728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer

4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer

Leave bugs dead in the dust. That’s exactly what you’ll see with Safer Brand’s Ant and Crawling Insect Killer. And you don’t have to worry about applying chemicals to get the job done. Kills any type of crawling insect within 48 hours. Once you apply Ant and Crawling Insect Killer where you have a crawling insect problem, you’ll see insect activity stop in minutes. Infestation issues in a couple of days. Dual action. Kills insects by ingestion and dehydration. You can use it inside your home or outside in gardens, or on patios and walkways. It lasts as long as it’s dry. Details on how Diatomaceous Earth works to kill crawling insects. Diatomaceous Earth (DE) is a dust-like product that contains the crushed fossilized algae (diatoms) from fresh water. These crushed diatoms feel like powder when we rub it in our hand. But it’s very sharp to insects with delicate exoskeletons. When you apply DE, dust is ingested by the crawling insect or the insect crosses through the powder. The DE will cut their exoskeleton. This causes the insect to dehydrate and die. Insects cannot develop a resistance to it since there are no chemicals to which they can build up immunity. Not all DE is the same. This DE is made of Silicon Dioxide. This comes from a freshwater source. It is the same type as used in food-grade diatomaceous earth. Be careful of products made of Diatomite DE. It is made from unnatural sources.
Overall rating:
4.247 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(73 reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product62 of 69reviews
Rating Breakdown 73 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(46)
4
(13)
3
(6)
2
(2)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product62 of 69reviews
Customer reviews for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
Review 1 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
from clearwater fl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

kills bed bugs!!!!

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband was being eaten alive by these critters. The bites first appeared in Jan 2014, at first we were in denial because we never saw any. Over time the bites kept increasing and oddly enough he was the only one being attacked! Based on pics we found on the internet we knew it had to be bed bugs. I used a small flour sifter, a yellow pointy nose mustard bottle from the dollar store with a face mask an gently squirted this magical powder along the base board throughout the apartment, the crevice of the coach, night stand, dresser, foot of the bed and chairs. Sprinkled with sifter under the mattress and sofa seats. I had a heavy hand when applying. Started noticing a difference immediately. Two days after applying this stuff we finally saw a couple slowly moving in the bathroom covered in powder. By the end of the week no more bites!!! Two months later and still no more bugs. With the help of Neosporine ( boy did he scratch them) his embarrassing bite marks are almost gone.
Pros: Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+38points
38out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
from Vancouver, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

it works

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i remember trying this stuff years ago but not really understanding how it works. i have researched it and used it recently and without a doubt it does help significantly kill ants. i live in vancouver wa and we get our share of rain. but this stuff if used outside in an uncovered area will continue to work when it dries out unless it is washed away and will work inside or in covered areas well. i find activity spots and apply it and additionally put some around seedlings in garden. its cheap clean and i will always have some on hand.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

KO's bedbugs in the first round!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Yo son, check it! I've literally tried everything from pest traps, sprays, & bombs & everyone from Orkin, Clark's, & Terminex pest controls and nobody kicked these bed bugs' butts faster and in a more dominating way than this product. This product packs a mean punch, one that not even the most skilled bed bug can counter. Safer's Diatomaceous Earth simply smothers bed bugs in the corner of the ring and KO's the opposition! If you're tired of bed bugs bullying you then I recommend sending in The Safer 4lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant & Crawling Insect Killer!!
Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
 
+76points
91out of 106found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
from Jersey City, New Jerey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Cure for bed Bugs

PostedJune 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a bed bug infestation in my apartment. these nasty insects would come and feed on me and my family every night. we went for almost a week without sleep. my mother was traumatized by this, we have tried all bed bugs products available (bombs, sprays, ..). Finally, I found this well reviewed powder online, I put the powder almost everywhere in my apartment. Two days later, there was no sign of bed bugs, I have only seen some dead ones!!. I highly recommend this product. it's a bit messy but who cares! it does the job well.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
from Coeur d'Alene, ID
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Messy but effective...

