728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

This patio door track cover is constructed from stainless steel. It is used as a repair part for damaged or badly worn tracks. This track measures 8 ft. and can be cut to any length to fit your door.
Overall rating:
4.706 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(204 reviews) 204
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product190 of 197reviews
Rating Breakdown 204 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(166)
4
(28)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product190 of 197reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 51 Answers
Customer reviews for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
Review 1 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Fallbrook, CA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

24 year old sliding glass door rolls like new

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Could not be happier with this purchase. The product arrived much sooner than expected. Price was as good as I could find anywhere online.
I included a picture of the rail installed in the door track. The close-up photo shows how worn out the old aluminum frame is. The aluminum track is heavily worn with some flat spots. When the rollers on the bottom of the door would hit the flat spots, the bottom of the door would drop and drag on the frame. This made the door very difficult to slide open or close.
I had to cut about two feet off the rail (easy enough using a hacksaw) to fit the door frame. It was a little tricky getting a six-foot long rail into place over the old track with its flat spots, but it was accomplished using a hammer and wood block to snap the rail into place. With a few adjustments to the height of the rollers on the door after it was reinstalled on the track, the door started sliding back and forth like a new door.
I expect the stainless steel track rail will be much more durable than the old aluminum track and I don't think I will have to repair this track again. Total cost on repairing the track was less than $15, which is far less than the almost $1800 than Home Depot's competitor wanted to charge for replacing the entire door and frame. Home Depot's competitor did not have this repair part available in store or online and the store personnel did not know this repair option was available. To be fair, Home Depot's staff also did not know this repair part was available, but at least the part was available through Home Depot online.
Thank you to Home Depot for having such oddball and hard to find repair parts available at excellent prices. I appreciate that a lot. In this case, I saved a lot of money making a simple repair rather than having to replace the old sliding glass door and frame.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Moorpark, CA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, what a relief!

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My old track looked like a roller coaster with dips and wear spots making the door a challenge to open and close. This new track was an easy fix to an otherwise expensive option, like buying a new door which I could not afford. I just cleaned the old track area using a wire brush and soap and water. The new track went on easy with a rubber hammer careful not to damage the new track. Minor adjustment on the rollers and I was done. What a great fix til I can afford a new door.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Fits in Various Rooms, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Royal Palm Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick easy repair

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product was so easy to install. WE were having trouble closing our sliding glass door because of waves and dips in our track that the rollers slide on. This product totally eliminates that problem and was a breeze to install. It lays right over the existing track.
Thanks Home Depot
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from DeBary , FL
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My house is 25 years old and the aluminum track under the sliding door was worn out .I use the door often and had to repair it. I was picturing a huge amount of labor and money . One day I was looking at sliding door parts on Home Depots website and saw this repair track. I ordered it and picked it up at the store. It took about an hour to cut and install it . What an awesome product . The door works like it did when it was new and this heavy gauge stainless track should last forever.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Palm Harbor, FL

The perfect fix...

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you have a bad aluminum sliding door track, do not hesitate to buy this product. I had a track that was completely crushed for about 10 - 12 inches in two spots. This item corrected my problem perfectly. With new wheels as well, my door is now sliding effortlessly.
Some sanding, grinding of the old track may be necessary to have this item snap over correctly.
Years of frustration were fixed in a matter of minutes.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Melbourne FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exceeded expectations.

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used to fix worn track on very large very heavy double slider (18'x8'). Old track was badly worn and wash-boarded. Just tapped it in place with a rubber mallet and crimped it tight over the old track with end snipers. Door slides so easy now, before it bounced and dragged bad. Does make some slight crinkling noise when the door slides, so next time I'll try adding epoxy or sealant under the cap. Took two pieces to fix both sides of double door.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Colorado Springs
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

better than new

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Super easy to install, also replaced the rollers on the door and it is just as easy to open as a new one that would have cost me 1K. Seriously you can slide it with one finger and no effort. Buy one, it is so much better than the stock aluminum rail.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Marco Island, Fl.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sliding door track repair.

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Super easy fix for problem sliding doors. Door now slides like new.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

Great and affordable solution!

