728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilet Seats or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

The unique BEMIS NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White accommodates both adult and child users equally, making it the perfect seat for all of your potty training needs. With NextStep, toddlers can use the seat with confidence, knowing it is sized to hold them, is securely attached to the toilet, and will not shift underneath them. Once your toddler no longer needs it, the child seat can be easily removed.
Overall rating:
4.319 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(138 reviews) 138
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product114 of 132reviews
Rating Breakdown 138 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(99)
4
(12)
3
(9)
2
(8)
1
(10)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product114 of 132reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 60 Answers
Customer reviews for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Review 1 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Farmington Hills
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

So very convenient!

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
What a pleasure not having to attach/remove a child's potty seat and have a soft close feature, too. Saves so much space and the soft close itself, is well worth the price! Easy to clean...it's a winner!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Use of Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Syracuse NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for potty training

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was so easy to install ( it just took a few minutes) and perfect for our grandson . It was so easy for him to use the toilet independently and he felt safe to use it because it wasn't wobbly . The best part it closes quietly and doesn't slam shut.
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Solid, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

great, but broke

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If I had reviewed this a few months ago, it would have been much higher. I love the toddler seat attachment. It did start scratching the main seat a little, but I can live with that. Unfortunately, the toddler seat starting becoming unattached too often. Every time my toddler would put it down, it would come off and she would need my help getting it back on (so yeah, annoying). Then the peg that holds the toddler seat broke on one side (because it was going on and off so much I'm sure). We had it less than a year. I contacted the company to see if anything can be done.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Annapolis, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best toilet training/toddler seat!

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have used both the round and oval seats, both are the best toilet training seats and continue to be perfect for toddlers. It's so easy for them to use. Highly recommend!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

Best seats for 3 & 4 year old!

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love these seats! Bought 2 for my boys' bathrooms and love them! Very easy to install and completely worth the price!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Mesa, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easiest installation ever!

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Right from the box-all pieces were contained in their own bags. I was skeptical about the plastic bolts holding the seat to the bowl, but they are torque type fittings and snap off at the correct setting. Very good idea.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Durable, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from idaho
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful product

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was very easy to install. The little seat fits right into the lid.I highly recommend this seat.I cant say enough about how much I love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Solid, Comfortable, Good Use of Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Sarasota, FL.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Useful for helping to potty train my child

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Okay product but not too impressed with the fact that it appears to be made of particle board or some other kind of composite. It is harder and harder to find quality products made from durable materials.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stains Easily / Cannot withstand common bathroom cleaning product.

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This seat takes up stains easily. Even the Bemis website warns that urine, sweat, toilet boil cleaners, and "most bathroom cleaners" will stain the seat and lid. Bemis website warns owners not use any product that contains "bleach, aerosols, vinegar, essential oils, cleaning wipes". Common bathroom cleaners like Kaboom will cause the paint to come off on your cleaning rag. This is a $50 toilet seat for children that cannot resist urine and sweat stains and whose paint can be stripped off with common bathroom cleaners! PIECE OF JUNK!
Pros: Easy to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from los angeles
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Weight limit/Hinge quality

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have now bought two of these seats. Same complaint as others, the child toilet seat keeps coming unhinged thus frequent helps for child to use potty. Also, if the adult is over 200lbs and wiggle a bit, the toilet seat bottom will break apart. This has happened twice in less than two months. The hinges should have been made of metal not plastic. It easily spots with lysol, windex, etc. Its been easier to just place the soft cushion character seats on top of the regualr bemis toilet seat with metal hinges. I had one for 4 years.
Pros: smooth
Cons: Quality, Performance, materials
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Forney, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very simple to instal and very easy for my children to operate. Have a five and. Two year both love it. I purchased two of them one for each bathroom .
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from cleveland ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

best product

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
it was so easy to install and took very little time to put it on
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Solid, Durable, Easy to Clean, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Lehi, UT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My Two Year Old Thinks It's Awesome

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this seat as we have entered the potty training phase with my two year old. He thinks its awesome that he has a seat sized up just for him. The soft close feature works great and installation is a piece of cake, I believe it took me about five minutes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Stafford, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nephew Loves this potty seat!

