728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Welding or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 115-Volt 70-Amp Stick Welder

115-Volt 70-Amp Stick Welder

The WS0990 is an ideal stick welder to have around the house. It conveniently plugs in to any 115 volt outlet and delivers enough power to fix most smaller projects. Dual heat settings allow the user to switch between two different size welding rods in order to determine the best results for the job.
Overall rating:
4.182 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product10 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(6)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product10 of 10reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 115-Volt 70-Amp Stick Welder
Review 1 for 115-Volt 70-Amp Stick Welder
from Edinburg , Tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smooth welds once it gets started

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
At first, I wasn't sure if the machine was on. I couldn't here the regular humming sound a 220 welder makes when it is turned on. However, as I later found out, the machine was on. This feature(barely a low humming sound) is normal for this size of machine. I tried it on the low setting, and I could not get it started( a spark). So I switched it over to the high setting. Still did not work. However, and this is extremely important, I remembered what redneck computer geek said on Youtube when evaluating this welder: everytime before you strike, take a pair of wire cutters and snip off about 1/8 inch of the flux from the tip of the rod, leaving the 1/16 inch rod core exposed. This will give you the strike that you need to start the weld. Otherwise, if you don't do this, you will have a very hard, if not impossible, time starting the weld. Once I did this, it worked extremely well. Oh, and the 1/16 inch rods that come with the machine do work. You can buy additional rods at Harbor Freight or Lowes. Great for welding 18 to 10 gauge blackiron metal. I used it to fix some lawn furniture. It worked very well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 115-Volt 70-Amp Stick Welder
from Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great welder for a low price!

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Having already tried out this welder, I was impressed with its ability to do the job of welding fairly heavy steel. Now this isn't some construction type of welder for large projects with 1/4 inch thick steel, but it does great for lightweight work around the house or when you need something portable for cars or bikes.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 115-Volt 70-Amp Stick Welder
from KC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for home projects

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this to repair a riding lawn mower. I haven't done any welding in many years but it worked well on the high power setting and using 1/16" rods. I tried using 3/32" rods and it was difficult but I'm sure with some practice it would work well. I liked that it worked well on a standard 115 v outlet.
+29points
33out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 115-Volt 70-Amp Stick Welder
from Mansfield, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

works just fine for what i need it for

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
the welder works well for what I need it for. the price is right for this welder
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: no cons
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 115-Volt 70-Amp Stick Welder
from ga
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

if you are looking for a excellent welding machine for small projects look no further

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
pros:
for me the duty cycle is not a problem at all i have never in the three weeks that i have owned this machine tripped the thermal protection switch also this machine is able to be run off a standard 115 volt outlet which for me is a must
cons:
the rods are very difficult to find
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: hard to find rods
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 115-Volt 70-Amp Stick Welder
from york pa
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good welder

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
the welder works fine. But the mask that came with it was broken . The mask was such a joke that I threw it away.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 115-Volt 70-Amp Stick Welder

stick welder

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
pretty good sparkler machine works great best to have if doing minor repairs or learning to weld haven't failed me yet
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 115-Volt 70-Amp Stick Welder

Underpowered, hard to find rods

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This little guy really has trouble maintaining an arc if you don't use the tiny 1/16" rods. These rods are nowhere to be found in my locale, so ordering them is a big headache. I have however found this box will run 3/32" 7014 rods, but with quite a bit of splatter (in a pinch if you can't find the 1/16 rods)
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, cheap
Cons: hard to find rods
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 115-Volt 70-Amp Stick Welder

nice product

PostedMay 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Nice product. Very portable and consistent. Great for small jobs.
-1point
6out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 115-Volt 70-Amp Stick Welder

Good for a newbie

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to pickup and use for around the house stuff. Still learning how to use it. A wire welder may have been a better starter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 115-Volt 70-Amp Stick Welder
from Grand Prairie, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sadly it was DOA

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Product arrived DOA. Checked lines with voltmeter and other tools. No hum, nothing. Had to return.
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.