728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Timers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Econo Switch 7 Day Programmable Solar Timer Switch for Lights with backlit display

Econo Switch 7 Day Programmable Solar Timer Switch for Lights with backlit display

The Honeywell's RPLS540A1002/U allows you to take complete control over your lights. Its three modes (manual, automatic, and random) help you conserve electricity while adding a level of safety and security to your home. This Honeywell ECONOSwitch programmable timer switch has both the flexibility of 7-day programming and the convenience of automatic sunrise / sunset activation. This unit works with Incandescent, halogen and fluorescent lighting (compatible with electronic ballasts). Has a large white backlit display with a night light mode option for easy reading in dark areas with confirmation LED for at-a-glance load status (on or off). Random mode activates lights randomly to simulate a presence when away from home. Easy intuitive 3 button interface with no door to open. Automatic daylight savings - no need to reprogram. Not compatible with CFL's and must have a minimum 40 watts
Overall rating:
4.235 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product42 of 47reviews
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(32)
4
(11)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product42 of 47reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for Econo Switch 7 Day Programmable Solar Timer Switch for Lights with backlit display
Review 1 for Econo Switch 7 Day Programmable Solar Timer Switch for Lights with backlit display
from Bellevue, WA

Best timer switch

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This timer switch is pretty incredible. It fits completely inside your wall (not like other bulky ones), has a lot of programability (7 programs, each can be up to 7 days).
The best feature of all is that you enter your longitude/latitude location in the world, and it will know sunset and sunrise times as well as adjust the programs accordingly! It also does DST time change, and has a really cool "vacation" mode where it will randomize around your programs so that it looks more realistic that your are home.
All in all, this is a small, easy to install, feature-packed timer. It's on the pricier end, but you really get what you pay for.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Econo Switch 7 Day Programmable Solar Timer Switch for Lights with backlit display
from University Place, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replacement Timer Switch

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this digital switch to replace an older mechanical one. Delivery was quick; quality was good to very good. The only encountered problem was the instructions were translated poorly, and basically worthless. An on-line search for instructions was very helpful, and it was obvious many others had similar problems during the initial setup.
Pros: Compact, Great Dimming, Nice Design
Cons: poor instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Econo Switch 7 Day Programmable Solar Timer Switch for Lights with backlit display
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Read specs carefully

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought two of these but will have to return them because it is not compatible with CFL's and must have a minimum 40 watts. On a similar but cheaper model, it says specifically it works with "incandescent and halogen lighting (40 W minimum)." On this one, it says it works with "Incandescent, halogen and fluorescent lighting (compatible with electronic ballasts)" Once I received it, I saw it clearly marked on the packaging that it is 40W minimum and not compatible with CFL's. So no good for me.
Difficult to rate when you don't take it out of the box, but I had to put something down, so 3 stars it is.
+20points
23out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Econo Switch 7 Day Programmable Solar Timer Switch for Lights with backlit display
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent timer

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This timer is a home run. It is simple to install (and I HATE working with electric), and simple to program. I set it to come on at sunset and go off at sunrise, and it could not have been simpler to set up. They provide you with simple easy to follow directions. Aside from being easy to install and set up it looks good as well installed. A plus too, that I did not realize, is that the display goes out when the light in the fixture goes dead. At first I was frustrated by this, thinking that the switch burned out, but that is because I didn't know about this feature (having not read the directions), which I have now come to like. A bit pricey, but worth the expense.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Econo Switch 7 Day Programmable Solar Timer Switch for Lights with backlit display
from Old Hickory, Nashville, TN 37138, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I needed.

