728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscape & Deck Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 Piece Low Voltage LED Coach & Spot Light Kit-DISCONTINUED

6 Piece Low Voltage LED Coach & Spot Light Kit-DISCONTINUED

The Brinkmann 6-Piece Low Voltage LED Coach & Spot Light Kit is a do-it-yourself project that can be installed quickly and safely in less than 60 minutes. This LED kit can provide attractive ground-level accent lighting for statues, fountains, foliage, and more along your garden, path or patio. Everything you need is included: (4) LED coach lights, (2) LED spot lights, and a 20-watt automatic, dusk to dawn, transformer. Brinkmann low voltage outdoor lighting is a quick and simple way to enhance curb appeal, provide an extra sense of security and is a crucial ingredient needed for improving your entire outdoor living experience.
Overall rating:
4.569 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(102 reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product89 of 96reviews
Rating Breakdown 102 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(72)
4
(22)
3
(5)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product89 of 96reviews
Customer questions and answers:
26 Questions | 50 Answers
Customer reviews for 6 Piece Low Voltage LED Coach & Spot Light Kit-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 6 Piece Low Voltage LED Coach & Spot Light Kit-DISCONTINUED

Great clearance items

PostedMay 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The cord from transformer to first light is approximately 12 -15 feet, and the lights have 2.5 + feet of cord that extend either direction. The lights are bright enough to be spaced 4-5 ft. apart, and are quite easy to install. I would recommend.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 Piece Low Voltage LED Coach & Spot Light Kit-DISCONTINUED
from sw ark
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

These are WORTH the MONEY !

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really like these light sets. I purchased 4 on Black Friday at a good price. I had used the solar lights before, but replacing the batteries was expensive & they weren't really made for more than 2 seasons. So I upgraded to the LED. WOW!! They are bright white light. The solar lights look so pale in comparison. I am very pleased.
The installation was easy, too! The ends between the lights screw together with a water tight covering. I have placed all the sets out and before burying the cords, I am making sure that the placement is correct. As long as you have an outlet, very simple & the dusk-to-dawn sensor is wonderful. I had wanted outdoor lighting, but waited for LED prices to come down some.
I am so glad I got this brand.... The spotlights are almost too bright (I had to move them away from shining into my bedroom window). You won't be disappointed with this set. :)
Thanks, Home Depot ! The shipping was super fast, free & well packed.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Great Value, fast shipping
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 Piece Low Voltage LED Coach & Spot Light Kit-DISCONTINUED
from charleston, wv

better quality than expected

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
disappointed with solar landscape lights purchased 18 months ago, wouldn't light brightly or for very long {approx 2 hours}
alot of online research led to brinkman set.
led lights are brighter than the wattage lets on, about equal to a 15 watt incandescent, and save electricity.
ordered two sets, mostly impressed with the quality of the wiring and the solid connection from light to light, they snap together and have a screw on sealing ring to keep the weather out,again appears of higher quality than expected, dusk to dawn sensor works flawlessly so far
you get 10 feet between lights, one feeds off the next like stringing christmas light sets together
the set up was elementary and they work flawlessly
I wasn't thrilled about the spotlights when ordering but they have 3 leds in each unit and look good lighting up the plants and house edges {much brighter than the path lights cause of the three bulbs}
overall very pleased. and home depot beat my go to amazon in price and the ordering/shipping went well
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 Piece Low Voltage LED Coach & Spot Light Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Brown Deer, WI

