728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

This patio door track cover is constructed from stainless steel. It is used as a repair part for damaged or badly worn tracks. This track measures 8 ft. and can be cut to any length to fit your door.
Overall rating:
4.699 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(133 reviews) 133
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product125 of 128reviews
Rating Breakdown 133 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(107)
4
(19)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product125 of 128reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer reviews for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
Review 1 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
trucktech
from DeBary , FL
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My house is 25 years old and the aluminum track under the sliding door was worn out .I use the door often and had to repair it. I was picturing a huge amount of labor and money . One day I was looking at sliding door parts on Home Depots website and saw this repair track. I ordered it and picked it up at the store. It took about an hour to cut and install it . What an awesome product . The door works like it did when it was new and this heavy gauge stainless track should last forever.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
HYNOON
from Palm Harbor, FL

The perfect fix...

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you have a bad aluminum sliding door track, do not hesitate to buy this product. I had a track that was completely crushed for about 10 - 12 inches in two spots. This item corrected my problem perfectly. With new wheels as well, my door is now sliding effortlessly.
Some sanding, grinding of the old track may be necessary to have this item snap over correctly.
Years of frustration were fixed in a matter of minutes.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
jmoore
from Royal Palm Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick easy repair

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was so easy to install. WE were having trouble closing our sliding glass door because of waves and dips in our track that the rollers slide on. This product totally eliminates that problem and was a breeze to install. It lays right over the existing track.
Thanks Home Depot
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
Spike
from Moorpark, CA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, what a relief!

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My old track looked like a roller coaster with dips and wear spots making the door a challenge to open and close. This new track was an easy fix to an otherwise expensive option, like buying a new door which I could not afford. I just cleaned the old track area using a wire brush and soap and water. The new track went on easy with a rubber hammer careful not to damage the new track. Minor adjustment on the rollers and I was done. What a great fix til I can afford a new door.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Fits in Various Rooms, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
Paulcrsm
from Rancho Santa Margarita, CA,
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It worked well

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this not knowing if it would solve my problem of a bent, beat up track. My original track was actually 1/8" and I was worried that 1/4" would not have anything to adhere to. I replaced the wheels on the screen and bought some J.B. Weld 2-part epoxy to glue the track in place. It was a bit messy, but worked ok. Finally my screen door works well now.
Pros: worked as designed
Cons: Difficult to Install, it could use a nozzle and dispenser for the epoxy.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
knifemaker
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to install,works great

PostedApril 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
15 minutes to install,price was the best I found online and it did the job on an older worn out track....works great.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
Randy

Easy to install and worked exactly as advertised.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My sliding door rail was all messed up and the door did not roll smooth at all. It took me less than half an hour to put this in.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
RichInChandler
from Chandler, AZ, USA

Short leftover piece actually fixed the problem!

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I discovered that having a full length was not necessary. As an experiment, with the short piece left after cutting to length, I tapped it down with short hardware piece of wood - then using the wood to tap the cap horizontally to fully cover the offending track sections.
Works great just like that!
My track looked like a roller coaster - I fully expected to have to reshape the track before putting the cap on - by grinding and shaping with JB Weld with filler mixed in to keep it from sagging while drying.
But no need. The cap section bridges all of the bad spots and provides sufficient support to hold up the very heavy double pane sliding door.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
Hogie
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This track was great

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was very easy to install, looks good and works great
You can hardly hear the door move now.
Before it sound like a freight train going down the track.
This should last a very long, being made of S/S.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
Bill

Perfect for the job

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the product for everyone with a sliding glass door. Steel rollers on a heavy door running over an aluminum track is trouble in the future.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
Tommy
from Lillington, NC 27546, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is the best way to save a track on sliding pato door and save money and replacing a door.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
Ottofa

Beats replacing the old track

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Well, it works. However, you have to be careful and patient while installing it.
I had to cut off a short section. Fairly easy, but make sure the track does not lose its shape.
The fun part is when installing it, It fights back at you the whole time. It coils like a scorpion tail while you are pressing it on top of the old tack, and it also it twists and you have to guide it so it lays evenly.
You have to tap it into place. Use a rubber mallet or a soft material such a hammer handle to do it, otherwise you are going to mark it.
Now that the beast is tamed, it works fine. My old track was pretty messed up and this one fixed the problem.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
roofgod70
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy install

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It performs effortlessly and the slider is now the same as it was when new
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
Paulie
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A low cost solution to a potentially expensive problem

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have tall sliders and the track was badly dented and worn. I was dreading the cost of replacing the entire track. (Over 8 feet!) All you need to do is cut it to length (I didn't need to) and glue it down with adhesive silicone. Just lightly tap in place with a rubber mallet - or a regular hammer with cloth or rubber to prevent denting the repair track. I didn't even have to remove the doors. Easy, low cost, and simple. No it's a smooth open and close, just like new.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
RC1990
from Rock Hill, SC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

10 mins to install

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great,took 10 mins to install. No more bumps!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
Shabuda
from Antioch, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fit just like u said it would, (perfect)

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great, works perfectly. Reasonable Price saved me SEVERAL HUNDERED DOLLARS, didn't have to
replace a 8 foot Double Pane Slideing Glass Door.
Thank you,
"Steve"
(Shabuda )
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
mfgdopb
from Canton, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well.

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed 2 weeks ago. I also replaced the rollers on the bottom of the door. The door now slides like a hot knife through butter. One major complaint though. There were no instructions included. Just a piece of metal. I used ordinary silicone and a rubber mallet to install it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Fit
Cons: no instructions whatsoever
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
Marcos
from Boynton Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well worth the money

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This stainless steel track seems to be very high quality steel. It is extremely hard. I could not cut it with my hack saw - I had to use a rotozip and a metal saw blade. I wish it came with instructions, but I found installations on the internet.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
ShawnD

This product worked well.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product worked well. The only problem was that it didn't fit very well on our track, since our track was broken and uneven. We had to work it into place and force it onto the track.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
dyist
from Clermont, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
makes the old sliding door work like new,and a good price.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>