728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile

2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile

Genesis is the last ceiling panel you'll ever need to install. They are manufactured from cellular PVC with both smooth and textured surfaces available. Genesis tiles are perfect for commercial kitchens, food processing plants, healthcare and education facilities, marine applications, high-humidity climates and clean rooms.
Overall rating:
4.565 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product20 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(16)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product20 of 21reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
Review 1 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
from Connecticut
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

great on multiple levels

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked this tile because i don't like ceilings that broadcast "drop ceiling" which I believe most of the textured ones do. This tile almost looks like painted sheetrock when it is up.
This was my first Drop Ceiling, and I screwed up. Fortunately, this tile is very forgiving. It was so thin that I could slip it in through tight spacing. Yet it is sturdy and does not droop at all - I used the 2'x4' size. It was easy to cut - like sheet rock, I scored it a couple of times and snapped it off clean. When cutting corners or holes with a jig saw on slow speed, it could not have been easier. The price can't be better. Not a single negative surprise while working with it, but plenty of times when I said "thank God I selected this tile". A stand-out product that exceeded my expectations.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
from Louisville, Ky.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Ceiling Tile Where Moisture is a Concern

PostedAugust 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I got these panels to use over a shower so I would not have to be concern about moisture issues. They look like they will do well in a wet environment.
The panels are solid and quite flexible so do not depend on them to support any weight other than insulation. The finish looks similar to that of a smooth flat ceiling painted white. If your hands are dirty you can leave spots on the panel which you will then have to clean. Both sides of the panel are finish and usable. The color goes all the way through the panel. They are very easy to cut with a knife. If you sharply bend the panel it will snap like a candy bar. Any cutting needs to be done on a clean smooth surface.
My biggest concern is that they can be dented or marred fairly easy. The handle of a 6" long,1/4" screwdriver dropped from a height of about 12" will put a dent in the panel. It really does not take much to mar the surface. You can not apply pressure on the surface with a object and expect it to spring back or resist as it is a soft but firm surface with no spring back. Once mar it will stay that way.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Straight, Easy to Clean, Light Weight
Cons: would not consider it impact resistant.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
from St. Louis, Missouri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good product.... packaging problem

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been in manufacturing most of my working life. This is a "rookie" mistake.
Almost all of the tile had marks from the previous tile's UPC code sticker on them.
I had to use a product called Goo B Gone to clean them up. (Luckily it worked)
A sheet of paper or something would probably have stopped this from happening.
Don't you have quality control at the factory?
The rest of the packaging was great (no damage of any kind). so I didn't have to return them.
The quality was perfect. I just wanted a plain tile, light weight and inexpensive and they fit the bill.
They cut easily with a box knife and dropped into place.
I am not normally one to write complaints but you asked... Hope this helps.
Sincerely
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
Cons: Dirty
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from By Your Genesis TeamJune 16, 2015By Your Genesis TeamJune 16, 2015
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to review our product. I apologize for any inconvenience with our product. We would be happy to assist you with any questions, concerns, or frustrations that you encountered with your order. At ACP, customer satisfaction is our number one goal. We want you to be satisfied with the outcome of your project and enjoy it for years to come. We will not be fully satisfied knowing your experience with our product was inadequate Please contact customer care at 800.434.3750 with any questions so we may help to resolve the trouble you may have experienced with your installation. Thank you! Genesisceilingtiles
Review 4 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
from Dover, DE
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Ceiling Tile - Board of Health OK

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Product looked good in ceiling and met the health inspectors requirements.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile

Easy to work with but can be scratched

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Score it with a knife and crack it, simple. Only thing to be careful with is it scratches pretty easy. I assumed it would be like pvc pipe and very durable, but you have to be careful placing it in the ceiling as not to scrape it on a sharp rail edge, lighting can, hanger cable or something else sharp or you will wind up with a visible gouge.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value
Cons: scratches fairly easy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
from Hagerstown, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Excellent Product for High Humidity

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Used this in my basement bathroom after a leak in the upstairs bathroom buckled the drywalled ceiling. I was looking for a removable ceiling in case of future leaks or maintenance needs. A suspended ceiling seemed like the first choice, but I had not encountered tiles that would hold up to the humidity in a small bathroom with low ceilings. I knew they would all eventually sag and/or mold. I had considered laminating FRP to plywwood and cutting down to use as tiles. Then I came across these tiles on-line, and they seemed to be what I had been looking for. Hate buying things without handling them first, but gave these a try. My bathroom is small, so tile cost was not a big issue, although I could see it being an issue on full basements. Seems like they could be a couple dollars cheaper. Tiles were just as described. They cut VERY easy with a straight edge and utility knife. Score well and snap. I used with a Ceiling Max plastic grid system for added ceiling height and the tiles worked great. Note that this version is a plain smooth white finish, maybe a little too "sterile" or "commercial" like for some, but I would think the textured versions would be a good choice for better aesthetics in a living area. If you haven't already figured it out, tiles are thin compared to regular ceiling tiles, about like thickness of corrugated cardboard. I used a 2 x 2 grid layout and see no issues arising from sagging in the future. Overall, did a nice looking, durable, removable and humidity resistant ceiling. I would definitely recommend to others with this need.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Light Weight
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile

