728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 115-Volt 70-Amp Stick Welder

115-Volt 70-Amp Stick Welder

The WS0990 is an ideal stick welder to have around the house. It conveniently plugs in to any 115 volt outlet and delivers enough power to fix most smaller projects. Dual heat settings allow the user to switch between two different size welding rods in order to determine the best results for the job.
Overall rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 115-Volt 70-Amp Stick Welder
Review 1 for 115-Volt 70-Amp Stick Welder

stick welder

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
pretty good sparkler machine works great best to have if doing minor repairs or learning to weld haven't failed me yet
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 115-Volt 70-Amp Stick Welder

Underpowered, hard to find rods

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This little guy really has trouble maintaining an arc if you don't use the tiny 1/16" rods. These rods are nowhere to be found in my locale, so ordering them is a big headache. I have however found this box will run 3/32" 7014 rods, but with quite a bit of splatter (in a pinch if you can't find the 1/16 rods)
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, cheap
Cons: hard to find rods
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 115-Volt 70-Amp Stick Welder
from Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great welder for a low price!

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Having already tried out this welder, I was impressed with its ability to do the job of welding fairly heavy steel. Now this isn't some construction type of welder for large projects with 1/4 inch thick steel, but it does great for lightweight work around the house or when you need something portable for cars or bikes.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 115-Volt 70-Amp Stick Welder
from KC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for home projects

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to repair a riding lawn mower. I haven't done any welding in many years but it worked well on the high power setting and using 1/16" rods. I tried using 3/32" rods and it was difficult but I'm sure with some practice it would work well. I liked that it worked well on a standard 115 v outlet.
+29points
33out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 115-Volt 70-Amp Stick Welder
from ga
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

if you are looking for a excellent welding machine for small projects look no further

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
pros:
for me the duty cycle is not a problem at all i have never in the three weeks that i have owned this machine tripped the thermal protection switch also this machine is able to be run off a standard 115 volt outlet which for me is a must
cons:
the rods are very difficult to find
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: hard to find rods
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 115-Volt 70-Amp Stick Welder
from york pa
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good welder

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
the welder works fine. But the mask that came with it was broken . The mask was such a joke that I threw it away.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 115-Volt 70-Amp Stick Welder

Good for a newbie

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to pickup and use for around the house stuff. Still learning how to use it. A wire welder may have been a better starter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 115-Volt 70-Amp Stick Welder
from Grand Prairie, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sadly it was DOA

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Product arrived DOA. Checked lines with voltmeter and other tools. No hum, nothing. Had to return.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 115-Volt 70-Amp Stick Welder

nice product

PostedMay 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice product. Very portable and consistent. Great for small jobs.
-1point
6out of 13found this review helpful.