728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer

4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer

Leave bugs dead in the dust. That’s exactly what you’ll see with Safer Brand’s Ant and Crawling Insect Killer. And you don’t have to worry about applying chemicals to get the job done. Kills any type of crawling insect within 48 hours. Once you apply Ant and Crawling Insect Killer where you have a crawling insect problem, you’ll see insect activity stop in minutes. Infestation issues in a couple of days. Dual action. Kills insects by ingestion and dehydration. You can use it inside your home or outside in gardens, or on patios and walkways. It lasts as long as it’s dry. Details on how Diatomaceous Earth works to kill crawling insects. Diatomaceous Earth (DE) is a dust-like product that contains the crushed fossilized algae (diatoms) from fresh water. These crushed diatoms feel like powder when we rub it in our hand. But it’s very sharp to insects with delicate exoskeletons. When you apply DE, dust is ingested by the crawling insect or the insect crosses through the powder. The DE will cut their exoskeleton. This causes the insect to dehydrate and die. Insects cannot develop a resistance to it since there are no chemicals to which they can build up immunity. Not all DE is the same. This DE is made of Silicon Dioxide. This comes from a freshwater source. It is the same type as used in food-grade diatomaceous earth. Be careful of products made of Diatomite DE. It is made from unnatural sources.
Overall rating:
4.214 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product35 of 40reviews
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(28)
4
(6)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product35 of 40reviews
Customer reviews for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
Review 1 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
Frankie
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

KO's bedbugs in the first round!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Yo son, check it! I've literally tried everything from pest traps, sprays, & bombs & everyone from Orkin, Clark's, & Terminex pest controls and nobody kicked these bed bugs' butts faster and in a more dominating way than this product. This product packs a mean punch, one that not even the most skilled bed bug can counter. Safer's Diatomaceous Earth simply smothers bed bugs in the corner of the ring and KO's the opposition! If you're tired of bed bugs bullying you then I recommend sending in The Safer 4lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant & Crawling Insect Killer!!
Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
 
+41points
53out of 65found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
happycamper
from michigan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works so good

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
have no fear. i got it and had a war .. use a sock .. scoop it in.. and just kinda shake the sock . it will help get it into the cracks and crevices.. no signs of life after 2 weeks. would you rather have a little white dust on your clothes for a bit or something crawling up ur legs.. seriously.
i slept fine with it all around .. i didnt even clean it up for 2 or 3 months cause i wanted to obliterate everything. just change the vac flter after... no regrets.
companies will say it doesnt work so you can keep paying them for their service... take actions into your own hands and get the best sleep u had in a while. i'm not telling u what to do but just sharing my experience... There is NO other way.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
kw17

Effective but messy

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So this really works, its been a killing field for little critters in the garage and outside the edge of my house. However you really need some kind of applicator, don't expect to just toss this stuff around because it will be too thick and you then have a bunch of white dust everywhere. Get some kind of puffer to spray it into those tight spaces where the bugs will go and you won't see. Roaches and ants are dying everywhere, and my spider problem seems to be under control. But this stuff is very difficult to clean up unless you spray it with a hose and it will leave a white residue that takes several attempts to truly get rid of.
Pros: Durable, Functionality
Cons: mess
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
Apasserby

100% Quality Product

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Totally satisfied!First of all we had no pets or children.Purchased a plastic mustard container with a long spout.Poured this product via the nozzle along every carpet/wall seam in a small amount.Poured a small amount between box/matress edges and around bed frame legs in small amounts.Within 1 day we noticed dead bugs,one was on the wall and when I touched it..poof..it turned into powder!Anyway,after 1 week we have our life back as these were here from previous residents and living in walls and carpet areas.strongly recommend this product as the small amounts we used we not unsightly and highly effective.Constantly wash your hands after any contact just to be safe =)
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality, Cost Effective
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
NYPierre
from Alameda, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works on fleas too...

