728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed

TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed

The Toro TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP 726 cc Kawasaki V-Twin Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower has a 3-blade mowing system under a 4 in. deep, top discharge deck design with convenient washout port. The mower boasts 7 cutting positions between 1-1/2 in
Overall rating:
4.79 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(62 reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product58 of 59reviews
Rating Breakdown 62 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(51)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Features 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product58 of 59reviews
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
Review 1 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
ibjim
from East Norriton, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I made a good choice.

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was a little concerned if I could handle it, but to my surprise it was easy. Took very little use to feel comfortable using. Great time saver and great cut.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
James
from Virgina
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product has great features

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Recently purchased the 50'' Torro. Outstanding performance and durability, smart speed, and enhances capabilities of the mower, smooth ride, excellent handling, gives the lawn a beautiful and excellent cut grade. Can cut two acres in half the time, which is 50 minutes. Highly recommend the Torro zero turn mower.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Long-Lasting
Cons: storage
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
JONNYD
from Bellbrook, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Solid Product

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had never been on a zero turn till I my Toro arrived. After 15 minutes I felt I had the hang of it. I feel the Toro is durable and requires little maintenence. I wish it went faster, but I was able to knock out 3 acres in under 3 hours, I have numerous trees to work around and the Toro is great at that.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
Chuy
from Waxahachie, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love the product

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love the product and I would highly recommend it.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, All In One
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
larryh
from Harrisonburg VA

It's fun to mow grass now

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've had the Toro 50" Zero-Turn for more than 6 weeks and love it! I'm mowing about 2 acres with more than 60 obstacles from trees, plantings, and gardens to a well, pond, and outbuildings. It used to take 5-6 hours to mow with our 42" garden tractor and it now takes 2 hours.
These are the features I like:
- The high back seat is comfortable and provides good support
- The cut is smooth
- The cut grass distribution is very even
- The 2-speed setting is great - I use the slow setting in the orchard and on hills while the fast setting is lets me make time on flat areas with few obstructions
- The two hose ports make cleaning under the deck a breeze
- Changing the engine oil couldn't be easier
- 3 year homeowner warranty without an hour limitation
There are a few things that are less than perfect:
- The 3 gallon gas tank is too small for my yard. I ran out of gas the first two times I mowed in the middle of the job (I could mow twice with the 5 gallon tank in the tractor)
- I got stuck when one of the drive wheels got into a groundhog hole I didn't see in a field - larger drive wheels might help
- I noticed the last time I mowed that I need to adjust the blade height as one side is slightly higher than the other
All in all, it's a great product and I wish I had invested in it sooner.
 
Products related to my review
 
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
Bruce
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Toro shop delivered my mower last night, went over the machine with us in detail, cut the 2 acre front yard in half the time as my Junk craftsman YT5400. The 5060 is a breeze to use after getting used to the controls, easy to operate and a pleasure to cut with, this thing does an excellent job mincing the clippings I don’t think I will be putting on the mulch kit . I’ll post again after a few months .
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
BlackSwan
from Salisbury, NC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Another Toro To Love!

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Currently own an 8 year old Z master and a month old ss 5060. I love this mower! It is not as fast as my Z but it sure does a good job and makes mowing fun! If I could change anything about it, the ONLY thing would be a rubber discharge chute versus plastic. HIGHLY Recommend
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
Elqueso
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Machine

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My first zero turn mower; was apprehensive at first due to bad reviews for hills. I have a few and no problems. Power is incredible. I mow about and acre of lawn and this has literally cut my mowing time in half. I had no idea what I was missing all these years with my garden tractor.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Powerful, Great Engine, Small Turn Radius
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
Hackettcd
from Gallatin, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The item cuts down on cutting time.

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love the way it operates. Cuts great an cuts down on time to cut yard. If have to service machine looks to be a easy job to perform.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful, Great Engine
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
Jimbo
from McDonough, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good!

PostedMay 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very satisfied with this mower but I do miss my commercial mower that was stolen from me and did'nt want to spend that much money again but for a residential model I would say this is one is excellent. Made my decision to purchase after much research on performance and reliabilty. My only two gripes are no hour meter and no gas gauge but I knew that before I ordered online. For a $3000 plus mower...should have had it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
Dano
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The seat is so comfy and I like the big gas tank. The floor mat is a must. the deck is easy to dismount.

PostedApril 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was the best purchase I have ever made. My friends have zero turns and I tried them first and did not like them, but they was not Toro zero turn mowers. It makes mowing fun, I get done so quick now that I mow some places twice because I don't want to get off this mower. The delivery was great they brought it right to my house right on time, showed me how to use it. I mow 3 yard and 1 of them is about 3 acres and in a woods. The stripe kit was a must and easy to put on. No regrets.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
FloridaJoe
from Mims, FL

Great Mower - especially if you have grass

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This mower starts and runs great. It does a nice smooth cut and doesn't leave lines. It is comfortable and fast. I mow my yard in the low range and it is quick enough for me. It holds lots of gas so I can mow my whole yard on about a half tank.
Now the drawbacks; only half my yard has good healthy grass. When I get into sand or soft soil the mower can get stuck especially if there is resistance such as a hill or turn. I would blame my yard more than the mower but thought it worth mentioning. I clean the mower with an air gun from my compressor and it takes a long time due to the hard-to-get-to places between the deck and chassis.
My mower doesn't exactly turn on it's own axis but will go around the smallest tree.
All in all, I'm glad I got the Toro Timecutter and it meets my needs just fine.
+4points
18out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
Daddo
from Maryville, Tn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I've owned a troy bilt 42" cut zero turn for five years. This Toro was a little more money but a more solid mower.

