728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors

Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors

Clopay Pro Lube for Garage Doors offers a convenient way to keep your garage door operating like new. This easy to use no drip synthetic formula provides maximum lubrication for your door. The Clopay Pro Lube is an anti-friction, anti-rust lubricant that provides a long lasting thin lubrication film on any surface.
Overall rating:
4.941 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product17 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product17 of 17reviews
Customer reviews for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
Review 1 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
SCHUTZ
from Oakdale, MN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXCELLENT PRODUCT

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
LUBES AND NO DUST OR DIRT BUILDUP. TRIED OTHER PRODUCTS, BUT THIS ONE WORKS THE BEST.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
Westgb
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The Clear Winner!

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Since moving in my house(May 2013), I am very grateful to have a garage. However, the door is loud upon opening/closing. I tired 2 other products and this one actual has performed the best. The other worked very briefly and often left a drippy mess. This product was not drippy and is more effective than the others. This may cost a $1 or $2 more but again as I am finding out with buying a home-you sometimes truly get what you pay for. HINT: you probably will not find this with the other lubricants, so go to the aisle near the garage door openers.
Pros: High Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
ccc1
from Bennett, Co
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works great

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
best garage door lube I have tried yet. made a door that would not rise in the cold move effortlessly.
Pros: Great Value, Multi Use, High Quality
Cons: Size
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
Coffeemuse
from Anaheim
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it's suppose to do

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was recommended by my garage door installer. Keeps the overhead door springs lubricated to last longer. Prevents springs from breaking. They have to twist easily and this promotes that. Needs to be lubricated every thirty days. Cheap insurance from breaking. I never knew that springs needed to be lubricated but it makes perfect sense. I tell every one now.
Pros: Great Value, Multi Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
Ashin
from NJ

Squeaky noise gone!

PostedJune 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked great after first application. Our door had a loud squeaky noise and I applied this to roller ball bearings( where the axle meets the roller wheel ) and into the pulley wheel at a similar point. Was not necessary to apply to the track as the above reviewer said - I think tracks just need to be cleaned not lubed. In any case the loud squeaky noise was done away with
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
Leolionz

Works Wounders

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the new house has a 16x7 uninsulated garage door that was really, really loud. this clopay lubricant worked so well. I heard no more sqeeks and I was amazed. defiantly a product that I would recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
Dick
from San Marcos, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worked great on garage door

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I applied this to the hinges and the rod end of the wheels. Door went from noisy to very quiet. Home Depot is carrying this as their solution to garage door noise and it's a good one!
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Great Value
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
Everett39
from Ohio, USA

Worked Wonders on my garage door!!

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My 10 year old garage door was making a lot of noise on the tracks and sometimes popping during extreme hot and cold temperatures. I thought I had to replace some rollers. With only one application to the tracks, rollers and hinges, the door quieted down to "like new" operation. I also applied it to the screw drive opener and found it to operate with much lower effort. This product is a winner!
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Great Value, High Quality
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
Richard
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Truly great

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I sprayed this on garage door track and rollers and the door is now so quiet we have to look to make sure it is really going up or down. Also used it on some door hinges on which silicone never really totally got rid of the squeak and on a balky trailer coupler. The door is now totally quiet and the coupler works smoothly. This product costs a bit more than ordinary oil, but it really works.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors

Use this instead of WD40

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I will never use WD40 again. The Clopay Pro Lube works better because it doesn't leak or drip everywhere like when you use WD40. It is easy to spray onto doors or garage doors and keeps them from squeaking. It is also less expensive so the value is there as well.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Multi Use, High Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
TheLucho
from Des Plaines, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what my garage needed

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just like using WD40 except its for your garage. I would recommend ensuring you don't have anything directly under the areas you plan on spraying so that, if you overspray, it doesn't leak down on them. Garage stopped squeaking and opened/closed a lot smoother.
Pros: just what your garage needs
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
George123
from Lagrange Road, KY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product does a great job lubricating my garage door

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is easy to apply. Lasts longer than other products that I have used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
JayPV
from Beaverton, OR, USA

Excellent

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this product to help with our garage door, which was getting stuck when opening and closing it. We used this product to lube the spring, rails and motor's chain and the door has not had any problems since. If you have problems with your door not closing or opening properly and you have tried other options, I would try this product before calling the maintenance crew. It's worth the try!
Pros: Great Value, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
SeaDude

Excellent

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great lubricant for garage door parts. It sprays on and solidifies in place providing long last lubricant on the wheels and hinges. This is very similar to the Fehr lubricant the garage door repair companies use that a homeowner can't buy direct.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
finhagen
from Boulder, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garage Door Lube Greatly Improved Door Operation

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our garage door had been stalling when we tried to open it, especially in very cold weather. I thought there might be a hinge in the door that wasn't folding properly. However, spraying the chain and hinges and wheels of the door with the CLOPAY lube the door works perfectly again even in the sub zero temperatures we have had here lately.
I sprayed CLOPAY on a entry door lock that was sticking and it fixed that issue also.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
HarryinClarksvilleTn
from Clarksville, TN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Reduces Friction

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
New house, old garage door, very noisy. This is a special lubricant just for this purpose as you can't use WD40 in this case. Seems to really help the noise factor and reduces friction.
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
KRC2
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Awesome

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was very pleased with this product. It worked just as the Home Depot employee said it would.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.