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this for my front porch. No matter how I try to get home before dark, it never works so I had to find a solution since the outside lamp on a post refuses to work reliably. My switch is located by the front door and looped together with 3 other switches. I am a DIY kinda lady but I was determined to get this done. There were no instructions for the loop together application and it is not a 3 way switch so I took one of the black wires coming out of the new switch and wrapped it on the loop wire and taped it in place with electric tape. I turned on the power and Presto....it came on and it took one minute to program. I later went with the preset dusk to 11 p.m settings and I manually turn it off I come in. Easy to understand instructions and easy installation and programming even for me - the do it yourselfer like me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: needs to have inline series instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Econo Switch 7 Day Programmable Solar Timer Switch for Lights with backlit display
from Amarillo, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

econo switch 7 day programable

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this timer does what it was said it would do. install and let it work when the sun comes up it goes off and when sun goes down it comes on. works great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Econo Switch 7 Day Programmable Solar Timer Switch for Lights with backlit display
from Eugene, OR
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent features, confusing setup.

PostedMay 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This seven day timer has excellent features, you can program it to turn on and off at sunrise and sunset based on your geographic location, and it works perfectly in this mode. It also has a random on and off time to make it appear someone is home. We used it in sunrise/sunset mode to turn on outdoor lighting. It's unfortunate that it takes a minimum of 40 watt load to operate (or so they say) as that excludes using most energy efficient lighting. The setup is easy for most modes, but is a little confusing in the sunrise/sunset mode. However, it only took a second try to get it working. I'd buy this again if I needed another. (The only big negative, they say it loses it's program if the power is off four hours or more. It should have a button cell battery for retaining the programming for longer periods.)
Pros: Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: no programming backup for extended outages.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Econo Switch 7 Day Programmable Solar Timer Switch for Lights with backlit display
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good unit if you use incandescent lights

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a excellent timer. The back lighted display is a very good feature. I have other digital timers that have smaller and non-lighted displays and they are difficult to read unless the room lighting is very bright.
Another nice feature is it uses a large capacitor to maintain time if the power goes off for a short time. I have other timers that use $6.00 batteries to maintain time and the batteries have to be replaced every one to two years.
The display on this unit is large and bright. It's a bit complicated to program but follow the step by step directions and you'll do fine. This unit automatically adjusts for shorter and longer daylight during the year so once you set it you won't have to re-do it for a long time.
Be aware this unit uses electronic switching so it will not work with CFL's or LED lights. Honeywell sells another virtually identical unit that uses a relay switch so it works with all types of lights. It will even run small motors like exhaust fans. If you are even thinking about switching to CFL or LED lights spend the extra $10 and get the other unit.
Pros: Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: only for incandescent lights
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Econo Switch 7 Day Programmable Solar Timer Switch for Lights with backlit display
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Timer Actually Works

PostedSeptember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I replaced an older electronic timer with this Honneywell. The older one required the use of an incandescent bulb and was a pain to re-program.
This one fit into the wall easily. The programming was detailed, but easy and straightforward, allowing you complete control over the ON-OFF cycles.
Yes, the price was high, but overall it is a good value.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Econo Switch 7 Day Programmable Solar Timer Switch for Lights with backlit display
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Features! Easy Install!

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Completly satisfied! Programming was a little tricky to start with but becomes easier the more you use. Love the auto sunrise/sunset feature. Installed easily and quickly! Requires only 2 wires. This timer does work with CFLs, provided the wattage is 40W or greater.
In my case, I wired 3 outdoor lights with CFL bulbs rated @18W each, totaling 54W for the complete circuit.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Econo Switch 7 Day Programmable Solar Timer Switch for Lights with backlit display
from Woodbridge, VA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

New tech for old lights. Disappointed

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Currently I have an ambient light sensor installed outside which works, however since I'm near a main road, the streetlights and headlights often will cause my front porch light to stay off. My hope was that this timer would provide a better result.
It was not indicated online that there was a 40W minimum or that it wouldn't work with LED lighting. I was disappointed but have to return this item, as it will not work with modern lighting, which dosn't make sense to me, as there's no dimming, this is just simply an on off switch on a timer, so why the issue with LED & CFL's?
For those of you capable of using this product, please disregard this review, but keep the light bulb requirements in mind, as it may impact your choices at the store a few years from now. I gave this a lower rating simply because it's not compatible with current technology. CFL & LED bulbs have been on the market for years now.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: out dated, not energy efficient
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Econo Switch 7 Day Programmable Solar Timer Switch for Lights with backlit display

