728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Interior Paint, Exterior Paint & Paint Samples or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint

1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint

The Glidden 1-qt. Bright White High-Gloss Trim, Door & Furniture Paint features Gel-Flow technology to help resist leaving drips or brushstroke marks. The paint can be applied indoors or outdoors and offers mildew resistance for a long-lasting, clean-looking appearance. Use The can of paint to effectively cover up to 75 sq. ft.
Overall rating:
3.981 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(206 reviews) 206
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product156 of 195reviews
Rating Breakdown 206 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(119)
4
(38)
3
(9)
2
(6)
1
(34)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product156 of 195reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer reviews for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
Review 1 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Philadelphia, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High productive paint

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Paint is the best paint I have ever used. High odor rate so use in well ventilated areas. Used on Doors, Trim, and Bathroom walls.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product gave beautiful results

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Wow. This is the best paint for trim. I painted our bedroom walls and then decided to paint the wood 1970's door, window, and wall trim the bright white color. I had beautiful results. I watched the video about how to apply the paint and followed it carefully. The paint is a little strong smelling so ventilation is a must. I will paint our closet doors outside of the bedroom.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint

Trim paint

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The best trim paint I ever used, extremely durable.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from killeen, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome trim paint

PostedJuly 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Best trim paint we have used, hardens without the sticky feeling of other paints and leaves a smooth glossy look even if you use a terrible brush over beat up trim.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: oil based makes is hard to clean spills/drips
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Boston

great product, tough to clean up

PostedAugust 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The product is true to its claims. It is thick and does not run. It levels out nicely and dries to a high gloss durable shine. You need to apply it with a good brush as indicated to achieve the no brush stroke results.
I even used it on a bathroom window trim that has taken quite a beating and it made it shine right up and seems to be repelling water better than the bathroom poly previously applied.
Be cautious with this product though. We have been spoiled by latex clean up. This product though easily applied and not terribly messy can be tough to clean up if you are not careful. Make sure you purchase with mineral spirits if you do not have any at home.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Paint if you're not an Idiot Painter

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
If you don't know how to paint or if you don't know how to properly prep - don't expect this product to make up for your lack of skill. The instructions clearly state to not overwork this product. If you brush and brush back and forth several times like you would a latex it's going to leave brush strokes. I figured that out the first time I used it and had to change my approach.
HERE'S HOW I USE IT: (First I'll have properly prepped my project with sanding and priming.) Then I apply the Glidden High Gloss Gel Paint thick on my brush straight from the can without wiping the edge. I lay it on thick onto the object to be painted in as few brush strokes as possible - and work fast with the next dip of the brush to blend with the wet edge. Doing it this way it's thick enough that only one coat has sufficed on every project I've used it on, exterior house trim, interior baseboards, window trim & sashes, cabinets and doors. There have been n
o brush strokes on any of the projects.
TO FIX MISTAKES: On one window frame I brushed my arm against it about 20 minutes after applying it and messed it up. I put on a latex glove, dipped my fingertip into mineral spirits and gently smoothed out the ripples. It wasn't perfect, but it's one of those things only I can see - no one else has notices it unless I point it out to them.
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Corona, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's all in the prep people

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I honestly don't understand the poor reviews for this product. I have used it on several different types of surfaces (stair banisters/handrails, prehung doors and cabinets, etc) and have been extremely pleased with the results!!! You MUST prep according to the directions (which is typically the biggest pain in the whole process), but this product has exceeded what they promise in my household. I feel bad for those with poor results, possibly a bad batch was distributed? Re-doing any paint job is a frustrating hassel. Please don't let these reviews discourage you from trying it. Just try the product on something small first! Home Depot will take it back if you aren't satisfied due to the fact that it's not "custom colored" paint. :)
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Bel Air, MD

Nice paint

PostedJuly 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought this gel paint in classic red for my front door. Fair warning--it's gel and cannot be rolled. The paint went on nicely and has a really high gloss sheen--and it's true about the no brush marks. The only reason I didn't rate it 5 stars yet is because I want to see how it holds up. Much nicer than the Rustoleum front door paint and no drips at all.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Lehigh Acres
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Trim paint

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Smelly, hard to clean up but finish is worth it for sure!
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Macon, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful paint.

