728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

The unique BEMIS NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White accommodates both adult and child users equally, making it the perfect seat for all of your potty training needs. With NextStep, toddlers can use the seat with confidence, knowing it is sized to hold them, is securely attached to the toilet, and will not shift underneath them. Once your toddler no longer needs it, the child seat can be easily removed.
Overall rating:
4.21 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(100 reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product78 of 94reviews
Rating Breakdown 100 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(69)
4
(8)
3
(7)
2
(7)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product78 of 94reviews
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer reviews for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Review 1 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Forney, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very simple to instal and very easy for my children to operate. Have a five and. Two year both love it. I purchased two of them one for each bathroom .
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stains Easily / Cannot withstand common bathroom cleaning product.

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This seat takes up stains easily. Even the Bemis website warns that urine, sweat, toilet boil cleaners, and "most bathroom cleaners" will stain the seat and lid. Bemis website warns owners not use any product that contains "bleach, aerosols, vinegar, essential oils, cleaning wipes". Common bathroom cleaners like Kaboom will cause the paint to come off on your cleaning rag. This is a $50 toilet seat for children that cannot resist urine and sweat stains and whose paint can be stripped off with common bathroom cleaners! PIECE OF JUNK!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Hartford, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great quality and unique features

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This seat knocks it out of the park:
1) Strong enough to stand on the lid and it doesn't flex a bit.
2) Quick-release locks for thorough cleaning.
3) Child seat is held out of the way magnetically and can be popped off when not needed or for cleaning.
4) Soft close doesn't slam.
Yes, I'm going on & on about a toilet seat... it's THAT GOOD. Sturdy, attractive, functional. Everything should be made so well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Solid, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Cary, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product idea, poor finished product

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this product if you have a child potty training or just after potty training phase. It works great and our kids love using it. It saves us the time of cleaning out a 2nd potty or even putting an extension seat on our toilets. Huge time & mess saver. I recommend getting it. Installation is a breeze and so simple.
The drawback is it's finish. I purchased 2 toilets and after I took them out of the box they both had chipped paint all over. Seats come in a complete cardboard box so you don't get to see the seat until you open it up. The chips were in random and hard to see spots so I didn't worry about returning. Plus my kids will undoubtedly destroy them over time anyway. But if you're looking for something to be flawless I've gone 2 for 2 on opening up a 'damaged' seat. That's why I say the quality is poor, and that leads the cost/ value to not be very good as well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Use of Space
Cons: Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

great, but broke

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If I had reviewed this a few months ago, it would have been much higher. I love the toddler seat attachment. It did start scratching the main seat a little, but I can live with that. Unfortunately, the toddler seat starting becoming unattached too often. Every time my toddler would put it down, it would come off and she would need my help getting it back on (so yeah, annoying). Then the peg that holds the toddler seat broke on one side (because it was going on and off so much I'm sure). We had it less than a year. I contacted the company to see if anything can be done.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

The perfect toilet seat if you have little kids

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This toilet seat is worth every penny! It looks great, the soft close prevents my kids from slamming it closed unintentionally, and the seat automatically hides the child size seat every time it closes. I highly recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

Do not buy this

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to install... However, soft plastic nuts broke. Child attachment hinges broke in 5 minutes!!! Very bad low quality material. Super glued hinges back. Hope kids can still use it. How hard is it to make the connections metal? The thing costs enough!
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

Excellent Product!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install and it works wonderfully! Preferable to any potty-seat we've used.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Use of Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from SAN LORENZO P.R.
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

n/a

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is very good and the modern and attractive
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Modern, Durable, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Brilliant!

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Absolutely LOVE this product! Smart, sturdy, and easy to install. Kid seat can come off when kids are done potty-training, then it looks like a regular toilet seat. Slow close seat & lid--also a nice safety feature. Kid seat has a strong magnet that keeps it connected to the lid unless you pull it down. LOVE this seat!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase, Great Results

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great for potty training. This the third seat we have purchased for grandkids. They like it and more importantly use it. Great price and greats results back home. Hard to beat that.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Trumbull, CT

2 BIG issues

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
one, the magnets didn't align correctly so the baby seat attachment didn't work properly.
Second, the pre-installed screws broke after a month - now I wave to replace the whole seat.
Cons: Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Gainesville, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best purchase ever

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quick and easy installation. Works very well, grandson adapted to it quickly. Makes potty training a lot easier for a 2 1/2 year old boy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Apache Junction, AZ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love this product!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love that the child seat is built in out of the way. It closes so quietly. Love the product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Absolute a waste of money.

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
An absolute waste of money. Children's part broke in two weeks, whole seat fell apart in a couple of months. Very poor quality plastic connections and material was used. DO NOT BUY IT
Pros: Looks Great, good idea
Cons: Quality, easily breakable, waste of money
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Pensylvannia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Wish I read the reveiws

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this seat about a year ago it seemed like a good deal because we have 5 children (all boys) and I was tired of the slamming of the seat as well as trying to clean under the seat and its attachments. Recently there has been all sorts of problems. My 4 year old is constantly calling me in to help him because the potty seat came off again. Then I notice a weird discoloration on the bottom side of the seat that wouldn't come clean even with bleach.Then this morning the regular seat just cracked in half. I was really upset because we paid quite a bit for this seat to have so many things go wrong. I'm hoping to find a similar seat made out of better materials.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
from Houston
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Greaf Product!!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install and my son likes it. Very happy with this purchase.
Pros: Easy to Install, Durable, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

Damping is degrading quickly

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We installed this in our spare bathroom for our future children, so the child seat function has not been used yet. However, after less than a year with minimal usage, the slow-close damping is starting to degrade. The lid drops much faster now, and every once in a while, it slams down. I'm not sure how much longer this will slow-close. The other 2 seats we installed in the house at the same time still work great. I would not spend the extra money for this child seat feature if you really want the slow-close.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for little kids

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The kids love the seat and we love that it closes quietly!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Simple to use

PostedJune 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My children have no problems using the seat. The size of the kids seat is perfect. Now I don't have to worry about throwing a seat on top of the toilet seat for the kids to use the potty.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>