728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Home>

Customer reviews for 1,000-Watt 2 Stroke Powered Gas and Oil Mix Portable Generator

1,000-Watt 2 Stroke Powered Gas and Oil Mix Portable Generator

The All Power APG3004A is a cost effective portable generator that offers great performance at affordable price. It has a 120-Volt and 12-Volt DC output and runs with low noise. 1.2 Gal. tank capacity. Runs 8.5 hours at 1/2 Gal. of fuel. Integrated 120-Volt, 15 peak Amp DC, trickle charge, and battery charger complete with cables. 12-Volt DC output. Low noise.
Overall rating:
3.109 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
69%of customersrecommend this product29 of 42reviews
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
3.1 out of 5
5
(12)
4
(14)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(16)
Features 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
69%of customersrecommend this product29 of 42reviews
Customer reviews for 1,000-Watt 2 Stroke Powered Gas and Oil Mix Portable Generator
Review 1 for 1,000-Watt 2 Stroke Powered Gas and Oil Mix Portable Generator
from Brandon, Fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good for the bucks!

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been running this guy for a full week, at a rate of 4-8 hours per day, and have been working just fine. I use it for an small compressor of an Inflatable sign. At the first it didn't started up, so I called the service number and they told me to increase the proportion of oil from 2.6 to 3.2 and then it started at the first try.
Unfortunately the right proportion of oil it doesn't appear clearly in the documentation.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1,000-Watt 2 Stroke Powered Gas and Oil Mix Portable Generator
Age Range:45 to 54

The real scoop

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
First let me say that I saw the negative reviews and I understand them at first blush, but a small adjustment and this was a fantastic value.
This is the same unit that Lowe's sells for 20 bucks more on their site and Home Depot had free shipping. It was ordered on Sunday and even though the estimated ship date was a week later, I got it in two days.
Out of the box we noticed that it came with jumper cables for the car, a measuring cup under the gas cap for measuring 2-stroke oil and was very light weight. We put the gas mix in it and pulled the starter, and pulled and pulled, finally after several attempts it stayed running. We let it run for 20 minutes and plugged in a lamp just for fun. It worked and we put it away till the next day when we could do a proper break in.
Day two: After 8 pulls it started and I plugged in my chest freezer 300 watts, and ran it for 2 hours. Only a few times it seemed to rev, or have a slight engine shutter. I passed it off as the freezer cycling, but it did it with my tv too. I let it rest for an hour and went to give it a second run for two hours under a light load like website recommend. On and off for 2 hours I tried everything to start it with nothing close happening. I called the helpline and the very kind Tech Pat, helped me to remove the spark plug to see if it was filmed with carbon, it was. I wiped it off, put it back and on the second pull it started. I hung up with Pat, and it ran with no load for 5 mins and shut off.
I checked the plug again and when I put it back two pulls and it was on for a second. Clearly the plug had something to do with it. I remembered buying a Chinese motor scooter a few years ago and remembered that the plugs they come with are super cheap. I took a chance and got a replacement from the auto parts store locally. Put it in, One pull and it was perfect, no surge, no rev, not a tiny fluctuation at all for the one hour I ran it with the 300 watt load.
I let it sit for two days and pulled it out today. Two pulls and it ran perfect with zero issues at all. I kept it on for two hours with a 53% load (TV, Directv box, DVD player, Apple TV box, and speaker)= 427 watts total. After turning it off it only took about 20 mins to be cool enough to store.
My suggestion is if it is AT ALL hard to start, replace the plug. It's only a few bucks and is like night and day. There are several spark plug conversion pages on the web that can tell you what the right size is. ie; Champion NY9 Bosch W6D etc.
This is a great little generator that is worth the price for us as we will not use it that often.
The only negative comments I would make are that the information on the Specs are inaccurate.
On this site it says 850 running watts, on the box and generator it says 800. It also says up to 3000 Watts. i'm not sure where that information came from. On the site it said 8 hours at 50% load, on the box it says 8.5 hours at 50% load.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: cheapo spark plug replace if hard to start
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1,000-Watt 2 Stroke Powered Gas and Oil Mix Portable Generator
from Clanton,AL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Be careful

