728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Rollers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for PaintStick 5-Piece Paint Applicator Kit

PaintStick 5-Piece Paint Applicator Kit

Paint your interior walls in 1/3 the time without the mess that comes with traditional trays and rollers. The original paintstick draws paint directly from the can into its handle and feeds it onto the roller cover with a simple push of the handle. No need for an open tray eliminates dripping from the can or roller. The paintstick’s high quality shed resistant roller cover creates even one-coat coverage. The extended handle provides added reach eliminating bending over and reducing the need for a ladder.
Overall rating:
3.9 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product6 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(0)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product6 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for PaintStick 5-Piece Paint Applicator Kit
Review 1 for PaintStick 5-Piece Paint Applicator Kit
from mississippi

A shadow of its former self.

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used these things for decades and the newest ones have been cheapened too much. The curved metal arm that dispenses paint is now very cheaply manufactured and simply does not do the job anymore. The last one I had dispensed most of the paint towards one end of the roller due to poor manufacturing. It is too bad because it was a great invention originally.. And they now do not include a cleaning tool that was in the original too, fit on a hose and power flushed the paint out . This is what happens when bean counters get control of a great idea. I cannot recommend it in its current form.
Pros: Easy to Apply
Cons: uneven application
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PaintStick 5-Piece Paint Applicator Kit

A must-have painters tool!

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This paint stick is incredible. I was able to paint four large ceilings is less than four hours. Why is that such a fete, you say? Because I am an old, weak, lazy little old woman. On a good day with a roller it would have taken me four days.
I strongly suggest you buy this if you have any painting to do. I still have the walls of those four rooms to paint but they will be a breeze. And because I AM an old woman I chose to buy five paint sticks to avoid having to clean them!
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PaintStick 5-Piece Paint Applicator Kit

Great time saver for larger projects

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just painted the exterior of a 24 by 40 shop. It took about 2 - 3 hours per coat (I did 2 coats). The Paintstick works as advertised. I was able to cover about 6 by 10 foot area before reloading. Reloading was fast and easy, no problems with leaking. Since little or no masking is needed, I think it was faster than spraying, and far less expensive. As for cleanup, after working all day with it on a warm day, it was much too much work to clean. For $20, just consider it a disposable item.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PaintStick 5-Piece Paint Applicator Kit
from phoenix, md
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product design changes for the worse

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used the paintsticks for many years. The old one was basically secured by pushing the roller over the end and it would go over a gasket and seal. These new ones have an end piece that has a plastic locking mechanism that is supposed to keep the roller on.
I bought two, used one myself, and a friend used the other one. In both cases, the locking mechanism failed while painting and paint oozed out. Once this happened, I was not able to really get the end cap to stay on because the end cap is plastic and the locking mechanism would not secure the end cap. I had to be very careful and watch if it opened again.
I reverted to the old tried and true hand roller, which is less efficient, but works. I also had used another product without this poorly designed end cap.
-mike
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PaintStick 5-Piece Paint Applicator Kit
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Third one in 23 years..

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We repaint all rooms every 4-6 years and paint sticks have made it a quick way to do that. Very easy to use once you get used to it. Will never use a conventional roller ever again.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PaintStick 5-Piece Paint Applicator Kit
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to load, rolls on smooth, quick coverage and easy to clean.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PaintStick 5-Piece Paint Applicator Kit

Don't want to paint without it

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We LOVE this item. I rate this 4 stars leaving off a star because of tedious clean-up. We used our first paint stick 18 yrs ago and haven't been without one since. We've worn out only 2 after many, many hours and literally dozens of jobs and even exterior painting. We did have to do thorough, time intensive clean up since we pinched pennies not to have to buy replacement rollers, and to recover every ounce possible of paint left inside.
It holds lots of paint, really extends your reach when full, helps to do a neat job quickly and is easy to control the amount of paint you want to apply. We usually cut in with a brush, finding other methods unsatisfactory, but use the paint stick for everything else. For vaulted ceilings we have stood on ladders without losing balance to maneuver the stick easily. We don't use the spatter shield as it gets in the way as we quickly change angles while working around a room. Spattering was still negligible unless you were playing NASCAR and seeing how fast the stick could go. Also NASCAR-rolling with a thick amount of paint might make the roller slide along a surface, but you just have to go over it to spread out the extra paint you purposely pushed out. The roller covers were (are?) available in thin or thick nap, so you can do textured wall surfaces, including brick or concrete.
I saw one person's idea to use a new stick for a new project instead of cleaning it. It's inexpensive to us nowadays to do that, but the re-cycler in me balks. On the other hand, how much landfill space does re-using it save compared to wasted gallons of water to clean up? Your call on that.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PaintStick 5-Piece Paint Applicator Kit
from Newark, DE

Make the job a lot easier!

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just painted the ceiling so far, and it would have been so much harder with out this paint stick! It holds a lot of paint in the stick and roller and when it's full the extra length give you more reach. This is great cause I didn't have to be on a ladder to do the ceiling and it keep the job really neat. It takes a while to clean it up but is worth it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PaintStick 5-Piece Paint Applicator Kit

not for easy painting

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is not suitable for ceiling as the handle is too short and you do need to apply significant amount of pressure to push the paint through the tube to the rolling part and even then the colour does not spread evenly through the roll leaving significant part of the roll unused. It is not worth the money and effort. I ended up painting the whole apartment with regular brush. I would not recommend this tool at all until you are not ready to apply lot of force.
Regular paint roll with extended handle is the better solution and also much more cheaper than this product.
Nevertheless the idea behind it is good but it does not make the job easier and certainly not for high ceiling part.
Cons: not suitable for ceilings, not suitable for easy use as, not even application, difficult to take apart for cleaning
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PaintStick 5-Piece Paint Applicator Kit

It works but don't expect miracles

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was able to paint pretty quickly with this once I knew what I was doing but it took at least 15-30 minutes of practice to really get going. It looked easy at first so I didn't read the instructions thoroughly; that was a mistake.
The roller doesn't load up very evenly and the snap-on spatter shield is flimsy and basically worthless, but with practice I was able to work around these drawbacks well enough. Cleanup is a chore so I'm glad I got two and wish I had more rollers.
Even so, I definitely got my money's worth just by not having to go back to the paint tray every 30 seconds (and this goes double for ceilings).
Pros: Easy to Apply
Cons: Difficult to Clean, some low quality parts
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.