728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Denim Insulation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll

16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll

The UltraTouch Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll provides insulating performance for many around the house uses. This insulation is manufactured from recycled denim, combing high performance with a focus on using safe and healthy materials.
Overall rating:
4.448 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product26 of 27reviews
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(8)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product26 of 27reviews
Customer reviews for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll
Review 1 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll

Just what we wanted!

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We needed a small amount of insulation for a project. We liked the idea of using a product made of recycled jeans - it seems like good stewardship, plus it was nice to avoid the itchiness of fiberglass. It was just what we wanted and expected that it would be. We're very happy with our purchase!
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
Cons: a little difficult to cut
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll
from Richmond, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Just a dyi project

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm using 4 of these to build a removable sound dampening insert for my bedroom window, right above the street, but most of all, in very close proximity to train tracks supporting freight that runs at night. These are safe to work with, glue easily with foam glue and have no smells or toxicity. Definitely these are great for sound insulation as well as protection from the weather. This window is old, single pane and not well insulated, so my winters should be warmer as well as my nights quieter! Thank you Home Depot!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll
from Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Denim Insulation

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this as insulation to block out some road noise in my car. I pulled out the interior panels and lined my trunk with it. Not that it was loud to begin with but I could definitely tell that it was quieter. It was a much cheaper option than Dynomat, yet it still did what I needed it to do. The product was easy to used, I simply cut into the shape I need with scissors and installed it. Good value, for what you get.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll

Great hassle-free insulation

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You do not have to wear any special gear to install this insulation. We have a baby and I did not have to worry about where I had it once it was delivered to our house. Absolutely no itching and no reaction. It was easy to tear with my hands when I needed to size it.
I do think that it needs to be available in stores, next to that pink stuff, so that people know there are great options like this.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll
from Dayton, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent for many purposes

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to upholster a headboard. It was great, and much more affordable than foam at this thickness. There was a bit of lint, but overall I am extremely pleased at the outcome. Also, I love that this product is so green! Reduce, REUSE, Recycle :)
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll

Good cost performance ratio

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this for acoustic treatment in recording studios. The cost is good, it performs well and its easy to work with. I also like the "green" aspect of using recycled materials.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll
from Winder Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Save yourself

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Save yourself some money. This product was easy to install (DON'T cut it till you have wrapped it around your water heater. I purchased this product to save electricity (or gas) during the winter months. My hot water heater is in the garage and it gets down right frigid during the winter. If I can save it from reheating the water just once a day - think of the savings. I had some help in installing this insulation but if I didn't than I might have screwed it up. We measured both the insulation and the water heater twice and it appeared that the product was about 2 inches to big but my helper suggested that I not cut it till we fitted it exactly. RIGHT DECISION otherwise it would have been 2 inches to short.
I also ordered the small 16 inch roll so I could make a top of insulation for the hot water heater as heat always rises. It hasn't been on long enough to see what the savings will be but my history says I will get about a 10-15% savings in the winter. More than enough to pay for itself in just two months. Pretty good rate of return.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Economical
Cons: deceptive on sizing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll
from MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Works as expected, No itch, easy to cut if needed

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used the first two without an issue. No itching, holds together better than the cellulose insulation I had been trying to use. The insulation value is good as well. Stopped the cold air leak around my outlets and around the window.
I am about to order more to finish off the basement the way I wanted to. I liked these rolls so much I'm looking into ordering their regular insulation as well (unfortunately I can't get this here... Hint Hint!)
Cuts about like the Cellulose (can be done with a knife), no itch, comfortable to work with. No mask needed, no dust, no little bits dropping off. Also noticed a surprising drop in sound transmitted through the window. I was surprised for how "thin" the material actually is.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Light Weight
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll
from nyc

clean, safe, great insulation

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works as advertised. I cut a few sections and used it to insulate around my window ac unit. Sections easily tore off and I used small pieces to fill the gaps. Great product, wasn't itchy and is environmentally safer than traditional insulation. Good sound and weather insulation.
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll
from Takoma Park, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

itch-free and easy to work with

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product works for me, because I am allergic to the pink stuff. I find it easy to use; however the one 16" x 48" piece roll is not enough to do anything more than very small areas. Glad to see you can now purchase individual rolls rather than a carton. Really would be nice to purchase locally. The shipping cost was more than the single roll!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll
from San Francisco
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great dishwasher insulator

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great for using as a noise insulator around dishwasher. Would get 5 stars if could compress more for tight spaces.
Pros: Easy to Use, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll
from Chicagoland, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Good product, wish it was stocked in store

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I am using this for acoustic dampening in pro audio speaker cabinets. It is great to work with (no itch). However, the price per roll is equal to that of shipping which makes it costly to order online (unless you need bulk). Next time I might get the 6-pack.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll

they should sell this in the stores and not just online

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love that it is easier to handle than the scratchy fiberglass.
I ordered it on the website and it was shipped free to the store.
If it was in the stores, more people would know about it and buy it.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll

Good stuff.

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to work with. Worked well to dampen noise and provide more insulation around windows. Also used it to fill the gap under drywall on top of slab to block noise and outside air. Will buy again for small projects.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll
from Newton, NH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great & no fuzzy fiberglass

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this insulating material to cover our electric, clothes dryer's semi-rigid vent tubing. Works great keeping the cold air out of the laundry room even during the sub-zero weather that we've been having. No mess, no itchy pink stuff.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll

Very small rolls.

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Nice and fluffy, but there's not as much as you think in each roll and once you consider the cost per package, it's really only good for very small projects.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll

Very Good Stuff

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this material on the recommendation of my coworker (he's an NVH engineer in the auto industry) as a sound deadener in my RV-- it works phenomenally well. The amount of noise that it absorbs is amazing, my vehicle went from annoyingly loud to Lexus quiet.
+16points
23out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Top quality product, flexible enough to use in small places!

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've ordered several products from Home Depot-on line, and am very much satisfied with all the products received and the packaging was superb! The Denim insulation is a fantastic product, earth friendly and no concerns about instillation as there is with fiberglass insulation. I highly recommend it for anyone who is looking for insulation to tuck into small areas!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll

Good sound reducer. Will buy again.

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a problem with noise between two rooms. I removed the drywall on one side, added a second set of studs & gap, to mechanically separate the walls, added this insulation, reinstalled the drywall, now noise level is greatly reduced.
Will buy more and do the same thing on another wall.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll

It's good to go green

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Nice product. Easy to use.
Cons: It's not 2" thick .the packaging compresses the product
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>