728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

This patio door track cover is constructed from stainless steel. It is used as a repair part for damaged or badly worn tracks. This track measures 8 ft. and can be cut to any length to fit your door.
Overall rating:
4.736 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(167 reviews) 167
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product157 of 161reviews
Rating Breakdown 167 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(137)
4
(23)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product157 of 161reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 42 Answers
Customer reviews for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
Review 1 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from central Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

well described

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install, came just in time to be installed at the same time as the new casters. Just trim and snap in place.
Pros: Easy to Install, Durable, Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from DeBary , FL
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My house is 25 years old and the aluminum track under the sliding door was worn out .I use the door often and had to repair it. I was picturing a huge amount of labor and money . One day I was looking at sliding door parts on Home Depots website and saw this repair track. I ordered it and picked it up at the store. It took about an hour to cut and install it . What an awesome product . The door works like it did when it was new and this heavy gauge stainless track should last forever.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Royal Palm Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick easy repair

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was so easy to install. WE were having trouble closing our sliding glass door because of waves and dips in our track that the rollers slide on. This product totally eliminates that problem and was a breeze to install. It lays right over the existing track.
Thanks Home Depot
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Moorpark, CA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, what a relief!

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My old track looked like a roller coaster with dips and wear spots making the door a challenge to open and close. This new track was an easy fix to an otherwise expensive option, like buying a new door which I could not afford. I just cleaned the old track area using a wire brush and soap and water. The new track went on easy with a rubber hammer careful not to damage the new track. Minor adjustment on the rollers and I was done. What a great fix til I can afford a new door.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Fits in Various Rooms, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Palm Harbor, FL

The perfect fix...

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you have a bad aluminum sliding door track, do not hesitate to buy this product. I had a track that was completely crushed for about 10 - 12 inches in two spots. This item corrected my problem perfectly. With new wheels as well, my door is now sliding effortlessly.
Some sanding, grinding of the old track may be necessary to have this item snap over correctly.
Years of frustration were fixed in a matter of minutes.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Newark, Delaware
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A successful and inexpensive fix

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was such a simple fix to a problem that has been bothering me for so long. The original rail that the sliding door wheels ride on had split lengthwise, making the door tough to open and close. A quick cut-to-size with a hacksaw (an easy cut to make) is all that's needed to make it fit, and it snaps into place over the existing rail. I used a 'dead blow' hammer to help it into place, and had to cut away some of the 'splinters' from the old rail to allow the new track snap on. Packaged very well in a strong (long) cardboard tube. A quick and easy install. Removing the door, while not at all difficult, was the toughest part of the project. This product works like a charm, and I couldn't be happier.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Rancho Santa Margarita, CA,
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It worked well

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this not knowing if it would solve my problem of a bent, beat up track. My original track was actually 1/8" and I was worried that 1/4" would not have anything to adhere to. I replaced the wheels on the screen and bought some J.B. Weld 2-part epoxy to glue the track in place. It was a bit messy, but worked ok. Finally my screen door works well now.
Pros: worked as designed
Cons: Difficult to Install, it could use a nozzle and dispenser for the epoxy.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Tampa, Fl.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

appears to be working nicely

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far it seems to be working soooooo much better than what i was dealing with before.
I have to open & close it a little slower, but it has made an immense difference in the noise and Ease of opening and closing my door.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Bradenton, Fl.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product. Simple to install with great results!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Naperville, IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy To Install Track

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Replaced the rollers on my sliding glass door and added this new track to cover any burrs. Used a rubber mallet to tap it down and pliers wrapped in a cloth to slighly pinch the track. Wife loves the repair since the door was nearly unmovable with the old rollers and now it is eas to open. I cut the track with a saw, pretty simple.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

very easy and it works well

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i measured it, cut and snapped it down on the platic ridge
i used vice grips to crimp it a little bit to assure that it would remain in place
it works great
saved me from having to buy a new sliding glass door
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Chandler, AZ, USA

Short leftover piece actually fixed the problem!

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I discovered that having a full length was not necessary. As an experiment, with the short piece left after cutting to length, I tapped it down with short hardware piece of wood - then using the wood to tap the cap horizontally to fully cover the offending track sections.
Works great just like that!
My track looked like a roller coaster - I fully expected to have to reshape the track before putting the cap on - by grinding and shaping with JB Weld with filler mixed in to keep it from sagging while drying.
But no need. The cap section bridges all of the bad spots and provides sufficient support to hold up the very heavy double pane sliding door.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Montgomery AL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Repairing Sliding Patio Door

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After replacing sliding door repair track and adjusting the rollers height, the door worked great!!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

Door repair track

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had to cut it to fit but that was no problem. It won't right on with a rubber mallet.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

easy fix for sliding door track

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My sliding door track was old and damaged. The sliding glass door was very hard to open and the track seemed as if it was uneven in areas, causing the door to bump along the track. My boyfriend talked me into trying this fix, which I thought was surely too easy and reasonable to really work! However, I ordered the product through The Home Depot website to give it a try. My boyfriend installed the new track and it is working great! It has been at least a month since the track repair was installed and my door slides very easily with no more bumps! I am very happy with the product!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As Advertised

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a friend help me remove the 4' sliding glass door, then cut the SS track to fit, applied silicon adhesive to inside of track (sparingly). Used a 14" 1 x 1 to convince the track into place over the original track...the replacement rack may try to twist a bit, so having 2 folks present helps a lot.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

Beats replacing the old track

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Well, it works. However, you have to be careful and patient while installing it.
I had to cut off a short section. Fairly easy, but make sure the track does not lose its shape.
The fun part is when installing it, It fights back at you the whole time. It coils like a scorpion tail while you are pressing it on top of the old tack, and it also it twists and you have to guide it so it lays evenly.
You have to tap it into place. Use a rubber mallet or a soft material such a hammer handle to do it, otherwise you are going to mark it.
Now that the beast is tamed, it works fine. My old track was pretty messed up and this one fixed the problem.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

works great

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
don't be afraid to try this, it worked great, I didn't even glue it in place, I just used a rubber mallot to bang it over the old track, and didn't even change the wheels, good luck!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from TN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Great

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was worried that our glass door was in too bad of shape to try this on, but it was easy to install and the door can open again without picking it up off the track. For the low cost of this product, I would recommend trying it before looking at a new door.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Lakeland Fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

slider easy fix

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a lifesaver, instead of replacing the entire track, this overlay worked like a champ. Cut to length with a hacksaw, pinch the ends to stay on existing rail, done in 10 minutes.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>