728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop AV Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Futura HDTV Outdoor Antenna

Futura HDTV Outdoor Antenna

Do you stream videos through a PC, game console or other device? When you add an HD antenna, you get free local TV as well! Enjoy exceptional digital reception with the GE Futura Antenna. This versatile antenna can be installed indoors or outdoors. There is a fully adjustable mounting bracket included for maximum utility. Perfect for use with digital TVs, the antenna provides crystal-clear digital reception. It is also UHF/VHF capable. This product comes with a limited-lifetime warranty.
Overall rating:
3.394 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
61%of customersrecommend this product19 of 31reviews
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(6)
3
(2)
2
(5)
1
(7)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
61%of customersrecommend this product19 of 31reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer reviews for Futura HDTV Outdoor Antenna
Review 1 for Futura HDTV Outdoor Antenna
from San Jose California

Easy to install, exceeding expectations, and saves me $80 per month

PostedAugust 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was tired of paying almost $80 per month for satellite and I didn't want to spend my time trying to get a better deal.
I decided on a three pronged approach. Get an antenna, get a Google TV appliance, and get a Tivo. I have the first two and I am trying to find a Tivon Premiere on Craigslist with the lifetime subscription. I have seen them for $300.
About the antenna: The unit is small and I was able to use cable ties to secure it to my old satellite bracket. I attached the cable and aimed it at San Francisco, or at least in the general direction. When I had the TV search for channels it found 85 digital and 3 analog.
I live about 200 feet up the east San Jose Hills and have a fairly clear view of the valley and hoped for 5 channels. The picture quality is better than satellite and I am writing this on my Logitech Revue.
Repeat after me... I don't need cable or satellite!
+38points
38out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Futura HDTV Outdoor Antenna

Inconsistent reception

PostedMay 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The picture quality is good for the channels that it picks up. The problem is that one of the major networks does not "connect" at all, even though it is transmitted from the same tower as the other channels. It may be related to my installation,since my neighbor does not have this problem with this antenna..
Pros: Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from By Tech SupportMay 30, 2014By Tech SupportMay 30, 2014
Texasber, thank you for taking the time to write a review for this antenna. It could be a problem with the way your house is constructed (your walls might be thicker, metal studs versus wood studs, material that the exterior walls are made of thickness of the roof the type of roofing material.) as you can see there are a bunch of variables that go into whether you receive a channel or not. Another problem might be that for some reason the signal for that channel was ether too high or too low when the channel scan was ran so the TV didn’t see it and if you don’t run the channel scan again the TV will never see it. Hope this information helps. Jasco Products Tech Suport(Manufacturer)
phone number: 1-800-654-8483 option 1GETechSupport
Review 3 for Futura HDTV Outdoor Antenna
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Satisfied for now

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was easy to hook up. Chinese to English instructions amusing. Install was easy, reception was excellent. Even picked up CBS from twenty eight miles away. Had one of these prior that went bad after year and a half...not water proof, water resistent. If I could install in attic this would last longer.
Pros: Powerful, Clear Picture Clarity, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: weather proof would be better than weather resist
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Futura HDTV Outdoor Antenna
from Rockton, IL, USA

Good reception

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install and pulls in signal from 40 mi away at 10 ft above ground. It improved my reception by 70 out of 100 from an indoor powered antenna to 86 out of 100 on those distant stations. Be sure to align the antenna properly for the best reception - tilting it towards the signal source may help.
Pros: Powerful, Clear Picture Clarity, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Futura HDTV Outdoor Antenna
from Orange, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing difference

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this antenna a couple of weeks ago after looking at options. Mainly I started here because I knew that if I hooked it up and it wasn't good, it could go right back.
I couldn't find anything on how to aim the antenna - and it IS directional so I literally claped it onto a 6' ladder on my back porch and started turning it a little bit at a time to see what happened.
Right away I went from 5 channels to 12. After a bit more "tuning" - and somewhat dependent on weather I am up to about 25 channels - and it's still attached to the ladder!
I plan to attach it to the house this weekend (at about 16') and will update you all.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Futura HDTV Outdoor Antenna
from Northeast Ohio

FINALLY FUZZ FREE TV!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedJune 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was leary of purchasing based on most reviews on here, but glad we took the plunge. We got about 5 channels and not always clearly, we tried so many indoor antenna's that did not change the amount of channels we received or the quality. My husband put this outdoor antenna on the peek of the roof. Installation was simple, took him about 5 minutes(helped we used the exisiting cable wire from when we use to have cable) he did have to buy a little extra cable wire. Well we went from 5 channels to 40 and they are crystal clear!!! So happy, no cable for us ever again!!! This antenna is sooo worth the investment!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Futura HDTV Outdoor Antenna
from Orfordville, WI 53576, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GEFutura HDTV Outdoor Antenna

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent antenna! Very easy to install and conceal in the attic. Booster helped with all 6 TVs installed in the new house to get local channels from 50 + mile radius.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Futura HDTV Outdoor Antenna
from Foxborough, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product. Just set-up. Received 33 channels!

