728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Multi-Position Ladders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 ft. Aluminum Select Step Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type 1A Duty Rating

8 ft. Aluminum Select Step Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type 1A Duty Rating

Never feel nervous on a stepladder again. No matter how you set it up, the patent-pending Select Step provides a comfortable standing platform that offers heel-to-toe foot support at the top recommended step. And the AirDeck workstation with handrail (see product images) makes standing at the top of the Select Step feel as good as standing on solid ground. The heavy duty rated (Type IA - 300 lbs.) yet lightweight Select Step 5-8 is a 5, 6, 7, and 8-foot stepladder all in one; and because both sides telescope independently, you can use it safely on stairs and uneven surfaces. Hanging pictures or changing that impossible light bulb above the stairwell will never be easier.
Overall rating:
4.933 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product15 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product15 of 15reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for 8 ft. Aluminum Select Step Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type 1A Duty Rating
Review 1 for 8 ft. Aluminum Select Step Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type 1A Duty Rating
from La, USA

Giant Step for Homeowners!

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Being a homeowner for over 30 years, you experience the challenges that high ceilings, uneven surfaces and furnishings create when your task is several feet out of your reach. My wife and I previous home equipment fixes were the use of 4’, 6’ and 8’ conventional stepladders for each particular job. From outside gutter cleanings and soffit repairs to inside high ceiling lighting repairs, AC register work, home decoration installations and painting crown molding, it seemed I always picked either too short or too tall a ladder for each task. The problems that arose with these different tools were overall cost, storage difficulties, lack of stability, transporting (8’) and potential abuse. Now, we’ve found a Great Solution that fixes my entire multiple ladder needs without the multiple hassles.
The Little Giant’s new Select Step lightweight aluminum adjustable stepladder system has cured many of our homeowner climbing needs:
*The solid built-in platform “No-Pinch” - “Select Step” spreader system maintains a 2-rung stance from the top throughout its full range of height settings. The heavy duty solid step spreader is easy and quick to operate and provides the open ladder a very solid feel and stance. Safety rules, manufacture procedures, attached guideline labels and industry regulations all state that standing on the top cap or lower 1st rung of a step ladder is an extreme safety issue that can cause imbalance and instability, resulting in severe injuries and fatalities from falls. By offering a rock solid, full standing platform at the safest recommended standing height (2nd rung from the top or 2’ short of the rated ladder height) we’ve found the LG Select Step System Is a Huge Ergonomic Improvement that contributes Greatly to your Personal Safety and Comfort! This will help ensure each user a “successful task completion” Without becoming part of the 200,00+ accident statistics recorded annually with homeowner and commercial ladder uses (abuses)!
*With easy and quick settings (“Rock Locks” on front & “Quick Adjust Handle” on back), we can effectively create a 5’ (3’ standing with 9’ reach) to an 8’ (6’ standing with 12’ reach) stepladder that becomes the perfect height every time. The independent front back adjustments allow us to safely set up right against a wall and get close to our work, or set up on stairs and maintain level access to the job at hand. Within the full range of extension, we found the Select Step equally solid and secure!
*With a wide leg stance on the ladder’s front side (27”) and wide footings on the rear leg side, the Select Step is Very Stable at all heights. When I reached out 12”-18” with any of my previous stepladders, I felt uneasy due to wobble and shake. The Select Step allows us to perform the same task with much greater balance and confidence!
*The useful and handy “Air Deck” platform is an accessory feature that you should consider. We find it not only convenient and workable as an organizational platform for tools and supplies, but more importantly as a solid and stable ergonomic support structure that assist in maintaining our balance and stability while at the safe working height of the Select Step.
*The deep and solid welded rungs (1.75” to 4”) of the Select Step also provide solid footing and comfortable stability while climbing or working. In combination with these and the spreader platform, we found any feeling of height uneasiness is quickly cured!
*With the installed “Tip & Glide” 3” wheels, maneuverability was never easier. However at 26 lbs and only a 5ft height, my wife and I can easily carry the Select Step to wherever the job is located, inside or out!
We can now tackle all of our home project needs anywhere for a comfortable overall 12’ vertical reach! In my opinion, these features are not marketing gimmicks, but real world functions that solidify the Select Step System as a giant improvement in home climbing safety and convenience!
Little Giant has accomplished these goals through innovation and functional design creativity. The Select Step model isn’t just light, solid and a great valve, but also provides me the security and peace of mind with an Extra Heavy Duty Class 1A OSHA\ANSI Rating and a Lifetime Warranty! The Little Giant Select Step Is the Best home climbing system we’ve ever experienced!!
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 ft. Aluminum Select Step Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type 1A Duty Rating
from UT

Best ladder I have ever tried

PostedApril 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't care much for ladders, but I love this one. My wife - even my 10 year old - use it and find it easy and intuitive. When I'm up on the Select Step, I feel like I'm on solid ground.
The other day, I used it to adjust a light on the ceiling and I felt quite at ease and not nervous like you usually are on a ladder several feet in the air - plus it's nice to have something to hold onto up there with the pop-up hand rail. It can also pop out to become a tray to put stuff on like a paint can or for tools and whatnot. Pretty cool.
I like the full platform step, but I wish you could have it wherever you were at. Very nice to roll instead of carry or drag everywhere. I like the twist adjuster on the back much better than the side locks on the front. I pinched a finger my first time using it, so it's not totally idiot proof :)
Well worth the price even if it is a bit more than the standard fold out types. Great that it extends and collapses down. That makes a huge difference - much easier to store.
Great ladder. My first Little Giant. Love it!
+12points
22out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 ft. Aluminum Select Step Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type 1A Duty Rating

Makes my work so much easier!

