728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Dimmers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White

Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White

Coordinating Fassada wallplate and accessories sold separately. Control the next generation of lighting with Lutron's family of dimmable CFL/LED (C.L) dimmers! Screw-in dimmable compact fluorescent lamps (CFLs) and screw-in dimmable light emitting diode lamps (LEDs) are a great energy-saving alternative to incandescent or halogen light sources, however, dimming them may be difficult. This dimmer provides a solution to alleviate your CFL and LED dimming challenges. The Toggler C.L dimmer features advanced dimming circuitry that is designed for compatibility with most high efficacy light bulbs. These dimmers improve the dimming performance of dimmable CFLs and LEDs compared to standard dimmers. The Toggler C.L matches your existing toggle switches. It features a slider to adjust your light to any activity, and the toggle switch turns your lights off or on returning the lights to your favorite level. Designed to control a broad range of dimmable CFLs and LED bulbs from a variety of brands including Philips, GE, EcoSmart, and Lighting Science. This dimmer also provides full-range dimming for halogen and incandescent bulbs, ensuring today's dimmer is compatible with tomorrow's light sources. Please refer to the More Info section and click on "Specifications" for an approved listing of compatible dimmable bulbs and other helpful tips.
Overall rating:
3.69 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product37 of 49reviews
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(28)
4
(10)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(11)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product37 of 49reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
Review 1 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Mo
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Must with LED

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I was running a similar dimmer but older, and it was not rated for LEDs. So I was getting some flickering. This one has calmed down the flickering, but it is still a bit flaky. For example: if the lights have been dimmed and then the switch turned off, when turning the lights back on, after a bit, they will come on bright, then dim down to where they had been previously dimmed. Not that big a deal. Going LED is still a good way to go. You just might need to match it with a dimmer that can handle the particular LEDs that you are running.
Pros: Compact, use existing cover plates
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Easton, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Working well with 10 LED ceiling lights

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This dimmer switch is working well with 10 LED ceiling lights. It is especially convenient because the brightness is controlled by a small slider switch that is to the right of a standard looking toggle wall switch. Once you have the brightness where you want it you just flick the lights on or off as usual. You can also quickly turn them up or down for special situations by adjusting the small slider switch.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Cleveland

High-pitched noise with LED bulbs

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this dimmer to complement my dining room light containing 8 of the Cree LED bulbs (60W equivalent). This dimmer is listed on the Cree compatibility charg as supporting up to 8 bulbs, but when it's turned on there is a high-pitched whine coming from the light fixture. The whine is relatively constant at all brightness levels, and goes away when the circuit is off. Replacing with a non-dimming 3-way switch solved the problem.
I bought this switch specifically to dim LED bulbs, and although it does dim them, the sound produced is unacceptable.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not with LED bulbs

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The high-pitched buzzing with LED bulbs was intolerable. It had worked fine prior to replacing incandescent bulbs with LEDs but I had to remove the unit to use them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Jacksonville FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well-made, instructions were excellent. Works perfectly with some very inexpensive "GSTAR" LED bulbs from Amazon ($140 for 12 BR30 bulbs). Dimming is excellent, with the slider all the way down the bulbs are barely glowing at all. No flicker or hum.
One person noted that the switch was "upside-down", i.e. up was on and down was off. They must have had it installed in a 3-way setup. 3-way switches (like this one) don't really have a "up" direction. However, I wanted the slider on the right side of the switch, so I just flipped the other switch in the circuit over, which reverses the "on" direction of the other switch. No big deal.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Easy Installation
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Apex, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well so far and easy to install

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am using this dimmer switch (rev 2) with five Ecosmart LED A19 40 watt bulbs over the dining room table. It is dedicated to this one fixture, so is only a two way connection. I did not have to adjust the dimmer as the dimming range is fine for our application. Since it is oriented like our original switch I could use the same faceplate as the old switch and installation was quick and easy. I am pleased with the insulation ease and functionality of the dimmer switch. I would have rated it a 5 but that my be premature until I can confirm that there is some switch longevity.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, Works great..!!!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed a dimmer switch for my 2nd floor condo inside stairway entrance. This switch was easy to install and helps me conserve energy while providing a bit more ambience to the entry to my condo.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from de
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

stopped working one week after install

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
it was working fine for a week and then it did not work.
Cons: Burns Out
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Spanish Fort, AL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to Install

