728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

GE appliances provide up-to-date technology and exceptional quality to simplify the way you live. With a timeless appearance, this family of appliances is ideal for your family. And, coming from one of the most trusted names in America, you know that this entire selection of appliances is as advanced as it is practical.
Overall rating:
3.974 / 5
4
 / 
5
(156 reviews) 156
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product125 of 151reviews
Rating Breakdown 156 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(67)
4
(59)
3
(6)
2
(7)
1
(17)
Features 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product125 of 151reviews
Customer questions and answers:
48 Questions | 60 Answers
Customer reviews for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
Review 1 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great! Quick and efficient!

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This washer & dryer are very quick and efficient. They are fairly quiet and so far seem to be saving on energy. I do not have to run the dryer for as long as my old one to get clothes dry. So far I am satisfied.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean
Cons: hard to see in washing machine.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+24points
26out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from Marlborough, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Didn't Work, Terrible Customer Service!!!!!

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is actually more about GE cusotmer service but if a product doesn't work, it should be reviewed as such. Bought the washer/dryer for a rental unit I was rehabbing and as soon as new tenants moved in, they tried it out and it started smoking and then died, with water still in it. I opened a service case with GE and they sent someone out to repair it. He said it was the motor and he ordered a bunch of parts. The next time service was due the following week, the technician was there but only 1 of the 7 parts was. The other 6 parts arrived the next day. So, the following week, another service call was arranged and the technician rebuilt the motor, only to find that the pump was not working. So not only did it still not work, but it was full of water. So GE setup another service for the day before Thanksgiving with a local provider since the GE technician was booked. However, that local service provider never bothered to show up. So we setup a FIFTH service call but GE gave the technician my home address instead of the address of the unit. They are about an hour away and he was late to begin with so that one was scrapped too.
I finally demanded my money back but the best they would offer was a replacement machine. After all that hassle, it seems like they could have done a lot more but my only choice was to take the new machine since I have tenants who have been waiting 6 weeks for a washer/dryer they were promised when they moved in. I hate to even use a GE product at this point but what else can I do? I don't even have it yet so I'm crossing my fingers that this one is not also a piece of junk.
But, I will NEVER buy another GE product after this fiasco. I can understand a product that doesn't work but offering such poor follow-up to service calls and sending technicians who don't properly diagnose problems is inexcusable for a company like GE, who I used to like very much. Not anymore!
Cons: Not Durable, didn't work
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from Atlanta, GA

Large Capacity for Small Footprint

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I live in a 1,000sf condo and only have a small closet for our washer and dryer area and the GE Unitized Spacemaker Washer & Dryer was an ideal fit.
I did a lot of research and found this set to be the largest capacity for least amount of floor space.
- Both the washer and dryer can be run simultaneously
- Fast cycle times compared to my previous stackable unit
- Easy to operate and install
- Larger capacity compared to similar models
- Looks sharp
- Cost efficient
The only con I have is a 4 inch diameter semi rigid duct will not fit through the pre-punched holes in the side. My suggestion would be to use a 4 inch flexible duct.
+71points
72out of 73found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from Hollywood, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love my new washer and dryer

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a very good unitized unit. It has more room in the basin than the unit I replaced in the small space (hallway closet) that I have for a washer and dryer. The washer is extremely quiet and it has a nice option to use "tap water" temperature on cold water washes to save electricity. In South Florida, I can't imagine using any other temperature. It also has auto load sensing so you never have to guess how big the load will be. The water shuts off by itself at the appropriate level. The dryer is very efficient and quiet with an auto drying feature that dries well without over drying and ruining clothes. Also, no annoying finish buzzer like my other unit had.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+32points
35out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from Southaven, MS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product is as advertized

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good Value and works well. Product was delivered and set up quickly and the old product was removed without any charge.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from San Clemente, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for Apartment sized Condo

PostedMay 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great. Exactly what I wanted. Fit the opening with space left over. Plenty of washer and dryer capacity for condo living.
Pros: Lots of Features, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

Not many 24" options...definite pros and cons for this one

PostedJune 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Needed to replace my 24" wide Whirlpool stacking W/D, and was disappointed to find that Whirlpool was still selling the EXACT same model from 11 years ago. In contrast, I was pleased to find that GE had recently upgraded to this unit, which has a 50% larger capacity. This GE unit definitely has some big pros/cons, and your decision should be based on your priorities. We have had no difficulty whatsoever with snagging buttons, etc, but have needed 2 service calls (free under warranty) in the first few months after our purchase.
Pros - 50% larger washer capacity (the key one for me), more options as far as wash/dry cycles, more modern features, seems to clean and dry better than Whirlpool model, whisper quiet drying. For me, the absence of an alarm to signal that the clothes were dry was a pro rather than a con, as the Whirlpool has a horribly loud/offensive alarm that used to awaken us if we tried to dry clothes when we were asleep. Good service from GE (free under warranty), though we had to wait a few days each time.
Cons - VERY noisy washer, unreliable (dryer knob broke due to what the repairman said was a known defect in these handles; later the dryer stopped working for a couple of days and then started working again for no apparent reason by the time the repairman arrived), difficult to get clothing out of the washer without hitting your head on the dryer. Also effectively deeper than the Whirlpool model (and deeper than the specifications listed here) because you need more clearance in the back (see other reviewer's comments, which were exactly correct)...almost didn't fit into our closet.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from Deerfield Beach, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

So far, so Good!

