728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Removers & Thinners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid

1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid

Klean-StripGreen , the products that are better for the environment. klean-Stripgreen solvents are effective high quality products but have a reduced impact on the world in which we live. Klean-StripGreen safer muriatic acid has 90% lower fumes than standard muriatic acid and is safer to use and store.
Overall rating:
3.316 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
61%of customersrecommend this product11 of 18reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(7)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
61%of customersrecommend this product11 of 18reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
Review 1 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
lken
from cupertino, ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works excellent to remove construction mortar/cement stains

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my first review on Home Depot web site because I cannot agree with other reviewer's rating. As a home owner, I have done DIY projects such as building retaining wall and using 6x8x16 concrete block to build stairs. I have found that after these DIY constructions, my patio is left with grey mortar/cement stains. The bricks become grey. Regular cleaners cannot clean it. Last night, I tried this safer acid, Followed the dilution instruction, sprayed the diluted over the bricks. Waited few minutes and light brushed and rinsed off. After the surface is dry, the grey is gone and the original brick color is back!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
stickin2j

Did what I needed it to do

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this to get some very major hard-water buildup off an old toilet. It took a few doses, but worked extremely well. Better than any cleaning product I tried, and with far less fumes.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
Dan2
from Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Muriatic acid

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a product that should be used carefully. Always be clear what you are doing and in what order. Always have all safety equipment. I have seen people be casual with this chemical and not wear proper gear or precautions. Usually they get away with it but that just encourages them to be stupid next time too, and it catches up with them. Sometimes I have been there with a ready garden hose. I haven't seen anyone get a burn on their face or eyes and I hope I never do. That said, this particular acid comes in a bottle that didn't drip or leak. It is not as yellow as some which could mean it has fewer impurities, not that is good or bad. While those features don't sound like high praise, maybe they are. That is about all a manufacturer can do to keep you safe and for the product to perform. The rest is all up to the user. If you are not experienced, do this with an experienced person. Never work with acids alone. There should be someone as a buddy to rescue you if something goes wrong.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
Justin
from Oregon
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Waste of money

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This stuff is sooo weak! Do yourself a favor and go down to your local pool supply store and get the real stuff. It will cost less per gallon and be much stronger acid.
Cons: expensive, weak
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
Dedub

As advertised

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product does exactly what it is designed to do. I cleaned oil off of my driveway with it. Results were good.
Pros: chemical smell reduced
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
Chris
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Far too diltue

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I buy hydrochloric acid (AKA "muriatic acid") to etch copper from printed circuit boards. I had hoped that this product would be the usual 10M (~31%) concentration of HCl, but it is very dilute. The MSDS quotes a concentration of "<25%." This puts the concentration at somewhere around 7.5M. While it does work, it is much slower than if it were of a proper concentration. I wish companies would stop trying to sell us "safer" products that do not work as well.
+48points
52out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
BubbaSanta
from Georgetown, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54

It is not safer...It's weaker.

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is more expensive than traditional muriatic acid and it is weaker than the muriatic acid sold by leading pool supply houses, Gallon to Gallon comparison makes other standard full-strength muriatic acid about 1/3 less in price. Given the additional dilution (less than 25% per MSDS) for this "Greener"...ahem...weaker version it would cost me about double to use this product over the long-time standard typical (31.45% HCL) Muriatic acid.
Home Depot Buyers: Please do a better job.
Cons: does not list concentration of hcl, weaker and more expensive than traditional acid.
+35points
42out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
poolmom
from Tupelo, MS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is TOO Diluted!!!

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to use in my pool to lower the ph - I thought I was buying the usual strength muriatic acid I have always used...This is NOT it. It is "green" and "safer" as a result be prepared to just buy more. I went to the other national chain store that starts with a "L" and got the normal strength I have bought in the past. This stuff is useless....
Cons: too diluted
+9points
14out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
MikefromWebster
from Webster, NY 14580, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best "Green" Product I have used

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product performed as expected and had much less smell than standard muriatic acid. I would not hesitate to buy the product again. I was surprised/pleased, because my experience with the "green" (reformulated) paint thinner is that it is useless.
Pros: Easy to Use, low smell
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
KATHY
from Barnwell, SC 29812, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

JUST WHAT I NEEDED

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THE ACID WAS JUST WHAT I NEEDED FOR MY POOL. WE ARE NOW ON THE WAY TO A PERFECT SUMMER.
Pros: High Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
ChemistryDoc
from Lehigh Valley, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It appears to be 20%, not 32%, use a little more.

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Based on the MSDS sheet for this product, the acid has a density of 9.09 pounds/gallon. This equals to about 20% HCl, or 13 Baume. The other "fuming" HCl that is sold is labelled as 20 Baume, which is 32%. So you need to multiply the amount you used to use for the 32% HCl by 1.6 to add the correct amount of acid compared to the more common 20 Baume acid. It works fine in pools, without gassing yourself if the wind changes while mixing.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: contents not labelled well
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
GOGATORS24
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EMPIRE PAINT HAS THE GOOD STUFF

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
THIS STUFF IS SAFER BEACUSE IT IS MOSTLY WATER EMPIRE PAINT ON 7TH AVE IN TAMPA HAS MURIATIC ACID FOR ONLY $4.99 AN IT WORKED FINE
Cons: it sucked
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
johnny18350
from Lincoln, NE, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bought this product for my spa

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed the acid to balance my spa and pool acid is unavailable this time of year. This product does the same thing and has a good price.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, reasonable price
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
chris
from Arlington, VA 22204, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent cleaning solvent for horrific toilet!

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Old disgusting toilet showed no sign of being able to be cleaned. A little of this plus some elbow grease did the trick. Its diluted enough that you don't feel like you are going to burn the skin off your hand if you accidentally touch it, but strong enough to do the job. Highly recommend it for porcelain (just be careful it doesn't eat away too much of your toilet's wax seal!)
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
JFrank1

Save your $$$

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got this product to etch and clean my driveway........not worth it at all this product is sooooooo weak and diluted, I think this product is mostly water. It took the whole gallon to clean small area.
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
dkrockymtn
from Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pathetic

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I didn't need any where close to full strength, but this stuff was still totally worthless. No apparent acid content, zero power. Zero reaction with water. Put a drop on my hand. Nothing. 3.2 beer has more kick. Seriously, don't waste your money or time.
Pros: won't kill plants?
Cons: a bit expensive for non potable water.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
Lucky

The product does what it is supposed to do, disolve morter.

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I found that the delution ratio was to high to have the product be effective. I needed to add less water to get the morter to disintegrate. Product work great then.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
SEHale
from Newark, DE
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Used to clean pool salt cell chlorine generator

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My Mineral Springs salt cell chlorine generator was barely generating free chlorine. The owner's manual recommended cleaning with muriatic acid. I followed all of the safety instructions and cleaned the cell with this acid. Cell is working fine now.
Pros: High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-gal. Green Safer Muriatic Acid
geevo
from Stewartstown, PA 17363, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ordered on line, free shipping and was delivered to my door, how great is that!!!

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the vinyl fencing was delivered fast and shipping was free, and the product was just what i wanted and as it was displayed on line . this company is a-ok to deal with
-22points
0out of 22found this review helpful.