728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Interior Shutters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)

Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)

Our interior vinyl shutters offer an affordable and stylish alternative to real wood or other window treatment options, a less expensive way to get that tropical shutter look. Our vinyl interior shutters come in a variety of colors, including natural, that rival their real wood counterparts. Even if you are not on a budget, vinyl shutters offer an easy to care for alternative. They are durable, and for those with young children, they offer an option that is easily cleaned. They also handle tough environments well, such as high humidity areas. Because they can withstand harsh environments, vinyl shutters work well in children's rooms, high-humidity rooms such as bathrooms, and in geographical areas with high humidity. They will not warp like wood does, and they are more resistant to mold and mildew. We offer two varieties of vinyl interior shutters. Our vinyl shutters combine beauty with durability, not to mention the easy maintenance. Our basic vinyl shutters are paintable and available in two colors to meet your needs. Basic vinyl shutters combine the traditional warmth and beauty of natural wood with the practical advantages of high-tech materials and design. From the traditional to the contemporary, you can express your style with our shutters. Now you can add a personal touch of elegance to any room at the prices designed for any budget.
Overall rating:
4.579 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(107 reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product102 of 104reviews
Rating Breakdown 107 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(72)
4
(29)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product102 of 104reviews
Customer reviews for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Review 1 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Anonymous
from Lake Mary, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Home-Basics Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After months of careful research on numerous online shutter website's, I discovered Home Depot's
Home-Basics Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter prices was unbeatable.
Not only was the quality of its shutters competitive, but it also brought to surface the beauty of my entire garage. This was my first purchase and with fifteen more windows to go, we're delight to know that our future savings are only one Home Depot click away. But don't take my word for it, view the photo and judge for yourself.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, Vibrant Color, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
CZAR
from Elgin, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Shutters

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered online, picked up in local store. Product was as described. Fit my window perfect. No shimming or cutting required. I like the composite wood because this is used in a bathroom & moisture could be an issue.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Beachgirl
from Ocean City, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great!

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The delivery was really fast! The shutters are just a described
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Runnersway
from Keller, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice shutter

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pleasantly surprised at how nice this shutter looks compared to my real wood shutters. I needed to treat a small round window and found this to mount on outside. Shutter is good quality and easily installed by a handy hubby. Came well packaged with good instructions. Amazingly, you can't tell that it's faux wood. I ordered online and it arrived faster than anything I've ever ordered!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
pasty
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Perfect-Saved money-Custom Shutters are expensive. Easy to install.

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect-Saved money,custom shutters are expensive. Easy to install. Plan on purchasing for every window.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Mitzi
from Albuquerque, New Mexico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent substitute for custom blinds

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Purchased several for our home and except for a few arriving damaged we are happy with the product. I might say the damaged ones were returned to our local Home Depot with ho hassles. The are holding up well in the hot southwest heat and sun. No yellowing at all. We were able to install ourselves and even connected thee on one window with a little extra work from my handy husband.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Comfortable, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
LW4290

Looks great and is very functional

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
I wanted to get rid of the mini blinds in my bathroom, so I installed one 27x48" shutter using the interior mount. The only difficult part was trimming it to fit the window, as the window length is actually 46.5" and of course the window casing is not perfectly square. Took a few trips up and down the stairs measuring and trimming, and measuring and trimming, but the result is worth it. I love having it open during the day to let in tons of light, and it closes up tight at night for privacy, plus it just looks nice & updated. Well worth the price.
Pros: Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Mitzi
from Albuquerque, New Mexico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice features and pretty srong

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
We purchased these for our kitchen window and were very easy to install. Great instructions! I highly recommend for an alternative to custom blinds.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Vibrant Color, Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
KT16
from Weston, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great look for a good value!

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
The shutters were easy to install and look great. It was a little short from the top so I just put a white one inch piece of wood and it fit perfect. The quality could be better, but it's good for the value. Great if you want something other than blinds and curtains. Gives the room a little old fashion elegance.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Red1
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

look good

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Easily installed. great look and function well. Plan to purchase more as we continue our remodel.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Mitzi
from Albuquerque, NM
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value for the price

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Easy to hang. Out of four we purchsed though, two were damaged in either manufacturing or shipping but, Home Depot was very good about allowing us to take to our local store for a full refund instead of shipping back in which we would have had to pay. I would inspect these shutters very carefully before you decide to trim to fit your window. We have only had them for a week but really like the look and you can't beat the price compared to custom shutters. We plan to add them to the rest of the windows in our home.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Comfortable, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Michelle
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install and looks great!

