728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan

20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan

The MaxxAir 20-in. High Velocity Floor Fan is extremely versatile and packs surprising power in a small footprint. An excellent choice for use in the home, garages and basements, this powerful fan does it all. It features a 3-speed energy efficient thermally protected PSC motor and is rated 3150 CFM. It has maximum efficiency aluminum fan blades and a 64 in. power cord with retainer.
Overall rating:
4.337 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(169 reviews) 169
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product137 of 149reviews
Rating Breakdown 169 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(103)
4
(44)
3
(7)
2
(6)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product137 of 149reviews
Customer reviews for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
Review 1 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Holyoke, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is a workhorse. We have it on 24/7

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The original reason for the purchase of this fan was to use it as a cooling device for our compressor on our walk-in freezer at our soup kitchen. It needs to run 24/7 and is critical for the smooth running of the freezer which contains thousands of pounds of meat. Most recently we have also used the fan for the installation of new flooring in our kitchen/dining area which serves a free meal to the poor of the community. So far, the fan has been working perfectly, the size is ideal for our purposes, we like the variable speeds, and overall we are very happy with the product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Chicago, IL, USA

Great Fan

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this fan to replace a similar one (also purchased at Home Depot) that was damaged beyond repair by a construction contractor in my home.
I was looking for a high-powered fan that could really move a lot of air and exhaust the home. Well, this fan did not disappoint.
I only gave it four stars for two reasons: (1) It is not as sturdy in construction as my old fan, and also moves SLIGHTLY less air than the old one. But, for my needs, it is the best on the market. (2) When I opened the box upon delivery a screw was missing. Not a big deal; I just went to the local hardware store and picked up a package of screws that would match the one that was in the box. (Two are needed to assemble.) However, it would have been nice had both screws been in the box.
In all fairness, I am not sure the less-sturdy construction is a negative. The casing on my old fan was heavier than on this one, but it was also top-heavy and often moved around when on the "high" setting. This fan has a much better base, and it does NOT move around when the fan is on the high setting.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Reliable, Light Weight, moves a lot of air, Sturdy
Cons: screw missing in box
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Mobile, AL, USA

I'm glad I bought this fan. I think I will have it a long time.

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The MaxxAir 20-inch floor fan puts out a lot of air and is fairly quiet. We use it on our porch to help cool us and to keep the mosquitos and no-see-ums off of us. It is all metal, sturdy, stable, well-made, and takes up little area. Since it is a floor fan, it is not a visual obstruction. It has 3 speeds and we've only used the lowest fan speed so far. Directions say the fan will not need lubrication since it is sealed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, ul listed
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Jones Creek, TX 77541, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lots & lots of air

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a nice fan, it moves a lot of air, is quite sturdy, has 3 speeds, however the lowest setting is still way to fast and will blow you away, that's the only speed I use and is faster than my previous fans hi speed. I like the overall performance and would buy again in a heartbeat, it's all metal construction and has an aluminuim fan blade that has hardly any viberation, if it had a lower speed it would be a 10 star, if you want a nice little fan that moves a lot of air, you found it. PS. As for some reviewers saying it falls backwards when it's on, I don't know how unless maybe they put the base on backward, I've had no such problem at all. Marvin
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Cons: low speed is not low fast faster & fastest
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Powerful wind creating machine . :)

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very sturdy well built metal floor fan. The breeze from the floor fan is literally a wind creating machine delivering a gusty wide flow of cooling breeze. I actually plan on purchasing a 2nd one I like it that much for another room.
Only thing missing is a remote control. :)
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design, looks like a more expensive fan
Cons: wish was remote control, wish there was a lower setting, wish carrying handle was wider & thicker.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Benicia, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fan review

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this fan to help keep my garage cool as I work on my 1931 Ford Model A restoration. I was very pleased with the construction of the fan, ease of assembly (two screws) and how much air movement the fan has on each speed. the noise level is low on each speed and normal talking even directly in front of the fan is good. This fan is a great product for general usage and priced well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Louisiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

big enuf and powerful enuf to keep us cool in the deep south

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
powerful, compact, efficient, works well in all areas
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan

Good unit

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Extremely easy to assemble. Only took a couple minutes. Unit performs very well as far as the velocity is concerned. Just a little loud. Not complaining because of the amount of air passed, it has to be a little loud. I am totally satisfied.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan

