728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Plant Lights or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light

24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light

The Lithonia Lighting Grow Light allows for indoor gardening year-round. It includes energy efficient T5 fluorescent bulbs that produce light comparable to natural sunlight. The fixture can be chain-mounted or flush-mounted and includes a cord-and-plug, on/off switch and a convenience power outlet for linking multiple fixtures.
Overall rating:
3.954 / 5
4
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product35 of 42reviews
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(19)
4
(13)
3
(5)
2
(2)
1
(4)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product35 of 42reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
Review 1 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
from Ithaca, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product size and capabilities was perfect.

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the 2' light, which allowed me to hang it from 2 hooks and enclose it in a large windowsill to make it my own little personal seedling box. The brightness is amazing, and this was the first year we decided to do seedling. The veggies started to sprout literally within 2 days under the light.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
from Woodstock, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great for small spaces

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to start my seedlings earlier in the spring. I hung it underneath my dining room table and put my seedling trays underneath it. It's not very big, so you would need a larger light, or more than one light, for larger plants or more than a few seedlings. This one did the trick for my first attempt at starting a few seedlings indoors. I hooked it up to a timer so that it came on and went off at the same times every day. I will probably buy a bigger one before next sprouting season.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Eco-Friendly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light

Unit outlet not as shown in photo

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought 2 of these in 2013, and 2 more in 2014. The unit to unit plug/outlet (female) is in a different location. The newer year shows the the end outlet location on the box, however the plug was actually located on the down-side of the light. This makes it more difficult to plug the units into each other and get the lights close to seedlings if there is a cover. The older style was much better with the outlet on the end, but I don't know how you can tell which version you are buying!?!?!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight, Well Made
Cons: plug/outlet design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
from Concrete, WA 98237, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It does what we want it to do.

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
An attractive growlight. It provides light and high-lites the plants and doesn't invade the space.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
from broadway, va
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good light but outdated description and photos

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great lights but the picture and description are incorrect. it says that the outlets are on the ends but are really on the top of the light. that may be an issue to some people wanting to have them hanging in a row. also, they have a ground plug and outlet instead of the non-grounded plug and outlet shown in the picture. besides that, all in all a good purchase.. time to get my veggies started!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Very Bright, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light

Lights are great

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought these light's to start seeds for the garden. Worked great for my small project. I got most all the seed to germiate. I also only had to use one outlet, because they can plug into each other.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design, came with bulbs.
Cons: didn't say they come with bulbs.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
from Salem, NH
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good lights. Easy to install.

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased two of these lights a few weeks ago and they perform exactly how I would like them to. They are not really meant to be mounted on a bar (which mine are) but I made it work. They give off a small amount of heat, which keeps my little plants happy in my indoor greenhouse. I am a novice gardener and these lights have performed fully to my expectations. Easy on-off switch on the lights, and easy to daisy-chain together. The only thing I wish were different is for the plug to be on the side, rather than the bottom of the light. The attached cord hangs down low over my plants. Again, though, I made it work. Other than that, no complaints at all. Would definitely buy again and recommend to others.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
from Litchfield, ME, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Bulbs are not included....But still agreat value!

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Replaced our garage lights with these...Wonderful. Easy installation.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
from Wilmington, DE, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Described as 24" grow light. Assumed it was the same size as a 24" fluorescent shop light, but actually measures to be 22-1/2" L. This means that the bulb measures approx. 18" L. Covers a lot smaller area than a standard 24" light fixture. Plus, it is to expensive for the small area that it covers. I had to add aluminum foil around the edge of the fixture to act as deflectors so the light would cover a larger area. I would not purchase this item again. I suggest purchasing a standard fluorescent shop light, and using T8, or T12 lamps.
+13points
19out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light