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Looks like a more expensive plantation shutter than it is. Installed with ease. The louvers open and close with ease. The online tool on how to measure correctly eliminated my fear of ordering the wrong size. Just what we needed to finish our bathroom remodel job!
Pros: Rich Looking, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Functional, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
TBPCA
from Phenix City, AL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best in price range

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Was same price as similar product at Lowe's but much better appearance. Only flaw is that the shutters do not hang straight with left and right panels in perfect alignment...there is also a gap that lets light through in the middle and the closure is a cheap looking brass hook. The expensive shutters at double/triple the cost don't have this issue. Simple solution is to attach a piece of flat 1" wide pvc molding (with short screws from window side) to the inside front edge of one panel so that it overlaps the other, then attach cabinet magnet closures at top and bottom of same panel with molding. The magnets and molding hold the two panels in uniformly and they look almost exactly like the more expensive shutters.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional, all cons are correctible
Cons: Poor looking, Unaligned
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Suzinnv
from HENDERSON NV
Gender:Female

Saved 300.00 on the first window alone!

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
These look fantastic once you get them hung. I did my first window which measures 59Wx47L. I paid a little over two hundred for a window that would have cost me 500.00 if I had them custom made and installed. I installed them myself and I am a female. It took me longer to install than stated, but I had to make some modifications. I ordered two sets of 31Wx48L and they were a little tight. I could have ordered the next size in up, but I made these work with an outside mount. I want to address installation cause the instructions don't tell you much. Being that my shutters were only an inch longer than the window, I made it work by using corner brackets in the two inside mounting strips and attaching them to the inside of the window frame. This is where I had to modify due to the size. It was time consuming, but it worked. I started with the inside mounting strips and worked my way out. I hung the two inside shutters, then taped the two outside mounting strips to the wall with blue quick release tape. It allowed me to move the strip around to get the right position before screwing them into the wall. The tape was even strong enough to support the shutter so I could try them on before screwing in the mounting strips. This worked wonderfully. The shutters are tight and flush, they do not bow, if you if you screw the strips in correctly. I am giving all this info, because none of the reviews address how the installation went. The web site said these shutters have magnetic closures, they do not. I also did not put the latch on the shutters as I personally think they look better without them. One other thing is the gold hardware on the shutters, I agree, should be white. Also, the screws are gold and you are supposed to cover them with these whit plastic hole fillers, but they don't fit since the screws are flush with the shutter. It looks ok even with the screws showing. This is an overall excellent product, for the price. Hope my detailed installation helps with questions before the purchase. I will post pictures on my shutters. If you are on the fence, get off and buy these!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+32points
35out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
FixitPolly
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good option compared to paying for custom shutters

PostedApril 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Installed these on the interior of my bathroom for privacy, yet still wanted ventillation and light for a window beside the toilet. Overall, I'm happy that these shutters are functional and didn't break the bank. Our window was inbetween the two available lengths, so we had to cut 2" off the bottom and 1 1/4" off the top. (Both more than the recommended maximum cuttable length.) The PVC top and bottom rails are solid, and there were no metal pins to worry about cutting through. Also had to use the PVC (not styrofoam) spacers on the sides to make the shutters wider. Spacers were a little difficult to keep straight, but if you're not looking for a high end product for a high traffic area, they work. We do/fix/install everything we can around the house, and these took about 2 hours to install.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
MStew
from Waltham, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful and easy to install

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
These look beautiful and were easy to install. We chose not to use the knobs--I think they take away from the overall clean look. However, we have had to install white pegs on our window sills to keep them from swinging open (old casings aren't quite plum.
Pros: Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Kfal
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love my new plantation shutters! They were so easy to install!

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
I couldn't be happier with my new plantation shutters. I hung them myself! It took me less than an hour to do 2 windows. They are very well-made with a rich looking finish. My old house has wonderful windows but they needed a lift. The shutters completed the homey cottage look I was trying to create. They actually brighten the room whether they are opened or closed. No more curtains for me! I cannot wait to install them in the upstairs windows. They add wonderful privacy too! Thanks Home Depot- Great Price + Free Shipping = Happy Kfal.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Vibrant Color, Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Lots of Features, Comfortable, Nice Design
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Rich
from Newtown, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect look for featured windows!

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Purchased Cafe shutters and they look and work great. Installation was fairly easy and people think they are fully custom shutters. They open and close easily and we are really happy with everything about them.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Penny
from Greenville, SC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Beautiful, easy to install, well made, inexpensive

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Beautiful bright white well made shutters. Wanted to leave window above tub open for view of sky, the tree tops, and allow the sun to shine in and brighten room. Did lower portion of window only and attached two sets of shutters together across by putting hinges on back side of second shutter allowing them to open. Looks professionally done at a third the cost.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design, price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
GreatShutters
from Brookline, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful shutters!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Shutters look beautiful. I really like the larger sized slats. Clean, crisp, easy to clean. Installation was easy enough even though had to cut width slightly to accommodate older window irregularities. Only hesitation is that the knobs and hook are kind of cheap looking, so haven't installed. Overall a great shutter at a great price! Look no further!!
Pros: Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>