728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

The unique BEMIS NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White accommodates both adult and child users equally, making it the perfect seat for all of your potty training needs. With NextStep, toddlers can use the seat with confidence, knowing it is sized to hold them, is securely attached to the toilet, and will not shift underneath them. Once your toddler no longer needs it, the child seat can be easily removed.
Overall rating:
4.275 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(91 reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product72 of 86reviews
Rating Breakdown 91 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(64)
4
(8)
3
(6)
2
(6)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product72 of 86reviews
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer reviews for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Review 1 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Forney, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very simple to instal and very easy for my children to operate. Have a five and. Two year both love it. I purchased two of them one for each bathroom .
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

great, but broke

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If I had reviewed this a few months ago, it would have been much higher. I love the toddler seat attachment. It did start scratching the main seat a little, but I can live with that. Unfortunately, the toddler seat starting becoming unattached too often. Every time my toddler would put it down, it would come off and she would need my help getting it back on (so yeah, annoying). Then the peg that holds the toddler seat broke on one side (because it was going on and off so much I'm sure). We had it less than a year. I contacted the company to see if anything can be done.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase, Great Results

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great for potty training. This the third seat we have purchased for grandkids. They like it and more importantly use it. Great price and greats results back home. Hard to beat that.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Gainesville, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best purchase ever

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quick and easy installation. Works very well, grandson adapted to it quickly. Makes potty training a lot easier for a 2 1/2 year old boy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Brilliant!

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Absolutely LOVE this product! Smart, sturdy, and easy to install. Kid seat can come off when kids are done potty-training, then it looks like a regular toilet seat. Slow close seat & lid--also a nice safety feature. Kid seat has a strong magnet that keeps it connected to the lid unless you pull it down. LOVE this seat!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Trumbull, CT

2 BIG issues

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
one, the magnets didn't align correctly so the baby seat attachment didn't work properly.
Second, the pre-installed screws broke after a month - now I wave to replace the whole seat.
Cons: Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Apache Junction, AZ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love this product!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love that the child seat is built in out of the way. It closes so quietly. Love the product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Houston
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Greaf Product!!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install and my son likes it. Very happy with this purchase.
Pros: Easy to Install, Durable, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

Damping is degrading quickly

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We installed this in our spare bathroom for our future children, so the child seat function has not been used yet. However, after less than a year with minimal usage, the slow-close damping is starting to degrade. The lid drops much faster now, and every once in a while, it slams down. I'm not sure how much longer this will slow-close. The other 2 seats we installed in the house at the same time still work great. I would not spend the extra money for this child seat feature if you really want the slow-close.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for little kids

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The kids love the seat and we love that it closes quietly!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Simple to use

PostedJune 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My children have no problems using the seat. The size of the kids seat is perfect. Now I don't have to worry about throwing a seat on top of the toilet seat for the kids to use the potty.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Pensylvannia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Wish I read the reveiws

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this seat about a year ago it seemed like a good deal because we have 5 children (all boys) and I was tired of the slamming of the seat as well as trying to clean under the seat and its attachments. Recently there has been all sorts of problems. My 4 year old is constantly calling me in to help him because the potty seat came off again. Then I notice a weird discoloration on the bottom side of the seat that wouldn't come clean even with bleach.Then this morning the regular seat just cracked in half. I was really upset because we paid quite a bit for this seat to have so many things go wrong. I'm hoping to find a similar seat made out of better materials.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Vacaville, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great features

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My grandson love it!!!!! my brother going to buy one for his house
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Comfortable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Absolute a waste of money.

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
An absolute waste of money. Children's part broke in two weeks, whole seat fell apart in a couple of months. Very poor quality plastic connections and material was used. DO NOT BUY IT
Pros: Looks Great, good idea
Cons: Quality, easily breakable, waste of money
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

Awesome!

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used to have to pull our Elmo kids seat insert out of the cabinet each time. This is brilliant. The seat is built-in to the upper lid and held in place with a magnet. All you do is pull it down when you want to use it, otherwise any normal adult using the toilet would probably not even notice it has a toddler seat built-in. This one is expensive, but is the only one I have found with the slow close lid. All you do is pull it past verical and it has some kind of shocks in it that lets it down real slow...also preventing loud lid slams and smashed fingers!
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

Sooooo much better than the seats you hang on the wall

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a quick 5 minute install, and we don't have to have one of those nasty potty seats on the floor that we have to empty every time, or one that goes off and on our full size toilet, and has something to hang it on the wall when not in use. Who wants that hanging on their bathroom wall? Anyway, bought a second one after we decided the first was working.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Wytheville, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

issue with screws getting stripped

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great concept, just poorly made. Screws on one of the hinges came off after 3 months of use. (No one in our household weighs more than 180 lbs). Just fixed it today with some oversize screws and some construction adhesive (power grab). Will continue using it, and will sit cautiously and carefully...next time it's going to the dump and I'll try a different brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Green Bay, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, very durable and quite

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to understand directions and to install, took under 10 minutes. My toddler likes that she can now sit on the big potty with the small insert. I love the no slam lid and the construction is very sturdy so I can sit on the toilet closed and watch my daughter in the bath!
Pros: Looks Great, Comfortable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hinges on child seat portion breaks very quickly.

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A great idea if it lasted more than a couple months.
My old toilet seat was from AS, 10 years old and cost 20 bucks and was still fine to use.
Bought this to save floor space and ease for my daughter in training.
As others mention the child seat hinge portion wears to the point where I have to reconnect it after it is pulled from the magnet as my daughter doesn't have the dexterity for that yet.
The adult seat quality seems okay, but after a few months it's a very expensive broken adult toilet seat.
Do yourself a favor and get a good quality seat and a regular child potty seat to sit on top. It will cost less, work better and is portable to other bathrooms or locations. It would however take up floor room when not in use.
Pros: nice idea if it didn't break quickly.
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Use, Maintenance, breaks quickly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Denver, Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If only it lasted...

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
At the time I bought this, Home Depot did not carry it, so I purchased it from another store - seemed like a great idea for us grandparents to have when the little ones came to visit. It lasted a little over year, when in the course of a week, neither the adult seat, the child seat, or even the lid would stay up. Actually it would stay up for second or 2, giving the male child or adult user a false sense of security, until it came crashing down, interrupting him in an embarrassing and potentially painful way! Other reviewers have indicated here that it broke in less than a year. No, I do not recommend this toilet seat. Now, off to Home Depot to buy another brand... (Will read the reviews this time!)
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: Quality, Performance, potentially dangerous for small children, does not last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>