728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)

ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)

ShelterAuger earth anchors securely anchor your shelter to grass or unpacked soil. Authentic anchoring kit for shelters, canopies and instant garages. Innovative corkscrew design digs in fast and holds on tight. Portable and re-useable- heavy duty powder coated steel construction will not rust, corrode, chip or peel. Quick clamp on wire tie downs included install in minutes to legs for a rock solid connection. Proper anchoring of your shelter is mandatory. Make sure it anchored securely to manufacturer specifications. Manufacturer recommends one anchor per leg.
Overall rating:
4.233 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product34 of 40reviews
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(22)
4
(15)
3
(1)
2
(4)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product34 of 40reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
Review 1 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
KnarF
from Hendersonville, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I needed.

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I couldn't find the anchors at the store, a very helpful associate logged on to Home Depot online and showed me several options. We discussed the best product for what I needed and ordered it right there. It took only 4 days to arrive and I received a text message telling me that I could pick it up. I used the anchors to secure my bean poles in the garden. I believe I can trust them to hold the poles in place through the season and in the fall I'll be able to simply remove them just as easily as they went in.
Pros: Multi Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, customer service
Cons: not availble in store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
quilt00
from Bryan, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works like a charm

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was here in plenty of time and works well for its use.
Pros: Multi Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
ronofvermont
from Waitsfield, VT 05673, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Now withstands hurricane force winds

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Surprised that not enough EARTH ANCHORS included in the package from Shelter Lodgic.
My temp garage now withstands hurricane force winds without damage. Needed 5/8" rod for leverage to screw into hard-packed New England soil.
Pros: Great Value, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
Ronnie
from Staten Island, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent for it's purpose

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These 4 anchors will hold my shed in it's place if another hurricane like Sandy comes my way. I wish I would have used these anchors before the storm, I wouldn't have had to move a 15' x 10' shed 40 feet back to it's original spot after it floated around my back yard. These heavy duty anchors dig deep into the ground quickly and easily to hold down each corner of my shed. This a great value and I highly recommend this product.
Pros: Multi Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, High Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
neshek
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for the price

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used it to attach the corners of the plastic shed to make sure it doesn't fly away with the next hurricane. I have a hard clay ground with small stones here and there. I wasn't sure if this screw will be able to penetrate. During the installation I had to rock it a bit from side to side when it hit a small stone, sometimes turn it back and force a bit and it finally made it's way into the ground. I used a big pipe wrench to rotate it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
Broox

27in end-to-end, not 30in

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
These auger type earth anchors are not 30in as specified; they are actually only 27 inches from end to end (from tip to top of the eye loop). The auger blade is about 3 inches from the tip; so, if you drive them all the way in so that the eye loop is just under the surface of the ground, you'll have 24 inches worth of pull-out strength for the particular soil they are installed in.
The "heavy duty powder coated steel construction [that] will not rust" does not cover the inside top of the eye loop; so, it will rust immediately in that area.
Though quality is not very consistent from piece to piece, it appears to be a decent, low-cost set for the price - but it will not produce the implied 30inches worth of pull-out strength.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
Pete
from Nanuet, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ShelterLogicShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used these shelter Auger Anchors to connect guy wires from a ham radio antenna. To make the install a bit easier I used a 3/8" masonary bit on a 2 foot extension to drill a pilot hole in the ground prior to installation. This made the installation a breeze.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
Robert

Works as advertised

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had no problem at all installing this product. It was used to guy a 32ft vertical pole. Had to move the anchor several times in order to find the right spot in the soil. Depending on your soil, It's pretty easy hitting rocks or tree roots when installing the anchors. Overall I'm very pleased with my selection and would definitely purchase this product again.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
DanO
from O'Fallon, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Worked great, simple to install

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The anchors worked great and were easy to install, they are of good quality and were reasonably priced, included cables weren't used as they were too short.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Sturdy
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
puffmeister
from Dunnellon, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Will be easy to use

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Am looking forward to using them to protect my greenhouse
Pros: Well Made, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
Geologist39
from Baton Rouge,
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No problem installing into ground and clay layer.

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easily bored into ground and into clay layer using a 12" length of rebar with electrical tape wrapped around one end to prevent scaring the power coated anchors. Great product.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, High Quality, Great Detail
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
beorn
from Penfield, IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

great product

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Only thing I could have asked for was stronger and longer wire to attach to my shed. I ended up cutting thicker and longer wire to attach to the anchors. The anchors took some time and effort to get into the ground but I hope they are just as hard to pull out.
Product is definitely worth it but I would suggest others also get the larger/longer wire if needed.
Pros: Functional, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: wire too small
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
dave

Great value

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A bit tough to get far enough into the ground. Needed longer cables. Got longer cable to make them work. Pretty good product.
Pros: Functional, Sturdy
Cons: tough to install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
Comradeboris
from Southern California

Solid Anchors, But...

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Thoroughly solid anchors. I did not notice that there was not any rope/webbing/cable to attach the anchors to the tent. Maybe it was advertised that way, maybe not. Just be aware you have to furnish your own. So, more expense. Otherwise, solid stuff.
Pros: Durable, Functional, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
jrat

awesome, honest, fast

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
1. AWSOME- becuz when i order me ""ShelterAuger Earth Anchors Set 30 in. 4-Piece"" i love it and great price.
2. HONEST- i explained to Home Depot about missing part which the box was busted beated up. and lost part fell out of box and they work everything to work it out with me then i got my missing part
3. FAST 1st order shipping arrive quick. 2nd shippin for missing part i was told it takes 5 business day then other said 2 weeks but i got it fast less 5 business days.
i appercate Home Depot i will go back and keep on shopping with them cuz my mainly is "trust" they r great with honest and fair. i will recommend everyone go to home depot :)
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
Scotty
from Northeast Pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

This product will do trick

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These anchors are solid and really dig in. I used a small breaker bar for better leverage. My use was for anchoring down a storage shed.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: small cables
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
Chris454
from North Aurora, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

You get what you pay for.

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Two of the four broke while installing. The Auger portion actually came apart from the rod. You get what you pay for I guess.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
Vince
from Arizona
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It doesn't dig

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It seems like a nice idea. They are big and strong, but they do not dig into the ground. I tried many different ways to get them into the soil, but they won't bite.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: not functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
Rogi

Fast shipping, good quality

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this set of 4 augurs because i needed some longer augurs to pass inspection for my garage-in-a-box.
I got them in a couple days, and put them in the ground, time will tell how they will hold up, but i think it will hold good.
Overall, good buy.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ShelterAuger 30 in. Earth Anchors Set (4-Piece)
Hoss
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked perfect

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used to anchor a run in shelter for a horse. It was exactly what I'd hoped it would be.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>