728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 55-Watt 12-Volt Amorphous Solar Back Up Kit

55-Watt 12-Volt Amorphous Solar Back Up Kit

Ideal for cabins, remote and back-up power needs, 12-Volt battery charging, RVs, boats and more, the Coleman 55-Watt Solar Back-Up Kit will help run both 12-Volt and 110-Volt appliances. The amorphous solar panels are easy to install on the included metal frame and work in all daylight conditions, even on cloudy days. Constructed with a built-in blocking diode to prevent battery discharge at night, this kit comes with a durable metal mounting stand that allows for easy set-up. This kit is completely weatherproof and the solar panels are made with shatterproof tempered glass for added durability.
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product7 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(4)
4
(2)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product7 of 8reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for 55-Watt 12-Volt Amorphous Solar Back Up Kit
Review 1 for 55-Watt 12-Volt Amorphous Solar Back Up Kit

Works really well

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The shipping was a little slow and it doesn't charge my trailer battery quite as quick as I hoped, but I would recommend this.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 55-Watt 12-Volt Amorphous Solar Back Up Kit
from Owensboro, KY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is an Excellent Way to Start Using Solar Energy!

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The Coleman product is sturdy, easy to put up and take down, and great for camping trips. The wiring is also easy to navigate and it puts out a fair number of watts under optimum conditions. The buyer should be aware that overcast days will not put out the full 55, but I am impressed with the number of watts even on cloudy days! If one wants to get started on Solar Energy (and the whole country really ought to), this is the perfect kit with which to begin! I am very impressed!
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+36points
37out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 55-Watt 12-Volt Amorphous Solar Back Up Kit
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great item

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this is a perfect back up for a cabin and is easy to set up!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 55-Watt 12-Volt Amorphous Solar Back Up Kit
from Warsaw, MO 65355, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value.

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It came with all of the cables and connectors you could possibly need. You need a basic understanding of electronics to make the most of it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Easy Installation
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 55-Watt 12-Volt Amorphous Solar Back Up Kit
from Oregon
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The 55-WATT SOLAR BACK-UP KIT Is excellent

PostedMay 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The 55-WATT SOLAR BACK-UP KIT Does exactly what it says it will do.
I think this works better then a generator (no extra fuel needed) and the others around you do not complain about the noise of a generator running.
In short If you want power away from home this is ideal.
Pros: Easy to Use, Stylish, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
Cons: remember to buy marine deep cycle batteries
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 55-Watt 12-Volt Amorphous Solar Back Up Kit
from Indianapolis, IN

Could be better

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We purchased this unit instead of the 10W for our gate opener. The rack supplied to mount the panels is simply junky. The rack "distorts" very easily and then the panels will not fit into the slots. Ended up redoing the rack which took a considerable amount of time. They need to improve the rack assembly.
Cons: panel rack
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 55-Watt 12-Volt Amorphous Solar Back Up Kit

good for what its advertised as.

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Makes a great backup for an rv or a light in a cabin
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions
-9points
14out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 55-Watt 12-Volt Amorphous Solar Back Up Kit
from Arlington
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Coleman 55 Watt Solar Backup

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I bought this system as a backup in case our power is out for an extended period of time and we have no more fuel for our generator. So far I have not had to use it. I have a bank of Deep Cycle Batteries and 2500 watt inverter to power a freezer and one refrigerator.
Can't tell you much more than that. I hope it works when I need it.
-57points
11out of 79found this review helpful.