728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wall Paint & Trim or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-Qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint

1-Qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint

The Glidden 1-Qt. Bright White High-Gloss Trim and Door Paint features Gel-Flow technology to help resist leaving drips or brushstroke marks. The paint can be applied indoors or outdoors and offers mildew resistance for a long-lasting, clean-looking appearance. Use The can of paint to effectively cover up to 75 sq. ft.
Overall rating:
3.869 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(130 reviews) 130
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product92 of 120reviews
Rating Breakdown 130 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(73)
4
(23)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(26)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product92 of 120reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for 1-Qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
Review 1 for 1-Qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
Tanyah2
from Alpena
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Finish

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I've worked with this product numerous times and LOVE LOVE this product everytime. Smooth finish, durable and easily cleanable. Recommend it to anyone who wants durability and washable.
It is thick...and it is not to be stirred or shaken before applying. You do not put it on thick as it will not work as well as it should.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: thick
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-Qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
Instock
from NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Disaster

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I haven't painted thousands of rooms, but easily several hundred. I know more than the average guy. A customer bought this gel paint, so I tried it. The paint goes on slowly and it dries slowly. Coming back the next day and the day after that to do subsequent coats wasn't practical, so I tried to force it. I made a big goopy mess. It might work better if you have time to do a few coats and let it dry in between. If you have one afternoon to paint a door a different color, you need a different product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-Qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
Steve
from Reston, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

VERY glossy, should not be rolled, can deliver fantastic results with careful application

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Summary: Can deliver fantastic results, but do not infer that "no brush marks" implies "easy to apply".
My experience:
I decided to take a risk and use this product in Antique White for my fireplace mantel and adjacent built-in bookcase, both of which have extensive surrounding trim.
In general, the results were very good, although it is quite a bit more glossy than I would have initially preferred. That said, my wife loves it and I am hoping that it will stand up to standard use better than what was applied previously - especially the horizontal surfaces on which we rest books and other items.
I can understand the complaints - this is very unusual paint...and a bit unforgiving. It is a gel-based oil and leaves you very little time to apply to any one particular area. You must apply even brushstrokes with a properly loaded brush and spread it quickly and efficiently. If you go back to touch something up (or cross a previously painted area) after 5 minutes, you will probably see brush marks, which will be fairly obvious given that this paint is high gloss.
Application was less of an issue for me on narrow trim (and trim with linear detailing/molding) since I was able to move quickly down such surfaces. Instead, my larger challenge was getting an even coat on area surfaces, like a bookshelf. I tried to paint the first bookshelf as I would with standard paint and the results were fairly poor. After learning my lesson, I followed the directions on their website for the subsequent shelves. Paint in one direction, cut the edges first, and then sweep the length from edge to edge. The results were far better. I lightly sanded the first bookshelf the next day and fixed it without much effort.
The results really are pretty stunning and the small amount of paint goes a *long* way.
I suggest practicing first on a less visible area surface or a scrap area surface. If you can paint an area surface cleanly with this paint, trim will be a breeze. Your technique will really define the end results with this product, perhaps more so than most other paints. Of course, standard comments apply for surface prep. Brush quality also matters, as does brush cleanliness. Don't even think of applying this paint unless you have mineral spirits to ensure that your brushes can be kept clean during the process. You may even want to have several brushes in the same width in case one starts to gum up.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: unforgiving if not applied per video instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-Qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
PainterGal
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Paint if you're not an Idiot Painter

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If you don't know how to paint or if you don't know how to properly prep - don't expect this product to make up for your lack of skill. The instructions clearly state to not overwork this product. If you brush and brush back and forth several times like you would a latex it's going to leave brush strokes. I figured that out the first time I used it and had to change my approach.
HERE'S HOW I USE IT: (First I'll have properly prepped my project with sanding and priming.) Then I apply the Glidden High Gloss Gel Paint thick on my brush straight from the can without wiping the edge. I lay it on thick onto the object to be painted in as few brush strokes as possible - and work fast with the next dip of the brush to blend with the wet edge. Doing it this way it's thick enough that only one coat has sufficed on every project I've used it on, exterior house trim, interior baseboards, window trim & sashes, cabinets and doors. There have been n
o brush strokes on any of the projects.
TO FIX MISTAKES: On one window frame I brushed my arm against it about 20 minutes after applying it and messed it up. I put on a latex glove, dipped my fingertip into mineral spirits and gently smoothed out the ripples. It wasn't perfect, but it's one of those things only I can see - no one else has notices it unless I point it out to them.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-Qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
PaintPro
from Myrtle beach,sc
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worst paint ever!

