728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed

TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed

The Toro TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP 726 cc Kawasaki V-Twin Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower has a 3-blade mowing system under a 4 in. deep, top discharge deck design with convenient washout port. The mower boasts 7 cutting positions between 1-1/2 in
Overall rating:
4.67 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(91 reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product83 of 87reviews
Rating Breakdown 91 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(71)
4
(13)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Features 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product83 of 87reviews
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer reviews for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
Review 1 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
from Purcellville, Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mowing deck detaches on one side and scalps lawn.

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The deck can detach and it then scalps the lawn. There is a bar above the deck that connects to the frame and holds the deck at your predetermined cutting height. Somehow this U-shaped rear lift bar as it is called comes loose from the frame where it is held in place via pressure which then caused the deck to fall off of its hanger bracket on one side. The front of the bar can also come out of its holder and lead to scalping as well. That bar is a very weak feature of the design and it needs to be reviewed and corrected. This is a repeated problem and has happened nearly six times in the last year. I am always so happy when I get a friend and we crow bar the bar back into place. Also, the covers over the fan belt catch lawn clippings and require removal to clean out the pulleys. Just eliminate these or put some clean out holes in them. When I first bought this mower (about a year ago) I brought it back in 2 weeks for a new deck belt. I was told that the warrantee was not honored because I was using the mower too hard. It's up to you if you want to experience this mower. I am going to a commercial grade mower to save headaches. I only have 2.5 acres to mow.
Pros: Small Turn Radius
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
from Aberdeen, SD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My toughest test resulted in an A+ for this machine!

PostedMay 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had a John Deere front deck mower for years and decided to look at a zero-turn. After extensive research the Toro SS5060 looked like the best fit for my nearly two acres. After the first use I was impressed with the quality cut, comfort, and features (Smart Speed, deck lift, to name a few). My greatest mowing experience was yet to come. I decided to get a little more gutsy and test the limits of the machine. I tackled about a half and acre of overgrown grass/pasture the was knee to waist tall. I had not mowed this area for over five years. The Kawasaki chomped and disposed it like it was barely breaking a sweat! The engine didn't bog down at all! Just purred! My test was no test at all for this machine! This machine aced it. I look forward to many great years of mowing ahead!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
from North Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product was great, delivery not so much

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm giving the product a 5 star rating because the product is good. The "White Glove Delivery" you get with this product left some to be desired. I eventually decided its called white glove because these guys didn't get their hands dirty doing much assembly. Specifically, the gas tank wasn't full, the hitch wasn't installed, and the hand grips didn't line up. Now I finished these tasks, but I felt the White Glove part suggested that more would be done. A better name would be "half done" delivery and setup.
Also, I'm not sure why they give you a cup holder. You can't drive this and drink at the same time.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Small Turn Radius
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
from Bristol, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

TRUE TIMESAVER

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After about 30 minutes or so of getting familiar with the mower, it became clear this was one of the best choices I made!!! This is the first Toro product I have owned. I have 2 acres to mow and this mower cuts the time in half!!! You will not be disappointed with the purchase of this mower.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Small Turn Radius, smartspeed
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
from East Norriton, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I made a good choice.

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was a little concerned if I could handle it, but to my surprise it was easy. Took very little use to feel comfortable using. Great time saver and great cut.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
from Virgina
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product has great features

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Recently purchased the 50'' Torro. Outstanding performance and durability, smart speed, and enhances capabilities of the mower, smooth ride, excellent handling, gives the lawn a beautiful and excellent cut grade. Can cut two acres in half the time, which is 50 minutes. Highly recommend the Torro zero turn mower.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Long-Lasting
Cons: storage
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
from Harrisonburg VA

It's fun to mow grass now

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've had the Toro 50" Zero-Turn for more than 6 weeks and love it! I'm mowing about 2 acres with more than 60 obstacles from trees, plantings, and gardens to a well, pond, and outbuildings. It used to take 5-6 hours to mow with our 42" garden tractor and it now takes 2 hours.
These are the features I like:
- The high back seat is comfortable and provides good support
- The cut is smooth
- The cut grass distribution is very even
- The 2-speed setting is great - I use the slow setting in the orchard and on hills while the fast setting is lets me make time on flat areas with few obstructions
- The two hose ports make cleaning under the deck a breeze
- Changing the engine oil couldn't be easier
- 3 year homeowner warranty without an hour limitation
There are a few things that are less than perfect:
- The 3 gallon gas tank is too small for my yard. I ran out of gas the first two times I mowed in the middle of the job (I could mow twice with the 5 gallon tank in the tractor)
- I got stuck when one of the drive wheels got into a groundhog hole I didn't see in a field - larger drive wheels might help
- I noticed the last time I mowed that I need to adjust the blade height as one side is slightly higher than the other
All in all, it's a great product and I wish I had invested in it sooner.
 
