728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1,200-Watt 2 Stroke Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

1,200-Watt 2 Stroke Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

The All Power APG3004A is a cost effective portable generator that offers great performance at affordable price. It has a 120 Volt and 12 Volt DC output and runs with low noise. 1.2 Gallon tank capacity. Runs 8.5 hours at 1/2 gallons of fuel. Integrated 12 volt, 10 peak Amp DC, trickle charge, and battery charger complete with cables. 12 Volt DC output. Low noise.
Overall rating:
3.346 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
69%of customersrecommend this product18 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(6)
Features 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
69%of customersrecommend this product18 of 26reviews
Customer reviews for 1,200-Watt 2 Stroke Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Review 1 for 1,200-Watt 2 Stroke Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Rowlett, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was surprised as this unit looks identical to my 800 watt generator. In testing, I pulled 1040 watts from it and it kept on going. More than enough power to run my 32' travel trailer with all lights on and refrigerator running. No AC of course because that's 13 amps (1560 watts by itself not including start up). Follow the instructions. Mix the oil/gas correctly. Break in and connect power 'after' the unit has warmed up as it says in the instructions. Was easy to start with just a few pulls with the choke set to full - again as it says in the instructions. It's not the best generator, but for the price it's a great deal and will do what I need it to do.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight, is quiet for its size.
Cons: could use better instructions, would like to see a larger gas tank
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1,200-Watt 2 Stroke Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from upstate NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product so far

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got this unit as back up power for our travel trailer,it runs everything in the trailer as long as you do not try to run everything at once. The trailer has a 5 battery 3000 watt invertor so the battery charger feature is a real plus. The generator starts easy and runs a long time on a single tank of fuel depending on the load it is under. I like that it is a light weight unit easily carried with one hand and compact for easy storage, when inside the trailer you hardly hear it running when placed 10 ft from trailer. This is the second small gen I have had first one lasted 4-5 years but was damaged in flooding otherwise it would still be running
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1,200-Watt 2 Stroke Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Castle Rock, Washington
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Generator

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got the Generator because our son has a special formula that ust be refrigerated and we could use it to power the fridge in case of power outages. which seems to be more frequent as the climate Changes We lost power two times this year.
But, the unit looks nothing like the one as advertised.
it is 8.3 amps.on the dc side and is 1000 watts on the ac side and peaks at 12000.
it will.not only run the refrigerator 780 watts or 6.3 amps but it will Run our food steemer at 900 watts. I was surprised to find a plug for the DIY person.
My advice is if you know nothing on wiring..Toss it.
All in all I am peased with the purchase.
It was affordable, and is a good runner.
How. ever it is outputting 24 volts on the dc end with out a load and with a load..18 volts. triggers an over load on an inverter
My answer to that was buying a voltage regulator at raidio shack and connecting it to th e inverter.
it is however very unfriendly towards the APC I have.
the gen throws out variable voltages between 110 to 130 So the apc is probaby getting confused. This is when generator is at idle.
Oh and it will do the dishes to. Yes it will run a Ge Dishwasher Model number GSC35000NBB .
nice to know we can have clean dishes.
So for power, affordability, runtime, and usefulness it is a great deal. especially if you are on a budget.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Light Weight
Cons: 18 to 24 volts to "hot" for some inverters.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1,200-Watt 2 Stroke Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Washington, DC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent Generator... but...

PostedApril 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the money this is a decent generator. The cost hardly covers an engine of this size alone.
Note that there is a large Phillips head screw between the two gas tank mounting screws on the right side. Turn this screw to adjust the voltage output of the generate.
My 12v output produced 30volts (!!!) until I changed the screw settings.
Immediately replace the spark plug with a Champion RN9YC to prevent oil fouling.
Note that this generator is certainly NOT quite.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design, 12volt battery charge
Cons: loud
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1,200-Watt 2 Stroke Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Fairfax, VA

good portable gen.

