728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Box & Floor Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan

20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan

The MaxxAir 20-in. High Velocity Floor Fan is extremely versatile and packs surprising power in a small footprint. An excellent choice for use in the home, garages and basements, this powerful fan does it all. It features a 3-speed energy efficient thermally protected PSC motor and is rated 3150 CFM. It has maximum efficiency aluminum fan blades and a 64 in. power cord with retainer.
Overall rating:
4.338 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(157 reviews) 157
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product126 of 137reviews
Rating Breakdown 157 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(97)
4
(39)
3
(7)
2
(5)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product126 of 137reviews
Customer reviews for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
Review 1 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Holyoke, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is a workhorse. We have it on 24/7

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The original reason for the purchase of this fan was to use it as a cooling device for our compressor on our walk-in freezer at our soup kitchen. It needs to run 24/7 and is critical for the smooth running of the freezer which contains thousands of pounds of meat. Most recently we have also used the fan for the installation of new flooring in our kitchen/dining area which serves a free meal to the poor of the community. So far, the fan has been working perfectly, the size is ideal for our purposes, we like the variable speeds, and overall we are very happy with the product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Chicago, IL, USA

Great Fan

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this fan to replace a similar one (also purchased at Home Depot) that was damaged beyond repair by a construction contractor in my home.
I was looking for a high-powered fan that could really move a lot of air and exhaust the home. Well, this fan did not disappoint.
I only gave it four stars for two reasons: (1) It is not as sturdy in construction as my old fan, and also moves SLIGHTLY less air than the old one. But, for my needs, it is the best on the market. (2) When I opened the box upon delivery a screw was missing. Not a big deal; I just went to the local hardware store and picked up a package of screws that would match the one that was in the box. (Two are needed to assemble.) However, it would have been nice had both screws been in the box.
In all fairness, I am not sure the less-sturdy construction is a negative. The casing on my old fan was heavier than on this one, but it was also top-heavy and often moved around when on the "high" setting. This fan has a much better base, and it does NOT move around when the fan is on the high setting.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Reliable, Light Weight, moves a lot of air, Sturdy
Cons: screw missing in box
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Jones Creek, TX 77541, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lots & lots of air

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a nice fan, it moves a lot of air, is quite sturdy, has 3 speeds, however the lowest setting is still way to fast and will blow you away, that's the only speed I use and is faster than my previous fans hi speed. I like the overall performance and would buy again in a heartbeat, it's all metal construction and has an aluminuim fan blade that has hardly any viberation, if it had a lower speed it would be a 10 star, if you want a nice little fan that moves a lot of air, you found it. PS. As for some reviewers saying it falls backwards when it's on, I don't know how unless maybe they put the base on backward, I've had no such problem at all. Marvin
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Cons: low speed is not low fast faster & fastest
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Benicia, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fan review

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this fan to help keep my garage cool as I work on my 1931 Ford Model A restoration. I was very pleased with the construction of the fan, ease of assembly (two screws) and how much air movement the fan has on each speed. the noise level is low on each speed and normal talking even directly in front of the fan is good. This fan is a great product for general usage and priced well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Mobile, AL, USA

I'm glad I bought this fan. I think I will have it a long time.

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The MaxxAir 20-inch floor fan puts out a lot of air and is fairly quiet. We use it on our porch to help cool us and to keep the mosquitos and no-see-ums off of us. It is all metal, sturdy, stable, well-made, and takes up little area. Since it is a floor fan, it is not a visual obstruction. It has 3 speeds and we've only used the lowest fan speed so far. Directions say the fan will not need lubrication since it is sealed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, ul listed
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Powerful wind creating machine . :)

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very sturdy well built metal floor fan. The breeze from the floor fan is literally a wind creating machine delivering a gusty wide flow of cooling breeze. I actually plan on purchasing a 2nd one I like it that much for another room.
Only thing missing is a remote control. :)
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design, looks like a more expensive fan
Cons: wish was remote control, wish there was a lower setting, wish carrying handle was wider & thicker.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Louisiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

big enuf and powerful enuf to keep us cool in the deep south

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
powerful, compact, efficient, works well in all areas
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from North Central Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointing Performance

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This fan initially performed well, but found the low speed to be too high. However, the main issue is that after about 6 months, the fan began tripping both ground fault circuits in my garage. As I only use this fan in my garage and my garage only has ground fault circuits for electrical outlets, this failure has rendered the fan useless to me. I suspect this is an unusual occurrence, but this is my experience.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: failed to work after 6 months
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan

look for something elsr

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The fan worked great for a couple days, but last night it pushed itself backward and two of the blades bent when they hit the cage.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Cleveland, OH

Powerful!

