728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Saws or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10 in. Table Saw

10 in. Table Saw

Makita's 2705 10 in. Table Saw is a versatile and powerful table saw for use in the shop or on the jobsite. It combines a range of convenience and ease-of-use features with large capacity and 15-amppower, making it a true best-in-class table saw for a range of professional applications. The 15-amp motor delivers 4,800 RPM, with an electric brake for maximum productivity. The large cutting capacity (3-5/8 in. at 90° and 2-1/2 in. at 45°) can rip 4X material in one pass, and can use up to a 6 in. x 13/16 in. dado blade. The 2705 is engineered for remodelers, furniture makers, finish carpenters, cabinet installers, decking and flooring contractors, and general contractors seeking a best-in-class 10 in. table saw for the jobsite or on the benchtop.
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product8 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product8 of 10reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for 10 in. Table Saw
Review 1 for 10 in. Table Saw
from Auburn, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best deal in town by far!

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I researched this table saw for several weeks....read all the reviews about the Makita as well as other comparable saws. For me the key was the higher rpms that this saw delivers plus the Makita's motor IS NOT made in China. The blade arrived perfectly square but I did have to adjust the fence and the mitre to get a perfect cut. I also had to adjust the riving knife to align it perfectly behind the blade. I didn't mind the set up because it forced me to become familiar with the saw. The saw was over lubricated with petroleum jelly and that was a minor annoyance.
About the fence, it was easy to adjust and although it locks firm and square, it still can be moved if enough pressure is applied on the out feed end. A quick-grip clamp solves the problem.
The mitre fence had a small bit of play, which I eliminated by applying some duct tape on the bottom of the fence rail. It now slides smooth and has ZERO play.
I replaced the stock 32 tooth cross ripping blade with a full kerf 50 tooth Freud ATB blade (LU84M011) and have cut several hard woods with only a small drop in rpm, but no burning, binding or lights dimming in the shop. I cut some aged pressure treated 2 x 8s that were very dense and the saw performed well. So far that was the ultimate test. Granted, it was a brand new blade but my radial arm saw did not perform as well cutting the same wood.
One feature I really like is the brake on the blade when you turn of the power. It allows you to remove your cut wood without having to wait for the blade to stop rotating.....that's when a lot of accidents tend to happen.
The saw has a larger platform than most of its competitors, but I can still carry this saw relatively easily and I am age 56, and weight 168 pounds.
One complaint I can think of is the noise the saw makes at start up. It think it has something to do with the braking system disengaging, but it doesn't seem to be a problem other than the sound. During operation, the saw is less noisy than other saws I have used.
Overall, I am very satisfied with this portable saw. I feel it is a top of the line saw for a do-it-your-selfer and it you want more power you have to graduate up to a cabinet saw. At the price I purchased this saw I feel Home Depot deserves my attention more often. Thank you HD!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate
Cons: noise at start-up
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10 in. Table Saw

Lots of Power, well built

PostedJune 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a 12 year old full sized Rigid that was seldom used, yet the 10 amp motor still burned up, very disappointing! This Makita is GREAT compared to the Rigid. Plenty of excess power (first job was ripping 2x4 on 38 deg angle, and it chewed through it no problem), light saw, but sturdy, very solid and well built. Other reviewers complained about the fence? I think the fence is great and it cut true out of the box (I did have to adjust the angle indicator on the blade though). I have had a really good track record with Makita motors, I down right abuse some of my older Makita saws, and they just keep running, so I'm sold on the Makita motor, as opposed to the Dewalt, Rigid, etc., that I just don't think are the highest quality and I seem to hear about them burning up more often. Bottom line, it was worth the extra $ for me to get the Makita.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10 in. Table Saw
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best saw yet

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this saw after having to return several others for fence alignment issues. I decided to spend the extra money to rid myself of the headaches of setting them up and returning the lesser brands. I'm so happy I did. this saw is quiet, strong and has the deepest cutting depth of its class. Definitely a good saw for the money.
Pros: Powerful, Accurate
Cons: a little pricey but you get what you pay for
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10 in. Table Saw
from Maine, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth every penny

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Cuts true and much better than my old table saw. The table is the right size and the extension is simple to use. The rip fence is solid and simply to use. You won't be disappointed with this saw
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10 in. Table Saw
from Melbourne, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Average Product At A High Price

