728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Dimmers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White

Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White

Coordinating Fassada wallplate and accessories sold separately. Control the next generation of lighting with Lutron's family of dimmable CFL/LED (C.L) dimmers! Screw-in dimmable compact fluorescent lamps (CFLs) and screw-in dimmable light emitting diode lamps (LEDs) are a great energy-saving alternative to incandescent or halogen light sources, however, dimming them may be difficult. This dimmer provides a solution to alleviate your CFL and LED dimming challenges. The Toggler C.L dimmer features advanced dimming circuitry that is designed for compatibility with most high efficacy light bulbs. These dimmers improve the dimming performance of dimmable CFLs and LEDs compared to standard dimmers. The Toggler C.L matches your existing toggle switches. It features a slider to adjust your light to any activity, and the toggle switch turns your lights off or on returning the lights to your favorite level. Designed to control a broad range of dimmable CFLs and LED bulbs from a variety of brands including Philips, GE, EcoSmart, and Lighting Science. This dimmer also provides full-range dimming for halogen and incandescent bulbs, ensuring today's dimmer is compatible with tomorrow's light sources. Please refer to the More Info section and click on "Specifications" for an approved listing of compatible dimmable bulbs and other helpful tips.
Overall rating:
3.485 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product16 of 24reviews
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(3)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(8)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product16 of 24reviews
Customer reviews for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
Review 1 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
RodATL
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, Works great..!!!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed a dimmer switch for my 2nd floor condo inside stairway entrance. This switch was easy to install and helps me conserve energy while providing a bit more ambience to the entry to my condo.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
Cliff
from Jacksonville FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well-made, instructions were excellent. Works perfectly with some very inexpensive "GSTAR" LED bulbs from Amazon ($140 for 12 BR30 bulbs). Dimming is excellent, with the slider all the way down the bulbs are barely glowing at all. No flicker or hum.
One person noted that the switch was "upside-down", i.e. up was on and down was off. They must have had it installed in a 3-way setup. 3-way switches (like this one) don't really have a "up" direction. However, I wanted the slider on the right side of the switch, so I just flipped the other switch in the circuit over, which reverses the "on" direction of the other switch. No big deal.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
aposak
from Huntsville, AL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally got it to work, great customer support

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Finally got this to work with Cree 100W equivalent LEDs in a 3-bulb fan/ light fixture. The Philips bulbs I originally purchased would not work with this switch. Customer support was very responsive and helped me work my way through the issue. Ultimately there was a newer version of the Philips bulb with the same part number, and the switch was tested with the old version. Only taking off a star because I was inconvenienced by everything not working out of the box..
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: compatibility
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
Steve
from Cleveland

High-pitched noise with LED bulbs

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this dimmer to complement my dining room light containing 8 of the Cree LED bulbs (60W equivalent). This dimmer is listed on the Cree compatibility charg as supporting up to 8 bulbs, but when it's turned on there is a high-pitched whine coming from the light fixture. The whine is relatively constant at all brightness levels, and goes away when the circuit is off. Replacing with a non-dimming 3-way switch solved the problem.
I bought this switch specifically to dim LED bulbs, and although it does dim them, the sound produced is unacceptable.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
DislikesLutron
from Westminster Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst Product Ever

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two Lutron CL dimmers switches from Home Depot. I've done electrical do-it-yourself home projects and not a novice. I installed the dimmer switch and could not get it to work. I've installed dimmer switches before with success. The instructions were confusing and made no sense. After 5 hours of trying to install the switch, we gave up. The next day I called Lutron technical assistance and "Edgar" from Las Vegas, NV? kept telling me I was breaking up over the phone (I called from my land line). Edgar said he would call me back after repeating my home number to me. He never called back. VERY disappointed in the whole experience and both dimmer switches are going back to Home Depot.
Pros: none
Cons: unclear instructions, lutron technical support
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
Medusa
from Washington DC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Instructions were not accurate

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The instructions did not match all the parts of the switch which did not have a green ground screw.
Also I'm disappointed that it doesn't dim to a lighting level I was hoping for.
Pros: Compact, Nice Design
Cons: unclear instructions, inadequate dimming level
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
Matt
from Pace, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good dimmer switches. Easy to install. Works well with luminescant light bulbs.
Pros: Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
shattozoo
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WORKS AS DESCRIBED

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Using it for bathroom vanity lights, can dim them for use as night light
Pros: Great Dimming
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
GRCT
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well and easy install

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This switch works just as advertised and was not hard to install at all.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
JOYA
from Mariett, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

We like having a dimmer

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The only reason I didn't rate this above average is that it had to be installed upside down. It just takes getting used to to use it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
OFC48

Questionable Quality.

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought four dimmers. When I installed them, two would not work. One would not dim and the other one did not work at all.
The two replacement dimmers did work, but needless to say, it was an inconvenience and should not happen.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
Caveman
from Central, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Pleased with Price and Performance

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After considerable dimmer and bulb review I found the Lutron Dimmer guide at the bottom of the page for the dimmer on the home depot web site. I purchased two of these dimmers ($20 each) and 6 of the Ecosmart ECO 575L LED lights ($25) each. They work great- no flickering, no buzzing. Very pleased with price and performance.
Pros: Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
bill

pulsating led fixtures

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I am using a combination of 4" ecosmart LED can trims from home depot, and 6" cree cr6 led trims and they are pulsating due to these dimmers. I would not use this product
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
pr1mus

Dont use with LED lighting.

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I know the packaging says its compatible with LED's. But with every LED lighting fixture I try and use it on, I get both a 60hz buzzing noise from the lights as well as flickering. It works fine with traditional incandecent - but that is not what I bought the dimmer for.
Cons: dosent work with led lights
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
Drbill
from Pittsburgh, PA< USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product for application.

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product worked well in the application for which I purchased it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
3count
from Maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't work with my LEDs - flickering

PostedMay 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I thought I'd try this to reduce the buzz in my 6 EcoSmart 14W BR30 LED lights. I replaced a traditional dimmer. It didn't help the buzz but introduced flickering whenever the lights were dimmed.
It may work better with fewer lights. I've read that you should budget dimmers at 100W per LED even though they only draw a little (the extra accounts for inrush current), although I was hoping that was accounted for in a product designed for LEDs.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
CletusDelroy

Causes flicker with LED lights

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have the Ecosmart Cree downlights, and this switch causes flicker. This only happens at some dimmer settings, not on full brightness, but this is still unacceptable for my purposes especially for a switch that is supposedly designed for led's.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
Chris
from Ham Lake
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't work with EcoSmart LEDs

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was purchased to work with 5 EcoSmart flood LEDs. I had an old, cheap incandescent dimmer that would flicker below about 1/2 brightness. This dimmer was much worse and was basically unable to dim at all without flicker. I ended up with a P&S 700 w incandescent dimmer I found in my junk box and that one is working fine. I can dim to about 10% brightness with no flickering at all. This dimmer is going back.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
VACountrySide
from Stafford, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installation Issues

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I was replacing what I thought was a typical 3-way switch. Where I had planned on locating this dimmer, turned out to be a 4-way switch. First time I experieced one of those. I ended up calling customer service and they quickly told me the problem, I had a total of 3 swithces controlling the light. I reached someone on a Sunday. What a surprise. I simply had to install it at a different location. Installation went great, dims the LED bulbs without any issues.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL LED Dimmer - White
Stvnjonsn
from Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

solved LED shimmering

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Great sollution for Ecosmart / Cree LED shimmering must have for a recessed LED install. Recomended sollution by lutrin.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>