728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Batteries, Chargers & Jumper Cables or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 120-Volt Battery Maintainer

120-Volt Battery Maintainer

The BLACK and DECKER BM3B is ideal for keeping your 6-Volt or 12-Volt battery fully charged when not in use. Simply plug the maintainer into any AC outlet and connect to your battery in any one three ways: Battery clips 12-Volt Dc accessory plug or the battery terminal rings. The BM3B will do the rest of the work, monitoring your battery with the Automatic micro processor, so that you can never over charge the battery.
Overall rating:
4.724 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product25 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product25 of 26reviews
Customer reviews for 120-Volt Battery Maintainer
Review 1 for 120-Volt Battery Maintainer
2bike
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Terrific unit

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found myself in a situation where I had to store my motorcycles remotely, while I moved cities. At home I used a an ultimate unite that I swapped between 3 bikes, but with a move I had to store the bikes a 2 hr drive away for several months and I had to find an alternative, reasonable cost solution. The ultimate is a great device also but way more costly. I decided to order two of these B&D units as I have always been happy with their products. I researched the background and figured if B&D bought the company that designed these they must be OK. I hooked up two of my bikes with these units and left them for 5 months alone in storage hoping I would not need to buy new batteries when I got the bikes out.
When I got back, the green LEDs were illuminated on both units. Turned the keys and both bikes started up like champs. Batteries were strong cranking and kept fully charged. I have since moved the bikes to the new house and these units are on them constantly while we endure winter in the east.
really really satisfied with this product. At 20 bucks each I already exceeded the value from them in saving me over $200 cost in new bike batteries. They saved me in this storage and now are holding me through winter. Enough said!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design, supper price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 120-Volt Battery Maintainer
Firebossbob
from Jasper, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

handy little charger

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used it to keep my lawn tractor ready, it has held up fine in the severe cold weather we have had this year.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 120-Volt Battery Maintainer
CAD2008
from Missouri, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent features for the price

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
every one knows that the extreme cold is very hard on batteries. i've always had problems with my 4 wheelers and tractor batteries going dead over the cold winter months. not this year. keeps them fully charged and ready to start for when snow falls. and we got a lot of snow this year. i never had to jump start a unit. i like that it had 3 different ways for connections. you could actually rotate the unit weekly to charge different pieces of equipment. it was pretty inexpensive so i just bought 3 of them. its a lot cheaper than a $65 ATV battery.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 120-Volt Battery Maintainer
YEAMANYEA
from Cedartown, GA 30125, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Deal for the price

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got What i needed, great deal for the price. Use them daily for my boats
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 120-Volt Battery Maintainer
John

Awesome, Easy !!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have one on my motorcycle and one on my tractor, no more worries about batteries running down from lack of use! No hassles, just connect and leave it; motors start right up after weeks of sitting.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 120-Volt Battery Maintainer
Reno

Excellent tool

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use and works great! Kicking myself for not having one already. I bought two, one for motorcycle and one for the camper.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 120-Volt Battery Maintainer
shadowatcher
from Glen Allen, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did a fine job

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After a winter's rest my motorcycle battery was guite dead. This charger brought it back but is now connected full time while the MC sits in the garage. I don't know why I didn't do this when it was stored for the winter. This unit has a nice form factor, much nicer than the others that one could use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 120-Volt Battery Maintainer
McFly

good product, great price

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have had one for about a year on a boat battery and just bought another for other vehicles around the house. No complaints. Just make sure to check the voltage switch as it easily moves from 6-12volts (like if you brush against it) but has never moved during a charge.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 120-Volt Battery Maintainer
Bamboo
from NY
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

meet or exceed my expectation

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this from Home Depot with the best price on market, June-2012. Good luck looking for equal or better price elsewhere. It can be found in hardware department where B&K are display. You may want to call first before heading there, not much left. It supports three style of connections, battery terminal, jumbo alligator clips and accessory outlet connections. Me and specially my wife likes the latter.
I test this charger with car battery about 85% full, meter reads 1.5 amp. and reducing over time as the battery is taking charge, during which I recorded 14.7 Volt. This does not imply charge current can't reach factory specification limit, just the nature of current normally reducing approaching full charge. It determined the battery have reached full charge then mode switch to maintenance holding a voltage measured at 13.6~13.7 Volts which is also the open circuit output voltage. The case temperature well into normal charge was noticeably warm to touch but not hot enough to cause my concern on smoke hazard. The case temperature drop next to ambient about half hour into maintenance mode.
I inspect the guts have found a switching regulator, the kind of design we normally find in laptop ac adapter power supply, all have efficiency of 80% or higher. In addition to that is a relay switch toggling between two charging modes. Pulsing green inidcator in normal charge and steady in maintenance and dc open circuit. I am very pleased of what I find inside and out (accessories) for the price I paid at Home Depot. If I buy the these accessories harness separate would cost me more than I paid for this package. Hope this helps.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 120-Volt Battery Maintainer
OldGoat
from Central Arkansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DC Residential Lighting System