Products related to my review
 
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
from Bellbrook, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Solid Product

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had never been on a zero turn till I my Toro arrived. After 15 minutes I felt I had the hang of it. I feel the Toro is durable and requires little maintenence. I wish it went faster, but I was able to knock out 3 acres in under 3 hours, I have numerous trees to work around and the Toro is great at that.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
from Mokena,Illinois
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Timecutter cut my mowing time in half

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I waited to write a review as to see if I had any issues with my Timecutter. This is my third season and I absolutely love the way my one acre lot looks after it is mowed. It runs as strong as the day I first used it. It would have been nice if it was equipped with an hour meter but I added one on and it was easily installed. I bought the ss5000 and also added the armrests. Highly recommended!!!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
from Flint, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cuts nice

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Cuts nice, ran well for the first week, then wouldn't idle correctly. Went back to the local dealer for a week while the carburetor was re-adjusted. Really frustrating for a very expensive mower. When I called Toro they were not much help getting the mower quickly through the service dealer. Luckily it was a minor fix or I would have returned it and purchased something else. Don't get me wrong it appears to be well made and robust. So I need to give it some more time before the final opion is determined. I really like the features.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful, Small Turn Radius
Cons: needed service to the carburetor
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
from McDonough, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good!

PostedMay 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very satisfied with this mower but I do miss my commercial mower that was stolen from me and did'nt want to spend that much money again but for a residential model I would say this is one is excellent. Made my decision to purchase after much research on performance and reliabilty. My only two gripes are no hour meter and no gas gauge but I knew that before I ordered online. For a $3000 plus mower...should have had it.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
from Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great zero turn but bad baging

PostedJune 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Timecutter is really great and fun to operate. My biggest complaint is that it does a terrible job baging. You set the height at 3 and a half inch and your fine but anything below that forget it. It will leave grass clippings everywhere. You then will have to make a second run over the cut and I would not then call it a Timecutter .
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Great Engine, Easy to Store
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
from Wahpeton, ND, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent machine that I will put through the paces

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have about 12 hours on it now. Excellent engine power. nothing slows it down. Tall grass, 12 inches or more does not exit all the time. That is to be expected. Normal length grass cuts and looks good. I like the two speed/ smart speed setup. The arm rests are a must for me. I would like them adjustable. Draining the oil is not as convenient as I would like. I have to hook on the hose. It does work as stated. Seeing the oil level on the dip stick is not as easy as I would expect. I would like a guard to protect the drive belt. I was able to knock the drive belt off from a tree branch when i backed up while mowing. It says to take it to a dealer for re-installation of the belt. I will do that myself.
The height adjustment for the deck works quite well. I like the foot assist. I mow low areas on my 6 acres of land and I expected that the tires will not work well when it is wet and soft. I plan to install some knobby tires on separate rims for my rural moving experience and will give feedback later on how they work. I did that on another lawnmower non ZTR type and it kept me from pushing it on slick ground when I got stuck. I like the seat comfort. It is a tall back seat that my 160 pound body fits in quite nice. The gas fill opening is large which makes it easy for filling. After I use it for the season in North Dakota I will have a better feel for its durability. I plan on using it and not leaving it in the garage as a show piece.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
from Salisbury, NC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Another Toro To Love!

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Currently own an 8 year old Z master and a month old ss 5060. I love this mower! It is not as fast as my Z but it sure does a good job and makes mowing fun! If I could change anything about it, the ONLY thing would be a rubber discharge chute versus plastic. HIGHLY Recommend
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

EASY TO LEARN HOW TO OPERATE

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very fast and easy to use. The grass looks great even when cut at a high rate of speed. I could not believe how even the grass is cut. Looks like a golf course.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
from Gallatin, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The item cuts down on cutting time.

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love the way it operates. Cuts great an cuts down on time to cut yard. If have to service machine looks to be a easy job to perform.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful, Great Engine
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
from Florence, KY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Fast mowing time.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Only used 4 times but very satified with ease of use and good job of cutting grass level.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
from Lebanon, OR 97355, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product does a great job of cutting

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've only used this machine twice but it does a great job of cutting and is easy to use. I bought the grass catcher but the machine does such a good job of spreading the grass it won't be necessary to use except for leaves and real heavy grass. It is truly a time saver I mow about 4.5 acres in less than 4 hrs. My old machine took 6 to 7 hours and this machine uses about 2 gallons less gas.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
from Mehlville, Mo.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Zero problems with my Zero Turn Toro

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did considerable research before making this purchase and I must say, I am very satisfied with this purchase. This mower is FAST! Seems to cut better when grass has morning dew on it. Toro mowers are American made and I would recommend this mower to everyone with an acre or more.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Small Turn Radius
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TimeCutter SS5060 50 in. 23 HP Kawasaki V-Twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower with Smart Speed
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Toro shop delivered my mower last night, went over the machine with us in detail, cut the 2 acre front yard in half the time as my Junk craftsman YT5400. The 5060 is a breeze to use after getting used to the controls, easy to operate and a pleasure to cut with, this thing does an excellent job mincing the clippings I don’t think I will be putting on the mulch kit . I’ll post again after a few months .
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>