728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Heater Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket

48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket

The UltraTouch Denim Insulation Water Heater Blanket improves the energy efficiency of your hot water heater with R6.7 performance. Helps maintain constant temperature and keeps the heat inside your unit.
Overall rating:
4.107 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product50 of 54reviews
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(21)
4
(24)
3
(9)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product50 of 54reviews
Customer reviews for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
Review 1 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from New Hanover,NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Water heater

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It did not cover the entire heater,but,so far,the blanket is doing what has to be done in protecting.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from AZ, USA

MADE in USA! NO fiberglass!

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had to order this online. It should be sold in every Home Depot store because it is MADE in USA.
NO fiberglass. Reasonably priced. First time I ever did this and no special tools needed. Measure height and distance around your hot water heater. I cut blanket to size with a large household scissor. Used Gorilla type tape and the tape that came with the item. Read the instructions and online reviews for ideas about how to fit it to my size heater. Patched around the areas that should stay exposed on a gas hot water heater with the short side of the blanket and parts trimmed off the long side. You can do this, too. Save some energy and save American Jobs!
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: their tape was not as easy as a roll of tape
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

shorted

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two of these. Both measure 48in by 70 inches so both are short by 5 inches. Actually, one of the blankets s awkwardly cut and measures anywhere from 44 in to 48 inches wide. ad they been as long as advertised it would have fit just right around my watertank. Now I have to cut up second one to make a patch. The top is not covered so the second blanket will be cut again to make a fitting for the top as well. I have read that others as well have blankets with different dimensions than advertised? Are we being shorted? The material is fine, just prepare to purchase additional marterial at greater cost and expect to do some patchwork. Could have been great.
Pros: good material
Cons: not enough material not as advertised
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Richmond, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Heater Blankets

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used these blankets to insulate my 18 foot wide by 8 foot high garage door. It was easy to cut and install (using Liquid nails) and has made about 10 degree difference in the internal temp. My door faces West and would reach 103 degrees in the late PM and temps in the garage were uncomfortable. Now they run just over 92 but with the 6000 BTU air con I can maintain temps around 89 with lo humidity. attic insulation is next. Door is much quieter now.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+28points
30out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket

Great product!

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Being a widow I needed a W/H blanket that was easy for me to install by myself & that I would not have to worry about getting fiberglass insulation all over me. This product fit the bill perfectly!. Easy & clean!
Pros: Easy to Install, no fiberglass insulation
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Schuylkill Haven, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Work, good quality

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It really couldn't be easier to use. Just wrap it around and use the included super sticky tape. The job took about 2 minutes. It's nice quality and will keep your water heater cozy.
Pros: Easy to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Winder Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Add on Product with UltraTouch48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this to create a insulation top for my hot water heater since I was wrapping the heater with UltraTouch48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket. It did exactly what I needed it to do. Since heat rises I saw no sense in only wrapping the sides.
Pros: Easy to Install
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy Installation!

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This insulation blanket was very easy in "install". All the tape and everything you need is included. Very thick insulation that will keep your water heater snug as a bug during the winter months! Very satisfied!
Pros: Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My husband was very pleased that the product was easy to install and I love to denim color.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

easy to install

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Female diy'er. 40 gallon gas water heater, measured around then cut excess off the blanket. I had an extra roll of tape and used it. No problems so far.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Austin, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than fiberglass

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've had this for about a month now so I've yet to see if there's any savings on my gas bill. However, I have noticed that I can get hot water faster and I don't have to crank to the hottest setting to get hot water in the shower. While the R rating is lower than the fiberglass blankets, my water heater (although new) has a pathetic R rating so anything would be an improvement. So as it stands, I'm holding off on giving it 5 stars. If I see a difference in savings, I will come back to change.
So far I highly recommend. One thing I like a lot about this blanket is that it's not fiberglass. My water heater is inside of a small closet located in my garage (which is about 20 deg warmer than outside - so ~ 50 in the winter) and the fit is extremely tight. So I had to get up close and personal when wrapping the heater. It took me a good half hour because I had to work around tight spaces. Needless to say, I'm glad I didn't have to wear eye protection, a face mask and long sleeves and pants to wrap it up.
The blanket is very high quality - no excessive shedding and the reflective foil doesn't tear easily. Overall, a satisfied purchase.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket

