728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Heater Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket

48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket

The UltraTouch Denim Insulation Water Heater Blanket improves the energy efficiency of your hot water heater with R6.7 performance. Helps maintain constant temperature and keeps the heat inside your unit.
Overall rating:
4.043 / 5
4
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product41 of 44reviews
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(22)
3
(7)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product41 of 44reviews
Customer reviews for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
Review 1 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Richmond, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Heater Blankets

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used these blankets to insulate my 18 foot wide by 8 foot high garage door. It was easy to cut and install (using Liquid nails) and has made about 10 degree difference in the internal temp. My door faces West and would reach 103 degrees in the late PM and temps in the garage were uncomfortable. Now they run just over 92 but with the 6000 BTU air con I can maintain temps around 89 with lo humidity. attic insulation is next. Door is much quieter now.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

easy to install

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Female diy'er. 40 gallon gas water heater, measured around then cut excess off the blanket. I had an extra roll of tape and used it. No problems so far.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
Gender:Female

Keep it under wraps!

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very easy to install and no fiberglass! So much thicker than I thought it was going to be and a perfect fit for the hot water heater. Barely any cutting was necessary and for the areas that had to be open (i.e. valves, temperature adjustment, wiring) the thickness was not a hinderance. Too soon to tell if it really will make a difference in the hot water bill (gas heater) but so far so good.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Light Weight
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is much better to work with than fiberglass. It gets a little dusty, but not like fiberglass dust. I love that it comes with the foil tape already in lengths. This made for an easy install. I didn't even need to cut it for my tank. It was fit to size.
Pros: Easy to Install
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Pensacola, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Does The Job

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
There has been a significant reduction of heat leakge from the water heater. It is housed in a closet that used to get quite warm. This kit is the only one to buy if you do not want to spend a lot of time with itchy fiberglass. Expect to trim and cut and piece the right shape to do the job. Have extra foil tape on hand, you will need it. If you take your time it will work out well.
+28points
29out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Valdosta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I bought 2

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I taped the 2 along the 72" sides on my driveway. I then cut the 96" x 72" to 96" x 54". I wrapped the 40 gallon electric water heater around the previous vinyl and fiberglass blanket with about 8" to spare. I have 6" sticking up on top and will fill the space with the trimmings. The trick to wrapping the tank is to use 6" pieces of tape horizontally to bring the edges together, first at the top, then the middle and then the bottom. Two more in between and you are ready to tape the whole length. Buy a roll of aluminum tape if you have to, it is so easy that way.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, High Quality
+19points
22out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Albuquerque
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Good Product

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The denim is much easier to install than the fiberglass blankets. I had to purchase 2 of these as one roll simply wouldn't fit my 80 gallon tamk. I had enough left over to cover the top of the tank. Highly reccommend purchassing a roll of Duct tape as the tape that comes pre-packaged is absolutely worthless. Also reccommend using a pair of sharp shears to trim with... The denim is very difficult to cut. My gas bills dropped 28% after installing.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Maryland
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hopefully a good investment - TBD

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Seems to be a good product.
The blanket I received was not cut square and about 2 to 3 inches short. I.e., there was a gap when the blanket was wrapped around the hot water tank. I compensated by starting the wrap around on one side of the safety valve discharge pipe and ending the wrap on the other side. Still had a varying gap because the piece was not square. Squaring the piece would have resulted in a larger gap.
Used masking tape to temporarily hold the blanket in place while cutting and removing the backing on the enclosed metallic installation tape. Had some difficulties removing the backing - you will need fingernails to scrap loose a corner to begin removing the backing. The metallic tape also tended to curl as the backing was removed. It will curl and stick to itself very quickly. Start with just an inch or so of the tape uncovered and in place as you peel off the remaining backing and smooth it along its intended placement. Prepositioning the blanket with some easily removable tape will make the blanket installation less trying. The denim material is much less "dusty" and "cleaner" than some of the older blanketing materials I have seen and used. Not too bulky either.
No comments yet on the insulating efficiency of the blanket. During the summer months our only use of natural gas is the hot water heater - will be easy to compare usage with last year's consumption.
Overall just a Good rating for now.
Pros: cleaner material, not too bulky, installation not too difficult
Cons: blanket not long enough and not square, metallic installation tape is problematic
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket

