728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

The unique BEMIS NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White accommodates both adult and child users equally, making it the perfect seat for all of your potty training needs. With NextStep, toddlers can use the seat with confidence, knowing it is sized to hold them, is securely attached to the toilet, and will not shift underneath them. Once your toddler no longer needs it, the child seat can be easily removed.
Overall rating:
4.248 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(109 reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product87 of 103reviews
Rating Breakdown 109 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(76)
4
(9)
3
(8)
2
(7)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product87 of 103reviews
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 49 Answers
Customer reviews for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Review 1 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stains Easily / Cannot withstand common bathroom cleaning product.

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This seat takes up stains easily. Even the Bemis website warns that urine, sweat, toilet boil cleaners, and "most bathroom cleaners" will stain the seat and lid. Bemis website warns owners not use any product that contains "bleach, aerosols, vinegar, essential oils, cleaning wipes". Common bathroom cleaners like Kaboom will cause the paint to come off on your cleaning rag. This is a $50 toilet seat for children that cannot resist urine and sweat stains and whose paint can be stripped off with common bathroom cleaners! PIECE OF JUNK!
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Forney, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very simple to instal and very easy for my children to operate. Have a five and. Two year both love it. I purchased two of them one for each bathroom .
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Hartford, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great quality and unique features

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This seat knocks it out of the park:
1) Strong enough to stand on the lid and it doesn't flex a bit.
2) Quick-release locks for thorough cleaning.
3) Child seat is held out of the way magnetically and can be popped off when not needed or for cleaning.
4) Soft close doesn't slam.
Yes, I'm going on & on about a toilet seat... it's THAT GOOD. Sturdy, attractive, functional. Everything should be made so well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Solid, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Cary, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product idea, poor finished product

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this product if you have a child potty training or just after potty training phase. It works great and our kids love using it. It saves us the time of cleaning out a 2nd potty or even putting an extension seat on our toilets. Huge time & mess saver. I recommend getting it. Installation is a breeze and so simple.
The drawback is it's finish. I purchased 2 toilets and after I took them out of the box they both had chipped paint all over. Seats come in a complete cardboard box so you don't get to see the seat until you open it up. The chips were in random and hard to see spots so I didn't worry about returning. Plus my kids will undoubtedly destroy them over time anyway. But if you're looking for something to be flawless I've gone 2 for 2 on opening up a 'damaged' seat. That's why I say the quality is poor, and that leads the cost/ value to not be very good as well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Use of Space
Cons: Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Holland, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love It

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this seat for my 2 year old little girl who wanted to potty train. I love the soft-close feature and the size is perfect for her. My two other children, ages 7 and 5, do not need the potty seat, and everyone can easily figure out how to use the "baby" part (even the 2 yo). Also, when the baby seat is in the lid, it doesn't bother anyone using the regular seat. Cleaning the seats are easy and we haven't had any issues with damage from cleaning products. However, the only reason I didn't give the seat a 5 was because after 4 months of use, the baby seat leaves scratches on the big seat, so eventually I will need to buy another seat.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well
Cons: baby seat scratches big seat
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

great, but broke

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If I had reviewed this a few months ago, it would have been much higher. I love the toddler seat attachment. It did start scratching the main seat a little, but I can live with that. Unfortunately, the toddler seat starting becoming unattached too often. Every time my toddler would put it down, it would come off and she would need my help getting it back on (so yeah, annoying). Then the peg that holds the toddler seat broke on one side (because it was going on and off so much I'm sure). We had it less than a year. I contacted the company to see if anything can be done.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

Do not buy this

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to install... However, soft plastic nuts broke. Child attachment hinges broke in 5 minutes!!! Very bad low quality material. Super glued hinges back. Hope kids can still use it. How hard is it to make the connections metal? The thing costs enough!
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Miami, Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best toilet seat

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this toilet seat, it's super comfortable and my two kids love it too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Trumbull, CT

2 BIG issues

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
one, the magnets didn't align correctly so the baby seat attachment didn't work properly.
Second, the pre-installed screws broke after a month - now I wave to replace the whole seat.
Cons: Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from lodi calif
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

love it!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
it was hard to find but loved the first one I bought and wanted one for my other bathroom.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Cincinnati, OH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Potty Seat for Little Ones!!

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was tired of using the standard old potty seat that just sits on top of the toilet seat and having to rinse it off after every use and remove it every time an adult had to use the toilet. This is the perfect solution for my potty training toddler! It was incredibly easy to install and no more fussing with the removable seats. Highly recommend!
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Modern, Durable, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Pensylvannia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Wish I read the reveiws

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this seat about a year ago it seemed like a good deal because we have 5 children (all boys) and I was tired of the slamming of the seat as well as trying to clean under the seat and its attachments. Recently there has been all sorts of problems. My 4 year old is constantly calling me in to help him because the potty seat came off again. Then I notice a weird discoloration on the bottom side of the seat that wouldn't come clean even with bleach.Then this morning the regular seat just cracked in half. I was really upset because we paid quite a bit for this seat to have so many things go wrong. I'm hoping to find a similar seat made out of better materials.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

Amazing

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got this for our 2 year old. She can go potty all by herself with this great product. The magnet keeps the child seat stuck to the lid for great convenience when adults are using it. Great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

Damping is degrading quickly

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We installed this in our spare bathroom for our future children, so the child seat function has not been used yet. However, after less than a year with minimal usage, the slow-close damping is starting to degrade. The lid drops much faster now, and every once in a while, it slams down. I'm not sure how much longer this will slow-close. The other 2 seats we installed in the house at the same time still work great. I would not spend the extra money for this child seat feature if you really want the slow-close.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Performance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Sevierville, Tennessee
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for our two year old son!

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This seat is perfect for our 2 year old. The easy close lid keeps him from dropping the lid and smashing his fingers. He loves being a big boy sitting on the big boy toilet.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

The perfect toilet seat if you have little kids

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This toilet seat is worth every penny! It looks great, the soft close prevents my kids from slamming it closed unintentionally, and the seat automatically hides the child size seat every time it closes. I highly recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Absolute a waste of money.

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
An absolute waste of money. Children's part broke in two weeks, whole seat fell apart in a couple of months. Very poor quality plastic connections and material was used. DO NOT BUY IT
Pros: Looks Great, good idea
Cons: Quality, easily breakable, waste of money
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

Excellent Product!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install and it works wonderfully! Preferable to any potty-seat we've used.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Use of Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Brilliant!

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Absolutely LOVE this product! Smart, sturdy, and easy to install. Kid seat can come off when kids are done potty-training, then it looks like a regular toilet seat. Slow close seat & lid--also a nice safety feature. Kid seat has a strong magnet that keeps it connected to the lid unless you pull it down. LOVE this seat!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from SAN LORENZO P.R.
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

n/a

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is very good and the modern and attractive
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Modern, Durable, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>