728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan

20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan

The MaxxAir 20 in. High Velocity Floor Fan is extremely versatile and packs surprising power in a small footprint. An excellent choice for use in the home, garages and basements, this powerful fan does it all. It features a 3-speed energy efficient thermally protected PSC motor and is rated 3150 CFM. It has maximum efficiency aluminum fan blades and a 64 in. power cord with retainer.
Overall rating:
4.274 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(201 reviews) 201
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product163 of 181reviews
Rating Breakdown 201 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(119)
4
(53)
3
(8)
2
(7)
1
(14)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product163 of 181reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
Review 1 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Holyoke, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is a workhorse. We have it on 24/7

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The original reason for the purchase of this fan was to use it as a cooling device for our compressor on our walk-in freezer at our soup kitchen. It needs to run 24/7 and is critical for the smooth running of the freezer which contains thousands of pounds of meat. Most recently we have also used the fan for the installation of new flooring in our kitchen/dining area which serves a free meal to the poor of the community. So far, the fan has been working perfectly, the size is ideal for our purposes, we like the variable speeds, and overall we are very happy with the product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Chicago, IL, USA

Great Fan

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this fan to replace a similar one (also purchased at Home Depot) that was damaged beyond repair by a construction contractor in my home.
I was looking for a high-powered fan that could really move a lot of air and exhaust the home. Well, this fan did not disappoint.
I only gave it four stars for two reasons: (1) It is not as sturdy in construction as my old fan, and also moves SLIGHTLY less air than the old one. But, for my needs, it is the best on the market. (2) When I opened the box upon delivery a screw was missing. Not a big deal; I just went to the local hardware store and picked up a package of screws that would match the one that was in the box. (Two are needed to assemble.) However, it would have been nice had both screws been in the box.
In all fairness, I am not sure the less-sturdy construction is a negative. The casing on my old fan was heavier than on this one, but it was also top-heavy and often moved around when on the "high" setting. This fan has a much better base, and it does NOT move around when the fan is on the high setting.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Reliable, Light Weight, moves a lot of air, Sturdy
Cons: screw missing in box
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from 3853Alberta
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

High velocity fan it cost too much.maxx air high velocity.

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Makes,too much noise.nice air too loud .the fan cost a pretty penny for what I paid for.i thought it would be a great addition to the house to keep down our cost.its noisier than a home ventilation system.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Mobile, AL, USA

I'm glad I bought this fan. I think I will have it a long time.

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The MaxxAir 20-inch floor fan puts out a lot of air and is fairly quiet. We use it on our porch to help cool us and to keep the mosquitos and no-see-ums off of us. It is all metal, sturdy, stable, well-made, and takes up little area. Since it is a floor fan, it is not a visual obstruction. It has 3 speeds and we've only used the lowest fan speed so far. Directions say the fan will not need lubrication since it is sealed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, ul listed
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Tyler, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Floor fan that can move some air!

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Man oh man, can this fan ever move some air! I ran a power monitor on it and on Low it only pulls 120 watts, Medium pulls 133 watts, and on High it only pulls 152 watts. The volume of air on high is enough to keep you cool in a garage setting. I made a mount and cover for it and set it in the window of my utility room. I can pull almost 2,800 cfm through the house on High. It is awesome. It will work great with a true sign wave inverter (DO NOT use a modified sign wave inverter) with solar panels as that is how I have mine set up for hot summer days.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Jones Creek, TX 77541, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lots & lots of air

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a nice fan, it moves a lot of air, is quite sturdy, has 3 speeds, however the lowest setting is still way to fast and will blow you away, that's the only speed I use and is faster than my previous fans hi speed. I like the overall performance and would buy again in a heartbeat, it's all metal construction and has an aluminuim fan blade that has hardly any viberation, if it had a lower speed it would be a 10 star, if you want a nice little fan that moves a lot of air, you found it. PS. As for some reviewers saying it falls backwards when it's on, I don't know how unless maybe they put the base on backward, I've had no such problem at all. Marvin
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Cons: low speed is not low fast faster & fastest
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan

20 in fan

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ít is noise but it is how it is. The fan blade is very smooth spinning, not vibrating too much. It blows lot of air. The aluminum blade look so cheap. But it is low price fan. I recommend you to buy this one. Good for the price
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Cleveland, OH

Powerful!

PostedMay 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this fan about a year ago and have used it heavily. It's a really awesome fan, especially for the price. It's rated at 3,500 CFM, and I've since tried fans claiming 6,500 CFM. They were more expensive and less powerful, so I returned them to get more of these. It's a bit loud but I don't mind since it does such a great job. I can't find my box for it, but I'm pretty sure it was made in the USA. Some minor assembly was required (2 screws for the base). I used it in place of an air conditioner for an entire summer and it kept me cool enough. I highly recommend this fan.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Chicago, IL

Missing parts and loose screws

PostedAugust 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product came missing a screw that attaches the pedestal to the fan. It seemed to work fine otherwise, so just I used a spare screw of my own to avoid the hassle of returning it. It was on for about 5 minutes before it broke and started making a terrible sound.
I will be returning it. No wonder it was $20-30 cheaper than similar fans from other manufacturers.
Cons: Not Durable, missing parts
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Greenlawn, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works as expected.

