728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 4 in. x 4 in. Black Plastic Luminous Solar Post Cap-DISCONTINUED

4 in. x 4 in. Black Plastic Luminous Solar Post Cap-DISCONTINUED

Add a decorative touch to your deck or fence the the 4 in. x 4 in. Solar Post Cap. This Solar Powered Post Cap is made from plastic, it is black and fits 4 x 4 posts.
Overall rating:
3.828 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(99 reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product70 of 90reviews
Rating Breakdown 99 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(46)
4
(21)
3
(14)
2
(5)
1
(13)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product70 of 90reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for 4 in. x 4 in. Black Plastic Luminous Solar Post Cap-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 4 in. x 4 in. Black Plastic Luminous Solar Post Cap-DISCONTINUED
from Pioneer, CA 95666, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So happy with my Solar Post Caps.

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
To be honest, I was afraid the plastic caps may look a bit cheap as the costs was so reasonable. I am quite pleased that I was wrong. The caps have now found their home on the banisters on the deck, they look fabulous and light up the deck beautifully at night.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Shape, Easy to Clean, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4 in. x 4 in. Black Plastic Luminous Solar Post Cap-DISCONTINUED
from Mansfield, Tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Beautiful but useless

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Beautiful and well built but barely puts out a spark of light.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4 in. x 4 in. Black Plastic Luminous Solar Post Cap-DISCONTINUED

Great Buy

PostedJune 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did lots of looking around and research before buying these. They fit a 4x4 post without any extra attachments and have a nice low profile. Other then a few blemishes in the plastic, these are great looking lights and you can't see the flaws unless you are looking for them. I'm a perfectionist. They look good, stay lit all night, and do a good job highlighting our retaining wall so someone won't run into it with their car. That was our goal. I would buy these again and you can't beat the price!
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4 in. x 4 in. Black Plastic Luminous Solar Post Cap-DISCONTINUED
from Melbourne, Fl.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Use caution

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I was installing a small fence to hide my garbage cans and porchased this produce along with 3, 4X4
vinyl fence post. The problem is, it doesn't fit on the fence post. The vinyl post is slightly under 4" measured on the outside. However a wooden fence post mesures just a little over 3". This produce is made for a wooden fence post NOT a vinyl one. I haven't made up my mind if I want to return it or try to make it fit.
Pros: High Quality of Material
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4 in. x 4 in. Black Plastic Luminous Solar Post Cap-DISCONTINUED
from Concord, NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best post solar lights!!!

PostedMay 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We where looking to purchase a couple solar lights to place on top of out 4x4 posts on our front door porch. We where looking at the $25+ decorative post lights but the prices drove us away. I found a display of these lights at the front of the store. They where on sale for about $5/light. Decided to give it a try and picked up two lights.
Removed the battery tab and slipped the lights over the top of the posts. At dusk the lights came on as expected. At 11:00PM just B4 going to bed I checked on the lights to find them juts as bright as when they first turned on. After 3+ weeks, (we purchased two more for the rear porch)the lights are just as bright when first purchased. One morning I woke up just B4 dawn, checked on the lights and they where still on just as bright! THESE LIGHTS ARE THE BOMB! and only $5/light! You can't go wrong whit these lights!
+24points
26out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4 in. x 4 in. Black Plastic Luminous Solar Post Cap-DISCONTINUED
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great--With One Addition

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I originally purchased a number of these solar post caps here at various stores because they had them on sale for $3 each. I wanted to use them for a railing I was building up to the front of my house.
A few of the units didn't seem to be charging or weren't charging enough. As an experiment, I tried replacing the weak batteries that came with the units with other better Energizer rechargeable batteries, and the units worked fine.
When I finally finished the railing, I needed two more solar lights, found them on the Home Depot site, and purchased three so I'd have a spare.
Replacing the batteries did the trick!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4 in. x 4 in. Black Plastic Luminous Solar Post Cap-DISCONTINUED

You get what you pay for.

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased these to temporarily light the openings in our driveway at 6 different spots. We new in a month we were going to paint the fence and only wanted something temporary. They are basically junk. 4 out of 7 of them were broke out of the box, 2 were non functioning and 2 i was able to glue back together. They are not very bright and look very cheap. I would not buy them again unless its for a rental property or something temporary.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
Cons: cheap, some were broken
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4 in. x 4 in. Black Plastic Luminous Solar Post Cap-DISCONTINUED
from Kansas
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Lights!