PostedJune 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Only used this ladder for a few days now, but I must say, this is the best ladder I have ever owned! I needed a ladder that I could use on stairs, so I thought I would give this ladder a try. It works great on the stairs, but it’s so much more than that. I have mostly been using it to patch, scrape and paint our bedroom. The platform and handrail make it really easy to work up on the ceiling and high areas on the walls. Lots of holes, and a slot in the “AirDeck” tray, and also the top cap, make it easy to use several tools without having to climb up and down the ladder. When I pulled old nails out, I just dropped them in the magnetic tray so they don’t fall on the floor. Also found the adjustment to a 90 degree ladder is really helpful when working up against the wall.
The ladder is well built, and easy to move around. It’s made my work so much easier!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 ft. Aluminum Select Step Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type 1A Duty Rating
from Buffalo, NY

Best Ladder Going

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As a Field Technician, I have had to carry multiple ladders on top of my truck for ever. This ladder folds down to the point where I can simply place it in the back of my vehicle and go. For the homeowner, it takes minimal space and has more than enough places to wall hang it. I love the simple easy to use design and the features that this ladder comes with. The locking hinge is a plate of aluminum, which makes it the perfect place to stand for long times on the ladder, The rock locks are easy to use and solid. The adjustable tray with the magnetic inset is outstanding. And the wheels, which I first thought was kind of cheesy, come in handy when you have a 40 pound tool bag on one arm and some paperwork in the other. Looking forward to years of service from this ladder.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 ft. Aluminum Select Step Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type 1A Duty Rating
from Crystal River, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great features and versatility

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Rugged, sturdy and compact. Replaces my step stool and 5 thru 8' ladders and safer to use because of the air deck. Glad I made this choice.
Glenn
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 ft. Aluminum Select Step Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type 1A Duty Rating
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Solid and versatile

PostedApril 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For years I attempted to do household chores from a standard lightweight step ladder. The Little Giant has greater extension to reach areas that I had to stretch before. Also, the Little Giant has greater flexibility with its option to extend each side independently - great for trimming tall bushes with uneven ground (I could never find a way to provide stable footing for my standard step ladder). Heavier for greater stability, although also heavier to transport - still worth the trade-off. I also love the removable handle/shelf that provides a high handle at the top - again, great for added stability.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 ft. Aluminum Select Step Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type 1A Duty Rating
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent ladder with unique features, but a little difficult to handle.

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For years I have had two step ladders I turned to every day on the job, a six footer and an eight footer. The eight foot ladder was destroyed when another truck sideswiped my truck, so I opted for the Little Giant 5' to 8' ladder as a replacement for both. As often happens when you try to combine or compromise, you end up with the best and some of the worst of each. In this case, I do have a ladder that is only five feet tall and fits inside my truck very well. Once on the job, it "telescopes" to 8 feet with little effort. The most difficult thing I've found is getting it from the truck to the jobsite. At 26 pounds, it's a bit heavy and it has no easy way to hold it on my shoulder like a conventional ladder. The ladder does sport a pair of wheels, which makes it possible to roll it across smooth surfaces relatively easily. All of the work features make up for the difficulty in transporting, however, so on a scale of 1 to 5 this ladder rates a 4.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 ft. Aluminum Select Step Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type 1A Duty Rating
from Fernley, NV, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

love this ladder

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really have a fear of ladders on this one i feel safe and can get most of the way up to do things, the work tray gives me something to hold on to when i'm up so i feel safe and it is not tippy feeling great ladder
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8 ft. Aluminum Select Step Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type 1A Duty Rating
from Bluemont, VA

Ladder is comfortable to stand on for long periods of time.

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I very happy with the ladder. It is stable and comfortable to stand on for long periods of time. It is heavier than I thought it would be and a bit difficult to use in small spaces.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8 ft. Aluminum Select Step Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type 1A Duty Rating
from Bloomsburg PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Not as light as expected

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This ladder is fantastic, except for the weight. I was thinking of the weight of my fiberglas ladder. Had to carry up to 5th floor. The ladder is very safe and sturdy and I like the part that you hold on to when at the top of the ladder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8 ft. Aluminum Select Step Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type 1A Duty Rating
from Strongsville, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Fantastic ladder

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this ladder to replace several old ones because I was painting several rooms with high ceilings. Love the stability and the reach with this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8 ft. Aluminum Select Step Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type 1A Duty Rating
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

very good all in one.

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Like it and use it a lot. Very helpful. Feels safe. All in all a good product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8 ft. Aluminum Select Step Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type 1A Duty Rating

the ladder is easy to use

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was glad to find the unlocking features were easy to use. It takes the place of several ladders I had.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 8 ft. Aluminum Select Step Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type 1A Duty Rating
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Outstanding Product

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well and elegantly engineered to answer the needs of the DIY guy. Extremely thoughtfully designed and rugged. Coultn't be happier with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 8 ft. Aluminum Select Step Multi-Position Ladder with 300 lb. Load Capacity Type 1A Duty Rating
from Milford, DE, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great ladder, easy to use.

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice ladder, easy to adjust height. Stable base, works well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.