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very poor paint for the price. Basically ruined my beautiful cabinet. The cabinet was prepped/sanded/primed and paint was applied correctly. Very, very thick paint. After two weeks it is still not dry enough to use and just an awful product. No drips or brush marks? Haha, i guess i was a sucker for this advertisement. I have painted with oil base before and have never had this much trouble. And for the money, what a waste.
Cons: way to thick, hard to work with, looks bad after it dries, brush marks, drips
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-Qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
c1wall
from Boston

great product, tough to clean up

PostedAugust 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product is true to its claims. It is thick and does not run. It levels out nicely and dries to a high gloss durable shine. You need to apply it with a good brush as indicated to achieve the no brush stroke results.
I even used it on a bathroom window trim that has taken quite a beating and it made it shine right up and seems to be repelling water better than the bathroom poly previously applied.
Be cautious with this product though. We have been spoiled by latex clean up. This product though easily applied and not terribly messy can be tough to clean up if you are not careful. Make sure you purchase with mineral spirits if you do not have any at home.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-Qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
Billy2CoatsQ82
from Temecula, Ca
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Unbelievable New Product! Truly Wonderful to Work With & Wow! What A Finish!!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Glidden knocked this one right out of the ball park! I've been applying this product on side-jobs since about the time of it's release, and it is now becoming popular in the commercial setting, and select few parts of the industrial painting scope of work. As a professional painter, I expect a product like this more from P.P.G at around $60.00 - $70.00. Yet, Glidden pulled it off and brought it to the masses; high-quality product at a reasonable price. This paint is on the thick side, as to be expected with an oil-base, and I'm sure the new "Gel-Flow Technology" puts a damper on the viscosity, but if you know what you're doing, or do some research - this product will deliver a finish that will blow your mind. (As well as your customer's). It truly doesn't leave any brush marks, drips, or other imperfections, and your substrate will appear almost as if it were made in a factory. The finish itself is nearly impervious to any form of damage, liquids, chipping, etc. Be sure to have ample ventilation when using this product; the fumes are quite strong & can be harmful in the event of over-exposure. Also, work quickly! Once an area has begun drying DO NOT go over it again with a roller, or touch-it-up with a brush until it is completely dry, which can take 4 - 6 hours pending environmental conditions etc. Overall this is an excellent product that I, like so many other's, highly recommend for everyone; the painter, homeowner, an in commercial / industrail painting settings as well.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Cons: Difficult to Clean, strong fumes, only comes in qts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-Qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
HappywithHomeDepot
from Bel Air, MD

Nice paint

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this gel paint in classic red for my front door. Fair warning--it's gel and cannot be rolled. The paint went on nicely and has a really high gloss sheen--and it's true about the no brush marks. The only reason I didn't rate it 5 stars yet is because I want to see how it holds up. Much nicer than the Rustoleum front door paint and no drips at all.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-Qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
DEstefan
from Portland, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked well on outside window sills

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I chose this paint for the window sills of the outside of my house. I needed something that was fast drying. This paint is not self priming but worked well with the primer I used. Dry it seamed to be the same color as wet. It had a smooth quick application. I was worried about brush or roller marks but did not have a problem. I some places I did have to use two coates but overall one was enough.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-Qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
Kelly
from Corona, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's all in the prep people

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I honestly don't understand the poor reviews for this product. I have used it on several different types of surfaces (stair banisters/handrails, prehung doors and cabinets, etc) and have been extremely pleased with the results!!! You MUST prep according to the directions (which is typically the biggest pain in the whole process), but this product has exceeded what they promise in my household. I feel bad for those with poor results, possibly a bad batch was distributed? Re-doing any paint job is a frustrating hassel. Please don't let these reviews discourage you from trying it. Just try the product on something small first! Home Depot will take it back if you aren't satisfied due to the fact that it's not "custom colored" paint. :)
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-Qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
painter
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FANTASTIC ON OLD ALUMINUM DOORS AND WINDOWS!!