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
noise free and portable good price ideal for camping lights, ipod and small grill
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1,200-Watt 2 Stroke Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Satisfied so far

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Before starting this for the first time I checked the gap on the spark plug, checked the wiring and called customer service to ask about high altitude operation. Plug no problem, wiring looked great. CS says there is an adjustment on the carb. for using at high altitude. Filled it up and started on the second pull. let it warm up and plugged in my Travel trailer to recharge its battery. Worked perfectly. I give 4 stars only because of the noise it creates. Definately louder than the far more expensive Honda and Yamaha units out there but for where and when I'll use it. I'm happy (so far) with my purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: louder than most
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1,200-Watt 2 Stroke Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Castle rock Washi8ngton
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

A Great Little Generator

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have so far ran my dishwasher (575 WATTS) and Bread Machine (400 Watts) side by side and it keeps on generating,
Some of the other things I have ran are :
NuWave Conduction Stove Top (set to med/high) That will
make it work for its keep
Ninja Binder and Nutra Bullet , lights ,laptop,Battery Charger, Cell Phone Charger and an old Stereo all at once.
I ran the refrigerator and a few other things.
all in All, keep the gas the gas good and the-mixture correct and keep up the maintenance, and it should serve you well for the light stuff.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, will run 750 watt ceramic heater, will run oster 400 watt bread machine, will run a ge dishwasher, regulates battery even at high load, add battery bank and inverter and have fun!
Cons: does need to be re-choked to starts sometimes, no feul guage set a timer., needs watt meter
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1,200-Watt 2 Stroke Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Starts hard, does not run smoothly

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Starts very hard for a 2-stroke, at least 5 or 6 pulls before it fires. Doesn't run smoothly, "flutters" (misses) for several seconds every few minutes under no or light loads & during constant light loads, which causes lights to flicker in a very annoying way. The more you load it the better it performs. I changed spark plug, no better. Original Chinese spark plug seemed to get dirty fast. Carb. doesn't seem to be adjustable, seems lean; thus the "flutter".
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1,200-Watt 2 Stroke Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Mason, MI 48854, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Disappointed

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A Christmas gift plus we lost power. I opened the boxed and found the base of the unit cracked and one leg broke..very disappointed. I had high hopes for it.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1,200-Watt 2 Stroke Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Pocatello, ID, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

nosier than I expected

PostedJune 7, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I will probably have exhaust modified to try to reduce the noise level. I actually thought it would be quieter. Will not run some of my equipment (cotton candy machine) but did run a shaved ice machine and karokee machine
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: noisey
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1,200-Watt 2 Stroke Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Grand Rapids, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

An inexpensive alternative; So far, so good.

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You can buy a Honda inverter generator for $800.00 and you'll get your money's worth. You can buy this for $150.00 and also get your money's worth.
Some reviews suggest the user did not know they needed 2-stroke oil in their fuel. Other reviews suggest a lack of understanding of how much load you can put on a generator capable of only 1000W of continuous power. (The 1200W rating is only for surge associated with motor starting).
I didn't have much time, but I hooked up two 100W incandescent lights to it as a test. AC voltage was a healthy 115V. DC voltage was 15V. Engine speed dropped a teeny bit when lights were switched on; hard to even notice.
I haven't tried to run my refrigerator with it yet. I'll report back if/when I put it to strenuous use.
I ran a partial tank until dry. Then I re-filled and ran again. It starts fine. It runs fine.
A Honda inverter generator is better for heavy duty, long term, professional use, but they're far more expensive. For occasional use (like camping, running the Wi-Fi, TV, and computers during a power outage etc.) this is fine and costs a LOT less.
If you're going to run a significant amount of stuff during an extended power outage like a refrigerator, microwave, and furnace blower fan, get serious with a 5500W 4-stroke generator, a UL listed generator inlet, and a manual-transfer Square D load center.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: requires 2-stroke fuel
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1,200-Watt 2 Stroke Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

very nice thank you

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very quiet, starts fast, very light, I don't like having to mix the gas but everything else is very nice.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1,200-Watt 2 Stroke Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Macomb, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value!

