728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Home Water Analysis Kit

Home Water Analysis Kit

The Home Water Analysis kit is a comprehensive test kit that allows you to quickly and easily test your drinking water right-at-home for various contaminants and conditions. Safe water is critical to everyone's health. PurTest will help you know what's in your water and what problems need to be solved. Tests included: 1 test each for bacteria, lead, & pesticide. Two (2) tests each for iron, alkalinity, pH, hardness, chlorine, copper, nitrate & nitrite. Also included is a Free Basic Water Knowledge Handbook and water test results sheet. Consumer friendly and environmentally conscious, there is nothing toxic in PurTest. No mailing or lab fees; everything you need is included. PurTest is fast, easy, accurate, reliable and convenient. Instructions in English and Spanish.
Overall rating:
3.429 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
57%of customersrecommend this product12 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
3.4 out of 5
5
(8)
4
(2)
3
(5)
2
(3)
1
(3)
Ease of installation 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Quality 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5
57%of customersrecommend this product12 of 21reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Home Water Analysis Kit
Review 1 for Home Water Analysis Kit
from Easton, PA

Met all expectations, but not stocked in Home Depot store.

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This kit includes many different tests. Not all users will need all tests, but they are available. Procedures are simple; instructions are clear. Somewhat expensive, but a good starting point for someone concerned about the quality of their water. Results are semi-quantitative, using colors to put results within a range. Follow-up can be pursued with a testing lab for parameters of concern. I would not make a major investment in a water treatment system based on this kit, but, again, a good starting point.
I had to order via Home Depot website and pay a high shipping cost. I found the same kit in stock at Lowes and could have saved about 20-25%.
+46points
47out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Home Water Analysis Kit
from Kansas City
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Basically Pass/Fail readings.

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this on clearance from HD for $6. I got what I paid for. The kit does not resolve much detail - little more than pass/fail. I'm not confident that I have the answer. They give you a second set of tests for alkilinity/ph/hardness, iron and Nitrate/Nitrite/Copper/Chlorine but not for bacteria or pesticides. In my case, the results were the same from the water tap and the fridge filter except for the alkalinity/pH which changed markedly -probably due to the fridge filter which was new. What I really want to have is an accurate reading on hardness since my water seems to gum up all my plumming -even my drains - with deposits. I can't believe that my hardness is lower than 50ppm. I'll be sending away for a more professional analysis.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: not exact.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from By WaterMarch 4, 2015By WaterMarch 4, 2015
Dear Valued Customer,
I am sorry the PurTest Home Water Analysis did not help answer your water quality questions. We strive to give consumers a test kit that is dependable, reliable with accurate results. If you have any questions you can email us at water@purtest.com. or call 800-788-4825. PurTestLogo
Review 3 for Home Water Analysis Kit
from RI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent Product, Fast Mailing Service from HD

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use the Purtest Water Test kit for testing well water. It is simple to use and accurate. I had also sent the same water samples to a local lab and the findings were the same. The only difference was the price between the Purtest Kit and the local lab. Purtest was very affordable. Thanks.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Home Water Analysis Kit
from Conroe, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very well packaged and protected.

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very swift delivery and friendly service. Economical way to shop!
Pros: Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Home Water Analysis Kit
from north port,fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best water test kit

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The instructions were clearly stated and the product performed well !
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Home Water Analysis Kit
from TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not near as accurate as I was expecting

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The test strips included only gave broad ranges, not a more accurate number. I will need to purchase something that I can mail off for numbers I can actually use to make the decisions I need to make. Interesting, but not very useful. Felf I wasted time and money getting no further than I was.
Cons: inaccurate
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Home Water Analysis Kit
from Santa Ana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Water Analysis Kit

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The tests were very simple to perform and all but one gives you the results quickly. You also have enough to perform the test a second time.
Pros: Good Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Home Water Analysis Kit
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

keeping it safe

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
For the price there really should be a second vial to test for bacteria. Item should also be available in stores as this test needs to be done at least annually and any time work is done. Otherwise it suits my needs fine.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Home Water Analysis Kit
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, but results can be difficult to read.

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
They are supposed to provide you with feedback on the water test results if you email or call them. I have emailed them twice with no response. Guess I'll have to try calling them, too.
Pros: Good Instructions
Cons: slow or no feedback on results
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Home Water Analysis Kit

Quick and Easy

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
All tests except for one (bacteria test which takes 2 days to find out the result) took a few minutes to find out.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Home Water Analysis Kit
from Parker, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not so easy to read the results

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I found it difficult to read the test results - the one test I was most interested in was the copper test and unfortunately, you have to distinguish between three shades of tan. I did the test in the early afternoon to get the best light available but it still wasn't easy to differentiate between the colors. I ended up taking a water sample to a place where they test and give you a ppm numerical result.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Home Water Analysis Kit
from ASHLAND, PA.

EXCELLENT PRODUCT

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
QUICK AND EASY TO USE. TESTED FOR EVERYTHING IMPORTANT. ALL THE TESTS WERE
NEGATIVE AND WAS RELIEVED, BECAUSE I HAVE
WELL WATER. IT SHOWED NO BACTERIA PRESENT, NO LEAD, AND NO PESTICIDES, WHICH WERE VERY IMPORTANT TO ME. THANKS!
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Home Water Analysis Kit
from East Hanover, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Trust is better when verified

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use and comforting to know you have verified.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Home Water Analysis Kit

Some of the test strips didn't work.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We were particularly interested in the results from the test strip that measured lead. Unfortunately, it gave no reading at all.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Home Water Analysis Kit

Worked well

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used it to test our home's drinking water, it served purpose pretty well. The result faded or changed its color fast, it's important to follow the instruction and compare the result with the printed color sample at the right time.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
Cons: shipping was somewhat slow
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Home Water Analysis Kit
from pacific mall, india
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Terrible

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product was a huge waste of money. I would advise all the people to find another water testing kit. First of all there was dry purple stuff at the bottom that didn't even dissolved with the water. Second of all, the worst and most stupidest thing that could happen was that the measuring strip BROKE! I put it in the water and after 10 min the strip broke into 2 pieces down the middle! THIS IS A TERRIBLE PRODUCT! DO NOT BUY THIS! ITS A WASTE OF MONEY!
Cons: didnt work!, the strip broke!, purple substance didnt disolve!
+2points
8out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Home Water Analysis Kit

Great water test kit

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to follow instructions made the experience very simple, satisfying and quick. Water tests were also easy to read and interpret. Would recommend this product.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Home Water Analysis Kit
from Portland, Oregon
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bit hard to interpret some of the results but easy and fun to use!

PostedMay 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good Housekeeping gives this kit good marks, so I'll assume the analysis was fairly accurate. Easy enough to use, but a bit hard to interpret some of the results -- comparing color strips to a printed color chart. Also, on the iron tests, the gap between acceptable (1) and unacceptable results was large, so I thought this could have been broken down into more steps. Still, it was a fun science experiment!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Home Water Analysis Kit
from Denver, CO area
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Water tests not properly marked

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It took a while to figure out which test was which. One of the tests takes two days. If you forget about it it is wasted. And I forgot to check in the proper amount of time. I would not recommend this product to anyone else unless the manufacturer changes the directions to match the wording on the packets.
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Home Water Analysis Kit
from maine
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

some things were good

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Parts were missing. One of the test wouldn't work.
wasn't what I expected.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>