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ready to go and easy to use. Operates as expected. Helped with high temperatures in Colorado in a house without central air.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Powerful wind creating machine . :)

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very sturdy well built metal floor fan. The breeze from the floor fan is literally a wind creating machine delivering a gusty wide flow of cooling breeze. I actually plan on purchasing a 2nd one I like it that much for another room.
Only thing missing is a remote control. :)
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design, looks like a more expensive fan
Cons: wish was remote control, wish there was a lower setting, wish carrying handle was wider & thicker.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Owensboro, KY
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fast Fan and very convenient

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble with a screwdriver. It moves way more air than you would expect from a fan this size. My picture looks like the fan is stopped, but that's because of how fast the camera is. The fan blades are actually going so fast you can't see individual blades when you look at the fan itself instead of a picture. The base is built just right to reliably keep the fan from falling over from the force of the airspeed. I only use the highest speed, partly because I don't see much point in buying a fast fan if I'm not going to use its fastest speed, and partly because there isn't all that much difference between the different speeds anyway. All three speeds are way faster than most other fans. The one you see in the picture is being used for circulating the air from a room that has a window air conditioner, through the hallway, to keep the whole house cool from that one air conditioner. It's a relatively small house, so it doesn't really need more than one window A/C, and this fan is what makes that window A/C work well for the whole house. The instructions seem to be wrong about which speed is which. But that's easily solved with a little experimenting.
When I'm not using A/C, because of nice weather, I have one fan aimed out a screen door, and another fan aimed through the hallway towards the room that has that screen door. That moves air through the house so fast, I can arrive home in the evening then get rid of the heat of the day by running the fans for a few minutes. And on a warm night, I run them all night. I don't care about the noise, but some people might be bothered by it.
We hardly ever have nights so hot that an A/C is badly needed. These fans are perfect for most of the warmest nights around here. This assumes you live in a relatively small town where you don't have to worry about burglars coming in through your screens. Fans are better than A/C because you get fresher air through the screens instead of recirculating your air through your A/C.
One thing to always remember about using fast fans for comfort: The key to being comfortable with them is to aim them away from you, not towards you. If you feel extremely hot, aiming them towards you for a few minutes is nice, but you don't want to keep the air moving towards you constantly, because it's too fast, and will start to bother you. The best way is to aim them out some screen windows or screen doors, as that will cause a breeze to come in all the other windows of the house.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: you should ignore the instructions.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from ash flat,ar
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great fan for the price

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
great fan no assembly ,moves alot of air.i've brought 2 of these fans before and would buy it again when needed.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from eubank store
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

fan

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this fan really blows and that is a good thing. I am done.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan

Two Years Running Now. (05-15-2012)

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Awesome Fan. I run this all day long during the summer and it's output is so great. I bought this in July, 2010 and it's still running like it is new. I live in a trailer home, and I can set this in the doorway of the back bdrm. and it blows the length of my trailer.. 60' and I can feel the draft in my front room at the opposite end.
If looking for a fan, this is the one to get. Very Strong frame and fan cover. In fact I tripped one day and landed square onto the fan and all it did was very slightly bend a couple of the fan cover wires.. Just pulled them back out and its fine again.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Somersworth
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Pleasantly Surprised

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ordering items online can sometimes be challenging. Relying on the reviews of others also poses its own challenges, but I was pleasantly surprised that this product performs as well as it does. We ordered 2 fans with the expectation we would be able to angle the fans differently and creative a cross breeze in our office workout room. We would have been fine with just one fan. It is super powerful! Worth the price. The only "complaint" i had was getting one of the legs of the fan to line up perfectly. It took some work, but it did eventually fit together correctly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality
Cons: difficulty lining up holes of base to attach
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Jupiter FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good product, it is high velocity!

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
good product, it is high velocity!
The only thing is the plastic handle that screw on the base/stand were damaged in shipping, I wish they were metal
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: plastic handle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Poor Company to deal with

PostedMay 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Packing of item extremely poor. Not secure in box. First one had broken handle. Second one the blade on the fan fell off during up packing.
Cons: No Instructions, need some quality control
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Louisiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

big enuf and powerful enuf to keep us cool in the deep south

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
powerful, compact, efficient, works well in all areas
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan

Don't bump it!

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The fan got bumped while spinning and somehow a blade bent... I had to take the thing apart to bend the blade back so the fan would work again. I would understand if it had been bumped hard, but it wasn't. If going the cheap route like this fan, best to get a plastic one.
Cons: Not Durable
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>