728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

This patio door track cover is constructed from stainless steel. It is used as a repair part for damaged or badly worn tracks. This track measures 8 ft. and can be cut to any length to fit your door.
Overall rating:
4.711 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(187 reviews) 187
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product174 of 180reviews
Rating Breakdown 187 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(152)
4
(26)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product174 of 180reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer reviews for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
Review 1 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Fallbrook, CA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

24 year old sliding glass door rolls like new

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Could not be happier with this purchase. The product arrived much sooner than expected. Price was as good as I could find anywhere online.
I included a picture of the rail installed in the door track. The close-up photo shows how worn out the old aluminum frame is. The aluminum track is heavily worn with some flat spots. When the rollers on the bottom of the door would hit the flat spots, the bottom of the door would drop and drag on the frame. This made the door very difficult to slide open or close.
I had to cut about two feet off the rail (easy enough using a hacksaw) to fit the door frame. It was a little tricky getting a six-foot long rail into place over the old track with its flat spots, but it was accomplished using a hammer and wood block to snap the rail into place. With a few adjustments to the height of the rollers on the door after it was reinstalled on the track, the door started sliding back and forth like a new door.
I expect the stainless steel track rail will be much more durable than the old aluminum track and I don't think I will have to repair this track again. Total cost on repairing the track was less than $15, which is far less than the almost $1800 than Home Depot's competitor wanted to charge for replacing the entire door and frame. Home Depot's competitor did not have this repair part available in store or online and the store personnel did not know this repair option was available. To be fair, Home Depot's staff also did not know this repair part was available, but at least the part was available through Home Depot online.
Thank you to Home Depot for having such oddball and hard to find repair parts available at excellent prices. I appreciate that a lot. In this case, I saved a lot of money making a simple repair rather than having to replace the old sliding glass door and frame.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Moorpark, CA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, what a relief!

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My old track looked like a roller coaster with dips and wear spots making the door a challenge to open and close. This new track was an easy fix to an otherwise expensive option, like buying a new door which I could not afford. I just cleaned the old track area using a wire brush and soap and water. The new track went on easy with a rubber hammer careful not to damage the new track. Minor adjustment on the rollers and I was done. What a great fix til I can afford a new door.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Fits in Various Rooms, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Royal Palm Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick easy repair

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was so easy to install. WE were having trouble closing our sliding glass door because of waves and dips in our track that the rollers slide on. This product totally eliminates that problem and was a breeze to install. It lays right over the existing track.
Thanks Home Depot
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from DeBary , FL
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My house is 25 years old and the aluminum track under the sliding door was worn out .I use the door often and had to repair it. I was picturing a huge amount of labor and money . One day I was looking at sliding door parts on Home Depots website and saw this repair track. I ordered it and picked it up at the store. It took about an hour to cut and install it . What an awesome product . The door works like it did when it was new and this heavy gauge stainless track should last forever.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Palm Harbor, FL

The perfect fix...

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you have a bad aluminum sliding door track, do not hesitate to buy this product. I had a track that was completely crushed for about 10 - 12 inches in two spots. This item corrected my problem perfectly. With new wheels as well, my door is now sliding effortlessly.
Some sanding, grinding of the old track may be necessary to have this item snap over correctly.
Years of frustration were fixed in a matter of minutes.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from central Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

well described

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install, came just in time to be installed at the same time as the new casters. Just trim and snap in place.
Pros: Easy to Install, Durable, Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Loganville, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is what you need if.....

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
... you have a rough sliding door track. If you have already tried to replace the door wheels, lube the track and replace the the wool pile seals and you still have a noisy hard to pull sliding door this should do the trick.
My sliding door is 30 years old and showing its age. I had already replaced the rollers and found the wool pile seals and tried lubing the track as a last resort. The door still sounded rough, had inconsistent pull effort and would open about 1/2 inch on its own if you didnt lock it after it was closed. This was all due to wear on the roller track under the sliding door.
After snapping this new track cover over the old one it was like a new door. It is now quiet, has consistent pull effort and doesnt open on its own when not locked.
Installation is easy but you have to be careful not to damage it. By itself it is a flimsy "U" shaped channel. It would be easy to damage it right out of the shipping tube or during installation if your are not careful. It is meant to simply cover the old track and its defects not replace it. I would suggest using a one to two foot 2x4 to back up the repair track when you snap it over the old track to prevent denting it. Be carefull during installation also. It tends to want to roll to the side while you are snapping the cover on. Use firm purposeful taps with a hammer on the 2x4 to snap the cover on. Dont try to knock it on with one blow or you will damage it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Penna
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

