728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Dehumidifiers or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Home>

Customer reviews for 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Built-in Pump-DISCONTINUED

50 Pint Dehumidifier with Built-in Pump-DISCONTINUED

Winix DHD501 Dehumidifier with Built-In Pump removes up to 50 pints of moisture from the air per day. Then, if you choose, have it automatically empty the bucket when it becomes full so you don’t have to remember. The innovative built-in pump provides set-and-forget operation. Microban anti-microbial protection inhibits the growth of odor-causing bacteria in your dehumidifier bucket. Winix dehumidifiers also offer quiet operation, are Energy Star Qualified and AHAM Certified.
Overall rating:
4.326 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product36 of 41reviews
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(24)
4
(14)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product36 of 41reviews
Customer reviews for 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Built-in Pump-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Built-in Pump-DISCONTINUED
from Indiana

Great product!

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have only positive things to say about this dehumidifier. Our old one froze up on us after many years during a terrible time of flooding. This dehumidifier has been so great! It's worked so hard to correct our levels of humidity, dried up all the excess water off the basement floor, and made our musty house smell clean and pure again!
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Built-in Pump-DISCONTINUED
from Atlanta, GA

Set it and forget it

PostedJune 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you are looking for the perfect dehumidifier look no further. This is it. We love it since we can set it and forget it you'll never have to empty the water bucket. We use the auto drain feature and love it. The dehumidifier automatically adjusts the percent humidity. We have it in our basement and it's great.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Built-in Pump-DISCONTINUED
from New Jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worked great and did the job!

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My mother in law had 8" of water in her basement due to sump pump not operating due to power outage due to hurricane Irene. I did not know she had a sump pump. Anyway, electric came on, unclogged sump pump, water drained. Moisture galore. Bought Winix Dehumidifier based on other reviews. In two days the basement was dry as a bone, odor free.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Built-in Pump-DISCONTINUED

well made and works well

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
too early to tell about energy use, since I don't have a current electric bill. Having the pump is a plus, no need to empty the thing every week.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Built-in Pump-DISCONTINUED
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

PRODUCT WAS EVERYTHING AS ADVERTISED.

PostedSeptember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
AFTER GOING TO SEVERAL BUSINESSES THAT SELL DEHUMIDIFIERS I WENT ONLINE TO FIND EXACTLY WHAT I WANTED. HOME DEPOT HAD THE BEST PRICE ON THIS PARTICULAR ITEM AND FREE SHIPPING. I RECEIVED IT 3 DAYS SOONER THAN I EXPECTED. IT HAS BEEN RUNNING FOR SEVERAL WEEKS NOW AND HAS NOT GIVEN ANY PROBLEM AT ALL.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Built-in Pump-DISCONTINUED

A little loud but works well

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this unit because it had a pump so I wouldn't have to empty the bucket. It has made a huge difference in the comfort level of our house, and works as advertised.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Built-in Pump-DISCONTINUED
from collingswood, nj

works ok

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works fine so far a little noisy, but seems to running ok.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Built-in Pump-DISCONTINUED
from norwich ct

happy with no new mold

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The 50 pint dehumifier easy to use on automatic comfort level, My choice would have been the larger unit 70 pint, but was not available.Almost continuious running, but the basement is free of new mold. I am concidering a second unit for summer, and warm weather needs to keep basement free of any new mold.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Built-in Pump-DISCONTINUED

The pump is perfect! Set it and forget it.

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product moves a lot of air. Fan is a bit loud (rushing air) but it gets the job done. The pump is perfect!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Built-in Pump-DISCONTINUED

Until I got this review link I forgot I had it!

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No fuss no muss. Best dehumidifier I ever had. The self pumping is a game changer. Well done whomever designed that!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Built-in Pump-DISCONTINUED
from Auburn, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

winix 50 pint dehumidifier

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found the product and the promptness of service excellent!! This is by far the best dehumidifier I have ever owned, and I have had many...it`s quieter, really automatic with the pump, no worry oy emptying, and has been performing very well..I highly reccommend this product!!
PS auburn, NY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Built-in Pump-DISCONTINUED

Very Nice

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was very easy to set up and the pump is great. Recommend it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Built-in Pump-DISCONTINUED
from Kalispell, Mt 59901, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Loud, hardly removed any water, and...

