728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

GE appliances provide up-to-date technology and exceptional quality to simplify the way you live. With a timeless appearance, this family of appliances is ideal for your family. And, coming from one of the most trusted names in America, you know that this entire selection of appliances is as advanced as it is practical.
Overall rating:
4.004 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(236 reviews) 236
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product190 of 231reviews
Rating Breakdown 236 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(107)
4
(83)
3
(12)
2
(8)
1
(26)
Features 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product190 of 231reviews
Customer questions and answers:
56 Questions | 73 Answers
Customer reviews for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
Review 1 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great! Quick and efficient!

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This washer & dryer are very quick and efficient. They are fairly quiet and so far seem to be saving on energy. I do not have to run the dryer for as long as my old one to get clothes dry. So far I am satisfied.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean
Cons: hard to see in washing machine.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+31points
33out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from Cleveland, OH
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love it!

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this set to fit the limited space I have in my apartment. After three years, I was sick of waiting a month then hauling laundry to the laundromat or someone's house. While I was first concerned about the size of the unit, it works great! Both the washer and dryer hold much more than expected - I am able to wash my queen sized comforters in the unit. The washer cleans really well and the dryer does a great job - my comforters are usually fully dry by the time they come out. I've only had it a few weeks, but it is doing a great job so far, and my clothes are clean and dry. The spin cycle can be a bit loud at times, but it is not a cause for concern. The dryer is almost silent - Sometimes I can't tell when it is on.
I cannot yet comment on energy efficiency - will have to wait for the next electric bill to see what kind of difference the unit made.
I would highly recommend!
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from Atlanta, GA

Large Capacity for Small Footprint

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My wife and I live in a 1,000sf condo and only have a small closet for our washer and dryer area and the GE Unitized Spacemaker Washer & Dryer was an ideal fit.
I did a lot of research and found this set to be the largest capacity for least amount of floor space.
- Both the washer and dryer can be run simultaneously
- Fast cycle times compared to my previous stackable unit
- Easy to operate and install
- Larger capacity compared to similar models
- Looks sharp
- Cost efficient
The only con I have is a 4 inch diameter semi rigid duct will not fit through the pre-punched holes in the side. My suggestion would be to use a 4 inch flexible duct.
+83points
86out of 89found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from Marlborough, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Didn't Work, Terrible Customer Service!!!!!

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is actually more about GE cusotmer service but if a product doesn't work, it should be reviewed as such. Bought the washer/dryer for a rental unit I was rehabbing and as soon as new tenants moved in, they tried it out and it started smoking and then died, with water still in it. I opened a service case with GE and they sent someone out to repair it. He said it was the motor and he ordered a bunch of parts. The next time service was due the following week, the technician was there but only 1 of the 7 parts was. The other 6 parts arrived the next day. So, the following week, another service call was arranged and the technician rebuilt the motor, only to find that the pump was not working. So not only did it still not work, but it was full of water. So GE setup another service for the day before Thanksgiving with a local provider since the GE technician was booked. However, that local service provider never bothered to show up. So we setup a FIFTH service call but GE gave the technician my home address instead of the address of the unit. They are about an hour away and he was late to begin with so that one was scrapped too.
I finally demanded my money back but the best they would offer was a replacement machine. After all that hassle, it seems like they could have done a lot more but my only choice was to take the new machine since I have tenants who have been waiting 6 weeks for a washer/dryer they were promised when they moved in. I hate to even use a GE product at this point but what else can I do? I don't even have it yet so I'm crossing my fingers that this one is not also a piece of junk.
But, I will NEVER buy another GE product after this fiasco. I can understand a product that doesn't work but offering such poor follow-up to service calls and sending technicians who don't properly diagnose problems is inexcusable for a company like GE, who I used to like very much. Not anymore!
Cons: Not Durable, didn't work
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from Hollywood, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love my new washer and dryer

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a very good unitized unit. It has more room in the basin than the unit I replaced in the small space (hallway closet) that I have for a washer and dryer. The washer is extremely quiet and it has a nice option to use "tap water" temperature on cold water washes to save electricity. In South Florida, I can't imagine using any other temperature. It also has auto load sensing so you never have to guess how big the load will be. The water shuts off by itself at the appropriate level. The dryer is very efficient and quiet with an auto drying feature that dries well without over drying and ruining clothes. Also, no annoying finish buzzer like my other unit had.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+33points
36out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from Connecticut
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A whole new world of convenience.