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This piece has worked wonders on our sliding glass door! Definitely worth a try installing on a worn out track before considering purchasing a new door entirely. Great find!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

Door track

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install and WOW, my door slides so easy now. Should have done this years ago.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

Beats replacing the old track

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Well, it works. However, you have to be careful and patient while installing it.
I had to cut off a short section. Fairly easy, but make sure the track does not lose its shape.
The fun part is when installing it, It fights back at you the whole time. It coils like a scorpion tail while you are pressing it on top of the old tack, and it also it twists and you have to guide it so it lays evenly.
You have to tap it into place. Use a rubber mallet or a soft material such a hammer handle to do it, otherwise you are going to mark it.
Now that the beast is tamed, it works fine. My old track was pretty messed up and this one fixed the problem.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Chandler, AZ, USA

Short leftover piece actually fixed the problem!

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I discovered that having a full length was not necessary. As an experiment, with the short piece left after cutting to length, I tapped it down with short hardware piece of wood - then using the wood to tap the cap horizontally to fully cover the offending track sections.
Works great just like that!
My track looked like a roller coaster - I fully expected to have to reshape the track before putting the cap on - by grinding and shaping with JB Weld with filler mixed in to keep it from sagging while drying.
But no need. The cap section bridges all of the bad spots and provides sufficient support to hold up the very heavy double pane sliding door.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Port Orange, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved me a bundle and avoided a major mess

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed this track topper this week and I must say it works like a charm. After removing the glass doors and cleaning off the damaged rail with degreaser, this cap snapped right over the damaged track. All I needed to do was cut it to length. The fixed glass door went back on easily and the slider too. I'm impressed with the quality and cost ($14.27 and free shipping to the store) of this product, especially since the repair guy said the rails couldn't be repaired and the cost to replace the entire door would be over $800.00.
I highly recommend this as a very inexpensive and fairly easy repair for a failed glass sliding door track.
Pros: Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from central Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

well described

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install, came just in time to be installed at the same time as the new casters. Just trim and snap in place.
Pros: Easy to Install, Durable, Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Tampa Bay Area

Fixed my slider in a sanap

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Easy to install with rubber mallet and metal shears. If your wheels are worn replace those at the same time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
Cons: not available in store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Loganville, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is what you need if.....

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
... you have a rough sliding door track. If you have already tried to replace the door wheels, lube the track and replace the the wool pile seals and you still have a noisy hard to pull sliding door this should do the trick.
My sliding door is 30 years old and showing its age. I had already replaced the rollers and found the wool pile seals and tried lubing the track as a last resort. The door still sounded rough, had inconsistent pull effort and would open about 1/2 inch on its own if you didnt lock it after it was closed. This was all due to wear on the roller track under the sliding door.
After snapping this new track cover over the old one it was like a new door. It is now quiet, has consistent pull effort and doesnt open on its own when not locked.
Installation is easy but you have to be careful not to damage it. By itself it is a flimsy "U" shaped channel. It would be easy to damage it right out of the shipping tube or during installation if your are not careful. It is meant to simply cover the old track and its defects not replace it. I would suggest using a one to two foot 2x4 to back up the repair track when you snap it over the old track to prevent denting it. Be carefull during installation also. It tends to want to roll to the side while you are snapping the cover on. Use firm purposeful taps with a hammer on the 2x4 to snap the cover on. Dont try to knock it on with one blow or you will damage it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Newark, Delaware
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A successful and inexpensive fix

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was such a simple fix to a problem that has been bothering me for so long. The original rail that the sliding door wheels ride on had split lengthwise, making the door tough to open and close. A quick cut-to-size with a hacksaw (an easy cut to make) is all that's needed to make it fit, and it snaps into place over the existing rail. I used a 'dead blow' hammer to help it into place, and had to cut away some of the 'splinters' from the old rail to allow the new track snap on. Packaged very well in a strong (long) cardboard tube. A quick and easy install. Removing the door, while not at all difficult, was the toughest part of the project. This product works like a charm, and I couldn't be happier.
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Rancho Santa Margarita, CA,
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It worked well

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this not knowing if it would solve my problem of a bent, beat up track. My original track was actually 1/8" and I was worried that 1/4" would not have anything to adhere to. I replaced the wheels on the screen and bought some J.B. Weld 2-part epoxy to glue the track in place. It was a bit messy, but worked ok. Finally my screen door works well now.
Pros: worked as designed
Cons: Difficult to Install, it could use a nozzle and dispenser for the epoxy.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Destin, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good product

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product performed as advertised. It fixed the tract on the sliding door with very little effort.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Glendale Az
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Exactly the fix i was looking for. I didnt have to buy a new frame.

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install just cut to length and snap on.
The do it yourselfer would probably be better off with a simple set of directions.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>