728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wall Paint & Trim or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint

1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint

The Glidden 1-qt. Bright White High-Gloss Trim and Door Paint features Gel-Flow technology to help resist leaving drips or brushstroke marks. The paint can be applied indoors or outdoors and offers mildew resistance for a long-lasting, clean-looking appearance. Use The can of paint to effectively cover up to 75 sq. ft.
Overall rating:
3.958 / 5
4
 / 
5
(168 reviews) 168
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product125 of 158reviews
Rating Breakdown 168 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(97)
4
(31)
3
(5)
2
(6)
1
(29)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product125 of 158reviews
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
Review 1 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product gave beautiful results

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Wow. This is the best paint for trim. I painted our bedroom walls and then decided to paint the wood 1970's door, window, and wall trim the bright white color. I had beautiful results. I watched the video about how to apply the paint and followed it carefully. The paint is a little strong smelling so ventilation is a must. I will paint our closet doors outside of the bedroom.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Clayton, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Paint

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Applies easily, covers well. Took only two coats for bare wallboard. Easy to touch up.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Carmel, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

1-Qt Bright White gloss interior/exterior oil paint

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This paint is ease to use no drips an leave no marks, is excellent.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Montrose, CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I LOVE this product!!! It leaves a nice glossy finish and looks fantastic!! I only wish it could be purchased in a gallon form. I have many doors in my house and had to keep going back for more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Gloucester, Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exellent paint

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This paint is one of the best paints I ever seen. It go on thick and smooth and as it sets, the brush lines virtually disappear. When the paint dries, it has the appearance of plastic. Awesome product.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Paint if you're not an Idiot Painter

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If you don't know how to paint or if you don't know how to properly prep - don't expect this product to make up for your lack of skill. The instructions clearly state to not overwork this product. If you brush and brush back and forth several times like you would a latex it's going to leave brush strokes. I figured that out the first time I used it and had to change my approach.
HERE'S HOW I USE IT: (First I'll have properly prepped my project with sanding and priming.) Then I apply the Glidden High Gloss Gel Paint thick on my brush straight from the can without wiping the edge. I lay it on thick onto the object to be painted in as few brush strokes as possible - and work fast with the next dip of the brush to blend with the wet edge. Doing it this way it's thick enough that only one coat has sufficed on every project I've used it on, exterior house trim, interior baseboards, window trim & sashes, cabinets and doors. There have been n
o brush strokes on any of the projects.
TO FIX MISTAKES: On one window frame I brushed my arm against it about 20 minutes after applying it and messed it up. I put on a latex glove, dipped my fingertip into mineral spirits and gently smoothed out the ripples. It wasn't perfect, but it's one of those things only I can see - no one else has notices it unless I point it out to them.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint

B

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Because of the hardener it's Better than regular paint but because of price I can only give it 4 stars
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Boston

great product, tough to clean up

PostedAugust 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product is true to its claims. It is thick and does not run. It levels out nicely and dries to a high gloss durable shine. You need to apply it with a good brush as indicated to achieve the no brush stroke results.
I even used it on a bathroom window trim that has taken quite a beating and it made it shine right up and seems to be repelling water better than the bathroom poly previously applied.
Be cautious with this product though. We have been spoiled by latex clean up. This product though easily applied and not terribly messy can be tough to clean up if you are not careful. Make sure you purchase with mineral spirits if you do not have any at home.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Scranton
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great paint for woodwork!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this paint for woodwork and doors. The paint went on very smoothly. The semi- gloss finish was great. Clean up with mineral spirits.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Reston, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

VERY glossy, should not be rolled, can deliver fantastic results with careful application