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great machine and just fits into the tight confines of a 24" doorway/linen closet. Be sure to lay a tray underneath the whole unit just in case there is a leak. Very efficient unit and I love having the laundry center next to my bedroom rather than in the basement. I don't put large loads in it, but reserve the large machine in the basement for those heavier loads. So far, so good.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

painless process

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We were very pleased to order online and set up a date for delivery and removal of our old washer/dryer. The machine was delivered on time by very professional installers who did a fantastic job and were in and out and gone in less than one hour even when it was an upstairs unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from Columbus, Georgia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for limited space

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This model is the perfect size for a small space. It is very quiet compared to other washers and dryers I've experienced. It has all the settings one would expect. We've been pleased with the quality of the wash, and the spin cycle leaves the laundered items very dry. The only thing we wish it had is a buzzer to alert you when the dryer cycle is complete.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: no buzzer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from Renton, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I Love My New Machine!

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a very hard time deciding what brand and model to buy, and there were not very many options for a combo washer/dryer that would fit in my small condo closet. Most of the reviews on this one were good, and it seemed to be the right size, but there were a couple of really bad reviews that scared me, and some others that made me wonder - like the person who said be prepared to re-sew a lot of buttons, or the one who said the lint falls out of the door when you open it, or the one that went on about how noisy it is. I have had this machine for a few weeks now, and I love it! It's great! It's beautiful, works great, and I have had none of these problems. It is big enough to fit my comforter plus some towels in one wash. The dryer is fast. And I like how the lint remover is in the door. I have no problems with it. Sometimes I think people complain about little things that would not bother me, or maybe they get a lemon. The machine seems quiet to me. I was able to fit it into my small closet and get the bi-fold doors back on (with help from the condo maintenance team), so the doors help with noise. Still, it is just a few feet away from my home office, and I leave my office door open and wash all the time, and the noise never bothers me. I am so happy with it. To me it is luxurious compared to the 20+ year-old machine that it replaced. And I like the fact they take your old appliance. The delivery guys refused to connect the hose to the plastic hose in the ceiling that goes out to my deck, saying since the plastic hose was not up to code it was against their rules. My maintenance guys connected it for me saying they could not install any other kind of hose because of some bends and turns on the way out, but that as long as we maintain it, it has worked for 30 years and not to be worried about it. It kind of bothers me, because I worry about fire, but there seems to be nothing I can do about that except to stay on top of the maintenance.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from Chicago, Il
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Washer Dryer Combo disappointment

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am contacting GE to return the unit. The dryer door handle broke off immediately and the washer is very noisy. SOunds like my last one shortly before it seized up and stopped working.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By GE AnswersJanuary 6, 2015By GE AnswersJanuary 6, 2015
Hello reistme - this is Nancy at GE and we are very sorry to hear that your washer and dryer combination unit is not working well for you. If the washer is noisy, please see that the rubber foam shipping pads have been removed. We recommend exercising your warranty for the dryer and washer by contacting the GE Factory Service at 1-800-432-2737 for assistance. Thank you for providing your feedback!GE_Appliances
Review 11 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

Satisfied

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Pleased with the purchase. Unit is quiet, especially the dryer. Spin cycle is quiet unless load is unbalanced. The washer auto sense water level is nice feature. Dryer has very high heat on the highest level. Lint collector is located in door of dryer, easy to access. The water supply hose connections are plastic instead of metal. Not sure about the energy efficiency as it has only been installed for about a month.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

Not many 24" options...definite pros and cons for this one

PostedJune 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Needed to replace my 24" wide Whirlpool stacking W/D, and was disappointed to find that Whirlpool was still selling the EXACT same model from 11 years ago. In contrast, I was pleased to find that GE had recently upgraded to this unit, which has a 50% larger capacity. This GE unit definitely has some big pros/cons, and your decision should be based on your priorities. We have had no difficulty whatsoever with snagging buttons, etc, but have needed 2 service calls (free under warranty) in the first few months after our purchase.
Pros - 50% larger washer capacity (the key one for me), more options as far as wash/dry cycles, more modern features, seems to clean and dry better than Whirlpool model, whisper quiet drying. For me, the absence of an alarm to signal that the clothes were dry was a pro rather than a con, as the Whirlpool has a horribly loud/offensive alarm that used to awaken us if we tried to dry clothes when we were asleep. Good service from GE (free under warranty), though we had to wait a few days each time.
Cons - VERY noisy washer, unreliable (dryer knob broke due to what the repairman said was a known defect in these handles; later the dryer stopped working for a couple of days and then started working again for no apparent reason by the time the repairman arrived), difficult to get clothing out of the washer without hitting your head on the dryer. Also effectively deeper than the Whirlpool model (and deeper than the specifications listed here) because you need more clearance in the back (see other reviewer's comments, which were exactly correct)...almost didn't fit into our closet.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

