728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Denim Insulation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)

16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)

The UltraTouch Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose roll provides insulating performance for many around the house uses. This insulation is manufactured from recycled denim, combining high performance with a focus on using safe and healthy materials.
Overall rating:
4.417 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product32 of 34reviews
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(10)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product32 of 34reviews
Customer reviews for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
Review 1 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from Lakeside, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

good stuff if used for the right reasons

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
if you are looking for temperature inslation, this is good for extra interior insulation. I purchased this for it's sound-deadening qualities for a music studio. It only has a 6-8 R rating but is highly recommended for sound insulation. I am also adding sound board which will then be covered by dry wall which does not meet at the walls and ceiling. The upper and lower cracks will then be filled with silicone sound sealant before baseboards and crown molding are installed. The only thing that would have made this better would have been a higher R rating but that would have doubled the price (6 rolls required for a 4x8 panel.)
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Light Weight
Cons: a little dusty but no facemask required.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from Dallas Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Product

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to work with. Instructions advise wearing a mask and after working without I STRONGLY recommend using a mask. Offering different sizes on HD website would be very helpful.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Light Weight
Cons: not enough sizes offered on hd website
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from Alaska
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Wonderful product, fabulous to work with. Much better than fiberglass

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The insulation is easy and pleasant to handle with perforations making ripping the pieces wonderfully easy. It is dusty and if you don't wear a light mask you will end up with sneezing out blue fibers, but far and away more pleasant and enjoyable to work with than fiberglass which itches and no fun to rip lengthwise. Even as we installed it we found ourselves needing to be in the same rooms to understand each other. Noise reduction is greatly reduced, which is what we were after. The insulating value which allows different parts of the house to more accurately be kept at different temperatures was just a huge bonus. Surprisingly affordable. Was worth every penny.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from San Rafael, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Stuff

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I did not need a mask. It was easy to handle and believe it or not it actually has made a difference in our garage. However, I did not purchase the correct width. I needed pieces wider but still used what was purchased. I will definitely purchase more of it and finish out the garage attic. Oh, and it was very easy to tear to go around obstacles such as wiring.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from Bradenton, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great and very easy to work with

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very happy with this product, it was easy to use and made a noticeable difference. I used it in the front cap of my motorhome to insulate where the manufacturer did not. This is just shredded denim, so there is a lot of denim dust when you are working with it. If you don't want to inhale and have blue denim dust up your nose, I recommend a dust mask.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from Big Bear, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

much easier to use than fiberglass for insulating plus sound reducing in smaller areas

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Timely shipping. Couldn't figure out any way to cut it easily so I just always tore it which worked fine since its so soft. Placed mainly around water pipes before drywall placed
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, High Quality, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from California, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

No itch insulation, what could be better!

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I hate the itch of the other insulation products so all things considered this is the perfect product for others that feel as I do. Don't need a mask, safe around the kids, no itchy flying particles left in any room, space or area. I'll never use anything else for insulation again!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical, Light Weight
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Wonderful product

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to stop the draft in some old windows. Gave some to my sister and she used it for a door that doesn't fit tight and then she wanted more. We even bought some for her daughter. I highly recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Great Value, Economical, Light Weight
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)

This product is awesome

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We put this up over our bedroom window to help with the noise of the airplanes and the cold air. It has helped with both!
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Light Weight
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great concept but not practical for traditional applications.

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought the case of six. I opened a couple bags & rolled them out flat hoping that the material would decompress a little. It's supposed to be 2 inches thick, but after a day of laying out, it's only about 1inch think in most places. Not only does this lower its' R value, but it makes it very flimsy & limp. This material really wont hold in place between 16" studs on a vertical surface. Also, although this product IS made with denim, clearly there are synthetic recycled fibers blended in... Specifically recycled carpet pile, which you can see dispersed within the material. I would recommend this insulation for misc. small projects only, The material is very easy to handle, & actually cuts pretty well with a good pair of scisors. If you're interested in more enviromentally friendly products of this nature, I'd look to the denim heater blanket kit which i also purchased. The material is much thicker & more robust.
+45points
46out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Product for noise.

