728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Dimmers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White

Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White

Coordinating Fassada wallplate and accessories sold separately. Control the next generation of lighting with Lutron's family of dimmable CFL/LED (C.L) dimmers! Screw-in dimmable compact fluorescent lamps (CFLs) and screw-in dimmable light emitting diode lamps (LEDs) are a great energy-saving alternative to incandescent or halogen light sources, however, dimming them may be difficult. This dimmer provides a solution to alleviate your CFL and LED dimming challenges. The Toggler C.L dimmer features advanced dimming circuitry that is designed for compatibility with most high efficacy light bulbs. These dimmers improve the dimming performance of dimmable CFLs and LEDs compared to standard dimmers. The Toggler C.L matches your existing toggle switches. It features a slider to adjust your light to any activity, and the toggle switch turns your lights off or on returning the lights to your favorite level. Designed to control a broad range of dimmable CFLs and LED bulbs from a variety of brands including Philips, GE, EcoSmart, and Lighting Science. This dimmer also provides full-range dimming for halogen and incandescent bulbs, ensuring today's dimmer is compatible with tomorrow's light sources. Please refer to the More Info section and click on "Specifications" for an approved listing of compatible dimmable bulbs and other helpful tips.
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
66%of customersrecommend this product23 of 35reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(22)
4
(4)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(11)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
66%of customersrecommend this product23 of 35reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
Review 1 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
from Cleveland

High-pitched noise with LED bulbs

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this dimmer to complement my dining room light containing 8 of the Cree LED bulbs (60W equivalent). This dimmer is listed on the Cree compatibility charg as supporting up to 8 bulbs, but when it's turned on there is a high-pitched whine coming from the light fixture. The whine is relatively constant at all brightness levels, and goes away when the circuit is off. Replacing with a non-dimming 3-way switch solved the problem.
I bought this switch specifically to dim LED bulbs, and although it does dim them, the sound produced is unacceptable.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, Works great..!!!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed a dimmer switch for my 2nd floor condo inside stairway entrance. This switch was easy to install and helps me conserve energy while providing a bit more ambience to the entry to my condo.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
from Jacksonville FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well-made, instructions were excellent. Works perfectly with some very inexpensive "GSTAR" LED bulbs from Amazon ($140 for 12 BR30 bulbs). Dimming is excellent, with the slider all the way down the bulbs are barely glowing at all. No flicker or hum.
One person noted that the switch was "upside-down", i.e. up was on and down was off. They must have had it installed in a 3-way setup. 3-way switches (like this one) don't really have a "up" direction. However, I wanted the slider on the right side of the switch, so I just flipped the other switch in the circuit over, which reverses the "on" direction of the other switch. No big deal.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
from Huntsville, AL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally got it to work, great customer support

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Finally got this to work with Cree 100W equivalent LEDs in a 3-bulb fan/ light fixture. The Philips bulbs I originally purchased would not work with this switch. Customer support was very responsive and helped me work my way through the issue. Ultimately there was a newer version of the Philips bulb with the same part number, and the switch was tested with the old version. Only taking off a star because I was inconvenienced by everything not working out of the box..
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: compatibility
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
from Freeport, ME
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Works with a Hampton Bay paddle fan

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I can't comment on the installation as it was part of a new home construction. The primary lighting for our living room is a Hampton Bay Minorca fan-light where the light is exclusively controlled by a pair of three-way switches and the fan is exclusively on the remote. We upgraded the candelabra bulbs to 40W-equivalent TCP LED bulbs (which weren't specifically on the compatibility list) and it works as it should. Like other reviewers have commented about the LED bulbs, they don't dim very low but I put that on the bulbs not this dimmer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
from de
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

stopped working one week after install

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
it was working fine for a week and then it did not work.
Cons: Burns Out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
from Westminster Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst Product Ever

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two Lutron CL dimmers switches from Home Depot. I've done electrical do-it-yourself home projects and not a novice. I installed the dimmer switch and could not get it to work. I've installed dimmer switches before with success. The instructions were confusing and made no sense. After 5 hours of trying to install the switch, we gave up. The next day I called Lutron technical assistance and "Edgar" from Las Vegas, NV? kept telling me I was breaking up over the phone (I called from my land line). Edgar said he would call me back after repeating my home number to me. He never called back. VERY disappointed in the whole experience and both dimmer switches are going back to Home Depot.
Pros: none
Cons: unclear instructions, lutron technical support
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great with new LED down lights

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This dimmer works great with LED ceiling lights! The adjustable setting allows you to adjust the lower dim setting of the LED bulbs... Other dimmer switches do not have this capability.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White

Questionable Quality.

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought four dimmers. When I installed them, two would not work. One would not dim and the other one did not work at all.
The two replacement dimmers did work, but needless to say, it was an inconvenience and should not happen.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
from Washington DC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Instructions were not accurate

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The instructions did not match all the parts of the switch which did not have a green ground screw.
Also I'm disappointed that it doesn't dim to a lighting level I was hoping for.
Pros: Compact, Nice Design
Cons: unclear instructions, inadequate dimming level
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
from Milford, NH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good dimmer but costly

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Good item of good quality but fairly costly. Nice in that it will accommodate 2 way or 3 way circuits. Installation instructions not easy to ascertain and follow.
Pros: Compact, Great Dimming, Nice Design
Cons: Complicated, only difficult to install because of poor instruct
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product performs as advertised - very well

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Lutron toggler CFL Dimmer has performed without any problems with the 12 Feit 100 watt dimmable CFL bulbs . Lutron published a list of CFL dimmable bulbs that had been tested with the Lutron CFL Dimmer , and the Feit bulbs were on the list .The combination are performing as advertised and I am extremely pleased with the Lutron CFL Dimmer .
Pros: Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WORKS AS DESCRIBED

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Using it for bathroom vanity lights, can dim them for use as night light
Pros: Great Dimming
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
from Cincinnati, oh
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy with LED Phillips LED indoor flood sold by Home Depot

PostedMay 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The company and switches are good, but this will not work with the indoor phillips 13W dimmable LED floods also sold at Home Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well and easy install

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This switch works just as advertised and was not hard to install at all.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
from Pace, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good dimmer switches. Easy to install. Works well with luminescant light bulbs.
Pros: Easy Installation
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
from Central, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Pleased with Price and Performance

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After considerable dimmer and bulb review I found the Lutron Dimmer guide at the bottom of the page for the dimmer on the home depot web site. I purchased two of these dimmers ($20 each) and 6 of the Ecosmart ECO 575L LED lights ($25) each. They work great- no flickering, no buzzing. Very pleased with price and performance.
Pros: Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White

Dont use with LED lighting.

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I know the packaging says its compatible with LED's. But with every LED lighting fixture I try and use it on, I get both a 60hz buzzing noise from the lights as well as flickering. It works fine with traditional incandecent - but that is not what I bought the dimmer for.
Cons: dosent work with led lights
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White

pulsating led fixtures

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I am using a combination of 4" ecosmart LED can trims from home depot, and 6" cree cr6 led trims and they are pulsating due to these dimmers. I would not use this product
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
from Mariett, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

We like having a dimmer

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The only reason I didn't rate this above average is that it had to be installed upside down. It just takes getting used to to use it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>