Undecided

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I bought this product to make winter hats for my children. Now I can send them off to school with the hats only. I just made them hats since heat rises I felt there was no need to send them out wearing coats any longer.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks
-10points
4out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Pensacola, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Does The Job

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
There has been a significant reduction of heat leakge from the water heater. It is housed in a closet that used to get quite warm. This kit is the only one to buy if you do not want to spend a lot of time with itchy fiberglass. Expect to trim and cut and piece the right shape to do the job. Have extra foil tape on hand, you will need it. If you take your time it will work out well.
+29points
30out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Albuquerque
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Good Product

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The denim is much easier to install than the fiberglass blankets. I had to purchase 2 of these as one roll simply wouldn't fit my 80 gallon tamk. I had enough left over to cover the top of the tank. Highly reccommend purchassing a roll of Duct tape as the tape that comes pre-packaged is absolutely worthless. Also reccommend using a pair of sharp shears to trim with... The denim is very difficult to cut. My gas bills dropped 28% after installing.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Valdosta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I bought 2

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I taped the 2 along the 72" sides on my driveway. I then cut the 96" x 72" to 96" x 54". I wrapped the 40 gallon electric water heater around the previous vinyl and fiberglass blanket with about 8" to spare. I have 6" sticking up on top and will fill the space with the trimmings. The trick to wrapping the tank is to use 6" pieces of tape horizontally to bring the edges together, first at the top, then the middle and then the bottom. Two more in between and you are ready to tape the whole length. Buy a roll of aluminum tape if you have to, it is so easy that way.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, High Quality
+24points
27out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
Gender:Female

Keep it under wraps!

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very easy to install and no fiberglass! So much thicker than I thought it was going to be and a perfect fit for the hot water heater. Barely any cutting was necessary and for the areas that had to be open (i.e. valves, temperature adjustment, wiring) the thickness was not a hinderance. Too soon to tell if it really will make a difference in the hot water bill (gas heater) but so far so good.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Light Weight
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product but lenght is shorter than described

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
We used the blankets as insulating material for our wooden vaulted ceiling, it works great, it doesn't present health risk like fiberglass, (particles it can be breathed in or swallowed with long term health damages according to many studies), and it creates a good thermal barrier without being too thick and leaves my beautiful wooden beams in view. The problem is that the rolls are not 75 inches long. Most of the blankets we received (20) were 70-71 inches and a couple of them 69 inches long. That was very disappointing, but we needed to get the job done and we kept them and used them anyway. That's my only complaint, and as result I have to order more because the square footage I received is not what I had ordered based on the description.
+24points
27out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This is much better to work with than fiberglass. It gets a little dusty, but not like fiberglass dust. I love that it comes with the foil tape already in lengths. This made for an easy install. I didn't even need to cut it for my tank. It was fit to size.
Pros: Easy to Install
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Eugene, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Very nice material to work with.

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I dislike working with fiberglass. That's why I chose denim. MUCH easier, and doesn't produce the itchy's. The only fault I find is that the dimensions appear to be for the older style, more slender tanks. I had to cut and paste to get it to fit, and then couldn't cover the top. Otherwise, it's well made, and looks professional. I think it should be carried in the stores as well, to give us a choice from fiberglass, rather than waiting on delivery. Further, there is no option to ship to store.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Bucks County PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Easy to Work With

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I purchased this blanket to use as a noise absorber in my workshop. the bonded backing made it easy to mount on the wall. The cotton fibers are very easy to work with and do not embed themselves like fiberglass. Cuts well with razor. You will find a lot of cotton fibers that fall off the blanket but they sweep up easily.
Pros: Easy to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>