728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Clamps, Vices & Fastening Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Hammer Tacker / Stapler

Heavy Duty Hammer Tacker / Stapler

The Dewalt Heavy Duty Hammer Tacker is a versatile stapler that accommodates Arrow T50 & Stanley 700 series HD staples in a variety of sizes. This highly portable stapler features a surface guard that helps prevent underlayment tearing and wind damage. Its magazine is durably constructed from steel to help ensure positive feeding. This stapler conveniently loads from the bottom for easier access.
Overall rating:
3.778 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product7 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product7 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Hammer Tacker / Stapler
Review 1 for Heavy Duty Hammer Tacker / Stapler
from Hendersonville, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great tool

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It cost a little more then the other brands but it has a lifetime warranty. I use a my stapler quite a bit installing insulation, house wrap or putting up dust barriers during home remodeling, and I need a dependable tool for the job. It weighs a little more than my old stapler but this seems to be built to last. The handle has a good feel and the overall balance is good.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heavy Duty Hammer Tacker / Stapler
from Sewell, NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Busted knuckles, crumpled staples, jams easily

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this tacker almost exactly a year ago to hang felt paper during a residing project on my house. I spent a good 15 minutes online comparing this model to its competition, but decided it was worth the extra money for DeWalt "quality". What a mistake that was!!
Straight out of the packaging, I immediately noticed what a problem it was for the handle to be flush with the head of the tacker. You are forced to drive staples at an angle onto the felt paper, which often results in a tear on the paper. If you try to drive the staples flush into the paper, you'll find that your knuckles will slam into the wall before the stapler does.
Even if you do manage to hit the wall with the tacker before your knuckles, you'll find that there's a 40% chance that the staple will be driven flush, a 45% chance that the staple will stick out a bit and/or crimple, and a 5% chance that the staple will become jammed in the tacker and require you to go and find some pliers to pull it out.
I also want to point out another reviewer's comment about the latch position at the bottom of the handle. If you try wearing this on your tool belt as it is advertised, you'll find yourself hitting the latch button with your leg and spilled stapes all over the place. It's especially fun when you're up on a ladder or scaffolding trying to secure 12ft of tar paper in the wind. Trust me.
Long story short: avoid this tacker at all costs.There are other tackers available with better features at half the price.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, busted knuckles
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heavy Duty Hammer Tacker / Stapler
from Batesville, AR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well built and reliable

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this stapler to insulate my son's house and it works like a charm. Looks like I'll be using to insulate my new house in the spring.
Easy to load and to use.
It holds two rows of staples which is a nice feature too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heavy Duty Hammer Tacker / Stapler
from Roseville, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

this product is heavy duty and works great

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy loading and this product doesn"t jamb it is the best slap staple I ever used
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heavy Duty Hammer Tacker / Stapler

Good Product

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Insulated a 26 X 30 garage,worked good,did not jam 1 time. Only thing is if you bump the end of the handle,it will open up and the staples will fall out.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heavy Duty Hammer Tacker / Stapler

BEST TACKER YET

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We use these tackers on a daily basis. I have purchased different brands before and they would last a few months. The Dewalts I have purchased are over a year old now and still going strong.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heavy Duty Hammer Tacker / Stapler
from New England
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Magazine lock design is so poor it makes the tacker unusable.

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The overall quality of the tacker is ok with the exception of the operation of the magazine lock. Just touching or brushing the end of the tacker causes the magazine lock to release all of the staples out the bottom due to poor design. I was tacking Tyvek onto an addition and the magazine opened up every few minutes dropping the staples due to lightly touching the end. There does not appear to be a way protect the magazine lock short of putting duct tape around the end of the tacker. This product makes you wonder if Dewalt tests their products before they release them for sale. I was up and down the ladder 20 times picking up staples of the ground. I have already purchased a competitors product and it works fine.
Cons: magazine does not stay locked
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heavy Duty Hammer Tacker / Stapler
from GREENVILLE, SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ALMOST A GOOD PRODUCT

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THE STRAIGHT HANDLE DESIGN DOES NOT ALLOW FOR A LEVEL BLOW WITH THE STAPLER.
THE ANGLE YOU NEED TO HOLD IT AT TO KEEP FROM BEATING UP YOUR FINGERS WHILE HAMMERING RESULTS IN VARIABLE STAPLE DEPLOYMENT.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Heavy Duty Hammer Tacker / Stapler
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product