Simple, clean and doesn't fall apart

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I didn't want spend the extra money on these verses the standard acoustic tiles. But the quality of the material is so much nicer - doesn't chip, easy to clean, cut... doesn't crumble in your hand. For the life of my basement and aesthetic resale value, it was worth the expense
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile

bathroom ceiling tiles

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
cost was not much more than the fiber board but you can tell it will last much longer. used it in a bathroom and they look great. no need to ever replace them again!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
from Lafayette, In
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Great look!

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For a person who despises drop ceilings, these ceiling tile are a wonderful alternative to a real one. I wanted to frame part of the basement for a craft room but needed to be able to access the ductwork and plumbing in the ceiling. Easy to cut and install, these look nothing like the tiles seen in hospitals and schools. Nice and smooth - except for the grid, one would never know it was a drop ceiling. They are not easily cleaned so watch out for fingerprints.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
from Morgan County, WV

Fast delivery, good product

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The tiles were delivered much more quickly than they said. They arrived in good condition and well boxed. They were clean; one reviewer complained about some sticker residue on one corner of the tiles, and I had this too but it cleaned off in two seconds. These create a nice clean smooth white appearance, which is what I wanted. Not the cratered, spongy, office-building look you usually see in ceiling tiles. They were also easy to cut into the right shapes. Score with a box cutter and they snap cleanly.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, High Quality, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
from USA

Easy to install, look good, very satisfied

PostedAugust 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These tiles are great! We got tired of replacing the ones that get all stained and saggy and moldy over time, so spent a few bucks more on these. I can see why they say they are the last tile I'll ever install. The Smooth White tiles look wonderful and they really brighten up the room. They were very easy to cut and there was no mess to speak of. Not like those other composite type we fooled with before. All we needed was a ruler and box cutter ~~~Hint - Use a fresh blade~~~ I could not ask for any more from a ceiling tile than I got from Genesis. I believe the little extra I paid was gotten back in ease of installation, and satisfaction knowing I don't have to do it again EVER.
+13points
21out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
from ma
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
i used this tile in a bathroom , install was a snap and because its onlt abou 1/8 thick and flexes its easier to get into tight spots. triming it to size was a snap just score and snap . it wont rust,warp,mold and its washable and fire rated
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Easy to Clean, Reliable, Light Weight
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Just what I wanted.

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Was a great choice for my bathroom ceiling. Product was easy to work with and I was able to install/replace the entire celing in a couple of hours. Considering purchasing it for another room in the house...probably a different pattern and or color if available...?
Pros: Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical, Light Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Quickly Renewed the Kitchen ceiling

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a dropped tin ceiling installed in my kitchen about ten years ago. It was impossible to keep clean and had begun to rust. My husband wanted me to have it redone, but I decided to try these tiles first. I was able to install them by myself and get the job done in a day. They are easy to cut and the look is beautiful and clean. I am very pleased and glad that I replaced the tin with these tiles.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, Light Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
from Teaneck, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Excellent tiles for humid locations

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've installed these in 2 commercial kitchens already. They're sturdy tiles. They're easy to cut; just score with a utility knife and snap. And Home Depot has better pricing than the manufacturer on product and shipping. Order arrived quickly.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
from Maryland
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great quality

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent product. Will never have to change the tiles again.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Light Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile

Does what it says

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I really like how the tile look and how great they perform what they are suppose to do. I plan on getting more tiles just like them.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

WENT UP EASY, EASY TO CUT. LOOKS GOOD. NEED TO CLEAN TILES BEFORE YOU PUT THEM UP.

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought because will not stain or mildew. Put up in basement bathroom. Looks good. More expensive then regular ceiling tiles but so far worth it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Straight, Light Weight
Cons: Dirty
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Top Quality, Easy to work with

PostedJune 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This ceiling tile is great! It is extremely easy to work with. A simple score with a straight edge allows you to snap the tile cleanly. It is very lightweight, and makes the bathroom look bright and clean.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, High Quality, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile

Works great for what we need

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We used these tiles to create a drop ceiling in the bedroom we created for our son in the basement. We choice these tiles because they were inexpensive and smooth. Everyone in the family drew a special picture on one of the tiles for my son that he can now look at every night to see how much he's loved.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 >>