728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan

20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan

The MaxxAir 20-in. High Velocity Floor Fan is extremely versatile and packs surprising power in a small footprint. An excellent choice for use in the home, garages and basements, this powerful fan does it all. It features a 3-speed energy efficient thermally protected PSC motor and is rated 3150 CFM. It has maximum efficiency aluminum fan blades and a 64 in. power cord with retainer.
Overall rating:
4.35 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(180 reviews) 180
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product147 of 160reviews
Rating Breakdown 180 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(110)
4
(47)
3
(8)
2
(6)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product147 of 160reviews
Customer reviews for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
Review 1 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Holyoke, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is a workhorse. We have it on 24/7

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The original reason for the purchase of this fan was to use it as a cooling device for our compressor on our walk-in freezer at our soup kitchen. It needs to run 24/7 and is critical for the smooth running of the freezer which contains thousands of pounds of meat. Most recently we have also used the fan for the installation of new flooring in our kitchen/dining area which serves a free meal to the poor of the community. So far, the fan has been working perfectly, the size is ideal for our purposes, we like the variable speeds, and overall we are very happy with the product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Chicago, IL, USA

Great Fan

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this fan to replace a similar one (also purchased at Home Depot) that was damaged beyond repair by a construction contractor in my home.
I was looking for a high-powered fan that could really move a lot of air and exhaust the home. Well, this fan did not disappoint.
I only gave it four stars for two reasons: (1) It is not as sturdy in construction as my old fan, and also moves SLIGHTLY less air than the old one. But, for my needs, it is the best on the market. (2) When I opened the box upon delivery a screw was missing. Not a big deal; I just went to the local hardware store and picked up a package of screws that would match the one that was in the box. (Two are needed to assemble.) However, it would have been nice had both screws been in the box.
In all fairness, I am not sure the less-sturdy construction is a negative. The casing on my old fan was heavier than on this one, but it was also top-heavy and often moved around when on the "high" setting. This fan has a much better base, and it does NOT move around when the fan is on the high setting.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Reliable, Light Weight, moves a lot of air, Sturdy
Cons: screw missing in box
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Owensboro, KY
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fast Fan and very convenient

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble with a screwdriver. It moves way more air than you would expect from a fan this size. My picture looks like the fan is stopped, but that's because of how fast the camera is. The fan blades are actually going so fast you can't see individual blades when you look at the fan itself instead of a picture. The base is built just right to reliably keep the fan from falling over from the force of the airspeed. I only use the highest speed, partly because I don't see much point in buying a fast fan if I'm not going to use its fastest speed, and partly because there isn't all that much difference between the different speeds anyway. All three speeds are way faster than most other fans. The one you see in the picture is being used for circulating the air from a room that has a window air conditioner, through the hallway, to keep the whole house cool from that one air conditioner. It's a relatively small house, so it doesn't really need more than one window A/C, and this fan is what makes that window A/C work well for the whole house. The instructions seem to be wrong about which speed is which. But that's easily solved with a little experimenting.
When I'm not using A/C, because of nice weather, I have one fan aimed out a screen door, and another fan aimed through the hallway towards the room that has that screen door. That moves air through the house so fast, I can arrive home in the evening then get rid of the heat of the day by running the fans for a few minutes. And on a warm night, I run them all night. I don't care about the noise, but some people might be bothered by it.
We hardly ever have nights so hot that an A/C is badly needed. These fans are perfect for most of the warmest nights around here. This assumes you live in a relatively small town where you don't have to worry about burglars coming in through your screens. Fans are better than A/C because you get fresher air through the screens instead of recirculating your air through your A/C.
One thing to always remember about using fast fans for comfort: The key to being comfortable with them is to aim them away from you, not towards you. If you feel extremely hot, aiming them towards you for a few minutes is nice, but you don't want to keep the air moving towards you constantly, because it's too fast, and will start to bother you. The best way is to aim them out some screen windows or screen doors, as that will cause a breeze to come in all the other windows of the house.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: you should ignore the instructions.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Mobile, AL, USA

I'm glad I bought this fan. I think I will have it a long time.

