728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)

ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)

ShelterAuger earth anchors securely anchor your shelter to grass or unpacked soil. Authentic anchoring kit for shelters, canopies and instant garages. Innovative corkscrew design digs in fast and holds on tight. Portable and re-useable- heavy duty powder coated steel construction will not rust, corrode, chip or peel. Quick clamp on wire tie downs included install in minutes to legs for a rock solid connection. Proper anchoring of your shelter is mandatory. Make sure it anchored securely to manufacturer specifications. Manufacturer recommends one anchor per leg.
Overall rating:
4.269 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product43 of 49reviews
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(26)
4
(20)
3
(1)
2
(4)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product43 of 49reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer reviews for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
Review 1 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)

Great Anchors...

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Man i wish my other anchors i have were this good.. easy to install. No problem going thru thick clay and rocks.
Pros: Great Value, Well Made, Sturdy, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Hendersonville, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I needed.

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I couldn't find the anchors at the store, a very helpful associate logged on to Home Depot online and showed me several options. We discussed the best product for what I needed and ordered it right there. It took only 4 days to arrive and I received a text message telling me that I could pick it up. I used the anchors to secure my bean poles in the garden. I believe I can trust them to hold the poles in place through the season and in the fall I'll be able to simply remove them just as easily as they went in.
Pros: Multi Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, customer service
Cons: not availble in store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Augers installations in the Virginia Clay

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The augers were easy to install, even in the Virginia clay soil. At times when I hit rocks I would have to back off a half turn and then continue forward and managed to get by the rocks. The wire rope that came with the anchors was useless, the 6 -8 inch pieces were to short to do anything with. Ended up buying several feet of wire rope from the store and cut it to the proper length to anchor my shed.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
Cons: wire rope to short
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Houston YX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Shed Anchors

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Shed Anchors worked well long enough to go deep into ground. It took a long time to screw them in the ground, since I had to dig up about six inches of concrete waste for shed foundation it sits on. wire straps a little short, so had to get different wire to use but overall they worked well.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)

Solid product.

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looks solid and not too cheap, it took a wheel lug wrench to screw into the Florida sand but it went it and instead of using those cable tie downs, I used 5/8" lag bolts to tie down my metal shed so it hopefully don't swim away or flip over in heavy storm or a tornado. Only time will tell..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from CLIFTON,NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

VERY SATISFIED

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I WAS VERY SATISFIED WITH THE ANCHORS. I USED THEM TO SECURE THE WOODEN FOUNDATION OF A 4' X 8' RESIN SHED I ASSEMBLED. THEY WERE EASY TO INSTALL. I USED A LONG SCREWDRIVER THROUGH THE EYE AND THEY SCREWED IN FAIRLY EASY.THEN I
BOLTED THEM TO THE 4X6 BEAMS.
Pros: Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Lewes Delaware
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

All good

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
very long and easy to put into ground. I would recommend to anyone
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Bryan, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works like a charm

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was here in plenty of time and works well for its use.
Pros: Multi Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Staten Island, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent for it's purpose

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These 4 anchors will hold my shed in it's place if another hurricane like Sandy comes my way. I wish I would have used these anchors before the storm, I wouldn't have had to move a 15' x 10' shed 40 feet back to it's original spot after it floated around my back yard. These heavy duty anchors dig deep into the ground quickly and easily to hold down each corner of my shed. This a great value and I highly recommend this product.
Pros: Multi Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, High Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Hopewell, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Used to tie-down a light weight metal sling swing. Product was easy to mount in the ground and tie to braces of swing.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was easy to mount in the ground and tie to the bottom metal braces of a sling swing. The swing is now secured to prevent being blown over by strong winds.
Pros: Great Value, Multi Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from North Carolina
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product is suitable for my purpose. I should have probably ordered a longer size but these will do ok.
Pros: Well Made, Multi Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Waitsfield, VT 05673, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Now withstands hurricane force winds

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Surprised that not enough EARTH ANCHORS included in the package from Shelter Lodgic.
My temp garage now withstands hurricane force winds without damage. Needed 5/8" rod for leverage to screw into hard-packed New England soil.
Pros: Great Value, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Indy
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did the job

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used 3 of 4 anchors to help stabilize and straighten a +/-25' tall blue spruce. The anchors pulled slightly to the side under initial tension but have remained still since.
Pros: Functional, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)

27in end-to-end, not 30in

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
These auger type earth anchors are not 30in as specified; they are actually only 27 inches from end to end (from tip to top of the eye loop). The auger blade is about 3 inches from the tip; so, if you drive them all the way in so that the eye loop is just under the surface of the ground, you'll have 24 inches worth of pull-out strength for the particular soil they are installed in.
The "heavy duty powder coated steel construction [that] will not rust" does not cover the inside top of the eye loop; so, it will rust immediately in that area.
Though quality is not very consistent from piece to piece, it appears to be a decent, low-cost set for the price - but it will not produce the implied 30inches worth of pull-out strength.
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)

Works as advertised

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had no problem at all installing this product. It was used to guy a 32ft vertical pole. Had to move the anchor several times in order to find the right spot in the soil. Depending on your soil, It's pretty easy hitting rocks or tree roots when installing the anchors. Overall I'm very pleased with my selection and would definitely purchase this product again.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from O'Fallon, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Worked great, simple to install

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The anchors worked great and were easy to install, they are of good quality and were reasonably priced, included cables weren't used as they were too short.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Sturdy
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for the price

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used it to attach the corners of the plastic shed to make sure it doesn't fly away with the next hurricane. I have a hard clay ground with small stones here and there. I wasn't sure if this screw will be able to penetrate. During the installation I had to rock it a bit from side to side when it hit a small stone, sometimes turn it back and force a bit and it finally made it's way into the ground. I used a big pipe wrench to rotate it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Penfield, IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

great product

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Only thing I could have asked for was stronger and longer wire to attach to my shed. I ended up cutting thicker and longer wire to attach to the anchors. The anchors took some time and effort to get into the ground but I hope they are just as hard to pull out.
Product is definitely worth it but I would suggest others also get the larger/longer wire if needed.
Pros: Functional, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: wire too small
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
from Nanuet, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ShelterLogicShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used these shelter Auger Anchors to connect guy wires from a ham radio antenna. To make the install a bit easier I used a 3/8" masonary bit on a 2 foot extension to drill a pilot hole in the ground prior to installation. This made the installation a breeze.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)

Fast shipping, good quality

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this set of 4 augurs because i needed some longer augurs to pass inspection for my garage-in-a-box.
I got them in a couple days, and put them in the ground, time will tell how they will hold up, but i think it will hold good.
Overall, good buy.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>