728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

This patio door track cover is constructed from stainless steel. It is used as a repair part for damaged or badly worn tracks. This track measures 8 ft. and can be cut to any length to fit your door.
Overall rating:
4.717 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(212 reviews) 212
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product198 of 205reviews
Rating Breakdown 212 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(174)
4
(28)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product198 of 205reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 51 Answers
Customer reviews for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
Review 1 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Moorpark, CA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, what a relief!

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My old track looked like a roller coaster with dips and wear spots making the door a challenge to open and close. This new track was an easy fix to an otherwise expensive option, like buying a new door which I could not afford. I just cleaned the old track area using a wire brush and soap and water. The new track went on easy with a rubber hammer careful not to damage the new track. Minor adjustment on the rollers and I was done. What a great fix til I can afford a new door.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Fits in Various Rooms, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Fallbrook, CA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

24 year old sliding glass door rolls like new

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Could not be happier with this purchase. The product arrived much sooner than expected. Price was as good as I could find anywhere online.
I included a picture of the rail installed in the door track. The close-up photo shows how worn out the old aluminum frame is. The aluminum track is heavily worn with some flat spots. When the rollers on the bottom of the door would hit the flat spots, the bottom of the door would drop and drag on the frame. This made the door very difficult to slide open or close.
I had to cut about two feet off the rail (easy enough using a hacksaw) to fit the door frame. It was a little tricky getting a six-foot long rail into place over the old track with its flat spots, but it was accomplished using a hammer and wood block to snap the rail into place. With a few adjustments to the height of the rollers on the door after it was reinstalled on the track, the door started sliding back and forth like a new door.
I expect the stainless steel track rail will be much more durable than the old aluminum track and I don't think I will have to repair this track again. Total cost on repairing the track was less than $15, which is far less than the almost $1800 than Home Depot's competitor wanted to charge for replacing the entire door and frame. Home Depot's competitor did not have this repair part available in store or online and the store personnel did not know this repair option was available. To be fair, Home Depot's staff also did not know this repair part was available, but at least the part was available through Home Depot online.
Thank you to Home Depot for having such oddball and hard to find repair parts available at excellent prices. I appreciate that a lot. In this case, I saved a lot of money making a simple repair rather than having to replace the old sliding glass door and frame.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Phoenix, Arizona
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Door sliding smoothly now!

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great solution to repair the track, instead of replacing the whole window. Beware, they do not carry these in store, online order only. Shipped to store for free!
Our track was flattened so we had to grind off the edges for the sleeve to snap over.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Royal Palm Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick easy repair

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product was so easy to install. WE were having trouble closing our sliding glass door because of waves and dips in our track that the rollers slide on. This product totally eliminates that problem and was a breeze to install. It lays right over the existing track.
Thanks Home Depot
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from DeBary , FL
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My house is 25 years old and the aluminum track under the sliding door was worn out .I use the door often and had to repair it. I was picturing a huge amount of labor and money . One day I was looking at sliding door parts on Home Depots website and saw this repair track. I ordered it and picked it up at the store. It took about an hour to cut and install it . What an awesome product . The door works like it did when it was new and this heavy gauge stainless track should last forever.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Palm Harbor, FL

The perfect fix...

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you have a bad aluminum sliding door track, do not hesitate to buy this product. I had a track that was completely crushed for about 10 - 12 inches in two spots. This item corrected my problem perfectly. With new wheels as well, my door is now sliding effortlessly.
Some sanding, grinding of the old track may be necessary to have this item snap over correctly.
Years of frustration were fixed in a matter of minutes.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Huntsville, AL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great sliding door track repair

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Required 20 minutes tops to fix the track rail where door wheels travel. First time my wife opened the door after repair, the door almost slid out as the effort was so easy.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Savannah GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The silicone adhesive it said to use looked and acted like silicone caulk. I'm not real clear as to why I needed it since I cut the length perfectly. Regardless, it works flawlessly. The track I was repairing was HEAVILY damaged and I thought for sure I would need an angle grinder to trim at it some. However, I forgot to bring one. It was too late to buy one and I already had the door off.
So, it put extra glue at the damaged areas and used a piece of wood and a rubber mallet to try it anyway. It was harder to put in place at those spots, but it still went on easy enough. Once on, you couldn't tell where the old damage was. The ends do like to pop up some. Not much (Maybe just a 1/16th") and it may be because it was harder to hammer there. That doesn't effect the operation at all.
I would have boought this YEARS ago, but I didn't know it existed.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

Beats replacing the old track

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Well, it works. However, you have to be careful and patient while installing it.
I had to cut off a short section. Fairly easy, but make sure the track does not lose its shape.
The fun part is when installing it, It fights back at you the whole time. It coils like a scorpion tail while you are pressing it on top of the old tack, and it also it twists and you have to guide it so it lays evenly.
You have to tap it into place. Use a rubber mallet or a soft material such a hammer handle to do it, otherwise you are going to mark it.
Now that the beast is tamed, it works fine. My old track was pretty messed up and this one fixed the problem.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Kalifornia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The right repair tool I needed.

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My 20+ year old sliding door needed the repair and this was perfect.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Pleasant Prairie, Wi.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ended My Bouncing Door Problem

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My track was very wavy after 23 years of constant use. After less than 1 hour this door is gliding easy like a new door. I wish I would of found this sooner.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Chandler, AZ, USA

Short leftover piece actually fixed the problem!

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I discovered that having a full length was not necessary. As an experiment, with the short piece left after cutting to length, I tapped it down with short hardware piece of wood - then using the wood to tap the cap horizontally to fully cover the offending track sections.
Works great just like that!
My track looked like a roller coaster - I fully expected to have to reshape the track before putting the cap on - by grinding and shaping with JB Weld with filler mixed in to keep it from sagging while drying.
But no need. The cap section bridges all of the bad spots and provides sufficient support to hold up the very heavy double pane sliding door.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Tucson, AZ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

inexpensive and easy to install

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have an older home with original aluminum track sliding patio door. The track for the rollers was in pretty bad shape with dips in the soft aluminum that made the door hard to open and noisy. This product was easy to install by cutting to fit the track length and pushing right over the old track. Sliding door is easy to open now and super quiet.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Indian Harbour Beach, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smooth Door

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just run a thin bead of silicone into the channel then use a mallet to tap the channel onto the door rail. The door will run perfectly smooth. We are all pleased with the result.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Melbourne FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exceeded expectations.

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used to fix worn track on very large very heavy double slider (18'x8'). Old track was badly worn and wash-boarded. Just tapped it in place with a rubber mallet and crimped it tight over the old track with end snipers. Door slides so easy now, before it bounced and dragged bad. Does make some slight crinkling noise when the door slides, so next time I'll try adding epoxy or sealant under the cap. Took two pieces to fix both sides of double door.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

WORKS PERFECT.

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
EXCELLENT PRODUCT. IS LIKE REPLACING THE WHOLE TRACK.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Colorado Springs
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

better than new

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Super easy to install, also replaced the rollers on the door and it is just as easy to open as a new one that would have cost me 1K. Seriously you can slide it with one finger and no effort. Buy one, it is so much better than the stock aluminum rail.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

Great and affordable solution!

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This piece has worked wonders on our sliding glass door! Definitely worth a try installing on a worn out track before considering purchasing a new door entirely. Great find!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Marco Island, Fl.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sliding door track repair.

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Super easy fix for problem sliding doors. Door now slides like new.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

Door track

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install and WOW, my door slides so easy now. Should have done this years ago.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>