728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Heater Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket

48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket

The UltraTouch Denim Insulation Water Heater Blanket improves the energy efficiency of your hot water heater with R6.7 performance. Helps maintain constant temperature and keeps the heat inside your unit.
Overall rating:
4.043 / 5
4
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product41 of 44reviews
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(22)
3
(7)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product41 of 44reviews
Customer reviews for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
Review 1 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

first time useing this but i can tell a difference

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is the first time i ever used or had ha hot water heater blanket but i can tell since i put it on the heater does not come on as much as it did before i put it one so yes it does save energy and the heater does not have to work as hard
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket

Great product

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very glad we bought it. Totally worth the price!!!
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

easy to install

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Female diy'er. 40 gallon gas water heater, measured around then cut excess off the blanket. I had an extra roll of tape and used it. No problems so far.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from York, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This product was perfect

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect fit on my water heater, I cut this with a pair of scissors.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Davis, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Daily

Gee, this is purdy!

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I put this fine blanket on a new 50 gallon Whirlpool water heater (You know the loss leader ultra lo NOX version that is [a] $200 cheaper than the one here at the Orange store and [b] Drives the "professional" plumbers and part-time comment spammers crazy because it has a hard to clean intake vent).
This a 20 inch diameter by 58 inch tall tank unit and this blanket just fit with zero to spare. The supplied tape is very thin but works. And while it l looks as though it will do the job. It hides the all white beauty of a freshly installed base model water heater.
I may buy a few extra rolls so that I can design a new line of high-tech outerwear with the stuff.
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install!

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product will eliminate 10-40% of heat loss from your water heater saving you 5-20% on your monthly bill. It is itch free and much healthier to have in the house than any of the fiberglass options. Remember to grab a strip of pipe insulation to cover any exposed hot water pipes. Follow proper installation instructions for your specific heater and start saving money today.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Midlothian, VA 23113, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As described for the water heater

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great value and good fit. and I hope it provides the insulation needed to eventually reduce my electrical consumption at the water heater
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Burney, CA

no dust

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to cut but dulls scissors as levis do. many uses other than water heater cover. i used it to block cold air infiltration in trailer home.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket

Great fit on gas water heater

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install, cutouts where easily made with scissors. Tape that comes with it is great.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Mason, OH, USA

Easy to install

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install. I read the reviews, and the suggestion that you slowly peel off the backing on the aluminum tape was the trick. I did, however, have to buy more aluminum tape to finish the job. I also needed to purchase a 16" roll, as there wasn't enough to cover all of the tank. I was able to lower the temperature of the tank by 8 degrees and we still had enough hot water.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Pensacola, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Recycle and Save Energy

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was recommended by Gulf Power and cost much less ordered from Home Depot than purchased from the Gulf Power website. We received the blanket quickly and it was in excellent condition. I like that it is made from recycled jeans and does not contain fiberglass. Installs easily and now saving money.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Valdosta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I bought 2

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I taped the 2 along the 72" sides on my driveway. I then cut the 96" x 72" to 96" x 54". I wrapped the 40 gallon electric water heater around the previous vinyl and fiberglass blanket with about 8" to spare. I have 6" sticking up on top and will fill the space with the trimmings. The trick to wrapping the tank is to use 6" pieces of tape horizontally to bring the edges together, first at the top, then the middle and then the bottom. Two more in between and you are ready to tape the whole length. Buy a roll of aluminum tape if you have to, it is so easy that way.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, High Quality
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Liked that I didn't have to deal with fiberglass.

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install. Didn't want to work with a fiberglass product and liked the the fact that recycled materials were used in this blanket. We do 'think green' in this house. Could not easily use the enclosed tape so bought a roll of aluminum tape instead.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Richmond, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Heater Blankets

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used these blankets to insulate my 18 foot wide by 8 foot high garage door. It was easy to cut and install (using Liquid nails) and has made about 10 degree difference in the internal temp. My door faces West and would reach 103 degrees in the late PM and temps in the garage were uncomfortable. Now they run just over 92 but with the 6000 BTU air con I can maintain temps around 89 with lo humidity. attic insulation is next. Door is much quieter now.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Yulee, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Accurate description

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The description was accurate It is just what I was expecting, plenty of tape to install the blanket. We will see how long it lasts. First impressions leads me to think it will be on my water heater until the water heater dies and it is brand new.
Pros: Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Bellevue, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Easy to handle, love the idea of recycling denim

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Actually used this to insulate my walk-in attic door (attic side). It looks like it will do the job fine. Did think that it would have been too small to totally cover my existing water heater, if that had been why I purchased it, I would have needed two blankets to accomplish it.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Tampa Bay, Florida

You're on your own...

PostedApril 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
... because there are no instructions or even suggestions with this item. Likewise, there is no "top" piece, which is where most of the heat escapes in an electric water heater.
The blanket is 48" tall, so it comes down not quite to the floor on most heaters; that's OK for insulation purposes, since not much heat escapes around the bottom of the heater-- but it sure does look unfinished with a raw edge that stops about 6" above the floor.
I wrapped the blanket around, overlapped it, then trimmed the excess (there was about 9" to spare in my case). I used the excesss to cut two semi-circular pieces to fit the top, placing the seam between the pieces where the two pipes enter and exit the tank at center top.
Speaking of trimming, your best bet will be to use a pair of heavy-duty scissors or shears. Cutting with a knife (even a sharp utility blade) won't cut it. The denim insulation is tough stuff!
After trimming the pieces, I then "pinned" the big piece around the tank with regular duct tape, then cut and placed the two top pieces. I then used a long piece of the metallic tape to seal the vertical seam. Then I cut some shorter peices of the metallic tape and wrapped them over the raw edge between the top pieces and the side wrap.
By the way, don't try to get by with only the furnished metallic duct tape; you'll need some pieces of regular duct tape to hold the blanket in place while you're trimming and and fitting it. Better yet, pick up a roll of the metallic tape at Home Depot; you'll be able to do a much neater job.
On the whole, I kinda wished I'd gone for the plastic-covered blanket, which usually does come with a top piece. But then, I would have had fiberglas insulation rather than the more skin-friendly denim insulation.
Finally, by the way, the detailed description is wrong; this item does have denim, not fiberglas, insulation.
Plan to spend about an hour from start to finish installing and trimming the blanket.
+43points
50out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Albuquerque
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Good Product

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The denim is much easier to install than the fiberglass blankets. I had to purchase 2 of these as one roll simply wouldn't fit my 80 gallon tamk. I had enough left over to cover the top of the tank. Highly reccommend purchassing a roll of Duct tape as the tape that comes pre-packaged is absolutely worthless. Also reccommend using a pair of sharp shears to trim with... The denim is very difficult to cut. My gas bills dropped 28% after installing.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Northford, CT 06472, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

saves money on heating

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to others, however it does not come with enough material to insulate the top of the water heater, only enough to wrap the sides. Heat escapes through the top as well, these guys should have thought about that.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical
Cons: No Instructions
+7points
12out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 48 in. x 75 in. Denim Insulation Hot Water Heater Blanket
from Reston, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Check measurements

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice blanket but does not fit 50 gal water heater. Will wrap around circumference perfectly but will not cover height - 10 inches short. I left the open area on the bottom. Silver tape supplied is not easy to work with. I used true HVAC duct tape (not "duck" tape), which worked fine. Recommend the blanket with the above caveats.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Shape, High Quality, Economical
Cons: does not fit 50 gal water heaters, supplied silver tape difficult to work with
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>