728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

The unique BEMIS NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White accommodates both adult and child users equally, making it the perfect seat for all of your potty training needs. With NextStep, toddlers can use the seat with confidence, knowing it is sized to hold them, is securely attached to the toilet, and will not shift underneath them. Once your toddler no longer needs it, the child seat can be easily removed.
Overall rating:
4.228 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(79 reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product61 of 74reviews
Rating Breakdown 79 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(55)
4
(7)
3
(4)
2
(6)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product61 of 74reviews
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer reviews for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Review 1 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Jill
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Brilliant!

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Absolutely LOVE this product! Smart, sturdy, and easy to install. Kid seat can come off when kids are done potty-training, then it looks like a regular toilet seat. Slow close seat & lid--also a nice safety feature. Kid seat has a strong magnet that keeps it connected to the lid unless you pull it down. LOVE this seat!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
AlonS
from Trumbull, CT

2 BIG issues

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
one, the magnets didn't align correctly so the baby seat attachment didn't work properly.
Second, the pre-installed screws broke after a month - now I wave to replace the whole seat.
Cons: Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
customer0909

great, but broke

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If I had reviewed this a few months ago, it would have been much higher. I love the toddler seat attachment. It did start scratching the main seat a little, but I can live with that. Unfortunately, the toddler seat starting becoming unattached too often. Every time my toddler would put it down, it would come off and she would need my help getting it back on (so yeah, annoying). Then the peg that holds the toddler seat broke on one side (because it was going on and off so much I'm sure). We had it less than a year. I contacted the company to see if anything can be done.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Sandee
from Pensylvannia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Wish I read the reveiws

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this seat about a year ago it seemed like a good deal because we have 5 children (all boys) and I was tired of the slamming of the seat as well as trying to clean under the seat and its attachments. Recently there has been all sorts of problems. My 4 year old is constantly calling me in to help him because the potty seat came off again. Then I notice a weird discoloration on the bottom side of the seat that wouldn't come clean even with bleach.Then this morning the regular seat just cracked in half. I was really upset because we paid quite a bit for this seat to have so many things go wrong. I'm hoping to find a similar seat made out of better materials.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
loggdogg
from Wytheville, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

issue with screws getting stripped

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great concept, just poorly made. Screws on one of the hinges came off after 3 months of use. (No one in our household weighs more than 180 lbs). Just fixed it today with some oversize screws and some construction adhesive (power grab). Will continue using it, and will sit cautiously and carefully...next time it's going to the dump and I'll try a different brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
bio551
from Green Bay, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, very durable and quite

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to understand directions and to install, took under 10 minutes. My toddler likes that she can now sit on the big potty with the small insert. I love the no slam lid and the construction is very sturdy so I can sit on the toilet closed and watch my daughter in the bath!
Pros: Looks Great, Comfortable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Ted7755
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install - Looks great

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Solid structurally - Good fit - Easy to follow instructions - Would recommend
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Solid, Durable, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
JRod
from New Hampshire, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If you have toddlers you will love the seat

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use, My 2 year old pulls down the small seat by her self. When she is done you close the cover and the magnet pulls the toddler seat up with it. You will never have a problem with losing your training seat.
I have told my day care and every parent I know about this seat. It cost a few dollars more than an normal toilet seat, but if you have a 28 month girl and a 8 mouth old boy it pays for it self really quickly
Pros: Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Durable, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Fira
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Absolute a waste of money.

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
An absolute waste of money. Children's part broke in two weeks, whole seat fell apart in a couple of months. Very poor quality plastic connections and material was used. DO NOT BUY IT
Pros: Looks Great, good idea
Cons: Quality, easily breakable, waste of money
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
schlichtster
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Adult/Child Toilet Seat wonder

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installs easy.1-2-3. No more child seat attachments for toilet seat is best part of product.
Easy to use. Best of all, my 4 year old twin girls love it and have no problem using! This was a replacement for a broken seat. Didn't even know there was such a seat. Very Pleased and happy we found.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, child friendly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
John
from Denver, Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If only it lasted...