Both Good and Bad

PostedMay 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
After looking at cheaper versions of water heater blankets, I decided on this product because it is made from denim instead of fiberglass, although the packaging still recommends you wear safety gear to install the blanket. Since I see that other reviews have mentioned this, I will reiterate the point that you need to measure your hot water heater before purchasing the blanket! When I went to install it, I found the blanket was made for a taller, skinnier hot water heater than what I have. After fitting leftover pieces together, all was okay. There is tape included with this product; unfortunately, there wasn't enough provided, and what was there, came off after about three weeks. Luckily, because there wasn't enough tape provided, I also used duct tape during the original instillation, which has kept the blanket on the water heater. Would I recommend this product? Probably, if for no other reason than it is a good alternative to conventional fiber glass blankets.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Boston, MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value, good function for smaller tanks

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in the northeast, and have a water heater in my basement where temps can get down into the 40s in the winter. I went to my local store looking for a quick fix to higher energy use but only found the R3.5 insulation competitor. Barring a ton of framing and insulation work on the basement to help, this was not going to do much to help energy usage, so I went online to look for better options and ran across this denim alternative. Given the free shipping to my local store, the price was a steal in comparison to the competitor and just as convenient after a few day wait. And while the competitor does have reflective metal coating on both sides and this does not, this is denim and does not require special handling, and one radiant heating barrier should be about as effective as two. So the real difference is in the near twice R value of the insulation.
When it came to installing the product, there were no issues for me. My tank is about 47 inches tall so the width was perfect for me and required no additional trimming, and the diameter of my tank allowed for no trimming as well with a few inches of overlap that I could have trimmed to be a perfect fit, but left on and wrapped over slightly to save time. As I have a gas water heater, I did have to trim out a few areas where the vents were located, and was able to use this to cover the top portion of the water heater with some additional trimming to fill the remaining circularish area(luckily the vent is offset to one side on my tank and thus I could put the insulation on top even though it is gas powered). I had no problems trimming the denim with a pair of scissors, and it held together well along cuts with few fibers separating when caught in the scissors, and thus did not need a surface for a utility knife to cut on. My only complaints on this product are that it does only barely fit a smaller tank such as mine, but for the price two could easily be combined for larger tanks, and my second complaint was that the included tape was not enough to seal all edges. Given the trimming for the gas heater vents I did use more tape than someone with an electric heater would require, and the top did not need to be taped all the way around due to the overlap with the sides, so not a big deal, and I can always pick some tape up at the store if I want to seal any potential cracks. If it weren't for these two things I would have given it a 5 star rating
After having installed the insulation I could already feel a difference under the top insulation in the temperature of the tank, so hopefully this easy home improvement project will pay for itself in short order, and start paying for my basement insulation project to come.....
Pros: Easy to Install, safer materials
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Mason, OH, USA

Easy to install

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install. I read the reviews, and the suggestion that you slowly peel off the backing on the aluminum tape was the trick. I did, however, have to buy more aluminum tape to finish the job. I also needed to purchase a 16" roll, as there wasn't enough to cover all of the tank. I was able to lower the temperature of the tank by 8 degrees and we still had enough hot water.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Bucks County PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Easy to Work With

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I purchased this blanket to use as a noise absorber in my workshop. the bonded backing made it easy to mount on the wall. The cotton fibers are very easy to work with and do not embed themselves like fiberglass. Cuts well with razor. You will find a lot of cotton fibers that fall off the blanket but they sweep up easily.
Pros: Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product but lenght is shorter than described

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
We used the blankets as insulating material for our wooden vaulted ceiling, it works great, it doesn't present health risk like fiberglass, (particles it can be breathed in or swallowed with long term health damages according to many studies), and it creates a good thermal barrier without being too thick and leaves my beautiful wooden beams in view. The problem is that the rolls are not 75 inches long. Most of the blankets we received (20) were 70-71 inches and a couple of them 69 inches long. That was very disappointing, but we needed to get the job done and we kept them and used them anyway. That's my only complaint, and as result I have to order more because the square footage I received is not what I had ordered based on the description.
+22points
25out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Yulee, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Accurate description

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The description was accurate It is just what I was expecting, plenty of tape to install the blanket. We will see how long it lasts. First impressions leads me to think it will be on my water heater until the water heater dies and it is brand new.
Pros: Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Tampa Bay, Florida

You're on your own...

