728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Heater Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket

48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket

The UltraTouch Denim Insulation Water Heater Blanket improves the energy efficiency of your hot water heater with R6.7 performance. Helps maintain constant temperature and keeps the heat inside your unit.
Overall rating:
4.206 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product57 of 61reviews
Rating Breakdown 63 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(28)
4
(24)
3
(9)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product57 of 61reviews
Customer reviews for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
Review 1 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from AZ, USA

MADE in USA! NO fiberglass!

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had to order this online. It should be sold in every Home Depot store because it is MADE in USA.
NO fiberglass. Reasonably priced. First time I ever did this and no special tools needed. Measure height and distance around your hot water heater. I cut blanket to size with a large household scissor. Used Gorilla type tape and the tape that came with the item. Read the instructions and online reviews for ideas about how to fit it to my size heater. Patched around the areas that should stay exposed on a gas hot water heater with the short side of the blanket and parts trimmed off the long side. You can do this, too. Save some energy and save American Jobs!
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: their tape was not as easy as a roll of tape
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from New Hanover,NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Water heater

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It did not cover the entire heater,but,so far,the blanket is doing what has to be done in protecting.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Colorado
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Choice and an Excellent Alternative to Fiberglass

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We wanted something "healthier" than the old fiberglass style of water heater blankets. The fact that these are basically made from jeans was a huge advantage. Like the company video says - you can pretty much wrap yourself up in it and use it as a blanket if you wanted to!
The installation was pretty straight forward, just take your time as it can get a little fiddly. There is plenty of silver tape in the package, and it has held really well from day one. The blankets fit great on our water heaters (we have a dual system)
Our water heaters are in an unfinished utility closet in the basement, so I also took the time to purchase three, 6 foot sections of foam insulation and wrap the pipes to/from the water heaters. In between the blankets and the pipe insulation, our utility bill dropped $20 over the next month!
I would definitely would recommend this to anyone!
Pros: Easy to Install, safe alternative, not fiberglass, not toxic, Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Norfolk VA.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Quick Fix

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After instating this heater blanket all I can say is, it’s unbelievable how easy it was to install. It fit my hot water heater perfectly even though I had to work in a very close corner. I did invest in some waterproofing tape to put around the top to cover the inside insulation. It just look better to me.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Richmond, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Heater Blankets

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used these blankets to insulate my 18 foot wide by 8 foot high garage door. It was easy to cut and install (using Liquid nails) and has made about 10 degree difference in the internal temp. My door faces West and would reach 103 degrees in the late PM and temps in the garage were uncomfortable. Now they run just over 92 but with the 6000 BTU air con I can maintain temps around 89 with lo humidity. attic insulation is next. Door is much quieter now.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+31points
33out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket

Great product!

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Being a widow I needed a W/H blanket that was easy for me to install by myself & that I would not have to worry about getting fiberglass insulation all over me. This product fit the bill perfectly!. Easy & clean!
Pros: Easy to Install, no fiberglass insulation
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

shorted

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two of these. Both measure 48in by 70 inches so both are short by 5 inches. Actually, one of the blankets s awkwardly cut and measures anywhere from 44 in to 48 inches wide. ad they been as long as advertised it would have fit just right around my watertank. Now I have to cut up second one to make a patch. The top is not covered so the second blanket will be cut again to make a fitting for the top as well. I have read that others as well have blankets with different dimensions than advertised? Are we being shorted? The material is fine, just prepare to purchase additional marterial at greater cost and expect to do some patchwork. Could have been great.
Pros: good material
Cons: not enough material not as advertised
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Schuylkill Haven, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Work, good quality

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It really couldn't be easier to use. Just wrap it around and use the included super sticky tape. The job took about 2 minutes. It's nice quality and will keep your water heater cozy.
Pros: Easy to Install
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy Installation!

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This insulation blanket was very easy in "install". All the tape and everything you need is included. Very thick insulation that will keep your water heater snug as a bug during the winter months! Very satisfied!
Pros: Easy to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Winder Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Add on Product with UltraTouch48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this to create a insulation top for my hot water heater since I was wrapping the heater with UltraTouch48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket. It did exactly what I needed it to do. Since heat rises I saw no sense in only wrapping the sides.
Pros: Easy to Install
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

easy to install

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Female diy'er. 40 gallon gas water heater, measured around then cut excess off the blanket. I had an extra roll of tape and used it. No problems so far.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My husband was very pleased that the product was easy to install and I love to denim color.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Brush,Co.
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than expected

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Install took less time than opening the box it came in.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket

Great product

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is better than the fiberglass water heater blanket. It's not as bulky as the fiberglass. It fits nicely around the water heater but it does run about 3 inches short in length. It's not that much that it matters. I'm just so happy to have the old fiberglass blanket out of my garage
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is perfect for our short water heater. Went on easy with the included tape. Water is warmer, and I am sure the electric bill will show some difference. If you have a normal size water heater you may want to buy 2 to cover it completely. Recycled and people, pet and environmentally friendly! YAY!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, recycled materials, not fiberglass
Cons: need 2 for a normal size water heater
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Pueblo, Coloado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

water heater blanket

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
There was some problems with installing the blanket because of its bulkiness and took two people to put it on. Since it has been installed, it has has increased my water heater efficiency.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks
Cons: Too Slow
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Waterbury, Ct
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product very easy to install good quality.

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Excellent product...great quality and easy installation...a little pricey however the quality and ease
of installation makes up for it...took me all of ten minutes to install fit my 40gal tank like a glove..
I'd be careful with larger tanks however..
Michael..
Waterbury, Ct
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Pensacola, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Does The Job

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
There has been a significant reduction of heat leakge from the water heater. It is housed in a closet that used to get quite warm. This kit is the only one to buy if you do not want to spend a lot of time with itchy fiberglass. Expect to trim and cut and piece the right shape to do the job. Have extra foil tape on hand, you will need it. If you take your time it will work out well.
+29points
30out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Albuquerque
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Good Product

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The denim is much easier to install than the fiberglass blankets. I had to purchase 2 of these as one roll simply wouldn't fit my 80 gallon tamk. I had enough left over to cover the top of the tank. Highly reccommend purchassing a roll of Duct tape as the tape that comes pre-packaged is absolutely worthless. Also reccommend using a pair of sharp shears to trim with... The denim is very difficult to cut. My gas bills dropped 28% after installing.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Valdosta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I bought 2

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I taped the 2 along the 72" sides on my driveway. I then cut the 96" x 72" to 96" x 54". I wrapped the 40 gallon electric water heater around the previous vinyl and fiberglass blanket with about 8" to spare. I have 6" sticking up on top and will fill the space with the trimmings. The trick to wrapping the tank is to use 6" pieces of tape horizontally to bring the edges together, first at the top, then the middle and then the bottom. Two more in between and you are ready to tape the whole length. Buy a roll of aluminum tape if you have to, it is so easy that way.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, High Quality
+24points
27out of 30found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>