728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Plant Lights or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light

2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light

The Lithonia Lighting Grow Light allows for indoor gardening year-round. It includes energy efficient T5 fluorescent bulbs that produce light comparable to natural sunlight. The fixture can be chain-mounted or flush-mounted and includes a cord-and-plug, on/off switch and a convenience power outlet for linking multiple fixtures.
Overall rating:
3.902 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product41 of 50reviews
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(23)
4
(14)
3
(6)
2
(2)
1
(6)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product41 of 50reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
Review 1 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from Ithaca, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product size and capabilities was perfect.

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought the 2' light, which allowed me to hang it from 2 hooks and enclose it in a large windowsill to make it my own little personal seedling box. The brightness is amazing, and this was the first year we decided to do seedling. The veggies started to sprout literally within 2 days under the light.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from Anaheim
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ok lights but spendy for the output

PostedDecember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Have two of these lights for seedlings. Toss out the deflectors all they do is impede the light. Warm running lights so keeps your sprouts toasty. The hangars are a joke and the daisy chain plug is on the bottom unlike the picture that shows it on the side. Good light output though. CANT use HO bulbs!
Pros: Functional, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, bright light, warming for your seedlings
Cons: Appearance, poor hangars, additional plug on bottom, worthless diffusers
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for starting my seeds

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought a couple of these lights to go in an indoor greenhouse. We have used them for a couple of years to start seedlings for the spring and extend the life of some plants in the fall. Currently, we have several flats of lettuce, spinach, leeks, and onion growing despite a harsh winter. We are already picking the lettuce. We will be using the lights for other garden plants as soon as we can move our cold weather crops out of the greenhouse.
The lights are nice and easy to install with plenty of chain to raise and lower the light level which is frequently needed. The only complaint I have is the plastic covers over the bulbs. They are a bit fragile and hard to remove (which needs to be done to unpack the light). The lights are also quite pricey.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from Upstate New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great small light, with replacement bulbs also available

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used the included chains to suspend this from a single Rubbermaid-type storage shelf, which I perched on an old dresser. Perfect, I just wanted a small set up to start a few earlier seeds and some greens. Some plants will eventually get planted outdoors, the greens will grow fine under the lights so I can eat them before the weather warms. Other grow lights on a stand cost way more than this. The smaller T5 bulbs are great, and I've been told they last much longer than the old fluorescents.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from Louisburg, KS
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Lights

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These are much slimmer than I imagined which is great! They were easy to put together and are working really well.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from Houston , TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good service, bad product.

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product worked well for about 2 weeks, and then abruptly stopped working. Took item to local Home Depot store and easily obtained a refund.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
Cons: stopped working
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light

Unit outlet not as shown in photo

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought 2 of these in 2013, and 2 more in 2014. The unit to unit plug/outlet (female) is in a different location. The newer year shows the the end outlet location on the box, however the plug was actually located on the down-side of the light. This makes it more difficult to plug the units into each other and get the lights close to seedlings if there is a cover. The older style was much better with the outlet on the end, but I don't know how you can tell which version you are buying!?!?!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight, Well Made
Cons: plug/outlet design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from Minneasota
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Grow lights

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install. My wife has not started actual plant advancement yet, so long term quality has not been tested.
Pros: Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from new jersey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

perfect shop lamp

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had two blub units and were flickering, decided to replace with a four blub unit, best choice I've made in years. used the recommended blub type and couldn't any happier with this product.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from Woodstock, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great for small spaces

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this to start my seedlings earlier in the spring. I hung it underneath my dining room table and put my seedling trays underneath it. It's not very big, so you would need a larger light, or more than one light, for larger plants or more than a few seedlings. This one did the trick for my first attempt at starting a few seedlings indoors. I hooked it up to a timer so that it came on and went off at the same times every day. I will probably buy a bigger one before next sprouting season.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Eco-Friendly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from Wilmington, DE, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Described as 24" grow light. Assumed it was the same size as a 24" fluorescent shop light, but actually measures to be 22-1/2" L. This means that the bulb measures approx. 18" L. Covers a lot smaller area than a standard 24" light fixture. Plus, it is to expensive for the small area that it covers. I had to add aluminum foil around the edge of the fixture to act as deflectors so the light would cover a larger area. I would not purchase this item again. I suggest purchasing a standard fluorescent shop light, and using T8, or T12 lamps.
+16points
22out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from Concrete, WA 98237, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It does what we want it to do.

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
An attractive growlight. It provides light and high-lites the plants and doesn't invade the space.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from New Jersey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked for 15 seconds

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this light today. It was easy to install but when I turned it on it only would stay on for 15 seconds and it would go off.
I called the help line on the instructions and was told it is most likely a bad ballast.
I'm taking it back to the store.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: only lasted 15 seconds
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice little light

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought 3 of these units to grow some spinach and lettuce through the winter as well as keep my potted pineapple plant alive since it can't survive a Philadelphia winter. It's been 2 weeks and the pineapple has noticeable growth so I feel confident these lights are getting the job done.
Installation is easy; I hung mine from a drop ceiling. And they're inexpensive but effective.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from Lompoc, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One major drawback ...

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The clear acrylic lens are very fragile ... all broke the first time I tried to swap the bulbs. You have to squeeze the sides together to fit it into the housing but it is of such poor quality that it snaps where the clear side joins the opaque side. I have two fixtures and all four lenses broke. I was not able to find any replacement lenses for this model. Also the internal wiring/ballast has a problem and you might have to jiggle the bulbs to get them to light or stay on.
Cons: poorly constructed
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from broadway, va
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good light but outdated description and photos

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
great lights but the picture and description are incorrect. it says that the outlets are on the ends but are really on the top of the light. that may be an issue to some people wanting to have them hanging in a row. also, they have a ground plug and outlet instead of the non-grounded plug and outlet shown in the picture. besides that, all in all a good purchase.. time to get my veggies started!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Very Bright, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light

major flaw with plastic covers (diffusers)

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I broke both bulbs trying to remove the plastic covers (diffusers) in order to remove the cardboard piece holding the bulbs in place. The written instructions were vague and no picture to help. Once I figured out what to do to remove the first one, the second one was just as difficult. I broke both bulbs. Now looking for replacement bulbs and/or returning fixture.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light

Lights are great

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought these light's to start seeds for the garden. Worked great for my small project. I got most all the seed to germiate. I also only had to use one outlet, because they can plug into each other.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design, came with bulbs.
Cons: didn't say they come with bulbs.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light

Pretty easy, but I broke part of it trying to open it

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
In the instructions, it says to open the covers so that you can take out two pieces of cardboard. I tried to do so, and I broke a 3 inch piece off one of the sides... Kind of flimsy, but you get what you pay for. It's easy enough to set up once you've taken the cardboard pieces out from inside. Anyway, my plants are doing well under it, so I can't complain.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: covers are flimsy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from Denton, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

overall good, but installation difficulty

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This is my 2nd fixture of this brand. It's only difficulties were bulbs that did not seat securely thus being somewhat difficult to get a consistent contact for being on. The plug in feature for connecting another fixture differed from the one I bought last year. It required a grounded outlet so that I had to use an adapter to connect the two fixtures. Once those problems were resolved the light has been very good.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: bulbs were difficult to seat
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>