728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light

2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light

The Lithonia Lighting Grow Light allows for indoor gardening year-round. It includes energy efficient T5 fluorescent bulbs that produce light comparable to natural sunlight. The fixture can be chain-mounted or flush-mounted and includes a cord-and-plug, on/off switch and a convenience power outlet for linking multiple fixtures.
Overall rating:
3.945 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product45 of 54reviews
Rating Breakdown 55 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(25)
4
(16)
3
(6)
2
(2)
1
(6)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product45 of 54reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
Review 1 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from Ithaca, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product size and capabilities was perfect.

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought the 2' light, which allowed me to hang it from 2 hooks and enclose it in a large windowsill to make it my own little personal seedling box. The brightness is amazing, and this was the first year we decided to do seedling. The veggies started to sprout literally within 2 days under the light.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for starting my seeds

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought a couple of these lights to go in an indoor greenhouse. We have used them for a couple of years to start seedlings for the spring and extend the life of some plants in the fall. Currently, we have several flats of lettuce, spinach, leeks, and onion growing despite a harsh winter. We are already picking the lettuce. We will be using the lights for other garden plants as soon as we can move our cold weather crops out of the greenhouse.
The lights are nice and easy to install with plenty of chain to raise and lower the light level which is frequently needed. The only complaint I have is the plastic covers over the bulbs. They are a bit fragile and hard to remove (which needs to be done to unpack the light). The lights are also quite pricey.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Very Bright
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from Houston , TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good service, bad product.

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product worked well for about 2 weeks, and then abruptly stopped working. Took item to local Home Depot store and easily obtained a refund.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
Cons: stopped working
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from Dacula, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product to over winter plants. Extremely easy to install because it plugged in and did not need to be hard wired.

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My friend was recently widowed and the installation was a breeze. She had wire shelving about a foot below the garage ceiling and the light hung from the shelving on the chains provided and there was an outlet in the perfect spot. Couldn't have been easier. Thanks for carrying a very useful product for folks who do not have windows in their garage to help with over wintering their plants.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from Anaheim
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ok lights but spendy for the output

PostedDecember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Have two of these lights for seedlings. Toss out the deflectors all they do is impede the light. Warm running lights so keeps your sprouts toasty. The hangars are a joke and the daisy chain plug is on the bottom unlike the picture that shows it on the side. Good light output though. CANT use HO bulbs!
Pros: Functional, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, bright light, warming for your seedlings
Cons: Appearance, poor hangars, additional plug on bottom, worthless diffusers
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light

valuable addition to my greenhouse

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The light works great for starting seedlings indoors. Just wish it were bigger
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Grow Lights

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These have worked great! My plants love it. I just wish that Home Depot sold the replacement bulbs. I love the fact that I can adjust the height easily and that you can connect several lights together and operate from one timer. The one disappointment is that it is described as being 12 inches wide and it is only 5.5 inches wide. It still works OK over my cell trays, but would be better if it was the 12-inch width.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: not as wide as listed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from Madison,WI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seedlings like it.

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The light works for its intended purpose and the plants are growing.
The only way to "mount" the light is to hang it. I used some scrape wood to make an upside down U to hang the light from.
Pros: Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light

Unit outlet not as shown in photo

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought 2 of these in 2013, and 2 more in 2014. The unit to unit plug/outlet (female) is in a different location. The newer year shows the the end outlet location on the box, however the plug was actually located on the down-side of the light. This makes it more difficult to plug the units into each other and get the lights close to seedlings if there is a cover. The older style was much better with the outlet on the end, but I don't know how you can tell which version you are buying!?!?!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight, Well Made
Cons: plug/outlet design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from Upstate New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great small light, with replacement bulbs also available

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used the included chains to suspend this from a single Rubbermaid-type storage shelf, which I perched on an old dresser. Perfect, I just wanted a small set up to start a few earlier seeds and some greens. Some plants will eventually get planted outdoors, the greens will grow fine under the lights so I can eat them before the weather warms. Other grow lights on a stand cost way more than this. The smaller T5 bulbs are great, and I've been told they last much longer than the old fluorescents.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from Louisburg, KS
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Lights

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These are much slimmer than I imagined which is great! They were easy to put together and are working really well.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from Wilmington, DE, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Described as 24" grow light. Assumed it was the same size as a 24" fluorescent shop light, but actually measures to be 22-1/2" L. This means that the bulb measures approx. 18" L. Covers a lot smaller area than a standard 24" light fixture. Plus, it is to expensive for the small area that it covers. I had to add aluminum foil around the edge of the fixture to act as deflectors so the light would cover a larger area. I would not purchase this item again. I suggest purchasing a standard fluorescent shop light, and using T8, or T12 lamps.
+17points
23out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from New Jersey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked for 15 seconds

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this light today. It was easy to install but when I turned it on it only would stay on for 15 seconds and it would go off.
I called the help line on the instructions and was told it is most likely a bad ballast.
I'm taking it back to the store.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: only lasted 15 seconds
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from Woodstock, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great for small spaces

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this to start my seedlings earlier in the spring. I hung it underneath my dining room table and put my seedling trays underneath it. It's not very big, so you would need a larger light, or more than one light, for larger plants or more than a few seedlings. This one did the trick for my first attempt at starting a few seedlings indoors. I hooked it up to a timer so that it came on and went off at the same times every day. I will probably buy a bigger one before next sprouting season.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Eco-Friendly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from Minneasota
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Grow lights

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install. My wife has not started actual plant advancement yet, so long term quality has not been tested.
Pros: Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from new jersey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

perfect shop lamp

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had two blub units and were flickering, decided to replace with a four blub unit, best choice I've made in years. used the recommended blub type and couldn't any happier with this product.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from Lompoc, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One major drawback ...

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The clear acrylic lens are very fragile ... all broke the first time I tried to swap the bulbs. You have to squeeze the sides together to fit it into the housing but it is of such poor quality that it snaps where the clear side joins the opaque side. I have two fixtures and all four lenses broke. I was not able to find any replacement lenses for this model. Also the internal wiring/ballast has a problem and you might have to jiggle the bulbs to get them to light or stay on.
Cons: poorly constructed
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from Concrete, WA 98237, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It does what we want it to do.

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
An attractive growlight. It provides light and high-lites the plants and doesn't invade the space.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light

major flaw with plastic covers (diffusers)

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I broke both bulbs trying to remove the plastic covers (diffusers) in order to remove the cardboard piece holding the bulbs in place. The written instructions were vague and no picture to help. Once I figured out what to do to remove the first one, the second one was just as difficult. I broke both bulbs. Now looking for replacement bulbs and/or returning fixture.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2-Light 28-Watt White Fluorescent Grow Light
from Albuquerque
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lamp quit after two months

PostedApril 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not good.
I bought two grow lights and the seeds sprouted and grew until one of the fixtures quit working. At the price I hoped I would get more use out of it. The seeds and sprouts were certainly not the price of the fixture. The instruction manual says only a qualified electrician should replace the ballast but if I want to recoup my loss I might have to do it myself.
Cons: went dark.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>