Largest capacity laundry center

PostedApril 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This laundry center has the largest wash capacity available for these type of units. I wanted to save some closet space and live alone so I thought this would be my best choice. It handles all my laundry needs just fine including king size bedding. It has many options and makes very little noise. No issues at all with snags or lost buttons as mentioned in some other reviews including permanent press and "delicates". The lint trap location in the drier door makes accessing convenient but also makes it difficult not to have lint fall on the floor when cleaning. A minor issue considering everything else about this unit works very well.
+18points
22out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from San Clemente, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for Apartment sized Condo

PostedMay 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works great. Exactly what I wanted. Fit the opening with space left over. Plenty of washer and dryer capacity for condo living.
Pros: Lots of Features, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

GE Unitized Washer/dryer

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Large capacity unit. Delivered at scheduled date and time. Installers were friendly and efficient. Great unit for a small space!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from Canandaigua, NY

Great Set with many setting options!

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Other reviews said that this unit was loud, the washer spin cycle is loud but that's how it gets the water out. I feel like for the quality of the machine, the multiple settings and the small space saving size this is a great unit! I have owned it for about a month and done many loads of laundry. I was even surprised that the washer holds more than I thought it would! I put 4 good size bath towels in one load plus a few hand towels or wash cloths. Hope this helps!
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White

Terrible product

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Brand new unit with a dryer causing problems intermittently not starting. Ge manufacturer warranty only covers repairs even if it is a lemon. The contractor they sent cannot figure out the problem.
Washer makes horrible clunking noises through all cycles so get ready to have a very noisy home.
We regret this purchase and will NEVER buy a GE appliance ever again! Save your money and buy a better product.
Cons: terrible product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from Washington, DC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FAULTY UNITS ARE COMMON - BUYER BEWARE

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We ordered this unit to replace an older version which had died in our condo. When the delivery person came to install it for us, he actually said "**THIS MODEL IS SO UNRELIABLE I HAVE NO IDEA WHY HOME DEPOT STILL SELLS IT.**" We were caught off guard, but having seen the 4-star average rating here, we figured he must have been exaggerating.
Later that night we ran a load of laundry and water leaked EVERYWHERE flooding our laundry room and bathroom.
We got a GE repair person out ASAP and he confirmed that the washer drum was faulty and busted, causing the leak. He, too, said **HE'S SEEN THIS DEFECT ON A NUMBER OF UNITS OF THIS MODEL** It would have taken 5 minutes at either GE or Home Depot to test the thing and realize that it was broken. Instead we had to find out in my home. Incredibly disappointed.
Cons: broken, faulty
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Pleasantly Surprised

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Even after reading this washer/dryer's reviews I still was skeptical that this machine would meet my high standards, but it has! This machine can handle a good amount of clothes (15-20 adult sized items), runs quietly (even when both the washer and dryer are running at the same time) and offers many different wash/dry settings.
My one recommendation, however, is that if you are purchasing this machine due to it's compact size (which I was), one thing to factor in is the size of the dryer tube. The dimensions list the size of the machine only, but you will need to add approximately 5" to either the back of the machine or the side of the machine for the dryer tube. No review I read before this mentioned that and I had not factored that in. It was a very close fit, but luckily even with the extra 5", I was able to make this fit into it's space.
Overall, I am very happy with this compact machine.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Low Water Usage, Quiet, Dries Quickly, Convenient
+21points
25out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Unitized Spacemaker 2.2 cu. ft. Washer and 4.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer in White
from San Fransisco, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Flooded our home on the first wash after installation

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I think this product should be taken off the market. After the machine was installed, it flooded our home on the first wash. The technician who came to check the installation advised us that this a common feature of the product. The quality of manufacturing is extremely poor. We have a very small washer/dryer space. The machine fits in that space and that is the only pro I can think of from this purchase.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>