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Messy and unsightly, but works. I bought this as a last resort for a flea infestation. I tried flea bombs, baking soda, citrus spray, various chemicals....they killed MOST of the fleas but I was still getting bitten and still seeing them occasionally. I think what originally deterred me from trying diatomaceous earth in the first place is the fact that it takes a while to work. Since I wanted to get rid of the fleas immediately, I went straight for the chemicals. But diatomaceous earth is the only thing that will KEEP working for as long as it's in place. I sprinkled it all over my carpets, under my couch cushions, between my mattress and box spring, under the baseboards...everywhere. The other day I saw a centipede crawling across my linoleum. I took a pinch of diatomaceous earth and dropped it on the centipede and watched it curl up and die right then and there. Pretty cool. The stuff has been on my carpets for about a week now. I haven't seen any fleas but have gotten one or two new bites. Will leave it on for at least another week. One tip: vacuum BEFORE sprinkling the DE around. The vibrations from the vacuum will make the fleas active and cause any dormant pupae to spring out since they think there is a host around. DE doesn't work on eggs or pupae, that's why it's important to awaken the pupae first and leave the powder for as long as it takes those eggs to cycle through to adulthood.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: messy, ugly
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer

100% Quality Product

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Totally satisfied!First of all we had no pets or children.Purchased a plastic mustard container with a long spout.Poured this product via the nozzle along every carpet/wall seam in a small amount.Poured a small amount between box/matress edges and around bed frame legs in small amounts.Within 1 day we noticed dead bugs,one was on the wall and when I touched it..poof..it turned into powder!Anyway,after 1 week we have our life back as these were here from previous residents and living in walls and carpet areas.strongly recommend this product as the small amounts we used we not unsightly and highly effective.Constantly wash your hands after any contact just to be safe =)
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality, Cost Effective
+48points
48out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
from michigan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works so good

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
have no fear. i got it and had a war .. use a sock .. scoop it in.. and just kinda shake the sock . it will help get it into the cracks and crevices.. no signs of life after 2 weeks. would you rather have a little white dust on your clothes for a bit or something crawling up ur legs.. seriously.
i slept fine with it all around .. i didnt even clean it up for 2 or 3 months cause i wanted to obliterate everything. just change the vac flter after... no regrets.
companies will say it doesnt work so you can keep paying them for their service... take actions into your own hands and get the best sleep u had in a while. i'm not telling u what to do but just sharing my experience... There is NO other way.
+61points
63out of 65found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer

Effective but messy

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So this really works, its been a killing field for little critters in the garage and outside the edge of my house. However you really need some kind of applicator, don't expect to just toss this stuff around because it will be too thick and you then have a bunch of white dust everywhere. Get some kind of puffer to spray it into those tight spaces where the bugs will go and you won't see. Roaches and ants are dying everywhere, and my spider problem seems to be under control. But this stuff is very difficult to clean up unless you spray it with a hose and it will leave a white residue that takes several attempts to truly get rid of.
Pros: Durable, Functionality
Cons: mess
+46points
48out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
from LI, NY
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Silverfish and Ants infesting your baseboards?

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I opened the tip of the bag into a spout and after cleaning, I coated my infested baseboards and linoleum with this powder;' poured/shook out straight from the bag. It was like chemical warfare, yo! I kept my eye on the situation for a while (5 min) and when I realized that a new bunch was crawlin to the surface I hit em' again, like POW! I haven't seen a single ant or silverfish in two days!
(Get air circulating with windows open. Wear facemask if you use a broom to sweep it into corners and be gentle or you'll need eye protection too, but it doesn't even itch to get it on your fingers, just dries your skin a little) Sweep a small-medium sized line against ALL the baseboards and leave that unobtrusive powder sit. So far it's kept them out. Only took about a third of the bag but the area covered was small so it could get expensive for larger homes/infestations.
Definitely give this product a try.
Pros: Strong
Cons: messy/not easy to clean
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
from Amarfillo,TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very good product.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We put the product in a jar with holes in the top. We were having a problem with sugar ants on the kitchen cabinet. Sprinkled powder in areas where ants appeared to be most prolific. Took about 3 days for them to quit showing up. We would sprinkle, and they appeared to go away. Would return the next morning until about the 3rd or 4th morning. The ant traps we had tried first were utterly useless. Product worked well, but we have enough to last for years (maybe). Wish we could have purchased a smaller container.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
from Lakewood, OH
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works, but make sure your vacuum is up to the task

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product worked great, had a flea infestation and was getting close to calling an exterminator. Sprinkled this on the carpet and for the next half day they attacked me like crazy, they were apparently pretty annoyed. By the third day, almost none were left.
But, a major con depending on what kind of vacuum cleaner you have! The dust is VERY fine and can destroy a cheap vacuum cleaner unless it has a filter for fine particles. I would recommend getting your carpets professionally cleaned after sprinkling your whole house as we lost a $70 vacuum in the cleanup. Good luck!
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality, natural
Cons: hard to clean
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
from Houston
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It did get rid of Fleas!

