728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 22 in. Gas Walk Behind Wheeled Trimmer

22 in. Gas Walk Behind Wheeled Trimmer

Speeding you through all trimming applications this model features a 22 in. Steel Head cutting width with a 15-degree pivoting head that makes it easier to trim in those hard to reach or over grown areas. The larger wheels make maneuvering around a breeze. The Ariens Walk Behind Wheeled Trimmer provides you a easier, faster and more reliable way to put the finishing touch on a beautifully manicured landscape. 14 gauge stAmped steel deck provides long life and superior cutting performance.
Overall rating:
4.585 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product40 of 41reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(26)
4
(13)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Features 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product40 of 41reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for 22 in. Gas Walk Behind Wheeled Trimmer
Review 1 for 22 in. Gas Walk Behind Wheeled Trimmer
from Riesel, TX 76682, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Better than my old DR

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had an old walk behind trimmer that I wanted to replace. After reviewing all units I settled on the Ariens. I was surprised when the unit came with a more powerful engine than was advertised being 8 ft-lbs instead of 7 ft-lbs of torque. Starting the trimmer was quite easy as it does not require priming. The trimmer had no difficulty with the waist high field grass that had grown in recent rains and did not tangle or bog down. The pivoting head allows the trimmer to cut against my foundation without the wheels contacting the house. This was not available on other trimmers at The Home Depot. I do have two complaints. One is that, at the full pivot to the left, the air cleaner shroud contacts the wheel. The other is that, in the heavy grass, rubber discharge guide was weighed down and became tattered along the edge where it contacted the trimmer line. Overall I have been pleased with the purchase.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 22 in. Gas Walk Behind Wheeled Trimmer
from Olympia Wa
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great machine at a good price

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned two other walk behind weed trimmers. Both were different brands, both well known. Each lasted about 7 years. I have now completed about 8 hrs of work over a three day period and can honestly say, for the price, you can not beat this machine. It does everything the others did at a lesser price. I really have no complaints other than the string.. Dry string is subject to splitting and breaking. After using the string that came with the machine, I used my own. I store my string in a bucket of water when not in use. It stays much more pliable and doesn't split or break as often.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 22 in. Gas Walk Behind Wheeled Trimmer
from Federal Way, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over

Great product so far

PostedMay 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought an Ariens 22" walk behind about two months ago and while I can not yet speak to the longevity of the machine I was very impressed with the quality of the product. The machine is very easy to start, has the muscle to get the job done and I am using it on 3' high grass. I feel that this machine is competitive in price and offers great value.
Only problem I see with this machine is that I notice that at the end of the operation there seems to be a lot of grass chaff on the top of the engine where the cooling air intake screen is located (near pull start handle) which I believe could limit cooling air to the engine. I built a kinda pre filter utilizing the three screws in same location to mount the pre filter but have not used it to date but should work fine and the filter material is very pours and offers no air restriction. Is this modification necessary? Only time will tell. LC
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 22 in. Gas Walk Behind Wheeled Trimmer
from Brewer, ME, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great machine!

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing keeps on running. Easy to use on ground that has few roots to roll over, otherwise, small bumps or rocks OK. I am using it to clear my property of 12 to 24" high weeds so I can pick up the rocks before using my riding mower.
Uses very little gas.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 22 in. Gas Walk Behind Wheeled Trimmer
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High Quality...does the job very well!

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a vacation cabin in the mountains with a private gravel road leading to it. The weeds and grass on both sides of the road grow extremely high and thick over time. I decided to buy a walk-behind trimmer thinking that would probably be the best way to maintain the sides of the road due to all the rocks and uneven ground. After doing a little online investigation and reading reviews I decided to buy the Ariens 22 in. Gas Walk Behind Wheeled Trimmer online from Home Depot since they seemed to have the best price.
Once it arrived at the store, I immediately picked it up. I decided to put it together and get it running before taking it up to my place in the mountains just to make sure everything was OK. So, I lifted it out of the box, flipped the handle up, tightened the hand wing-nuts securing the handle and then added the oil and fuel. It really took almost no time at all to put it together and ready to go. Since it doesn't have a fuel primer ball that I could find, I simply moved the throttle to full as the instruction indicated and pulled the starter. To my amazement it started with the very first pull...that was impressive!
After everything checked out, I loaded the trimmer into my SUV which fit easily due to the collapsible handle. Once I got it to my place in the mountains, I flipped and secured the handle, started it up and got to work. I found that it cut through the very thick weeds/grass and briers with no trouble at all which were well over 6 feet high in some places. I was also able to cut along a fairly long steep embankment although it did take some muscle at times to push or pull it up the steep areas. If they made a self-propelled model for just a bit more, I would have probably gotten one but the self-propelled models seemed to be almost double the price from what I found. I didn't bother buying pre-cut trimmer lines knowing I could simply buy the same type of trimmer line in a roll and cut it myself at 18 inches. I found that the trimmer line lasted much longer than I expected before it would break and had to replace it. Even when I did have to replace the line, it literally would only take about 30 seconds and was so easy to replace due to the great design.
The overall quality is excellent with a very solid steel housing. The handle design is excellent matching the natural position of your arms and hands. The rubber shroud to protect you from the thrown weeds and grass works well and is nicely designed.
I am very happy with this purchase and would not hesitate to purchase it again and/or recommend it to others. Actually, I already did recommend it to my Father who have a horse farm that requires lots of trimming along the fences. I think the pivoting head feature would be ideal for that type of job.
Great job Ariens!
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store
Cons: none
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 22 in. Gas Walk Behind Wheeled Trimmer
from Marble Falls, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Durable walk-behind trimmer