Great Fan

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy assembly. not alot to put together except the legs.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from dallas,tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Early comment --- very satisfied

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This fan really makes my garage an acceptable place to work even in the Texas summer.
Like a lot of products you really do not know its true value until it goes through the test of time so the best I can rate it is good.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Crawfordville, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding fan!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you want to move air, this is the fan for you. I've always used Lasko fans. No more! These are quiet and will move more air than you can stand. Had I known how good they were, I would have bought more.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Jacksonville, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good fan

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The fan puts out a very nice breeze, but it is really loud. Great for work out room or garage, but I wouldn't reccommend it for the TV room because of the noise.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: loud
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Cleveland, OH

Powerful!

PostedMay 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this fan about a year ago and have used it heavily. It's a really awesome fan, especially for the price. It's rated at 3,500 CFM, and I've since tried fans claiming 6,500 CFM. They were more expensive and less powerful, so I returned them to get more of these. It's a bit loud but I don't mind since it does such a great job. I can't find my box for it, but I'm pretty sure it was made in the USA. Some minor assembly was required (2 screws for the base). I used it in place of an air conditioner for an entire summer and it kept me cool enough. I highly recommend this fan.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Pheonix, AZ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Definitely moves the air around!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The fan definitely moves the air to keep our hot spots in the house cool on the hottest days.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Port Charlotte, Fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great purchase

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
much better than I expected, My brother uses it in thee garage everyday
Pros: Powerful, really moves the air
Cons: moves by itself
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Ca

Not worth the cost

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Doesn't offer much more air flow volume than a box fan.. I returned it the next day.
Pros: Durable
Cons: poor air flow volume
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan

Great fan

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very good fan, strong and nice looking. Great price too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Cave Junction, OR 97523, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cool Purchase

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Anytime you purchase something electrical you always hope it works as it is suppose to, and these fans work fantastic. I read MANY reviews before deciding to purchase these. I dismissed the ones that came off rather childish and stuck to the ones that were strictly informative about how the fans worked. The fans came completely assembled with the only thing to be attached is the floor support, and that attaches real easy. Just be sure to put it on the right direction; because if you don't the high velocity of wind this machine creates will blow it over. I did read one review on this fan that said that it kept blowing over. Believe me when I say the only way you can have it blow over is if the stand is put on backwards. The stand that comes with this is high quality heavy duty tube steel designed to do the job it was created for. As for the air it circulates, well, be prepared to be amazed. My home is just a little over 2200 sq ft, and if at all possible I try not to use the air conditioning in the summer to help save a little money. By the end of the day when it has cooled off outside and I can open the house up I want to make sure that the hot air in the house doesn't stay in there for me to have to enjoy the next day. Sooooo, I open up the windows and the front door (screen shut) in the front of the house and the windows in the back of the house. Then I place one of the fans on the floor in my long entryway. Then I put the other fan on a hassik in front of one of the windows in my front room in back of the house blowing out ( the hassik is flat but slightly cushiony so I put a large piece of tile under the stand so it won't blow over) . The temps in the house have gotten up to 80 to 83 degrees by the end of the day, but by 7:00 AM the next morning it's usually around 65 degrees in here. Believe me that's moving some serious amounts of air. I've had the fans now for almost a month and am still amazed at just how much air they circulate. I've also used them to help dry sections of carpet that I've shampooed and had it dried in half the time. What more can I say, their great. You won't go wrong investing in this fan. Oh, and one more thing. I read one persons review that said they were terrible cause you couldn't clean them. That's just not true. You just have to remove a few screws, take the front off and clean the blades. Put the front back on, insert the screws and your done. Thanks HD.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from North Central Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointing Performance

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This fan initially performed well, but found the low speed to be too high. However, the main issue is that after about 6 months, the fan began tripping both ground fault circuits in my garage. As I only use this fan in my garage and my garage only has ground fault circuits for electrical outlets, this failure has rendered the fan useless to me. I suspect this is an unusual occurrence, but this is my experience.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: failed to work after 6 months
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Saint Paul, MN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is the fan I have been looking for

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have bought several fans trying to help circulate the air-conditioned air in my house. This is the one I should have bought in the first place. Moves a TON of air, even on low. It also does it quietly. As long as it holds up for several years, I will be remain very happy.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>