728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors

Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors

Clopay Pro Lube for Garage Doors offers a convenient way to keep your garage door operating like new. This easy to use no drip synthetic formula provides maximum lubrication for your door. The Clopay Pro Lube is an anti-friction, anti-rust lubricant that provides a long lasting thin lubrication film on any surface.
Overall rating:
4.78 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product46 of 48reviews
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
4.8 out of 5
5
(43)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product46 of 48reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
Review 1 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from Hartsdale, NY

Works great

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was all set to replace my big, heavy garage door because it groaned and sounded awful. I used this lubricant and was initially disappointed because it was still making some noise, but each day it got better. By the end of a week I couldn't believe how quiet it was. Apparently this thicker lubricant takes a while to work its way into crevices. It costs more than other lubricants that I used in the past but is well worth it. Don't lose the small straw that comes with it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from Crest Hill IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Save $$ more doing.

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this along with the Clopay re-enforcement bracket. Thought I could use WD40, however in speaking with the store associate that would attract insects and dirt. When spraying use eye protection and the spray pointer. Got a little splash in my case. I'm sure I could've found this product for less at other stores, however I was also installing the Clopay re-enforcement bracket and needed this to complete my project. Lubed all moving parts on the garage door, definitely less noise overall. I will be lubing my door at least twice a year since I already purchased it. My garage has not been lubricated since we moved in, 9 years ago..way over due.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from Tucson, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great on garage doors and sliding door tracks.

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My garage doors were all making some pretty bad noises when going up or down and I had tried several other products. I saw this on the shelf at Home Depot and decided to give it a try. The noises are gone and the doors work like they did when they were new.
I have some sliding glass patio doors that were getting almost impossible to open and close so I gave the door tracks a couple squirts. I can now open and close both of these doors with one finger. The plus is it doesn't leave any oily residue to attract dirt.
I'm sure I will find more uses for this product and will always have a can on the shelf from now on.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Multi Use, High Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors

Works on the first try

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought it because the garage door on my first home had REALLY a noisy hinges. Used this once and it was taken care of.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

impulse purchase, seems to work fine

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
no issues, lubed the hinges on the garage door and it is quieter now. More than I needed and now have 2/3 of a can sitting in the garage. I imagine the spray pressure will eventually die and it will end up in the trash.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from Corpus Christi, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First Time Purchase

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I really enjoyed using this product. It was easy to use and it worked immediately. Great product!
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from Surprise, AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product stained my garage door in the hinge area and I used a minimal amount of the product. I used a different silicon last year and it worked fine but Home Depot didn't have the item in stock or doesn't sell the product any longer.
Pros: Functional
Cons: Appearance, stains
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from Frisco, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great lube for garage doors

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My garage door hinges were really squeaking. I bought Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors to see how it would work. I didn't want to use most of the recognized light oil products because I didn't think that they would hold up to the garage door environment. I was very surprised at how quite the door was after I had sprayed all of the hinges. I have already recommended this product to others who were having garage door squeak issues.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The Clear Winner!

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Since moving in my house(May 2013), I am very grateful to have a garage. However, the door is loud upon opening/closing. I tired 2 other products and this one actual has performed the best. The other worked very briefly and often left a drippy mess. This product was not drippy and is more effective than the others. This may cost a $1 or $2 more but again as I am finding out with buying a home-you sometimes truly get what you pay for. HINT: you probably will not find this with the other lubricants, so go to the aisle near the garage door openers.
Pros: High Quality
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors

no drip

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I like thay it doesn't drip like WD40 and fixed my squeaky garage and doors in my home. The only thing is that it sprays yellow if you have white doors in your house you gotta clean up the overspray but it does say for garage doors so I still give it a 5.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

CloPay Synthetic ProLube for Garage Doors

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I immediately noticed the name of this product as it is the company for my first love's (Christie D. B.-Evergreen, Colorado) Father used to work. I bought it out of need and sentimentality. Happily, it works GREAT! It was easy to apply with the short little tube which connects the the can's 'spout', and the garage door (33 years old) is operating much more smoothly and silently. Highly recommend this product. Are you 'available", Christie D. B? lol
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from Ohio, USA

Worked Wonders on my garage door!!

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My 10 year old garage door was making a lot of noise on the tracks and sometimes popping during extreme hot and cold temperatures. I thought I had to replace some rollers. With only one application to the tracks, rollers and hinges, the door quieted down to "like new" operation. I also applied it to the screw drive opener and found it to operate with much lower effort. This product is a winner!
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Great Value, High Quality
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from Savannah, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I was pleased

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I saw this product and thought, "What the heck"
I have been lubing my garage door periodically with various lubricants. All were adequate but messy.
I used as directed and was done in less tan 5 minutes and without mess. Lubes as well as white lithium grease without the mess.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Well Made, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors

Great Garage Door Lube

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Love product but wish I would have ensured the little tube that you attach to sprayer would have been there. Not worth the gas to return to store so I took off similar product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors

Works Great.

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works very good. Garage door is more quiet than ever.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from NJ

Squeaky noise gone!

PostedJune 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked great after first application. Our door had a loud squeaky noise and I applied this to roller ball bearings( where the axle meets the roller wheel ) and into the pulley wheel at a similar point. Was not necessary to apply to the track as the above reviewer said - I think tracks just need to be cleaned not lubed. In any case the loud squeaky noise was done away with
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from New Haven, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!!!

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Moved into a new house with a squeaky garage door, I was not sure how to take care of it. I watched a great youtube video and got this spray. I sprayed all the moving parts except the chain and checked the door and I missed a few connectors. I re-sprayed and no more squeaks. Not only I am happy, so are the neighbors.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Truly great

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I sprayed this on garage door track and rollers and the door is now so quiet we have to look to make sure it is really going up or down. Also used it on some door hinges on which silicone never really totally got rid of the squeak and on a balky trailer coupler. The door is now totally quiet and the coupler works smoothly. This product costs a bit more than ordinary oil, but it really works.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors
from Solon, ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product for garage doors and more.....

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product, easy to use and have used it for other issues in addition to lubing the garage doors!
Pros: great for garage doors and other issues
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Clopay Synthetic Pro Lube for Garage Doors

Works well!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This quieted my garage doors that have been driving the family crazy. They now open and close with little sound at all and certainly better than before use. I did stray the rails, wheels, hinges....anywhere I thought there was movement. Will grab a few extras to have on hand. It leave a noticeable grease deposit where you spray, so no simple liquid spray.
Pros: Functional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>