728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wall Paint & Trim or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-gal. Ultra Pure White Flat Enamel Zero VOC Interior Paint-DISCONTINUED

1-gal. Ultra Pure White Flat Enamel Zero VOC Interior Paint-DISCONTINUED

BEHR Premium Plus Zero VOC, Self-Priming Interior Flat Enamel is 100% acrylic and provides a mildew resistant finish. This easy-clean flat provides excellent touch-up, ultimate durability and exceptional hide. The finish displays a non-reflective, matte appearance.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(186 reviews) 186
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product171 of 184reviews
Rating Breakdown 186 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(154)
4
(20)
3
(1)
2
(4)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product171 of 184reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 1-gal. Ultra Pure White Flat Enamel Zero VOC Interior Paint-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 1-gal. Ultra Pure White Flat Enamel Zero VOC Interior Paint-DISCONTINUED
from Stevensville, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The Color Really Pops!

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Behr Premium Plus Ultra Paint (Interior Matte) ; Deep Base; Stain-Blocking; Paint & Primer in One. Painters said very easy to work with. Color is just beautiful and has made such a difference!
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-gal. Ultra Pure White Flat Enamel Zero VOC Interior Paint-DISCONTINUED

It's paint

PostedMay 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I like the flat enamel texture. I used basic white, and it is brilliant. As always, Behr goes on well and the flat enamel tends to look smoother overall (no roller lines as I call them).
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-gal. Ultra Pure White Flat Enamel Zero VOC Interior Paint-DISCONTINUED
from Indianapolis, IN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Hideous results, misleading label

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the worst product I have ever purchased. I asked at Home Depot for a quality interior paint with a flat finish. I specifically asked for a paint, not paint+primer. Home Depot recommended Behr 1850. I had it tinted an off-white shade (swiss coffee). The walls to be painted were patched and primed where needed, flat, dry, with most areas already having been painted a few years ago with Behr #1012 (swiss coffee).. I hired a professional painter with 20 years experience to paint the room. The room was clean, the air temperature is about 75, nothing unusual. Painter used a new roller which he had de-fuzzed. So the painter finished rolling out the room, and left. I went in an hour later to get something, and the walls look like a cheese pizza. A slight bubbling effect over much of the surface. Bad runs in some areas. I had spent a day patching, sanding, and priming the walls to get them ready to be painted. I can't even guess how long it will take to fix the mess this paint made.
Why did Behr change the label on 1850 ? It used to say "Self-Priming" right on the front of the can in big letters. Now it doesn't say that, but on the side of the can it says " Self-Priming" in smaller letters. I did not want self-priming paint. I asked for paint that wasn't self-priming. But because Behr changed the label, I got self-priming paint, and it made a mess.
At this point I cannot even imagine how to fix the mess this paint made. It is no comfort that I can get the $23 refunded, not if it takes me a day of sanding and patching to get my walls to be smooth again. You can see the Cheese Pizza effect in the foreground of the picture accompanying this review.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-gal. Ultra Pure White Flat Enamel Zero VOC Interior Paint-DISCONTINUED
from Lafayette, IN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This paint is by far the best and only paint I will use.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I always buy Behr paint for my painting projects. No splatters, great coverage, and the flat enamel is a perfect sheen. Great product.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly, no splatters
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-gal. Ultra Pure White Flat Enamel Zero VOC Interior Paint-DISCONTINUED
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very happy with Behr

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm currently in the middle of painting most of the rooms in our new rent house. I just got done painting our living room with this paint, tinted to Manhattan Mist. It looks absolutely fantastic. This is the first time I've ever painted, and I couldn't be more pleased with the results. I had no problems at all from the paint, although it did require two coats even on primed walls. But I expected that. I love the color, and the paint was super easy to work with.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-gal. Ultra Pure White Flat Enamel Zero VOC Interior Paint-DISCONTINUED
from West Chester, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very disappointed with splattering. I will never buy this again at any price

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Paint does not seem to apply as smoothly as the regular bent paint.
Pros: Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-gal. Ultra Pure White Flat Enamel Zero VOC Interior Paint-DISCONTINUED

Paint had a great consistency and went on smoothly

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am always happy with Behr paints. The quality is great and the price is right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-gal. Ultra Pure White Flat Enamel Zero VOC Interior Paint-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Have purchased several gallons of this paint.

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Really like the zero VOC. Developed headaches and a noticeable side affects with other latex paints in the past.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-gal. Ultra Pure White Flat Enamel Zero VOC Interior Paint-DISCONTINUED
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Consumer Reports and I say the same thing

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have painted my whole house with Behr. It is the most forgiving paint, It lays so nice and you can come back and touch up months even years later and it will not show. By far one of the best paints out there.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-gal. Ultra Pure White Flat Enamel Zero VOC Interior Paint-DISCONTINUED
from Littleton, ma
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This paint covers very well!!

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Went on very nice, covered well, looked awesome. The only problem I had was the flat paint had a slight shine to it, so I had to repaint the ceiling I used it on, but the walls looked beautiful!!
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: the flat paint had a sheen to it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-gal. Ultra Pure White Flat Enamel Zero VOC Interior Paint-DISCONTINUED

good

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I like better one with primer inside dry quickly easy to apply but too thin
Pros: Modern, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-gal. Ultra Pure White Flat Enamel Zero VOC Interior Paint-DISCONTINUED
from nj
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great paint

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I painted much of the house with this six years ago. I put it directly over a slightly darker but similar color that was at least 15 years old, and it took three coats to properly cover. That's actually expected without priming first. This paint goes on very easy, it is somewhat thick. I don't understand how other users are complaining of drips and runs, except to say, paint is also a verb, everything depends on the skill of the painter.
Now six years later, it still looks great. For an almost-flat, it cleans and wears very well. You can scrub it like a semi-gloss. And the best part is, I recently decided to extend the color to the upstairs, and the color match and consistency is perfect. Those walls are over 20 years old, and suck in the paint like a sponge, so laying down one or two coats of inexpensive primer is a must.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-gal. Ultra Pure White Flat Enamel Zero VOC Interior Paint-DISCONTINUED
from EAST TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

GREAT PAINT FOR THE MONEY * QUALITY*

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I DO NOT UNDERSTAND PEOPLE GIVING THIS PAINT SUCH A LOW SCORE I AM A PROFESSIONAL PAINTER AND I LIKE THIS PAINT COVERS WELL HAS A NICE SMOOTH FINISH AND TOUCHES UP GREAT I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-gal. Ultra Pure White Flat Enamel Zero VOC Interior Paint-DISCONTINUED
from Westchester, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

delivered very quickly. The paint is of very high quality. Covers really well!

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THe order was accurate and the shipping was free and fast. We received the shipment the next day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 1-gal. Ultra Pure White Flat Enamel Zero VOC Interior Paint-DISCONTINUED
Based on the average of (172) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
161 out of 172 recommend this product