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Summary: Can deliver fantastic results, but do not infer that "no brush marks" implies "easy to apply".
My experience:
I decided to take a risk and use this product in Antique White for my fireplace mantel and adjacent built-in bookcase, both of which have extensive surrounding trim.
In general, the results were very good, although it is quite a bit more glossy than I would have initially preferred. That said, my wife loves it and I am hoping that it will stand up to standard use better than what was applied previously - especially the horizontal surfaces on which we rest books and other items.
I can understand the complaints - this is very unusual paint...and a bit unforgiving. It is a gel-based oil and leaves you very little time to apply to any one particular area. You must apply even brushstrokes with a properly loaded brush and spread it quickly and efficiently. If you go back to touch something up (or cross a previously painted area) after 5 minutes, you will probably see brush marks, which will be fairly obvious given that this paint is high gloss.
Application was less of an issue for me on narrow trim (and trim with linear detailing/molding) since I was able to move quickly down such surfaces. Instead, my larger challenge was getting an even coat on area surfaces, like a bookshelf. I tried to paint the first bookshelf as I would with standard paint and the results were fairly poor. After learning my lesson, I followed the directions on their website for the subsequent shelves. Paint in one direction, cut the edges first, and then sweep the length from edge to edge. The results were far better. I lightly sanded the first bookshelf the next day and fixed it without much effort.
The results really are pretty stunning and the small amount of paint goes a *long* way.
I suggest practicing first on a less visible area surface or a scrap area surface. If you can paint an area surface cleanly with this paint, trim will be a breeze. Your technique will really define the end results with this product, perhaps more so than most other paints. Of course, standard comments apply for surface prep. Brush quality also matters, as does brush cleanliness. Don't even think of applying this paint unless you have mineral spirits to ensure that your brushes can be kept clean during the process. You may even want to have several brushes in the same width in case one starts to gum up.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: unforgiving if not applied per video instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Fullerton, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Glossiest paint

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This is by far the glossiest paint I have ever used. The results were good but I don't know that I would use it again. For one thing, the paint is oil based so the clean up was not easy. You need mineral spirits or acetone to clean your brush and other equipment. Also, the smell is quite strong and it does not dry very quickly like latex paints. It is also pricey compared to latex. A small can runs about $19. However, the shine was amazing and visible brush strokes were minimal.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Alpena
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Finish

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I've worked with this product numerous times and LOVE LOVE this product everytime. Smooth finish, durable and easily cleanable. Recommend it to anyone who wants durability and washable.
It is thick...and it is not to be stirred or shaken before applying. You do not put it on thick as it will not work as well as it should.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: thick
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Bel Air, MD

Nice paint

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this gel paint in classic red for my front door. Fair warning--it's gel and cannot be rolled. The paint went on nicely and has a really high gloss sheen--and it's true about the no brush marks. The only reason I didn't rate it 5 stars yet is because I want to see how it holds up. Much nicer than the Rustoleum front door paint and no drips at all.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Olathe, KS
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I was thoroughly impressed with this paint.

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
My wife wanted high gloss black doors for the nursery, and I read quite a bit about different options out there. I was at HD and saw this on the shelf and did some more research about it and decided it was the way to go.
Here are the details of my experience:
I have 6-panel pine doors that are stained and finished with some sort of poly.
I did a light sanding (220 grit) and vacuumed and tack-clothed the doors
I did 2 coats of primer (Zinsser Cover Stain, tinted gray with penetrol added) with a brush for the panels and a foam roller for the flat areas
Light Sand with 220, then 400.
1 more coat of primer
Sand with 400 then 600 (not wet sand)
carefully paint the 6 panel sections with the trim paint, dry overnight
paint the panel sections again, and then the rest of the door, dry overnight, repeat.
If you're not happy with how smooth the finish is after the first full coat of paint, then you can wet sand (600 grit). I waited 2 or 3 days to do that.
I used the Zibra 2 inch angled sash brush (also from home depot, but not on their website for some reason). It blows the more expensive Purdy brushes out of the water, and it cleans up easier (you can soak it with no adverse effects).
A few other notes: this paint is super thick. like jelly. I didn't try, but I don't think it would roll well. It flattens out a ton, but you will still have very mild brush marks, so direction matters. when covering a large area, you'll need more paint on your brush than you're used to (assuming you're a competent painter). I stuck the brush in a freezer bag and stored it in the fridge when I wasn't painting with it (over the course of several days), and it was just fine.
Also, this stuff puts off a lot of fumes, so make sure you're in a well ventilated area.
My process takes a lot of time and patience, but the end product makes it worth it, and it will be more durable over time.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: lots of fumes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Dunnellon, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best trim paint ever