PostedJune 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These lights really make our deck stand out in the neighborhood. They have lasted about 3 years which for the price is pretty good. We love solar anyway so these are perfect. Easy to install.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4 in. x 4 in. Black Plastic Luminous Solar Post Cap-DISCONTINUED
from Johnsburg, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great addition to my deck

PostedMay 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's not often in this day and age that you get something that is actually better quality than you're expecting. This was the case with these lights. I love them. Easy to install and look awesome! They don't "light up the night," but I didn't expect them to. If that is what you're looking for, buy something else.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4 in. x 4 in. Black Plastic Luminous Solar Post Cap-DISCONTINUED
from Reno, NV, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really good accent light for the fence post

PostedSeptember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I orderd 8 of these lights and they have worked well with the exception of one. The battery wouldn't hold a charge past two hours while the others went all night. After two months one of them quit charging all together. Had to replace it. The original batteries are okay but will die off after a while. My replacement batteries are working geat.
For the price you can't go wrong with these lights. They look good, perform well, and cost little. You can paint them (made mine white). If some one steals one, or smashes one, you are not out alot of $$$. And they make my home stand out at night as you drive past.
You can get more expensive lights with wilder designs but if you want a simple, clean look to your fence these are good lights. And wont jack up your fence rebuild bill.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4 in. x 4 in. Black Plastic Luminous Solar Post Cap-DISCONTINUED
from Loveland, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

One does not work

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two of the lights for my garden posts and one does not work. I threw away the box, so not sure what to do. The other one works just fine and I like it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Good Shape
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4 in. x 4 in. Black Plastic Luminous Solar Post Cap-DISCONTINUED
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very attactive, enhances steps

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The only problem is I ordered 4. Three have a bright blueish light and on has a pale green light. I called customer service and they were very helpful. Said it was a problem with the bulb and they would send me another one.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Shape, light up the steps
Cons: bought 4 - 1 light different
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4 in. x 4 in. Black Plastic Luminous Solar Post Cap-DISCONTINUED
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Standing up to the test of time

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I originally purchased one solar cap to see if I liked it and how it would hold up. Shortly after that I had to take a year long trip which I recently returned from. The original light still charges up and shines as good as it did when I purchesed it. Based upon that I bought another 20 to finish the fence line. So far here is my observation: I live in Austin Texas and more often than not we have sunshine. Mine are located under partial shade and as long as its sunny out the solar cell will keep the battery carged. If it is cloudy for a few days in a row then the battery will not receive enough charge and they will not come on at night. This has only happened a couple time durinng the winter. Overall I am please with the product and I must say surprised at how well the original one has performed. I would recommend these, the performace and reliability makes these a good value for the price (apx $14 each on sale is what I paid) for a decrotive fence post topper. If you need "usable" light or if you need them to light even if its been cloudy for a few days; this is not for you
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4 in. x 4 in. Black Plastic Luminous Solar Post Cap-DISCONTINUED
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Classic and works well.

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product and I have bought about 10 or so more since I had gotten one years ago. I have put them on
almost every picket fence post . They look great and afford
just enough light to illuminate the yard, but does not look
like a "landing strip at an airport." Great value and easy installation.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Good Shape
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4 in. x 4 in. Black Plastic Luminous Solar Post Cap-DISCONTINUED
from Virginia Beach, VA, USA

Works just as described

PostedJune 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Outstanding value and works perfectly. Would recommend for anyone needing product of this type.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4 in. x 4 in. Black Plastic Luminous Solar Post Cap-DISCONTINUED
from Mechanicsville, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Deal for the $

PostedApril 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought these lights about 4 years ago and they have been working great. I did not want to pay $25 per light and thought I would give these a try. I have occasionally had to replace the rechargeable battery (about one every two or three years), but not bad considering the price. The plastic is showing its age so I may try some hammered spray paint to spruce them up. It should be noted that I put them away every fall and reinstall them in the spring. Perhaps that explains their longevity. I have about 15 of them and this year I may have to replace one or two, but not bad considering what I paid. I was only expecting about one to two years, so I think I got my moneys worth out of them
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4 in. x 4 in. Black Plastic Luminous Solar Post Cap-DISCONTINUED
from Erie Pa

Great quality for the price.

PostedJune 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I shopped around for these solar caps. This is an outstanding value. I can't belive how the style of these caps enhanced the appearance of our deck.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4 in. x 4 in. Black Plastic Luminous Solar Post Cap-DISCONTINUED

The perfect touch to finish my pool deck.

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install, lights burn all night. Caps the deck post perfectly.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4 in. x 4 in. Black Plastic Luminous Solar Post Cap-DISCONTINUED

Pretty good

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought these to go onto our deck posts around the pool and they look nice. Now, these are just accent lights. They do not light up a walkway at all. If you are buying these to illuminate a path you will not be satisfied. Very easy to install. They come with 2 nails to drill into the side of your 4x4 post. The top of our posts had a taper so also had to use liquid nails to reinforce it but secured fine. Would recommend for their price!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4 in. x 4 in. Black Plastic Luminous Solar Post Cap-DISCONTINUED
from Wyoming, DE, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

An excellent value for the price

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The lights were easy to attach. I was surprised at how bright they burn. Lights burn bright even on nights following cloudy or rainy days. I also use them on short 4x4 post throughout the garden.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>