728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors

Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors

Clopay Pro Lube for Garage Doors offers a convenient way to keep your garage door operating like new. This easy to use no drip synthetic formula provides maximum lubrication for your door. The Clopay Pro Lube is an anti-friction, anti-rust lubricant that provides a long lasting thin lubrication film on any surface.
Overall rating:
4.824 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product33 of 33reviews
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(29)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product33 of 33reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
Review 1 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from Tucson, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great on garage doors and sliding door tracks.

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My garage doors were all making some pretty bad noises when going up or down and I had tried several other products. I saw this on the shelf at Home Depot and decided to give it a try. The noises are gone and the doors work like they did when they were new.
I have some sliding glass patio doors that were getting almost impossible to open and close so I gave the door tracks a couple squirts. I can now open and close both of these doors with one finger. The plus is it doesn't leave any oily residue to attract dirt.
I'm sure I will find more uses for this product and will always have a can on the shelf from now on.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Multi Use, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from Crest Hill IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Save $$ more doing.

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this along with the Clopay re-enforcement bracket. Thought I could use WD40, however in speaking with the store associate that would attract insects and dirt. When spraying use eye protection and the spray pointer. Got a little splash in my case. I'm sure I could've found this product for less at other stores, however I was also installing the Clopay re-enforcement bracket and needed this to complete my project. Lubed all moving parts on the garage door, definitely less noise overall. I will be lubing my door at least twice a year since I already purchased it. My garage has not been lubricated since we moved in, 9 years ago..way over due.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from Madison Heights, MI

tried new product

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I needed a garage door spray, different from wd40. Best Buy said this was a good product they recommended. My problem is with opening the can. I still do not know how we are supposed to open the spray and deliver it to the garage door parts. I apparently broke of the top black lock off the can but that didn't help much. I now use special tools to push the spray out of the can. Could you find a set of instructions on how to open the can first time? Before I get another can, I am hoping the process is much easier than what I went through.
Thanks,
Senior
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from New Haven, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!!!

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Moved into a new house with a squeaky garage door, I was not sure how to take care of it. I watched a great youtube video and got this spray. I sprayed all the moving parts except the chain and checked the door and I missed a few connectors. I re-sprayed and no more squeaks. Not only I am happy, so are the neighbors.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from Californe
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works well

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It quieted the squeal of my spring and actually made the door go quicker again, like when it was new.``
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Garage Door Lubricant

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I didn't realize how much of a difference a properly lubricated garage door would make. Once I applied this to the tracks and moving parts, the garage door became much more quiet while moving. I didn't hear anymore squeaks, creaks, or pops from the door. I could tell there was much less resistance. This will help with the longevity of the door/tracks.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors

Works well!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This quieted my garage doors that have been driving the family crazy. They now open and close with little sound at all and certainly better than before use. I did stray the rails, wheels, hinges....anywhere I thought there was movement. Will grab a few extras to have on hand. It leave a noticeable grease deposit where you spray, so no simple liquid spray.
Pros: Functional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from Chesterfield, MO 63017

Garage Door Lubricant

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The garage door company I deal with said to use any aerosol spray advertised for use on garage doors.
This was the only product that was promoted for garage doors. Had my son help me with the job (he actually did the lube himself). Took only about 15 minutes. Glad the rep found it for me in the garage door section as it is not with the other lubricants.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The Clear Winner!

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Since moving in my house(May 2013), I am very grateful to have a garage. However, the door is loud upon opening/closing. I tired 2 other products and this one actual has performed the best. The other worked very briefly and often left a drippy mess. This product was not drippy and is more effective than the others. This may cost a $1 or $2 more but again as I am finding out with buying a home-you sometimes truly get what you pay for. HINT: you probably will not find this with the other lubricants, so go to the aisle near the garage door openers.
Pros: High Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from Ohio, USA

Worked Wonders on my garage door!!

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My 10 year old garage door was making a lot of noise on the tracks and sometimes popping during extreme hot and cold temperatures. I thought I had to replace some rollers. With only one application to the tracks, rollers and hinges, the door quieted down to "like new" operation. I also applied it to the screw drive opener and found it to operate with much lower effort. This product is a winner!
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Great Value, High Quality
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from NJ

Squeaky noise gone!

PostedJune 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked great after first application. Our door had a loud squeaky noise and I applied this to roller ball bearings( where the axle meets the roller wheel ) and into the pulley wheel at a similar point. Was not necessary to apply to the track as the above reviewer said - I think tracks just need to be cleaned not lubed. In any case the loud squeaky noise was done away with
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Truly great

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I sprayed this on garage door track and rollers and the door is now so quiet we have to look to make sure it is really going up or down. Also used it on some door hinges on which silicone never really totally got rid of the squeak and on a balky trailer coupler. The door is now totally quiet and the coupler works smoothly. This product costs a bit more than ordinary oil, but it really works.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from San Marcos, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worked great on garage door

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I applied this to the hinges and the rod end of the wheels. Door went from noisy to very quiet. Home Depot is carrying this as their solution to garage door noise and it's a good one!
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Great Value
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from Oakdale, MN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXCELLENT PRODUCT

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
LUBES AND NO DUST OR DIRT BUILDUP. TRIED OTHER PRODUCTS, BUT THIS ONE WORKS THE BEST.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors

Use this instead of WD40

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I will never use WD40 again. The Clopay Pro Lube works better because it doesn't leak or drip everywhere like when you use WD40. It is easy to spray onto doors or garage doors and keeps them from squeaking. It is also less expensive so the value is there as well.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Multi Use, High Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from Issaquah
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does its job

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The lube worked well n now my garage doors r squeak free.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, High Quality
Cons: needa longer nozzle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from Minneapolis, MN

Noisy garage no more

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had a squeaky garage door to the point it hurt our ears to listen to. We applied this product to the all the hinges, roller ball bearing, and the coil spring and now have a quiet garage door. Hard to tell when someone comes home now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from California desert
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful suggestion

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was buying parts to repair my garage door when a sales associate recommended this product. He said use this before installing new rollers. My noise disappeared and I returned the rollers saving money and time.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Value, High Quality
Cons: Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from Anaheim
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it's suppose to do

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was recommended by my garage door installer. Keeps the overhead door springs lubricated to last longer. Prevents springs from breaking. They have to twist easily and this promotes that. Needs to be lubricated every thirty days. Cheap insurance from breaking. I never knew that springs needed to be lubricated but it makes perfect sense. I tell every one now.
Pros: Great Value, Multi Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors

Excellent

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great lubricant for garage door parts. It sprays on and solidifies in place providing long last lubricant on the wheels and hinges. This is very similar to the Fehr lubricant the garage door repair companies use that a homeowner can't buy direct.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>