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My wife loves the gloss of this paint. It goes on well and is dries well. It's very thick and takes a while to dry, but in the end, it's worth it.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint

Love to Paint

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased this product after seeing the video and brochure. I was very pleased with the products performance and result. I painted my baseboards, stair railings and foyer closet doors. The result was GREAT! I am very pleased with the products high-gloss shine and durability, I only used two coats and it's held up thus far. You must follow the directions to get the best result. Clean up with mineral spirits a MUST. I plan to buy more, so I can use on crown moulding in living room. Please make can Larger for the price. I rated it a four star only because price is a bit much for the small can!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FANTASTIC ON OLD ALUMINUM DOORS AND WINDOWS!!

PostedOctober 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have high quality aluminum doors and windows, but since they are 25 years old the factory finish was worn thin. I cleaned the aluminum, dried it and painted it with bright white. These old doors and windows look better than they did when new! Warning to all whoo had trouble.. take your time, rushing and poor preparation can ruin any product, so don't listen to them. BUY IT, USE IT CORRECTLY, AND YOU WILL LOVE THE RESULTS!!!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Orange County, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good quality, bad smell...

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I do like this paint, as I bought it in charcoal and white for a piece of furniture that I was painting. It is a thick gel like consistency that, when applied evenly, dried very nicely.
Biggest dilemma - the smell of the paint last WAY longer than any other paint I've ever used, so much so that I had to move the piece of furniture out of the dining room (where I planned on having it) because I couldn't bear to eat next to the smell. Its in the spare room now, and the smell is better, but I won't use the paint again for this reason.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
Cons: very strong odor even once the paint has dried
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Brookfield

Yah - no drips or brush marks

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used the black Gliden Door and Trim paint on a old dining room buffet. I sanded off the old finish and cleaned off the sawdust and painted with the Gliden Door and Trim paint. It looks great and it was easy to use. I gave it four because I have not used the piece yet so do not know how it holds up. I would give it a 5 for easy to apply.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Peoria, il
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Love Hate Relationship

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I have a love hate relationship with this product. I have bought 12 quarts of this paint. Sometimes it looks GREAT!! Sometimes it doesnt, because the paint gets glops that when you try to paint it on it makes little pimple type bumps and it just spreads all over. Some of the doors I have painted come out looking so good the the next time it looks like there is painted sawdust all over the door. Almost every can I have to throw away 1/3 to 1/4 of the can because it globs up. Wish I could figure out what makes that happen! I have tried new brushes, cleaning the brush over and over, turning the can upside down when I'm finished but havent finished the can, no use.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Looks High End
Cons: too many globs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint

Gladden trim paint

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I highly recommend this paint. It lays flat without brush marks.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from The Outer Banks, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Paint.

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This paint goes on smoothly and covers exceptionally well. We find it can make old woodwork look new again. A bit expensive, but a quart goes a long long way. Highly recommend!
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Good Protection, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Utah
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

smooth to finish need 2 coats

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Smooth coat. Easy to use. My project, stair railings and trim, needed 2 coats for the desirable gloss finish. Easy to use, but took more paint than I expected. I have used this on other projects and was pleased. Have used only white paint. Must use a high quality oil base brush.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Eh

PostedApril 26, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Coverage 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Low odor 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I recently bought this paint to paint all my outdated wood trim. After reading some reviews I was a little leary, so I tested it on a small piece of moulding that hides behind a dog kennel. After letting it dry, I found that there were brush marks and i'm not sure I like the sheen (bought extra high gloss). I used the same technique I saw in the video and I also made sure I used the proper brush. I did all the prep work as well as instructed. I did paint my backdoor window frame with this stuff and that came out great. Not sure if I will continue to use this paint on the rest of the moulding though. Today I applied a second coat on the test area hoping that by the time it dries there will be no brush marks. Heard there are other paints out there I could use for my trim and I may just look into it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-qt. Bright White Gloss Interior/Exterior Oil Paint
from Titusville, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible Results

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Coverage 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product to paint my front steel entry door. Brush marks and my cut in lines were extremely visible after my first coat. I waited a few days and then sanded the first coat smooth with a palm sander and 400 grit sanding paper. I applied the second coat and still had a ton of brush marks.
I am an experienced painter and made sure I prepped the surface properly. I painted the door in the air conditioned environment of my house so the climate cannot be a factor. I used the specific brush that home depot had displayed with this paint but it just didn't seem to matter.
At the end of the day, this product is specifically used to avoid brush marks and streaks. If it does not do a great job with that, why spend $20 for one quart of paint?
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-11points
1out of 13found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>