728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Whole House Furnace Mount Flow Through Humidifier

Whole House Furnace Mount Flow Through Humidifier

Create a healthier environment and Increase the comfort of your entire home by installing the 12HF whole house furnace-mounted flow through humidifier. Having the proper amount of humidity in your home can help reduce respiratory infections, control static electricity, prevent house plants from wilting, and stop wood from drying out and cracking. You may also save money on your utility bill, as you can lower your thermostat and feel just as comfortable since humidified air feels warmer.
Overall rating:
3.556 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product8 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(2)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product8 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for Whole House Furnace Mount Flow Through Humidifier
Review 1 for Whole House Furnace Mount Flow Through Humidifier
from Columbus Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally installed...not easy. I will update the performance

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this product because it was advertised and the reviews stated the installation was simple. It took me about 4 hours to install it. Admittedly, most of this was due to my lack of knowledge, but a LOT of it was due to the poor installation instructions that came with the product. In particular, there was no information available on how to wire the system. No color coded, or keyed electrical connection. I called the company; closed on Saturday. I scoured the interned....nothing. I decided to just give it my best guess - IT WORKED! I assume the polarity doesn't really matter.
There are many other gaps in the instructions that require some patience and careful reading. A few hints:
-Buy good tools to cut the duct work. This was the most time consuming and difficult part (except reading the instruction and researching).
-You have to take the humidistat apart to determine which connection is "COM" and which is "NO".
-MAKE SURE you buy extra 6" flex duct. The amount supplied is not sufficient.
-You will need some extra wire for almost any installation.
-You will need extra wire nuts (2)
-You will need duct tape
-You will need a 3/4 wrench and a 5/8 wrench (instructions didn't say what size)
-The wires that run between the controller and the valve don't seem to matter which wire goes where - or I just go lucky....not sure.
-The hole in the duct work for the humidistat must be completely opened up to fit the mount. Go slow and make sure you understand what you are doing before cutting - the instructions suck.
It is a warm and humid day, so I can't say if it works properly. It test mode, it seems to work. I will update the review in the coming months to rate the performance. I am worried the installation may affect the performance. Again, the instructions need to be more complete to help the average home owner.
Pros: Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install, poor instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Whole House Furnace Mount Flow Through Humidifier
from Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
While the instructions were not that clear, the unit was relatively easy to install. It worked fine the first time and has been doing its job now for a couple weeks. It is well constructed and does use less water than the free flowing humidifier I had on my last house. If not for the outdated or misprinted instructions I would have given it 5 stars. I consider myself fairly handy and it took me 4 hours to install.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Whole House Furnace Mount Flow Through Humidifier
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A quality product

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This humidifier works as expected and installed relatively easily with basic HVAC tools and knowledge. I didn't run across the leaking problem that others had mentioned. I did meticulously make sure the unit was installed level. The supplied 6" duct was long enough for my application. I connected the power source to my furnace circuit board rather than an AC outlet. I would have given 5 stars, but product has only been in service two weeks. I can't comment on long term use. I have noticed house feels more comfortable at lower set temps.
Pros: Easy to Use
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Whole House Furnace Mount Flow Through Humidifier
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Humidifier for the Price and Everything Needed for a Typical Installation is Included

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned a 12HF for several years and have had good luck with my unit and recommended it to a neighbor that had mentioned their house gets dry in the winter. I did my own installation, so I offered to help them once they received their humidifier and a little over 2 hours later they were set.
What I like about this unit compared to other brands is that it comes with everything needed for typical applications in one box and it has a plug-in transformer so no hardwiring is involved. Plus, it uses a lot less water than most other brands out there; the water valve on most flow through style units is completely open when there is a call for humidity, but this unit adds water in pulsed intervals.
Lastly, maintenance is very low. I just put in a new evaporator pad at the beginning of each season and wipe out the shallow drain pan area to remove any mineral build-up.
+60points
60out of 60found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Whole House Furnace Mount Flow Through Humidifier
from minnesota
Age Range:55 to 64

replacement for older unit

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy job as it replaced old unit of same brand, all items where same size.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Whole House Furnace Mount Flow Through Humidifier
from Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

So Far So Good

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed the product about three weeks ago. At current it is working as expected. Installation was an easy task. It only took me a few hours to install. I'm a bit of a perfectionist so it took a little longer than it could of. Plus I hard wired the unit to the furnace so that I didn't have to install an extra plug for the unit and the drain pump. If you have access to a floor drain you won't need a pump. My last humidifier lasted for ten years so the jury is out on the longevity of this unit.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Whole House Furnace Mount Flow Through Humidifier
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this humidifier to replace an older Lasko unit that had failed after 10 years. This unit had a slightly larger footprint and installed easily. I already had the power, water, and drain setup so install was a snap. It comes with everything necessary down to the saddle valve for supply and hose to connect to the drain. It makes an odd sound when the solenoid valve opens but other than that is completely quiet. It also includes a damper for tool free seasonal transitions. I purchased an additional wick to save searching for one later. The difference in the house is amazing. Cats are much happier.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design, you need a humidifier
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Whole House Furnace Mount Flow Through Humidifier
from Pittsburgh
Age Range:45 to 54

Not that great

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Makes a horrible loud noise as water flows through it. I honestly can't feel a difference in my home.
Cons: loud
-6points
2out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Whole House Furnace Mount Flow Through Humidifier
from Potomac, MD, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Device could not be fitted - flow tube limits installation options

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Device could not be fitted - flow tube limits installation options. Would recommend with caveats.
Pros: nice and simple concept
Cons: details of assembly not well documented.
-13points
2out of 17found this review helpful.