728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Dimmers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White

Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White

Coordinating Fassada wall plate and accessories sold separately. Control the next generation of lighting with Lutron's family of dimmable CFL/LED (C.L) dimmers Screw-in dimmable compact fluorescent lamps (CFLs) and screw-in dimmable light emitting diode lamps (LEDs) are a great energy-saving alternative to incandescent or halogen light sources, however, dimming them may be difficult. This dimmer provides a solution to alleviate your CFL and LED dimming challenges. The Toggler C.L dimmer features advanced dimming circuitry that is designed for compatibility with most high efficacy light bulbs. These dimmers improve the dimming performance of dimmable CFLs and LEDs compared to standard dimmers. The Toggler C.L matches your existing toggle switches. It features a slider to adjust your light to any activity, and the toggle switch turns your lights off or on returning the lights to your favorite level. Designed to control a broad range of dimmable CFLs and LED bulbs from a variety of brands including Philips, GE, EcoSmart, and Lighting Science. This dimmer also provides full-range dimming for halogen and incandescent bulbs, ensuring today's dimmer is compatible with tomorrow's light sources. Please refer to the More Info section and click on "Specifications" for an approved listing of compatible dimmable bulbs and other helpful tips.
Overall rating:
3.747 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product47 of 61reviews
Rating Breakdown 71 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(35)
4
(12)
3
(7)
2
(5)
1
(12)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product47 of 61reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
Review 1 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Frederick, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I'm using this for Cree 65w BR30 dimmable LED bulbs. As other reviewers have noted, in single-switch usage, you'll have to turn the switch down to turn the light on. Counter-intuitive, but it works. I could mount the entire switch upside down to rectify that, but then the dimmer slide would be upside down, which would be even worse. For 2-switch applications, this odd switch position won't be an issue. I also wish the switch were better marked for wire connections, but like every switch I've ever seen, the identifications are in the paper pamphlet only. Now for the good stuff: I bought two of these, and they both worked. They make no noise (no hum, no hiss, etc.). Also, there's a little dial on front of the switch (which will be hidden by the wall plate), which allows you to control just how dim the lowest setting will be. For my Cree 65w bulbs, I turned it all the way down, and that was good; the bulbs let off a faint glow at that level.
Pros: Great Dimming
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Archer, Iowa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality Product - Good Instructions

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have installed approximately twenty of these switches in my home and office over the last two years.
We are replacing the bulbs in all of our light fixtures with LED's which requires the dimmer switches to be replaced also. The switch and dimming slider design is one that is both simple to use and maintains the light level that was last being used. The minimum light level adjustment is a one time setup feature that guarantees that there is light present through the full range of the dimming sliders travel.
Usable instructions that include a handy illustration of the different connections needed for single pole and/or 3-way installations are included.
I highly recommend this product.
I have purchased single pole dimmers in the past from my "local" (60 miles one way) Home Depot but was unable to purchase anything except the more expensive single pole/3-way version on line. However, I probably saved the difference in gas. Add in free shipping and I would call that 5 stars for value.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Mo
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Must with LED

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I was running a similar dimmer but older, and it was not rated for LEDs. So I was getting some flickering. This one has calmed down the flickering, but it is still a bit flaky. For example: if the lights have been dimmed and then the switch turned off, when turning the lights back on, after a bit, they will come on bright, then dim down to where they had been previously dimmed. Not that big a deal. Going LED is still a good way to go. You just might need to match it with a dimmer that can handle the particular LEDs that you are running.
Pros: Compact, use existing cover plates
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Cleveland

High-pitched noise with LED bulbs

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this dimmer to complement my dining room light containing 8 of the Cree LED bulbs (60W equivalent). This dimmer is listed on the Cree compatibility charg as supporting up to 8 bulbs, but when it's turned on there is a high-pitched whine coming from the light fixture. The whine is relatively constant at all brightness levels, and goes away when the circuit is off. Replacing with a non-dimming 3-way switch solved the problem.
I bought this switch specifically to dim LED bulbs, and although it does dim them, the sound produced is unacceptable.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White

Great product

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great product that was very easy to install with easy to follow instructions. It's a great addition to our hall lights and was much needed. Highly recommend if you have a set of lights that can be controlled by two separate light switches
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Massachusetts cape cod
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

