728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

This patio door track cover is constructed from stainless steel. It is used as a repair part for damaged or badly worn tracks. This track measures 8 ft. and can be cut to any length to fit your door.
Overall rating:
4.698 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(222 reviews) 222
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product207 of 215reviews
Rating Breakdown 222 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(180)
4
(31)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product207 of 215reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer reviews for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
Review 1 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Moorpark, CA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, what a relief!

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My old track looked like a roller coaster with dips and wear spots making the door a challenge to open and close. This new track was an easy fix to an otherwise expensive option, like buying a new door which I could not afford. I just cleaned the old track area using a wire brush and soap and water. The new track went on easy with a rubber hammer careful not to damage the new track. Minor adjustment on the rollers and I was done. What a great fix til I can afford a new door.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Fits in Various Rooms, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Royal Palm Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick easy repair

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product was so easy to install. WE were having trouble closing our sliding glass door because of waves and dips in our track that the rollers slide on. This product totally eliminates that problem and was a breeze to install. It lays right over the existing track.
Thanks Home Depot
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Fallbrook, CA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

24 year old sliding glass door rolls like new

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Could not be happier with this purchase. The product arrived much sooner than expected. Price was as good as I could find anywhere online.
I included a picture of the rail installed in the door track. The close-up photo shows how worn out the old aluminum frame is. The aluminum track is heavily worn with some flat spots. When the rollers on the bottom of the door would hit the flat spots, the bottom of the door would drop and drag on the frame. This made the door very difficult to slide open or close.
I had to cut about two feet off the rail (easy enough using a hacksaw) to fit the door frame. It was a little tricky getting a six-foot long rail into place over the old track with its flat spots, but it was accomplished using a hammer and wood block to snap the rail into place. With a few adjustments to the height of the rollers on the door after it was reinstalled on the track, the door started sliding back and forth like a new door.
I expect the stainless steel track rail will be much more durable than the old aluminum track and I don't think I will have to repair this track again. Total cost on repairing the track was less than $15, which is far less than the almost $1800 than Home Depot's competitor wanted to charge for replacing the entire door and frame. Home Depot's competitor did not have this repair part available in store or online and the store personnel did not know this repair option was available. To be fair, Home Depot's staff also did not know this repair part was available, but at least the part was available through Home Depot online.
Thank you to Home Depot for having such oddball and hard to find repair parts available at excellent prices. I appreciate that a lot. In this case, I saved a lot of money making a simple repair rather than having to replace the old sliding glass door and frame.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from DeBary , FL
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My house is 25 years old and the aluminum track under the sliding door was worn out .I use the door often and had to repair it. I was picturing a huge amount of labor and money . One day I was looking at sliding door parts on Home Depots website and saw this repair track. I ordered it and picked it up at the store. It took about an hour to cut and install it . What an awesome product . The door works like it did when it was new and this heavy gauge stainless track should last forever.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Palm Harbor, FL

The perfect fix...

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you have a bad aluminum sliding door track, do not hesitate to buy this product. I had a track that was completely crushed for about 10 - 12 inches in two spots. This item corrected my problem perfectly. With new wheels as well, my door is now sliding effortlessly.
Some sanding, grinding of the old track may be necessary to have this item snap over correctly.
Years of frustration were fixed in a matter of minutes.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Saginaw , MI.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A little work but a good fix.

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Before purchase I read other reviews where users were complaining of the rail curling up after the door rolled over it a few times and some recommended pinching or crimping the ends to prevent this and I would agree with and did that however the curling is caused by the lack of support for the new stainless rail by the warn original aluminum rail so I went a f ew a few steps further and scraped the sides of and cleaned the original rail, also cleaned the inside of the new stainless repair rail (a lot of oil) with acetone then applied a bead of original slow cure JB Weld to the inside of the stainless rail before pressing it over the warn rail also stacked some weighted objects on it over night it to hold it in place. I installed the door the next day, it has been three weeks and it's been great fix.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions, you must take the time to properly install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Phoenix, Arizona
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Door sliding smoothly now!

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great solution to repair the track, instead of replacing the whole window. Beware, they do not carry these in store, online order only. Shipped to store for free!
Our track was flattened so we had to grind off the edges for the sleeve to snap over.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Central California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked exactly as promised.

