728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Dimmers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White

Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White

The Toggler C.L dimmer provides optimal dimming performance of LED bulbs. This dimmer works with up to 150 Watts of dimmable LED/CFL or 600 Watts of incandescent/halogen, allowing you to control multiple bulb types on the same circuit. It is designed to control a broad range of dimmable LED and CFL bulbs from a variety of brands including Philips, Cree, GE, EcoSmart and Lighting Science. The Toggler dimmer features a toggle switch to turn your lights off or on--- returning the lights to your favorite level. Adjust your light to any activity using the discreet slide control next to the switch. Coordinating wallplate sold separately.
Overall rating:
3.875 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(80 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product55 of 69reviews
Rating Breakdown 80 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(43)
4
(13)
3
(7)
2
(5)
1
(12)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product55 of 69reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
Review 1 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Fairfax, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

LED Preset Dimmers are Great

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I Love the style of these dimmers, they look like a regular switch but have a small slide dimmer on the side and still fit into a regular switch cover.
Pros: Easy to Use, Stylish, Great Dimming, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Frederick, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I'm using this for Cree 65w BR30 dimmable LED bulbs. As other reviewers have noted, in single-switch usage, you'll have to turn the switch down to turn the light on. Counter-intuitive, but it works. I could mount the entire switch upside down to rectify that, but then the dimmer slide would be upside down, which would be even worse. For 2-switch applications, this odd switch position won't be an issue. I also wish the switch were better marked for wire connections, but like every switch I've ever seen, the identifications are in the paper pamphlet only. Now for the good stuff: I bought two of these, and they both worked. They make no noise (no hum, no hiss, etc.). Also, there's a little dial on front of the switch (which will be hidden by the wall plate), which allows you to control just how dim the lowest setting will be. For my Cree 65w bulbs, I turned it all the way down, and that was good; the bulbs let off a faint glow at that level.
Pros: Great Dimming
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Archer, Iowa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality Product - Good Instructions

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have installed approximately twenty of these switches in my home and office over the last two years.
We are replacing the bulbs in all of our light fixtures with LED's which requires the dimmer switches to be replaced also. The switch and dimming slider design is one that is both simple to use and maintains the light level that was last being used. The minimum light level adjustment is a one time setup feature that guarantees that there is light present through the full range of the dimming sliders travel.
Usable instructions that include a handy illustration of the different connections needed for single pole and/or 3-way installations are included.
I highly recommend this product.
I have purchased single pole dimmers in the past from my "local" (60 miles one way) Home Depot but was unable to purchase anything except the more expensive single pole/3-way version on line. However, I probably saved the difference in gas. Add in free shipping and I would call that 5 stars for value.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Cleveland

High-pitched noise with LED bulbs

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this dimmer to complement my dining room light containing 8 of the Cree LED bulbs (60W equivalent). This dimmer is listed on the Cree compatibility charg as supporting up to 8 bulbs, but when it's turned on there is a high-pitched whine coming from the light fixture. The whine is relatively constant at all brightness levels, and goes away when the circuit is off. Replacing with a non-dimming 3-way switch solved the problem.
I bought this switch specifically to dim LED bulbs, and although it does dim them, the sound produced is unacceptable.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Hudson, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Set and forget is so nice....

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The one feature I like is 'set and forget'. Because the 'Dimmer Slide Switch' is separate from the on/off switch there is no need to set the dimmer level each and every time you turn it on.
Very nice quality and an easy install. I'm experienced, but with the directions a home do it your self installer should have no problems installing this. I have 2 of these in my home and a 3rd is being considered to replace a dial dimmer.
This works on LED and I wanted it for that. If you are not using LED.. standard dimmers are a little cheaper, but this will have you ready to use LED or not.
Pros: Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Houston, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great improvement over the old dimmers

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the third dimmer I have purchased for this location and it is by far the best. The manufacturer has improved the performance and the heat dissipation and I am very happy with the unit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Easy Replacement
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Henrietta NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Too Bright to Just Right

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Replaced two 80 watt fluorescent fixtures and 3 incandescent spotlights with 8 Halo LED Surface Mounts hoping to update and brighten my kitchen. The results were amazing, modern and at full illumination sunglasses may be needed. Thankfully we also installed a LED Dimmer. I like that the unit has a toggle to set the light level - positioned next to the conventional light switch. Set at the mid-point the brightness is just right. At the lowest level it simulates the old set-up, very romantic. And as mentioned at the top level the lighting is suitable for surgical procedures (like carving the turkey).
Pros: Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Roswell, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