PostedMay 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a defective humidity gauge on another brand, and thought I'd give this a try in my finished/insulated/damp basement (61f, 65% humidity)?-
-It was Loud, and I could hear it all over the upstairs.
- It ran 24/7 at 50% setting, and Only removed 1qt in 3 days (after 1hr startup wait, and 24hr Continuous).
-Bucket was in the back (hard to grip/remove), and No view port (so I never knew how full, unless powered off/removed).
I went back to my old brand, and working good-
it removes a bucket a day, is fairly quiet, and a front view port.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Built-in Pump-DISCONTINUED
from Westchester County, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good.

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Prior reviews warn correctly that this dehumidifier is noisy. This does not bother me since it is in a basement. I was mainly interested in the pump feature to get the water to a sop sink since I have no flooor drain. Bottomline, both the dehumidifier and the associated pump seem to work very well. Note that Consumer Reports did a review on dehumidifiers in the current issue which I received just after ordering this product. I was surprised that no Winix Models were covered in that report.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Built-in Pump-DISCONTINUED
from Lancaster, NH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent unit that really sucks the moisture out!

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The set up was simple. The pump feature is why we purchased this unit. We have it drain right into out washing machine in our finished basement.
The tray to empty the water (when not using the pump) is a little tricky to remove and put back, but you just need a little patience and it works fine.
The noise level is less than two of our former dehumidifiers and not bad at all.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Powerful, Good Size & Fit, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Built-in Pump-DISCONTINUED
from St Paul, MN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Get's the wet out of the air

PostedApril 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Put the Winix DHD501 to work in our damp basement on the 50% humidity setting and it ran 4 days on high to get the humidity down. Once it got the humidity down it runs once in a while. It is a little on the loud side, but it really is a hard worker, will have to see how it holds up over the years. The bucket is a little awkward to remove, but I got it for the pumping feature, so it is a non issue to me. So far I like it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Built-in Pump-DISCONTINUED
from BEVERLY NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

appears to be excellent quality

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am more than pleased. I have it hooked up to drain directly into the utility tub in the basement so I never have to empty anything. I would have liked to use the water in the washer or to water plants but the hose can't sit in water or it will back-fill. So there goes my conservation thoughts. At any rate, so far so good. Well made and it just looks like a sturdy, dependable machine. My musty basement smells CLEAN.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Built-in Pump-DISCONTINUED
from Parkville, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

absolutely thrilled with the performance of this dehumidifier!

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I shopped for this online and read the reviews for all dehumidifiers offered. I did see some complaints about the noise but honestly, it just sounds like a fan running. Not obnoxious at all. It was delivered and in 5 minutes it was running. The hardest part was getting it out of the box. I am using the pump option - there are several ways to make sure this unit empties the way you need.. another great feature. When using the pump option make sure the drain line is secure because there is some force behind it and it did blow out of the sink. In one day the basement had no more musty smell what so ever. There is not one drop leaking from the unit as I did see comments on other brands that seemed to be an issue. It has wheels and I have rolled it around the place to get it out of the way during renovation. Just thrilled that I picked a good one and having it arrive on my front porch earlier than expected ... all the better.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Built-in Pump-DISCONTINUED

Great de humidifier

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product. Fast shipping, it plugs in any where and is really quite. The hose for the automatic drain pump is plenty long to get to a sink, or a window. Cycles on and off properly and hold the humidity at exactly where you want it. Been using it for a few months non stop and its perfect!!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 50 Pint Dehumidifier with Built-in Pump-DISCONTINUED
from Rio Grande Valley, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very quiet unit

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this in a three car insulated garage in hot and humid Texas. It allows me to only use the air conditioning when comfort is needed, but keeps the humidity under control for tools and equipment. What a difference it has made. The pump works great allowing me to empty into a laundry style drain. Just make sure bucket is properly seated or pump will not work and you'll be scratching your head for a while until you figure it out. I'm very pleased with this product, something I don't say often anymore.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>