728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

The unique BEMIS NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White accommodates both adult and child users equally, making it the perfect seat for all of your potty training needs. With NextStep, toddlers can use the seat with confidence, knowing it is sized to hold them, is securely attached to the toilet, and will not shift underneath them. Once your toddler no longer needs it, the child seat can be easily removed.
Overall rating:
4.268 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(127 reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product103 of 121reviews
Rating Breakdown 127 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(89)
4
(11)
3
(9)
2
(8)
1
(10)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product103 of 121reviews
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 55 Answers
Customer reviews for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Review 1 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Sarasota, FL.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Useful for helping to potty train my child

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Okay product but not too impressed with the fact that it appears to be made of particle board or some other kind of composite. It is harder and harder to find quality products made from durable materials.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from los angeles
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Weight limit/Hinge quality

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have now bought two of these seats. Same complaint as others, the child toilet seat keeps coming unhinged thus frequent helps for child to use potty. Also, if the adult is over 200lbs and wiggle a bit, the toilet seat bottom will break apart. This has happened twice in less than two months. The hinges should have been made of metal not plastic. It easily spots with lysol, windex, etc. Its been easier to just place the soft cushion character seats on top of the regualr bemis toilet seat with metal hinges. I had one for 4 years.
Pros: smooth
Cons: Quality, Performance, materials
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

great, but broke

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If I had reviewed this a few months ago, it would have been much higher. I love the toddler seat attachment. It did start scratching the main seat a little, but I can live with that. Unfortunately, the toddler seat starting becoming unattached too often. Every time my toddler would put it down, it would come off and she would need my help getting it back on (so yeah, annoying). Then the peg that holds the toddler seat broke on one side (because it was going on and off so much I'm sure). We had it less than a year. I contacted the company to see if anything can be done.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

Cool momma

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This toilet seat is pretty cool. It prevents slamming of the lid, and my favorite part is the toddler seat. Love this combo!! Very helpful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Dallas, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installs easily. Great for parents and grandparents with young children. Child's lid detaches when not needed. Well designed.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Davie, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Innovative Seat for Little KIds

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I never thought my 2 & 4 year old boys would be excited about a toilet seat. It is a great upgrade for their bathroom and allows them to sit comfortably on the toilet and also allows adults to use it as well. The seat cannot slam down either which makes it safe. We bought it just after hearing a horror story of a classmate of our 4 year old who's toilet seat slammed down on just the wrong place! Luckily, that can never happen in our kids' bathroom. Great seat.
Pros: Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Durable, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

Looks ideal but does not hold up to expectation

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I like the easy clean but it does seem to stain or show signs of wear quickly. The space saving idea for the potty seat is brilliant in theory however if it's used frequently it wears quite easily on the little tabbed hinges that snapped off one side which then led to the magnet not being strong enough to hold it in place. I have purchased two in just over a years time and this second lasted a tad longer than the first but unfortunately for the price I don't see it worth constantly replacing.
Great concept but not good for regular use.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from By BemisExpertJanuary 13, 2015By BemisExpertJanuary 13, 2015
Good Morning, eMprowess,

Thank you kindly for your feedback. First of all I would like to apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you. We are always striving to exceed our customers' expectations. In 1988, Bemis Manufacturing Company began to transition to water-based paints. Today, all molded wood seats produced at Bemis use water based paints. This environmentally friendly alternative significantly reduced volatile organic compound (VOC) emissions as illustrated below when our product was compared to imported seats. Cleaning with just a mild hand soap and water will help maintain a glossy finish to your seat while killing germs.

Bemis Manufacturing offers a one year manufacturing defect warranty that is handled through the location of purchase. Please return your defective seat to the store for immediate warranty replacement.

Regards,
Bemis Customer Servicebemis
Review 8 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from San Mateo, Ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good purchase.

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was easy to install, good quality. Easy fot the kids to use always there for them.
Pros: Looks Great, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Forney, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very simple to instal and very easy for my children to operate. Have a five and. Two year both love it. I purchased two of them one for each bathroom .
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Trumbull, CT

2 BIG issues

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
one, the magnets didn't align correctly so the baby seat attachment didn't work properly.
Second, the pre-installed screws broke after a month - now I wave to replace the whole seat.
Cons: Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stains Easily / Cannot withstand common bathroom cleaning product.

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This seat takes up stains easily. Even the Bemis website warns that urine, sweat, toilet boil cleaners, and "most bathroom cleaners" will stain the seat and lid. Bemis website warns owners not use any product that contains "bleach, aerosols, vinegar, essential oils, cleaning wipes". Common bathroom cleaners like Kaboom will cause the paint to come off on your cleaning rag. This is a $50 toilet seat for children that cannot resist urine and sweat stains and whose paint can be stripped off with common bathroom cleaners! PIECE OF JUNK!
Pros: Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Lansing, MI
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great seat, easy to install

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Closes slowly as advertised, have to be careful not to force it down. Has nice weight to it which seems to help keep it in place. Easy to detach and clean around too.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
Cons: pricey
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

Best toilet seat with toddler seat option

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This toilet seat solves the cluttering problem. It saves me getting a separate toilet seat for my toddler. It is 2-in-1 option. Great solution for us.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

A potty training must have

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wonderful product for potty training a toddler. Bought one for every toilet in the house, no more cleaning small potties!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

Built in toddler potty

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought a Bemis toilet seat for my current apartment. I like the soft close. I bought a brand new toilet for my new house, but purchased this seat right away. This is my toddlers main bathroom and I wanted a built-in potty seat. When you lift the lid the kid's seat lifts too. It is held by a magnet. This is convienient for adults and guests that may also use the toilet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

Awesome!

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We used to have to pull our Elmo kids seat insert out of the cabinet each time. This is brilliant. The seat is built-in to the upper lid and held in place with a magnet. All you do is pull it down when you want to use it, otherwise any normal adult using the toilet would probably not even notice it has a toddler seat built-in. This one is expensive, but is the only one I have found with the slow close lid. All you do is pull it past verical and it has some kind of shocks in it that lets it down real slow...also preventing loud lid slams and smashed fingers!
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Absolute a waste of money.

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
An absolute waste of money. Children's part broke in two weeks, whole seat fell apart in a couple of months. Very poor quality plastic connections and material was used. DO NOT BUY IT
Pros: Looks Great, good idea
Cons: Quality, easily breakable, waste of money
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from North Texas
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great product!

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So easy to install, tough and durable, and easy to clean and use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Solid, Durable, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

Sooooo much better than the seats you hang on the wall

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was a quick 5 minute install, and we don't have to have one of those nasty potty seats on the floor that we have to empty every time, or one that goes off and on our full size toilet, and has something to hang it on the wall when not in use. Who wants that hanging on their bathroom wall? Anyway, bought a second one after we decided the first was working.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Pensylvannia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Wish I read the reveiws

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this seat about a year ago it seemed like a good deal because we have 5 children (all boys) and I was tired of the slamming of the seat as well as trying to clean under the seat and its attachments. Recently there has been all sorts of problems. My 4 year old is constantly calling me in to help him because the potty seat came off again. Then I notice a weird discoloration on the bottom side of the seat that wouldn't come clean even with bleach.Then this morning the regular seat just cracked in half. I was really upset because we paid quite a bit for this seat to have so many things go wrong. I'm hoping to find a similar seat made out of better materials.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>