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
No clue how to rate this product because, I was not able to get it out of the box. For starters it states 1000 watts but my box has 800 with a peak of 1000. To top it off the gas tank is broken off the metal housing that well means not functional for my purposes. In the defense of the product the box was bent on the same end. I just need to add with all the packing and slight bends in the box treat it like an egg. Will be returning for a refund even though I purchased a 2 year protection plan.
Pros: no clue
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1,000-Watt 2 Stroke Powered Gas and Oil Mix Portable Generator
from Florida, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Workhorse in a small Pkg

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Got this Unit to use while out and about (Camping, Airsoft, Emergencies). Living here in Florida, Hurricane season is always a concern. I have big generators, and now this small generator. It allows me to use it when the big Generators are not practical. Weight allows for easy mobility and versatility. Fits in a car trunk. Power Output is extremely consistant, and ideal for my intended use. Included 12v cables also allow for mobile Battery charger. 1 fill last an avg of 9 hours for me on a light load. 800w load lasted 3.5-4 hours on avg. My only complaint is the 2 stroke oil mixter needed. But I am just being picky about that. it is really not a con. Works as intended, and is easy to maintain. Couldnt ask for anything more.
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
+41points
41out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1,000-Watt 2 Stroke Powered Gas and Oil Mix Portable Generator
from PORTSMOUTH VIRGINIA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

MISLEADING

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
THE ADD FOR THIS UNIT WAS MISLEADING. THE ADD STATED IT WAS A GAS UNIT NOT AN OIL AND GAS COMBINED UNIT. I'M NOT HAPPY WITH THIS PRODUCT. I WAS LOOKING FOR A SMALL UNIT WITH PLENTY OF POWER AND YOU FAILED ON THIS SALE. THIS UNIT DOES NOT HAVE THE AMPERAGE THAT WAS ADVERTISED.
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1,000-Watt 2 Stroke Powered Gas and Oil Mix Portable Generator

good deal

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
works well a little awkward to start pull cord is at the wrong angle
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: awkward to start
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1,000-Watt 2 Stroke Powered Gas and Oil Mix Portable Generator
from Southern Maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Small and good

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I didn't think it would start/run my (small) fridge, but I tested it and it seemed to work fine. Started right up after assembly. Ran for more than 4 hours on a half gallon of gas/oil mix. I really like how small it is, and mixing oil and gas isn't a problem. Good fuel efficiency. Not too noisy. Nice to know it's there when I need it.
Pros: Compact, Clear Instructions
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1,000-Watt 2 Stroke Powered Gas and Oil Mix Portable Generator
from Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product---Great price

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We had a major storm hit our town my power was out for 3 days. It started right out of the box after filling it with gas on the second pull. It powered my refrigerator,tv, some lights and a fan. Great gas mileage and ran very quiet didnt disturb my neighbors. Great product, great price, I'm going to buy another one for my sons home.
+33points
34out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1,000-Watt 2 Stroke Powered Gas and Oil Mix Portable Generator
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I had great hopes!

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really liked the price and most of the reviews on this generator, so I ordered and took delivery of this great looking generator. I mixed the 2.6 oz 2 stroke oil with the capacity of fresh gas and it started right up. I ran into the house to advise my wife of our great purchase. Then, after about 3 minutes the generator stopped. I started it again and it started but quit after a few seconds, Fuel and oil not mixed correctly, right? So the 2nd pull of the starter cord and the cord broke. I will take the unit back to Home Depot tomorrow after the gas is drained completely. Really disappointed.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1,000-Watt 2 Stroke Powered Gas and Oil Mix Portable Generator
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really bad directions

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It would have helped to know that the gas cap doubled as a measuring cup for mixing oil in with gasoline. And it would have helped if the fuel line valve open/close diagram was a little clearer (hint: down for open, 90 to right for close). But all in all, once you figure it all out you've just saved anywhere from $300-1000 on a big name generator, and that's just fine by me. Doesn't run for 8 hours as advertised (more like 4-5 hours when full), but who cares. Bring an extra gas can and you're good to go. I've used it at two tailgates, and it powered my TV, xBox and speakers like a champ. No complaints here.
Pros: Compact
Cons: Complicated
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1,000-Watt 2 Stroke Powered Gas and Oil Mix Portable Generator
from Foxboro MA.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Little work horse!!