Low wattage, user-friendly, nice looking outdoor lighting

PostedAugust 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are great kits. The light is not incredibly bright, but much more so than solar lights, and this light won't go out after a couple hours!
We started with 3, and now have 5 kits -- we're using almost all the lights, but we've tested all of them and they all work. The housings are strong black plastic. The coach light "glass" is frosted clear plastic. A couple of the coach lights have already been run into by our kooky Chocolate Lab, but they survived without a scratch (she's broken more than a few of the stakes under solar lights from her overzealous games of fetch). Make sure you use a rubber mallet to gently hammer the coach light stakes into the ground; don't force them in or stomp on them to set them in place. They're sturdy plastic, but I'm sure you could break one if tried hard enough.
Low voltage doesn't necessarily mean low wattage. But that IS the case with these kits -- each comes with just a 20 watt transformer, and because of the low wattage of the lights (I think the coach lights are 1w, 1.5w for the spotlights), you can fit many more lights on a transformer than that which comes in one kit. We have two transformers set up in the back yard -- I was explaining to our kids that now 21 coach and spotlights we have running off those two transformers use the same amount of power as ONE of the four 40w bulbs in our main bathroom. (The rest of our house has CFLs...the one bathroom just has funky lights that don't have a good CFL equivalent yet.)
Anyway, yes, they're low wattage. But they give off a decent amount of light to outline a pathway or show off trees, shrubs, or anything neat you want to spotlight in the night.
The lights are ultra-easy to set up, and the black cords can be hidden under mulch or tucked into a thin trench in the ground.
We had one area in our front yard where we needed a long stretch of wire between two lights. We'd bought 5 light kits, and we only needed 3 of the 5 transformers for our light configurations. Incidentally, the length of the wire attached to the transformer is substantially longer than the length of wire between the lights.
Using one of our spare 20w transformers, this is how my husband made a longer section of wire between two lights:
1. He cut one of the transformers off of a stretch of wire (the wire connected to the transformer is a lot longer than the ones between the lights).
2. On the light that we wanted the longer wire, he cut off the plug at the end.
3. He spliced the wire attached to the light (with the plug end cut off) to the wire that was cut off from the transformer (with its plug end attached). To do this he used a crimping tool and heat shrinkable insulated butt splice (it's a metal crimp connector). These two items should be available in Home Depot's electrical department. Make sure your crimping tool can also strip wires (crimper/stripper), and make sure the butt splice (crimp connector) you use is weathertight and can be buried; most cannot. Strip both of the cut wires with the crimping tool, and follow the directions on the butt splice to splice the two ends together.
We did a lot of landscaping this summer, and the added outdoor lighting has been the perfect finishing touch to our hard work.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 Piece Low Voltage LED Coach & Spot Light Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Seymour, IN 47274, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

so bright

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I really like these. Now I don't have to keep changing batteries and they stay on all night, my solar ones went off before dawn.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Very Bright
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 Piece Low Voltage LED Coach & Spot Light Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Melbourne, FL

excellent lighting

PostedJune 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just purchased these led lights 3 weeks ago and I am very pleased with them. they are so easy to set up. Each light fixture screws into the next one. each light has 5' of cord runing into it and 5' running out of it to the next fixture. the led lights has a nice lighting to them. the 2 spotlights shine for quite a distance to enhance my trees and entrance. I used an outside timer instead of letting the lights be on from dusk to dawn. so far I am very pleased with the lights.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 Piece Low Voltage LED Coach & Spot Light Kit-DISCONTINUED

Quality lights!

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Solar lighting has it's place, but if you want to properly light your home for looks and security, you'll want to get these! If you don't like the black, they're very easy to paint (I colored mine brown to match the light fixtures outside my home). Installation couldn't be easier, however, the cord wasn't long enough to reach the outlet I needed it in. I was able to use an extension cord to supplement the lack of length, which was also easy to bury in between the space where the sod touches the house. And these lights are VERY bright; the color of the LEDs are comparable to the "Daylight" hue. If you don't know what I'm talking about, go to any Home Depot and check out their different variations of LED's setup to see how "Daylight" compares to "Warm Light". They take some getting used to, but my wife and I love them. The spot lights were better than I expected they would be; I thought I was going to get a real straightforward beam of light, but these are able to spread across a good surface area. You won't have any problems lighting up a good side of your house with 2-4 spotlights, depending on the layout of your home. And the quality of the poly-resin is just as good as metal, in my opinion; they feel extremely durable. I don't plan on chucking a basketball at them anytime soon, but I'm sure they could withstand the impact. As for the transformer, I haven't had any problems with not covering it up. It's not fully exposed to the rain, however I don't have it on the ground either. One transformer can produce power for eight lights and four spot lights.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: cord isn't long enough
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 Piece Low Voltage LED Coach & Spot Light Kit-DISCONTINUED
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for the price

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The lights and sensor have worked from the time I plugged it in. It was easy to do, the cords are plenty long enough. I could wish for a little more strength, but once I realized the fragility I adapted. The lights are bright enough for their task and the spots are great!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: fragile construction
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6 Piece Low Voltage LED Coach & Spot Light Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Cary, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Returned them

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I did not like these lights. The color of the light was too cool and they did not illuminate the ground around them. I was disappointed because they were a great value and I liked the look of them. They are also very plastic-y feeling and I am sure my dogs or kids would have broken them in no time.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Stylish
Cons: cheap plastic construction, did not put out much light
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6 Piece Low Voltage LED Coach & Spot Light Kit-DISCONTINUED

