728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)

ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)

ShelterAuger earth anchors securely anchor your shelter to grass or unpacked soil. Authentic anchoring kit for shelters, canopies and instant garages. Innovative corkscrew design digs in fast and holds on tight. Portable and re-useable- heavy duty powder coated steel construction will not rust, corrode, chip or peel. Quick clamp on wire tie downs included install in minutes to legs for a rock solid connection. Proper anchoring of your shelter is mandatory. Make sure it anchored securely to manufacturer specifications. Manufacturer recommends one anchor per leg.
Overall rating:
4.305 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(59 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product50 of 56reviews
Rating Breakdown 59 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(30)
4
(23)
3
(1)
2
(4)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product50 of 56reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
Review 1 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)

anchor for 10'x14' shed

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After removing a couple inches of packed gravel, easily screwed into packed soil with help of rebar in eye. Would be 5 stars if it came with 4 eye screws and instructions. After attaching wire cable, screwed down anchor eye another couple of inches to make tight. Added extra clamp and Liquid Tape to tame frayed ends. Building inspector said looks good.
Pros: Well Made
Cons: No Instructions, needs (4) eye screws
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Hendersonville, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I needed.

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I couldn't find the anchors at the store, a very helpful associate logged on to Home Depot online and showed me several options. We discussed the best product for what I needed and ordered it right there. It took only 4 days to arrive and I received a text message telling me that I could pick it up. I used the anchors to secure my bean poles in the garden. I believe I can trust them to hold the poles in place through the season and in the fall I'll be able to simply remove them just as easily as they went in.
Pros: Multi Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, customer service
Cons: not availble in store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Delaware

Good purchase.

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These anchors are fine for anchoring a shed, a little insurance against some of the windy storms we experience from time to time. The length is more like 27" and not the 30" as advertised which is the reason I did not give this product five stars. However, with the use of a metal rod, I was able to get them to dig into the concrete like dirt we have without bending. The short wire rope pieces that come with the anchors are about useless. Do plan on purchasing some wire rope to cut to the length you need. Also, I did use "thimbles" to make a neater connection between the wire rope and the anchors. I would recommend this product for securing a shed or smaller structure.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)

Great Anchors...

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Man i wish my other anchors i have were this good.. easy to install. No problem going thru thick clay and rocks.
Pros: Great Value, Well Made, Sturdy, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)

good product

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bent 1 of the anchors installing them, hence the 4 instead of 5. Also, the included wire attachments are uselessly short as others have mentioned. I bought wire rope from my local hardware store. Otherwise a great product and holds securely in place.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Milw,Wi
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Shelter Augers

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These were very sturdy augers. They worked great for anchoring a garden feature that had a tendency to blow over in a strong wind.
Pros: Sturdy, Great Value, Functional, Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Palm Bay, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great purchase

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased these to be used as ground anchors for my boat and trailer parked beside my house in case of severe wind conditions. they are long enough to go down far enough in the sandy soil to be effective. They installed easily and could only be removed by "unscrewing' them.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Functional, Well Made, High Quality
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Ronkon koma, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

purchase

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The augers went into the ground very easily and completely. The ties were easy to attach.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Saint Augustine. FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Will probably purchase more!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great canopy anchors for use in Florida's sandy soil and windy days, the 8inch stakes that came with the canopy were a little better than using tooth picks. ;-)
Pros: Multi Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Staten Island, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent for it's purpose

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These 4 anchors will hold my shed in it's place if another hurricane like Sandy comes my way. I wish I would have used these anchors before the storm, I wouldn't have had to move a 15' x 10' shed 40 feet back to it's original spot after it floated around my back yard. These heavy duty anchors dig deep into the ground quickly and easily to hold down each corner of my shed. This a great value and I highly recommend this product.
Pros: Multi Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, High Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Augers installations in the Virginia Clay

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The augers were easy to install, even in the Virginia clay soil. At times when I hit rocks I would have to back off a half turn and then continue forward and managed to get by the rocks. The wire rope that came with the anchors was useless, the 6 -8 inch pieces were to short to do anything with. Ended up buying several feet of wire rope from the store and cut it to the proper length to anchor my shed.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
Cons: wire rope to short
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Houston YX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Shed Anchors

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Shed Anchors worked well long enough to go deep into ground. It took a long time to screw them in the ground, since I had to dig up about six inches of concrete waste for shed foundation it sits on. wire straps a little short, so had to get different wire to use but overall they worked well.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)

Solid product.

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looks solid and not too cheap, it took a wheel lug wrench to screw into the Florida sand but it went it and instead of using those cable tie downs, I used 5/8" lag bolts to tie down my metal shed so it hopefully don't swim away or flip over in heavy storm or a tornado. Only time will tell..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Bryan, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works like a charm

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was here in plenty of time and works well for its use.
Pros: Multi Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from CLIFTON,NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

VERY SATISFIED

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I WAS VERY SATISFIED WITH THE ANCHORS. I USED THEM TO SECURE THE WOODEN FOUNDATION OF A 4' X 8' RESIN SHED I ASSEMBLED. THEY WERE EASY TO INSTALL. I USED A LONG SCREWDRIVER THROUGH THE EYE AND THEY SCREWED IN FAIRLY EASY.THEN I
BOLTED THEM TO THE 4X6 BEAMS.
Pros: Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)

27in end-to-end, not 30in

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
These auger type earth anchors are not 30in as specified; they are actually only 27 inches from end to end (from tip to top of the eye loop). The auger blade is about 3 inches from the tip; so, if you drive them all the way in so that the eye loop is just under the surface of the ground, you'll have 24 inches worth of pull-out strength for the particular soil they are installed in.
The "heavy duty powder coated steel construction [that] will not rust" does not cover the inside top of the eye loop; so, it will rust immediately in that area.
Though quality is not very consistent from piece to piece, it appears to be a decent, low-cost set for the price - but it will not produce the implied 30inches worth of pull-out strength.
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)

Works as advertised

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had no problem at all installing this product. It was used to guy a 32ft vertical pole. Had to move the anchor several times in order to find the right spot in the soil. Depending on your soil, It's pretty easy hitting rocks or tree roots when installing the anchors. Overall I'm very pleased with my selection and would definitely purchase this product again.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Waitsfield, VT 05673, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Now withstands hurricane force winds

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Surprised that not enough EARTH ANCHORS included in the package from Shelter Lodgic.
My temp garage now withstands hurricane force winds without damage. Needed 5/8" rod for leverage to screw into hard-packed New England soil.
Pros: Great Value, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Lewes Delaware
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

All good

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
very long and easy to put into ground. I would recommend to anyone
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Hopewell, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Used to tie-down a light weight metal sling swing. Product was easy to mount in the ground and tie to braces of swing.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was easy to mount in the ground and tie to the bottom metal braces of a sling swing. The swing is now secured to prevent being blown over by strong winds.
Pros: Great Value, Multi Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>