PostedMay 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I did a fair amount of research into various models of walk-behind trimmers offered by several retailers, both online and local before selecting this Ariens machine. I also waited for a few weeks to submit a review so that I would have some useful experience with the trimmer before writing a review. While it is more expensive than many of the alternatives in the market, I believe the quality and durability of this product is superior. The platform is a stronger gauge of steel, the cutting line thicker and longer-lasting, and the Kohler engine is plenty powerful and reliable. The cutting shield is bigger than the competition, leading to a better and safer user experience. The 3 year warranty is another sign of durability. I expect this trimmer will last for many years of hard use. NOTE: Home Depot apparently has an arrangement with the manufacturer for automatic warranty registration when the product is shipped, as when I tried to register the product with the manufacturer I was told it had already been registered.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 22 in. Gas Walk Behind Wheeled Trimmer
from Oysterville, WA 98641, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Powerful engine, easy start, heavy

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We replaced a 15 year old Sears trimmer. The Ariens is more powerful, easier to start and stop, and lived up to its billing - without using anything heavier than the plastic line the improved torque allowed me to cut heavier brush without the line breaking. The biggest issue is that with power comes weight. It is harder to maneuver and push up hills. If you are older or of slight build this might not be the model for you. Caveat - this after one week of use. I'd recommend to home depot to check back in one year later.
Pros: Cuts Well, Powerful
Cons: Too Heavy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 22 in. Gas Walk Behind Wheeled Trimmer
from Eagle, ID, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well! Easy to maneuver on level ground or going downhill; difficult at best uphill and unstable on side hills.

PostedMay 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Front cylinder will pull sideways when it goes over a larger rock. String easy to change. It is plenty powerful. Sure do wish it was self-propelled because it is difficult to push uphill.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful
Cons: Too Heavy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 22 in. Gas Walk Behind Wheeled Trimmer
from SE British Columbia

working great

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have used our trimmer for about 10 hours so far partly in some very heavy tall grass, go in slow, works fine.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 22 in. Gas Walk Behind Wheeled Trimmer
from Valley, NE, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

At one fifth the price, it's a beast!

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the Ariens because it came with the Koehler engine. None finer, it handles as expected, it will make you work on uneven terrain. Built to withstand the beating, just wish I was...
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Great Engine
Cons: screws on gaurd were set too deep in plastic.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 22 in. Gas Walk Behind Wheeled Trimmer
from Santa Barbara

Second one

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have an Ariens that is about 10 years old and it has been a real workhorse. The only failing part is the Tecumseh engine. The Kohler motor on the new model is a real improvement and I look forward to many years of use. I highly recommend the Ariens.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 22 in. Gas Walk Behind Wheeled Trimmer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great machine. It starts easily, runs well and trims everything.

PostedSeptember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I highly recommend this trimmer if you have a larger area to mow. It is light weight, adjustable, easily manuvered and does a great job. I went and rented the top name brand model before purchasing this one and I would never purchase the other terrible disaster of a machine. This one beats it in every way. Good machine.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 22 in. Gas Walk Behind Wheeled Trimmer
from NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ariens Walk-behind Trimmer

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
1. Product shipment: reasonable
2. Product features: ease of starting; easy height adjustment (though never changed mine); power: satisfactory; ease of trimming: reasonable; convenience and performance of 4-cycle engine; cutting nylon: satisfactory durability with easy nylon replacement.
3. Major difficulty: frequent entwining of tall grass and weeds onto axle. Carry a curved pick to pull off entangled weeds. Abundant cuttings get into cover, and cleaning requires removal of the cover (removal of holding nuts) with caution to not alter the pull cord assembly in this task.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store
Cons: entangled weeds very frequent requiring stoppage, cover needs easier removal to clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 22 in. Gas Walk Behind Wheeled Trimmer
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

must have

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you even think you could use this then i suggest buying this one. It is more than the other brands out there but i have to admit that i would take a kohler engine over a briggs and stratton any day. It starts with even the lightest pull and chews thru anything. I love this thing and wont hesitate to buy another when this one dies but I shouldnt need another for some time.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Great Engine
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 22 in. Gas Walk Behind Wheeled Trimmer
from Wisconsin
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Machine

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this trimmer to clear about 5000 sq. ft of brush to landscape our new commercial building. I opened the box and was very pleased to find the trimmer fully assembled. I reviewed the manual, added oil and gas, put on the safety glasses provided and went to work. I knocked down 5000 sq. feet of brush 4 ft high and did it in 30 minutes. Everything about this trimmer is impressive. Great American made product!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 22 in. Gas Walk Behind Wheeled Trimmer

Excellent Product

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The trimmer did an excellent job going through all my tall field grass and weeds. It did everything we expected. The only draw back I had, was that I wish it was self-propelled. Being a female, it was hard for me to push it up hill. My husband had no problem manuvering it though. We both are very satisified with the product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 22 in. Gas Walk Behind Wheeled Trimmer

Excellent product.

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Plenty of power. Easy to start. Very sturdy. Only improvement I would like to see on this unit....a self- propelled option.
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 22 in. Gas Walk Behind Wheeled Trimmer
from Glenmoore, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

high quality

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
high quality, good power, kohler engine,starts on the first try, quiet operation, heavy handling on slopes ... needs power assist
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
Cons: Too Heavy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 22 in. Gas Walk Behind Wheeled Trimmer
from Montana, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have only had it for a short time, it is very powerful. Great machine.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 22 in. Gas Walk Behind Wheeled Trimmer
from Missouri, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My wife nicknamed it "the beast".

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Chews through high and thick grass, weeds and brush up to about 1/2 inch. Nice power!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>