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I have only used it 10 times. So far, so Good!! I like it much better than the front loaders I had previously. I am Very limited on space and this is perfect! Operates fairly quite and cleans really well! Holds much more laundry than my previous front loaders. I do think it is "Overpriced"! ...However,
I would recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

Largest capacity laundry center

PostedApril 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This laundry center has the largest wash capacity available for these type of units. I wanted to save some closet space and live alone so I thought this would be my best choice. It handles all my laundry needs just fine including king size bedding. It has many options and makes very little noise. No issues at all with snags or lost buttons as mentioned in some other reviews including permanent press and "delicates". The lint trap location in the drier door makes accessing convenient but also makes it difficult not to have lint fall on the floor when cleaning. A minor issue considering everything else about this unit works very well.
+18points
22out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from Canandaigua, NY

Great Set with many setting options!

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Other reviews said that this unit was loud, the washer spin cycle is loud but that's how it gets the water out. I feel like for the quality of the machine, the multiple settings and the small space saving size this is a great unit! I have owned it for about a month and done many loads of laundry. I was even surprised that the washer holds more than I thought it would! I put 4 good size bath towels in one load plus a few hand towels or wash cloths. Hope this helps!
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from Fayetteville, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice if it worked.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Second load and it won't let water in. Supply is fine. Nothing in screens.
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality control, dryer duct interferes with water connections., hose connections must come from above., need a 90 degree on water connections.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By GE AnswersMay 29, 2014By GE AnswersMay 29, 2014
Hi Ghimmy51-this is Sue from GE. Thanks for your purchase. We can certainly understand your concern and apologize for any inconvenience this situation with the washer has caused you. We suggest to make sure both the hot and cold water faucets are fully on and make sure the hot and cold hoses are connected to correct faucets on the back of the washer and not reversed. Also, try resetting the electronics by unplugging the washer for 2 minutes. Make sure the lid is closed for the washer to operate if AUTO LOAD SENSING is selected. If you need additional assistance,we encourage you to take advantage of your 1- year warranty and contact GE Consumer Service at 1-800-432-2737 for assistance. We hope these tips are helpful!GE_Appliances
Review 12 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Pleasantly Surprised

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Even after reading this washer/dryer's reviews I still was skeptical that this machine would meet my high standards, but it has! This machine can handle a good amount of clothes (15-20 adult sized items), runs quietly (even when both the washer and dryer are running at the same time) and offers many different wash/dry settings.
My one recommendation, however, is that if you are purchasing this machine due to it's compact size (which I was), one thing to factor in is the size of the dryer tube. The dimensions list the size of the machine only, but you will need to add approximately 5" to either the back of the machine or the side of the machine for the dryer tube. No review I read before this mentioned that and I had not factored that in. It was a very close fit, but luckily even with the extra 5", I was able to make this fit into it's space.
Overall, I am very happy with this compact machine.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Low Water Usage, Quiet, Dries Quickly, Convenient
+21points
25out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from Bahamas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Great improvement

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ours is a bit unusual as we installed this to replace a worn out unit on a sixty five foot yacht. Four people aboard in the sub-tropics, laundry every day. Substantially faster, quieter and energy efficient; we are delighted.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Washer is terrinle.

PostedMay 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dryer is good but washer is very noisy. You can't hear TV well when we run it. I wished I could return it and I'm too busy to go through it. I won't buy GE again.
Cons: washer is very noisy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GE AnswersMay 13, 2014By GE AnswersMay 13, 2014
Hello Ocean - this is Nancy at GE. I am sorry to hear that your washer is noisy and am happy to help you. Please verify that the shipping bar was removed from the bottom of the washer. It would be on the right side of the washer if you are facing it. You would see a yellow plastic handle sticking out the side bottom of the washer if it has not been removed. I hope this helps!GE_Appliances
Review 15 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from New Orleans, LA

Flimsy Parts

PostedApril 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As of writing this, we have not even owned the machine a year. Already, we have had to have a repairman out at least four times. We are extremely disappointed, and even a repairman said we should not fill it more than "large" capacity. We have to treat the thing like it is a fragile museum piece practically. We have followed the "rules" the repairman gave us, and it is broken again. If you need something reliable and sturdy, do not buy this washer/dryer.
Cons: Not Durable, constant need of repair
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from Palo Alto, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No problems so far

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value only fair. All stackables seem way overpriced. Not sure why. This GE is great, so far (2 weeks). There was problem with the door not staying in the open position, like it wasn't leveled properly. We called and the GE guy came out, gave it a shove, and it was fixed. He said these units are self-leveling, but sometimes the mechanism sticks, so you just need to jiggle the whole unit to unstick it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from Pensacola, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great little washer/dryer for a small space.

PostedSeptember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This machine has a lot of wash and dry options making it suitable for all laundry needs. It can handle small to reasonably large loads well. The washing machine makes an odd litlle noise during the wash cycle that might make you think there is an issue. But we found this to be normal. It's just a shame this small capacity combo unit cost as much or more than some large capacity sets. I would recommend this product but ONLY if you don't have room for a regular sized stacking set.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

Very Easy to Use

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This stack-able washer and dryer work really well. It is a good update to the old model. One touch start on the washing machine and dryer works really well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from Mill Creek, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice unit/great value

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I replaced an aging and unreliable stacked set with this new GE set and couldn't be happier. It is in a business and doesn't get used like it might in a home environment but does a great job and is relatively quiet. It dries pretty well considering it is an electric drier although I would have preferred gas if it were available in my building. Plenty of features for what it is used for and overall I believe it is a great value.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Big improvements over older models!

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hoping there was a newer model out there that was still just 24 in wide but with increased capacity to speed up the washday routine, I did a little research and bought this GE.
I am very glad I did! I got the hoped-for increased capacity (seems MUCH increased). I also got a quieter unit, better controls, and an easier-to-change filter. Overall, couldn't be more pleased.
Pros: Lots of Features
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>