728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)

Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)

Our interior vinyl shutters offer an affordable and stylish alternative to real wood or other window treatment options, a less expensive way to get that tropical shutter look. Our vinyl interior shutters come in a variety of colors, including natural, that rival their real wood counterparts. Even if you are not on a budget, vinyl shutters offer an easy to care for alternative. They are durable, and for those with young children, they offer an option that is easily cleaned. They also handle tough environments well, such as high humidity areas. Because they can withstand harsh environments, vinyl shutters work well in children's rooms, high humidity rooms such as bathrooms, and in geographical areas with high humidity. They will not warp like wood does, and they are more resistant to mold and mildew. We offer two varieties of vinyl interior shutters. Our vinyl shutters combine beauty with durability, not to mention the easy maintenance. Our basic vinyl shutters are paintable and available in two colors to meet your needs. Basic vinyl shutters combine the traditional warmth and beauty of natural wood with the practical advantages of high tech materials and design. From the traditional to the contemporary, you can express your style with our shutters. Now you can add a personal touch of elegance to any room at the prices designed for any budget.
Overall rating:
4.51 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(143 reviews) 143
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product135 of 139reviews
Rating Breakdown 143 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(90)
4
(43)
3
(5)
2
(3)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product135 of 139reviews
Customer reviews for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Review 1 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)

works just fine!

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These are great for my bathroom. My husband installed them easily using the enclosed extra pieces for our 30" window. I love them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
from GA

Looks like wood

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product for the price
I wish the instructions would be a lil more detailed though and gave some advice etc.
other than that we are happy with them
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Love them!

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love , love, love them. they are top quality and they look amazing.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
from Sugar Land, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Purchase

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have three large windows in my master bathroom. When I bought the house, they were covered with dusty shades that looked awful. When updating the bath, I took a chance on these shutters based on other positive reviews. So glad I did. They really took the bathroom update to a whole new level. Now I am going to install these as part of my master bedroom update project. One tip: The hardware is very tacky and cheapens the look of the blinds. My handyman suggested painting them white to blend in with the blinds, and they look much better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
from New Orleans, LA

Nice look for decent value

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
These shutters look great and work well. Easy to install, especially with the numerous spacers provided with the product.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
from Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Shutters look good and were easy to install.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I found the right size and style on the web site, purchasing and shipping were easy and timely. All hardware was included for speedy installation. Best of all my wife loves them.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

VERY happy with these shutters

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was VERY happy with these shutters. I order just one in the beginning to see if it would look good in my great room. Once I had the first one up, I ordered the additional three I needed to complete the look. I did it as a cafe shutter, with antique stained glass windows on the top, this is the EXACT look I was hoping for. They were easy to install and I have had lots of compliments.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)

Looks great and is very functional

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
I wanted to get rid of the mini blinds in my bathroom, so I installed one 27x48" shutter using the interior mount. The only difficult part was trimming it to fit the window, as the window length is actually 46.5" and of course the window casing is not perfectly square. Took a few trips up and down the stairs measuring and trimming, and measuring and trimming, but the result is worth it. I love having it open during the day to let in tons of light, and it closes up tight at night for privacy, plus it just looks nice & updated. Well worth the price.
Pros: Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
from New Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great in my living room!

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
I was pleasantly surprised when I opened the boxes and everything was in great condition and all the parts were there. The measurements were precise and the shutters fit into the window frame exactly as I expected. The only disappointment are the pieces of plastic strips that are included with the kit. In the instructions they appear to interlock which would make assembly easier. in reality they are just long flat pre-drilled pieces of white plastic that slip and easily slide out of place during assembly. It really wasn't a major issue so I will still consider the price for this DIY shutter kit and the value. They look great and after caulking up all the seams the shutters look custom!
Pros: Excellent Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Well Made
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

"Affordable" plantation shutters

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
These seem to be the most affordable plantation shutters on the market. The quality is good, although the picture is deceiving. You do not receive a frame for these shutters, just the shutters. So there isn't a picture of what you actually receive. Still happy with purchase though. Have wanted these for a while and now I can customize my own frame.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Functional
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
from Albuquerque, New Mexico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent substitute for custom blinds

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Purchased several for our home and except for a few arriving damaged we are happy with the product. I might say the damaged ones were returned to our local Home Depot with ho hassles. The are holding up well in the hot southwest heat and sun. No yellowing at all. We were able to install ourselves and even connected thee on one window with a little extra work from my handy husband.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Comfortable, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
from Albuquerque, NM
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value for the price

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Easy to hang. Out of four we purchsed though, two were damaged in either manufacturing or shipping but, Home Depot was very good about allowing us to take to our local store for a full refund instead of shipping back in which we would have had to pay. I would inspect these shutters very carefully before you decide to trim to fit your window. We have only had them for a week but really like the look and you can't beat the price compared to custom shutters. We plan to add them to the rest of the windows in our home.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Comfortable, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
from Lake Mary, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Home-Basics Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
After months of careful research on numerous online shutter website's, I discovered Home Depot's
Home-Basics Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter prices was unbeatable.
Not only was the quality of its shutters competitive, but it also brought to surface the beauty of my entire garage. This was my first purchase and with fifteen more windows to go, we're delight to know that our future savings are only one Home Depot click away. But don't take my word for it, view the photo and judge for yourself.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, Vibrant Color, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good option compared to paying for custom shutters