New track did the job

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Like all the other reviews, my 40 yr. old track was pitted, grooved, and wavy. My glass door rollers have been shot for years and problem getting worse. I replaced rollers so installing new track was an easy decision. Gotta say, I disagree with gluing or using epoxy on track, as this makes it permanent. So I cut track exact length of existing track. Using scrap piece I could see it would be very difficult to tap on, as some reviews have said. Common sense would be not to pry it open with a screwdriver or any metal tool as it would disfigure track. I could see I only needed to open track about 1/32 of an inch or slightly more and I needed to make it uniform the entire length. I measured existing track width, it was 1/4 inch. So if I could get new track slighty smaller than 1/4 inch opened up I would be able to install it fairly easily and with no damage to new track. So I cut a 1 inch by 5 inch piece of luaun underlayment plywood, which is exactly 3/16 inch thick. The luaun scrap I gently worked into the end of track, 5 inches in my hand and 1 inch in track. Wearing leather gloves I slid luaun through track channel the entire length. This opened track perfectly. New track installed easily with wooden block and hammer. And it is snug and tight, no glue. With heavy glass door on track where can it go? With new rollers along with new track my glass door rolls like new.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Orange Park, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap Fix For An Aggravating Problem

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The shipping was a bit slower than I would have liked but, once it arrived, I was glad to have this product. It was simple to install. Be careful to clean all of the trash and debris from the existing track and then clean the track with mineral spirits before applying silicone adhesive. If you have trouble making the cap fit over the existing track, use a hammer and a block of wood so that the force is dispersed and you don't accidentally dent the cap. Once the cap is in place, keep the sliding door shut while the adhesive cures; the weight of the door will keep the cap in place while it cures.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Newark, Delaware
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A successful and inexpensive fix

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was such a simple fix to a problem that has been bothering me for so long. The original rail that the sliding door wheels ride on had split lengthwise, making the door tough to open and close. A quick cut-to-size with a hacksaw (an easy cut to make) is all that's needed to make it fit, and it snaps into place over the existing rail. I used a 'dead blow' hammer to help it into place, and had to cut away some of the 'splinters' from the old rail to allow the new track snap on. Packaged very well in a strong (long) cardboard tube. A quick and easy install. Removing the door, while not at all difficult, was the toughest part of the project. This product works like a charm, and I couldn't be happier.
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Roseville Ca
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to Install

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My sliding door track over time developed some bad flat spots that made the door hard to close. I watched a few "How to repair sliding door track" on You Tube, this gave you a few ideas on how to tackle the problem, it helped. After fixing the flat spots so the track could be tapped into place and cutting the track to length the door now slides much easier than before. Very happy with the product.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from osseo mn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great solution for a for an old problem

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
with a sliding door that wouldn't work due to the roller track being worn out this item not only solved the problem but the door works as if it was new. a very inexpensive solution and easy to instal
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Outer Banks NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Fabulous repair item

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Using this replacement track and rollers was super means to repair a patio door. For less than $75, the door was made better than the original. The SS track will not wear down like the original. The repair was easy. I expect it to last 20+ years. The door opens with just a little finger's effort.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good as new, or better

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I rarely rate products this high but this little gem was exactly as described and saved me big bucks. I was looking at having to replace my thermopane patio door because the extruded aluminum track was worn and dinged making it difficult to open. I found this item online and a related YouTube video showing how to install it (it doesn't come with instructions). The entire fix took about 15 minutes and it works great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Brookings, S.D.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install and seems to work fine.

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was easy to install and works good. May order a second one for another door.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Ramrod Key, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Speedy, simple repair

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I discovered this product while searching for replacement track for my twelve foot pocket patio doors. It simply snaps onto the old track and makes the doors work like new again.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A simple solution to a sliding door problem

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Honestly, it's just a cap for the sliding door track. A simple solution to restore the door to its proper working order. So, if your door track has worn to the point where the door rolls back from its closed position, the rollers shudder or it just lacks smoothness, this will probably solve your problem. It's not a bad idea to also replace the rollers but I wouldn't do that until I inspected them since they are usually a very durable part of the assembly.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track

Beats replacing the old track

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Well, it works. However, you have to be careful and patient while installing it.
I had to cut off a short section. Fairly easy, but make sure the track does not lose its shape.
The fun part is when installing it, It fights back at you the whole time. It coils like a scorpion tail while you are pressing it on top of the old tack, and it also it twists and you have to guide it so it lays evenly.
You have to tap it into place. Use a rubber mallet or a soft material such a hammer handle to do it, otherwise you are going to mark it.
Now that the beast is tamed, it works fine. My old track was pretty messed up and this one fixed the problem.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Chandler, AZ, USA

Short leftover piece actually fixed the problem!

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I discovered that having a full length was not necessary. As an experiment, with the short piece left after cutting to length, I tapped it down with short hardware piece of wood - then using the wood to tap the cap horizontally to fully cover the offending track sections.
Works great just like that!
My track looked like a roller coaster - I fully expected to have to reshape the track before putting the cap on - by grinding and shaping with JB Weld with filler mixed in to keep it from sagging while drying.
But no need. The cap section bridges all of the bad spots and provides sufficient support to hold up the very heavy double pane sliding door.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/4 in. x 8 ft. Stainless Steel Sliding Door Repair Track
from Charles Town, WV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SAVES A $500 DOOR REPLACEMENT!

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The track of my 8' sliding door was worn, and the trolley wheels would not roll. This door is over 30 years old with lots of track wear. I simply placed a 2 part epoxy in the repair track, slipped it over the worn track with a few blows from a rubber hammer, waited an hour for the epoxy to set completely. Then I installed new trolley wheels, replaced the door and aligned it, and presto! The door slides as if new. These tracks should be made available in the stores.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>