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This paint rally lives up to the claims. It's not that hard to apply, despite some groans from other reviewers. You just have to get used to the feel of a gel. You'll think there's no paint on your brush but you start brushing and it covers a large area and just keeps going.
You will require good prep though, like any paint. It self levels so it doesn't show ANY brush strokes, but it will show a gouge in the surface underneath if it's not filled.
I've actually used it twice now from the same can about a year apart. The second time I had to stir it quite a bit because it was separated, but it still went on just like the first time.
If you use it be sure you can deal with heavy fumes for a couple weeks afterward. And I mean HEAVY fumes. Won't make you pass out or anything, but it's strong and lasting. Also, it does take a LONG time to dry completely so be ready for that. And the high gloss is about the highest gloss you'll ever see on a paint so be sure that's what you want. At first I wasn't sure I'd like my baseboards so shiny but in the end it looks really good.
Cleanup is...well...just plan on tossing your brush afterward. I used mineral spirits and got the brush clean but the next time I went to use it it was a gardening shovel. The directions say to use a high quality brush but you only need a cheapo you can toss when you're done.
In summary, a great value. It may seem pricey for a quart can but it goes a long way and is a great product.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Clean, strong fumes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Corona, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's all in the prep people

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I honestly don't understand the poor reviews for this product. I have used it on several different types of surfaces (stair banisters/handrails, prehung doors and cabinets, etc) and have been extremely pleased with the results!!! You MUST prep according to the directions (which is typically the biggest pain in the whole process), but this product has exceeded what they promise in my household. I feel bad for those with poor results, possibly a bad batch was distributed? Re-doing any paint job is a frustrating hassel. Please don't let these reviews discourage you from trying it. Just try the product on something small first! Home Depot will take it back if you aren't satisfied due to the fact that it's not "custom colored" paint. :)
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High quality oil-based paint

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This paint looks amazing. It provides a very high gloss finish that can be easily wiped down and cleaned. It is one of the most easily accessible/widely available oil paints out there. However it has some drawbacks. One is the thickness. It is literally the consistency of thick goopy mud. Sometimes when I am trying to roll with it I actually scoop it out with a spoon, fling it on a door or whatever, and then roll it out. It takes mineral oil/paint thinner pretty well so if you are going to be doing much rolling with it I would recommend thinning it. Being thick does help with the ease of brush application on molding without having to take the molding off the wall. The consistency means it takes a lot of this stuff to cover relatively small areas because it goes on so thick. I have a 1000 ft condo with baseboard molding and somewhere around 9 doors. I have easily used five small little quarts of this and I have not even trimmed in the bedroom yet. That means I have spent well over 100$ on this stuff so far and counting. In fact, price is my second issue with this paint. gallons are roughly 50-70. these quarts are 20+ apiece. It adds up. All that said - you really cannot buy a nicer door and trim paint. I will keep using it but will thin it as much as possible to help keep costs down. I painted some pre-hung doors that were primed and with one coat of this stuff thinned and rolled on they looked very shiny and nice. Also, being oil - it takes a while longer to dry. It actually seemed to dry better when thinned.
Pros: Good Protection, Looks Great, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
Cons: price, size of container
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Pasadena, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is my favorite trim paint.

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It has a hard, smooth, finish that I love. Clean up is not as easy as with soap and water but the end product is so much better than normal trim paint. Brushes need to be cleaned in mineral spirits to save your brush but it is worth it to me.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Cons: clean up with mineral spirits
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Creates a fantastic finish

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is one great product it applies fantastically . . . one coat application. I recommend using an oil brush but I truly believe you could apply this product with a corn broom and the finish would still come out smooth and glassy.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: not cheap
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint

Love to Paint

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this product after seeing the video and brochure. I was very pleased with the products performance and result. I painted my baseboards, stair railings and foyer closet doors. The result was GREAT! I am very pleased with the products high-gloss shine and durability, I only used two coats and it's held up thus far. You must follow the directions to get the best result. Clean up with mineral spirits a MUST. I plan to buy more, so I can use on crown moulding in living room. Please make can Larger for the price. I rated it a four star only because price is a bit much for the small can!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>