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I opted for the online special because of extras like 50" cut, lift assist for deck, arm rests, non skid foot mat. This model had free shipping to home and a technition who uncrated, set up, and went over operation of the mower. This was only a little over $300 more than in store model without accessories and delivery. I've mowed my yard twice since I received it and pleased with it's performance. i think this is a good product for a residential mower.
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
tthunder38
from alabaster
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

deck came loose on one side

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Mower was sent to my local Toro dealer for assembly where an assembly item was overlooked. For some reason the seat holder rod wasn't attached. Not really a big deal but one would think an authorized Toro dealer wouldn't overlook something so obvious since it is noted in the setup pamphlet. The one thing that really bothered me was the fact that the deck became unattached on one side and really scalped my lawn. There is a bar above the deck that connects to the frame and holds the deck at your predetermined cutting height. Somehow this U-shaped rear lift bar as it is called came loose from the frame where it is held in place via pressure which then caused the deck to fall off of its hanger bracket on one side. Not sure if this is a onetime issue or its going to turn in to an ongoing problem. If it turns in to an ongoing problem you can be assured I will not keep this mower. I know it’s only grass and will grow back but this thing really did a number on my Bermuda grass.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
Matinenda
from Maryland

Great Mower

PostedJune 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace an aging JD LA130 and this mower runs rings around it! First zero-turn and I'm a convert for life! Reduced our mowing time by about 30% for 1-1/2 acres and has a great cut without the clumps of grass the JD used to leave. We have a few hilly spots and a ton of trees and this mower has no problem on the hills and cuts very close to the trees. Only complaint with the mower is that it tends to pull to the right. Also doesn't make much sense that Toro doesn't include an hour meter. HD used a local Toro dealer to set up and deliver (Liberty Discount Lawn Equipment - Reisterstown, MD) - all they did was harass me about not buying at their store - and then when I went to their store to buy a hitch for the mower all I got was the run around (said I needed serial # from mower then when I got that they said they had to call Toro and call me back - never heard from them so I went online and bought the hitch from HD (without the serial # and hassle)) - I'll never do business with Liberty again.
I love this mower (so far) and would highly recommend it.
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
JimH
from Port O'Connor, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Machine

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had about every tractor mower made. They don't last long here on the Gulf of Mexico. This new Zero Turn Toro is just great. I've cut my four lots three times and have mastered driving quite well. This machine is five horsepower over any of the tractors I have used and yet it's much quieter. The deck is much quieter as well. What sold me on the Toro was reputation. My father always bought Toro and they were (and still are) quality machines. I finish my lawn in about half the time it took me to mow using my fastest tractor. The Kawasaki engine is an added plus. I've had Kohler and Briggs & Stratton engines in my tractors but this Kawasaki performs with no hesitation and has all the power I need. The quality of the cut is much better with this unit than I have experienced with tractor-style machines. I highly recommend the zero turn and Toro.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Small Turn Radius
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
bthatch
from milan, tn
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great mower with nice engine.

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have enjoyed using this fine mower. I have had no problems with it so far.
Pros: Cuts Well, Powerful, Small Turn Radius
Cons: missing part
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
Bandrewman
from MN

Wonderful mower

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This mower is great! We have cut down on our mowing time from 3.5 hours to about 2 hours (2.5 acres with lots of trees and other obstacles). This mower replaced an old JD, 42" deck, so between the larger mower deck and zero turn, mowing is a breeze now! Our old mower used to leave big clumps of grass, so we would spend another 2-3 hours sweeping the yard. This Toro mulches and sprays out the grass, so no clumps and no sweeping needed. We went about 4 weeks without mowing due to lack of rain and heat, so the weeds and some grassy areas were quite long. It was no problem for this mower! We wish we had purchased this earlier, as it could have saved us so much time.
The only cons I have with this mower is when I turn down our side hill around the house, the rear wheels often slide out a bit, but I have learned how to turn better and let the mower go as it is directed to go. I have no problem going up the hill, so plenty of power that way. It's just a learning curve to feel how the mower reacts to hills and turns.
The only other con I have is that the gas tank doesn't seem as large as our old JD tank. I ran out of gas with just a small section left, so as long as I refill sometime during my mowing, I'm good. But overall, one of the best investment we have made for our yard.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
GorgeGuy
from White Salmon, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not enough hill climbing power

PostedJune 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have had difficulty on the steeper hills on my lawn..otherwise it's a great mower
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
GRUMPY
from MYRTLE BEACH
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toro SS 5060 zero turn mower

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
ordered my mower online, it was delivered by my local Toro dealer( who couldnt match the price)....and my free string trimmer also they unloaded the mower put together drove it off the trailer showed me some preliminary things and I was cutting grass in two minutes runs perfectly and cuts in half the time of my John Deere L130 I bought 1996 but it also still runs good( bought it at HOme Depot too) love it now my son volunteers to cut the grass it is so fun to drive...we cut app 3 acres.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>