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It works on fleas too. I highly recommend that you do NOT use it all over your rug, it will ruin vacuum cleaners. I recommend renting a commercial rug shampoo machine. Vacuums will blow the DE everywhere which is very bad, as this is not safe to breath in. Do your research. While it i snot toxic, it is not good for you to inhale.
+38points
39out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
hapigirl
from Ocala, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Grest product

PostedApril 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read about Diatomaceous Earth online when I had a flea infestation last year. What a powdery mess! But it worked! I sprinkled the Diatomaceous Earth on the carpet near the base boards and use a broom to sweep the powder around on the carpet. I left the power on for a couple of days then started vacuuming very 2 days and no more bugs or fleas!
It also works in the yard for ant and ground bug control. I use a fertilizer spreader and work my way from the perimeter of the house out. This drives the bugs way from the house!
Will do this in the yard every spring at least twice. It is a bit messy, but cheaper than all those other products out there.
Here's a hint: vinegar, salt and dish soap sprayed on poison ivy and other weeds will kill them.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
Cons: messy, lots of dust
+81points
83out of 85found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
cory
from Lakewood, OH
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works, but make sure your vacuum is up to the task

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product worked great, had a flea infestation and was getting close to calling an exterminator. Sprinkled this on the carpet and for the next half day they attacked me like crazy, they were apparently pretty annoyed. By the third day, almost none were left.
But, a major con depending on what kind of vacuum cleaner you have! The dust is VERY fine and can destroy a cheap vacuum cleaner unless it has a filter for fine particles. I would recommend getting your carpets professionally cleaned after sprinkling your whole house as we lost a $70 vacuum in the cleanup. Good luck!
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality, natural
Cons: hard to clean
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
ezst
from LI, NY
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Silverfish and Ants infesting your baseboards?

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I opened the tip of the bag into a spout and after cleaning, I coated my infested baseboards and linoleum with this powder;' poured/shook out straight from the bag. It was like chemical warfare, yo! I kept my eye on the situation for a while (5 min) and when I realized that a new bunch was crawlin to the surface I hit em' again, like POW! I haven't seen a single ant or silverfish in two days!
(Get air circulating with windows open. Wear facemask if you use a broom to sweep it into corners and be gentle or you'll need eye protection too, but it doesn't even itch to get it on your fingers, just dries your skin a little) Sweep a small-medium sized line against ALL the baseboards and leave that unobtrusive powder sit. So far it's kept them out. Only took about a third of the bag but the area covered was small so it could get expensive for larger homes/infestations.
Definitely give this product a try.
Pros: Strong
Cons: messy/not easy to clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
MissB448
from IN
Gender:Female

Safe to believe in SAFER

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I discovered I had those pesky bed bugs in my apartment. After considerable research, I decided to purchase DE. I went to my local Home Depot and luckily they had one bag remaining and the associate told me everyone has this problem so I didn't feel so embarrassed to purchase this for bed bugs. I applied it with a slender paint brush for the cracks and crevices and plastic bottle (like the ones see in restaurant). i used a mask to over my mouth and gloves to cover my hands. I read where someone didn't use gloves and their hands dried out pretty bad.Within 5 days,I was seeing died out bugs here and there. It has been 3 weeks and I haven't seen anymore live ones. So I know it's working. I will continue to use this brand and will continue to purchase it at Home Depot because it works. The price is right for the amount of product you get.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
+49points
49out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
HSKL
from Aurora, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

halleluiah!.....finally!

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Finally an effective product to kill bed bugs. I felt like an annuity for my exterminator.....this stuff works!
Pros: Functionality, Effective
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
Rayray
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It does exactly what it stated!!!!

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had bedbugs and wanted to treat our entire house with out using anymore smelly chemicals. Great for a family with pets
Pros: Easy to Clean, Great Quality
Cons: very fine powder learned it could be messy
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
TriedandTrue
from Atlanta, GA, USA

Awesome product & safe alternative to liquid pesticides!

PostedJune 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was surprised with an mild infestation of roaches (yeah I said it) in my house during the spring. It appears they were drawn to my dog's food bowl and continued on toward my kitchen. I was grossed out after seeing one or two scale my cabinet and realized pesticide sprays (ex. Raid) weren't as effective and dangerous to my health. So, I looked online for non-hazardous pesticide options & found diatomaceous earth listed as an alternative with high recommendations. After dusting & heavy sprinkling this powder throughout my cabinets, windows, open cracks, especially along edges...I HAVE NOT SEEN 1 INSECT!! THIS STUFF IS A MIRACLE :) For one week I left this dust down throughout the kitchen being careful not to expose the dust to water or moisture. After 1 month, I still have yet to see any bugs! I am convinced that this product is awesome.
+50points
50out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
Laura
from Detroit, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There are empty lots near my home which seems to cause an abundance of crawly creepy things. This product is a safe way of keeping these things out of my home and killing them if they come in. The ants walk up to the dust and turn right around. Yes!
Pros: Functionality, safe around kids
Cons: a little messy
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
Eddie
from Imperial Beach Ca.
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Do not confuse this product with the pool filter product

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
there are 2 types of diatomaceous earth. the pool product is dangerous and poisonous to all creatures. the number on the side of the pool filter product box is for a poison control center.
food grade DE is safe to use around your house and can even be used safely on your dog and cat to control fleas.
Be careful, read the labels and do your homework. Read about the differences. the life you save, may be your own.
+75points
82out of 89found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
Rashida
from Lauderhill, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This was a life saver !!!!!