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was looking for something small for what I need and this was just the right size works GREAT I got about 61/2 hrs running time on a full tank with a load on it. great value for the money.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: no cons yet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1,000-Watt 2 Stroke Powered Gas and Oil Mix Portable Generator
from SOUTHINGTON, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

GOOD PRICE--GREAT FOR LIGHT DUE JOBS

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
PERFECT WEIGHT AND SIZE.GREAT FOR QUICK LIGHTING OR
FOR SMALL EQUIPMENT AWAY FROM NORMAL POWER CONNECTIONS
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1,000-Watt 2 Stroke Powered Gas and Oil Mix Portable Generator
from Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hot, cheap, and reliable

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Economical unit well suited for occasional use. Runs right out of the box on the same fuel the chainsaw uses. Muffler is close to the ground surface and creates a great deal of heat but forethought can alleviate any potential fires. If I needed a constant use generator I would have purchased a 4 cycle generator for $1000 but this will work as a backup RV power source. Packaging from the manufacturer was poor and unit arrived via UPS with a small dent in the fuel tank and a broken plastic face plate but it does run.............
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: very hot muffler, poor shipping container
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1,000-Watt 2 Stroke Powered Gas and Oil Mix Portable Generator

18 months old, still fires right up, runs like a champ

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
From the first time I used it it's always started within three pulls of the cord. I've used it several times to charge deep cycle batteries, run a 750 watt hot plate and lights for camping, etc.. Never any issues. Had replaced the original spark plug with an NGK BP6ES plug when it was new (heard so many bad things about Chinese plugs). Otherwise still all original.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1,000-Watt 2 Stroke Powered Gas and Oil Mix Portable Generator
from florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Save your $$$$$

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I only used this generator 2xs.. I didnt even get through a tank of gas and of course I am passed my warranty as I didnt use right away.the plug kept popping out so I would have to plug in my lights over and over again. what a pain. and i pulled and pulled and pulled and cant get it to start again. what a joke. If I knew that it was true garbage then I would have / should have started it sooner so that I could have returned it for my money back and to get something i could rely on. do yourself a favor save your $$$ for a better name brand that is more reliable. true garbage. should be a law that prevents people from selling worthless garbage like this...
Pros: Light Weight, no pros just garbage
Cons: Not Durable, not reliable
+4points
11out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1,000-Watt 2 Stroke Powered Gas and Oil Mix Portable Generator
from Clanton, Alanama
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Did not even get it out of the box

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Was looking forward to using this camping but slight wrinkles on the box reviled the packing is not suffient or the units quality to withstand whatever happend to it was not suffient. 3 of the 4 bolts that secure the gas tank to the unit were broken below the bolts. I only assume the frame was broken because of its cheap quality. Please do not get me wrong $130+ for a generator was cheap but one would expect the housing to be durable. Not sure how it runs and/or anything else as it pertains to this product. Taking it back tomorrow.
Pros: All In One
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1,000-Watt 2 Stroke Powered Gas and Oil Mix Portable Generator
from kansas city
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent for the Price

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So lets be honest here, this thing is CHEAP. It runs good, is easy to operate, but don't buy it thinking its going to be a workhorse like a Honda. Its unfortunate some people have had it break early on. Mine runs good, and is reliable, but I also use good quality 2-stroke oil, don't let gas sit in the carb for any length of time, and I use it for reasonable loads below its rating. Handy in a pinch, but I certainly wouldn't count on it for a major emergency.
Pros: All In One
Cons: 2-stroke
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1,000-Watt 2 Stroke Powered Gas and Oil Mix Portable Generator
from Dahlonega, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great generator for outside use.

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've had this generator for about a month now and it has been great. My son, who is in the construction business, has also used it on occasion and he couldn't get over the weight and ease of use. A great generator, light weight and quiet to run.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Light Weight
Cons: none
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1,000-Watt 2 Stroke Powered Gas and Oil Mix Portable Generator
from Mill Creek, WA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good purchase for price and ease of use.

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use out of the box and to set up. For the price and specs, it's handy to have around for emergencies (or for running speakers outdoors for a party). That said, it runs at less than published rating when hot or when multitasking. For example, charging 4 phones (each sucking in 2A) woulnd't charge the phone but simply maintain charge even though the generator is rated at 10A.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features, low load thrwshold
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1,000-Watt 2 Stroke Powered Gas and Oil Mix Portable Generator
from Westwood, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great little gene!

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This 100 watt gene is a little power horse! Does the job for sump-pumps, fridge's, and lights! Works great!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>