Great for Beginning Gardener

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was easy to install. Purchased to get seedlings/plants started for my garden in the spring. Light is small enough that it sets on a table in my spare room but large enough to get all my seeds started. I was concerned about getting all my plants underneath the light because I had read negative reviews on lights about diffusers working improperly, however I have not had issues with plants that are not directly under the light. All plants on my table seem to get plenty of light and grow evenly.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light

Looked like what I was looking at online

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this light for a small grow light to start garden plants. Shipped quickly, came un-damaged, and it works.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light

good for my grow but i need bigger

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This little gay works great had it on for 6 days now but I need bigger one so I'm returning it looks nice gets a little hot but like i said on 6 days straight, I would recommend for a two or three planter I have 8, and there in large pot already product over all good no plant burn 1 inch away, would like to see lights better placed there is a 1 1/2 inch gape in the middle for the power plug, And the plug is on bottom not the side funny
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great
Cons: space in the middle loss light coverage not much
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
from Denton, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

overall good, but installation difficulty

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This is my 2nd fixture of this brand. It's only difficulties were bulbs that did not seat securely thus being somewhat difficult to get a consistent contact for being on. The plug in feature for connecting another fixture differed from the one I bought last year. It required a grounded outlet so that I had to use an adapter to connect the two fixtures. Once those problems were resolved the light has been very good.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: bulbs were difficult to seat
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
from Oakland, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

did not work

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was super careful about installing the fluorescents, but it was nonfunctional out of the box. Found a high-quality alternative elsewhere.
Cons: poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
from Albuquerque
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lamp quit after two months

PostedApril 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not good.
I bought two grow lights and the seeds sprouted and grew until one of the fixtures quit working. At the price I hoped I would get more use out of it. The seeds and sprouts were certainly not the price of the fixture. The instruction manual says only a qualified electrician should replace the ballast but if I want to recoup my loss I might have to do it myself.
Cons: went dark.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
from California, MO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lithium Light - good value

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased these grow lights to start my seeds for my garden and these work great. The size fits perfect in the plastic shelving I purchased and the chains allow me to adjust during growing season. I would recommend that they provide a better clip for the chains though as these are small and they slip off quite easily. I used pliers to close them up to help alleviate this issue.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light

major flaw with plastic covers (diffusers)

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I broke both bulbs trying to remove the plastic covers (diffusers) in order to remove the cardboard piece holding the bulbs in place. The written instructions were vague and no picture to help. Once I figured out what to do to remove the first one, the second one was just as difficult. I broke both bulbs. Now looking for replacement bulbs and/or returning fixture.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light

IT'S ALMOST THERE

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
O.K. here's how to beat that not so good lens cover. Go to middle of the inside of that fixture, carefully lift with finger nail under lip of lens while just pushing on the side opposite at the same time. Get a gap going and once started gently work your way to either end pulling up with nail and pushing in opposite as the gap progresses. Otherwise, get the Home Depot floor clerk to do it. By the way before taking this home remove fixture from box with a HD helper looking on or helping you. Inspect for breakage, missing parts and have him or her plug it in. This they will gladly do and it saves you a hassle of returning after just getting home and finding out it is bogus. I think giving the buyer a real 24 inch and not 22.5 inch fixture would be a start to value.The lens cover is not good for those with strength, patience, or arthritis issues. Price wise it's just O.K. not a screaming deal of the century. The included bulbs ( if they hold up ) does make it competitive. I bought because everything in T5 is way too expensive otherwise. You be the judge.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Eco-Friendly
Cons: short and lens covers needs redesign
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
from Rhode Island
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

lamps produce ideal light for seedlings

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have three of these lamps over seedlings. Tomatoes, peppers and cucumbers, to name a few, have sprouted and are growing strong plants; none are getting straggly reaching for light.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
Cons: one bulb shield cracked when removing packing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 in. 28-Watt White Grow Light
from Andover, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Superb Customer Support

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a problem with a cracked diffuser. Customer support was superb and sent a replacement quickly. Nice quality and works very well.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>