High Tech, Great Look

PostedJune 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These look kind of tinkery, but they give off a bright white light that looks very professional. Easy to connect and each powerpack can support up to 15 lights, so you are not limited to just 6 lights. They are so cheap to operate they more than pay for themselves. Really a great landscape light. Buy 2 sets, they come boxed together in the manufacturers original carton, less handling, less chance of damage.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6 Piece Low Voltage LED Coach & Spot Light Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Missouri, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Concerned the loose plastic top and bottom spike may break

PostedSeptember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The LED spot is bright but the swivel is somewhat limited so you can’t highlight low to the ground objects. The coach lights have rather loose fitting top parts which feel like they could come off in strong winds. Both the spot and coach lights use weak plastic spikes for ground mounting. They bend in hard ground. Overall they are worth the sale price.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6 Piece Low Voltage LED Coach & Spot Light Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Ellicott City, MD
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Landscaping lights that stay bright

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have gone through two sets of solar lights and the batteries cost more than the light sets. We purchased these Low Voltage LED lights and they work wonderfully. They took some time to install because you have to dig to place the wires, but other than that, they stay bright!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6 Piece Low Voltage LED Coach & Spot Light Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to assemble and bright!

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Lights are very easy to install. Took me about 30 mins to put two sets up around my patio. The end-to-end connectors are convenient and more secure, but I must agree with other reviewers that there isn't as much flexibility with placement of lights as with sets that have the 'push-in' type connectors. If you want two lights fairly close together you're simply going to have a lot of extra wire between them.
Being LED lights, the light is very 'blue-white'. But it's much brighter than traditional incandescent low-voltage sets, and the energy-efficient bulbs will last a long time.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6 Piece Low Voltage LED Coach & Spot Light Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Maine
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice product at a great price

PostedNovember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchsed product because I wanted LED exterior lighting. The lights are fairly bright, not extreamly bright, but bright enough. Light gives off a white light. Overall, I really like these lights. My only negative is the fact that you can only space these lights out 10' apart. If you are trying to go a long distance from your power outlet to the actual lights, you will have to be creative. I bought a second set, spliced the wires and extended my reach to my desired distance from the power outlet and between each light.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6 Piece Low Voltage LED Coach & Spot Light Kit-DISCONTINUED
from BatoRoue, LA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Highly Recommend

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 3 sets because I needed 6 spot lights for the front columns (the 6 spot light kit was discontinued). It worked out okay because I used the coach lights down the side of my house. The final results were excellent! The lights come on at dusk and go off at dawn, and is a very white light. After laying-out the lights where I wanted them, I hooked up all 3 sets in about an hour.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6 Piece Low Voltage LED Coach & Spot Light Kit-DISCONTINUED

Brinkmann Low Voltage LED Landscape lights

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After much research, I purchased several sets of the Brinkmann low voltage LED lights to install in my new landscaping. So far, I am very pleased with the purchase. Installation was a breeze. The light color is a little blue but nothing I can't get used to. The spot lights produce a fair amount of light also. I have a 0.25 mile driveway and the spots can be easily seen from the road which was my goal. Overall, I'm very pleased. I'll just have to see how they hold up.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6 Piece Low Voltage LED Coach & Spot Light Kit-DISCONTINUED

Great light but not very durable

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The lights look great and were very easy to install. The light output is great and the are very cost efficient. However, they are not very durable. I have kids and if the lights get hit by a basketball or bike they break easily. If an aluminum body was an option vs plastic they would be an outstanding product and be more durable
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright
Cons: not very durable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6 Piece Low Voltage LED Coach & Spot Light Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is the 2nd set I purchased, they are great.

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are really easy to install and look great. Gives off plenty of light too. Looking forward to not replacing light bulbs every year with these new led's. This is the second set I purchased. The first set works so well I got another and started replacing the halogen lights with these.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6 Piece Low Voltage LED Coach & Spot Light Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Tampa, FL

Bright lights and easy to install

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read several reviews on landscape lighting before making this purchase. LED is the way to go. Suprisingly bright. This kit was very easy to install, as long as you have a dedicated outdoor receptical with a weatherproof box cover. The lighting doesn't cover a lot of area (the max 10 feet apart is kind of far), but you can add up to 9 more lights on the same transformer. I may be buying another kit to add a few more lights.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6 Piece Low Voltage LED Coach & Spot Light Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Set Of Outdoor Lighting.

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Outstanding amount of bright light that they put out. Simple to install and nice apperance.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>