728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile

2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile

Genesis is the last ceiling panel you'll ever need to install. They are manufactured from cellular PVC with both smooth and textured surfaces available. Genesis tiles are perfect for commercial kitchens, food processing plants, healthcare and education facilities, marine applications, high-humidity climates and clean rooms.
Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product13 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product13 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
Review 1 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
from Hagerstown, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Excellent Product for High Humidity

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Used this in my basement bathroom after a leak in the upstairs bathroom buckled the drywalled ceiling. I was looking for a removable ceiling in case of future leaks or maintenance needs. A suspended ceiling seemed like the first choice, but I had not encountered tiles that would hold up to the humidity in a small bathroom with low ceilings. I knew they would all eventually sag and/or mold. I had considered laminating FRP to plywwood and cutting down to use as tiles. Then I came across these tiles on-line, and they seemed to be what I had been looking for. Hate buying things without handling them first, but gave these a try. My bathroom is small, so tile cost was not a big issue, although I could see it being an issue on full basements. Seems like they could be a couple dollars cheaper. Tiles were just as described. They cut VERY easy with a straight edge and utility knife. Score well and snap. I used with a Ceiling Max plastic grid system for added ceiling height and the tiles worked great. Note that this version is a plain smooth white finish, maybe a little too "sterile" or "commercial" like for some, but I would think the textured versions would be a good choice for better aesthetics in a living area. If you haven't already figured it out, tiles are thin compared to regular ceiling tiles, about like thickness of corrugated cardboard. I used a 2 x 2 grid layout and see no issues arising from sagging in the future. Overall, did a nice looking, durable, removable and humidity resistant ceiling. I would definitely recommend to others with this need.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Light Weight
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Quickly Renewed the Kitchen ceiling

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a dropped tin ceiling installed in my kitchen about ten years ago. It was impossible to keep clean and had begun to rust. My husband wanted me to have it redone, but I decided to try these tiles first. I was able to install them by myself and get the job done in a day. They are easy to cut and the look is beautiful and clean. I am very pleased and glad that I replaced the tin with these tiles.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, Light Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile

Simple, clean and doesn't fall apart

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I didn't want spend the extra money on these verses the standard acoustic tiles. But the quality of the material is so much nicer - doesn't chip, easy to clean, cut... doesn't crumble in your hand. For the life of my basement and aesthetic resale value, it was worth the expense
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile

bathroom ceiling tiles

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
cost was not much more than the fiber board but you can tell it will last much longer. used it in a bathroom and they look great. no need to ever replace them again!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
from USA

Easy to install, look good, very satisfied

PostedAugust 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These tiles are great! We got tired of replacing the ones that get all stained and saggy and moldy over time, so spent a few bucks more on these. I can see why they say they are the last tile I'll ever install. The Smooth White tiles look wonderful and they really brighten up the room. They were very easy to cut and there was no mess to speak of. Not like those other composite type we fooled with before. All we needed was a ruler and box cutter ~~~Hint - Use a fresh blade~~~ I could not ask for any more from a ceiling tile than I got from Genesis. I believe the little extra I paid was gotten back in ease of installation, and satisfaction knowing I don't have to do it again EVER.
+13points
21out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Just what I wanted.

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was a great choice for my bathroom ceiling. Product was easy to work with and I was able to install/replace the entire celing in a couple of hours. Considering purchasing it for another room in the house...probably a different pattern and or color if available...?
Pros: Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
from ma
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
i used this tile in a bathroom , install was a snap and because its onlt abou 1/8 thick and flexes its easier to get into tight spots. triming it to size was a snap just score and snap . it wont rust,warp,mold and its washable and fire rated
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Easy to Clean, Reliable, Light Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

WENT UP EASY, EASY TO CUT. LOOKS GOOD. NEED TO CLEAN TILES BEFORE YOU PUT THEM UP.

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought because will not stain or mildew. Put up in basement bathroom. Looks good. More expensive then regular ceiling tiles but so far worth it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Straight, Light Weight
Cons: Dirty
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
from Teaneck, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Excellent tiles for humid locations

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've installed these in 2 commercial kitchens already. They're sturdy tiles. They're easy to cut; just score with a utility knife and snap. And Home Depot has better pricing than the manufacturer on product and shipping. Order arrived quickly.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Top Quality, Easy to work with

PostedJune 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This ceiling tile is great! It is extremely easy to work with. A simple score with a straight edge allows you to snap the tile cleanly. It is very lightweight, and makes the bathroom look bright and clean.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, High Quality, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile

Does what it says

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I really like how the tile look and how great they perform what they are suppose to do. I plan on getting more tiles just like them.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
from Maryland
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great quality

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product. Will never have to change the tiles again.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

I am very satisfied with the quality and value of these tiles.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The tiles fit well and have a smooth, washable finish. They are lightweight, but just heavy enough to drop in well and stay put.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile

Works great for what we need

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used these tiles to create a drop ceiling in the bedroom we created for our son in the basement. We choice these tiles because they were inexpensive and smooth. Everyone in the family drew a special picture on one of the tiles for my son that he can now look at every night to see how much he's loved.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 2 ft. x 2 ft. Smooth Pro Lay-in Ceiling Tile
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
1 out of 2 recommend this product