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The MaxxAir 20-inch floor fan puts out a lot of air and is fairly quiet. We use it on our porch to help cool us and to keep the mosquitos and no-see-ums off of us. It is all metal, sturdy, stable, well-made, and takes up little area. Since it is a floor fan, it is not a visual obstruction. It has 3 speeds and we've only used the lowest fan speed so far. Directions say the fan will not need lubrication since it is sealed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, ul listed
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Jones Creek, TX 77541, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lots & lots of air

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a nice fan, it moves a lot of air, is quite sturdy, has 3 speeds, however the lowest setting is still way to fast and will blow you away, that's the only speed I use and is faster than my previous fans hi speed. I like the overall performance and would buy again in a heartbeat, it's all metal construction and has an aluminuim fan blade that has hardly any viberation, if it had a lower speed it would be a 10 star, if you want a nice little fan that moves a lot of air, you found it. PS. As for some reviewers saying it falls backwards when it's on, I don't know how unless maybe they put the base on backward, I've had no such problem at all. Marvin
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Cons: low speed is not low fast faster & fastest
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Powerful wind creating machine . :)

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very sturdy well built metal floor fan. The breeze from the floor fan is literally a wind creating machine delivering a gusty wide flow of cooling breeze. I actually plan on purchasing a 2nd one I like it that much for another room.
Only thing missing is a remote control. :)
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design, looks like a more expensive fan
Cons: wish was remote control, wish there was a lower setting, wish carrying handle was wider & thicker.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan

Good Airflow, Loud, Handle Broke

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this on sale. It moves a lot of air. As others have said, there's not much difference between the high and low speeds.
Wire handled was poorly attached and broke off within the first week.
Overall, it's a good value when on sale. Be curious to see how long it lasts.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Breezy Point, MN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great fan for the size. Powerful as a much bigger fan!

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fan had 3 speeds and all are fantastic.
It really blows when you need it. Big Time.
Great Fan for the size!!!
Pros: Sturdy, Durable, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Holiday Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Buy

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I liked this fan so much I gave it to my daughter and my new grand daughter
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan

Moves. Air. Wow. Too loud for living room use.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As long as this thing doesn't die on me, it will be worthwhile purchase. It moves air. I mainly use it in the morning to vent the house by placing it at a window to blow out to bring in cool air from other windows, then use it to circulate a/c air inside during the peak hot hours.
It is super loud even at its lowest setting and tends to turn itself in circles unless you put something non stick under it, but it blows air and that's all that counts.
Pros: High Quality, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Cons: loud, tends to turn itself in a circle from gyro force
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Cleveland, OH

Powerful!

PostedMay 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this fan about a year ago and have used it heavily. It's a really awesome fan, especially for the price. It's rated at 3,500 CFM, and I've since tried fans claiming 6,500 CFM. They were more expensive and less powerful, so I returned them to get more of these. It's a bit loud but I don't mind since it does such a great job. I can't find my box for it, but I'm pretty sure it was made in the USA. Some minor assembly was required (2 screws for the base). I used it in place of an air conditioner for an entire summer and it kept me cool enough. I highly recommend this fan.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Benicia, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fan review

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this fan to help keep my garage cool as I work on my 1931 Ford Model A restoration. I was very pleased with the construction of the fan, ease of assembly (two screws) and how much air movement the fan has on each speed. the noise level is low on each speed and normal talking even directly in front of the fan is good. This fan is a great product for general usage and priced well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan

Very Powerful Fan

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fan moves a significant amount of air. It blows our box fans away in terms of air movement. Even on the lowest setting it is 'high velocity', as the title states. It is slightly noisy because of the amount of air it circulates, but this fan has helped keep us cool while doing projects around the house and even outside. Very happy with the purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Louisiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

big enuf and powerful enuf to keep us cool in the deep south

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
powerful, compact, efficient, works well in all areas
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Alabama
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Donna

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fan is everything expected. I use it on a screened porch and my pier. It provides cool air for all my guests. It is multiple-directional. The blade casing can be moved up and down and has various speeds. I wish the height could be adjusted but I am very pleased with this product and purchased it at a great price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan

Works great

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like a fan that moves a lot of air and this one delivers. The fan has three speed settings but the lowest is sufficient for my daily needs, nice to have the higher settings when needed though. If I had to list a con, it is a little loud on the higher speed settings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent for the price

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This fan really moves the air well, much better than I thought it would considering the price I paid. It's sturdy enough and thankfully not too heavy to carry around.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan

Now that's a fan!

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Serious high velocity fan. Tilts to cover wet carpet or up to circulate a room.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan
from San Diego
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Loud!

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this fan because it's powerful yet quiet. Wrong! It's really loud - so loud that I can't sleep in the same room with it. I put it in the living room and it works great in there because we usually have music on which drowns out the noisiness of the fan. Really strong fan just too loud.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: loud
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 in. High-Velocity Floor Fan

Good unit

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Extremely easy to assemble. Only took a couple minutes. Unit performs very well as far as the velocity is concerned. Just a little loud. Not complaining because of the amount of air passed, it has to be a little loud. I am totally satisfied.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>