728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)

30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)

The ShelterAuger Earth Anchor kit comes with everything you need to securely anchor your shelters, canopies and instant garages. Securely anchor your shelter to grass or unpacked soil. The ShelterAuger Earth Anchors have an innovative corkscrew design which digs in fast and holds on tight.
Overall rating:
4.288 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product56 of 63reviews
Rating Breakdown 66 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(33)
4
(26)
3
(1)
2
(5)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product56 of 63reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer reviews for 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
Review 1 for 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Severn, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great.

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Was exactly what I needed to meet the County Code for anchoring my 10x16 Shed. Was easy to install and had all four corners installed and strapped down within about an hour and half. This was much easier than I thought since the shed had already been installed on 6" of crushed stone.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, High Quality, Great Detail
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)

anchor for 10'x14' shed

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After removing a couple inches of packed gravel, easily screwed into packed soil with help of rebar in eye. Would be 5 stars if it came with 4 eye screws and instructions. After attaching wire cable, screwed down anchor eye another couple of inches to make tight. Added extra clamp and Liquid Tape to tame frayed ends. Building inspector said looks good.
Pros: Well Made
Cons: No Instructions, needs (4) eye screws
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good solution for the price.

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Worked as advertised. Only had problem with one in a rocky area. Had to dig the hole, put it in, and fill it in.
Pros: Functional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Jupiter, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Tie-Downs for Shed

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
A little concerned with the small cable size and the compression retainer system for the cables so will add some additional connections to ensure the shed is adequately secured for a hurricane condition.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Size
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)

Great Anchors...

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Man i wish my other anchors i have were this good.. easy to install. No problem going thru thick clay and rocks.
Pros: Great Value, Well Made, Sturdy, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Hendersonville, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I needed.

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When I couldn't find the anchors at the store, a very helpful associate logged on to Home Depot online and showed me several options. We discussed the best product for what I needed and ordered it right there. It took only 4 days to arrive and I received a text message telling me that I could pick it up. I used the anchors to secure my bean poles in the garden. I believe I can trust them to hold the poles in place through the season and in the fall I'll be able to simply remove them just as easily as they went in.
Pros: Multi Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, customer service
Cons: not availble in store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from PSL, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

earth Anchors

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Will let you know later how they weather. So far so good.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Massachusetts
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid and Sturdy

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As others have written, these stakes are heavy duty. There were no problems driving/screwing them into the rocky Massachusetts soil once a pilot hole was punched into the soil using a long iron bar and 3-pound sledge. Used these to help anchor a garden shed with vinyl-covered steel cables purchased separately.
Pros: Sturdy, Great Value, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Staten Island, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent for it's purpose

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These 4 anchors will hold my shed in it's place if another hurricane like Sandy comes my way. I wish I would have used these anchors before the storm, I wouldn't have had to move a 15' x 10' shed 40 feet back to it's original spot after it floated around my back yard. These heavy duty anchors dig deep into the ground quickly and easily to hold down each corner of my shed. This a great value and I highly recommend this product.
Pros: Multi Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, High Quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)

27in end-to-end, not 30in

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
These auger type earth anchors are not 30in as specified; they are actually only 27 inches from end to end (from tip to top of the eye loop). The auger blade is about 3 inches from the tip; so, if you drive them all the way in so that the eye loop is just under the surface of the ground, you'll have 24 inches worth of pull-out strength for the particular soil they are installed in.
The "heavy duty powder coated steel construction [that] will not rust" does not cover the inside top of the eye loop; so, it will rust immediately in that area.
Though quality is not very consistent from piece to piece, it appears to be a decent, low-cost set for the price - but it will not produce the implied 30inches worth of pull-out strength.
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)

Works as advertised

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had no problem at all installing this product. It was used to guy a 32ft vertical pole. Had to move the anchor several times in order to find the right spot in the soil. Depending on your soil, It's pretty easy hitting rocks or tree roots when installing the anchors. Overall I'm very pleased with my selection and would definitely purchase this product again.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Tennessee
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't Work

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first box arrived torn and opened, and with only two ties remaining inside. Shame on the carrier for leaving them at my door in that condition!! A call to Home Depot got me a replacement within a few days. I live in Tennessee, and there is rock under ground just about everywhere, and I hit it at about 8" to 10". But based on other reviews, I thought these things would "chew" right through. Wrong. The auger immediately stopped going down, and WOULD not come back up. I tried everything, and finally had to beat it sideways with my sledge hammer until I could get it back out. I tried two other areas, with the same results, and ended up bending two of the augers. I went to another local box store who carries similar augers, only shorter. So I dug down as far as I could, mixed some concrete, filled the holes with the new augers, and finished the job. The tie downs, though small, fit just fine. As others have stated, all my fingers and both wrists are sore from working with these dang things, and I am use to working on projects all the time without much pain.
Pros: could be used for home defense!
Cons: not functional, Size, will and did bend!
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Delaware

Good purchase.

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
These anchors are fine for anchoring a shed, a little insurance against some of the windy storms we experience from time to time. The length is more like 27" and not the 30" as advertised which is the reason I did not give this product five stars. However, with the use of a metal rod, I was able to get them to dig into the concrete like dirt we have without bending. The short wire rope pieces that come with the anchors are about useless. Do plan on purchasing some wire rope to cut to the length you need. Also, I did use "thimbles" to make a neater connection between the wire rope and the anchors. I would recommend this product for securing a shed or smaller structure.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from south texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I put them in a concrete form for a curb for a carport work perfect
Pros: Functional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Saint Augustine. FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Will probably purchase more!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great canopy anchors for use in Florida's sandy soil and windy days, the 8inch stakes that came with the canopy were a little better than using tooth picks. ;-)
Pros: Multi Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Well Made
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Nanuet, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ShelterLogicShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used these shelter Auger Anchors to connect guy wires from a ham radio antenna. To make the install a bit easier I used a 3/8" masonary bit on a 2 foot extension to drill a pilot hole in the ground prior to installation. This made the installation a breeze.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, High Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Bryan, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works like a charm

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Was here in plenty of time and works well for its use.
Pros: Multi Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Penfield, IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

great product

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of setup 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Only thing I could have asked for was stronger and longer wire to attach to my shed. I ended up cutting thicker and longer wire to attach to the anchors. The anchors took some time and effort to get into the ground but I hope they are just as hard to pull out.
Product is definitely worth it but I would suggest others also get the larger/longer wire if needed.
Pros: Functional, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: wire too small
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Waitsfield, VT 05673, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Now withstands hurricane force winds

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Surprised that not enough EARTH ANCHORS included in the package from Shelter Lodgic.
My temp garage now withstands hurricane force winds without damage. Needed 5/8" rod for leverage to screw into hard-packed New England soil.
Pros: Great Value, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from O'Fallon, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Worked great, simple to install

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The anchors worked great and were easy to install, they are of good quality and were reasonably priced, included cables weren't used as they were too short.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Sturdy
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>