2nd time was a charm

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Not much complicated about a light dimmer. The first one I installed was defective, so replaced it with the new version, and works perfectly. Feels well made and works pretty well with dimmable LEDs.they only will dim to a certain point, though.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: first one defective
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from East Aurora, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

quality purchase

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installation was very easy and the product worked as advertised.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Jacksonville FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Well-made, instructions were excellent. Works perfectly with some very inexpensive "GSTAR" LED bulbs from Amazon ($140 for 12 BR30 bulbs). Dimming is excellent, with the slider all the way down the bulbs are barely glowing at all. No flicker or hum.
One person noted that the switch was "upside-down", i.e. up was on and down was off. They must have had it installed in a 3-way setup. 3-way switches (like this one) don't really have a "up" direction. However, I wanted the slider on the right side of the switch, so I just flipped the other switch in the circuit over, which reverses the "on" direction of the other switch. No big deal.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Easy Installation
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Easton, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Working well with 10 LED ceiling lights

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This dimmer switch is working well with 10 LED ceiling lights. It is especially convenient because the brightness is controlled by a small slider switch that is to the right of a standard looking toggle wall switch. Once you have the brightness where you want it you just flick the lights on or off as usual. You can also quickly turn them up or down for special situations by adjusting the small slider switch.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Virginia Beach, Va
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Problem with switch

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
An electrician installed the switch. The dimmer works upside down and he claims this can not be change. Also no reason as to why.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, Works great..!!!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Needed a dimmer switch for my 2nd floor condo inside stairway entrance. This switch was easy to install and helps me conserve energy while providing a bit more ambience to the entry to my condo.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not with LED bulbs

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The high-pitched buzzing with LED bulbs was intolerable. It had worked fine prior to replacing incandescent bulbs with LEDs but I had to remove the unit to use them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from North Olmsted OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for LEDs

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just wired one up for use in a fixture that has 4 OSRAM A19 LED bulbs. Works great! I have seen a couple of reviews stating that the dimmer works "backwards" (switch/dimmer in down position for lights on) but that is not the case if you use the proper screw terminals when wiring it. Follow the included directions/diagrams & all should be OK.
Pros: Great Dimming
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Check Function of Switch itself

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just a warning. I spent the better part of a day, checking and rechecking the wiring for a 3-way connection, confirming load lines, travelers, and common line; only to try another switch and finding out that I had been wiring correctly all along. The unit I purchased was bad out of the box. Swapping it out for a new dimmer was needed, but wasted a day on what should have be at most a 15 minute change over (including marching back and forth to the breaker box). Make sure you unit is good if anything seems to be wrong.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

dims great

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
What can you say, it dims all types of bulbs effectively.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White

Standard cover

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Basically you are getting what you pay for. Its a decent quality item and good for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from de
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

stopped working one week after install

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
it was working fine for a week and then it did not work.
Cons: Burns Out
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Huntsville, AL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally got it to work, great customer support

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Finally got this to work with Cree 100W equivalent LEDs in a 3-bulb fan/ light fixture. The Philips bulbs I originally purchased would not work with this switch. Customer support was very responsive and helped me work my way through the issue. Ultimately there was a newer version of the Philips bulb with the same part number, and the switch was tested with the old version. Only taking off a star because I was inconvenienced by everything not working out of the box..
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: compatibility
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Apex, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well so far and easy to install

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I am using this dimmer switch (rev 2) with five Ecosmart LED A19 40 watt bulbs over the dining room table. It is dedicated to this one fixture, so is only a two way connection. I did not have to adjust the dimmer as the dimming range is fine for our application. Since it is oriented like our original switch I could use the same faceplate as the old switch and installation was quick and easy. I am pleased with the insulation ease and functionality of the dimmer switch. I would have rated it a 5 but that my be premature until I can confirm that there is some switch longevity.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Toggler 150-Watt Single-Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Chatham, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well with Commerical Electric T67

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
We used this dimmer with the Commerical Electric T67 fixture and didn't have any buzzing, humming, or high pitch whine. Even took a stethescope to the fixture and adjusted the dimmer up and down with no audible noise. Worked great!
Pros: Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>