PostedMay 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had door that was almost impossible to close do to ripples in the cast in aluminum rail. Watched youtube video on repair process, Removed the two glass doors, fixed and movable, tapped the rail capper into place, re-installed the doors, and can now slide the door with one finger, works as good as new if not better!!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

Beats replacing the old track

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Well, it works. However, you have to be careful and patient while installing it.
I had to cut off a short section. Fairly easy, but make sure the track does not lose its shape.
The fun part is when installing it, It fights back at you the whole time. It coils like a scorpion tail while you are pressing it on top of the old tack, and it also it twists and you have to guide it so it lays evenly.
You have to tap it into place. Use a rubber mallet or a soft material such a hammer handle to do it, otherwise you are going to mark it.
Now that the beast is tamed, it works fine. My old track was pretty messed up and this one fixed the problem.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

Easy fix

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was the best $15.00 I have ever spent. It fixed what used to be a hard to open door and now it glides as smoothly as the day the door was put in. Easy to cut to the right length but it did take two people to get it in. One to lift the door slightly and one to slide the track in. After a light tap on the track to set it in place we were done.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Chandler, AZ, USA

Short leftover piece actually fixed the problem!

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I discovered that having a full length was not necessary. As an experiment, with the short piece left after cutting to length, I tapped it down with short hardware piece of wood - then using the wood to tap the cap horizontally to fully cover the offending track sections.
Works great just like that!
My track looked like a roller coaster - I fully expected to have to reshape the track before putting the cap on - by grinding and shaping with JB Weld with filler mixed in to keep it from sagging while drying.
But no need. The cap section bridges all of the bad spots and provides sufficient support to hold up the very heavy double pane sliding door.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple fix for a failing track

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When our old sliding door track started to crack I thought I was in for a major repair. This repair track works very well. You just need to remove the door from its track, a job best for 2 people, cut the repair track to length and tap it over the old track with a wood block and a hammer. I would also recommend inspecting,cleaning, and lubricating the wheels at this time. The reinstalled door works as good as new.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Kearny, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1/4 X 8' stainless steel sliding door repair track

PostedApril 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So far so good. Removed Andersen Slider, which was pretty heavy. The part actually fits right over the rail that the door slides upon. I pulled off the old damaged cap with a screwdriver and needle nose pilers.
I cut the new part to size with a hacksaw, applied a little clear silicone caulk to the underside, and placed it over the rail. I tapped it into place with a block of wood and hammer. I also cleaned the rollers while the door was off. I probably should have replaced them, but they seemed to be operating OK.
I had contacted
Andersen Parts Department after checking their online catalog and found their replacement part (sill cap). The rep I spoke to on the phone said the part cost around $50.00 plus tax and shipping. I figured that I would try the $14.99 part from Home Depot first and if it didn't work I would order the Andersen part.
Like I said, so far so good. It seems to be doing the job nicely.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Bakersfield, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple fix to a big problem

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is a simple fix to a big problem that is otherwise remedied in an expensive way. Together with new rollers, my sliding glass door is as good as new. It can be opened with the slightest of ease just like when it was new. More installation instructions would have been a plus, however, plenty of resources for that online.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

Great

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product is exactly as described. Fixed my problem door.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

door strip

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
easy to install. easy to use. did the job. proper length if you need to reduce you can.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product was as advertised and a good value!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This item was as advertised and reasonably easy to install.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from San Carlos, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This didn't work for my 1981 sliding glass door

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
From my personal experience, this track did a terrible job and made my door worse. It must have been something specifically with my door.
I even had professional contractors come out after I failed to install it myself. It took two of them over an hour and the door slides worse than it did to begin with. They had to use silicone caulking glue to keep the new track seated on the old track.
Cutting the track is not easy with a hacksaw. I had to use a dremel with the circular cutter attachments.
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Rancho Santa Margarita, CA,
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It worked well

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this not knowing if it would solve my problem of a bent, beat up track. My original track was actually 1/8" and I was worried that 1/4" would not have anything to adhere to. I replaced the wheels on the screen and bought some J.B. Weld 2-part epoxy to glue the track in place. It was a bit messy, but worked ok. Finally my screen door works well now.
Pros: worked as designed
Cons: Difficult to Install, it could use a nozzle and dispenser for the epoxy.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from central Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

well described

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install, came just in time to be installed at the same time as the new casters. Just trim and snap in place.
Pros: Easy to Install, Durable, Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>