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just received this product to possibly replace cable. I am in Foxboro, MA. I set this up outdoors on pole on second story porch (about 18 feet above ground). Receiving 33 channels(including HD) out of the Boston and Providence area. Will probably drop cable.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Futura HDTV Outdoor Antenna
from Parker, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Misses the mark

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this antenna based on the positive reviews. Here is what I found:
1. It is very easy to install and setup.
2. It does a fair job of receiving signals.
3. It is very directional sensitive.
4. My home made antenna, made from instructions on the internet, pulls in more than double the stations.
Who should buy this? Anyone who lives within 15 miles of the transmission towers and wants and easy to install antenna for digital over the air TV.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: not that powerful
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Futura HDTV Outdoor Antenna
from Hartland, NY 14067, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is very simple and easy to install.

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this antenna with the intent to install it in my attic. I was plesently surprised when, after insalling it, I went from receiving 11 channels to receiving 21 channels. I am in a rural area where I am between 50 - 60 miles from a few of the transmitters that I am now receiving crystal clear, that I never received before..
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Futura HDTV Outdoor Antenna

this product outshines all others

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
love this antenna, have 2 of them on oak tree in front yard, they both work GREAT!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Futura HDTV Outdoor Antenna

Works Well

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does everything it is supposed to and hides well on the roof
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Futura HDTV Outdoor Antenna
from Uxbridge, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Surprisingly Good!

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm no fan of GE, but I decided to take a chance on this antenna. I live 48 miles from Boston and 24 from Providence RI. I'm also in the valley and not up in the hills. I had an HD antenna before, but could only pick up two Spanish stations.
This time I tested it by taping it to a painting pole out of a second floor window. I was able to pick up about 18 channels, so the next weekend, I mounted it to the side of the roof.
Keep in mind that I used Cable-TV quality coaxial cable. Don't use cheap cable and expect the amp to make up the difference. Once I had the cable mounted to the house and the line ran to the TV, I began programming channels and now I have 22 total, both from Boston and Providence.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Futura HDTV Outdoor Antenna
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

SAVE YOUR MONEY !!!

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Yet another GE Product manufactured in China....
This item picks up the same number of channels at the same strength whether the signal booster is plugged in or not. Further, this antenna seems to behave as if it were HIGHLY directional and not OMNI directional. I'm 6 miles in an almost straight line from the transmitters and I have to re-point the antenna in order to get one channel. This unit is better than nothing, but I am disappointed in its performance in relation to its cost, and the fact that it is made in China by a company that doesn't pay US corporate taxes....
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Futura HDTV Outdoor Antenna
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great as an outdoor antenna

PostedMay 27, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I live in Central Florida. This little antenna picks up over 70 channels, both Tampa and Orlando. I wouldn't recommend using it as an indoor antenna, definitely mount it outdoors somewhere up high. Don't forget to install the included point of use amplifier, otherwise you won't get much of a signal. Instructions weren't good, but pretty simple install. Would like to know where to purchase additional amplifiers though.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Futura HDTV Outdoor Antenna
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Has potential

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Antenna was easy to setup and pulled in lots of stations. However, unit failed after one day. I believe the problem was with the dc powered connector. Home Depot accepted the return without problem, but I'm reluctant to try another.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Futura HDTV Outdoor Antenna
from Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Was not Impressed

PostedJanuary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mounted in attic and got 4 channels from this antenna. The indoor model on the TV got much better reception and 13 channels. Took back to store.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Futura HDTV Outdoor Antenna
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A+ product

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was a little bit skeptical about the product from some of the reviews but took the dive anyway. First hooked it up indoors, got about 14 channels in AMAZING quality. I know there were more in my area so I went back to plan B which was mounting in on the roof. I now get 30 some channels from this tiny little antenna and couldn't be happier.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Futura HDTV Outdoor Antenna
from Howell Michigan
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Would not buy again

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The antenna was not as good as the one I already had and if I new where my receipt was I might take it back. It works but is currently of no value to me. I have it packed back in the box it came in. The little cheaper indoor antenna I already had is better.
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Futura HDTV Outdoor Antenna
from Santa Ana, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Costs less than 15 days of cable TV!!

PostedJune 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After my parents cancelled their cable and showed me the HD quality they were receiving OTA, I started looking into doing the same as my house is closer to the broadcast towers (about 34 miles compared to their 48 miles). My parents spent $300 on a deluxe (and large) antenna, and I was ready to spend and do the same in order to stop paying for cable. I happened to be shopping at Home Depot and saw this little antenna and figured I'd give it a try knowing I could return it if it didn't work.
Well, it's been a month and we don't miss cable at all. The antenna was easy to install and blends in with the roof shingles. It's small size is a major plus as I didn't want to have to look at an antenna, that would be like going backwards technology-wise. Satellite TV was never an option for us because of that very reason.
With this unobtrusive antenna, reception is excellent (100% signal) on every station but two of the over 100 we get in Orange County CA. Of course, their are many foreign stations that we don't watch, but that's no different than with our cable lineup before. Except now we're not paying for something we're not watching!
AND...the picture quality is WAY better with this antenna than it was with the HD upgrade package we had to pay for with cable.
This is a great way to stop wasting money! Thanks Mom & Dad for the great idea!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>