728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wall Heaters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for RBF Series 12 in. x 19 in. 1,000-Watt 120 Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome

RBF Series 12 in. x 19 in. 1,000-Watt 120 Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome

The RBF101 is a compact bathroom heater that features a convenient on/off rocker switch control, and a fan-forced interior from our most popular heater The Com-Pak Plus. The heater is on until manually turned off. The mesh screen attached to the grill breaks up the flow of air, providing a more gentle heat distribution. It features a polished chrome grill to complement many bathroom hardware finishes. New installations require the model RBFC wall can.
Overall rating:
3.969 / 5
4
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product24 of 31reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(14)
3
(5)
2
(3)
1
(0)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product24 of 31reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for RBF Series 12 in. x 19 in. 1,000-Watt 120 Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
Review 1 for RBF Series 12 in. x 19 in. 1,000-Watt 120 Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
from San Francisco Bay Area, CA USA
Gender:Female

easy retrofit

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works exactly as hoped for. Simple retrofit because it fit the old box and the house wiring is grounded. Wish the Chrome cover was sturdier/heavier construction.. I can imagine that without care I could have easily bent this cover. This unit is only 1,000 watts compared to 40 year old Thermador 1500 watt unit this is replacing. It will be cheaper to operate and In my opinion, the quiet fan helps in warming the bath much faster than the original unit which was simply radiating heat without a circulating fan. I bought two bath replacements and both were well packed and received in perfect condition.
Pros: Easy to Install, Quiet, Light Weight
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for RBF Series 12 in. x 19 in. 1,000-Watt 120 Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great replacement for Thermador

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this heater to replace an old Thermador in-wall unit. I was able to use the existing wall box, so installation was simple enough to do myself. I was very impressed with the quality of construction of this heater - it felt solid and sturdy.
So far I've used this heater for about a week. I have a tiny bathroom, about 5'x8', and it's easily able to heat that room up to nice and toasty within a minute or two. One point of consideration about the functionality of this heater - the fan seems to direct the hot air upwards instead of straight out. This worked out perfectly for me, since my old heater was located low on the wall, but it might be something you want to take into account if you're planning on installing it higher up.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for RBF Series 12 in. x 19 in. 1,000-Watt 120 Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
Age Range:35 to 44

Clean and easy

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not a bad deal for the buck.
I switched my old radiant style heater in my bathroom for this one. Heats just fine (if the door is closed) in the bathroom and looks nice too.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for RBF Series 12 in. x 19 in. 1,000-Watt 120 Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
from Albuquerque

Great Replacement

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had an old coiled Thermador in tiled bathroom, circa 1950. Worked but...not exactly safe for straying fingers or pet tails. This was the only unit which would fit the old space. Even could use the old can with just a few re-drilled holes. Saved tearing out the old and messing with the tile. Grill even looked the same. Looks nice, works fine, and is quiet. Just use it for heating up the bathroom when taking a bath/shower in the winter.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RBF Series 12 in. x 19 in. 1,000-Watt 120 Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
from Montclair, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good replacement for original.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
House had the original bathroom wall heater from 1952. Took a little modification to the wall bracket but is a perfect fit and a much better unit.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for RBF Series 12 in. x 19 in. 1,000-Watt 120 Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
from Whittier, CA, USA

Product performs as advertised. The added metal bezel causes the face to protrud from a flush finish with wall

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The heater was an improvement over the radiant heat unit previously in place. The installation was straight forward and I was able to use the existing can.
What I missed on the published photos was the 5/8" thick metal bezel needed to allow the face plate to clear the interior blower housing. This bezel causes the faceplate to extend into the room with sharp corners. I wasn't planning on painting the bezel and it shoul have been chrome plated to match the faceplate.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: not a match to original
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for RBF Series 12 in. x 19 in. 1,000-Watt 120 Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

a weak fan

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the blower is weak. The shipment is too long due to lack of inventary.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: slow air fan
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for RBF Series 12 in. x 19 in. 1,000-Watt 120 Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
from Long Beach, CA

Replacement Applications Only.