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found out that i had bed bugs in February 2012, but i had the bed bugs from november of 2011. When i realize that i had it i was devastated. I was scared out of my mind. The infestation were in the outlets,in my bedroom, the outlets in my living room and little babies were in my cloths closet and in the air freshners in my bathroom close to the ceiling. I wanted to move out and leave everything behind.i puchased the Hot Shot Defogger, Hot Shot spray. Nothing worked. The spray only works on contact and thats it. After a month of sleepless nights and consistant research online i found this product. I followed all the instructions with bagging all of my cloths, linens. i sprinkled the powder everywhere i could. i litterally
" OD" on the powder in my condo. The TV stand, around my bed, on my kids beds, around all the base boards of the house. Every crack and crevice i could find between the bedroom , living room and cloths and linen closets. I even went as far as sprinkling the powder in the outlets.(BE VERY CAUTIOUS WHEN DOING THIS, YOU CAN GET ELECTRICUTED)!!!!!!!!!! A week later i started seeing dead bed bugs.by August my bed bug diaster was gone. I must say that I did get a quote from the exterminater and it could have cost me $2000, for one treatment thatt was not guarenteed to work on the first treatment. I must say that it helped that i had tile throughout the condo. I paid $9.00 plus the cost of washing everything in the house. Everyting that i did not have to use consistantly, I kept in a sealed garbage bag and continuesly wash all my familiies cloths in hot water. If you do not have alot of money to spend this is the product, But you have to follow the procedures to rid of Bed Bugs. I recieved a guide from the exterminator.
+48points
48out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
WJWU

It works!

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought it for maintenance after bedbug extermination. No more bites. It's easy to use - just brush it all over the crevices and corners. However I do recommend wearing a face mask while working with this powder, in order to avoid sneezing.
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
clay
from kitsap county wa.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

just used it waiting for results

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
we have carpenter ants under the house and as I am deathly afraid of spiders I am not going under there so I dumped the DE in my media blaster and started spraying it under there until the fine dust was coming out of all louvers around the house time will tell.
Pros: Multi Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
benny
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had stink bugs. Lady bugs, I haven't seen any that were almost dead or dead. It's not all the time you get something that works. I dusted once.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
desperado1984
from Woodbury, MN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works for bedbugs!

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This works great for bedbugs. It took about a week for it to work. We have not been bit since.
Pros: Great Quality
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
Sandiana

So glad I tried DE!

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am so happy I finally tried DE. My home went from being ant-free to ants all over my wood floors in the kitchen, front hall and hall between the mudroom & kitchen. I'm not sure where they were coming in, but all it took was my cat knocking down a piece of sweet zucchini bread off the island onto the floor overnight, and they came from somewhere. I initially got up as many as I saw by spraying vinegar & water mixture, but that didn't seem to kill them. I then did a mixture of Dawn dish soap, vinegar & water, and that seemed to keep them away to some degree,but I would still see a few crawling along my floor trim (and with flood floors there were likely more I couldn't see). I was frustrated but didn't want to use harsh sprays because I have two cats. I had read up about DE for a while and wanted to make sure that I got a safe, quality product so ordered this online & picked up in store an hour or two later. I know it says that the DE is supposed to kill them in 24-48 hours, but I have to tell you that once I put down the DE, I never saw another ant (dead or alive)! I decided to sprinkle a solid line across the front and back door thresholds and along both sides of my hallways and a sprinkling at each corner of my kitchen floor (corners of cabinetry). I am thrilled! The only downside is that I have powder thresholds all over my my main level and will obviously need to vacuum up the powder before I have any company over, but I am sold on this stuff! I have two cats, and neither of them has shown ANY signs whatsoever of being bothered by the DE in any way (I do have little kitty prints from the powder on my wood floors, as well, but that was bound to happen since they will occasionally step thru one of the thresholds). Oh, and I applied it with a 1/3 cup measuring cup and just shook it out,which resulted in a thicker line than I would have gotten if I had a baby powder-type dispenser, but there is plenty still remaining in the bag, so that wasn't a problem. I don't know if it killed the ants or simply prevented them from coming back in, but either way I am very pleased with this product.
Pros: Great Quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>