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
At the time I bought this, Home Depot did not carry it, so I purchased it from another store - seemed like a great idea for us grandparents to have when the little ones came to visit. It lasted a little over year, when in the course of a week, neither the adult seat, the child seat, or even the lid would stay up. Actually it would stay up for second or 2, giving the male child or adult user a false sense of security, until it came crashing down, interrupting him in an embarrassing and potentially painful way! Other reviewers have indicated here that it broke in less than a year. No, I do not recommend this toilet seat. Now, off to Home Depot to buy another brand... (Will read the reviews this time!)
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: Quality, Performance, potentially dangerous for small children, does not last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Lmo27
from Ca
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good concept but not built great

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The seat is a great concept and easy for my 4 year old to manage herself. We have been using it about 1 and a half years and the little white peg that attaches the child seat the the adult seat broke off so it's not usable. I read it has a 1 year warranty but seems expensive for a seat that may break after 1 year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Mario
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hinges on child seat portion breaks very quickly.

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A great idea if it lasted more than a couple months.
My old toilet seat was from AS, 10 years old and cost 20 bucks and was still fine to use.
Bought this to save floor space and ease for my daughter in training.
As others mention the child seat hinge portion wears to the point where I have to reconnect it after it is pulled from the magnet as my daughter doesn't have the dexterity for that yet.
The adult seat quality seems okay, but after a few months it's a very expensive broken adult toilet seat.
Do yourself a favor and get a good quality seat and a regular child potty seat to sit on top. It will cost less, work better and is portable to other bathrooms or locations. It would however take up floor room when not in use.
Pros: nice idea if it didn't break quickly.
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Use, Maintenance, breaks quickly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Anonymous

Sooooo much better than the seats you hang on the wall

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a quick 5 minute install, and we don't have to have one of those nasty potty seats on the floor that we have to empty every time, or one that goes off and on our full size toilet, and has something to hang it on the wall when not in use. Who wants that hanging on their bathroom wall? Anyway, bought a second one after we decided the first was working.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Allatoona

Awesome!

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used to have to pull our Elmo kids seat insert out of the cabinet each time. This is brilliant. The seat is built-in to the upper lid and held in place with a magnet. All you do is pull it down when you want to use it, otherwise any normal adult using the toilet would probably not even notice it has a toddler seat built-in. This one is expensive, but is the only one I have found with the slow close lid. All you do is pull it past verical and it has some kind of shocks in it that lets it down real slow...also preventing loud lid slams and smashed fingers!
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
decergio

Great item

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install and works great. My three year old loves in and the slow close feature will help prevent any injuries from a falling toilet seat.
Pros: Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Solid, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Nan1
from Northville, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Enjoying the GO

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This seat is well made and stays in place. My granddaughter is enjoying 'the go'. When she is not here, I also enjoy 'the go' on my new seat.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Great Value, Comfortable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Nana78
from Phoenix, AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Idea

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this for use with my grand daughter thought it was a good thing because, we wouldn't have to have an extra potty in the bathroom. The small seat broke off after only 3-4 uses. I was very disappointed
returned it and bought a regular seat and potty chair. Hope one of the other company come out with a better quality one.
Cons: Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
Scott963
from Detroit
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

work great

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had one of these over a year, and it still closes slow. I am 6'3" and 280 lbs., and it has not come loose. My wife and daughter had a plastic seat that kept coming loose, even with add-on tighteners, so I recently switched theirs. Having some small nephews, it is nice to be able to just snap in a kids size seat, then remove it when they leave.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Solid, Durable, Easy to Clean, Depth, Comfortable, High Quality, Reliable, stays tight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NextStep Elongated Closed Front Toilet Seat in White
user

i love this product!

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I researched a lot of potty chairs and my husband wanted an insert little potty for our 2 year old. This one is sturdy, easy to install, my 21/2 year old can sit on it independently. It has a magnet to fasten the little seat to the lid, which is great because my son can lower it by himself. Others have a lock which is difficult for kids. The slow hinge is perfect and works great! I have 2 of them.
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Solid, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Reliable
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>