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this wall unit to replace a 1950's Bauer wall heater. This RBF is meant to be retrofitted, so my electrician used the existing wall can. He was happy to discover this product as he didn't used to have a solution for other customers with old, disfunctional wall heaters.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for RBF Series 12 in. x 19 in. 1,000-Watt 120 Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
from Los Angeles

New Model better than original

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just replaced an old electric heater and am very impressed with the updated model: The new one has a fan plus overload protection. I give it 5 stars
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for RBF Series 12 in. x 19 in. 1,000-Watt 120 Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome

Good fit for old heater it replaced. Easy for DIY install.

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Cadet does not generate as much heat as the replaced heater. However, it seems a much safer design and is adequate for its purpose. It required about 90 minutes for me to remove the old heater and install the new.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Quiet, High Quality, Economical, safety of design
Cons: not as warm as the heater it replaced
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for RBF Series 12 in. x 19 in. 1,000-Watt 120 Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome

Replacement product has great upgrades

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The replacement heater has nice upgrades to the old original. The new design has a fan as a n added feature.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for RBF Series 12 in. x 19 in. 1,000-Watt 120 Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome

BATHROOM IN-WALL HEATER

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
THE FAN SHOULD BE POSITIONED SO THE AIR IS FORCE DOWN INSTEAD OF UP AS THE HEATED AIR RAISES IMMEDIATELY & THE BOTTOM HALF OF THE ROOM IS COOL. TO WARM THE BATHROOM COMPLETELY YOU HAVE TO CLOSE THE DOOR & LET IT RUN FOR AWHILE....
Pros: Easy to Use, fan is quiet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for RBF Series 12 in. x 19 in. 1,000-Watt 120 Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
from Los Angeles, CA

Good Replacement for Thermador Wall Heater

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install replacement for a Thermador wall heater. You need to purchase the flush mount wall can. Only took 5 minutes to install once the wall can was installed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for RBF Series 12 in. x 19 in. 1,000-Watt 120 Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
from Texas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This heater is slower to heat the bathroom than the radiant heater it replaced.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The heater did not come with steel backing box and i had to drill three holes to adapt it to the old box. The mounting screws were to short to account for the dry wall. The finish screw holes were too large for a tight fit. The heater blows upward toward the ceiling increasing the time it takes to heat the room.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for RBF Series 12 in. x 19 in. 1,000-Watt 120 Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
from Paicines, CA 95043, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

does not put out a lot of heat

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
purchased to replace a bathroom heater that did not have a fan. the new heater did not put out as much heat as the old one without a fan at least the can did not have to be changed. overall works ok just not much heat compared to old heater same wattage.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: does not put out much heat
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for RBF Series 12 in. x 19 in. 1,000-Watt 120 Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome

Needs timer and or thermostat

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Looks good to cover the old hole in tile wall of original bathroom but since this is meant for quick warmup wouldn't it be nice to have a twist timer option where a wall switch is unavailable? I managed to cut the grill and mount a 15 minute timer right on the unit but....
Pros: Quiet, Stylish, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for RBF Series 12 in. x 19 in. 1,000-Watt 120 Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome

nice upgrade to replace old heaters in baths

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fit nicely in existing wall can. The holes in the new heater were a bit too small to line up with the existing holes in wall can. Had to bore them out a bit so they would fit. other than that they were fairly easy to install. Heats up nicely and fan is pretty quiet.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for RBF Series 12 in. x 19 in. 1,000-Watt 120 Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome

works great

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a bathroom wall heater to replace an old Thermador heater. This was easy to install and fit in existing can. It looks great, and it didn't cost a fortune. Very happy with this purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for RBF Series 12 in. x 19 in. 1,000-Watt 120 Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
from CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

forced air

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This heater does not put out the kind of heat I expected. When you get out of the shower the forced air feels cold instead of warm.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Light Weight
Cons: air not warm enough
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for RBF Series 12 in. x 19 in. 1,000-Watt 120 Volt Electric Fan-Forced In-Wall Bath Heater Chrome
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

super easy install

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
retro fit an old thermador can it fit perfect.couldnt be any better
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>