728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Power Multi Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 7.2-Volt Stylus Rotary Tool

7.2-Volt Stylus Rotary Tool

The Dremel Stylus is a unique tool for people who are passionate about hands-on projects. This ergonomic tool is perfect for applications around the home such as finishing, intricate sanding, polishing, cleaning, engraving and much more. Tool will hold a charge for up to 2 years.
Overall rating:
4.095 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product15 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(2)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product15 of 19reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for 7.2-Volt Stylus Rotary Tool
Review 1 for 7.2-Volt Stylus Rotary Tool
from Orange, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Bad shaft wobble... 3 out of 3!!!

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This looks and feels great. I wanted a cordless as I have wore out my corded Dremels. The first one of these I bought had a horrible wobble at.the collett, so I placed the same bits in my other Dremel as a test- perfect. I exchanged it, the new one better but not as it should be, but it lasted a week before it completely died (battery or switch, being new I was not gong to take it apart) Third time's a charm, right? Nope, the 3rd unit had a bad wobble to it as well. This a cheaply made unit from Mexico. I'll see if I can take it apart and machine a shaft myself or correct the wobble, which is very disappointing.
Pros: Powerful, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: shaft wobble
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7.2-Volt Stylus Rotary Tool
from Augusta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent for My Purposes

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
About a year ago, someone gave me a used Dremel Stylus. It was just what I needed to drill lanterns from hard-shell gourds. But I hated to put it down when it needed to recharge. So recently I bought an extra. The price and quality are great; and I can switch off using them, with a different bit in each at the same time.
The Dremel Stylus fits the size of my hand (petite female). It's easy to hold and control, and changing the bits is easy, too. It has all the power I'll ever need.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7.2-Volt Stylus Rotary Tool
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Does not work at high rmp settings

PostedMay 17, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The tool was easy to hold an manuvour and was handy.
The problem was that at higher RPMs it does not run well (or at all). Upon first use after 3 minutes it seemed to overheat. I gave it a break and tried again. I got 20 seconds out of it. I then let it rest for a long period of time (45 min). I tried again and got 2 seconds out of it operating at 80% its max rmp setting. Even at lower settings it seems to overheat. I returned it and upgraded to the dremmel 4000. It seems somewhat likely mine was just defective since no one else who reviewed had this problem. I did not really feel like dealing with trying another one out and I also felt I would like to have a bit more power even if this one did work its full rpm range.
If it were not for this problem, this would be a great tool. Handy to not have a cord and easy to hold.
The return processes went smoothly and I am very happy now with the dremmel 4000.
-Lauren
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7.2-Volt Stylus Rotary Tool
from Manor, TX 78653, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Tool To Own

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this tool to keep the nails off my two bulldogs short. I also used it on my nails. But you can used it on many things around the house.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7.2-Volt Stylus Rotary Tool

Manicures are quick and easy. Ergonomic grip.

PostedJune 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this tool for my high maintenance daughter. Thanks to the ergonomic grip and light weight she can use this rotary tool too quickly and easily file down her nails without aggravating her carpal tunnel symptoms. I'm buying one for myself. Specialized manicure bits and accessories are available.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7.2-Volt Stylus Rotary Tool
from Eclectic, AL 36024, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent tool for Veterinary Practices

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great tool for grinding nails on animals. We are very pleased. Easy to handle while grinding for all us ladies that have small hands....easy to maneuver.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7.2-Volt Stylus Rotary Tool
from ct
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

works great

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a replacement for the same exact item that I used for 12 years with no problems.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Long-Lasting
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7.2-Volt Stylus Rotary Tool

So Close, but not quite there

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
PRO: The stylus design is very comfortable and feels well balanced. The build quality of the stylus seems good but not too bulky or heavy. This makes it easier to control on more detailed work.
CON: Using the tool on high positively eats the battery alive. Use it too long and it gets a little hot. (which should be expected to a point) The worst thing about this tool is the charger. It uses tiny spring loaded contacts for charging and they often get stuck or bound in the charger housing. (I've had 2 chargers do this so far...) This makes it look like it's charging but its not. Also, no replaceable battery.
Dremel should fix these minor flaws and then re-release the tool. But as it is, it makes a nice addition to my collection of heavier corded models and keeps me from breaking out a wand on detail work.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: the charging base
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7.2-Volt Stylus Rotary Tool
from NW Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Tool

PostedApril 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the first of the 7.2 volt battery tools I have owned and only had about two weeks and i am most impressed. It's power is more like a plug in tool and I fits your hand very comfortably. I have over twenty Dremel tools and this one is very near the top of the line. I expect to use it a great deal.............
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7.2-Volt Stylus Rotary Tool
from Hanover, NH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Excellent tool

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm amazed at the quality -- I have used it extensively for sanding in tight places. Works like a charm.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7.2-Volt Stylus Rotary Tool
from Buffalo, NY, USA

Good for modeling

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Picked this up for hobbys such as model railroading and mini wargaming. Works pretty well, though be advised you are going to need to purchase a number of different heads to accept different sized drill bits. I would also strongly advise picking up the warranty as the motor seems very small and I worry about it burning out.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7.2-Volt Stylus Rotary Tool
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this tool for my hobby (figures kit), the size, the weight and the power is perfect, base maintains the battery always charged.
I recommend this tool if you need to work with power and comfort
Pros: Powerful, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7.2-Volt Stylus Rotary Tool

Takes a beating, quality work!

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I inherited this three years ago, from my grandfather who used it for at least 4 years prior. To this day, it has always performed in every situation in which I've used it. In combination with the right bits/heads, I've carved wood, drilled stone, and even cut through meteorite. That's right, freakin meteorite! I wouldn't recommend it for heavy-duty construction jobs but, if you're looking for precise, smaller scale work, there's nothing better.
Pros: Durable, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7.2-Volt Stylus Rotary Tool
from Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NIce battery operated tool

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This Dremel tool is battery operated and therefore wireless which makes it very convenient for small projects. The attachments are easy to install and the overall quality is excellent.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 7.2-Volt Stylus Rotary Tool
from Socorro, NM, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product made a great gift.

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this for my dad and he loved it. He does wood working and this product is great for detail work. It also fits his hand perfectly - comfortable to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 7.2-Volt Stylus Rotary Tool
from Longview, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Has it's uses

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great product for those who cannot old the pen style Dremel. It is easy to control and guide. The cordless allows you to go where the cord would not. However it will not fit in to tight areas and has some movement restrictions that the Pen style did not. Overall it has its place in my tools.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 7.2-Volt Stylus Rotary Tool
from Hudson, FL 34667, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ossicilates some

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Good machine, especially with the chuck.
One seemingly problem: bits and burs seem to oscillate-- not good when carving fine areas
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 7.2-Volt Stylus Rotary Tool
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
1 out of 3 recommend this product