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our home has built-in 12vdc LED lighting in most rooms that operates from a large, central deep cycle battery. It can operate our house for about a week before needing to be topped off (typically @ 70% charge). The battery was rotated with another one in our solar powered workshop and recharged away from the house. A minor hassle - but worth it for clean, bright Off-Grid illumination. Attaching this BM3B trickle charger to the central battery has made it in effect a Uninterrupted Power Supply - keeping the voltage close to a healthy full charge at all times and eliminating the weekly switch-out. And when the grid goes down for an extended period (as happens in our rural area a couple of times a year) we still have the solar recharge option. It installed very easily. Took a few hours to top-off the deep cycle - but went into float mode overnight and kicks back into trickle charge mode for a few hours after a night of using the lights around the house. Its case gets slightly warm when charging. Expected. Mounting screw holes are very useful in our application. I agree about the 6v/12v switch feeling a little cheap - it needs to be more "clicky" to instill confidence that it won't easily/accidentally be knocked into the wrong voltage setting. Only thing yet to be proven is it's long-term serviceability. Here's hoping - it's a very simple and elegant solution!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 120-Volt Battery Maintainer
Ranlo
from Falling Waters, WV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Excellent value

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the most reasonably priced for the function. I will use it to keep my riding mower battery "up to snuff" over the winter. The cords are sufficiently long, and it is easy to use. I will hang it on a wall adjacent to the mower. The dual voltage is an excellent feature; especially at the price charged. I am favorably impressed.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 120-Volt Battery Maintainer
Ronald
from Sanborn, NY 14132, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product for the money

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this battery tender to keep the battery charged on my atv. It comes with 3 different was to hook it up, alligator clips, cigarette lighter, or wire it in direct. I wired it in direct and when not in use it has a cover for the plug to keep corrosion out. Battery is always at full charge now.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 120-Volt Battery Maintainer
EJay
from Orange, CT

great for charging Volvo car battery

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This small maintainer was critical in two situations in which my old Volvo car battery was almost discharged, and the car was parked in a way that jumper cables were too short to be applied. The car battery in my car is in the trunk not under the front hood like in most other cars.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 120-Volt Battery Maintainer
kingfather
from Lake Gaston, United States
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worked less than a year

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this to keep my boat's battery charged last August. It worked fine until last month,when I plugged it in to my power outlet at the pier,and no lights showed on the unit---neither charging nor fully charged. Up until then it had always started with the blinking green light,eventually switching to solid green when charged. While it is still under warranty, it cost me nearly 1/2 the cost of a new unit to ship it back to the warranty center in Florida,which I did on 7/27 and they received it on 7/29 according to USPS,but I have not heard anything about the unit since it arrived there 2 weeks ago today.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 120-Volt Battery Maintainer
chuck
from Idaho, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

this is what i was looking for!

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
hook it up in 5 min and had not had any problems with the battery since.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 120-Volt Battery Maintainer
Eric
from Puerto Rico
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent ítem easy to use and install, the features of the ítems are great to change the charge and Also the permanent adapter that Came with it make more easy the Access to Give maintenance to the battery
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 120-Volt Battery Maintainer
ReviewerNickname1
from Wisconsin

So Far, So Good

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought it when it was just getting cold out. Have it plugged into the battery in my bike still in the garage. I start the bike up like once a month. It has started every time. No problems so far.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 120-Volt Battery Maintainer
TROF
from Arbold, MD
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As advertised

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I got what I wanted, at a good price. It will maintain a battery, although it may take a long time to charge even a small heavily discharged battery.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 120-Volt Battery Maintainer
REW3044
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good solid unit.

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a good solid unit.
Only negatives (and slight) are that the 6v-12v slider seems loose and can easily be bumped between the two. I will probably glue mine to 12v as I can't ever remember owning anything 6v anyway in my entire life.
Plugs seem styled (looks wise) slightly different then the "Battery Tender" type but I am using it with a BT extension and it works fine.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 120-Volt Battery Maintainer
dif876543

Battery Charger

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does the job.
I got this to charge my motorcycle battery. I like the 3 different connections, it allows for charging with the battery out of the bike and one can be connected to the bike during the season and be charged without taking the battery out.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>