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first saw I bought was defective in that the blade rubbed on the insert plate. After many long calls and emails with customer service and many hours of adjustments Makita told me it was unrepairable and I had to return the saw which was a lot of hassle and time. I bought another of the same model because it is the only bench model saw I could find that accepts a dado blade. The saw is completely mounted in a plastic base with only one small blade adjustment for the front side of the blade, no rear adjustment is built into the saw. The performance of the saw is good for cutting but the adjustments are all again plastic and it took some adjustments to get them right before I could use the saw. The saw is built very cheaply compared to the metal frame portable saw I got from a major tool brand. The saw would be okay for a few hundred dollars less and if it wasn't for the dado ability I would have just returned it. Unless you need a dado blade bench top saw I wouldn't refer this saw to a friend.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, low quality construction
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10 in. Table Saw
from San Francisco Bay, California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Lasted 20+ Years

PostedMay 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As a Hardwood Flooring contractor, I bought this 8" Makita table saw with plastic base, no metal legs in 1989, and still ripping! after using my bosses for over 10 years. Table saws are very dangerous tools. Always respect them, and think about your fingers before you turn it on. Prayer never hurts and may help focus the few brain cells we have left. . . . It's very important to have a sharp blade on your saw, primarily for safety, don't mess about with a dull blade, kick backs are far more likely and of course don't force the tool (aka feeding to fast). I've seen kick backs from 3/4" oak go right through a hollow core door. Don't try to rip wet lumber, it will bind and hurt you or something else. . . . Always stand to the side, not behind the blade and wear glasses and hearing protection (What?).
I bent/lost the angle indicator and a "helper" ran a skill saw across tho top inch+" of the fence but it still works well. I've replaced the brushes (under $10, in stock at good tool service type place) and lube the bottom (accessible) bearing, I could splurge and replace them, but it's likely more time and money than it's worth at this point and lubing them seems to really help, Thankfully it is not sealed, and it cuts much better with new brushes and lubed bearings (I actually only did the one that's accessible easily, sprayed the other one).
There is allot of resistance cranking it up and down with the small knob, so much that a bigger knob with a small handle would have likely broken. I've attempted to adjust the tension numerous times (easy to do with varied results) to some effect, as well as lubricate it as well. I've had to replace the original power cord with a heavy duty bright Yellow (12 gauge) extension cord (easier and cheaper than a factory part) as well as longer, eliminating the need for an extension cord 3/4 of the time.
The plastic base has broken, chipped and cracked to the point that i built a reinforcing frame for the bottom, which helps with stabilizing it as well as adding a bit of weight (ripped 2X4s). I don't think the factory legs are worth the time or money IMHO. Like all Makita (in my experience) tools it's loader than heck but it only bogs down with 3"+ miters on white oak making really thick custom thresholds, but otherwise it does just fine, especially ripping 5/16ths" and even 3/4" White oak quite well, if the blade is reasonably sharp. I'm starting to think the blade spray lube from Bostic is a good investment.
It has paid for itself likely a hundred times over. a good tool, likely a safe investment even used. Considering this is a circular saw on a fairly well engineered frame on a cheap base, it has exactly the power one would expect, or perhaps a bit more again, sharp blades make the difference.
I've had to learn to include blade cost and time into every third large job if i want to keep a sharp blade on it. Often it's faster/easier to just buy blades than ship them to the quite good, online blade sharpening outfits that guarantee their work. Ya just gotta have 10 blades in stock so you can rotate and make shipping them worth while, It's often good to buy two of the same tool so the blades/parts fit and on occasion I've even used a small miter saw blade on my table saw just because it was sharp and i didn't want to go buy a blade in the middle of the day, or i was feeling cheap, whatever, be careful!
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: really loud poor dust control
+10points
16out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10 in. Table Saw
from Woodridge, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This is a great saw with minor issues.

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great saw, however, I'm surprised that Makita hasn't developed a better fence system. I also have a Dewalt table saw and the rack and pinion system is the best.
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10 in. Table Saw
from Sonora CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Needs to be slightly smaller and lighter for job site work. Otherwise very good table saw.

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The saw is excellent except I purchased it thinking it would be like the Makita 2703 or 2702 models. I need a work site table saw that is smaller and lighter. The 2705 is too heavy to lug around even with the portable table that I also purchased. It doesn't fit in my truck very well either.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use
Cons: Too Heavy, weight and size not listed in product description
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10 in. Table Saw

Great price

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Overall great saw and easy to operate. Has power with low cost
Pros: Powerful
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10 in. Table Saw
from United States

Capable but HEAVY!

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
All the bells and whistles, but wish it was a little smaller/lighter.
-10points
4out of 18found this review helpful.