728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Patching & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 in. x 50 ft. Self-Adhesive Paint

2 in. x 50 ft. Self-Adhesive Paint

The StepSaver 2 in. x 50 ft. Self-Adhesive Stress Crack Tape is designed to repair cracks on plaster or drywall walls and ceilings and can also assist with painting over paneling.
Overall rating:
3.417 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
64%of customersrecommend this product29 of 45reviews
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(20)
4
(8)
3
(3)
2
(6)
1
(11)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
64%of customersrecommend this product29 of 45reviews
Customer reviews for 2 in. x 50 ft. Self-Adhesive Paint
Review 1 for 2 in. x 50 ft. Self-Adhesive Paint
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easily applied but still needs to be spackeled. To expensive.

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The tape was easily applied and had good adhesion but any imperfection in the drywall caused visible bumps in the tape. I applied the tape to drywall and then painted the entire wall. The edges of the tape were clearly visible after 2 coats of paint so I had to spackle, sand and repaint to get a smooth surface, which is what I was trying to avoid by buying the very expensive tape.
I will hold final judgement of the product for a full year to see if the minor stress crack re-appears.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 in. x 50 ft. Self-Adhesive Paint

Works great on plaster cracks

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had numorous hairline cracks in the plaster of my older home. I was able to repair them without any issue with the Stress Crack Tape product.
Some areas I simply painted direct (two coats with a roller), while others I chose to simply skim the edges prior to painting.
When skimming the edges with joint compound (drywall mud) you should understand that the drywall mud obsorbes paint more than the stress crack tape does, and therefore you must either recoat, or primer the mud. If not the tape may appear shiny next to the mud. This is common sense to all in the industry, though may not be to others.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 in. x 50 ft. Self-Adhesive Paint
from Elkton, KY

Stress Crack Tape

PostedApril 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I will have to admit I was very skeptical and doubtful about your companies claims of the Stress Crack Tape products. I needed something to hide stress cracks in my walls and ceilings. So I decided to buy 3 rolls of your stress crack tape and give it a try. Man was I wrong about your product. I was blown away at how it easy it was to use and how if you applied a skimming of spackle or drywall compound to the edge of the tape how it becomes totally invisible after painting. I am now a firm believer in your stress crack tape products and have recommended it to several friends and family members. Your product is truly unbelievable and easy to use. I will be using it a lot in the future when needed. Thank you for making such an outstanding product.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 in. x 50 ft. Self-Adhesive Paint
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

easy to apply

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Applied tape over cracks and then textured ceiling area. Covered easily and no more stress cracks. Will have to wait a while to see if they reappear. Tape is pliable and tough.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 in. x 50 ft. Self-Adhesive Paint
from usa

Painter by Trade...5 Star

PostedJuly 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After years of recurring cracks in my customer's walls, I came accross the Stress Crack Tape product. I have had great results with this item, and have had happy customers as well.
Though I must point out that if you are covering up wide cracks that move seasonally, it is important to apply the Stress Crack Tape when the crack is in its most closed position (This is recommended on the package). If not, it is likely that the tape will push out when the crack closes. This is a total non-issue for hairline cracks.
As I stated above applying the tape when it is closed is ideal, if not you may end up with a buldge when the crack moves to its most closed position. If this happens, its not the end of the world. You have two easy solutions.
1. You can simply take a razor knife and slice through the air bubble, then push the tape back down flat...follow that up by applying another piece of tape over the top. I know its not ideal, though this time you know for sure that the crack is closed.
2. Iron it!! Sounds ridiculous, but a customer of mine swears it worked for them.
The beauty of this product is that it simply covers the cracks, instead of repairs them. The material allows the cracks to move, as it will stretch with the movement, then return. I typically skim the edges for a perfect match.
As I have found over the years, trying to repair cracks with the traditional method results in a rigid repair, and recurring cracks. I am glad to have come accross the Stress Crack Tape, and hope to see it in the stores soon.
One more quick point...you can repair corners, and patch small holes as well.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 in. x 50 ft. Self-Adhesive Paint

Great item. Adheres very well, very sticky.

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product saved me tons of time, and therefore well worth the price.
The ahesive is very aggresive, though it is important to follow the directions. Wipe the area clean, then press firmly outside of the damaged area.
Skim the edges for an undetectable job. If your walls are textured, you might want to look at the pre-textured Stress Crack Tape.
Home Depot delivered quickly!
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 in. x 50 ft. Self-Adhesive Paint
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Is everything it's advertised.

