728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Compressors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 33-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED

33-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED

Husky 33-Gal. compressor features a powerful 1.7 HP motor and oil-free pump that deliver up to 150 maximum psi and 5 SCFM at 90 psi. This compressor is equipped with a high flow regulator that provides more usable air to your tool to ensure maximum performance and run time. The low-profile motor and pump shroud provides on-board tool and accessory storage.
Overall rating:
2.25 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
29%of customersrecommend this product7 of 24reviews
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
2.3 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(14)
Quality 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
29%of customersrecommend this product7 of 24reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for 33-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 33-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
Thomas
from Midland, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Extremly loud, overheats, pressure setting not precise enough

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this compressor to run air tools like impact driver, rachet etc.The noice level is unbeliable high; it took 15 min to fill the tank. By the time it was full I almost burned my hand when I touched the area of the tank close to the pump head.
The pressure setting was not precise and whenever the motor restarted (which it did too often) the setting changed because of the vibration.
I brought it back the next day and got my money back without problems.
Even for occasional use this compressor is not to recommend;
Better to save up and spend a few hundred dollars more!
Cons: Noisy, vibrates a lot, pressure setting chances due to vibration, overheats
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 33-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
olderfellow

Husky 33 gal. 120 V air compressor

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Compressor refused to start the fourth time I used it. Now will have to load the thing up and carry it back for repair. It's less than two months old. Spend an extra $200 and get a compressor that is dependable. My last oil-less compressor ran for 14 years before one of the reed valves failed.
Cons: Not Durable, premature failure
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 33-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
Josh

Did not meet expectations

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this air compressor with the intention of using an impact wrench to rotate tires. The compressor was quieter than expected but takes 10 minutes to fill up. It will not work well enough to make a brand new impact wrench take off lug nuts.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: not enough power
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 33-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
Nohusky
from Katy, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a satisfactory item!

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Recently purchased to replace another brand 26gal compressor I had been using for 12 years. This unit wasn't reliable from the beginning. Very loud. The regulator was faulty from the beginning, I initially thought it was simply the design of Husky which worsened over time. After 6 months, the Husky would not energize to refill tank even with drain plug open. Tank would empty of air, leaving you stranded during projects, refusing to energize to refill empty tank. Returned it to Home Depot for repair, item still under warranty. 3-4 weeks is expected for repairs, Home Depot rep felt the regulator was faulty. Luckily it's for my hobby only.
Pros: Easy to Use, price
Cons: Not Durable, not dependable, very loud
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 33-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
Cajungrav

Poor quality

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The compressor would over heat and not cycle from the first day. I made sure it was well venitalted and even put a fan blowing directly onto the motor. After unplugging it for roughly 15 minutes, the compressor would cycle back to full pressure.
The store did refund my money with no issues.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 33-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
Vince
from Raleigh, NC, USA

Sure didn't last long...

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this unit for my shop. Unwrapped, setup, plugged in, worked great... For 24 hours. Then, it fired up to recharge itself (about every 6 hours it did that) and the motor seized.
Totally dead now. Wonderful, gotta load it back up and take it back. I'm scared to try another one now and may look for something else. Seemed like a well made unit and great size but I guess a subpar motor?
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 33-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
CJB1

Appears well made, and packaged well.

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this because of the two year warranty and the ease of ordering on-line and picked up at store. Holds pressure well and is easy to use. I would recommend this product to the do-it-yourselfer who needs more air storage capacity than a smaller unit.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 33-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
Carparts

Thought this would be great choice.

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this with the intention of working on my car. Worked great for about a month. Then wouldn't cycle to full pressure. Still used it even though I had to shut off for a few minutes then turn back on. Would cycle to full. Finally called for help to fix it. No luck. I believe the thermal shutoff is faulty. I might have to go around this so I can use the compressor.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 33-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
billsfanusny
from Upstate NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Perfect for painting

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I decided to do some painting projects wround the house this summer and realized my older compressor didnt have the umph to power my HVLP spray gun so when I saw this oilless unit for $300 I was excited because it had the power and could be used in my garage where i like to tinker with old MG's. I paited the front porch and new shutters this summer, barely getting them done before the cold and damp weather hit us in upstate NY. Great item for the money.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Long-Lasting, value
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 33-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
Bill
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Boat Anchor

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used it twice and now it won't build up pressure in the tank at all and the on-off switch doesn't work anymore. The only way to turn it off and on is to unplug it but it really doesn't matter, it doesn't compress air anymore so its a boat anchor...but it doesn't even work well for that since it floats since the tank won't let water in. And yes, it is ridiculously loud. Seriously, don't buy one of these.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 33-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
Kenny

Broke on day two

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not impressed, it broke on day two. After filling to its shut off pressure (160 ish) it decided to start again a minute later even though it had not lost any pressure. It then filled untill over pressure valve blew. I took it back and exchanged it for a different brand.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 33-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
toolguy
from Forked River NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Purchased two of these in four months, both were returned

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I like the dual outlets and features on the air compressor and it did the job for finish nailing and running an air hammer to remove a concrete porch. After using the first compressor for three month it developed a leak under the motor cover and had to be returned. The replacement was used for about 10 minutes, it developed a pressure issue and runs every time you nail something. I will be looking for a different brand because I am tired of lugging the large item back to Home Depot.
Pros: nice features dual outlet
Cons: Not Durable, unreliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 33-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
Budro
from Austin
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

small pump... big tank

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It takes close to 10 minutes to fill tank from 0 psi. I don't doubt that putting a pump this inadequate on a tank this big will cause it to fail prematurely.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: too loud
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 33-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
Rich
from Locust Grove, va
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT BUY

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a piece of junk. My wife got it for me as an anniversary gift to work on my project car. Day 1, second cycle the govener flew off, had to disassemble and put back on. One week later one of the ground connectors broke. Don't know how since it is inside the case and does not move. Since the beginning the pussure relief valve as blown at random times and pressure. Now the motor has started to back out of the case and the unit doesn't run at all. Absolute waste of time and money.
Cons: Not Durable, piece of junk, loud
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 33-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
elemenohpee
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

great for the price

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i just bought this item and i am thrilled with it. perfect for restoring the car i just bought. it should take care of all the things i need to do including paint. :)
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 33-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
skydiver

Gets the job done

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
But it is loud. I have run my 1/2" impact wrench on it and inflated a few tires. So far so good.
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 33-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
Tcarswell

Don't buy it !

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my first review I am leaving as a result of the heartache surrounding this particular piece. For one the compressor literally cycles when it feels like it. Its much much louder than any compressor ever should be and the darn pig tail came off with very little provocation I would highly suggest looking else where.
Cons: Not Durable, Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 33-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
Remese
from Methuen, MA, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great price

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just bought this compressor yesterday plugged it in was great and great price 175 can't beat it. Powered my impact wrench took off my tires off my car no problem. I do recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 33-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
Kprso

Do not buy

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I should have read the reviews prior to this purchase. I had this compressor for 28 days, using it routinely for air tools, and wham, overheating, leaking and faulty gauges. There is not a huge choice of compressors for the normal guy at HD, however, I took this back and am trying the smaller dewalt
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 33-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
woodys1999
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Used 5 times now over heats sounds like it locks up.

PostedApril 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This thing is junk I wouldn't recommend even for light use!
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>