PostedMay 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Anything to help with potty training is good! I bought this for my nephew and they installed it on the downstairs toilet. He won't even consider using the upstairs toilet that has the regular seat.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Trumbull, CT

2 BIG issues

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
one, the magnets didn't align correctly so the baby seat attachment didn't work properly.
Second, the pre-installed screws broke after a month - now I wave to replace the whole seat.
Cons: Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

Looks ideal but does not hold up to expectation

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I like the easy clean but it does seem to stain or show signs of wear quickly. The space saving idea for the potty seat is brilliant in theory however if it's used frequently it wears quite easily on the little tabbed hinges that snapped off one side which then led to the magnet not being strong enough to hold it in place. I have purchased two in just over a years time and this second lasted a tad longer than the first but unfortunately for the price I don't see it worth constantly replacing.
Great concept but not good for regular use.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from By BemisExpertJanuary 13, 2015By BemisExpertJanuary 13, 2015
Good Morning, eMprowess,

Thank you kindly for your feedback. First of all I would like to apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you. We are always striving to exceed our customers' expectations. In 1988, Bemis Manufacturing Company began to transition to water-based paints. Today, all molded wood seats produced at Bemis use water based paints. This environmentally friendly alternative significantly reduced volatile organic compound (VOC) emissions as illustrated below when our product was compared to imported seats. Cleaning with just a mild hand soap and water will help maintain a glossy finish to your seat while killing germs.

Bemis Manufacturing offers a one year manufacturing defect warranty that is handled through the location of purchase. Please return your defective seat to the store for immediate warranty replacement.

Regards,
Bemis Customer Servicebemis
Review 17 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

Awesome!

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We used to have to pull our Elmo kids seat insert out of the cabinet each time. This is brilliant. The seat is built-in to the upper lid and held in place with a magnet. All you do is pull it down when you want to use it, otherwise any normal adult using the toilet would probably not even notice it has a toddler seat built-in. This one is expensive, but is the only one I have found with the slow close lid. All you do is pull it past verical and it has some kind of shocks in it that lets it down real slow...also preventing loud lid slams and smashed fingers!
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Corpus Christi, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent product

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this toilet seat just before potty training my son. It's so much more convenient than setting down the cushion seat we already had, every single time my son had to go.
Installation was a breeze as well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Durable, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Good Use of Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Absolute a waste of money.

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
An absolute waste of money. Children's part broke in two weeks, whole seat fell apart in a couple of months. Very poor quality plastic connections and material was used. DO NOT BUY IT
Pros: Looks Great, good idea
Cons: Quality, easily breakable, waste of money
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Southern California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

An excellent potty training supplement

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Although the potty seat is plastic (while the rest of the seat is wood), it doesn't have the slow closing mechanism like the cover. Also, because it's plastic, the connections are frail and will easily break. The first toilet seat I received had a broken hinge connection.
Contacting customer service was easy and excellent. They merely suggested to go back to the vendor to exchange the seat cover. The wood seat and cover are sturdy and has a nice, clean, smooth finish. It's easy to remove and clean the toilet with the twist locks. The recessed depression cut into the wooden toilet seat coupled with the magnet allows the potty insert to recess into the seat, thereby making it flush and easy to conceal. This allows adults and the child to easily switch use without removing the potty seat hanging somewhere nearby (causing an accessibility issue for a child in a rush). It's also a handy feature for those with smaller bathrooms with less storage space.
My child sometimes forgot to pull down the potty seat cover, but after some learning experiences, he remembers now. This seat cover makes it much easier for him to be self-sufficient in going to the bathroom on his own.
I would recommend this product to others and hope the product lasts long enough for him to complete his training.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Good Use of Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>