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Extremely pleased with the product. It doesn't work well on heavily textured ceilings but it's great on smooth surfaces. It's the easiest way I've found to take care of cracks in walls and, so far, it's holding up well -- the cracks have not reappeared. Time will tell...the house is certain to reshift once we begin getting rain again. But, should cracks reappear I now can take care of them easily.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 in. x 50 ft. Self-Adhesive Paint
from Milwaukee, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This tape worked perfectly.

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I didn't expect the tape to work as well as it did. The tape is thin and very sticky, so it covered the major crack in my plaster wall without adding any bulk. I used a very thin coat of joint compound over the tape and the repair disappeared completely after I painted it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 in. x 50 ft. Self-Adhesive Paint
from Jersey

Quick repair, great adhesive.

PostedApril 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My cracks are no more. qucik and easy. Sticky too. Sixteen months and counting.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 in. x 50 ft. Self-Adhesive Paint
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Versatile, easy to use product

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am painting 2 old houses with dilapidated old drywall and plaster. This product is easy to apply. I would recommend a very thin coat of joint compound over the top although the mfg. says it's not necessary. Excellent on smooth/semi-smooth services....not as good on popcorn type ceilings. I have used this product to bridge rather wide gaps as well with success. The cost is higher than traditional drywall tape but I highly recommend Stress Crack Tape.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 in. x 50 ft. Self-Adhesive Paint

It was easy to use

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was easy to use, however their claims that it blends seamlessly. is not accurate. Even after the texture was appl ied it was very obvious where the repair was done.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 in. x 50 ft. Self-Adhesive Paint
from Sarasota, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product performed as advertised.

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product coverd a long ceiling crack, and, with an application of knockdown texture and paint, the problem was gone. This was far superior to the "professional painters" solution, which used a flexible caulk. That lasted about a month.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 in. x 50 ft. Self-Adhesive Paint
from Nyack, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product that can save a lot of time

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our house is circa 1884, so there is a lot of plaster. Painting usually involes a lot of taping, mudding and sanding. On all but large cracks, this tape really speeds up the process; apply the tape, skim coat it with mud, and in about 20 minutes, you're ready to paint. I wish I'd found this product a long time ago!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 in. x 50 ft. Self-Adhesive Paint
from USA

Love it. Durable and multi use

PostedMarch 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not only did this product resolve my stress crack issues. I was able to repair my worn through outside corners from my dog. I had no issues with the use of the tape at all.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2 in. x 50 ft. Self-Adhesive Paint

More work than they claim

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It is made to look like you just run the tape over the crack, spray some texture, paint and your done. Not that easy. The tape is shining and shows through so now you have to try to get it to blend. We are still working on the easy fix.
We do hope, when we are done, it will be fixed!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 in. x 50 ft. Self-Adhesive Paint
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Did not use skim coat repainted with roller
Have to look at tape from close up and user bright light
To See tape edge
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2 in. x 50 ft. Self-Adhesive Paint
from Downingtown, PA 19335, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK product

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This tape is easy to use and makes cracks less visible - certainly in areas of a wall that are not looked at often. But if you look carefully you can see the edges of the tape so these will require some filling or mud to hide.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2 in. x 50 ft. Self-Adhesive Paint
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tape did what I exactly wanted and needed. Had stress crack in ceiling and it was very simple and easy to cover grove. Once taped, I painted it and my celing looks very good.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2 in. x 50 ft. Self-Adhesive Paint

Expensive tape

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The tape is expensive for what it can do, the adhesive does not stick to wall as much as I would like but overall it can do the job.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2 in. x 50 ft. Self-Adhesive Paint

Edges Did not stick flush

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Comment above says it all. Will have to spackle edges. Might as well repair the usual way
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer ServiceMarch 27, 2012
Idubya46,

I went ahead and contacted the vendor about your review, and this is what they had to say:

"In reading your review, it is apparent that your product issues were do to the fact that you needed to skim the edges for a perfect match. Though our product can be painted direct, we do recommend skimming the edges of the Stress crack Tape for a perfect match. This is referenced on the packages of the Stress Crack Tape as well as online. We are sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with our Stress Crack Tape. We would like to try and gain your satisfaction with our product, and would like to know what it would take to resolve these issues. "

I hope this helps and Thank You for choosing The Home Depot,

THD Customer Service
1 2 3 >>