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have several of these in both single pole and 3-way applications. Easy to install in both. Rated to control plenty of CFL/LED lights.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White

easy to install great design

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product was easy to install but the directions didn't match the product at all. If you have basic electrical knowledge this shouldn't phase you. I also love the design as the dimmer is subtle and looks like a normal switch. This makes it so that you don't need a new wall plate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Huntsville, AL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally got it to work, great customer support

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Finally got this to work with Cree 100W equivalent LEDs in a 3-bulb fan/ light fixture. The Philips bulbs I originally purchased would not work with this switch. Customer support was very responsive and helped me work my way through the issue. Ultimately there was a newer version of the Philips bulb with the same part number, and the switch was tested with the old version. Only taking off a star because I was inconvenienced by everything not working out of the box..
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: compatibility
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Ruskin, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Dimmer Switch

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was very wasy to install. Performs well and looks good.
Pros: Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White

Questionable Quality.

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought four dimmers. When I installed them, two would not work. One would not dim and the other one did not work at all.
The two replacement dimmers did work, but needless to say, it was an inconvenience and should not happen.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from West Des Moines, IA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what we were looking to purchase

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easily installed and works well in our dining room area.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Westminster Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst Product Ever

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two Lutron CL dimmers switches from Home Depot. I've done electrical do-it-yourself home projects and not a novice. I installed the dimmer switch and could not get it to work. I've installed dimmer switches before with success. The instructions were confusing and made no sense. After 5 hours of trying to install the switch, we gave up. The next day I called Lutron technical assistance and "Edgar" from Las Vegas, NV? kept telling me I was breaking up over the phone (I called from my land line). Edgar said he would call me back after repeating my home number to me. He never called back. VERY disappointed in the whole experience and both dimmer switches are going back to Home Depot.
Pros: none
Cons: unclear instructions, lutron technical support
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Washington DC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Instructions were not accurate

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The instructions did not match all the parts of the switch which did not have a green ground screw.
Also I'm disappointed that it doesn't dim to a lighting level I was hoping for.
Pros: Compact, Nice Design
Cons: unclear instructions, inadequate dimming level
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Freeport, ME
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Works with a Hampton Bay paddle fan

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I can't comment on the installation as it was part of a new home construction. The primary lighting for our living room is a Hampton Bay Minorca fan-light where the light is exclusively controlled by a pair of three-way switches and the fan is exclusively on the remote. We upgraded the candelabra bulbs to 40W-equivalent TCP LED bulbs (which weren't specifically on the compatibility list) and it works as it should. Like other reviewers have commented about the LED bulbs, they don't dim very low but I put that on the bulbs not this dimmer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Cincinnati, oh
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy with LED Phillips LED indoor flood sold by Home Depot

PostedMay 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The company and switches are good, but this will not work with the indoor phillips 13W dimmable LED floods also sold at Home Depot.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White
from Central, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Pleased with Price and Performance

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After considerable dimmer and bulb review I found the Lutron Dimmer guide at the bottom of the page for the dimmer on the home depot web site. I purchased two of these dimmers ($20 each) and 6 of the Ecosmart ECO 575L LED lights ($25) each. They work great- no flickering, no buzzing. Very pleased with price and performance.
Pros: Clear Instructions, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Toggler 150-Watt Single Pole/3-Way CFL-LED Dimmer - White

Dont use with LED lighting.

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I know the packaging says its compatible with LED's. But with every LED lighting fixture I try and use it on, I get both a 60hz buzzing noise from the lights as well as flickering. It works fine with traditional incandecent - but that is not what I bought the dimmer for.
Cons: dosent work with led lights
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>