Solid 7 day Timer w/ Dawn/Dusk

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very nice product.
Pros:
- Sits flush with wall in standard paddle switch slot
- Easy to program
- Knows when dawn and dusk is based on pre-programmed times
Cons:
- Disables the other 3-way switch (if on a 3-way circuit)
- No battery back up so loses time/date if power loss (can reprogram in ~2 min)
Know you can set dusk to dawn, but unsure if you can set something like 1 hour after dusk and then for 4 hours. Still fiddling.
Pros: Compact, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Econo Switch 7 Day Programmable Solar Timer Switch for Lights with backlit display

Great product!!!

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was easy to install, easy to program, and looks good.
Pros: Stylish, Clear Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Econo Switch 7 Day Programmable Solar Timer Switch for Lights with backlit display
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good timer switch

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Fairly easy 2-wire installation on a single pole switch. Timer functions are simple to set with a little training. Back-lighting is a nice feature, along with the LED "On" indicator.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Econo Switch 7 Day Programmable Solar Timer Switch for Lights with backlit display
from Canon City, CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not what it is suppose to be

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I sent it back as the website did not say it had to have a 40 watt bulb so I could not use the CFL. I bought it for a CFL and told the Internet Department that the description was wrong. Make sure you look for one that states that a CFL is useable if that is what you want to use.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Econo Switch 7 Day Programmable Solar Timer Switch for Lights with backlit display
from Venice, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works great!

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product works as described. I actually timed it to see if would come on 20 minutes after sunset and it did. I would recommend this product to any of my friends. Only have used it for a month. The directions could be a little clearer for installation though.
Pros: Lots of Features, Stylish, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Econo Switch 7 Day Programmable Solar Timer Switch for Lights with backlit display
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great Timer

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You can't go wrong with this timer. Honeywell makes a great product. This is the third wired timer I've had for this same light (over 15 years) and it is by far the best. The wiring was easy and works with 2 wires, the setup is simple and intuitive and the screen is easy to read. No batteries are required, and once you've set it, you can forget it. It adjusts the clock for daylight saving time, and it is simple to program for sunset times, so you can set it for a certain amount of time post sunset. This is a great product. I don't know why this one isn't stocked in the store, because it is so superior to the ones sold in the store. Buy this timer, stop your search now.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Lots of Features, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Econo Switch 7 Day Programmable Solar Timer Switch for Lights with backlit display
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as promised, but for incandescents (alone or with fluorescents).

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Does what is promised, but I wished for certain specific features.
According to the product packaging, must have a working 40W incandescent bulb in the load to operate properly. In my application it controls a 5-bulb fixture, one of which had to be changed from fluorescent to incandescent for the above requirement. I would have liked to not require any incandescent bulbs.
As with most programmable lights, you don't want to lose the instructions, but this seems more intuitive and easier to program than most. You can set multiple schedules (I recall at least 6 as I was doing the programming), but you don't have to.
It was very convenient that this works with only 2 wires coming into the switch box, as that was all I had -- provided that the aforementioned incandescent bulb is in the light fixture this switch controls.
The sunrise/sunset feature is provided by built-in timers, not from any kind of electric eye built into the switch.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Econo Switch 7 Day Programmable Solar Timer Switch for Lights with backlit display

Works perfect!

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This switch works as designed and we love it. It was not cheap but worth the money. Just one warning. Home Depot's website said (used to say) this item would work with all lights. This switch will not run CFL's. You have to use a 40W minimum regular incandescent bulb. The good news is it will run without three wires. Works with just two wires (both black load wires).
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Econo Switch 7 Day Programmable Solar Timer Switch for Lights with backlit display
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

2 of the 3 we got didn't work at all

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Difficult to install, we had an electrician do it.
2 of the 3 we got had to be returned, defective.
They are not stocked at the store so we went with a GE alternative that was cheaper and had a random start stop feature, vastly superior.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>