728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for RBF Series 1,000-Watt 120-Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome

RBF Series 1,000-Watt 120-Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome

The RBF101 is a compact bathroom heater that features a convenient on/off rocker switch control, and a fan-forced interior from our most popular heater The Com-Pak Plus. The heater is on until manually turned off. The mesh screen attached to the grill breaks up the flow of air, providing a more gentle heat distribution. It features a polished chrome grill to complement many bathroom hardware finishes. New installations require the model RBFC wall can.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product27 of 34reviews
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(11)
4
(16)
3
(5)
2
(3)
1
(0)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product27 of 34reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for RBF Series 1,000-Watt 120-Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
Review 1 for RBF Series 1,000-Watt 120-Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
from Los Angeles, California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A very good product

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is a very good product that works easily and very well.
It was easily installed
It does not make but a low unnoticeable noise
I am pleased with it
I have been using it since it was installed
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, gave value to my bathroom
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for RBF Series 1,000-Watt 120-Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
from San Francisco Bay Area, CA USA
Gender:Female

easy retrofit

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works exactly as hoped for. Simple retrofit because it fit the old box and the house wiring is grounded. Wish the Chrome cover was sturdier/heavier construction.. I can imagine that without care I could have easily bent this cover. This unit is only 1,000 watts compared to 40 year old Thermador 1500 watt unit this is replacing. It will be cheaper to operate and In my opinion, the quiet fan helps in warming the bath much faster than the original unit which was simply radiating heat without a circulating fan. I bought two bath replacements and both were well packed and received in perfect condition.
Pros: Easy to Install, Quiet, Light Weight
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for RBF Series 1,000-Watt 120-Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
from Tehachapi, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Electric wall heater for bathroom

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I recommend this bathroom wall heater only because you can apparently no longer get the older, better kind with radiant heating coils. This one has a fan that makes noise and blows the heat upwards, which our small dog does not appreciate since she liked lying in front of the old heater on cold winter mornings. The new one does put out heat and is certainly better than nothing, but it is disappointing compared to the more effective old one it replaced. I hope the old heater in our other bathroom lasts a long time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: less heat than old one, blows heat upwards, noisy fan
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for RBF Series 1,000-Watt 120-Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great replacement for Thermador

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this heater to replace an old Thermador in-wall unit. I was able to use the existing wall box, so installation was simple enough to do myself. I was very impressed with the quality of construction of this heater - it felt solid and sturdy.
So far I've used this heater for about a week. I have a tiny bathroom, about 5'x8', and it's easily able to heat that room up to nice and toasty within a minute or two. One point of consideration about the functionality of this heater - the fan seems to direct the hot air upwards instead of straight out. This worked out perfectly for me, since my old heater was located low on the wall, but it might be something you want to take into account if you're planning on installing it higher up.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RBF Series 1,000-Watt 120-Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
from New Mexico
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for retrofit applications

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I would recommend this heater for homeowners replacing an older (1950-1970) wall heater, especially because it is one of the only products available that fit older mounting boxes. If you are doing a new wall heater installation, you would probably be better off choosing one of the more-common 12" tall models that feature thermostats, timers, and other convenient controls. I used this heater to replace an exposed-element heater (not a Cadet model) originally installed in the early 50's. While it generally fit the mounting box and wall opening, I did have to add some new bolt holes and mounting tabs to the frame to match my particular wall box. The modification was not difficult, and was necessary because this is one of the only replacement models available for older boxes. The heater warms a small bathroom very quickly, and the forced air heat is much safer than the exposed element it replaced. The grill metal is a bit thin, but it should hold up well enough. Please note that this model only has a manual on-off switch, not an automatic thermostat or timer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for RBF Series 1,000-Watt 120-Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
from Albuquerque

Great Replacement

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had an old coiled Thermador in tiled bathroom, circa 1950. Worked but...not exactly safe for straying fingers or pet tails. This was the only unit which would fit the old space. Even could use the old can with just a few re-drilled holes. Saved tearing out the old and messing with the tile. Grill even looked the same. Looks nice, works fine, and is quiet. Just use it for heating up the bathroom when taking a bath/shower in the winter.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for RBF Series 1,000-Watt 120-Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
from Whittier, CA, USA

Product performs as advertised. The added metal bezel causes the face to protrud from a flush finish with wall

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The heater was an improvement over the radiant heat unit previously in place. The installation was straight forward and I was able to use the existing can.
What I missed on the published photos was the 5/8" thick metal bezel needed to allow the face plate to clear the interior blower housing. This bezel causes the faceplate to extend into the room with sharp corners. I wasn't planning on painting the bezel and it shoul have been chrome plated to match the faceplate.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: not a match to original
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for RBF Series 1,000-Watt 120-Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
from Long Beach, CA

Replacement Applications Only.

