 years of soot and dirt from stonework in my house (around the fireplace). I was VERY worried about the idea of using acid, both in terms of hurting myself and damaging the house. I bought this because it looked reasonably safe. I took regular precautions (wore regular rubber gloves) and probably ended up dripping some on myself because a lot of the time I was working with my arms extended above me, so it ran down. The result was I didn't get hurt, and it did clean the stone up nicely. Not sure how much of that was the scrubbing action and how much was the acid (ie how clean would it have been if I'd just used water), but I felt like I was only going to do this job once, so may as well buy and use the proper stuff.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1 gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from Tupelo, MS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is TOO Diluted!!!

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to use in my pool to lower the ph - I thought I was buying the usual strength muriatic acid I have always used...This is NOT it. It is "green" and "safer" as a result be prepared to just buy more. I went to the other national chain store that starts with a "L" and got the normal strength I have bought in the past. This stuff is useless....
Cons: too diluted
+20points
26out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1 gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid

Easy prep for garage floor

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Mixed to specs on the bottle and this stuff prepped the garage floor great for paint.
Pros: Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1 gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
from Arlington, VA 22204, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent cleaning solvent for horrific toilet!

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Old disgusting toilet showed no sign of being able to be cleaned. A little of this plus some elbow grease did the trick. Its diluted enough that you don't feel like you are going to burn the skin off your hand if you accidentally touch it, but strong enough to do the job. Highly recommend it for porcelain (just be careful it doesn't eat away too much of your toilet's wax seal!)
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
1 2 >>