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did a great deal of research on this product prior to my purchase. I read many reviews of this generator, from many different retailer's websites. Mixed reviews from all the websites that I visited! Some of the poor reviews worried me a bit, but I decided that I would give it a try anyway. I learned a lot about do's and don'ts from many of the reviews. One thing that many of the good reviews stressed was the importance of good oil (multi-blend, low smoke) and good gas (90 octane minimum! - I am using 93 octane). After filling the tank with the recommended gas/oil mixture (40:1) and following the Owner's Manual starting instructions, the engine started with just 2 pulls! I took some care to go through a break in cycle of the engine. Each time the engine started after one or two pulls! No load voltage measured: 124.9VAC, 16VDC. Some of the reviewers also suggested that the spark plug be replaced, but after examining the plug after the break in cycle, I decided that could wait (no fouling whatsoever!). When I connected my pitching machine to the generator I noticed that the engine smoothed out a bit and was a little quieter (as reported by other reviews). A couple of notes: This generator isn't quiet, especially on the exhaust side of the engine. About as loud as a lawn mower. Fortunately, my application allows me to locate the generator 100' away from me. Also the "Owner's Manual" is pretty crude. Better have a bit of mechanical knowledge to work your way through it. So far, I am pleased with my purchase!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1,200-Watt 2 Stroke Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

No different than the 800 watt model

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had used the 800 watt model for work as a backup to run a drill when no electricity was available. I t would barely power the drill through holes in wood with a half inch auger bit. Wouldn't even turn the one or two inch bits. So I got a cordless drill and mainly used it to recharge my cordless drill's batteries which it did just fine. I started with another company and was given the 1200 watt model and it performs exactly the same, only useful for recharging my cordless drill's batteries. Starting may take as many as ten pulls when cold and it never seems to get past the semi-sputter that two strokes do until they warm up. Again, the 1200 watt model performs exactly like the 800 watt model. It's a shame because the size is ideal for what I need it for if only it did what it should be able to do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1,200-Watt 2 Stroke Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

Didn't work.

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Generator didn't work. Returned for a full refund.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1,200-Watt 2 Stroke Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Ridgewood, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent value

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this product as my generator to run my refrigerator.
What I get is a gallon of gas for 8 hour plus. I have big generator that consumed 5 gallons for 8 hours of power. So having this small generator is perfect for summer outage where I need the fridge to keep on running. I've used it 3x times since I've had it and no issue cranking it up. I'm also finding that have more tools that can power with this generator. I own electric leaf shredder/mulching, lawn edger & shrub trimmer to power up. I'm also looking forward to run my pitching machine with this generator. The noise that everyone had mentioned is true and loud. Noise seemed to lower when something is plugged. Noise is not problem for me. It sounded just as loud as my lawn mower. It's question of quality and having it reliable to power up when needed. This part is something I'll know later on.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1,200-Watt 2 Stroke Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

A nice product at a good price.

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just wish it was more fuel efficient; burns too much gas and oil.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: uses a lot of gas
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1,200-Watt 2 Stroke Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value for the price

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought this for our daughter & son-in-laws anniversary. They may never need it but will have one that will empty the sump pump without bailing. May work refrigerator in between pumping out the sump. Not too noisy.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1,200-Watt 2 Stroke Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Little Generator

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Can't beat this generator for the price. Started up on the second pull and runs great. I will use it for my sump pump and freezer when the power goes out again. The last time we had no power for three days. I'm ready!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1,200-Watt 2 Stroke Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

didn't work

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The thing shuts off after 5 mins.
Sorta ruined the camping trip.
I am attempting to return it today. I'll finish this after I return it to my local store.
Cons: Burns Out
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 >>