728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Commercial Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light

24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light

The Lithonia Lighting Grow Light allows for indoor gardening year-round. It includes energy efficient T5 fluorescent bulbs that produce light comparable to natural sunlight. The fixture can be chain-mounted or flush-mounted and includes a cord-and-plug, on/off switch and a convenience power outlet for linking multiple fixtures.
Overall rating:
3.974 / 5
4
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product31 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(11)
3
(5)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product31 of 37reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
Review 1 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
Kelly
from Ithaca, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product size and capabilities was perfect.

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the 2' light, which allowed me to hang it from 2 hooks and enclose it in a large windowsill to make it my own little personal seedling box. The brightness is amazing, and this was the first year we decided to do seedling. The veggies started to sprout literally within 2 days under the light.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
MIke
from Concrete, WA 98237, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It does what we want it to do.

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
An attractive growlight. It provides light and high-lites the plants and doesn't invade the space.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
NewVAGardener

Lights are great

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought these light's to start seeds for the garden. Worked great for my small project. I got most all the seed to germiate. I also only had to use one outlet, because they can plug into each other.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design, came with bulbs.
Cons: didn't say they come with bulbs.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
AmRei

Great for Beginning Gardener

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was easy to install. Purchased to get seedlings/plants started for my garden in the spring. Light is small enough that it sets on a table in my spare room but large enough to get all my seeds started. I was concerned about getting all my plants underneath the light because I had read negative reviews on lights about diffusers working improperly, however I have not had issues with plants that are not directly under the light. All plants on my table seem to get plenty of light and grow evenly.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
Edelweil
from Albuquerque
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lamp quit after two months

PostedApril 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not good.
I bought two grow lights and the seeds sprouted and grew until one of the fixtures quit working. At the price I hoped I would get more use out of it. The seeds and sprouts were certainly not the price of the fixture. The instruction manual says only a qualified electrician should replace the ballast but if I want to recoup my loss I might have to do it myself.
Cons: went dark.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
goatlady
from California, MO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lithium Light - good value

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased these grow lights to start my seeds for my garden and these work great. The size fits perfect in the plastic shelving I purchased and the chains allow me to adjust during growing season. I would recommend that they provide a better clip for the chains though as these are small and they slip off quite easily. I used pliers to close them up to help alleviate this issue.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
jeramiah

Unit outlet not as shown in photo

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought 2 of these in 2013, and 2 more in 2014. The unit to unit plug/outlet (female) is in a different location. The newer year shows the the end outlet location on the box, however the plug was actually located on the down-side of the light. This makes it more difficult to plug the units into each other and get the lights close to seedlings if there is a cover. The older style was much better with the outlet on the end, but I don't know how you can tell which version you are buying!?!?!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight, Well Made
Cons: plug/outlet design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
limsad
from Rhode Island
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

lamps produce ideal light for seedlings

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have three of these lamps over seedlings. Tomatoes, peppers and cucumbers, to name a few, have sprouted and are growing strong plants; none are getting straggly reaching for light.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
Cons: one bulb shield cracked when removing packing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
DR01
from Andover, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Superb Customer Support

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a problem with a cracked diffuser. Customer support was superb and sent a replacement quickly. Nice quality and works very well.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
PamG
from New Bedford, MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Piece of junk!!

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I hate this thing!! It barely works, the plastic bulb covered are flimsy garbage and it died completely after 2 weeks. For fifty bucks that is just unacceptable. Returning and since this is broken light #2 from HD I'll be going elsewhere!
Cons: cheap!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
snobird
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The manufact5ure of this product is great, very good customer service..
Pros: Well Made, Looks Great, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
remhad
from broadway, va
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good light but outdated description and photos

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great lights but the picture and description are incorrect. it says that the outlets are on the ends but are really on the top of the light. that may be an issue to some people wanting to have them hanging in a row. also, they have a ground plug and outlet instead of the non-grounded plug and outlet shown in the picture. besides that, all in all a good purchase.. time to get my veggies started!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
Mark
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little light

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought one of these to use in a portable greenhouse in my basement. Started seeds and they love the light output. Nice little bright light, I'll be buying another when I get another small greenhouse stand
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: a bit costly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
YOURKLAUS

good for my grow but i need bigger

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This little gay works great had it on for 6 days now but I need bigger one so I'm returning it looks nice gets a little hot but like i said on 6 days straight, I would recommend for a two or three planter I have 8, and there in large pot already product over all good no plant burn 1 inch away, would like to see lights better placed there is a 1 1/2 inch gape in the middle for the power plug, And the plug is on bottom not the side funny
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great
Cons: space in the middle loss light coverage not much
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
EDNC
from Durham, NC, USA

Works well

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this to start seeds indoors. Works great. The seeds started sprouting up just 3 days after planting with about 16 hours of light per day
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
simplythebest
from Texas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

me likey!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works great vegging! I made a make shift grow area and put up the light.. very bright! currently running 24 hours and vegetables are growing straight up and right! good root system too.. just waiting for march hopefully northerns quit blowing by then and I can transplant my plants!
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, light not hot
Cons: could have built in reflector for price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
CHRISSY
from Taylorsville, UT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great light!!!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought another one of these lights last year so I knew what I was buying, I used these in my green house A small indoor type and these lights are extremely helpful in getting my plants started. I give it an A+
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Functional, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design, more than adequate to do job
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
Jim07
from Nescopeck, PA 18635, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good only for use on a small area

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The instructions say the light must be hung within a few inches of the plants which means it is only effective for a small area. It has an outlet to plug in another light but it is on the BOTTOM of the fixture which would leave the cord hanging in the plants. Don't believe the illustration on the box showing the outlet on the end of the fixture. I returned the fixture as being unsuitable for my use.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: poorly placed auxillary recpticle, lights only a small area
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
KM83
from Hanover, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

lots of light

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Puts out way more light then regular bulbs. No problems with the light covers when removing and I didnt read the instructions. I think it is pretty self explainatory. Chain was really long but I can cut it or tuck it up. Very pleased I spent alittle more then regular shop lights for this.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
Jane

major flaw with plastic covers (diffusers)

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I broke both bulbs trying to remove the plastic covers (diffusers) in order to remove the cardboard piece holding the bulbs in place. The written instructions were vague and no picture to help. Once I figured out what to do to remove the first one, the second one was just as difficult. I broke both bulbs. Now looking for replacement bulbs and/or returning fixture.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 >>