PostedOctober 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have high quality aluminum doors and windows, but since they are 25 years old the factory finish was worn thin. I cleaned the aluminum, dried it and painted it with bright white. These old doors and windows look better than they did when new! Warning to all whoo had trouble.. take your time, rushing and poor preparation can ruin any product, so don't listen to them. BUY IT, USE IT CORRECTLY, AND YOU WILL LOVE THE RESULTS!!!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-Qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
Jpaints
from Brookfield

Yah - no drips or brush marks

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used the black Gliden Door and Trim paint on a old dining room buffet. I sanded off the old finish and cleaned off the sawdust and painted with the Gliden Door and Trim paint. It looks great and it was easy to use. I gave it four because I have not used the piece yet so do not know how it holds up. I would give it a 5 for easy to apply.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-Qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
Nick
from norristown, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smooth finish, no runs

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Use the correct brush, don't shake the can (forms air bubbles) read the directions and you will get an amazingly smooth glossy finish. It may seem odd at first to paint with a gel paint, but the results are better then any regular paint I've ever used.
Clean brush immediately in mineral spirits.
Pros: Even Application, Good Protection, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-Qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
Cpilotti
from East Haven, CT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great white gel paint, thick!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This paint is a one to maybe two coat paint that stands out and looks great. Very thick and one coat is about all you need.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-Qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
Lee1953
from Ada, OK, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I loved how easy this trim paint went on and how clean it looked

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bright white, shines like I wanted it too, perfect for my baseboards and window trim.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-Qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
BobbaLou
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great finish, but pricey

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Gel consistancy glides on and spreads with ease. Finish leveled to a smooth sheen.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Looks High End
Cons: gel consistancy is expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-Qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
TCS15

Love to Paint

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this product after seeing the video and brochure. I was very pleased with the products performance and result. I painted my baseboards, stair railings and foyer closet doors. The result was GREAT! I am very pleased with the products high-gloss shine and durability, I only used two coats and it's held up thus far. You must follow the directions to get the best result. Clean up with mineral spirits a MUST. I plan to buy more, so I can use on crown moulding in living room. Please make can Larger for the price. I rated it a four star only because price is a bit much for the small can!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-Qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
JerryY
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality oil based paint

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I moved into an older condo that had not been maintained very well. The painting work that had been done was especially bad. I decided to do some quick cosmetic updates by touching up the paint.
I used the Glidden paint to repaint the exterior doors and some of the interior doors where the old latex paint had peeled.
No complaints about the paint. It worked great, looks great, and is everything I'd expect from a quality oil based paint. Just keep in mind if you're new to using oil based paint it doesn't wash off with water like latex paints do.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-Qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
mretraine
from Titusville, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible Results

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product to paint my front steel entry door. Brush marks and my cut in lines were extremely visible after my first coat. I waited a few days and then sanded the first coat smooth with a palm sander and 400 grit sanding paper. I applied the second coat and still had a ton of brush marks.
I am an experienced painter and made sure I prepped the surface properly. I painted the door in the air conditioned environment of my house so the climate cannot be a factor. I used the specific brush that home depot had displayed with this paint but it just didn't seem to matter.
At the end of the day, this product is specifically used to avoid brush marks and streaks. If it does not do a great job with that, why spend $20 for one quart of paint?
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-10points
1out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-Qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
blueocean007

it will turn yellow

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I replaced my door 9 month ago and painted them with the bright white paint. Loved it! no dripping, great consistency, great coverage, and bright white as indicated.
I got side tracked with other projects and I am just getting to the trims... that's when I clearly realized how yellow my doors were.
My apartment has windows and light from the outside and it didn't seem to matter if it was a closet door with no light or not, all my door were yellow. I even did the trim of a closet 4 weeks ago facing a large window and it s already yellow. I am so disappointed. I still have a few trims to do but will wait to see how the new ones turn first.
I have a lot of trims so I can't imagine sanding everything and redoing everything - I am burned out, which makes the whole thing even more disappointing.
Bright white at day 0 is yellow in a few weeks
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
Cons: color will change
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>