PostedApril 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Installed these on the interior of my bathroom for privacy, yet still wanted ventillation and light for a window beside the toilet. Overall, I'm happy that these shutters are functional and didn't break the bank. Our window was inbetween the two available lengths, so we had to cut 2" off the bottom and 1 1/4" off the top. (Both more than the recommended maximum cuttable length.) The PVC top and bottom rails are solid, and there were no metal pins to worry about cutting through. Also had to use the PVC (not styrofoam) spacers on the sides to make the shutters wider. Spacers were a little difficult to keep straight, but if you're not looking for a high end product for a high traffic area, they work. We do/fix/install everything we can around the house, and these took about 2 hours to install.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
from HENDERSON NV
Gender:Female

Saved 300.00 on the first window alone!

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
These look fantastic once you get them hung. I did my first window which measures 59Wx47L. I paid a little over two hundred for a window that would have cost me 500.00 if I had them custom made and installed. I installed them myself and I am a female. It took me longer to install than stated, but I had to make some modifications. I ordered two sets of 31Wx48L and they were a little tight. I could have ordered the next size in up, but I made these work with an outside mount. I want to address installation cause the instructions don't tell you much. Being that my shutters were only an inch longer than the window, I made it work by using corner brackets in the two inside mounting strips and attaching them to the inside of the window frame. This is where I had to modify due to the size. It was time consuming, but it worked. I started with the inside mounting strips and worked my way out. I hung the two inside shutters, then taped the two outside mounting strips to the wall with blue quick release tape. It allowed me to move the strip around to get the right position before screwing them into the wall. The tape was even strong enough to support the shutter so I could try them on before screwing in the mounting strips. This worked wonderfully. The shutters are tight and flush, they do not bow, if you if you screw the strips in correctly. I am giving all this info, because none of the reviews address how the installation went. The web site said these shutters have magnetic closures, they do not. I also did not put the latch on the shutters as I personally think they look better without them. One other thing is the gold hardware on the shutters, I agree, should be white. Also, the screws are gold and you are supposed to cover them with these whit plastic hole fillers, but they don't fit since the screws are flush with the shutter. It looks ok even with the screws showing. This is an overall excellent product, for the price. Hope my detailed installation helps with questions before the purchase. I will post pictures on my shutters. If you are on the fence, get off and buy these!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+38points
42out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
from Albuquerque, New Mexico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice features and pretty srong

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
We purchased these for our kitchen window and were very easy to install. Great instructions! I highly recommend for an alternative to custom blinds.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Vibrant Color, Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

look good

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Easily installed. great look and function well. Plan to purchase more as we continue our remodel.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
from Castle dale, Utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this product

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ . Easy to to cut to fit in our window. Easy to install. At first we weren't sure about the look of the knobs. But after completion, it looked perfect. These beautiful shutters enhanced the beauty of our bedroom and was the final touch we needed.
Pros: Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Well Made, Comfortable, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
from Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful Plantation Shutters

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
For our total home-remodel, we purchased custom plantation shutters for the bay window in our living room. At first, I was going to just do blinds for the bedrooms. I decided to investigate the cost of plantation shutters for the bedrooms. The custom price was rather steep for bedrooms that we don't really use, so I went to the Home Depot website. There I found faux wood white 2 1/4" plantation shutters. The price looked good, so I took a leap of faith and ordered them. They arrived early and in perfect condition. There was a minor problem, though. After opening the first box, I found I did not measure correctly...totally "my bad!" Well, we packed the shutters up in the car and went to our local Home Depot. I was so afraid they were going to give me a hard time because I had opened one box and the shutters had been shipped to my home. I was dreading them telling me that I would have to ship the shutters back myself. I was wrong! The associate at the desk quickly accepted the return and credited my HD account. After that great experience, I went home and immediately reordered the correct size. The second set of shutters arrived again early and in perfect condition. My husband and I got to work and installed the shutters on six windows. The process was a little tricky because our windows required four shutters each...so we had to hinge two shutters on the left and two on the right. The shutters look great! My husband is a great sport and can solve any problem. After the first window, he had the process down to an art. I figure we saved about $600-$700 doing it ourselves rather than going the customer route..not bad for a day's work. The shutters are beautiful and really add to the appearance of the bedroom! I would do it all over again. Also, thanks to HD for not giving me a hard time about the return!
Pros: Functional, Rich Looking, Well Made, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
from MKkinney TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good product

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Plantation Faux Wood White Interior Shutter (Price Varies by Size)
Product is very good quality and easy to install.
I gave 4 stars not 5 because
1. No information was included in installation instruction about what kind of cutting disc of circular saw to use to trim the panels.
2 I don't like gold finish on metal hardware
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: no nfo what saw disc to use. golden finish on meta
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>