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product is great for sound deadening, but no real insulative properties. Recommend the full R13 value version of the product. Home depot does not currently sell full size batts or rolls of R13 or greater. Recommend they sell all versions and make available in stores. Much better product than fiberglass.
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from The Colony, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent in sound deadening. Too thin, so needed to double them over

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
It was GREAT not having to practically hazmat cover-up in order to install this product. Nice and easy to cut with regular scissors. I do have to say that it was way too thin. We had to double it in half in order to fill the void. We don't want it sliding down the wall in a year or two. We unrolled them and left them to expand for a couple of days before installing in the walls.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)

Expensive mistake but was actually useful.

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I didn't read the spec closely and thought it was a more convenient but expensive version of the R13 product available elsewhere. Nope, it is R8 and it never seemed to expand to the full 2 inches as advertised. Product is very dusty, just like the R13 version by the same manufacturer. Almost sent it back but it turned out to be a useful supplement to the R13 product because it fit nicely behind wiring and junction boxes in 2x4 studded walls.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With
Cons: dusty
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from Menomonie, WI

Green product/denim insulation

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Denim insulation is an excellent use of recyling. No smell. No itch. No problem breathing it in. Just tear, tack and move on. We bought it for the above reasons but more because it is supposed to be great as a sound barrier. So far so good. I do wish it were thicker. It expands a little after unwrapping but a couple more inches would be better as a sound barrier. Other than that, we're very happy with it.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from Chicago, IL, USA

Great stuff, just be sure to buy more...

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Environment/human-friendly, and as effective for insulation/noise reduction. Just not as thick or lofty, so more is needed. Definitely not 2" thick (more like 1.25"). Still: good stuff, and definitely recommended. You can use it for other creative projects too, without the health hazard of fiberglass insulation (headboards, extra padding for cushions, etc).
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, High Quality, Economical
Cons: not enough volume
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from Saint Paul, MN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Denim insulation used for sound isolation and dampening for speaker cabinetry

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The multi-purpose rolls of Ultratouch Denim insulation were the perfect fit for my personal use in sound dampening and solving acoustical issues within a PA -type speaker cabinetry it solved inner vibrations and muddy sound that was caused when driven to higher volumes and increased air pressures, it brought out more inner details of higher frequencies and midrange accuracy and naturalness to the music , the low-end bass tones were also more controlled and less bombastic and boomy as well.
I picked the 6 pack of Ultratouch Multi-purpose rolls which was more than I needed; but since it was a special order item I figured I would order more than needed or use in the future for insulating purposes around my residence or also to use the insulation for sound defraction in my music listening space. All in all I think the multi-porpose rolls could be a full 2 inches thick instead of 1.8 inches, and also possibly be in longer lengths like up 6 feet in length instead of 4 feet.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Seals Well, High Quality, Economical, great sound dampening
Cons: could be thicker and longer lengths
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good product, creepy package picture

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Okay, the package picture of blue-eyed kids petting their faces with the product is likely there to show that it's not fiberglass, but comes off creepy as anything. The product itself, recycled denim fiber as hand-tearable insulation is awesome both in installation and effectiveness and I'll be getting more of it as I turn my garage into a studio.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
Cons: creepy packaging pic
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from Eden Prairie, MN, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First rate product!

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product to insulate the suspended ceiling of my massage room to improve the acoustical environment for my clients. I needed something light but effective. Product was easy to work with. Noise from the adjoining workout area and tanning capsule were significantly reduced. My clients couldn't be happier with the results.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)
from Olathe, Kansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Very pleased with the product. Wish it was offered in the store.

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was very pleased with this product. It fit our needs very well. My only complaint would be that I wish it was offered in the store. The on-line process was ease and fast, but I still would have liked to see the product in the store so I knew for sure what I was buying.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 16 in. x 48 in. Denim Insulation Multi-Purpose Roll (6-Pack)

Outstanding

PostedOctober 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This material is great, especially for tight spaces that don't allow you to insert thick insulation. It has twice the R value of regular insulation of the same thickness and it contains no harmful ingredients.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>