3 way CFL-LED Dimmer used as a single pole switch / dimmer

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The switch is well made however the directions are less than desireable. A poor translation into English as well as misleading diagrams. I was replacing an older unity that was noisy and caused the lamps to flicker... if i didn't have the old dimmer it would have been difficult to understand the diagrams and instructions. However after the installation everything worked fine. This is a well made dimmer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Dimming
Cons: Complicated
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Mo
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Must with LED

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I was running a similar dimmer but older, and it was not rated for LEDs. So I was getting some flickering. This one has calmed down the flickering, but it is still a bit flaky. For example: if the lights have been dimmed and then the switch turned off, when turning the lights back on, after a bit, they will come on bright, then dim down to where they had been previously dimmed. Not that big a deal. Going LED is still a good way to go. You just might need to match it with a dimmer that can handle the particular LEDs that you are running.
Pros: Compact, use existing cover plates
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Jacksonville FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Well-made, instructions were excellent. Works perfectly with some very inexpensive "GSTAR" LED bulbs from Amazon ($140 for 12 BR30 bulbs). Dimming is excellent, with the slider all the way down the bulbs are barely glowing at all. No flicker or hum.
One person noted that the switch was "upside-down", i.e. up was on and down was off. They must have had it installed in a 3-way setup. 3-way switches (like this one) don't really have a "up" direction. However, I wanted the slider on the right side of the switch, so I just flipped the other switch in the circuit over, which reverses the "on" direction of the other switch. No big deal.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Easy Installation
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Dearborn Heights, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Design

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used with 10 Ecosmart 65W equivalent LED BR30 bulbs.
No flickering, no detectable rf interference and a full dimming
range. The dimmer slider can be set independent of the
on-off switch lever. A good design feature that can fix your
favorite dimming level.
So far, the dimmer has been in service for a month.
Pros: Great Dimming
Cons: high price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, Works great..!!!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Needed a dimmer switch for my 2nd floor condo inside stairway entrance. This switch was easy to install and helps me conserve energy while providing a bit more ambience to the entry to my condo.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from New England
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GOOD DIMMER FOR LED LIGHTS

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this specific type of dimmer switch on all my LED Lights. The other ones with the sliding handle style and ON/OFF Switch below the dimmer slide made the bulbs flicker. This one does not.
Pros: Great Dimming
Cons: no issues
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White

Great product

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great product that was very easy to install with easy to follow instructions. It's a great addition to our hall lights and was much needed. Highly recommend if you have a set of lights that can be controlled by two separate light switches
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Easton, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Working well with 10 LED ceiling lights

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This dimmer switch is working well with 10 LED ceiling lights. It is especially convenient because the brightness is controlled by a small slider switch that is to the right of a standard looking toggle wall switch. Once you have the brightness where you want it you just flick the lights on or off as usual. You can also quickly turn them up or down for special situations by adjusting the small slider switch.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Massachusetts cape cod
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

2nd time was a charm

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Not much complicated about a light dimmer. The first one I installed was defective, so replaced it with the new version, and works perfectly. Feels well made and works pretty well with dimmable LEDs.they only will dim to a certain point, though.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: first one defective
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White

Questionable Quality.

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought four dimmers. When I installed them, two would not work. One would not dim and the other one did not work at all.
The two replacement dimmers did work, but needless to say, it was an inconvenience and should not happen.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from East Aurora, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

quality purchase

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installation was very easy and the product worked as advertised.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not with LED bulbs

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The high-pitched buzzing with LED bulbs was intolerable. It had worked fine prior to replacing incandescent bulbs with LEDs but I had to remove the unit to use them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Huntsville, AL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally got it to work, great customer support

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Finally got this to work with Cree 100W equivalent LEDs in a 3-bulb fan/ light fixture. The Philips bulbs I originally purchased would not work with this switch. Customer support was very responsive and helped me work my way through the issue. Ultimately there was a newer version of the Philips bulb with the same part number, and the switch was tested with the old version. Only taking off a star because I was inconvenienced by everything not working out of the box..
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: compatibility
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>