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
OK, if you have found fleas you might be freaked out, I was. I was getting ready to move, from CO, into an apartment until my wife and I agreed on what area to buy our new home in. We are bringing our dogs with, so I can't have fleas.
I had quickly researched the product and decided to try it. I spread the powder completely over the carpeted floor and let it sit for 6-8 hours. That wasn't enough but it did knock out a large number of all the pests I found in this apartment. I had bought some spray to finish the job and I think the fleas liked it. I took off a pair of white socks and quickly put them in a gallon bag. I saw fleas so I opened the bag and spray the flea spray in. They are still alive 5 days latter.
I was desperate, so I applied the powder again and let it sit for three days. Then I vacuumed. You will test your vacuum getting all of the powder back up, but I would have gladly given up 2 vacuums to get ride of these pests. I set out the flea traps and believe I have knocked out %99 of them. There is enough residual powder to make my carpet inhospitable so I will keep vacuuming them up if they are still hatching. At least I feel like I have turned the corner and will win the battle.
Pros: Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had stink bugs. Lady bugs, I haven't seen any that were almost dead or dead. It's not all the time you get something that works. I dusted once.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
from Oxford, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i used it to get rid of roaches and palmetto bugs. it worked great.
Pros: Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
from Ocala, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Grest product

PostedApril 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read about Diatomaceous Earth online when I had a flea infestation last year. What a powdery mess! But it worked! I sprinkled the Diatomaceous Earth on the carpet near the base boards and use a broom to sweep the powder around on the carpet. I left the power on for a couple of days then started vacuuming very 2 days and no more bugs or fleas!
It also works in the yard for ant and ground bug control. I use a fertilizer spreader and work my way from the perimeter of the house out. This drives the bugs way from the house!
Will do this in the yard every spring at least twice. It is a bit messy, but cheaper than all those other products out there.
Here's a hint: vinegar, salt and dish soap sprayed on poison ivy and other weeds will kill them.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
Cons: messy, lots of dust
+97points
99out of 101found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
from Alameda, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works on fleas too...

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It works on fleas too. I highly recommend that you do NOT use it all over your rug, it will ruin vacuum cleaners. I recommend renting a commercial rug shampoo machine. Vacuums will blow the DE everywhere which is very bad, as this is not safe to breath in. Do your research. While it i snot toxic, it is not good for you to inhale.
+42points
45out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
from Atlanta
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What pest control Co. don't want you to know.

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not just bed bugs but roaches too. I put the powder under and around everywhere till they couldn't stand to be in my apartment. Wonderful stuff and wonderful price. A very fine powder that will fill any crack and crevice.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
from IN
Gender:Female

Safe to believe in SAFER

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I discovered I had those pesky bed bugs in my apartment. After considerable research, I decided to purchase DE. I went to my local Home Depot and luckily they had one bag remaining and the associate told me everyone has this problem so I didn't feel so embarrassed to purchase this for bed bugs. I applied it with a slender paint brush for the cracks and crevices and plastic bottle (like the ones see in restaurant). i used a mask to over my mouth and gloves to cover my hands. I read where someone didn't use gloves and their hands dried out pretty bad.Within 5 days,I was seeing died out bugs here and there. It has been 3 weeks and I haven't seen anymore live ones. So I know it's working. I will continue to use this brand and will continue to purchase it at Home Depot because it works. The price is right for the amount of product you get.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
+64points
64out of 64found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
from Aurora, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

halleluiah!.....finally!

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Finally an effective product to kill bed bugs. I felt like an annuity for my exterminator.....this stuff works!
Pros: Functionality, Effective
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4 lb. Diatomaceous Earth Ant and Crawling Insect Killer
from Atlanta, GA, USA

Awesome product & safe alternative to liquid pesticides!

PostedJune 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was surprised with an mild infestation of roaches (yeah I said it) in my house during the spring. It appears they were drawn to my dog's food bowl and continued on toward my kitchen. I was grossed out after seeing one or two scale my cabinet and realized pesticide sprays (ex. Raid) weren't as effective and dangerous to my health. So, I looked online for non-hazardous pesticide options & found diatomaceous earth listed as an alternative with high recommendations. After dusting & heavy sprinkling this powder throughout my cabinets, windows, open cracks, especially along edges...I HAVE NOT SEEN 1 INSECT!! THIS STUFF IS A MIRACLE :) For one week I left this dust down throughout the kitchen being careful not to expose the dust to water or moisture. After 1 month, I still have yet to see any bugs! I am convinced that this product is awesome.
+65points
65out of 65found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>