PostedApril 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
... because there are no instructions or even suggestions with this item. Likewise, there is no "top" piece, which is where most of the heat escapes in an electric water heater.
The blanket is 48" tall, so it comes down not quite to the floor on most heaters; that's OK for insulation purposes, since not much heat escapes around the bottom of the heater-- but it sure does look unfinished with a raw edge that stops about 6" above the floor.
I wrapped the blanket around, overlapped it, then trimmed the excess (there was about 9" to spare in my case). I used the excesss to cut two semi-circular pieces to fit the top, placing the seam between the pieces where the two pipes enter and exit the tank at center top.
Speaking of trimming, your best bet will be to use a pair of heavy-duty scissors or shears. Cutting with a knife (even a sharp utility blade) won't cut it. The denim insulation is tough stuff!
After trimming the pieces, I then "pinned" the big piece around the tank with regular duct tape, then cut and placed the two top pieces. I then used a long piece of the metallic tape to seal the vertical seam. Then I cut some shorter peices of the metallic tape and wrapped them over the raw edge between the top pieces and the side wrap.
By the way, don't try to get by with only the furnished metallic duct tape; you'll need some pieces of regular duct tape to hold the blanket in place while you're trimming and and fitting it. Better yet, pick up a roll of the metallic tape at Home Depot; you'll be able to do a much neater job.
On the whole, I kinda wished I'd gone for the plastic-covered blanket, which usually does come with a top piece. But then, I would have had fiberglas insulation rather than the more skin-friendly denim insulation.
Finally, by the way, the detailed description is wrong; this item does have denim, not fiberglas, insulation.
Plan to spend about an hour from start to finish installing and trimming the blanket.
+45points
52out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from NH

Just a little better

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When we didn't use our shower after about 14 hrs the water would turn freezing cold after 5 minutes. Then we would have to wait another 5 min for the hearing element to kick in to heat up the water again. We got this hot water heating blanket and now if will get luke warm after 5 minutes so it has helped a bit but not as much as I would like.
Cons: Too Slow
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Eugene, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Very nice material to work with.

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I dislike working with fiberglass. That's why I chose denim. MUCH easier, and doesn't produce the itchy's. The only fault I find is that the dimensions appear to be for the older style, more slender tanks. I had to cut and paste to get it to fit, and then couldn't cover the top. Otherwise, it's well made, and looks professional. I think it should be carried in the stores as well, to give us a choice from fiberglass, rather than waiting on delivery. Further, there is no option to ship to store.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great product quality, but too small for water heater.

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I read the other reviews before purchasing, & I bought 2 of these kits. I intended to use the left over material to insulate my main HVAC duct running of the top of the furnace(it worked great for this). Back to the water heater... One blanket wasn't enough to cover the circumference of my water heater which is fairly large. It left about a 5 inch gap without trying to stretch & compress the material to make it fit. I had to cut a filler strip from the 2nd kit, & foil tape the seams. That being said, the installation is now proper & will do its job as intended, but required more than one kit. This should definitely be addressed by the manufacturer. The foil tape that comes with the kit is helpful, but i'd recommend buying a roll of foil tape, incase the blanket is too small.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket

good product, not cut to size advertised

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
love the fact it's recycled denim and no fiberglass. unfortunately it was much shorter than expected based on other reviews - 46 x 68 so had to use the left over few inches to add to covering height and was still a little short on that piece fitting around. so plan on it covering less than advertised. otherwise it's great.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Pensacola, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Recycle and Save Energy

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was recommended by Gulf Power and cost much less ordered from Home Depot than purchased from the Gulf Power website. We received the blanket quickly and it was in excellent condition. I like that it is made from recycled jeans and does not contain fiberglass. Installs easily and now saving money.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>