728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)

16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)

The UltraTouch Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll provides insulating performance for many around the house uses. Simply cut or tear to size to accomplish small insulating jobs or craft projects. Manufactured from recycled cotton fibers, the UltraTouch Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll is the safe and sustainable choice.
Overall rating:
4.46 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product45 of 48reviews
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(31)
4
(13)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product45 of 48reviews
Customer reviews for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
Review 1 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from Lakeside, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

good stuff if used for the right reasons

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
if you are looking for temperature inslation, this is good for extra interior insulation. I purchased this for it's sound-deadening qualities for a music studio. It only has a 6-8 R rating but is highly recommended for sound insulation. I am also adding sound board which will then be covered by dry wall which does not meet at the walls and ceiling. The upper and lower cracks will then be filled with silicone sound sealant before baseboards and crown molding are installed. The only thing that would have made this better would have been a higher R rating but that would have doubled the price (6 rolls required for a 4x8 panel.)
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Light Weight
Cons: a little dusty but no facemask required.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+40points
40out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from Illinois
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent for use in automotive cavities for sound and road noise

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm an acoustic engineer who designs commercial buildings and has a 20 year history in mobile audio installation. I use this product in vehicle cavities to reduce resonance. I stuff the product in trunk lids, rear deck, rear quarter panels, etc. used in conjunction with deadening products, this is a vital product for noise abatement in cars. it's also very useful in speaker enclosures instead of polyfill or fiberglass.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from Dallas Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Product

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to work with. Instructions advise wearing a mask and after working without I STRONGLY recommend using a mask. Offering different sizes on HD website would be very helpful.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Light Weight
Cons: not enough sizes offered on hd website
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from Hillsborough, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Plus side of Denim insulation

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this products because I am very allergic to the Pink Stuff! I was unable to find denim insulation prior to purchasing it online and was leary, but took a chance. I have no regrets, no allergies to it, was so easy to put up, tears with your hands, no dust and no itching and no waste. On the packaging it shows two children handling it, and you could never do that with the Pink Stuff. Very easy to use!
I decided that I would use the little bit I had left over to stuff an ottoman, worked great. I now can think of many uses for this product! I definitely would recommend this item.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from Alaska
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Wonderful product, fabulous to work with. Much better than fiberglass

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The insulation is easy and pleasant to handle with perforations making ripping the pieces wonderfully easy. It is dusty and if you don't wear a light mask you will end up with sneezing out blue fibers, but far and away more pleasant and enjoyable to work with than fiberglass which itches and no fun to rip lengthwise. Even as we installed it we found ourselves needing to be in the same rooms to understand each other. Noise reduction is greatly reduced, which is what we were after. The insulating value which allows different parts of the house to more accurately be kept at different temperatures was just a huge bonus. Surprisingly affordable. Was worth every penny.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from Las Cruces, NM
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Got the job done

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I gave this product four instead of five stars only because I expected it to be a little stiffer. It's extremely flimsy and required a lot of reinforcement to be properly held up. Otherwise it did exactly what I expected it to do. Not at all irritating to the skin.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from Downingtown, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great product!

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For it's R value, this is a great product. I knew I was going to have to cut insulation to fit in the areas that I needed it, and wasn't thrilled about the idea of cutting and manipulating fiberglass. This was an excellent alternative and so easy to work with. I wish this product was available at a higher R factor, but I would definitely use it again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from Houston, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Clean Insulation

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
A clean, itch-free choice for insulation that may be in contact with people. I used 6 rolls of this to stuff in the front end cap of my motor home; behind the cabinet over the front windshield. It makes noticeable difference in keeping Texas summer heat out and reduces road noise a bit as well.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)

Easy to Use Insulation

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
So far it seems to be working. Had to replace wet fiberglass insulation in basement corner due to water infiltration from excessive snow build up. Very easy to use, "green" , no mess or itch. Happy with it so far. Should be available in store however.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from California, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

No itch insulation, what could be better!

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I hate the itch of the other insulation products so all things considered this is the perfect product for others that feel as I do. Don't need a mask, safe around the kids, no itchy flying particles left in any room, space or area. I'll never use anything else for insulation again!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical, Light Weight
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Product for noise.

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Product is great for sound deadening, but no real insulative properties. Recommend the full R13 value version of the product. Home depot does not currently sell full size batts or rolls of R13 or greater. Recommend they sell all versions and make available in stores. Much better product than fiberglass.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from Fairmont, WV
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Surprised to find this stuff.

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Who would have thought that denim would be used in place of itchy, lung-irritating fiberglass? It's all I'll use in the future.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Seals Well, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great concept but not practical for traditional applications.

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I bought the case of six. I opened a couple bags & rolled them out flat hoping that the material would decompress a little. It's supposed to be 2 inches thick, but after a day of laying out, it's only about 1inch think in most places. Not only does this lower its' R value, but it makes it very flimsy & limp. This material really wont hold in place between 16" studs on a vertical surface. Also, although this product IS made with denim, clearly there are synthetic recycled fibers blended in... Specifically recycled carpet pile, which you can see dispersed within the material. I would recommend this insulation for misc. small projects only, The material is very easy to handle, & actually cuts pretty well with a good pair of scisors. If you're interested in more enviromentally friendly products of this nature, I'd look to the denim heater blanket kit which i also purchased. The material is much thicker & more robust.
+48points
50out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from Bradenton, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great and very easy to work with

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very happy with this product, it was easy to use and made a noticeable difference. I used it in the front cap of my motorhome to insulate where the manufacturer did not. This is just shredded denim, so there is a lot of denim dust when you are working with it. If you don't want to inhale and have blue denim dust up your nose, I recommend a dust mask.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Wonderful product

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this to stop the draft in some old windows. Gave some to my sister and she used it for a door that doesn't fit tight and then she wanted more. We even bought some for her daughter. I highly recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Great Value, Economical, Light Weight
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from Lehigh Valley, Pa.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

not the right solution to noise problem

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Need to isolate sound from common wall in row home. installed in floor joists in basement. Not the solution for this problem. Very disappointed when it arrived, it wasn't carried in local store and would not have bought if I had been able to see it first.
Pros: none
Cons: overpriced
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from Big Bear, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

much easier to use than fiberglass for insulating plus sound reducing in smaller areas

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Timely shipping. Couldn't figure out any way to cut it easily so I just always tore it which worked fine since its so soft. Placed mainly around water pipes before drywall placed
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, High Quality, Light Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from San Rafael, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Stuff

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I did not need a mask. It was easy to handle and believe it or not it actually has made a difference in our garage. However, I did not purchase the correct width. I needed pieces wider but still used what was purchased. I will definitely purchase more of it and finish out the garage attic. Oh, and it was very easy to tear to go around obstacles such as wiring.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)

This product is awesome

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We put this up over our bedroom window to help with the noise of the airplanes and the cold air. It has helped with both!
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Light Weight
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from The Colony, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent in sound deadening. Too thin, so needed to double them over

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
It was GREAT not having to practically hazmat cover-up in order to install this product. Nice and easy to cut with regular scissors. I do have to say that it was way too thin. We had to double it in half in order to fill the void. We don't want it sliding down the wall in a year or two. We unrolled them and left them to expand for a couple of days before installing in the walls.
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>