PostedMay 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this fan about a year ago and have used it heavily. It's a really awesome fan, especially for the price. It's rated at 3,500 CFM, and I've since tried fans claiming 6,500 CFM. They were more expensive and less powerful, so I returned them to get more of these. It's a bit loud but I don't mind since it does such a great job. I can't find my box for it, but I'm pretty sure it was made in the USA. Some minor assembly was required (2 screws for the base). I used it in place of an air conditioner for an entire summer and it kept me cool enough. I highly recommend this fan.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Arlington, tn
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not American made

PostedJune 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This fan is made in China not the USA as described by the company.
Will be returning.
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from st patrick mn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great price, quiet, and blows very well, but.....

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The blades are extremely thin to reduce fan noise, but are also extremely fragile. The base is somewhat small so if it tips over, the blades bend because they get hooked on the guard.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Brooklyn, New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic Cooling Fan

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fan was easy to assemble except that on one side screw stripped, everything else about the fan is great. Very good cooling system and very durable. It works very efficiently.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: one stripped screw
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Nashville TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great fan for relaxing on deck in hot weather

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've only needed the lowest setting of this 3 speed fan to stay cool & blow mosquitos away while sitting on the deck in hot weather
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Somersworth
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Pleasantly Surprised

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordering items online can sometimes be challenging. Relying on the reviews of others also poses its own challenges, but I was pleasantly surprised that this product performs as well as it does. We ordered 2 fans with the expectation we would be able to angle the fans differently and creative a cross breeze in our office workout room. We would have been fine with just one fan. It is super powerful! Worth the price. The only "complaint" i had was getting one of the legs of the fan to line up perfectly. It took some work, but it did eventually fit together correctly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality
Cons: difficulty lining up holes of base to attach
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Tampa FL
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these to keep mosquito's at bay in our back yard. They are a great value for the quality and much quieter than many high velocity fans. I have not used them indoors, only outdoors but have 2 other fans that are much louder than these.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Quiet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan

Two Years Running Now. (05-15-2012)

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Awesome Fan. I run this all day long during the summer and it's output is so great. I bought this in July, 2010 and it's still running like it is new. I live in a trailer home, and I can set this in the doorway of the back bdrm. and it blows the length of my trailer.. 60' and I can feel the draft in my front room at the opposite end.
If looking for a fan, this is the one to get. Very Strong frame and fan cover. In fact I tripped one day and landed square onto the fan and all it did was very slightly bend a couple of the fan cover wires.. Just pulled them back out and its fine again.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Tracy, CA, USA

High power and Awesome

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this powerful fan. It's just what I was looking for its great quality and boy does it blow. I bought it for my room for the summer it gets unbearable upstairs and I am excited to use it throughout the summer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Durable, High Quality
Cons: they forgot to include a screw
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Texas, USA

The fan needs better speed control

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The fan is smooth running but for my application it does not fill the bill. The control does not offer much difference between the lowest and highest speed. If you want a powerful fan for a huge room or garage it is a great tool to have. In a smaller room where you need lower fan speed this device does not fill that need.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: needs better fan speed control
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan

Overall powerful however there are a few cons listed in my review.

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a 715 sq. ft. apartment. I place this fan outside my one room that has an a/c. The fan draws the cold air out of the room and pulls it into the rest of the apartment. The fan is very powerful and helps to cool the entire apartment! The negatives... the fan sounds like airplane propellers, I wish there was an even lower setting, the blades are dangerously close to the edge of the cage (I had to set the fan up on a small table to keep my cat's tongue away from the fan), the fan does not stay in the position where I want it to be tilted even when I tighten the knobs on the side. I have a dog and a cat and the fan sucks up all the hair so I have to make sure I vacuum it often... it has been pretty easy to get at the hair.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: Too Heavy, Difficult to Use, blades too close to edges of the cage, loud
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>