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought this wall unit to replace a 1950's Bauer wall heater. This RBF is meant to be retrofitted, so my electrician used the existing wall can. He was happy to discover this product as he didn't used to have a solution for other customers with old, disfunctional wall heaters.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for RBF Series 1,000-Watt 120-Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
from Los Angeles

New Model better than original

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just replaced an old electric heater and am very impressed with the updated model: The new one has a fan plus overload protection. I give it 5 stars
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for RBF Series 1,000-Watt 120-Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
Age Range:35 to 44

Clean and easy

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Not a bad deal for the buck.
I switched my old radiant style heater in my bathroom for this one. Heats just fine (if the door is closed) in the bathroom and looks nice too.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for RBF Series 1,000-Watt 120-Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome

Good fit for old heater it replaced. Easy for DIY install.

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The Cadet does not generate as much heat as the replaced heater. However, it seems a much safer design and is adequate for its purpose. It required about 90 minutes for me to remove the old heater and install the new.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Quiet, High Quality, Economical, safety of design
Cons: not as warm as the heater it replaced
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for RBF Series 1,000-Watt 120-Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
from Los Angeles, CA

Good Replacement for Thermador Wall Heater

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to install replacement for a Thermador wall heater. You need to purchase the flush mount wall can. Only took 5 minutes to install once the wall can was installed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for RBF Series 1,000-Watt 120-Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome

Replacement product has great upgrades

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The replacement heater has nice upgrades to the old original. The new design has a fan as a n added feature.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for RBF Series 1,000-Watt 120-Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome

Needs timer and or thermostat

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Looks good to cover the old hole in tile wall of original bathroom but since this is meant for quick warmup wouldn't it be nice to have a twist timer option where a wall switch is unavailable? I managed to cut the grill and mount a 15 minute timer right on the unit but....
Pros: Quiet, Stylish, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for RBF Series 1,000-Watt 120-Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome

See below

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The bathroom wall heater is bent and cannot be placed flush to the casement -- didn't want to bother returning and paying for another electrician appointment so will make do -- the heat is adequate, no more,
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for RBF Series 1,000-Watt 120-Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome

works great

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed a bathroom wall heater to replace an old Thermador heater. This was easy to install and fit in existing can. It looks great, and it didn't cost a fortune. Very happy with this purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for RBF Series 1,000-Watt 120-Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
from Red Springs, NC 28377, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product worked extremely well in the area.

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had to replace a wall heating unit in a rental property which had had the heating element itself removed. This was the prefect fit so we did not have to change to opening where is was to go. The only problem was that I could not find anywhere in the descriiption that you needed to also purchase the internal casing to hold the unit. Otherwise great product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for RBF Series 1,000-Watt 120-Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
from NorCal
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good enough, IF...

PostedApril 16, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Warning - this model does NOT include the "wall can" - the metal box that houses the heater! I wrote HD and HD replied: "We do apologize for the inconvenience of the RBF Series 12 in. x 19 in. 1,000-Watt 120 Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome. The Wall [can] does not come with the unit, it is sold separately. You would need to order the model number RBFC or part number 792."
We bought this hoping it would fit in an existing hole in the bathroom wall where a prior heater was taken out. Thank goodness it fits right in to the old/prior wall can, so I'm guessing the prior one was probably the same model Cadet heater. However, the screws (to secure the heater to the wall can) were too short and we had to go buy longer ones. In addition, the screws that were included to secure the face plate were pretty small/flimsy too. The faceplate itself is rather thin/flimsy. Overall, we were a little disappointed with the somewhat misleading marketing of this product as it doesn't clearly state that the wall can isn't included, the screws didn't work well, and the faceplate is rather flimsy. Nevertheless, given the lack of other good choices for the bathroom, I would probably buy it again.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for RBF Series 1,000-Watt 120-Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
from CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

forced air

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This heater does not put out the kind of heat I expected. When you get out of the shower the forced air feels cold instead of warm.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Light Weight
Cons: air not warm enough
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for RBF Series 1,000-Watt 120-Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
from BALDWIN PARK,CA

GLAD I BOUGHT IT

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
HAD OLD COIL TYPE THAT DIDN'T WORK SO I NEEDED TO REPLACE IT-FOUND THIS MODEL ONLINE AND DECIDED TO PURCHASE-DIDN'T LIKE THAT IT WAS AVAILABLE ONLINE ONLY BUT BOUGHT IT ANYWAYS-FOUND ITEM JUST WHAT I WANTED TO REPLACE OLD HEATER-LOVE THAT IT WORKS WITH A FAN BUT SCARED ABOUT LEAVING IT ON DUE TO HOW QUIET IT RUNS (THATS GOOD) GIVES OUT A FAIR AMOUNT OF HEAT AND MY MIRROR NO LONGER FOGS UP AFTER TAKING A HOT SHOWER (THATS ALSO GOOD) E-Z TO INSTALL AS REPLACEMENT OF OLD THERMADOR WALL HEATER AND LOOKS GREAT COMPARED TO OLD ONE-IF YOU PLAN TO INSTALL NEW YOU WILL NEED A WALL CAN THAT IS NOT INCLUDED WITH HEATER-I SHOULD HAVE BOUGHT LONG AGO (LIKE BEFORE WINTER TIME) BUT WAS LAZY-I'M VERY PLEASED WITH MY PURCHASE AND WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 >>